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Important updates

April 1, 2022
This publication was updated on April 1, 2022 to correct a line reference on page 102 (retirement income credit 
worksheet).

April 20, 2020
Due date extension. Director’s Order 20-02 provides additional relief and extended the Oregon tax filing and 
payment deadline to July 15, 2020 for Oregon returns with a filing due date on or after April 1, 2020, and before 
July 15, 2020 for Personal Income, Transit Self-Employment, Estate, Partnership, S-Corporations, and Corporate 
Excise/Income Taxpayers and Filers. This also extended the deadline for filing a claim for a refund to July 15, 
2020, if the deadline for filing the claim for the refund would have expired on or after April 1, 2020 and before 
July 15, 2020.

Appeal extension:  Director’s Order 20-02 also temporarily extended the time to submit a written objection or 
conference request. The deadline to submit a written objection or request for a conference with the department 
after receiving a Notice of Deficiency, Notice of Proposed Refund Adjustment or Denial, or Notice of Liabil-
ity is extended to 90 days after the date on the Notice of Deficiency, Notice of Proposed Refund Adjustment, 
or Notice of Liability.  This applies to deadlines for filing a written objection or request for a conference that 
expires on or after April 1, 2020 and before July 16, 2020. See “Appeals” for more information.

March 27, 2020
Due date extension. Director’s Order 20-01, extended the Oregon tax filing and payment deadline from April 
15, 2020 to July 15, 2020. As a result, interest and penalties with respect to the Oregon tax filings and payments 
extended by this Order will begin to accrue on July 16, 2020. See “Interest and Penalties” for more information.

January 6, 2020
In December 2019, Congress passed Public Law 116-94, which extended certain tax deductions, credits, and 
other items that had previously expired. We’ve updated this publication to include information about the fed-
eral deduction for qualified tuition and fees, which has been extended for tax years 2018 through 2020, and 
the related Oregon subtraction. We’ve also updated our examples for the special Oregon medical subtraction 
to reflect the decrease in the medical expense itemized deduction “floor” from 10 percent of adjusted gross 
income (AGI) to 7.5 percent of AGI. This decrease has been extended for tax years 2019 and 2020. See “Adjust-
ments” and “Subtractions” for more information.



This publication supplements the Oregon income tax instruction booklet and the  
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Tax Guide: Publication 17, Your Federal Income Tax For Individuals.

This is a guide, not a complete statement of Oregon laws and rules. Law or rules may have 
changed after printing. Refer to the Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) and Oregon Administra-

tive Rules (OAR), available at www.oregon.gov/dor.

Forms and publications
For tax forms and publications go to www.oregon.gov/dor/forms or write:

Forms 
Oregon Department of Revenue 
PO Box 14999 
Salem OR 97309-0990

Do you have questions or need help?
www.oregon.gov/dor
(503) 378-4988 or (800) 356-4222
questions.dor@oregon.gov

Contact us for ADA accommodations or assistance in other languages.

Tax professionals
Questions. If you're a tax professional, you can email us for assistance. Research your question. We can assist you 
with Oregon income tax law and policy questions, but we can't provide or discuss specific taxpayer information, 
prepare returns, or make calculations for you. You can include .txt files in your email, but we are unable to open 
any other type of attachments. 

In the email, include your question with your name, business name, and phone (with area code). We'll get back 
to you within three business days. 

•	Personal and partnership income tax: prac.revenue@oregon.gov. 
•	Corporate income or excise tax: corp.help.dor@oregon.gov.
•	Corporate minimum tax: minimum.tax.help@oregon.gov.
•	Payroll and business tax: payroll.help.dor@oregon.gov. 
•	Inheritance/estate tax: estate.help.dor@oregon.gov.

Revenews. To receive emailed information from us, subscribe to Revenews, at  
www.oregon.gov/dor/preparers and navigate to Revenews. 

http://www.oregon.gov/dor
http://www.oregon.gov/dor/forms
http://www.oregon.gov/dor
mailto:questions.dor%40oregon.gov?subject=
mailto:prac.revenue%40oregon.gov?subject=
mailto:corp.help.dor%40oregon.gov?subject=
mailto:minimum.tax.help%40oregon.gov?subject=
mailto:payroll.help.dor%40oregon.gov?subject=
mailto:estate.help.dor%40oregon.gov?subject=
http://www.oregon.gov/dor/preparers
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Federal tax law
No extension to pay. Oregon doesn’t allow an extension 
of time to pay your tax, even if the IRS is allowing an 
extension. Your 2019 Oregon tax is due July 15, 2020.

Federal law connection. Oregon has a rolling tie to 
changes made to the definition of federal taxable 
income, with the exceptions noted below. For all 
other purposes, Oregon is tied to federal income tax 
laws as amended and in effect on December 31, 2018.

Oregon exceptions to federal tax law:
•	Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 139A tax exemp-

tion for federal subsidies for employer prescription 
drug plans. If you have this type of business income, 
you’ll have an addition on your Oregon return.

•	IRC Section 529 tax exemption for earnings on college 
savings plan funds used for K-12 tuition. Oregon Col-
lege & MFS 529 Savings Plans may be used for higher 
education expenses only. If previously subtracted con-
tributions are withdrawn and used for K-12 tuition, 
you’ll have an addition on your Oregon return.

•	IRC Section 199A deduction for noncorporate 
qualified business income (QBID). Oregon is dis-
connected from the QBID. This is a deduction 
from federal AGI and doesn’t flow through to the 
Oregon personal income tax return so there is no 
addition to report; however, the deduction must be 
added back on fiduciary returns.

New information
Due Date Extension. Director’s Order 20-01, extended 
the Oregon tax filing and payment deadline from April 15, 
2020 to July 15, 2020. As a result, interest and penalties with 
respect to the Oregon tax filings and payments extended 
by this Order will begin to accrue on July 16, 2020.

Director’s Order 20-02 provides additional relief and 
extended the Oregon tax filing and payment deadline 
to July 15, 2020 for Oregon returns with a filing due 
date on or after April 1, 2020, and before July 15, 2020 for 
Personal Income, Transit Self-Employment, Estate, Part-
nership, S-Corporations, and Corporate Excise/Income 
Taxpayers and Filers. This also extended the deadline 
for filing a claim for a refund to July 15, 2020, if the 
deadline for filing the claim for the refund would have 
expired on or after April 1, 2020 and before July 15, 2020.

Director’s Order 20-02 also temporarily extended the 
time to submit a written objection or conference request. 
The deadline to submit a written objection or request 
for a conference with the department after receiving a 
Notice of Deficiency, Notice of Proposed Refund Adjust-
ment or Denial, or Notice of Liability is extended to 90 
days after the date on the Notice of Deficiency, Notice 
of Proposed Refund Adjustment, or Notice of Liability. 
This applies to deadlines for filing a written objection or 

request for a conference that expires on or after April 1, 
2020 and before July 16, 2020.
Kicker refund. Oregon’s surplus credit, known as the 
“kicker,” will be claimed as a credit on your 2019 tax 
return. The credit is a percentage of your 2018 tax liabil-
ity. You may donate your kicker credit to the Oregon 
State School Fund. Our instruction booklets contain more 
information and instructions for calculating your credit. 
Oregon Form OR-W-4. Because of recent changes to 
federal Forms W-4 and W-4P, Oregon has a separate 
withholding statement for state personal income 
tax withholding. New federal Form(s) W-4 submit-
ted to employers after January 1, 2020, can no longer 
be used to determine Oregon withholding. Go to  
www.oregon.gov/dor to learn more about Oregon 
income tax withholding and Form OR-W-4.
First-time home buyer savings account (FTHBSA). 
Beginning January 1, 2019, you’re able to save toward 
your home purchase in a tax-favored account. Contri-
butions to the account and earnings can be claimed 
as a subtraction on your return using Schedule OR-
ASC or OR-ASC-NP. Limitations apply; see “First-
time home buyer savings account” in “Subtractions.”
Federal tax liability subtraction. The federal tax 
subtraction limit is $6,800 ($3,400 if married filing 
separately) for 2019. It may be limited further based 
on your adjusted gross income (AGI). See “Federal 
income tax liability” in “Subtractions.” 
Oregon College and MFS 529 Savings Plans and ABLE 
account limits. Contribution limits have increased to 
$4,865 for taxpayers filing joint returns and $2,435 for 
all others. Note: Tax year 2019 is the last year that a 
subtraction will be available for contributions, with 
any excess carried forward for up to four years. To 
qualify for the subtraction, contributions must have 
been made in tax years that started before January 1, 
2020. Starting with contributions made in tax years 
that begin on or after January 1, 2020, a tax credit 
based on your contributions will be available instead 
of a subtraction. See these topics under “Subtractions.” 
Federal centralized partnership audit regime (CPAR). 
Oregon is aligned with the new federal regime for 
auditing partnerships. See “Audits and appeals.”  
Working family household and dependent care (WFHDC) 
credit. Beginning with tax year 2019, all filers will claim 
the credit on Schedule OR-WFHDC. There’s no longer a 
separate schedule for part-year or nonresident filers.
Schedule OR-A add backs. We’ve moved our instruc-
tions for reporting add backs for certain itemized 
deductions on Schedule OR-A. These instructions 
can now be found under “Itemized deduction add 
backs” in “Other items.”
Fiduciary returns. We’ve expanded our explanations 
for several items to include information for Oregon 
fiduciary return filers, where the treatment of the item 

Federal tax law
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may differ from the treatment on personal income tax 
returns. Also, see the instructions for Form OR-41. 

Tuition and fees deduction. Congress has extended 
this deduction for tax years 2018 through 2020. See 
this topic in “Adjustments” and “Subtractions.”

Important reminders
Revenue Online. Revenue Online provides conve-
nient, secure access to tools for managing your Ore-
gon tax account. With Revenue Online, you can:

•	Check the status of this year’s refund.
•	View and print letters from us.
•	Make or schedule payments.
•	Securely communicate with us.
•	Check balances and view your tax account history.
•	Submit your requests (such as penalty waivers or 

appeals) or information we’ve requested from you.
•	View your Form 1099-G, if applicable.

Tax professionals with third party access have addi-
tional benefits, such as viewing clients’ accounts. 

For more information and instructions on setting up 
your personal Revenue Online account, go to www.
oregon.gov/dor and click on “Revenue Online.”

Earned income credit (EIC). Oregon’s EIC is 11 per-
cent of the federal earned income tax credit (EITC) if 
you have a qualifying dependent under age 3 at the 
end of the tax year. For all other qualified taxpayers, 
the Oregon EIC is 8 percent of your federal EITC. See 
“Refundable credits” for more information. 

Military pay. Oregon doesn’t tax your military pay if 
you aren’t an Oregon resident. For more information 
about residency and the Oregon military pay subtrac-
tions, see “Military personnel filing information.” 

Statewide transit tax. This income tax funds public trans-
portation services and improvements within Oregon. The 
tax is equal to one-tenth of one percent (0.1% or 0.001) of 
the wages received by an employee who is an Oregon resi-
dent, or an employee who is a nonresident but who per-
forms services in Oregon. If you are an Oregon resident 
or nonresident and work for a business located in Oregon, 
your employer is required by law to automatically with-
hold the STI tax from your wages. If you are an Oregon 
resident and work for an employer located outside of Ore-
gon, your employer isn’t required to withhold the tax on 
your behalf, but may choose to do so voluntarily. If your 
out-of-state employer doesn’t withhold the STI tax from 
your wages, you must file Form OR-STI, Statewide Transit 
Individual Tax Return, and pay the tax due by July 15, 2020. 
See the instructions for Form OR-STI. 

Market-based sourcing. Nonresident taxpayers must 
apportion their business income from sales of services 
and intangible property according to market-based 
sourcing principles rather than cost of performance. 
See ORS 314.665, 314.666, and OAR 150-314-0435.

Payment options. We accept tax payments by check, 
money order, debit card, and credit card. See “Pay-
ments and refunds.”

Direct deposit. Instead of receiving your refund 
check in the mail, you may have your refund depos-
ited directly into your account that accepts electronic 
deposits. See “Direct deposit of refund” in “Pay-
ments and refunds.” You can also have your refund 
deposited directly into an Oregon College or MFS 
529 Savings Plan account. You may choose up to four 
accounts. See our full-year and part-year/nonresident 
booklets for more information. 

Minimum refund. Under Oregon law, the minimum 
refund that can be issued is $1.

Minor child’s return and signature. If your child must file 
a tax return, you may sign the child’s name as their legal 
agent. Sign the child’s name and then write “By (your sig-
nature), parent (or legal guardian) for minor child.”

Deceased person’s return. A final return for a person 
who died during the calendar year must be filed if a 
return would normally be required. If a return must 
be filed, check the “Deceased” box after the person’s 
name on the return. 

If you filed a final return with a refund and are unable 
to cash the refund check, you will need to return the 
check to us along with Form OR-243, Claim to Refund 
Due a Deceased Person. Go to our website to download 
the form or contact us to order it.

If you are a court appointed personal representative 
or have filed a small estate affidavit and you need 
more information about trusts or estates, contact our 
Estate Unit at estate.help.dor@oregon.gov.

Additional exemption credits. Additional exemption 
credits for severely disabled taxpayers and for disabled 
children aren’t available for taxpayers whose AGI is more 
than $100,000, regardless of filing status. For more infor-
mation, see “Exemption credit” in “Standard credits.“

Oregon tax credits. Most Oregon tax credits are lim-
ited to your tax liability. However, report the full 
amount of each credit on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-
ASC-NP, even if you can’t use all of the credit this year. 
Some credits allow a carryforward of any unused 
amount. When you prepare this year’s return, refer 
to last year’s Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP to see 
if you have any unused credit to carry forward. See 
“Carryforward credits“ to find out which credits you 
can carry forward to future years.

Registered domestic partners (RDPs). For Oregon 
tax purposes, same-sex RDPs are treated the same as 
married couples. References to “spouse” within this 
publication include RDPs.

Disaster relief. You don’t need to file a return if you worked 
in Oregon solely to provide relief during a declared disaster 
or emergency. See “General information” for more details. 

Federal tax law
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General information
Do I have to file an Oregon income 
tax return?

Use the following charts and examples to determine 
whether you are required to file an Oregon personal 
income tax return. See the explanations in this publi-
cation if you are unsure about:

•	Residency status—see “Residency.“
•	Filing status—see “Filing status.“
•	Taxable income—see “What income is taxable to 

Oregon?”
•	Deductions—see “Deductions and modifications.”

You must file a return to claim a refund if you had 
Oregon income tax withheld or to claim a kicker 
credit, even if you aren’t otherwise required to file 
a return.

Note: You don’t have to file an Oregon return if you 
are an out-of-state employee or the operator of an 
out-of-state business and you were in Oregon solely 
for purposes of performing disaster or emergency-
related work (ORS 401.690). 

Full-year residents
You need to file if your gross income is more than the 
amount shown for your filing status in Table 1. 

Note: The amounts in Table 1 apply to gross income 
from all taxable sources.

Table 1. Filing thresholds for full-year residents

Your filing status is:

Number of 
boxes checked 

below line 17 of 
Form OR‑40:

And your gross 
income is more 

than:

Single, can be claimed 
on another’s return Any

See 
“Dependents” 

Single

-0- $6,230

1 $7,430

2 $8,630 

Married filing jointly

-0- $12,460

1 $13,460

2 $14,460

3 $15,460 

4 $16,460

Married filing
separately

-0- $6,230 

1 $7,230

2 $8,230

Head of household

-0- $7,775

1 $8,975 

2 $10,175

Qualifying widow(er)

-0- $8,665

1 $9,665

2 $10,665

In addition, file a return if:
•	You’re required to file a federal return.
•	You had $1 or more of Oregon income tax 

withheld from your wages.

Dependents. If you can be claimed as a dependent 
on another person’s return, you must file your own 
return if your income is more than the lesser of:

•	The standard deduction allowed on your federal 
return, or

•	The Oregon standard deduction for a single filer.

You can use this worksheet, which has the federal 
amounts, to help you figure out if you need to file 
your own return.

1.	 Enter gross income from all	 1.	 $_________   
taxable sources.	  

2.	 Earned income $_____ plus $350.	 2.	 $_________  
Enter total.

3.	 Set federal amount.	 3.	 $ 	 1,100

4.	 Enter the larger of line 2 or 3.	 4.	 $_________

5.	 Enter the Oregon standard 	 5.	 $_________  
deduction for a single person:

•	Basic standard deduction: $2,270.
•	Age 65 or older, or blind: $3,470.
•	Age 65 or older and blind: $4,670. 

6.	 Enter the smaller of line 4 or 5.	 6.	 $_________

If line 1 is more than line 6, you must file an Ore-
gon return. If line 6 is more than line 1, you aren’t 
required to file an Oregon return.

Example 1: Emily is single, age 20, and a full-time col-
lege student. Her parents claim her as a dependent. 
Emily has earned income of $800 from her job. She also 
has $29 of interest income from her savings account. 

General information
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1.	 Enter gross income from all	 1.	 $ 	 829  
taxable sources. 

2.	 Earned income $800 plus $350. 	 2.	 $ 	 1,150 
Enter total.

3.	 Set federal amount.	 3.	 $ 	 1,100

4.	 Enter the larger of line 2 or 3.	 4.	 $ 	 1,150

5.	 Enter the Oregon standard 	 5.	 $ 	 2,270 
deduction for a single person:

•	Basic standard deduction: $2,270.
•	Age 65 or older, or blind: $3,470.
•	Age 65 or older and blind: $4,670.

6.	 Enter the smaller of line 4 or 5.	 6.	 $	 1,150

Because line 6 ($1,150) is more than line 1 ($829), Emily 
isn’t required to file an Oregon return. 

Note: If Emily had any Oregon income tax withheld 
from her income, she must file an Oregon return to 
claim a refund.

Example 2: Norman, age 77, is claimed as a depen-
dent by his son. Norman has income of $3,015 from a 
pension and interest. He doesn’t have any other tax-
able income.

1.	 Enter gross income from all 	 1.	 $ 	 3,015 
taxable sources. 

2.	 Earned income $0 plus $350. 	 2.	 $ 	 350 
Enter total.

3.	 Set federal amount.	 3.	 $ 	 1,100

4.	 Enter the larger of line 2 or 3.	 4.	 $ 	 1,100

5.	 Enter the Oregon standard 	 5.	 $ 	 3,470 
deduction for a single person:

•	Basic standard deduction: $2,270.
•	Age 65 or older, or blind: $3,470.
•	Age 65 or older and blind: $4,670.

6.	 Enter the smaller of line 4 or 5.	 6.	 $	 1,100

Because line 1 ($3,015) is more than line 6 ($1,100), 
Norman is required to file an Oregon return. 

Example 3: Katrina is single, age 19, a full-time stu-
dent, and claimed as a dependent by her mother. 
Katrina didn’t work but had $1,200 of unearned interest 
income from her certificate of deposit.

1.	 Enter gross income from all 	 1.	 $ 	 1,200 
taxable sources. 

2.	 Earned income $0 plus $350. 	 2.	 $ 	 350 
Enter total.

3.	 Set federal amount.	 3.	 $ 	 1,100

4.	 Enter the larger of line 2 or 3.	 4.	 $ 	 1,100

5.	 Enter the Oregon standard 	 5.	 $ 	 2,270 
deduction for a single person:

•	Basic standard deduction: $2,270.
•	Age 65 or older, or blind: $3,470.
•	Age 65 or older and blind: $4,670.

6.	 Enter the smaller of line 4 or 5.	 6.	 $	 1,100

Because line 1 ($1,200) is more than line 6 ($1,100), 
Katrina is required to file an Oregon return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents
You need to file an Oregon return if your gross 
income is more than the amount shown for your fil-
ing status in Table 2. 

Note: The amounts in Table 2 apply to gross income 
from Oregon taxable sources while a nonresident 
and gross income from all taxable sources while an 
Oregon resident.  

Table 2. Filing thresholds for part-year residents and 
nonresidents

Your filing status is:

And your Oregon 
gross income is 

more than:
Single, can be claimed on another’s 
return $1,100*

Single $2,270
Married filing jointly $4,545

Married filing separately
  If spouse claims standard deduction $2,270

  If spouse itemizes deductions -0-

Head of household $3,655
Qualifying widow(er) $4,545

* The larger of $1,100 or your earned income plus 
$350, up to your standard deduction amount.

If your Oregon income is less than the amount in 
Table 2, you aren’t required to file a return unless $1 
or more of Oregon tax was withheld from your wages 
or you want to claim the kicker credit.

Nonresident trusts. If you file a federal Form 1040-
NR and you're filing an Oregon return for a nonresi-
dent trust, you must file using Form OR-41, Oregon 
Fiduciary Income Tax Return. Don't file using Oregon 
Form OR-40-N.

Nonresidents with rental property in 
Oregon
You don’t have to file an Oregon return if: 

•	Your only Oregon-source income is from rental 
property, and 

•	You have a loss from the rental activity for the 
year. However, you must file Oregon returns for all 
applicable loss years if:

General information
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	— You later sell the rental property in a fully-tax-
able transaction;

	— The sale results in gain that would otherwise be 
taxed by Oregon; 

	— You have suspended passive activity losses from 
the rental activity; and 

	— You are deducting your suspended losses from 
that gain on your federal return. 

Electronic filing for Oregon
Electronic filing is a fast, efficient, and accurate way to 
file an Oregon income tax return. Returns filed elec-
tronically require fewer manual steps to process com-
pared to paper returns.

Practitioners are automatically approved for Oregon 
electronic filing after the IRS acceptance of Form 8633, 
Application to Participate in the Electronic Filing Program. 
There is no separate registration required for Oregon.

Paid preparers who meet the requirements of the fed-
eral e-file mandate must also e-file Oregon personal 
income tax returns. For information on waivers of this 
requirement, see the information for tax profession-
als on our website.

The copy of a tax return provided to a client must be 
an exact copy of the tax return submitted to us.

2-D barcode filing for Oregon
2-D barcode filing is an alternative way to file a paper 
Oregon return. Oregon-approved tax software pack-
ages are required to print a 2-D barcode on Forms 
OR-40, OR-40-N, and OR-40-P. The 2-D barcode on 
the tax return is a “picture” of the information on the 
return, which is printed on the top right-hand cor-
ner of the return’s front page. A machine reads the 
barcode information so it doesn’t have to be entered 
manually into our computer system.

