
150-105-006 (Rev. 07-14)

2014 Cigarette Tax Increase
Oregon Department of Revenue—Tobacco Taxes
www.oregon.gov/dor/tobacco

Why is the cigarette tax increasing?

The cigarette tax increase was passed by the Oregon 
legislature in the 2013 special session. The increase 
takes effect January 1, 2014 at 12:01am.

How much is the increase?

House bill 3601 increased the tax per 20-pack of ciga-
rettes to $1.31. The new tax per 25-pack of cigarettes is 
$1.6375.

What is a floor tax?

At the time the tax increase becomes effective, all cig-
arette distributors, manufacturers, and retailers must 
take an inventory of stamped cigarettes in their pos-
session. Distributors also must count their stamps 
on hand that have not yet been affixed to cigarettes. 
Distributors, manufacturers, and retailers then file 
a special tax return due by January 21, 2014. This 
special tax return documents their inventory and 
is used to pay the additional tax due on cigarettes 
or stamps in their possession on January 1, 2014.

Where can distributors and retailers get  
tax returns?

Distributors and retailers will be mailed their floor tax 
returns by mid December. Retailers can also get returns 
from our website at www.oregon.gov/dor/tobacco or 
by calling 503-378-4988 or 1-800-356-4222.

Are consumers required to pay the addi-
tional tax on cigarettes they have on January  
1, 2014?

No. The floor tax doesn’t extend to consumers who 
purchase their cigarettes in Oregon. If consumers bring 
more than one carton of cigarettes into Oregon after De-
cember 31, 2013, they must pay tax at the new rate of 
$1.31 per 20-pack.

How does a consumer who purchases ciga-
rettes outside of Oregon pay the tax due?

Only licensed distributors can purchase and affix tax 
stamps. Consumers purchasing untaxed cigarettes need 
to complete a monthly tax report and pay the tax due by 
the 20th of the month following the reporting period. The 
form is called the Oregon Cigarette Consumer’s Month-
ly Tax Report. It is available at www.oregon.gov/dor/
tobacco, or by calling 503-378-4988 or 1-800-356-4222.

Who pays the cigarette tax?

The cigarette tax is a tax to consumers that is pre-paid 
by the distributors as a matter of convenience. The tax 
is passed on to the consumers as part of the purchase 
price of cigarettes. There are 42 cigarette distributors li-
censed with the state of Oregon. Normally, retailers do 
not pay the tax. However, when a tax increase occurs, 
retailers must file a one-time special tax return in order 
to pay the additional tax due on their inventory.

Who gets the money from cigarette taxes?

The cigarette tax distributions are mandated by ORS 
Chapter 323.455 and 323.457. Cigarette taxes help fund 
public services through the General Fund, cities and 
counties, the Department of Transportation, and the 
Oregon Health Authority Fund.

What if I only have a cigarette vending ma-
chine at my business and another business 
services it?

The vending machine operator is responsible for con-
ducting the inventory and paying the additional tax 
due on cigarettes in the vending machines. On the top 
of your special tax return, write “Vending Machine 
Only” and include the vending machine operator’s 
name, address, and telephone number.

What if I don’t sell cigarettes?

On the top of your special tax return, write “I don’t sell 
cigarettes” and send the return back to us. This tax in-
crease only applies to cigarettes, not to other tobacco 
products.

Will there be a new tax stamp color?

Yes. Stamps issued at the new tax rate will be a new 
color. Retailers may receive the previous color stamp 
from your distributor. Distributors will indicate on the 
invoice whether the previous or new tax rate was used 
on the cigarettes you receive. You will need this infor-
mation to complete your special tax return. You can 
continue to sell cigarettes that bear the previous color 
stamp.

What if I received several special returns?

We tried to eliminate duplicate mailings. However, if 
you received more than one packet, file only one special 
tax return if you have only one location. Please staple 
the other returns to the back of the return you are filing 
and return them to the department.



150-105-006 (Rev. 07-14)

What if I have more than one store? 

•	 Complete a separate special tax return for each loca-
tion indicating the separate tax amount.

•	 For operators of corporately owned stores, we sug-
gest you contact your parent company. If you need 
additional forms you can get them from our website 
at www.oregon.gov/dor/tobacco, or by calling 503-
378-4988 or 1-800-356-4222.

What if someone is not complying with the 
new law?

We have a tip line that you may call to provide infor-
mation about distributors or retailers you believe are 

not complying. The number is 503-947-2106 or toll free 
at 1-866-840-2740.

What if I do not file my inventory special tax 
return by January 21, 2014?

A penalty of 5 percent and daily interest will be calcu-
lated on the tax due if not paid by the due date. Other 
penalties may be added to the balance if the tax remains 
unpaid.

Have additional questions?

If you have additional questions, please visit www.or-
egon.gov/dor/tobacco or call 503-378-4988 or toll free 
at 1-800-356-4222.


