


}It is a loan program that allows qualifying 
Senior and Disabled citizens to defer paying 
property taxes on their residence. 

}If approved to the program, the state will pay 
property taxes on their behalf in exchange for 
a lien against the property and a 6% annual 
interest charge on the unpaid tax balance. 



}File a completed application with the county 
assessorõs office:  January 1st to April 15 th . 

}If taxpayer meets qualifications, DOR will pay 
the property taxes in November each year. 

Approved applicants will be required to 
recertify every 2 years to show they still meet 
current law qualifications.  



} Taxpayers are required to recertify every two years to 
prove they continue to meet program requirements.

} Those that do meet the program requirements keep 
their òactiveó status.

} Those that do not meet the program requirements 
are inactivated and given an òinactiveó status. DOR 
will no longer pays the property tax; however, the 
Deferral loan tax balance still accrues interest.  



Taxpayers are inactivated from the program if:

o Income too high.

o Excessive Assets.

o No property insurance.

o Requested information was 
not provided.

o A failure to recertify.

o Property RMV  exceeds 
limitation based on 
years lived & owned.

o Trust wasnõt provided.
Trust is Irrevocable.

Clauses within the 
Trust could render it 
Irrevocable.  

o A surviving spouse was 
not 59 ½ /disabled at 
time of the death. 



}Recertification notices (form/letter) are sent 
out early February.  Our program participants 
have 65 days, from the date on the letter, to 
respond with recertifying.  If they fail to 
respond or no longer meet program 
requirements, they become ineligible for the 
program.  Their status becomes: Inactive.



}Those failing to respond may petition the 
Department of Revenue Director for a 
retroactive deferral under ORS 311.681

}Those not meeting program requirements can 
reapply with an application during the filing 
season, to attempt to get their òactiveó status 
back on the program.  



}2015 Legislature added a requirement that 
the Department of Revenue notify the Aging 
and Disability Resource Connection (ADRC) 
for those that have not recertified within 35 
days of the Recertification notice.  

}Weekly updated reports are provided to 
ADRC, as they assist in reaching out to our 
program participants with their recertification 
process. 



}Applicants disqualify from the program if: 
ƁThe taxpayer dies.

ƁThe property is sold (or changes ownership).

ƁThe taxpayer moves from the property for other 
than health related reasons.

ƁThe home is moved out of state (manufactured 
structures or floating home) 



}Inception date of 1963 

}Self- Sustaining Program

}Legislation transferred $250,000 (2006) 
and $14.3 million (2008) to Oregon 
Project Independence (OPI)



}The forecast of the program revealed it 
would no longer be self - sustaining. 

Factors :

1. Dropping home values. 

2. Decline in home sales that reduced the 
program cash flow.

3. Increased program participation.



}Delayed payment to counties of the 2010  
property taxes.

}May 2011, deferral account had a zero 
balance.

}SB 939 (2011) ðOregon State Treasury 
loaned $19 million to deferral program.

}HB2543 (2011) - Structural Changes. 



}Program Requirements Prior to HB2543 :

1. Age (62 or older) or Disabled.

2. Income - Federal Adjusted Gross Income (FAGI).

3. Ownership of Property.



}New Requirements of the program :

1. 5- year residency requirement.

2. Income & Asset Limitations (Household).

3. Insurance for fire and other casualty.   

4. RMV limitation - County Median.

5. Exclude homes with reverse mortgages.



} Other Major Changes in the program :

1. Recertification once every two years.

2. 6% compound interest calculation.
Reverted back to simple interest with HB 4148 (2014)

1. Limit on òNewó approvals.

2. DOR able to collect from transferee.   