If changes are made to the return after it has been 
printed, the entire return must be re-printed so that 
the barcode will reflect the correct information.

The copy of a 2-D barcode return provided to a tax-
payer must be an exact copy of the tax return you 
submit to us.

Why Oregon needs a federal return
Most information to support the amounts on your 
Oregon return comes from your federal return. Even 
when Oregon law differs from federal law (such as 
additions, subtractions, and credits), we still need 
information from your federal return (ORS 314.380).

If you file an electronic return, we will receive your 
federal return with your Oregon return. If you are fil-
ing a paper return, you must include a copy of the front 
and back of your federal return: Form 1040 or 1040-
SR with Schedules 1 through 3 (if applicable), 1040-
X, 1040-NR, or 1040-NR-EZ. Also include any “as if” 
federal returns. If you’re not required to file a federal 
return, prepare a federal return as if you were actually 
filing it and include it with your Oregon return. Don’t 
include extension requests or federal schedules other 
than those listed above, but keep a copy of those with 
your tax records.  We may ask for copies later. 

Record-keeping requirements

Why is record-keeping important?
•	Keeping records of your income and deductions 

will help you prepare an accurate tax return and 
pay the correct tax.

•	You must be able to prove all items on your return 
with adequate records and sufficient evidence. Keep 
records that verify the income, deductions, credits, 
and other items reported on your tax return. Esti-
mates or approximations don’t qualify as proof.

•	Accurate records will help you if we select your tax 
return for audit. Usually, an audit will occur one to 
three years after a return is filed (or later if you have 
had a federal audit). If you’ve kept good records, you 
can clear up any questionable items and easily arrive 
at the correct tax. If you haven’t, you may have to 
spend time getting statements and receipts from 
various sources. You may also have to pay more tax 
if you can’t prove the figures you used.

How should I keep my records?
You must keep accurate records, but no particular 
system is required for keeping them. Your records 
should contain all the information you used to fig-
ure your income, deductions, credits, and other items 
shown on your income tax return.

What records should I keep?
If you report an item on your tax return, you must 
have adequate records to verify it. Here’s a partial list 
of records you should keep:

•	Receipts and sales documents for deductible busi-
ness expenses, self-employment, farm, rentals, sale 
of assets, etc.

•	Dated and signed receipts for any cash payments 
that might be deductible.

•	Income statements, including Form W‑2 for your 
wages and Form 1099 for interest, dividends, rents, 
and nonemployee compensation.

•	All payroll records including copies of W‑2 and 
1099 forms you’ve issued.
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•	Pay statements if you have deductible expenses with-
held from your paycheck.

•	Receipts and certificates to verify Oregon tax cred-
its claimed.

•	Copies of your tax returns, including complete fed-
eral returns with all federal schedules, or an “as if” 
return if you don't have a federal filing requirement.

•	Copies of your “as if” returns if you were required 
to prepare them to claim a special filing status.

•	Worksheets, summary statements, calendars, log 
books, journals, etc.

•	Canceled checks, substitute checks or carbon cop-
ies of checks, bank deposit slips, and receipts.

•	Checking and savings account statements for both 
personal and business accounts.

•	If you deduct alimony payments, keep copies of can-
celed checks and the written separation agreement or 
the divorce, separate maintenance, or support decree.

•	For property you own, keep proof of the pur-
chase price, any purchase expenses, the cost of any 
improvements, and any other basis adjustments, such 
as depreciation and deductible casualty losses. If you 
received property as a gift, you must have records 
that show the donor’s adjusted basis just before the 
property was given to you, its fair market value on 
the date of the gift, and any gift tax paid on it.

•	The sale of a capital asset (and certain other assets). 
This type of sale is reported as a capital gain or loss. 
Your records must show when and how the asset was 
acquired, how it was used, and when and how it was 
disposed of. Records must also show your cost or other 
basis, the gross selling price, and the expenses of the sale.

•	Year-end statements showing total interest paid on 
loans, mortgages, or notes.

•	Statements and canceled checks, mortgage state-
ments, and other documents for your real estate 
and personal property taxes paid.

•	Proof of payment to your care provider if you are 
claiming the Oregon WFHDC credit.

How do I document deductible expenses?

A receipt is the best evidence to prove the amount 
of an expense. A canceled check, together with a bill 
or invoice from the payee, ordinarily establishes the 
cost. A canceled check might not prove a business 
expense without other evidence to show that it was 
for a business purpose. All records should show:

•	The date,
•	The amount, and
•	The purpose of the expense.

To be deductible, a business expense must be both ordi-
nary and necessary.

How do I document car or truck expenses?
You must have written records to verify your vehicle 
expenses. To deduct car or truck expenses, you must 
be able to prove:

•	The amount of each separate expense for a vehicle, 
such as the cost of purchase, capital improvements, 
lease payments, maintenance, and repairs.

•	The mileage for each business or investment use of 
the vehicle and the total miles for the tax year.

•	The date of the expense or use. Keep a trip log at 
the time of use, showing the date and mileage for 
each business use, including odometer readings.

•	The business or investment reason for the expense 
or use of the vehicle.

Keep the proof you need for these items in an account 
book, diary, log, statement of expense, trip sheet, etc. 
Include all documents needed to verify the item. 

How long should I save my records?
Keep records that support an item of income or a deduc-
tion on your return at least until the statute of limita-
tions expires for that return. A statute of limitations is 
the period of time after which no legal action can be 
brought. Usually this is three years from the date the 
return was filed, or two years from the date the tax was 
paid, whichever is later. Returns filed before the due 
date are treated as if they were filed on the due date.

Exceptions: There are times you should keep records 
longer, including the following:

•	Keep records that support your basis in property for 
at least four years after you sell or dispose of the prop-
erty (including all capital improvements).

•	If you’re depreciating property, keep records related 
to each item’s depreciation expenses for its entire 
recovery period plus three years.

•	If your return was audited by the federal govern-
ment, Oregon has two years from the date we receive 
the federal audit report to review your Oregon return 
for adjustments.

•	If you have employees, we recommend you keep 
all of your employment tax records for at least five 
years after the date the tax becomes due or is paid, 
whichever is later. This includes copies of Form 
W‑2 for each employee, and all payroll records.

•	If you didn’t report some income and it’s more than 
25 percent of the income shown on your return, the 
return may be audited within five years after it was 
filed. If a return is false or fraudulent or if no return 
is filed, there is no time limit.

What if I don’t have all of my records?
If records have been destroyed and your return is 
selected for audit, the auditor will advise you about 
reconstructing your records. 
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Filing an Oregon return
In order to correctly file an Oregon personal income 
tax return, you must know:

•	Your residency status.
•	Which form to file.
•	Your filing status.

Residency (ORS 316.027)
General rule. Oregon taxes residents on all sources of 
income. Oregon taxes nonresidents on income from 
Oregon sources.

Residents
An Oregon resident is someone who is domiciled in 
this state. 

Domicile. Domicile is a tax-law concept. It’s the place 
you consider to be your home and where you plan 
to return after an absence. Domicile isn’t the same 
as home, abode, or residence. Intent is the deciding 
factor when you determine your domicile. The law 
assumes you have a domicile somewhere. It also 
assumes you have only one domicile.

Home. If you have one home, your domicile is gen-
erally where that home is located. If you have two 
homes, your domicile follows your center of activity.

To determine your center of activity and your domi-
cile, consider:

•	Physical characteristics of the place.
•	Time you spend there.
•	Things you do there.
•	People and property there.
•	Your attitude toward the place.
•	Your intent to return to the place when you are away.

Family relations. Generally, spouses living together 
have the same domicile. The domicile of minor chil-
dren is determined by the domicile of the person 
who has legal custody of them.

When living apart, spouses each may establish their 
own domicile if they meet the requirements for a 
change of domicile.

Change of domicile. Intent is the most important fac-
tor in determining a change of domicile. If intent 
relies on uncertain events, you haven’t changed your 
domicile. Once domicile is established, it’s never lost 
until all of the following happen:

•	You intend to abandon the old domicile, and
•	You intend to acquire a specific new domicile, and
•	You are physically present in the new domicile.

The important points are physical presence at a new 
dwelling and the intent to make the new dwelling a 
home.

Non-domiciled residents. An Oregon resident may 
also be someone who isn’t domiciled in Oregon, but:

•	Maintains a residence in Oregon, and
•	Spends a total of more than 200 days in Oregon 

during the taxable year.

A fraction of a day is considered to be a whole day 
when figuring the 200 days. We won’t consider you 
to be a resident if you are in Oregon for a temporary 
purpose. The burden of proof is on you to show your 
stay here is only temporary.

Consider both your domicile and the place where you 
live to determine how you are taxed.

Special-case Oregon residents (Oregon residents liv-
ing in another US state). Even if you are domiciled 
in Oregon, you will be taxed as a nonresident if you 
meet all of the following requirements:

•	You don’t maintain a permanent residence in Ore-
gon for yourself or your family during any part of 
the year, and

•	You maintain a permanent residence outside Ore-
gon during the entire year, and

•	You spend less than 31 days of the year in Oregon.

Oregon residents living in a foreign country. Certain 
Oregon residents living in a foreign country may be 
taxed as foreign nonresidents.

In general, you’re considered to be a foreign non-
resident if you meet the residency requirements for 
foreign earned income or housing exclusion under 
federal law. To qualify as a foreign nonresident, you 
must meet one of these two federal tests:

•	The “physical presence” test; or
•	The “bona fide residence” test.

Note: You may be treated as an Oregon nonresident 
for tax purposes if you are in the civil service or mili-
tary serving in a foreign country, even if you can’t 
claim the federal exclusions. See “Military personnel 
filing information” for more details.

Physical presence test. To meet the requirements of 
the physical presence test:

•	Your tax home must be in a foreign country, and
•	You must be present in a foreign country or countries 

for 330 full days out of any consecutive 12-month 
period.

“Tax home” is generally your regular place of busi-
ness or the location where you work, regardless of 
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where you live. For more information on tax home, 
refer to IRS Publication 17, Your Federal Income Tax for 
Individuals.

A “full day” means a period of 24 consecutive hours 
beginning at midnight. The 12-month period may 
begin on any date in the calendar year. The period 
ends the day before that same date, one year later. For 
example, a 12-month period beginning October 10 
would end October 9 of the following year.

The 330 full days must fall within that 12-month 
period.

Example 1: Juan arrives in England on April 24, 2018, 
at noon. He establishes his tax home in England and 
remains there until 2 p.m. on March 21, 2020, when 
he leaves England to return to the United States. Juan 
is physically present in a foreign country for 330 full 
days during at least one 12-month period:

•	One 12-month period starts on his first full day in 
England, April 25, 2018, and ends April 24, 2019.

•	Another 12-month period starts on March 21, 2019, 
and ends March 20, 2020, his last full day in England.

Juan may use any 12-month period that begins after 
his arrival in England and ends before he returned to 
the United States to meet the physical presence test.

Juan qualifies for nonresident treatment for the 
months he was out of the country during 2018, 2019, 
and 2020. He should file Oregon part-year returns for 
2018 and 2020, and a nonresident return for 2019.

Example 2: Use the facts in Example 1, but change 
Juan’s arrival date to June 23, 2019. In this case, Juan 
won’t qualify for nonresident treatment because he 
wasn't physically present in a foreign country for 330 
days. He must file a full-year resident return for 2019 
and 2020 as well as 2018.

Bona fide residence test. To meet the requirements of 
the bona fide residence test, you must:

•	Establish, to the satisfaction of the Secretary of the 
U.S. Treasury, bona fide residence in a foreign coun-
try, and

•	Maintain a bona fide residence for an uninterrupted 
period that includes a full tax year.

Example 3: Sandra is a calendar-year taxpayer. She 
establishes a bona fide residence in Russia on August 12, 
2018. On June 10, 2019, she moves out of her residence 
and spends six weeks at a hotel in Alaska. On July 22, 
2019, she establishes a bona fide residence in South 
Korea. She is transferred back to the United States on 
May 8, 2020. She doesn’t meet the requirements of the 
bona fide residence test because she doesn’t maintain 
a bona fide residence for an uninterrupted period that 
includes a full tax year.  She also doesn’t qualify for 
the physical presence test because she isn’t physically 

present in a foreign country for 330 full days out of a 
consecutive 12-month period.

Example 4: Use example 3, but instead of going to 
South Korea, Sandra continues to work in Russia 
until February 2020. She would now qualify under 
the bona fide residence test. Her residence was estab-
lished for a full tax year. Sandra should file a nonresi-
dent return for 2019. Sandra also qualifies for non-
resident treatment for the months in 2018 and 2020 
that she maintained the bona fide foreign residence. 
She should file Oregon part-year returns for 2018 and 
2020.

For more information about physical presence or 
bona fide residence, see Publication 54, A Tax Guide 
for U.S. Citizens and Resident Aliens Abroad.

Tax treaties. If a United States tax treaty changes the 
meaning of terms used in determining federal tax-
able income, Oregon accepts the changed meaning 
as it applies to affected taxpayers. We may ask you 
to provide records showing how a particular treaty 
affects your taxable income.

Nonresidents
If you were domiciled outside Oregon and lived out-
side Oregon for the entire year, you were a nonresi-
dent of Oregon. If you are a nonresident, Oregon taxes 
only income you earned in Oregon and received from 
Oregon sources. In some cases, however, a taxpayer 
domiciled in Oregon can be treated as a nonresident. 
See “Special-case Oregon residents.“

Example 1: Misha was a permanent California resi-
dent in 2019. She temporarily worked in Medford as a 
computer consultant for two months in 2019. Misha is 
a nonresident of Oregon. She will pay Oregon tax on 
the income she earned in Oregon. California will also 
tax Misha’s income because she is a resident of that 
state. Because both Oregon and California will tax 
her income, Misha may claim a credit for taxes paid 
to another state. For information about this credit, see 
“Income taxes paid to another state.”

Example 2: Nash is a permanent Nevada resident. He 
has rental property in Oregon. Nash is a nonresident 
of Oregon. He will pay Oregon tax on the income 
from his Oregon rental property.

Part-year residents
If you were domiciled in Oregon for part of the year 
and in another state for part of the year, you were a 
part-year Oregon resident. Oregon taxes all of your 
income for the part of the year you were an Oregon 
resident. Oregon also taxes any income earned in 
Oregon or received from Oregon sources for the part 
of the year you were a nonresident.
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Example 1: Gustav was a resident of Minnesota 
through July 21. On July 22, he moved to Oregon and 
established a new domicile here. Gustav is considered 
to be a part-year Oregon resident for the tax year.

Example 2: Tiffany is a resident of Oregon, but works in 
Alaska six months of the year. She returns to her home in 
Oregon when the job is complete. Tiffany isn’t considered 
a part-year Oregon resident because she doesn’t abandon 
her Oregon domicile when she works in Alaska.

Extensions of time to file
If you can’t file your Oregon return by the due date, 
you may be able to get an extension of time to file. For 
2019 returns, this means you have until October 15, 
2020, to file. 

An extension of time to file your return doesn’t 
mean you have more time to pay your taxes.
You must pay any tax you expect to owe by July 15, 
2020. If you don’t, you will owe interest on the unpaid 
balance from July 16, 2020 until the date it’s paid, and 
will be subject to a minimum penalty of 5 percent of 
the unpaid tax. To avoid penalty and interest charges, 
include enough payment with your extension to cover 
your tax liability. Once you file your return, if you have 
overpaid, we'll refund the overpayment. See “Interest 
and penalties” for more information.

Were you stationed in a designated combat zone?
If you were in the military and stationed in a desig-
nated combat zone, you may qualify for an automatic 
extension of time to file your return. See “Military 
personnel filing information.”

Was your home or business located in a 
presidentially-declared disaster area?
Did you receive additional time to file your federal 
tax return and pay your federal tax? If so, you may 
qualify for additional time to file your Oregon return 
and pay your Oregon tax. Check the “Federal disas-
ter relief” box on your return.

Extension for filing returns
Oregon accepts your federal extension. If you didn’t 
request a federal extension, but you need more time 
to file your Oregon return and you owe tax, see the 
instructions for making an extension payment in 
Publication OR-EXT. Your extension payment must 
be received by July 15, 2020, to avoid penalties and 
interest. Download Publication OR-EXT from our 
website or contact us to order it.

Whether you owe tax or are expecting a refund, mark 
the “Extension filed” box on your Oregon return and 
file your return by October 15, 2020. 

Which form do I file?

Oregon has three types of personal income tax forms. 
The form you use depends on your residency status. 

Resident—Form OR-40

Use Form OR-40 if you are a full-year Oregon resident.

Part-year resident—Form OR-40-P

Use Form OR-40-P if any one of the following is true:

•	You are a part-year resident; or
•	You are filing jointly and one spouse is a full-year 

Oregon resident and one is a part-year resident; or
•	You qualified as an Oregon resident living abroad 

for part of the year.

Nonresident—Form OR-40-N

Use Form OR-40-N if any one of the following is true:

•	You are a nonresident; or
•	You are a special-case Oregon resident (see “Resi-

dency”); or
•	You and your spouse are filing jointly and one (or 

both) of you is a nonresident; or
•	You meet the military personnel nonresident require-

ments (see “Military personnel filing information”); 
or

•	You qualified as an Oregon resident living in a for-
eign country for the entire year (see “Residency”).

You may need to file supplemental schedules or forms, 
depending on your circumstances.

Sales of Oregon real property by 
nonresidents 

Withholding on real property sales. Authorized 
escrow agents may be required to withhold taxes 
due when a nonresident sells real property located 
in Oregon. Unless an exception applies, once escrow 
closes, the agent must withhold and remit the least of:

•	Four percent of the consideration;
•	The net proceeds from the sale; or
•	Eight percent of the gain includible in Oregon tax-

able income.

For more information about this requirement and its 
exceptions, see the instructions for Form OR-18-WC, 
Tax Payments on Real Property Conversions, available 
on our website. If required, the nonresident trans-
feror and escrow agent will complete Form OR-18-WC 
together, and the escrow agent will submit the form 
and any required payment. Keep a copy of this form 
for your own records. 
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Pass-through entities (PTEs)
Reduced tax rate (ORS 316.043). Owners report-
ing nonpassive distributive income from a partner-
ship or S corporation may be eligible for the Oregon 
qualified business income reduced tax rate available 
to owners of PTEs and sole proprietors. See “Other 
items“ for more information. 

Partnerships. Except for publicly-traded partnerships 
taxed as corporations, every partnership with one or 
more Oregon resident partners, and every partner-
ship having income or loss derived from or connected 
with Oregon sources, must file Form OR-65. Partner-
ship income is generally taxable to the partners rather 
than the partnership. See the Form OR-65 instructions 
for further details. Note: Oregon follows federal filing 
guidelines including the due date for filing a partner-
ship return. If you aren’t required to file a federal part-
nership return, you don't need to file one for Oregon. 

S corporations. S corporations doing business in 
Oregon or receiving income from Oregon sources are 
required to file Form OR-20-S. S corporation income is 
generally taxable to the shareholders rather than the 
corporation. However, S corporations do pay Oregon 
tax on certain kinds of income. For more information, 
see the instructions for Form OR-20-S on our website. 

LLCs. Oregon LLCs and foreign LLCs doing business 
in Oregon are taxed and classified the same as for 
federal income tax purposes. Oregon follows federal 
tax treatment.

•	An LLC that chooses to be taxed as a corporation,  
files like a corporation for Oregon (Form OR-20 or 
Form OR-20-INC).

•	A multiple-member LLC that chooses to be taxed 
as a partnership, files like a partnership for Oregon 
(Form OR-65).

•	A single-member LLC that chooses to be taxed as 
a sole proprietorship and files Schedule C, Sched-
ule E, or Schedule F with their federal individual 
income tax return,  files the same way for Oregon.

PTEs with nonresident owners  
(ORS 314.778, 314.784)
Composite tax return. A PTE must file Form OR-OC 
on behalf of nonresident owners who elect to be 
included on the return. For forms and instructions, 
see our website. 

Nonresident withholding. A PTE must withhold tax 
on a nonresident owner’s share of Oregon-source 
income if the nonresident owner elects not to be 
included on Form OR-OC, unless the nonresident 
owner’s share of Oregon-source income is less than 
$1,000 or other exceptions listed in ORS 314.784 apply. 
For more information, see Publication OR-19.

Filing status

General rule
The filing status on your Oregon return must be the 
same as your filing status on your federal return, unless 
you’re married and have a different residency status 
than your spouse or you’re an RDP who isn’t married. 

Example 1: Minerva filed her federal return using the 
filing status of single. She must use the single filing 
status on her Oregon return.

Example 2: Peter and Della are married and both are 
full-year Oregon residents. They filed a joint federal 
return. Peter and Della must use the married filing 
jointly filing status on their Oregon return.

Example 3: Tia and Colin are married and choose the 
married filing separately filing status on their federal 
returns. They must use the married filing separately 
filing status on each of their separate Oregon returns.

Exception: Filing status for married 
taxpayers with different residency status
If you and your spouse file a joint federal return but 
each of you has a different residency status, you have a 
choice of two different filing statuses to use for Oregon:

•	You and your spouse may file one Oregon return 
using the married filing jointly status; or

•	You and your spouse may each file a separate 
Oregon return using the married filing separately 
status.

You may not file as head of household (ORS 316.122).

Note: This exception doesn’t apply to unmarried RDPs 
or married nonresident aliens because these taxpayers 
may not file joint federal returns. For information on 
RDP filing, see “Registered domestic partners.”

Which forms do we file?
Use this table to determine which return form to use if 
you file a joint return or separate returns for Oregon.

Table 3. Spouses with different residency status

Spouses’
residency

status:

If you file a 
joint return, 

use:

If you file
separate

returns, use:

Part-year and
nonresident OR-40-N

Each spouse 
uses the form 
that matches 
their individual 
residency status

Nonresident 
and full-year 
resident

OR-40-N

Part-year and
full-year 
resident

OR-40-P
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Note: If you file separate federal returns, you must 
file separate Oregon returns. If you are a nonresident 
spouse without Oregon income, and you are filing 
separately for Oregon, you aren’t required to file an 
Oregon return. 

What information goes on each return?
On each spouse’s separate Oregon return, enter the 
filer’s name and Social Security number first, then 
the spouse’s name and Social Security number. Mark 
the “Married filing separately” box.

“As if” federal returns. You must include an “as if” 
federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR showing how the 
return would have appeared if you had filed a sep-
arate federal return, along with a copy of the joint 
federal Form 1040 or 1040-SR that you actually filed. 
Label the “as if” federal returns and mark the “Calcu-
lated using ‘as if’ federal return” box on each Oregon 
return. If you are filing paper returns, mail both Ore-
gon returns, the “as if” federal returns, and the actual 
federal return in the same envelope, but don’t staple 
them together.

Income and deductions. You and your spouse each 
report your own share of income and deductions.
Also, report your share of any Oregon additions, sub-
tractions, modifications, or adjustments, including 
the federal tax subtraction. 

Use the following guidelines when preparing your 
return:

Your percentage. Use this formula to compute your 
share of certain deductions:

Your share of federal AGI
= Your percentage 

(not to exceed 100%)Joint federal AGI

If your share is less than -0-, your percentage is -0-.

Federal tax subtraction. Each spouse may subtract a 
portion of his or her joint federal tax liability. Mul-
tiply the joint federal tax liability (after all credits 
except the EIC) by your percentage to determine your 
federal tax subtraction. 

Itemized deductions. Multiply each itemized deduc-
tion by your percentage to compute the amount to 
include on your separate Schedule OR-A if you can't 
clearly determine each spouse’s deductions. For more 
information about itemized deductions, see the instruc-
tions for Schedule OR-A.

•	Standard deduction. The Oregon standard deduc-
tion is $2,270 for each spouse.

•	Age 65 or older, or blind. Each taxpayer is entitled 
to an additional deduction if they turned 65 on or 
before January 1, 2020 or if they’re blind. The addi-
tional deduction is $1,000 for married taxpayers 
filing separately. A taxpayer who is both age 65 or 

older and blind may claim two additional deduc-
tions plus the regular $2,270 standard deduction.

•	Exception: If one spouse claims itemized deduc-
tions, the other spouse can’t claim the standard 
deduction. The other spouse may only claim item-
ized deductions.

Exemption credits. You can’t prorate exemptions. You 
may claim exemptions for yourself and any depen-
dents allowed on your federal return. You can’t claim 
an exemption for the same dependent claimed on 
your spouse’s return.

Example: Jim worked and lived in Oregon all year. 
Mary moved from Idaho to Oregon in July and mar-
ried Jim. They filed a joint federal return and are fil-
ing separate returns for Oregon. Mary earned $30,000 
in Oregon and $22,000 in Idaho. Jim earned $41,000 in 
Oregon. Their total federal AGI was $93,000. Jim and 
Mary claimed the standard deduction on their joint 
federal return. They had $12,200 in Oregon itemized 
deductions, including $4,000 in property tax and 
$6,400 in mortgage interest on their Oregon home, 
and $1,800 in charitable contributions. Their joint 
federal income tax liability was $14,400. Jim, a full-
year Oregon resident, files Form OR-40 and reports 
his income of $41,000. On the return, he enters his 
own name and Social Security number (SSN) first, 
then enters Mary’s information, and marks the “Mar-
ried filing separately” box. He creates his separate “as 
if” federal return, marks the “Calculated using ‘as if’ 
federal return” box on the Oregon return, and claims 
the following federal tax liability and deductions:

His share:	  $41,000	 ÷	 $93,000	 = 	 0.44 (44%)

Federal tax:	  0.44	 ×	 $14,400	 = 	 $6,336

(His subtraction is limited to $3,400; see “Federal income 
tax liability” in “Subtractions.”)	

Oregon itemized deductions:				  
Property tax:	  0.44	 ×	 $4,000	 = 	 $1,760

Mortgage  
interest:	  0.44	 ×	 $6,400	 = 	 $2,816

Charitable  
contributions:	  0.44	 ×	 $1,800	 = 	 $792

Total Oregon itemized deductions:			   $5,368

Jim will have Oregon itemized deductions of $5,368. He 
follows the line instructions for Oregon Form OR-40 
and Schedule OR-A to complete his return.

Mary, a part-year resident, files Form OR-40-P and 
reports $52,000 federal AGI ($30,000 from Oregon 
sources). On her return, she enters her own name and 
SSN first, then enters Jim’s information, and marks 
the “Married filing separately” box. She creates her 
separate “as if” federal return, marks the ”Calculated 
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using 'as if' federal return” box on the Oregon return, 
and claims the following federal tax liability and 
deductions:

Her share:	  $52,000	 ÷	 $93,000	 =	 0.56 (56%)

Federal tax:	   0.56	 ×	 $14,400	 =	 $8,064

(Her subtraction is also limited to $3,400.)

Oregon itemized deductions:				  
Property tax:	  0.56	 ×	 $4,000	 = 	 $2,240

Mortgage  
interest:	  0.56	 ×	 $6,400	 = 	 $3,584

Charitable  
contributions:	  0.56	 ×	 $1,800	 = 	 $1,008

Total Oregon itemized deductions:			   $6,832

Mary will have Oregon itemized deductions of $6,832. 
She follows the line instructions for Form OR-40-P and 
Schedule OR-A to complete her return.

Married filing separately with community 
property income
An Oregon resident whose spouse lives in a commu-
nity property state may have community property 
income that is taxable by Oregon. There are nine com-
munity property states: Arizona, California, Idaho, 
Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington, 
and Wisconsin.

Some residents of community property states aren’t 
subject to community property laws for various rea-
sons. You will need to check with your community 
property state for details. Federal Publication 555, 
Community Property, also contains information that 
may be helpful to you. 

Here are examples of how to file for Oregon:

Example 1: Paul and Marie are married, but they are 
legally separated. Paul is an Oregon resident. Marie is 
a resident of California, a community property state. 
They maintain separate households, don’t combine 
funds, and have no plans to get back together. They 
file a joint return with the IRS. When Paul files his 
separate return for Oregon on Form OR-40, he doesn’t 
have to include any community property income 
because California’s community property laws don’t 
apply to him and Marie.

Example 2: Renton is an Idaho resident. His wife, 
Julie, lives in Oregon. Julie plans to move to Idaho 
next year, but for now they will live separately. Julie’s 
income for the year is $40,000 in wages, $3,000 in cap-
ital gain, and $100 in interest. 

Because Renton is domiciled in Idaho, he and Julie 
are subject to Idaho’s community property laws. His 
income for the year is $60,000 in wages and $500 in 

interest. They plan to file a joint return with the IRS, but 
aren’t sure whether they want to file jointly for Oregon.

If they file a joint return for Oregon, they will file 
on Form OR-40-N. The Oregon column will contain 
all of Julie’s income, because Oregon taxes all of her 
income from all sources. In addition to Julie’s sepa-
rate income, she has $30,250 of community property 
income for the year—half of Renton’s wages and 
bank interest. Line 34F (federal column) of their joint 
Form OR-40-N is $103,600, which is equal to their 
federal AGI. Line 34S (Oregon column) is $73,350—
Julie’s wages, capital gain, interest, and community 
property income ($40,000 + $3,000 + $100 + $30,250). 
They are also eligible for a credit for taxes paid to 
Idaho on Julie’s mutually-taxed income of $30,250. 
(See “Income taxes paid to another state“ for more 
information on this credit.)

If they file separate returns for Oregon, Julie will file 
using Form OR-40. Julie will fill out a federal return as 
if she had filed separately. She will include $73,350 in 
separate income and community property income. This 
amount flows through to Line 7 of her Oregon Form 
OR-40. She is eligible for a credit for taxes paid to Idaho, 
because she must also file a nonresident Idaho return to 
report her community property income of $30,250.

Example 3: Kevin lives and works in California and 
is subject to California’s community property laws. 
Lori, his wife, moved to Oregon with their kids two 
years ago. Kevin supports them and will be ready to 
transfer to Oregon within the next two years. Kevin 
has $110,000 in wages. Kevin and Lori have joint 
income of $2,000 in interest and $4,000 in capital gain. 
Lori has separate income of $5,000 from her business. 
They decide to file separate federal returns. Lori’s 
federal AGI is $63,000: half of Kevin’s wages, half of 
their joint income, and all of her business income. 
Kevin’s federal AGI is $58,000; half of his wages and 
half of their joint income. Lori must file using the 
married filing separately filing status for Oregon on 
Form OR-40 because she did so on her federal return. 
She is eligible for a credit for taxes paid to another 
state, but must claim it on her California nonresident 
return. Kevin isn’t required to file for Oregon. 

Important: You must check the laws of the commu-
nity property state to see if you, or your spouse, are 
subject to those laws even if your situation is similar 
to one of the examples.

Registered domestic partners 
(RDPs) (ORS 314.023)

Filing your Oregon income tax return
The following section applies only to Oregon same-sex 
RDPs who haven’t been legally married. If you were legally 
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married at the end of the tax year, you are considered mar-
ried for federal and Oregon purposes. You don’t need to 
complete an “as-if” federal return. Instead, attach your 
actual federal return to your Oregon return and follow the 
instructions for married individuals.

In Oregon, a domestic partnership is a civil contract 
entered into between two individuals of the same sex, 
where at least one of the individuals is an Oregon res-
ident. RDPs are subject to the same tax statutes and 
regulations that apply to married filers. As an RDP, 
you are no longer eligible to use the single filing sta-
tus on your Oregon return; generally, you must use 
the married filing jointly or married filing separately 
status. See IRS Publication 17 for information about 
other filing status requirements. To correctly figure 
your Oregon tax liability, you need to complete a fed-
eral income tax return as if you are filing as married 
filing jointly or married filing separately for federal 
purposes. Use the information you calculated on the 
“as if” federal return to complete your Oregon income 
tax return. You won't submit your “as if” return to the 
IRS, but you must include a copy with your Oregon 
tax return. Mark the “Calculated using ‘as if’ federal 
return” box on the Oregon return.

General filing instructions for RDPs
If you were an Oregon RDP on December 31, or if you 
were an RDP during the year and your partner died 
and you didn’t enter into a new registered domestic 
partnership or marry before the end of the year, fol-
low these directions for filing your income tax return:

1.	 Complete your federal return forms for each part-
ner, using the appropriate federal filing status, 
such as single or head of household. File these 
returns with the IRS. 

2.	 Use another federal form to complete a return that 
assumes you were allowed to file a joint or sepa-
rate federal return. Use all the same IRS rules and 
procedures that apply to married couples, except 
for the federal tax liability. This is called the “as 
if” federal return. Important: Don’t file this “as if” 
form with the IRS. Note: If your wage statement 
includes the imputed value of health or educa-
tion benefits you received from your employer for 
your partner or qualifying dependents, subtract 
the amount included in your wages on the “other 
income” line of your “as if” federal return.

3.	 Complete your Oregon return using the same fil-
ing status you used on the “as if” federal return. 
Information used to fill out the Oregon return 
must be taken from the “as if” federal return and 
not the individual federal return that you actually 
filed with the IRS, except for the federal income 
tax liability subtraction. Use the amount each 
partner actually paid in federal tax to compute 
the correct federal tax subtraction.

4.	 Submit both of your actual federal returns, your 
“as if” federal return, and your Oregon return to 
us. If you and your partner file separate Oregon 
returns, send the returns in the same envelope, 
but don’t staple your separate returns together. 

It’s very important to keep copies of all “as if” returns 
with your tax records for future reference. For more 
information on filing your tax return as an Oregon 
RDP, visit our website and search for RDP information.

Individual Taxpayer Identification 
Number

The IRS issues individual taxpayer identification 
numbers (ITINs) to taxpayers and their dependents 
who don’t have SSNs. If you have your own SSN, 
don't apply for an ITIN; use your SSN. If you already 
have an ITIN, enter your ITIN wherever a SSN is 
requested.

Requesting an ITIN from the IRS
If you don’t have an ITIN, you must file your fed-
eral return and attach Form W-7, Application for IRS 
Individual Taxpayer Identification Number. The IRS will 
issue an ITIN, associate the ITIN with your return, 
and process your return. For Form W-7, go to the IRS 
website at www.irs.gov or call (800) 829-1040.

Filing your Oregon return before receiving 
your ITIN
You may file your Oregon return without an SSN or 
ITIN. Follow these instructions if you, your spouse, 
or your dependents don’t have an ITIN when you file 
your Oregon return:

1.	 Complete and file each ITIN application (federal 
Form W-7) according to IRS instructions.

2.	 On your Oregon tax return, mark the “Applied for 
ITIN” box wherever the SSN is required for you 
or your family members who have applied for an 
ITIN. You don’t need the ITIN(s) to file your Ore-
gon tax return. Don’t attach your ITIN application 
to your Oregon tax return.

3.	 File your 2019 Oregon tax return by July 15, 2020.
4.	 The IRS will send you a letter with your ITIN 

information. We need this information to issue 
your refund and correctly apply your future tax 
payments to your account. Refunds won’t be 
issued without a valid SSN or ITIN. Send us 
your: 

•	 Name (and the name of your spouse and 
dependents if they applied for an ITIN).

•	 Current address.
•	 Previous SSNs or ITINs used when filing an 

Oregon return (if any); and
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•	 A copy of each of the letters you receive from 
the IRS with the ITINs for you, your spouse, or 
your dependents.

Send this information to:

	 Oregon Department of Revenue
	 PO Box 14999
	 Salem OR 97309-0990

Military personnel filing 
information

Oregon follows federal law, including the Service-
member’s Civil Relief Act (SCRA). Under the SCRA, 
military pay of a nonresident for service within 
Oregon isn’t considered to be income from Oregon 
sources. As a member of the military, if you are sta-
tioned in Oregon, but you aren’t domiciled in Ore-
gon, your military pay isn’t taxed by Oregon. 

If you are domiciled in Oregon, but stationed outside 
of the state, you could be treated as a nonresident for 
tax purposes if you meet the “special-case nonresi-
dent” exception requirements. If you are domiciled 
in Oregon, and performing military service in Ore-
gon, your military pay is subject to tax, although the 
pay could qualify for certain subtractions. 

Military personnel performing active service within 
Oregon are treated as nonresidents for tax purposes, 
if their address in the payroll records of the Defense 
Finance and Accounting System (DFAS) is outside Ore-
gon, no matter where they are domiciled (ORS 316.027). 

Moving expense deduction 
Your unreimbursed moving expenses may be deducted 
on your Oregon return only if:

•	You are on active duty in the United States Army, 
Navy, Air Force, Marines, or Coast Guard,

•	Your expenses are deductible on your federal return 
because they are related to a permanent change of 
station (known as a PCS move),

•	Your new duty station is in Oregon, and 
•	You have taxable income from employment (military 

pay or other employment, including self-employ-
ment) performed in Oregon. 

Note: Are you the spouse of a military member? See 
“Military spouses.“

Residency of military personnel
Domicile. Generally, you are considered to be an 
Oregon resident if your domicile is in Oregon. Your 
domicile is the place that you consider to be your 
home. It’s the place where you are from, and where 
you plan to return when you are away. Your domicile 
doesn’t change if you are assigned to perform military 

service in another state, unless you take other actions 
to establish a new domicile there. Domicile and resi-
dency are explained in more detail in “Residency.“

Exceptions to Oregon residency 
Even if you are domiciled in Oregon, you may be 
treated as a nonresident for tax purposes if you meet 
the requirements listed in A or B:

A.	 Special-case nonresident. You are treated as a 
“special-case” nonresident of Oregon if you are 
stationed outside of Oregon and all three of the 
following are true:

1.	 You didn’t have a permanent residence in Ore-
gon for yourself or your family during any part 
of the tax year, and

2.	 Your permanent residence was outside Oregon 
during the entire tax year, and

3.	 You spent less than 31 days in Oregon during 
the tax year.

B.	 DFAS address outside of Oregon. You are treated 
as a nonresident of Oregon, no matter where you 
are stationed, if both of the following are true:

1.	 You are performing “active service,” as defined 
in 10 United States Code (U.S.C.) Section 101(d)
(3), other than annual training duty or inactive-
duty training, and

2.	 You are a resident of another state according to 
DFAS payroll records.

If you meet the requirements in either A or B above, 
you are treated as a nonresident for Oregon tax pur-
poses and Oregon won’t tax your military pay. You 
will owe Oregon tax only if you had income from 
another Oregon source. This income may be from an 
Oregon property sale, a business, or rental property 
located in Oregon. If you have had Oregon income 
tax withheld from your military pay, you should file 
an Oregon nonresident tax return to get a refund of 
the withheld tax. If you continue to be a nonresident, 
file an Oregon-only withholding certificate with your 
pay clerk as described in “Withholding exemption.”

Oregon residents 
Stationed in Oregon. If you are domiciled in Oregon 
and stationed in Oregon, you are taxed on income 
from all sources, both inside and outside Oregon. 
This includes your military pay for service in Oregon 
if either of the following is true for you:

•	Your address in the DFAS payroll records is in Ore-
gon; or 

•	Your military pay is from annual training duty, 
inactive-duty training, or other service in Oregon 
that isn’t “active service” as defined in 10 U.S.C. 
Section 101(d)(3).
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If neither of these are true, see the Exceptions to Ore-
gon residency, above, to see if you qualify for treat-
ment as a nonresident for tax purposes. 

Stationed outside Oregon. If you are domiciled in 
Oregon, but you are stationed outside of the state, see 
the Exceptions to Oregon residency, above, to find 
out whether you can be treated as a nonresident of 
Oregon for tax purposes. If you don’t qualify as a 
nonresident, you will be taxed as a resident on your 
income from all sources, both inside and outside 
Oregon. 

Military pay subtractions
[Subtraction code 319]
You may qualify for more than one subtraction for 
military pay. To be eligible for the subtractions, the 
military pay must be included in federal AGI. Military 
pay includes active duty pay, reenlistment bonuses, 
and pay for guard and reserve annual training, week-
end drills, and inactive duty training.

The Oregon military pay subtractions are:

•	Stationed outside Oregon. As of August 1, 1990, 
you can subtract military pay earned while sta-
tioned anywhere outside Oregon until the date the 
president sets as the end of combat zone activities 
in the Persian Gulf Desert Shield area. The date 
wasn't set when this material was last revised. You 
aren’t required to be stationed in a designated com-
bat zone to be eligible for this subtraction.

•	Guard and reserve away from home. National 
Guard members and reservists assigned away 
from home for 21 days or longer can subtract their 
military pay earned during this time.

•	Other military pay. You can subtract any remain-
ing taxable military pay after taking the above sub-
tractions, up to $6,000.

Total subtraction. You may qualify for more than 
one military pay subtraction. However, your total 
subtraction can’t be more than the total military pay 
included in federal AGI. 

Note: Certain forms of military pay that aren’t 
included in federal AGI, such as combat pay, aren’t 
taxed in Oregon. They aren’t subtracted on your 
return because they aren’t included in your federal 
taxable income. 

The following examples show the military pay sub-
tractions described above.

Example 1: Seth, an Oregon resident, enlisted in the 
Navy. He earned $10,000 of active duty pay in Spain 
and $8,000 of military pay inside Oregon during the 
year. His address in the DFAS payroll records is in 
Oregon. He included the $18,000 in his federal AGI. 
Seth’s total military pay subtraction is $16,000. Seth can 

subtract the $10,000 earned outside Oregon, and $6,000 
of his military pay earned in Oregon. Seth files Oregon 
Form OR-40 and claims his military pay subtraction on 
Schedule OR-ASC.

Example 2: Brett is an Oregon resident and files 
jointly with his wife, who lives and maintains a resi-
dence in Oregon. Brett served in a designated combat 
zone for five months this year and earned $8,000 in 
combat pay. He served in Germany for the rest of the 
year and earned $15,000 of military pay. The presi-
dent didn’t declare an end to combat zone activities 
this year. Because Brett excluded his combat pay on 
his federal return, he doesn’t have to subtract it on his 
Oregon return. Therefore, Brett’s Oregon subtraction 
is the $15,000 of military pay earned outside Oregon 
and included in federal AGI. Brett and his wife will 
file Oregon Form OR-40 and claim the subtraction on 
Schedule OR-ASC.

Example 3: Gertrude and Merlin are married, filing 
a joint return. Both are Oregon residents, and their 
address in the DFAS payroll records is in Oregon. 
Gertrude was on active duty overseas (not in a com-
bat zone) this year. She had $21,000 active duty pay. 
Merlin served in the Oregon National Guard and 
was away from home overnight from April to July 
and again for two weeks in November. He served in 
Oregon when away from home. Merlin earned $1,500 
military pay for his weekend drills. He also earned 
$8,000 while away from home from April to July and 
$1,000 for the two weeks in November. Gertrude and 
Merlin will include $31,500 of military pay in their 
federal AGI. Then they will determine their Oregon 
subtraction.

•	Stationed outside Oregon: All $21,000 of Ger-
trude’s active duty pay is eligible for this subtrac-
tion because she was stationed outside Oregon.

•	Guard and reserve away from home: $8,000 of 
Merlin’s pay is eligible for this subtraction because 
he was away from home for more than 21 consecu-
tive days from April to July. The pay he received for 
the two weeks he was away from home in Novem-
ber doesn’t qualify.

•	Other military pay: Gertrude doesn’t have any 
other military pay not already eligible for the other 
subtractions. Merlin’s remaining military pay is the 
$1,500 he earned for weekend drills and the $1,000 
he earned for two weeks in November. The total for 
the remaining pay is $2,500, which is less than the 
$6,000 maximum allowed per military member, so 
he is allowed to subtract the entire $2,500.

Combined, Gertrude and Merlin have a military pay 
subtraction of $31,500, because all of their military 
pay is eligible for at least one of Oregon’s military pay 
subtractions. They will file Oregon Form OR-40 and 
claim the subtraction on Schedule OR-ASC.
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Nonresidents stationed in Oregon 
Oregon doesn’t tax your military pay if you are domi-
ciled in another state. You don’t need to file an Oregon 
return unless you had other income from an Oregon 
source or had Oregon tax withheld from your pay. 
Examples of Oregon-source income include:

•	Wages from a job held on off-duty hours.
•	Earnings from an Oregon business or rental property.

Note: Nonresidents’ interest income from an Oregon 
bank account generally isn’t taxable by Oregon.

If you had Oregon tax withheld from your military 
pay, you should file a return to claim a refund. You 
should also contact your payroll clerk to stop with-
holding Oregon taxes if Oregon isn’t your state of 
domicile.

Example 1: Selina is a nonresident of Oregon in the 
U.S. Navy stationed in Portland. She has no other 
Oregon-source income and doesn’t have Oregon 
income tax withheld from her military pay. Selina 
isn’t required to file an Oregon return.

Example 2: Jared is a nonresident of Oregon in the 
U.S. Coast Guard stationed in Astoria. In his off-duty 
hours he works part-time for an Oregon employer. 
Because Jared has Oregon income other than his mil-
itary wages, he will file Oregon Form OR-40-N as a 
nonresident. 

Example 3: Caitlyn was domiciled in Oregon when 
she joined the U.S. Army in 2010, and she hasn’t estab-
lished a new domicile in another state. Since July 2017 
she has been stationed at the Army’s chemical depot 
in Umatilla, and her DFAS address is her apartment 
in Kennewick, Washington. Along with her mili-
tary pay, in 2019 she earned interest from a savings 
account in an Oregon bank and has wages from an 
off-duty job in Kennewick. Since Caitlyn is treated as 
a nonresident for tax purposes, her military pay isn’t 
taxed by Oregon. The interest she earned from the 
Oregon bank isn't taxed because she is considered to 
be a nonresident. She also isn't taxed on the wages 
from her Kennewick job. Caitlyn isn’t required to file 
an Oregon return for 2019 unless Oregon tax was 
withheld from her military pay. 

Filing your nonresident return 
If you have other income from Oregon sources, use 
Form OR-40-N. Enter your military income on line 
7 in the federal column only. Don’t enter your mili-
tary pay in the Oregon column. Report other income 
taxable by Oregon in the Oregon column. On Sched-
ule OR-ASC-NP, enter the military wage income you 
reported in the federal column on line 7, but only in 
the federal column. In the Oregon column, enter -0-. 
It’s important to enter your military pay this way 

because it affects the amount of deductions and cred-
its you’re entitled to claim. Mark the “Military” box 
on the return. 

If you and your spouse file a joint federal return, and 
you are both nonresidents of Oregon, you must file 
a joint Oregon return as well. Use Form OR-40-N. 
If your spouse is an Oregon resident, you have the 
option of using the married filing separately status 
for Oregon. Your spouse would file Form OR-40, or 
Form OR-40-P if a part-year Oregon resident, and you 
would file Form OR-40-N. If you file a joint return, 
use Form OR-40-N.

Filing and payment date
The due date for filing a calendar year return and 
payment of the tax is July 15. If the 15th falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is 
the next working day of the month. If you are out-
side the United States for military duty on the due 
date, the due date is extended by two months. Mark 
the “Extension filed” box on your return. See “Exten-
sions of time to file” for more information.

If you owe tax on your Oregon income tax return, you 
must pay the entire amount by the due date. Interest 
and penalty will be added to all unpaid balances.

Extension for filing your return
You can get an extension to file your return, but you 
can’t get an extension to pay your tax. More informa-
tion can be found under “Extensions of time to file.”

Combat zone/Contingency area. Were you stationed 
in a combat zone or contingency area? Did you 
receive additional time from the IRS to file your 
federal return and pay your tax? If both are true, 
Oregon allows the same additional time to file and 
pay your Oregon tax. Mark the “Extension filed” and 
“Military” boxes on your return. Keep your payroll 
records or other proof of your combat zone/contin-
gency area service and the IRS extension with your 
tax records; we may request a copy at a later date. 

Note: Oregon follows federal law regarding the 
treatment of combat pay and related remedies. If you 
served in the Sinai Peninsula of Egypt at any time 
after June 9, 2015 and you’re amending your federal 
return for tax years 2016 or 2017 to exclude this mili-
tary pay, you may also amend your Oregon return 
if Oregon taxed this income. If you were assessed 
related penalties or interest, contact us for further 
instructions.

Interest and collections
If your active duty service (Title 10) has materially 
affected your ability to pay your Oregon tax debt, 
you may qualify for relief of interest and collection 
activity while on active duty and up to 180 days 
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thereafter. The interest rate on tax debt owed by mili-
tary members is limited to 6 percent annually. File a 
claim for relief by writing to us within 180 days after 
your active duty service has ended. Relief may not 
be available for the period prior to receiving your 
request. Include a copy of orders showing your active 
duty status and dates.

You may qualify for relief of interest and collection 
activity under Oregon law if you meet all of the fol-
lowing requirements:

•	You have a tax liability that came due while on 
active duty under Title 10,

•	You have been on active duty for more than 90 con-
secutive days,

•	Your active duty service (Title 10) occurred on or 
after September 11, 2001, and

•	You notify us within 180 days after your active 
duty service has ended.

Guard members called into active state service by the 
governor under Title 32 may qualify for relief of inter-
est and collection activities on any tax owed prior to 
active state service. Send a written request for relief 
to us within 180 days after the active state service has 
ended. Include a copy of your orders. Relief may not 
be available for the period prior to receiving your 
notification.

Withholding exemption
You have the option to stop Oregon withholding 
from your military pay if all of the following are true:

•	You had a right to a refund of all 2019 Oregon income 
tax withheld because you had no tax liability, and

•	You expect a refund of all 2020 Oregon income tax 
withheld because you reasonably believe you won’t 
have any tax liability, and

•	For all of 2020, expect to be stationed outside of 
Oregon, or you’ll continue to have an address out-
side of Oregon in the DFAS payroll records.

If all of the above are true and you don’t want Oregon 
tax withheld from your military pay, you must file an 
additional withholding certificate with your payroll 
office. Use Form OR-W-4 and follow the instructions 
to declare that you’re exempt using the appropriate 
code. Give Form OR-W-4 to your pay clerk. 

Military spouses
If you’re a military spouse, the state where you live 
may be different from the state where you are domi-
ciled. See “Residency” for more information about 
determining your domicile.

Oregon follows federal law, including the SCRA and 
the Military Spouse Residency Relief Act (MSRRA). 
Under the SCRA, for tax purposes you may elect 
to be treated as a resident of the same state as the 

military member. Under MSRRA, your income may 
not be taxable to Oregon if your spouse is stationed 
in Oregon, you are living in Oregon to be with your 
spouse, and you are domiciled outside of Oregon.

In addition, your income may not be taxable if you are 
domiciled in Oregon, but you are living in another 
state where your spouse is stationed. See “Special-
case Oregon residents” in “Residency” for details.

Nonresident spouse of military member 
stationed in Oregon
MSRRA prevents Oregon from taxing your Oregon 
wages if you meet certain criteria. If you’re living 
in Oregon only to be with your spouse who is sta-
tioned here, and you’re domiciled outside of Oregon, 
your Oregon wages are exempt from Oregon tax and 
aren’t considered to be Oregon-source income. Note: 
This exemption doesn’t apply to spouses who are 
also members of the military.

You aren’t required to file an Oregon return unless 
you had other income from an Oregon source or Ore-
gon taxes were withheld from your pay. Examples of 
Oregon-source income include:

•	Non-military wages earned by your spouse (the 
military member) in Oregon.

•	Income from a business you operate in Oregon.
•	Rental income from Oregon property.

If you file an Oregon return, use Form OR-40-N. 
Include all of your wages on line 7 in the federal col-
umn only. Don’t include your exempt income (or your 
spouse’s military pay) in the Oregon column. There 
is no further adjustment for your exempt wages. For 
information about the subtraction for your spouse’s 
military pay, see “Filing your nonresident return”, 
above.

Example: Staff Sergeant Wilson, USAF, and his 
spouse, Tracy, are Arizona residents living in Klam-
ath Falls where SSgt Wilson is stationed. In addition 
to his military duty, SSgt Wilson works part-time 
at a local car dealership where Tracy works as the 
finance manager. They must file an Oregon nonresi-
dent return to report SSgt Wilson's wages from the 
car dealership. They report his military pay and all of 
their wages in the federal column of Form OR-40-N, 
and only his wages from the car dealership in the 
Oregon column.

To stop withholding of Oregon income tax from your 
exempt wages, complete an additional withholding 
certificate. Use Form OR-W-4  and follow the instruc-
tions to declare that you’re exempt using the appro-
priate code. File the form with your employer.

Your employer may require proof that you qualify for 
the exemption.
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Oregon resident spouse of military member 
stationed outside Oregon
If your spouse is stationed outside of Oregon, but 
you are an Oregon resident living in Oregon, your 
income is taxable for Oregon purposes. If you file a 
joint return with your spouse, use Form OR-40-N, 
and include all of your income in the Oregon column. 
If you and your spouse file a joint federal return, and 
your spouse isn’t a resident of Oregon, you have the 
option to file joint or separate returns. If you file a 
joint return, use Form OR-40-N; if you use the mar-
ried filing separately status, use Form OR-40 (or 
Form OR-40-P if you’re a part-year resident) and your 
spouse with Oregon-source income uses Form OR-
40-N. If your spouse doesn’t have income taxable to 
Oregon, they aren’t required to file a separate Oregon 
return. Use the general instructions for all taxpayers.

Do you qualify to be treated as a nonresident because 
you meet the “special-case resident” requirements 
or you’re making the election under the SCRA? If so, 

you aren’t taxed on your out-of-state wages or self-
employment income. This is the case even if the other 
state can’t tax you because of MSRRA. You don’t have 
to file an Oregon return unless you had Oregon tax 
withheld or other Oregon source income, such as 
rental income or retirement pay. See “Special-case 
Oregon residents” in “Residency” for details. If you 
file an Oregon return, use Form OR-40-N.

Moving expenses of military spouses
As the spouse of an active duty member of the United 
States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, or Coast 
Guard, your unreimbursed moving expenses may be 
deducted on your Oregon return only if:

•	Your expenses are deductible on your federal return,
•	You relocate to, or within, Oregon when the mili-

tary member is ordered to relocate due to a perma-
nent change of duty station, known as a PCS move, 
and 

•	You have taxable income from employment, includ-
ing self-employment, performed in Oregon.
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Payments and refunds
Payment options

Payment is due on July 15, 2020, regardless of any 
extension you may have to file your return. If pay-
ment isn’t made by the due date, interest and penal-
ties may be charged. See “Interest and penalties” for 
more information. 

Electronic payments from your checking or 
savings account
You can pay your prior year income taxes, current 
year income taxes, and 2020 estimated income taxes 
directly from your checking or savings account. You 
also have the option to pay by direct debit when you 
file your return. There is no fee for this. Visit our web-
site for more information.

Credit card payments
You can pay your current-year balance due, make 
estimated tax payments for 2020, and pay prior year 
taxes with your Discover, MasterCard, or Visa credit 
card. 

To make an online payment, go to Revenue Online on 
our website. A convenience fee may be charged for 
this service. Keep the payment confirmation number 
for your records.

Payment by check or money order
•	Make your check or money order payable to Oregon 

Department of Revenue.

•	Write the tax year, the form number or type of  pay-
ment you’re making, and the last four digits of your 
SSN or ITIN on your check.

•	Use blue or black ballpoint pen. Don’t use red or 
purple ink or gel pens.

•	Don’t send cash or a postdated check.
•	If you’re mailing a payment with your return, send 

your payment in the same envelope with your 
return. Don’t use a payment voucher.

•	If you’re mailing a payment separate from your 
return, include the payment voucher, Form OR-
40-V, with your payment. Form OR-40-V is avail-
able in our tax booklets and on our website.

Direct deposit of refund
We can deposit your income tax refund directly into 
an account you designate, such as a checking, sav-
ings, or certain type of retirement account. 

Requirements for direct deposit:

•	The account must have routing and account num-
bers and be able to accept Automated Clearing 
House (ACH) payments. 

•	The final destination for the deposit can’t be out-
side the U.S.

•	If you are filing a joint return, both you and your 
spouse must sign the return. 

Note: Some accounts may not accept direct deposits. 
Also, some institutions don’t permit the deposit of a 
joint refund into an individual account. 
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Payments and refunds
Payment options

Payment is due on April 18, 2016, regardless of any 
extension you may have to file your return. If pay-
ment is not made by the due date, interest and penal-
ties may be charged. See page 33 for more informa-
tion about penalties and interest. 

Electronic payments from your checking or 
savings account

You can pay your prior year income taxes, current 
year income taxes, and 2016 estimated income taxes 
directly from your checking or savings account. 
There is no fee for this. Visit  www.oregon.gov/dor for 
more information.

Credit card payments

You can pay your current-year balance due, make 
estimated tax payments for 2016, and pay prior year 
taxes with your American Express, Discover, Master-
Card, or Visa credit card. 

To pay your taxes by credit card, contact Value Pay-
ment Systems, Inc. Call toll free 1-888-972-9673 or 
visit their website at  www.payortax.com. A conve-
nience fee may be charged for this service. Keep the 
payment confirmation number for your records.

Payment by check or money order
• Make your check or money order payable to 

Oregon Department of Revenue.
• Write your daytime telephone number and the tax 

year to apply the payment on your check.
• Use blue or black ballpoint pen. Do not use red or 

purple ink or gel pens.
• Do not send cash or a postdated check.
• Include the payment voucher, Form 40-V with your 

payment. Form 40V is available in our tax booklets, 
and both forms are available for download on our 
website.

Direct deposit of refund
Your income tax refund can be deposited directly 
into your account at a bank or other financial institu-
tion, including credit unions.

If you are filing a joint return, both you and your 
spouse must sign the tax return. Without both sig-
natures, we cannot deposit the refund directly into 
your account.

Note: Some banks may not accept direct deposits 
into accounts that are payable through another bank. 
Also, some banks do not permit the deposit of a joint 
refund into an individual account. In addition, the 
department cannot direct deposit a refund if the final 
destination is a foreign bank account.
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Contact your financial institution to verify your rout-
ing and account numbers and to make sure your 
deposit will be accepted.

•	Routing numbers are nine digits and must begin 
with 01 through 12, 21 through 32, or 61 through 72.

•	Account numbers can be up to 17 characters, both 
numbers and letters. Include hyphens, but don’t 
include spaces or special symbols. If your account 
number is fewer than 17 characters, leave the 
unused boxes (on your return) blank.

See the sample check diagram for help with identify-
ing these numbers.

Caution: It’s your responsibility to make sure your 
information is correct. These numbers can’t be changed 
after your return is filed, and we can’t undo a deposit 
that was made to the wrong account.  

We aren’t responsible when an institution rejects a 
direct deposit. If your direct deposit is rejected, we 
will issue a check and send it to the mailing address 
shown on your return.

Application of refund
If your original or amended return shows a refund, 
you may apply some or all of it to:

•	Make an estimated tax payment for a later tax year.
•	Donate to a charitable organization.
•	Make a deposit to one or more Oregon College or 

MFS 529 Savings Plan accounts.
•	Contribute to a political party (Form OR-40 filers 

only).

Estimated tax payment. If you apply your refund 
as an estimated tax payment for a later tax year, the 
payment will be credited to your open estimated tax 
account as of the date shown in Table 4.

Table 4. Refund applied as estimated tax payment

If you file: The payment will be 
credited as of:

An original return on 
or before the due date, 
without extension

The date that the first 
estimated payment of the 
open tax period is due 
(usually April 15).

An original return on 
extension, on or before 
the extension due date

The later of:

•	 The due date for the 
first estimated payment 
of the open tax period 
(usually April 15), or

•	 The date of the pay-
ment that resulted in 
the refund.

An original or amended 
return:

•	 After the due date, 
without extension; or 

•	 On extension, after the 
extension due date

The date the return was 
filed.

The election to apply your refund as an estimated 
tax payment is irrevocable.

Example 1: Beth made four estimated tax payments 
for tax year 2019; her last payment was made on Janu-
ary 15, 2020. On September 8, 2020, Beth filed her 2019 
return on extension. Beth claimed a $500 refund and 
elected to have the refund applied as an estimated 
payment. The $500 refund will be credited to Beth’s 
2020 tax account as of April 15, 2020.

Example 2: Ray filed his 2018 return on May 13, 2020. 
Ray overpaid his 2018 tax by $2,500 and elected to 
apply $2,000 of the refund as an estimated tax pay-
ment. Because Ray’s 2018 return was filed after the 
due date, his estimated tax payment of $2,000 will be 
applied to his 2020 tax account as of May 13, 2020, the 
date he filed his return. Ray will claim $2,000 as an 
estimated payment when he files his 2020 return.

Two open tax accounts. An estimated tax account is 
“open” for accepting payments from the first day of 
the tax year until 15 days after the last day of the tax 
year. For most taxpayers, this means they will have 
two “open” accounts from January 1 through January 
15, one account for the later year that opens on Janu-
ary 1, and one account for the earlier year that closes 
on January 15. If a payment from an applied refund 
is credited at a time when two accounts are open, the 
payment will be automatically applied to the later year. 
If you want your payment to be applied to the earlier 
year instead, you must contact us in writing before the 
account for the earlier year closes (usually January 15).

Example 3: Sally filed her 2017 Oregon return in April 
2018 with tax to pay. On January 10, 2020, Sally filed 
an amended 2017 return showing a $1,500 refund. 
She elected to apply the refund as an estimated pay-
ment. Sally’s refund is automatically applied to her 
2020 estimated tax account as of January 10, 2020, the 
date she filed her amended return.

Sally can contact us in writing no later than January 
15, 2020 and ask that the $1,500 payment be applied to 
tax year 2019 instead.

Other refund applications. See Publication OR-40-FY 
or OR-40-NP for details on using your refund to 
donate to a charitable organization, contribute to 
the political party of your choice (Form OR-40 filers 
only), or make a deposit to up to four  Oregon College 
or MFS 529 Savings Plan accounts.
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Refund processing

How long will it take to get my refund?
Return processing times vary due to many factors, 
including the complexity of the return. Electron-
ically-filed returns process faster. Paper returns 
must have all supporting documentation included 
to ensure smooth processing. Paper returns can also 
take longer as the due date approaches, when the 
largest number of returns are received. 

To check the status of your refund, go to  
www.oregon.gov/dor,  click on “Revenue Online,” 
and click on “Where’s my refund?”.

Refund delays
Several things might delay processing of your tax 
return or your refund:

•	Failure to respond timely to requests for information. 
If we send you a letter requesting information to pro-
cess your return, it’s important that you respond by 
the due date on the letter. Otherwise, we may adjust 
or invalidate your return. Contact us if you have 
questions about our letter. You may view most of 
the letters we send by logging into Revenue Online. 
Note: Responding to our request for information via 
Revenue Online allows us to respond faster. 

•	Change in name. If you have a different name in 
our records from a previous filing, special han-
dling will be required.

•	If you notified us about identity theft, special han-
dling will be required.

•	Change in SSN.
•	Application for an ITIN.
•	Failure to attach proof of Oregon withholding (such 

as Form W-2 or 1099).
•	Failure to attach a copy of your federal return (with 

Schedules 1 through 3, if applicable).
•	Failure to include Schedule OR-A if you’re claiming 

itemized deductions.
•	Claiming the WFHDC or manufactured home park 

closure credit. These refundable tax credit claims 
are reviewed manually and take additional time to 
process.

•	Failure to identify additions, subtractions, adjust-
ments, modifications, or credits. Numeric codes are 
shown in the Appendix.

•	Debt to other agencies. If you, or your spouse, owe 
money to state or federal agencies (for such things 
as student loans, unpaid parking tickets, or back 
child support), your refund might be delayed or 
used to offset your debt.

•	Incorrect bank account information. Verify your bank 
account information for direct deposit refunds. If your 
bank information is incorrect, we must wait for the 
bank to return the funds before issuing a refund check.

Injured spouse refund claims 
[ORS 314.415(7)]

Are you filing a joint return with a spouse who is sep-
arately liable for a debt to a state or federal agency? 
If so, you may request that your joint refund be 
apportioned.

When your return is processed, we will notify you 
of our intent to apply the joint refund to any debts 
owed. Within 30 days of the date of our notice, send 
us your request to apportion the refund.

You may use federal Form 8379, Injured Spouse Alloca-
tion, and fill in the Oregon refund numbers, or create 
your own worksheet. Separate your withholding, tax 
payments, and items of income. Income from jointly 
held property must be split evenly, including interest 
earned on joint bank accounts.

Send your refund claim to this address:
Attention: Accounts Resolution Team
Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555

Visit www.oregon.gov/dor for answers to common 
questions. Click on “frequently asked questions,” 
then enter “injured spouse” in the search bar.

Oregon statute of limitations  
on refunds 

Oregon law limits the time you have to claim a 
refund of Oregon tax. The allowable time depends 
on your circumstances. Note: Director’s Order 20-02  
extended the deadline to file a claim for a refund to 
July 15, 2020, if the deadline for filing the claim for the 
refund would have expired on or after April 1, 2020 
and before July 15, 2020.

Withholding and estimated tax refunds
You must file your original return within three years 
of the due date to claim a refund of tax withheld or 
estimated tax payments. The due date doesn’t include 
extensions. If you file more than three years after the 
due date, the excess tax withheld or estimated tax 
payments can’t be refunded or applied to tax you owe 
for another year.

Amended returns
If your original return was filed within three years 
of the due date, you may amend (change) your return 
and file for a refund of an overpayment of tax by the 
date which is the latest of:

•	Three years from the due date of your original return; 
or
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•	Three years from the date you filed your original 
return; or

•	Two years from the date you paid your tax or paid 
any part of your tax.

If you file your amended return after three years, 
but within two years of the date you paid tax, your 
refund can’t be more than the amount of tax you paid 
during that two-year period.

Note: If we adjusted items on your return and your 
right to appeal has expired, you can’t use the above 
rules. You can't claim a refund for those items.

Example: Bob filed his 2016 Oregon return and paid 
$300 tax due on time. In March 2019, he discovered 
he had forgotten to report some interest income. He 

amended his return. He paid $220 additional tax 
on April 1, 2019. On August 4, 2020, Bob discovers 
he failed to claim a large charitable contribution he 
made in 2016. Bob must amend his 2016 return by 
April 1, 2021. His refund will be limited to $220, the 
additional tax he paid within the last two years.

Federal or other state corrections to  
tax returns
Sometimes the IRS or another state corrects your 
return with changes that could affect your Oregon 
return, resulting in a refund. You have two years 
from the date of the correction to amend your Oregon 
return and claim a refund, even if the three-year stat-
ute of limitations has expired.
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Amended returns 
Reasons to file an amended return
•	An IRS audit (or other state audit) resulted in a 

change to your original return that affects your 
Oregon return.

•	You amended your federal (or other state) return 
and the changes you made affect your Oregon 
return.

•	You made an election on federal Form 4684, Casual-
ties and Thefts, to carry back a casualty loss result-
ing from a federally-declared disaster.

•	You have a net operating loss (NOL) and will carry 
back the NOL to a prior year.

•	You need to correct the income or deductions you 
originally reported.

How do I amend my Oregon return?
You will need the following items:

•	The tax form and instruction booklet for the year 
that you are amending. This will usually be the 
same form type as your original return, unless you 
filed the incorrect form for your residency status. 
Use the correct form type to amend.

•	A copy of the Oregon tax return that you originally 
filed for the year being amended; this will provide 
the guidance needed for completing your amended 
return.

•	A copy of any previously amended returns you 
filed for the year being amended.

•	A copy of all notices from us, another state, or the 
IRS for the tax year being amended.

Follow these steps to amend your return:

1.	 Read through these instructions before filling out 
your form.

2.	 Mark the “Amended” box on the return.
3.	 If we sent you a notice with corrections to your 

return, use the figures from that notice when 
amending your return.

4.	 Use the worksheet for amended returns in the 
instruction booklet to determine your amended 
refund or tax to pay. Complete the entire work-
sheet using the corrected information.  

5.	 If the amended return shows a refund, you can 
elect to apply it as a payment of estimated tax 
or make other refund applications, but you can’t 
change any election you made on your original 
return.  See “Application of refund“ in “Payments 
and refunds.“

6.	 Use the “Amended statement” section of the 
return to explain  why you are amending your tax 
return. 

7.	 Mail, fax, or drop off your amended tax return. 
Be sure to include a copy of the federal or other 
state’s corrected return or audit report. If you’re 
amending your Oregon return only, attach a copy 
of your original federal return.

If you don’t have a copy of your original Oregon tax 
return, you may request a transcript or a copy of the 
return from us. A transcript is free but contains less 
information than your return. A copy of your tax 
return costs $5 for each tax year. You can request the 
transcript or copy through Revenue Online or mail 
the request (with any payment) to our main office in 
Salem.

How long do I have to file for a refund?
In most cases, you must file for a refund within three 
years from the due date of your original return, or the 
date you filed your original return, whichever is later. 

Note: Director’s Order 20-02 extended the deadline to 
file a claim for a refund to July 15, 2020, if the deadline 
for filing the claim for the refund would have expired 
on or after April 1, 2020 and before July 15, 2020.

For more information about time limits for filing a 
return to claim a refund, see “Oregon statute of limi-
tations on refunds.”

When should I file and pay if I owe 
additional tax?
File your amended return as soon as you know that a 
change needs to be made. Interest is calculated from 
the day after the due date of the original return up to 
the date the tax is paid. Pay any tax and interest due 
as soon as possible to avoid additional interest. There 
may also be a penalty.

How do I file a protective claim for refund?
You can file a protective claim for refund when the 
outcome of a court case or legislative action is expected 
to be known after the time for requesting a refund 
has expired. Use Form OR-PCR when your claim to 
a refund is contingent on a pending court decision or 
legislative action. Notify us every six months on the 
status of the claim. If the court decision or legisla-
tive action changes your Oregon income tax, file an 
amended return within 90 days of the determination. 

How long will it take to process my 
amended return?
Processing time for amended returns varies. It may 
take six months or longer to process your amended 
return.
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How do I amend for an NOL?
You may claim a refund from an NOL carryback 
within three years after the due date (including 
extensions) of the return that showed the NOL.  Mark 
the “Amended return” box and enter the year of the 
NOL. See “NOLs for Oregon” in “Other items“ for 
more instructions.

Do I change my federal tax liability on my 
amended return?
Usually not, but there are a few exceptions to this 
general rule.

Change allowed
Changing the federal tax liability amount on your 
amended return is allowed only if one of these three 
exceptions applies:

•	 Correction notice from us. Did we correct the fed-
eral tax subtraction on your original return? If so, 
change the amount on your amended return. Use 
the corrected amount from our notice.

•	 Federal return amended before due date. Did you 
amend your federal return before the due date of 
the original return? If so, change the amount on 
your amended return. The federal tax on your 
amended federal return filed before the due date is 
the amount you will use for your amended Oregon 
return.

•	 Different AGI phase-out limit. Does a different 
phase-out limit apply to your amended AGI? The 
amount of federal tax liability you may subtract on 
your return is limited if your AGI is within a cer-
tain range. These ranges and limitation amounts 
can be found in Table 7 under “Federal income tax 
liability“ in “Subtractions.“ If your amended AGI is 
now within a different range, change the amount 
on your amended return only if the taxes you are 
deducting were paid or accrued during the tax 
year you are amending. Increase or decrease the 
subtraction to match the limitation amount that 
applies to your amended AGI.

Change not allowed
Unless one of the above exceptions applies, you can’t 
change the amount of your federal tax liability on 
your amended return. However, you might have a 
subtraction or addition on your return for the year in 
which you file the amended return.

•	 More federal tax paid. Did you pay additional 
federal tax because you were audited or filed an 
amended return after the due date of the original 
return? If so, don’t change the amount on your 
amended return. Claim the additional federal tax 
as a subtraction on your Oregon return in the year 
you paid the additional tax.

•	 Federal tax refund. Did you get a refund of federal 
tax because you were audited or filed an amended 
return after the due date of the original return? 
If so, don’t change the amount on your amended 
return. Show the federal tax refund as an addition 
on your Oregon return in the year you received the 
refund, but only if you received a tax benefit. See 
“Federal income tax refunds“ in “Additions” for 
more information about the tax benefit doctrine. 

Example 1: Sergei received a notice from us in May 
and is filling out an amended return in July. The notice 
stated that his federal tax subtraction was reduced 
from $3,500 to $3,000. He will use the corrected fed-
eral tax subtraction of $3,000 on his amended return.

Example 2: Alicia paid additional federal tax in 2019 
for an audit adjustment on her 2016 federal tax return. 
She will include the adjusted items when she com-
pletes her amended 2016 Oregon tax return, but won’t 
change the 2016 federal tax subtraction. Because she 
paid the additional tax in 2019, she will subtract this 
amount, up to the annual limit, on her 2019 Oregon 
return. See “Federal income tax liability” in “Subtrac-
tions“ for the federal tax subtraction limits. 

Example 3: Tonya, a single taxpayer, timely filed her 
original 2018 return, with an AGI of $138,000. She paid 
$35,000 in federal taxes during 2018. Her federal tax 
subtraction was limited to $2,600 because of her AGI. 
In 2019, she amended her 2018 federal return to claim 
expenses she had left off of her original return. Her 
amended AGI is now $133,000. Tonya may change her 
federal tax liability on her amended return to $3,900, 
the amount she could have claimed on her original 
return, because her limitation amount has changed.

Amended returns
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Interest and penalties
Interest

Interest rates are the same for taxes owed and for  
refunds. Interest is charged on tax only and is paid on 
tax only. Interest isn’t charged on penalties. We don’t 
charge compound interest. Table 5 shows interest 
rates since 2018. For previous interest rates, see prior 
versions of this publication or contact us. 

Table 5. Interest percentage rates	

Interest as of: Annual Daily

January 1, 2018 5% 0.0137%

January 1, 2019 6% 0.0164%

As of January 1, 2018, interest is figured daily, based 
on a 365-day year. The annual interest rate for 2019 
and 2020 is 6 percent. The interest rate may be 
changed once per calendar year.  

Additional interest of 4 percent per year is charged 
as described under “Two-tiered interest on deficien-
cies and delinquencies.“

How to figure interest on tax you owe
Your 2019 tax must be paid by July 15, 2020, even if 
you requested an extension to file your return. Inter-
est starts accruing on July 16 and continues to accrue 
every day, including the date of your payment.

To figure your interest for 2020, count the number of 
days starting with July 16, 2020 and ending with the 
date of your payment. Multiply your unpaid tax by 
the number of days, then multiply by 0.000164 (the 
daily rate converted to a decimal). If you’re entering 
the interest amount on your return, round the total 
to the nearest whole dollar.

Amended return. If you file an amended return, or 
if your taxable income changed because of a federal 
or state audit, and you have tax to pay, you will be 
charged interest starting the day after the due date 
of the original return until the date of your payment. 
Calculate interest based on the additional amount of 
tax you must pay.

Example: Nick filed an amended income tax return 
for tax year 2017 on March 12, 2020. His original 2017 
return was due on April 17, 2018. He paid additional 
tax of $500 with his amended return. Here is how 
Nick figures the interest that he owes: 

April 18, 2018 to December 31, 2018
258 days at 0.0137%
0.000137 x $500 x 258 days ............................ = $	 17.67

January 1, 2019 to March 12, 2020
437 days at a daily rate of 0.0164%
0.000164 x $500 x 437 days............................. = $	 35.83

Total interest                                                           $53.50

Two-tiered interest on deficiencies and 
delinquencies
Additional interest of 4 percent per year will be 
charged on deficiencies or delinquencies if:
•	You have filed a return showing tax due (a self-

assessed tax liability) and don’t pay the tax due within 
60 days after the date of our Notice of Assessment, or

•	We have assessed an existing deficiency, and you 
don’t pay the assessment within 60 days after the 
date on the Notice of Assessment.

If you appeal to us (or, in a hardship situation, to 
the Oregon Tax Court) without paying the tax, the 
increased interest rate will start 61 days after:
•	The date of our written objection decision; or
•	The date of our conference decision letter (CDL); or
•	The date the Magistrate Division enters its final 

decision; or
•	The date the Tax Court or the Oregon Supreme Court 

enters its final judgment.

How to figure interest on refunds of 
personal income tax
Original returns. Interest is paid on refunds issued 
more than 45 days after the later of:

•	The due date of the original return (without exten-
sions), or

•	The date you file your original return.

No interest is paid on a refund issued within 45 days 
of the later of the above dates.

Note: For calendar year filers, the 2019 original return 
due date (without extension) is July 15, 2020.

Amended returns. A refund from an amended return 
filed after the due date (including extensions) accrues 
interest starting on the 46th day after the later of the 
above dates for:

•	The year being amended, or 
•	In the case of a return amended to carry back an 

NOL, the loss year.

Example 1: Irina filed her original 2018 income 
tax return on February 14, 2020, to claim a $1,900 
refund of tax paid. The return was due on April 
15, 2019. We issued the refund on May 6, 2020, 
more than 45 days after Irina filed the return.  
The interest on the refund is calculated as follows:
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February 15, 2020 to March 30, 2020
45 days, no interest paid

March 31, 2020 to May 6, 2020 
0.000164 x $1,900 x 37 days	 $	 11.53

Example 2: Jean filed her original 2017 return on April 
17, 2018. She then filed an amended 2017 return on 
February 3, 2020, which shows a $1,000 refund. Here 
is how we figure the interest due on Jean’s refund, as 
of the date she filed the amended return:

April 18, 2018 to June 1, 2018
45 days, no interest paid

June 2, 2018 to December 31, 2018
0.000137 x $1,000 x 213 days ..........................= $	 29.18

January 1, 2019 to February 3, 2020
0.000164 x $1,000 x 399 days ..........................= $	 65.44

Total interest	 $	 94.62

Note: Interest is calculated on the amount that is a 
refund of tax paid, including any refund amount that 
you choose to donate by charitable check-off, contrib-
ute to a political party, or deposit into an Oregon Col-
lege or MFS 529 Savings Plan account.

Interest isn’t paid on the portion of a refund attribut-
able to the EIC or the WFHDC credit. Also, interest 
doesn’t accrue on refunds applied as an estimated 
payment to a later year’s tax. See “Application of 
refund” in “Payments and refunds.“

Two-tiered interest on refunds
The interest rate will increase if we are unable to 
issue a refund within 60 days from the date of a Tax 
Court or Supreme Court judgment. The annual rate 
will increase by 4 percent beginning 61 days after the 
date the final judgment is entered.

Penalties

Penalties for filing or paying late
Your 2019 tax must be paid by July 15, 2020, even if 
you requested an extension to file your return. Your 
2019 return must be filed by July 15, 2020. If you 
requested an extension, your return must be filed by 
October 15, 2020.

If you’re entering a penalty amount on your return, 
round the total to the nearest whole dollar.

Five percent failure to pay penalty. You must pay a 
penalty if you don’t pay your tax by the original due 
date of the return, even if you have an extension of 
time to file. The failure-to-pay penalty is 5 percent of 
the tax (after all credits, withholding, and payments) 
that wasn't paid by the original due date.

You won’t be charged the 5 percent failure-to-pay 
penalty if you meet all of the following requirements:

•	You file federal Form 4868, Extension of Time to 
File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return (the auto-
matic extension of time to file), or send us a pay-
ment according to the instructions in Publication 
OR‑EXT; and

•	You pay at least 90 percent of your tax after credits 
by the original due date*; and

•	You file your return within the extension period; 
and

•	You pay the balance of tax due when you file your 
return; and

•	You pay the interest on the balance of tax due when 
you file your return or within 30 days of the date of 
the bill you receive from us.

*To find your tax after credits, start with your tax 
after standard and carryforward credits, then sub-
tract refundable credit amounts.

If you file with a valid extension but didn’t pay 90 
percent of your tax by the original due date, you will 
be charged the 5 percent failure-to-pay penalty.

Twenty percent failure-to-file penalty. You must pay 
a penalty if you don’t file your return within three 
months after the due date (including extensions). The 
penalty is 20 percent of the tax (after all credits, with-
holding, and payments) that wasn’t paid by the origi-
nal due date. 

You won’t be charged the 20 percent failure-to-file 
penalty if you:

•	File federal Form 4868, Extension of Time to File U.S. 
Individual Income Tax Return (the automatic exten-
sion of time to file); or

•	Make a payment according to the instructions in 
Publication OR-EXT, and

•	File the return within three months after the due 
date (including extensions).

Failure to file and pay. If both penalties apply, your 
total penalty will be 25 percent of your tax (after all 
credits, withholding, and payments) that wasn’t paid 
by July 15, 2020.

Example. Emir filed his 2019 return on November 17, 
2020. His return was due July 15, 2020 and he didn’t 
have an extension. Emir paid the tax due of $2,000 
with the return. His penalties total 25 percent of the 
$2,000 tax:

Failure-to-pay penalty: 0.05 x $2,000...................... $100

Failure-to-file penalty: 0.20 x $2,000....................... $400

Total penalties: 0.25 x $2,000	 $500

Note: Emir will also owe interest on the $2,000 tax.
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Additional 25 percent failure-to-file penalty
If you fail to file a return within three months of the 
due date (including extensions), we may send you a 
notice with a demand that you file. If you don't file a 
return within 30 days of the date the demand letter 
was mailed, an additional penalty of 25 percent of the 
unpaid tax will be assessed for a total penalty of 50 
percent.

One hundred percent failure–to–file penalty
If you don’t file returns for three consecutive years 
by the due date of the third year’s return, including 
extensions, you must pay a 100 percent failure-to-file 
penalty on the tax due for each year.

Penalty for intent to evade tax
Filing a falsely prepared return with the intent to 
avoid tax will result in a penalty equal to 100 percent 
of the tax deficiency determined by the Department 
of Revenue. In addition, you could be charged with 
tax evasion, a class C felony. You could be fined up to 
$125,000, serve a jail sentence, or both.

Total penalties
The total of these penalties can’t be more than 100 
percent of the tax due. Exceptions: Penalties for sub-
stantial understatement of net tax, filing a frivolous 
return, falsely claiming the WFHDC credit, making 
a non-qualified withdrawal from a first-time home 
buyer savings account, and abusive tax avoidance 
transactions may be imposed in addition to other 
penalties.

Substantial understatement of net tax 
penalty
If we determine that you have substantially under-
stated your net tax on your return, you must pay a 
penalty equal to 20 percent of the understated tax. 
A penalty will be assessed if net tax for 2019 has 
been understated by more than $2,500 ($3,650 for a 
C corporation). Substantially understated net tax also 
includes net tax on income attributable to an abusive 
tax shelter, even if fully disclosed.

This penalty is in addition to all other penalties pro-
vided by law.

$250 frivolous return penalty
If you file a frivolous return that is meant to deliber-
ately delay or block the administration of tax laws, 
you must pay a $250 penalty. “Frivolous” includes, 
but isn’t limited to:

•	An argument, without any good basis, that there 
has been a violation of your constitutional rights.

•	Reliance on a “gold standard” or “war tax” deduction.

•	An argument that wages or salary aren’t taxable 
income.

•	An argument that the 16th Amendment to the U.S. 
Constitution wasn't properly adopted.

•	An argument that “unenfranchised, sovereign, 
freemen, or natural persons” aren’t subject to tax 
laws.

This penalty is in addition to all other penalties pro-
vided by law.

Working family household and dependent 
care (WFHDC) credit false claim penalty 

You may be charged a penalty if you knowingly 
falsely claim (or knowingly assist someone else in 
falsely claiming) the WFHDC credit. The penalty 
is up to 25 percent of the amount claimed, and is in 
addition to the adjustment or denial of the credit. 
This penalty can be charged to each person involved 
with the false claim.

This penalty is in addition to all other penalties pro-
vided by law.

First-time home buyer savings account 
(FTHBSA) penalty for nonqualified 
withdrawal

A penalty of 5 percent of the funds withdrawn from 
your FTHBSA may be imposed if you withdraw the 
funds from the account for a purpose other than pur-
chasing a home. 

No penalty will be imposed if:

•	The account holder:
—	Dies.
—	Files bankruptcy.
—	Becomes permanently unable to regularly per-

form work at a gainful occupation due to loss 
of any bodily function.

•	The funds are withdrawn more than 10 years after 
the account was opened.

This penalty is in addition to all other penalties pro-
vided by law.

Abusive Tax Avoidance Transaction (ATAT) 
penalties

Penalties can be imposed on income items identified 
by the IRS as ATATs, including listed transactions, 
reportable transactions, and promotion of tax shel-
ters, as follows:

•	A penalty of 60 percent of the understated net 
income from a listed transaction understatement. 
This penalty is in addition to and not in lieu of any 
other penalties.
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•	Failure to report a reportable transaction will result 
in a penalty of $3,300 for an individual taxpayer or 
$16,700 for a corporation.

•	If the reportable transaction is also a listed transac-
tion, the penalty is $33,000 for an individual tax-
payer and $66,000 for a corporation.

•	A promoter of tax shelters will be assessed a pen-
alty of 100 percent of the gross income derived from 
promoting the shelter. This penalty is in addition to 
and not in lieu of any other penalties.

The ATAT penalties are in addition to all other penal-
ties provided by law. In addition to these penalties, if 
we find there is a deficiency in tax paid as a result of 
the use of a listed transaction reported or reflected 
by the return, the statute of limitations for issuing a 
notice of that deficiency is increased from three years 
to nine years from the date the return was filed.
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Audits and appeals
What to do if your return is audited

General information
We audit returns for several reasons. Many audits are 
based on adjustments made by the IRS, with whom 
we share information. Other returns are selected 
because there are sections of tax law that require 
additional focus due to difficulties or frequent errors 
in tax law application.

An audit is the process of reviewing a return to make 
sure it was prepared correctly. If your return is cho-
sen for an audit, it doesn’t mean you made an error or 
are dishonest.

By law, we must keep your tax information private. In 
rare situations involving returns filed after Decem-
ber 31, 2017, we may share information between tax-
payers who have claimed the same item on their indi-
vidual returns in order to efficiently resolve the mat-
ter. For example, divorced taxpayers may both claim 
an exemption credit for the same dependent. Other-
wise, we are prohibited from sharing your informa-
tion with anyone without your consent. People who 
prepare your return or represent you must also keep 
your information confidential. You have the right to 
know why we are asking for information, exactly how 
we will use any information you provide, and what 
might happen if you don’t provide the information.

Our goal is to treat taxpayers fairly. We strive to be 
responsive to the issues and reasonable in our deci-
sions and actions. We will explain any changes we 
make to your return. We encourage you to ask about 
anything you don’t understand.

For more information, read our publication Your 
Rights as an Oregon Taxpayer. You can find the publica-
tion at www.oregon.gov/dor/forms or contact us to 
order a copy.

Types of reviews
Processing adjustments. Processing adjustments are 
corrections we make to a return while we process 
it. We make some adjustments without the need for 
additional information, such as math errors. If we 
need additional information, we’ll send a letter. It’s 
important that we get a response by the date speci-
fied in the letter.

Federal audits. These audits are based on infor-
mation from the IRS. This information includes 
their CP2000 program and federal Revenue Agent 
Reports. The CP2000 program matches Form W-2 
and 1099 information reported by payers to what is 

shown on a return. A Revenue Agent Report is a fed-
eral audit report showing adjustments the IRS made 
to a return. If you received either of these reports 
from the IRS, you need to determine if the changes 
made by the IRS affect your Oregon return. If they 
do, you should amend your Oregon return as soon 
as possible. Interest charges accrue until all tax is 
paid. If you don’t amend your Oregon return, you 
may receive a notice from us showing adjustments 
we have made to your return.

Correspondence audits. These are written requests 
asking you to confirm items on a return. The letter 
will explain what items we are reviewing and what 
we need to verify them. You will be asked to send 
copies of the documents to the auditor who will 
review the information and notify you of the results. 
Correspondence audits usually don’t require a meet-
ing with the auditor.

Field audits. These audits are more in-depth. They 
include the review of income and expenses from busi-
nesses, farms, partnerships, corporations, or rentals. 
Field audits usually require a meeting with the audi-
tor. The time and place of the meeting will be arranged 
between you and the auditor.

Partnership audits. Prior to tax year 2018, federal and 
state partnership tax collection and audit adjustments 
were conducted at the individual partner level. For 
tax years 2018 and forward, the IRS will make audit 
adjustments and collect taxes at the partnership level 
for partnerships subject to the new centralized part-
nership audit regime (CPAR in IRC Sections 6225 to 
6227. Oregon’s alignment with CPAR can be found in 
Oregon Laws 2018, chapter 132). If an IRS audit under 
CPAR results in adjustments that affect Oregon taxes, 
the partnership must follow certain procedures and 
timelines for reporting the adjustments to Oregon. 
Visit our website for more information.

What records will I need for the audit?
You’ll get a letter from us asking questions and 
requesting copies of specific documents. Answer 
the questions completely and send copies of the 
requested documents by the deadline in the letter. 
It’s important that you have a complete copy of your 
state and federal tax records and provide copies, as 
requested. See “Record-keeping requirements” in 
“General information” for additional tips. You should 
also keep a copy of your response to the audit letter.

If you get a letter asking you to make an appoint-
ment, contact the auditor who sent the letter. We try 
to schedule audit appointments at your convenience. 
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It may be held at your home or office, at your repre-
sentative’s office, or at one of our field offices.

The letter will explain the records needed for the 
audit. Organize the information for the appoint-
ment. The auditor may ask you to leave the records 
while the audit is being conducted. You may ask for a 
receipt for the records you leave.

Generally, your return is examined in the district 
where you live. If your return can be examined more 
quickly and easily in another district (such as where 
the books and records are located), you may ask to 
have the audit transferred.

Who can represent me?
Throughout any audit, you can represent yourself, 
have someone accompany you, or designate some-
one to represent you. You may represent yourself in 
all stages of your audit and appeal. However, if your 
case is hard to understand or involves many issues, 
you may want someone to help you. Also, if some-
one else prepared the return, you may want their 
help. You may authorize someone to receive your 
confidential information (tax information authoriza-
tion), or you may designate someone to represent you 
(power of attorney for representation) who would be 
able to make decisions for you. People who can repre-
sent you are Oregon-licensed:

•	Lawyers.
•	Public accountants or certified public accountants.
•	Tax consultants.
•	Enrolled agents.

Out-of-state CPAs may practice in Oregon if they 
meet the substantial equivalency requirements (ORS 
673.010):

1.	 Licensed in another state; and
2.	 Have an accredited baccalaureate degree with at 

least 150 semester hours; and
3.	 Passed the Uniform CPA exam; and
4.	 Have a minimum of one year of experience.

If you own a business and have an employee who 
regularly does your tax work, that employee can also 
represent you. 

You must give written authorization to a person you 
want to represent you. Use our Tax Information Autho-
rization and Power of Attorney for Representation form. 
The auditor handling the case can provide a copy of 
this form, or you can download it from our website or 
call us to order a copy.

What if I disagree with the audit results?
When we propose changes to your return, we will 
explain the reasons for them. It’s important that you 
understand why we propose changes before they 

become final. Ask about anything that is unclear to 
you.

If you disagree with the final changes, you can appeal. 
Appeal rights will be included with the notice you 
receive. 

What if the IRS or another state has audited 
my return?
We have an agreement with the IRS to exchange tax 
return information. If the IRS audits an Oregon tax-
payer's return, we may receive a copy of that infor-
mation. If your federal return or the return you filed 
with another state is adjusted, you should amend 
your Oregon tax return if that adjustment also affects 
your Oregon return.

If your return was previously audited by the IRS and 
the notice you receive from us has a different adjust-
ment, send a copy of the final audit adjustments or 
cancellation from the IRS to us.

If you filed an appeal with the IRS or the other state 
and you get a notice from us, send a copy of the IRS or 
other state appeal notification. We will suspend fur-
ther action until your IRS or other state case is resolved.

You have two years from the date of the correction 
to claim a refund of Oregon tax as a result of the 
audit adjustment. See “Oregon statute of limitations 
for refunds” in “Payments and refunds” for more 
information.

Appeals
If you disagree with an action we've taken, you have 
the right to appeal. Follow the appeal procedures out-
lined here if you have a disagreement with:

•	A Notice of Deficiency or Notice of Proposed Refund 
Adjustment.

•	Our notice based on a federal audit report or an 
audit by another state.

•	Penalties or interest charges shown on our notice.
•	Interest charged on underpayment of estimated tax.
•	A Notice of Assessment.

You may be able to resolve certain issues without a 
formal appeal process. Contact us if your disagree-
ment concerns:

•	The date or amount of payments made to your account.
•	A withholding adjustment.

Appealing a Notice of Deficiency or Notice of 
Proposed Refund Adjustment within 30 days
If you disagree with a Notice of Deficiency or a Notice 
of Proposed Refund Adjustment, you may submit an 
appeal online by logging in to Revenue Online 
within 30 days and following the instructions on 
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your notice. Or, you may submit an appeal in writing 
within 30 days from the date on our notice. 

Director’s Order 20-02 temporarily extended the dead-
line to submit a written objection or request for a con-
ference with the department after receiving a Notice of 
Deficiency or Notice of Proposed Refund Adjustment or 
Denial to 90 days after the date on the Notice of Defi-
ciency, Notice of Proposed Refund Adjustment or Denial. 
This applies to deadlines for filing a written objection or 
request for a conference that expires on or after April 1, 
2020 and before July 16, 2020. 

To make your appeal, choose just one of these two 
options: written objection or conference request.

Written objection. Write to us explaining why you 
disagree with the Notice of Deficiency or Notice of Pro-
posed Refund Adjustment. Include any new informa-
tion you have. We will review your explanation, try 
to resolve the matter, and send you a written deci-
sion. If an auditor adjusted your return, that auditor 
will review your explanation, along with any infor-
mation you provide, and send you a written decision. 

Conference. Request a conference by sending us an 
explanation of why you disagree with our Notice of 
Deficiency or Notice of Proposed Refund Adjustment. 
Include any new information you have. Be sure 
to indicate that you are requesting a conference. A 
conference officer will discuss the matter with you 
or with someone you choose to represent you, usu-
ally by phone. The conference officer will send you a 
written decision. You may choose to receive the deci-
sion by either regular or certified mail. 

If you disagree with our decision, you may continue 
your appeal and will receive new appeal instructions.

Appealing a Notice of Proposed Refund 
Adjustment after 30 days have passed 
If you don’t send us a written objection or conference 
request, but you still want to appeal a Notice of Pro-
posed Refund Adjustment, you must file a complaint 
with the Magistrate Division of the Oregon Tax Court 
no later than 120 days from the date of the notice. 
If you don’t file a complaint within 120 days, your 
appeal rights will expire and the adjustment can’t be 
changed.

See “Appealing to the Oregon Tax Court” for more 
information. 

Appealing a deficiency based on federal 
audit reports or audit reports of other states
Do you have an appeal in progress with the IRS or 
another state? If so, you may have extra time to file 
an appeal with the Magistrate Division of the Oregon 
Tax Court. To see if the appeal rights apply to you, 
answer the following questions:

1. Did you receive an Oregon notice of a deficiency on 
	 the same item billed by the IRS or another state?
2. Did you file a timely appeal with the IRS or another 
	 state?

If you answered “no” to either question, use the 
appeal procedures included with your Oregon notice. 
If you answered “yes” to both questions, you need to 
send us proof of your appeal to the IRS or other state. 
This should include a copy of the notice from the 
IRS or other state, plus a copy of your written appeal 
request. 

The time allowed for filing your proof of federal or 
other state’s appeal varies:

•	Did you receive a Notice of Deficiency from us? If 
so, send us proof of your IRS or other state appeal 
within 30 days of the date on the Notice of Deficiency. 
Your account will be assessed without penalty and 
held until the appeal with the IRS or other state is 
resolved. 

•	Did you receive a Notice of Assessment from us 
before sending us proof of the appeal? If so, send 
us proof of your IRS or other state appeal as soon 
as possible. After you file proof of your appeal, we 
will delay any further action on your account until 
the appeal process is completed. 

Note: Interest will continue to accrue on any unpaid 
tax.

You must notify us within 30 days of the final resolu-
tion of your appeal with the IRS or the other state. We 
will review the information and determine whether 
any adjustments need to be made to your Oregon tax 
return. You will receive written notification of our 
determination. If you disagree with our determina-
tion, you may appeal within 90 days to the Magis-
trate Division of the Oregon Tax Court. Your com-
plete appeal rights will be explained with the written 
determination. 

Appealing penalty or interest
Do you believe there is reasonable cause for a reduc-
tion of penalties or interest? If so, you may ask for a 
waiver or reduction of part or all of the penalty and 
interest charges. However, we generally won’t waive 
interest charges.

Waiver criteria are outlined in Oregon Administrative 
Rule (OAR) 150-305-0068. You must explain how your 
situation meets any of the criteria. We will review 
your waiver request and let you know our decision in 
writing. You’ll receive further appeal instructions to 
follow if you disagree with the decision.

How to start the appeal process
All appeals must be submitted through Revenue 
Online or sent to us in writing. If you are sending us 
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a written appeal, you may submit it by regular mail, 
fax, or email. 

Your written appeal must include:

•	Your full name.
•	Your current mailing address.
•	Your SSN or ITIN.
•	The tax year(s) involved.
•	A detailed explanation of why you are appealing.
•	Proof of your IRS or other state appeal, if applicable.
•	The waiver criteria if you are requesting a reduc-

tion of penalty or interest (OAR 150-305-0068).
•	Any new information you want us to consider; and
•	A daytime phone number.

Be sure to indicate whether you are making a writ-
ten objection, requesting a conference, or requesting 
a waiver or reduction of penalties or interest. Keep us 
informed of any changes to your address or phone.

Regular mail. Send your written appeal to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14725
Salem OR 97309-5018

Email. If you are appealing a determination made 
by an auditor, you may send a written objection or 
request for a conference to that auditor by email. You 
should note, however, that we are unable to guarantee 
the security of any information sent to us by email.

Fax: You may fax your written appeal to (503) 945-8738. 

Revenue Online: You may submit your appeal using 
your Revenue Online account. After logging in, simply 
click on the “Appeals” link and follow the instructions. 
Be sure that the type of appeal you select is the one you 
intend to choose. Go to our website for more informa-
tion about setting up your Revenue Online account. 

Appealing to the Oregon Tax Court

If you disagree with a Notice of Assessment or a writ-
ten determination following your written objec-
tion or conference, you have the right to appeal. 
You must appeal to the Magistrate Division of the 
Oregon Tax Court within 90 days of the date of the 
Notice of Assessment or our written determination. 
Complaint forms for appealing to the Magistrate 
Division are available from the Tax Court’s website,  

www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/tax, or you may con-
tact the Oregon Tax Court by mail or phone:

Oregon Tax Court
Magistrate Division
1163 State Street
Salem OR 97301-2563
(503) 986-5650
TTY (503) 986-5651

Mail the signed complaint form along with the fil-
ing fee and a copy of the Notice of Assessment or other 
written determination to the above address.

Note: You can’t appeal tax that you said you owed 
when you filed your return.

Further appeal rights
Tax paid in full. If you pay the tax due in the Notice 
of Deficiency in full, your deficiency is considered to 
be assessed either on the date of your payment or 30 
days from the date of the notice, whichever is later.

If you don’t file a timely appeal, you have two years 
from the date your liability is paid in full to appeal 
the assessment. Appeal to the Magistrate Division of 
the Oregon Tax Court as outlined above.

Doubtful liability. In certain situations, we may con-
sider your case even if you didn’t file a timely appeal. 
Visit our website or contact us to see if you meet the 
conditions for “doubtful liability” relief. 

Interest charges
Appealing a deficiency or an assessment won’t stop 
interest from accruing on the taxes owed. Interest 
is computed from the day after the due date of the 
original return, without extensions, to the date of 
payment. Interest is charged even if you have a valid 
extension. If your appeal results in a reduction of the 
tax due, the interest charges will also be reduced.

Paying your taxes during the appeal
You may pay your balance due at any step of the 
appeal process. Payment doesn’t mean you agree 
with the notice, but it does stop interest from accru-
ing on your liability. 

If you don’t pay before the tax is assessed, a 5 percent 
failure-to-pay penalty will be added to your balance 
due. If your appeal is successful, you will receive a 
refund of any overpayment, including interest.

See “Payments and refunds“ for payment options, 
and “Interest and penalties“ for more information 
about the failure-to-pay penalty.

Audits and appeals
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Failure to file an Oregon income tax return
For information about penalties for failing to file an 
Oregon income tax return, see “Penalties.”

Filing a return after tax is assessed
When you don’t file a tax return but were required to 
file, we will “assess” your tax. This means we com-
pute how much tax you owe based on information 
we have available. You will then receive a Notice of 
Assessment.

Even if we have assessed your tax for one or more 
years, you may still file returns for those years.

Why you should file
We compute your tax assessment using the infor-
mation available to us about your income, filing sta-
tus, exemptions, and withholding or estimated tax 
payments.

Because we don’t have all your tax information, we 
may not be able to give you all the deductions or 
credits you may be entitled to. Once you file a tax 
return, we may be able to change the tax we assessed.

You may receive a refund
If your withholding and/or estimated tax payments 
add up to more than the tax due, we may be able to 
refund the excess to you. However, there are time 
limits. If you paid more tax than you should have, 
a refund will be allowed only if you file your return 
within three years of the due date of the original 
return, not including extensions.

Note: Director’s Order 20-02 extended the deadline for 
filing a claim for a refund to July 15, 2020, if the deadline 
for filing the claim for the refund would have expired 
on or after April 1, 2020 and before July 15, 2020.

For example:

•	The return for 2017 was due April 17, 2018. Three 
years after that date is April 17, 2021. To receive a 
refund of excess tax payments for 2017, your return 
must be postmarked by April 17, 2021.

•	The return for 2019 was due on July 15, 2020. Three 
years after that date is July 15, 2023. To receive a 
refund of excess tax payments for 2019, your return 
must be postmarked by July 15, 2023.

Where to mail your return after tax is 
assessed
Send paper returns, with a copy of your federal Form 
1040 or 1040-SR and Schedules 1 through 3 (if appli-
cable) to:

Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14600
Salem OR 97309-5049

Reviewing your return
After reviewing your return, if we agree with the 
tax you show, we will change the tax assessed. If the 
income, deductions, credits, or payments shown on 
your return don’t match our information, we will 
notify you. The notice we send will explain our 
adjustments and what to do if you disagree.

Your return must include information about filing 
status, exemptions, income, deductions, credits, tax, 
and payments. It must be signed and include a state-
ment that, to the best of your knowledge and belief, 
it’s true, correct, and complete. The full statement is 
printed on the forms provided by us and appears 
directly above the signature lines. If you change 
this statement on the form, your return may not be 
accepted. Your return also may not be accepted if:

•	It contains a frivolous argument concerning the 
payment of taxes; or

•	You file a return you know isn’t true or correct.

You will receive a Notice of Rejection if your return 
isn’t accepted. This notice can be appealed to the 
Magistrate Division of the Oregon Tax Court within 
90 days of the date of the notice, but only if your 
return was sent to us within 90 days of the date on 
the Notice of Assessment.

Appealing the Notice of Assessment to the 
Oregon Tax Court
You may also choose to file an appeal with the Mag-
istrate Division of the Oregon Tax Court. Your appeal 
must be made within 90 days of the date of the Notice 
of Assessment or within two years after the tax, pen-
alty, and interest shown on the notice is paid in full. If 
you file an appeal with the Magistrate Division, you 
will usually be required to file a tax return before the 
court will change our assessment.

You can get a complaint form for filing an appeal at:

Oregon Tax Court
Magistrate Division
1163 State Street
Salem OR 97301-2563
(503) 986-5650
TTY (503) 986-5651
www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/tax

Within 90 days of the date on your notice, mail the 
following items to the address above:
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•	Your completed and signed complaint form.
•	Your filing fee, and
•	A copy of the Notice of Assessment.

Appealing doesn’t stop interest from being charged 
on the tax you owe. If you appeal and your tax assess-
ment is reduced, the penalty and interest charges will 
also be reduced.

Paying your taxes during the appeal 
process
You can pay your balance due at any step of the 
appeal process. Payment doesn’t mean you agree 
with the assessment, but it does stop interest from 
accruing on the assessed tax. If you pay, you can still 
appeal any time within two years of the date you pay 
the tax, penalty, and interest shown on the Notice of 

Assessment. See “Payments and refunds” for payment 
options.

Requesting a waiver of penalty or interest
You can ask for a discretionary waiver of part or all 
of the penalty and interest charges (OAR 150-305-
0066, 150-305-0068). We can resolve most penalty and 
interest charge disagreements. For more information 
about requesting a discretionary waiver, see “Appeal-
ing penalty or interest” in “Audits and appeals.“

If you believe part or all of the penalty and interest 
charges should be adjusted, write to:

Oregon Department Revenue
PO Box 14725
Salem OR 97309-5018

Failure to file
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Income 
What income is taxable to Oregon?

Full-year residents (Form OR-40). You are taxed on 
income from all sources.

Part-year residents (Form OR-40-P). You are taxed 
on income from all sources earned or received while 
an Oregon resident. For the period of time you were 
not an Oregon resident, Oregon taxes only certain 
income from Oregon sources. 

Nonresidents (Form OR-40-N). You are taxed on 
income from Oregon sources. This includes income 
shown on your federal return from Oregon wages 
or Oregon fees or for services performed in Oregon. 
Other income from Oregon sources includes:

•	Businesses, S corporations, partnerships, and lim-
ited liability companies taxed as partnerships located 
or doing business in Oregon, and in some cases, 
work that is performed in another state for Oregon 
customers.

•	Unemployment insurance benefits received because 
of an Oregon job.

•	Severance pay you received because of an Oregon job.
•	Oregon farms.
•	Oregon estates and trusts.
•	Sales of Oregon property.
•	Rents and royalties for use of Oregon property.
•	Wages for services performed in Oregon by employ-

ees who also telecommute from outside the state.

Note: Community property income. Oregon isn’t a 
community property state. If you’re a resident of Ore-
gon and your spouse is a resident of a state with com-
munity property laws, you may be taxed on part of 
your spouse’s income. Community property laws in 
the state where your spouse lives determine if you are 
taxed on any of your spouse’s income. See “Filing sta-
tus” for more information about community property.

Air carrier employees  
(OAR 150-316-0173)

Nonresidents. You are exempt from Oregon tax on 
wages earned while working on aircraft in Oregon, if 
you meet all of the following qualifications:

•	You are a nonresident of Oregon; and
•	You perform regularly assigned duties on aircraft in 

Oregon and at least one other state as an employee 
of an air carrier; and

•	Your scheduled flight time in Oregon is 50 percent 
or less of your total scheduled flight time during 
the calendar year.

Additionally, the air carrier you work for must 
provide: 

•	Interstate or foreign air transportation of passen-
gers or property by aircraft as a common carrier for 
compensation; or

•	Interstate or foreign transportation of mail by 
aircraft. 

If you are a federal, state, or local government 
employee, you may not exclude your income under 
this section. (U.S. Postal Service employees are con-
sidered employees of the federal government.)

If you meet all of these qualifications, file Form OR-
40-N and mark the “Employment exception” box on 
the return. [For more information about the “Employ-
ment exception” box, see “Interstate transportation 
wages (Amtrak Act).“] Show that your income is 
exempt by excluding it from the Oregon column. If 
all of your wages are exempt, enter -0- in the Oregon 
column. 

Example 1: Chantell is a nonresident who works as a 
pilot for an Oregon-based corporation, transporting 
the corporation’s executives to various job locations 
in the United States. Chantell isn’t exempt from Ore-
gon tax because she doesn’t work for an air carrier 
that provides air transportation for compensation. 
Her wages are subject to Oregon tax to the extent ser-
vices are performed in Oregon. 

Example 2: George is a nonresident who works as 
an office manager for an air carrier. Each calendar 
year, he works as a substitute pilot outside of Oregon 
in order to log the minimum amount of flight time 
required to retain his pilot’s license. George doesn’t 
qualify as exempt from Oregon tax because his “reg-
ularly assigned duties” aren’t on an aircraft, but as a 
manager in an office.

Example 3: Allison is a nonresident and works as 
a flight attendant for Delta Airlines. She regularly 
works on flights in California, Oregon, and Washing-
ton. Her scheduled flight time in Oregon amounts to 
35 percent of her total scheduled flight time this year. 
Because Allison meets the qualifications mentioned 
above, she can exclude, from the Oregon column, all 
of her wages from Delta Airlines on her Oregon non-
resident return.

Oregon withholding. To stop withholding of Ore-
gon income tax from your exempt wages, use Form 
OR-W-4. Follow the instructions to declare that 
you’re exempt using the appropriate code. File the 
form with your employer. 

Income
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Alimony received
Oregon only taxes alimony payments received that 
must be included on your federal return. 

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes all alimony you 
received during the year.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes any alimony you 
received for the part of the year you were a resident 
of Oregon.

Nonresidents. Oregon doesn’t tax any alimony you 
received while a nonresident of Oregon.

Business income or loss
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes all of your business 
income (or allows your business loss) received during 
the year.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes all of your business 
income (or allows your business loss) while you’re an 
Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes income (or allows 
losses) from an Oregon business while a nonresident. 

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes your income (or allows 
your loss) from an Oregon business. This includes 
apportioned business income and allocated nonbusi-
ness income from sole proprietorships.

Federal Schedule E and F income
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes the income reported 
on federal Schedules E and F, including rent, royalty, 
Real Estate Mortgage Investment Conduits (REMIC), 
Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT), partnership, S 
corporation, estate, trust, and farm income.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes the income reported 
on federal Schedules E and F that you received while 
you were an Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes this 
income if you received or earned it from Oregon 
sources while a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes the income reported on 
federal Schedules E and F that you received or earned 
from Oregon sources.

Gain, loss, and distributions

Capital gain, loss, and distributions
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your gain or distri-
bution received (or allows losses you incurred) dur-
ing the year. Limit net losses to $3,000 ($1,500 if your 
filing status is married filing separately).

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your gain or distri-
bution received (or allows losses you incurred) while 

you were an Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes 
gain or distributions received (or allows losses you 
incurred) from Oregon sources while a nonresident. 
Limit net losses to $3,000 ($1,500 if your filing status 
is married filing separately). 

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes your gain or distribution 
(or allows your loss) from Oregon sources. Limit net 
losses to $3,000 ($1,500 if your filing status is married 
filing separately).

Note: See “Capital loss carryover difference” under 
“Additions” for information about an addition to Ore-
gon income for capital losses carried over from last 
year’s return under certain unusual circumstances.

Other gain or loss
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes your gain (or allows 
your loss) received during the year.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes your gain (or 
allows your loss) while an Oregon resident. Oregon 
also taxes the amount from Oregon sources while a 
nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes your gain (or allows 
your loss) from Oregon sources.

Global intangible low-taxed income 
(GILTI)

This category of foreign income is included as "Other 
income" on the federal return. It must be reported 
as income when it's deemed received, even if it isn't 
actually received by the taxpayer during the tax year.

Full-year residents. This income flows through to 
your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Report this income in the Ore-
gon column if you were an Oregon resident on the 
date you received it (actual or deemed receipt) or if 
it’s from property employed in a business, trade, pro-
fession, or occupation carried on in Oregon while a 
nonresident.

Nonresidents. Report this income in the Oregon col-
umn if it’s from property employed in a business, 
trade, profession, or occupation carried on in Oregon.

Hydroelectric dam workers  
[ORS 316.127(8)]

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes all of your wages 
earned while working on the McNary, John Day, The 
Dalles, or Bonneville dams.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes all the income 
you earned during the part of the year you were an 
Oregon resident. For the part of the year you were 
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a nonresident, see the nonresident instructions. 
Exempt only the wages earned during the part of 
the year you were a nonresident of Oregon. Mark 
the “Employment exception” box on your return and 
exclude the wages you earned while working on any 
of the dams listed here. 

Nonresidents. You are exempt from Oregon tax on 
wages earned while working on the McNary, John Day, 
The Dalles, or Bonneville dams. Mark the “Employ-
ment exception” box on Form OR-40-N, and show that 
this income is exempt by entering -0- in the Oregon 
column for these wages. If you have any other income 
from Oregon sources, you must show that income in 
the Oregon column. 

Oregon withholding. To stop withholding of Ore-
gon income tax from your exempt wages, use Form 
OR-W-4. Follow the instructions to declare that 
you’re exempt using the appropriate code. File the 
form with your employer.

Individual Retirement Account (IRA) 
distributions

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes any taxable IRA 
distribution you received during the year and any 
amounts reported in federal income that you con-
verted from a regular IRA into a Roth IRA. 

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes any taxable IRA 
distribution you received while you were an Oregon 
resident. Oregon also taxes income amounts from 
IRA conversions if you were an Oregon resident at 
the time of the conversion.

Nonresidents. Oregon doesn’t tax any amount unless 
you are a nonresident domiciled in Oregon. If you are 
domiciled in Oregon but otherwise taxed as a non-
resident, your Oregon-source IRA will still be taxed 
by Oregon. See “Retirement income.“

Interest and dividend income

Interest
Generally, interest income is only taxed by your state 
of residence. It includes any interest received or cred-
ited to your account that you could withdraw and 
any interest you received on tax refunds.

See the following exceptions:

•	Interest and dividends on government bonds of 
other states.

•	Interest and dividends on U.S. bonds and notes.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes the interest income 
you received and reported on your federal return.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes the interest income 
you received while you were an Oregon resident. 
Oregon also taxes Oregon business activity interest 
income received while a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes the interest income you 
received on funds used for business activity in Ore-
gon. Oregon doesn’t tax interest received on install-
ment sales.

Dividends
Generally, dividend income is only taxed by your 
state of residence. Include the stock dividends you 
received under a public utility dividend reinvestment 
plan in Oregon income.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes the dividends you 
received during the year.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes all dividends you 
received while an Oregon resident that are included 
on your federal return. Oregon also taxes any divi-
dends passed through to you during the part of the 
year you were a nonresident from an S corporation 
or partnership that has no business activity outside 
Oregon.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes dividends passed 
through to you from an S corporation or partnership 
that has no business activity outside Oregon. These 
are dividends your S corporation or partnership 
received on the stock of another corporation.

Interstate transportation wages 
(Amtrak Act ) (OAR 150-316-0173)

Nonresidents. Are you a nonresident of Oregon with 
regularly assigned duties in Oregon and at least one 
other state? If you meet certain qualifications (listed 
below), Oregon won’t tax you on these wages. Mark 
the “Employment exception” box on Form OR-40-N, 
and show that this income is exempt by entering -0- in 
the Oregon column for these wages.

State income tax provisions in the federal Amtrak 
Reauthorization and Improvement Act of 1990, Pub-
lic Law 101-322, can be found in Title 49, United States 
Code (U.S.C.), Sections 11502 and 14503. These provi-
sions, which we refer to as the “Amtrak Act,“ prohibit 
states and local governments from taxing compensa-
tion of certain nonresident employees who have reg-
ularly assigned duties in more than one state.

If you are a federal, state, or local government employee, 
you may not exclude your income under these federal 
laws. (U.S. Postal Service employees are considered 
employees of the federal government.)

Who qualifies?
To qualify, you must work for:
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•	An interstate railroad; or
•	An interstate motor carrier; or
•	An interstate motor private carrier.

In addition, you must:

•	Be a nonresident of Oregon; and
•	Have regularly assigned duties in more than one 

state (that is, you perform duties in each state on a 
regular basis; duties you perform on an “on-call” or 
“as-needed” basis or on a sporadic or intermittent 
basis during the year aren’t considered “regularly 
assigned”); and

•	Be subject to the jurisdiction of the U.S. Secretary of 
Transportation; and

•	Not be covered under the overtime requirements of 
the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Note: You may receive overtime payment at the dis-
cretion of your employer and be subject to the juris-
diction of the U.S. Secretary of Transportation. Refer 
to your employer to determine if you are subject to 
the jurisdiction of the U.S. Secretary of Transporta-
tion or to the Fair Labor Standards Act. You can’t be 
subject to both.

For employees of interstate motor carriers or motor 
private carriers, you must meet both of the following 
requirements:

•	Perform work that directly affects the safety of a 
commercial motor vehicle. This means you are 
required by your regularly assigned routine and 
duties to work directly with a commercial motor 
vehicle or its contents. The duties must be direct 
and hands-on, requiring you to physically move, 
touch, or affect the vehicle or its contents. Super-
visory, managerial, consulting, or other duties that 
indirectly affect the safety of a motor vehicle don’t 
meet the definition of “directly affects”.

•	Work as:

	— An operator of a commercial motor vehicle;
	— A mechanic;
	— A freight handler; or
	— Someone, other than an employer, who directly 
affects the safety of a motor vehicle.

A commercial motor vehicle is any self-propelled or 
towed vehicle used on highways in interstate com-
merce to transport passengers or property if such 
vehicle:

•	Has a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 
10,000 pounds; or

•	Is designed or used to transport passengers for 
compensation, except for vehicles providing taxi 
cab service when the vehicle has a capacity of eight 
or fewer passengers and isn’t operated on a regular 
route or between specified places; or

•	Is designed to transport more than 15 passengers, 
including the driver, and isn’t used to transport 
passengers for compensation; or

•	Is used and labeled for the transportation of haz-
ardous materials.

Example 1: Adam and Natalya are married nonresi-
dents who are filing a joint federal return. Adam works 
for an Oregon interstate motor carrier as a commercial 
motor vehicle driver. He has a regular route from Idaho 
to Oregon, delivering products in Oregon. Because 
Adam is the driver of a commercial motor vehicle and 
has regularly assigned duties in more than one state, 
this income is exempt from Oregon tax. Natalya is a 
chef at an Oregon restaurant. They must file a joint Form 
OR-40-N, but won't include the exempt income from 
Adam's wages in the Oregon column. Only Natalya's 
wages are entered in the Oregon column. 

Example 2: Brenda is a nonresident who works for an 
interstate motor carrier as a mechanic directly affect-
ing the safety of commercial motor vehicles engaged 
in interstate commerce. She has regular duties in a 
Washington terminal and an Oregon terminal. She 
works one day a week in Washington and four days 
a week in Oregon.

Because Brenda directly affects the safety of a commer-
cial motor vehicle in interstate commerce and performs 
regularly assigned duties in two states, she is exempt 
from Oregon tax. It doesn’t matter that the majority of 
her work is performed in Oregon. Brenda must file a 
Form OR-40-N and show this income is exempt by 
entering a zero in the Oregon column for these wages.

Example 3: Jorge is a nonresident who works as a 
mechanic for an interstate motor carrier, directly 
affecting the safety of commercial motor vehicles 
engaged in interstate commerce. He regularly works 
in Medford but is required to be on-call some week-
ends to perform minor repair work. Several times a 
year he may travel to California to repair a flat tire, 
do minor engine work, etc.

Jorge doesn’t have regularly assigned duties in more 
than one state. Duties that are performed on an on-
call or as-needed basis aren’t considered to be regu-
larly assigned. Jorge’s wages earned in Oregon are 
taxable by Oregon. He must file Form OR-40-N and 
report his wages in the Oregon column.

Example 4: Carl is a nonresident who works for an 
interstate motor carrier as a driver. Carl picks up a 
lumber delivery truck every morning in Washing-
ton and receives delivery assignments for the day. 
Depending on where the lumber needs to be deliv-
ered, he may not come to Oregon on a daily basis. 
Carl may pick up and deliver lumber only within 
Washington or only within Oregon. Carl drives to 
Oregon at least once a month. 
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Due to the nature of the business, the company 
may not be able to assign regular duties to Carl. 
The company itself doesn’t know what each day’s 
delivery route will be until customers place orders. 
Although Carl may not have a regular route in Wash-
ington and Oregon, he does drive to Oregon at least 
once a month. Carl is considered to have regularly 
assigned duties in two states, as long as all routes 
are assigned randomly among all drivers on a regu-
lar basis. Carl’s wages earned in Oregon are exempt 
from Oregon tax. Carl must file Form OR-40-N and 
show this income is exempt by entering a zero in the 
Oregon column for these wages.

Example 5: Ed is a nonresident who works for an 
Oregon wholesaler as a shipping clerk. The com-
pany has one terminal in Oregon and one terminal 
in Washington. Ed regularly works in both terminals. 

Although he has regularly assigned duties in two 
states, Ed’s Oregon wages aren’t considered exempt 
within the scope of the Amtrak Act. He isn’t a driver, 
mechanic, or freight handler. His duties don’t directly 
affect the safety of a vehicle. Ed’s wages earned in 
Oregon are taxable by Oregon. He must file Form OR-
40-N and include his income in the Oregon column.

Example 6: Frieda is a nonresident who works for an 
Oregon retail store as a freight handler. Her regularly 
assigned duties are to load and unload freight. Occa-
sionally, Frieda is asked to fill in as a driver and, over 
the course of a year, may drive several routes in and 
out of Oregon. Frieda doesn’t have “regularly assigned 
duties in more than one state” and she doesn’t work for 
an interstate motor carrier. Her Oregon-source wages 
are taxable by Oregon. Frieda must file Form OR-40-N 
and include her income in the Oregon column.

Example 7: Butch is a nonresident who works for an 
Oregon-based interstate trucking carrier as a super-
visor. His regular duties within the state of Oregon 
include safety training. Also, Butch frequently drives 
to Washington to conduct safety training.

Wages for performing supervisory duties don’t qual-
ify as exempt under the Amtrak Act. The employee’s 
duties must directly affect the safety of a commercial 
vehicle. Conducting safety training only indirectly 
affects the safety of a commercial motor vehicle. 
Butch’s wages are taxable by Oregon. He must file 
Form OR-40-N and include his wages in the Oregon 
column.

Example 8: Connie Sue is a nonresident who works for 
an interstate trucking carrier at her company’s Oregon 
and Washington yards. She has a variety of duties, 
including helping load trucks. Connie Sue is allowed 
overtime as a result of being subject to the Fair Labor 
Standards Act.

Because she is covered under the Fair Labor Stan-
dards Act and isn’t subject to the jurisdiction of the 
Secretary of Transportation, Connie Sue doesn’t 
qualify for the Amtrak Act exemption. Her wages are 
taxable by Oregon. She must file Form OR-40-N and 
include her wages in the Oregon column.

Example 9: Ken is a nonresident who works as a line 
repairman for a utility company. He uses a company 
truck with a gross vehicle weight of more than 10,000 
pounds to make service calls in both Oregon and 
Washington.

Ken’s wages aren’t exempt from Oregon taxation 
because the utility company’s truck isn’t a “commer-
cial motor vehicle” (a motor vehicle used to transport 
passengers or property). Ken’s Oregon wages are 
taxable by Oregon. He must file Form OR-40-N and 
include his wages in the Oregon column.

Employer withholding
If your wages are exempt from Oregon tax under 
the Amtrak Act, Oregon tax doesn’t have to be with-
held from your wages. To stop withholding of Ore-
gon income tax from your exempt wages, complete 
Form OR-W-4. Follow the instructions to declare 
that you’re exempt using the appropriate code. File 
the form with your employer and attach an explana-
tion of your qualifying duties. You must still file an 
Oregon tax return even if you claim exemption from 
withholding under the Amtrak Act.

Like-kind exchange or involuntary 
conversion (ORS 316.738, 317.327)

You may elect to defer gain on like-kind business or 
investment property not held primarily for sale that 
is exchanged, in the case of real property under IRC 
Section 1031, or involuntarily converted under IRC 
Section 1033. If Oregon real property is exchanged for 
real property in another state, or if property located in 
Oregon is involuntarily converted into similar prop-
erty located outside of Oregon, include Form OR-24 
with your Oregon return in the year of the exchange 
or conversion, or submit it to us through Revenue 
Online. Submit the form to us each year, until you've 
disposed of the like-kind property, even if you don't 
have to file an Oregon income tax return. Download 
the form from our website or call us to order it.

Full-year residents. Report your Oregon gain on the 
sale or other disposition of the acquired property 
when it’s reported on your federal return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. If you were an 
Oregon resident at the time of the exchange or invol-
untary conversion, file an Oregon return and report 
the Oregon portion of the gain when you report the 
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gain on your federal return. If you were a nonresi-
dent at the time you exchanged or converted your 
Oregon property or you're a nonresident when the 
gain is reported on your federal return, you will need 
to file an Oregon Form OR-40-N to report the gain.

Retirement income
Full-year and part-year residents. Most retirement 
income is subject to Oregon tax when received by 
an Oregon resident. This is true even if you were a 
nonresident when you earned the income. How-
ever, if you have federal pension income, you may 
subtract some or all of it from Oregon income. See 
“Federal pension income” in “Subtractions” for more 
information.

For other exceptions, see “Previously taxed employee 
retirement plans” and “Previously taxed IRA conver-
sions” in “Subtractions.”

Nonresidents. Oregon doesn’t tax your retirement 
income if you are a nonresident who isn’t domiciled 
in Oregon. If you are an Oregon nonresident who is 
still domiciled in Oregon, any Oregon-source retire-
ment income is taxable by Oregon. This applies to 
most forms of retirement income taxed by Oregon, 
including public pension plans, corporate retirement 
plans, Keogh plans, simplified employee pensions 
(SEPs), and IRAs. For the definition of domicile, see 
“Residency.”

Example: Hiro has always resided and worked in 
Oregon, which he thinks of as his home. He recently 
retired and now receives his pension and interest 
income from Oregon. Earlier this year, he sold his 
Oregon residence, bought an RV, and went to Ari-
zona, where he rents space year-round in an RV park. 
He intends to stay in Arizona for a year or two and 
then return to Oregon.

Hiro hasn’t given up his Oregon driver’s license. His RV 
and vehicles are registered with the state of Oregon. He 
hasn’t changed his voter registration to any other state.

Hiro hasn’t shown an intent to give up Oregon as his 
home and maintain a permanent home elsewhere. 
Based on these facts, Hiro's domicile is in the state of 
Oregon. Although Hiro may be treated as a nonresi-
dent for tax purposes on other forms of income (his 
interest income isn’t taxed by Oregon), because his 
domicile is still Oregon, his Oregon-source retirement 
income is taxable by Oregon.

Retirement income means income from:

•	Qualifying employer pension and profit-sharing 
plans exempt from federal tax [IRC Section 401(a)].

•	Annuity plans [IRC Sections 403(a) and 403(b)].

•	Cash or deferred compensation arrangements [IRC 
Sections 401(k) and 457 plans].

•	Simplified employee pension plans [IRC Section 
408(k)].

•	Individual retirement arrangements [IRC Sections 
408(a) and 408(b)].

•	Plans for federal, state, or local government employ-
ees [IRC Section 414(d)].

•	Pay for uniformed service members under chapter 
71 of Title 10 of the United States Code.

•	Trusts that were created before June 25, 1959 [IRC 
Section 501(c)(18)].

Payments received after termination of employ-
ment qualify if the payment is made under a plan, 
program, or arrangement maintained solely for the 
purpose of providing retirement benefits that exceed 
the amounts allowed under the qualified retirement 
plans described above.

Payments received from nonqualified deferred com-
pensation plans [as described in IRC Section 3121(v)
(2)(C)] qualify as retirement income if the payments 
are part of a series of substantially equal periodic pay-
ments made for a period of at least ten years or for the 
life or life expectancy of the recipient.

Retirement income doesn’t include income received 
from:

•	Social Security,
•	Stock options,
•	Restructured stock plans,
•	Severance plans, or
•	Unemployment insurance benefits.

Social Security and Railroad  
Retirement Board benefits  
(ORS 316.054)

Oregon doesn’t tax any amount of your Social Secu-
rity, Railroad Retirement Board, or railroad unemploy-
ment benefits. For information on the Railroad Retire-
ment Board and Social Security benefits subtractions, 
see the related sections under “Subtractions.”

State and local income tax refunds
If you received a refund of income tax from another 
state or local government that is included in your fed-
eral income, and you deducted those taxes on a prior 
year’s Oregon return, include the refund in your 
Oregon income. This refund isn’t taxable to Oregon 
if you didn’t deduct the taxes on an Oregon return.

See “Subtractions” for information on the Oregon 
income tax refund subtraction.
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Unemployment insurance benefits  
and other taxable income

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes unemployment insur-
ance benefits and any other taxable income you received 
during the year.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes unemployment 
insurance benefits and any other taxable income you 
received while an Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes 
any unemployment insurance benefits and other tax-
able income from Oregon sources or based on Ore-
gon sources received while a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes any unemployment insur-
ance benefits and any other taxable income included 
in federal AGI received from Oregon sources or based 
on Oregon sources.

Wages, salaries, and other pay for work
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes all of your earnings 
for services you performed inside and outside Oregon.

Part-year residents. *Oregon taxes all of your earn-
ings while an Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes the 
amount you earned working in Oregon while you 
were a nonresident. If your Oregon wages aren’t stated 
separately on your W-2, compute your Oregon-source 
income using the formula at the end of this section.

Nonresidents. *Oregon taxes the income you earned 
while working in Oregon. Oregon doesn’t tax any amount 
you earned while you were working outside Oregon. 
Nonresident telecommuters who work for an Oregon 
employer are taxed only on the income earned from work 
performed in Oregon, including sick pay or other benefits.

*Nonresident exceptions: To see if you qualify to exclude 
certain income, see “Air carrier employees,“ “Interstate 
transportation wages (Amtrak Act),“ or “Hydroelectric 
dam workers“ above, or “Waterway workers“ below.

If the amount you earned working in Oregon differs 
from the Oregon wages shown on your Form W-2, 
compute your Oregon-source income using the for-
mula at the end of this section.

You should ask your employer to provide you with a 
signed explanation of the wage difference, written on 
company letterhead. Keep the explanation with your 
tax records, as we may ask for it at a later date.

Important information for using this formula: When 
you count the number of days you actually worked in 
Oregon and the number of days you actually worked 
everywhere, don’t include holidays, vacation days, or 
sick days. These aren’t days that you actually worked. 
Your employer paid you for these days based on the 
days you worked. However, include your sick pay, 
holiday pay, and vacation pay in total wages. 

Use this formula to determine total wages taxable by 
Oregon:

Days actually worked in Oregon
× Total 

wages = Oregon 
wagesTotal days actually worked everywhere

If you only worked in Oregon, don’t use the formula 
above. All your earnings are taxable by Oregon, and 
you must report them on your Oregon return.

Waterway workers (ORS 316.127)
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes all the income you 
earned while working on a watercraft in interstate waters.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes all the income 
you earned while working on a watercraft in inter-
state waters during the part of the year you were an 
Oregon resident. For the part of the year you were a 
nonresident, see the following guidelines.

Nonresidents. Certain nonresident employees serving on 
watercraft who have regularly assigned duties in inter-
state navigable waters aren’t subject to Oregon income tax.

To qualify you must:

•	Be engaged on a vessel to perform assigned duties 
in more than one state as a pilot licensed under 46 
U.S.C. Section 7101 or licensed or authorized under 
the laws of the state; or

•	Perform regularly assigned duties while engaged as 
a master, officer, or member of a crew on a vessel 
operating in navigable waters in two or more states.

If you qualify, Oregon won’t tax these wages. File Form 
OR-40-N (or Form OR-40-P if a part-year resident) and 
show this income is exempt by entering a zero in the 
Oregon column for these wages. Mark the “Employment 
exception” box on your return. See “Interstate Trans-
portation Wages (Amtrak Act)” for more information. 

To stop withholding of Oregon income tax from your 
exempt wages, complete Form OR-W-4. Follow the 
instructions to declare that you’re exempt using the 
appropriate code. File the form with your employer.   
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Adjustments
The items in this section are adjustments to “Adjusted 
Gross Income” reported on federal Schedule 1 of 
Form 1040 or 1040-SR. For full-year residents, these 
items flow through to your Oregon return, so no 
adjustments are needed. Part-year residents and non-
residents report these items on Form OR-40-P or OR-
40-N or, if the item has an adjustment code, in section 
1 of Schedule OR-ASC-NP. Enter the total amount 
from section 1 on your return. If there is no numeric 
code provided for an adjustment, the amount is 
reported directly on your return.

Alimony paid
Oregon allows a deduction for alimony paid under a 
divorce decree or separation agreement if the deduc-
tion is allowed on your federal return. The alimony you 
paid must be taxable income to your former spouse.

Full-year residents. The federal deduction flows through 
to your Oregon return via your federal AGI. Don’t claim 
an additional deduction on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction 
for alimony you paid while an Oregon resident if 
the deduction was allowed on your federal return. 
Oregon also allows a partial deduction for alimony 
paid while a nonresident if you had Oregon-source 
income. Use the nonresident formula to determine 
your deduction amount. Add these amounts together 
for your total deduction.

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a partial deduction 
for alimony you paid while a nonresident if you had 
Oregon-source income and it was allowed on your 
federal return. Use this formula to determine your 
deduction:

Oregon-source income 
while a nonresident

×
Alimony you 
paid while a 
nonresident 

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal income received  

while a nonresident 

Certain business expenses of 
reservists, performing artists, and 
fee-basis government officials

[Adjustment code 002]

Reservists
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. You may not claim an additional deduc-
tion on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
the expenses you incurred while you were an Oregon 
resident. Enter the full amount in the federal column 
and the Oregon amount in the Oregon column of 
Schedule OR-ASC-NP, section 1.

Nonresidents. Your reservist income isn’t taxed by 
Oregon; therefore, you may not take an expense 
deduction. Enter the full amount in the federal column 
and -0- in the Oregon column of Schedule OR-ASC-
NP, section 1. 

Performing artists
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. Don’t claim an additional deduction on 
your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows the deduc-
tion claimed on your federal return for expenses 
paid while you were an Oregon resident. Oregon 
also allows a partial deduction for these business 
expenses while you were a nonresident if you had 
Oregon-source income. Use the formula under Non-
residents to determine your nonresident deduction 
amount. Enter the sum of the Oregon amounts in the 
Oregon column and the full federal amount in the 
federal column of Schedule OR-ASC-NP, section 1. 

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a partial deduction for 
your performing artist employee business expenses 
while you were a nonresident if you had income from 
an Oregon source. Your Oregon deduction can’t be 
more than your federal deduction. Use this formula 
to determine your deduction:

Oregon-source  
income while a  

nonresident
×

Performing artist 
employee  
business  

expenses paid 
while a  

nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal income from 

all sources while a 
nonresident

Fee-basis government officials
If you are a government official who is paid on a fee 
basis instead of wages or salary, the expenses you have 
for performing services may be claimed on your fed-
eral return as an adjustment instead of being claimed 
as an itemized deduction. This section explains how 
these expenses are treated on your Oregon return.

Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. You may not claim an additional deduc-
tion on your Oregon return.
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Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
the expenses you paid while you were an Oregon 
resident. Oregon also allows a partial deduction for 
the expenses you paid while you were a nonresident, 
if you had Oregon-source income. Use the formula 
under Nonresidents to determine your nonresi-
dent deduction. Add your resident and nonresident 
amounts together for your total Oregon deduction. 
Enter this amount in the Oregon column and the fed-
eral amount in the federal column of Schedule OR-
ASC-NP. Note: Your Oregon deduction can’t be more 
than the deduction allowed on your federal return.

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a partial deduction for 
your expenses for performing official services while you 
were a nonresident, if you had Oregon-source income. 
Use this formula to determine the deduction amount to 
enter in the Oregon column of Schedule OR-ASC-NP. 
Enter the federal amount in the federal column of the 
schedule. Your Oregon deduction can’t be more than 
the deduction allowed on your federal return.

Oregon-source income 
while a nonresident

×

Official business 
expenses paid 

while a  
nonresident

=
Non-

resident 
deductionTotal income from all 

sources while a nonresident

Educator expenses
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. You won’t claim an additional deduction 
on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
the qualified educator expenses you paid while you 
were an Oregon resident. Oregon also allows the 
amount of qualified educator expenses you paid 
while working in an Oregon elementary or second-
ary school during the part of the year you were a 
nonresident of Oregon. You may deduct the total you 
paid but not more than the amount allowed on your 
federal return.

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a deduction for the 
qualified educator expenses you paid while working 
in an Oregon elementary or secondary school. You 
may deduct the total you paid but not more than the 
federal amount.

Health savings account (HSA) 
deduction

[Adjustment code 003]
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduction 

flows through to your Oregon return via your federal 
AGI. You may not claim an additional deduction on 
your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
your HSA contribution made while you were an Ore-
gon resident. Oregon also allows a partial deduction 
for your contribution while you were a nonresident 
if you had Oregon-source income. Use the formula 
under Nonresidents to determine your nonresident 
deduction amount. Add these amounts together and 
enter the sum in the Oregon column of Schedule OR-
ASC-NP. Enter the federal amount in the federal col-
umn of the schedule. 

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a partial deduction for 
your HSA contribution while you were a nonresident 
if you had Oregon-source income. Use this formula 
to determine your deduction. Enter this amount in 
the Oregon column and the federal amount in the 
federal column of Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Oregon-source  
income 

while a nonresident
×

HSA  
contribution  
made while a  
nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal income from  

all sources while a  
nonresident

IRA or self-employed SEP  
and savings incentive match 
plan for employees (SIMPLE) 
contributions

Oregon follows the federal definition of earned 
income and compensation used to calculate your IRA 
and other retirement plan deductions.

Note: If any part of your contribution deduction 
came from the rollover of an individual develop-
ment account (IDA), you must add back the amount 
already subtracted as an IDA contribution. See “Indi-
vidual development account” under “Additions” for 
more information.

Full-year residents. Oregon allows the same deduc-
tion you claimed on your federal return. The federal 
deduction flows through to your Oregon return via 
your federal AGI. You may not claim an additional 
deduction on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You may be 
limited in the amount of IRA or other retirement plan 
contributions you can deduct for Oregon. Use these 
formulas to figure your deduction:

IRA formula. For the part of the year you were a non-
resident, use this formula to determine your Oregon 
deduction:
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Oregon compensation 
while a nonresident

×
IRA contributions 

made while a  
nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal compensation 

while a nonresident

Add the amount you paid while an Oregon resident 
to your nonresident deduction. The deduction in the 
Oregon column is limited by:

•	The federal limitations, and
•	Income taxed by Oregon.

Self-employed SEPs, SIMPLEs, and other qualified 
plans. Use this formula to determine your Ore-
gon deduction for the part of the year you were a 
nonresident:

Oregon earned income 
while a nonresident

×
Contributions 
made while a 
nonresident

= Nonresident 
deductionTotal earned income 

while a nonresident

Add the amount you paid while an Oregon resident 
to your nonresident deduction. The deduction in the 
Oregon column is limited by:

•	The federal limitations, and
•	Income taxed by Oregon.

Moving expenses  
(ORS 316.048)

This deduction is only allowed for active-duty mem-
bers of the United States Army, Navy, Air Force, 
Marines, or Coast Guard, or their spouses, who are 
ordered to relocate to or within Oregon due to a per-
manent change in duty station (known as a PCS move), 
if the deduction is allowed on the federal return. See 
“Military personnel filing information” for more 
information.

Penalty on early withdrawal of 
savings

[Adjustment code 004]
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the same deduc-
tion you claimed on your federal return. The federal 
deduction flows through to your Oregon return via 
your federal AGI. You may not claim an additional 
deduction on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows the same deduc-
tion you claimed on your federal return if the penalty 
is related to interest taxed by Oregon. Enter the federal 
and Oregon amounts on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Example: Liam claimed a deduction of $1,795 on his 
federal return for an early withdrawal penalty. Only 
30 percent of the interest income related to this pen-
alty is taxable by Oregon and reportable in the Oregon 

column. Liam’s Oregon deduction is also limited to 30 
percent of the penalty, so his deduction will be $539. 

Nonresidents. Because Oregon generally doesn’t tax 
interest of a nonresident, there is no deduction for a 
nonresident. Enter the full amount in the federal col-
umn on Schedule OR-ASC-NP and -0- in the Oregon 
column.

Self-employed health insurance 
This deduction is limited to earned income from 
your trade or business for which the insurance plan 
was established.

Full-year residents. Oregon allows you the same 
deduction you claimed on your federal return. The 
federal deduction flows through to your Oregon 
return via your federal AGI. Don’t claim an addi-
tional deduction on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Oregon allows 
a deduction for 100 percent of your health insurance 
premiums related to your self-employment for the 
part of the year you were an Oregon resident. Add 
the health insurance premiums paid by an Oregon 
business from which you received self-employment 
income while a nonresident. Your total Oregon 
deduction can’t be more than your federal deduction 
and is limited to the earnings from self-employment 
reported in the Oregon column.

Self-employment tax 
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. Don’t claim an additional deduction on 
your Oregon return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Oregon allows 
a deduction for self-employment tax related to earn-
ings taxed by Oregon. Your Oregon deduction can’t be 
more than your federal deduction. Use this formula:

Self-employment 
earnings taxed by Oregon

×

Federal 
deduction for  

self-employment  
tax

= Oregon 
deductionTotal self-employment 

earnings

Student loan interest 
Full-year residents. Oregon allows the deduction you 
claimed on your federal return. The federal deduc-
tion flows through to your Oregon return via your 
federal AGI. Don’t claim an additional deduction on 
your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for 
the student loan interest you paid while you were an 
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Oregon resident. Oregon also allows a partial deduc-
tion for student interest you paid while you were a 
nonresident if you had Oregon-source income. Use 
the formula under Nonresidents to determine your 
nonresident deduction amount. Add these amounts 
together for your total deduction. Your total Oregon 
deduction can’t be more than your federal deduction.

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a partial deduction for 
the student loan interest you paid while you were 
a nonresident if you had Oregon-source income. 
Your Oregon deduction can’t be more than your fed-
eral deduction. Use this formula to determine your 
deduction.

Oregon-source income 
while a nonresident

×

Student 
loan  

interest paid  
while a  

nonresident

= Nonresident 
deduction

Total income from all 
sources while a nonresident

Tuition and fees
Full-year residents. The federal deduction flows 
through to your Oregon return via your federal 
adjusted gross income. Don’t claim an additional 
deduction on your Oregon return.

Part-year residents. Oregon allows a deduction for the 
qualified tuition and fees you paid while you were an 
Oregon resident. Oregon also allows a partial deduc-
tion for your tuition and fees expense paid while you 
were a nonresident if you had Oregon-source income. 
Use the formula below to determine your nonresident 
deduction amount. Add these amounts together for 
your total deduction. Your total deduction for Oregon 
can’t be more than the federal limit.

Nonresidents. Oregon allows a partial deduction for 
the tuition and fees you paid while you were a non-
resident if you had Oregon-source income. Use the 
formula below to determine your deduction amount. 
Your total Oregon deduction can’t be more than the 
federal limit.

Oregon-source income 
while a nonresident

×

Qualified 
tuition and 
fees paid  
while a  

nonresident

= Nonresident 
deduction

Total income from all 
sources while a nonresident

Write-in adjustments on federal 
Form 1040, Schedule 1, line 22 

[Adjustment code 005] 
Did you include any of these write-in deductions 
from federal income on Form 1040 or 1040-SR, Sched-
ule 1, line 22 or Form 1040-NR, line 34? If so, enter the 
full amount in the federal column on Schedule OR-
ASC-NP, and any amount incurred while an Oregon 
resident or which are deductible from Oregon-source 
income while a nonresident in the Oregon column. 

•	Archer MSA deduction. 
•	Jury duty pay you gave your employer because 

your employer paid your salary while you served 
on the jury. 

•	Deductible expenses related to income from the 
rental of personal property for profit. 

•	Nontaxable amount of Olympic, Paralympic, and 
U.S. Olympic Committee income. 

•	Reforestation amortization and expenses. 
•	Repayment of supplemental unemployment ben-

efits under the Trade Act of 1974.
•	Contributions to Section 501(c)(18)(D) pension plans.
•	Contributions by certain chaplains to Section 403(b) 

plans. 
•	Attorney fees and court costs for actions involving 

certain unlawful discrimination claims to the extent 
of gross income from such actions. 

•	Attorney fees and court costs you paid in connec-
tion with an award from the IRS for helping them 
detect tax law violations, up to the amount of the 
award includible in your gross income. 

•	Scholarship and fellowship grants excluded on 
Form 1040-NR, Line 31.

Adjustments



150-101-431 (Rev. 04-01-22) 52

Additions
Generally, additions are items the federal govern-
ment doesn’t tax but Oregon does. Additions increase 
your income taxed by Oregon. 

Numeric codes are provided with the explanation for 
most additions. A modification code is provided if an 
addition must be reported as a “negative modifica-
tion” by a part-year resident or nonresident. Enter the 
numeric code and the dollar amount of each addition 
or modification on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. 
The total dollar amount of additions and modifica-
tions is then reported on your return. 

If a numeric code isn’t provided for an addition or 
modification, the amount is reported directly on your 
return. 

Itemized deduction add backs. The items listed below 
are related to itemized deductions. If you’re claim-
ing any of these as itemized deductions on Schedule 
OR-A, you may have an addition on Schedule OR-ASC 
or a negative modification on Schedule OR-ASC-NP. 
See “Itemized deduction add backs” in “Other items” 
for more information.

•	Child Care Fund contributions.
•	Claim of right income repayments.
•	Donations to disqualified charitable organizations.
•	Federal estate tax on income in respect of a 

decedent.
•	Gambling losses related to tax-exempt lottery 

winnings.
•	Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donations.
•	Oregon Production Investment Fund 

contributions.
•	University Venture Development Fund 

contributions.
•	Medical expenses claimed for the WFHDC credit.

Fiduciary additions. If the instructions for reporting 
an addition on a fiduciary return are different from 
the instructions for reporting an addition on a per-
sonal income tax return, these are noted here or under 
“Itemized deduction add backs” in “Other items.”

Accumulation distribution from 
certain domestic trusts  
(ORS 316.737)

[Addition code 132]
If you used federal Form 4970 to figure the partial tax 
on a distribution of accumulated income from a domes-
tic trust created before March 1, 1984, contact us or 
email the Fiduciary Unit at estate.help.dor@oregon.gov 
for information about this addition.

Achieving a Better Life Experience 
(ABLE) Account nonqualified 
withdrawal [ORS 316.680(2)(k)]

[Addition code 164]
Did you withdraw funds from an Oregon ABLE 
account for a purpose other than paying for quali-
fied disability expenses? If the withdrawn funds were 
from contributions previously subtracted on your Ore-
gon return, you must report an addition on Schedule 
OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP for the amount you withdrew. 
Qualified disability expenses are defined in IRC Sec-
tion 529A. For more information about Oregon ABLE 
accounts and examples of qualified withdrawals, see 
“ABLE Account deposit” in “Subtractions.“

Capital loss carryover difference
[Addition code 162]
This addition affects few taxpayers. You'll have an 
addition on your Oregon return only if you're car-
rying over a capital loss from last year’s return and 
last year’s federal AGI was within the limits shown in 
Table 6. If so, contact us for instructions for calculat-
ing your Oregon addition. 

Table 6. Capital loss carryover difference

If you claimed: and your federal AGI was 
between:

The standard 
deduction on both 
your federal and 
Oregon returns.

Oregon standard deduction 
minus $3,000 and federal 
standard deduction.

Itemized deductions 
on both your federal 
and Oregon returns.

Total Oregon itemized 
deductions minus $3,000 and 
federal itemized deductions.

The standard 
deduction on your 
federal return and 
itemized for Oregon 
only.

Total Oregon itemized deductions 
minus $3,000 and	
federal standard deduction.

You have an addition on your Oregon return.

Claim of right income repayments 
[ORS 316.680(1)(i)]

[Addition code 103] 
Are you taking a deduction on your federal return 
under IRC Section 1341(a) for a repayment of more 
than $3,000 that was included in a prior year’s taxable 
income under a claim of right? If you’re claiming the 
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Oregon credit for the same repayment, you can’t 
deduct the repayment on your Oregon return.

If you claimed the repayment deduction on Schedule 
OR-A, see “Itemized deduction add backs” in “Other 
items.” If you claimed the repayment deduction on 
a federal form or schedule other than Schedule A, 
you must add back the deduction as an addition on 
Schedule OR-ASC, section 1 or Schedule OR-ASC-NP, 
section 3.

See Worksheet OR-CRC for more information. You 
can download the worksheet from our website or 
contact us to order it.

Note: If you’re claiming a deduction on your federal 
return for repaid income that wasn’t taxed by Ore-
gon, see “Federal disconnect” in “Other items.”

Fiduciary addition. If the repayment is allowed as 
a deduction on Form 1041 and the Oregon credit is 
claimed on Form OR-41, report the deducted amount 
as an addition on Schedule OR-ASC-FID.

Depletion in excess of property 
basis [ORS 316.680(2)(d)]

[Addition code 151]

Depletion is using up natural resources by mining, 
quarrying, drilling, or felling. The depletion deduc-
tion allows an owner or operator to account for the 
reduction of a product’s reserves.

If you claim percentage depletion on your federal 
return, you must add to your Oregon income any 
depletion that is more than your adjusted basis in 
the property. The addition includes any depletion in 
excess of basis taken by an S corporation or partner-
ship of which you are a shareholder or partner. Usu-
ally you need to add to Oregon income any depletion 
that is a preference item subject to the federal alterna-
tive minimum tax.

Disposition of inherited  
Oregon farmland or forestland   
(ORS 316.844)

[Addition code 106]

You may have an addition on your return if:

•	You dispose of farmland you inherited from some-
one who died on or after October 5, 1973, and before 
January 1, 1987; or

•	You dispose of forestland you inherited from some-
one who died on or after November 1, 1981, and 
before January 1, 1987.

You may have this addition because the valuation of 
the land for Oregon inheritance tax purposes may 
differ from the valuation for federal estate tax pur-
poses. Generally, the federal valuation is the fair mar-
ket value of the property at the date of the previous 
owner’s death. The Oregon valuation is usually less 
than the federal valuation, because for inheritance 
tax purposes the property may have been valued as 
farm-use or forestland.

Farm-use value. If the previous owner died on or after 
October 5, 1973, but before September 12, 1975, use the 
farm-use value for the year preceding death. If death 
occurred on or after September 13, 1975, use the farm-
use value for the year of death. You won’t have this 
addition if the carryover basis was elected for a death 
after December 31, 1976, but before November 7, 1978.

Forest-use value. Use the forest-use value for the year 
of death.

How to figure the addition. This addition is equal to 
the difference between:
•	The taxable gain or loss, using the Oregon valuation 

as your basis, and
•	The taxable gain or loss, using the federal valuation 

as your basis.

This addition will increase the gain or reduce the loss 
you reported on your federal return.

Transfers of property. An addition is required when 
the beneficiary sells the inherited property. It’s also 
required when:

•	You recognize gain or loss on property that acquired 
the inherited property’s basis due to a nontaxable 
exchange or involuntary conversion.

•	You recognize gain or loss on property you received 
as a gift from a donor who inherited it.

Example: Anne inherited farmland from a rela-
tive who died on March 1, 1986. She sold the land 
on May 1, 2019, for $1,100,000. The fair market value 
at the date of the relative’s death was $180,000. The 
farm-use value of the land on the 1986–87 prop-
erty tax statement was $50,000. Anne must show a 
$130,000 addition on Schedule OR-ASC. Here is how 
she figures her addition:
Oregon valuation:
 Selling price $ 1,100,000
 Less: Farm-use value – 50,000
 Gain   $ 1,050,000
Federal valuation:
 Selling price $ 1,100,000
 Less: Fair market value
  on March 1, 1986 – 180,000
 Gain    – 920,000
Difference in total gain   
Addition amount    $ 130,000
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Federal business income deduction  
(Or Laws 2018, ch 108, § 10)

[Schedule OR-ASC-FID only: Addition code 185]
Oregon is disconnected from the federal deduction 
for qualified business income in IRC Section 199A. 

Personal income tax returns. This deduction doesn’t 
flow through to the Oregon return. No addition is 
required.

Fiduciary returns. Report the amount included as an 
“other deduction” on federal Form 1041, line 20, as an 
addition on Schedule OR-ASC-FID using code 185.

See “Qualified business income reduced tax rate” 
in “Other items” for information about Oregon’s 
reduced tax rate for sole proprietorships and pass-
through entities. 

Federal election on interest and 
dividends of a minor child 
(ORS 316.372)

[Addition code 107]
Did you report the interest or dividends of your 
minor child on your federal return? If so, you must 
add the amount subject to the special federal tax to 
Oregon income. You must also include any interest 
or dividends your child received on bonds or notes of 
another state or political subdivision of another state 
that you didn’t include on your federal return.

Full-year residents. Oregon taxes the smaller of line 
13 or 14 from federal Form 8814. Oregon also taxes 
any interest or dividends your child received from 
state and local governments outside Oregon.

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes the interest and 
dividends your child received while you were an 
Oregon resident.

Nonresidents. Oregon generally doesn’t tax interest 
or dividends received while you were a nonresident.

Federal income tax refunds 
(ORS 316.685)

[Addition code 109] [Modification code 601]
Did you get a federal tax refund because of a federal 
audit or amended return? If so, you may need to add 
part or all of that refund to your Oregon income. An 
explanation of the federal tax liability subtraction can 
be found in “Subtractions.”

Tax benefit doctrine. You need to add back only 
refunds of federal tax for which you received a benefit 
in a prior year. 

Example 1: Rosa subtracted her entire federal tax lia-
bility of $2,800 on her 2017 Oregon return. This year, 
she amended her 2017 federal return. Rosa reduced 
her federal tax to $2,300 and received a federal refund 
of $500. She received a $500 tax benefit because she 
subtracted $500 more on her 2017 Oregon return than 
her corrected federal tax liability. Rosa will have an 
addition of $500 on her 2019 return.
When to report the refund. As a general rule, report 
the refund in the year you get it. The rules for fig-
uring the addition are explained here, but first, note 
these exceptions:

Exception 1
If there is an error on your federal return, we may 
correct your federal tax liability when your Oregon 
return is processed. This may decrease your federal 
tax subtraction. When the IRS later refunds the dif-
ference between your correct federal liability and 
the liability on your original return, don’t report the 
refund as an addition. Because the tax subtraction 
on your original Oregon return was corrected, you 
didn’t receive a tax benefit from the total federal tax 
subtracted on your original return.
Example 2: The Jacksons showed a $3,700 federal tax 
liability on their federal return. They claimed a fed-
eral tax subtraction for that same amount on their 
Oregon return. When their Oregon return was pro-
cessed, we discovered a math error on their federal 
return. We figured the Jacksons’ correct federal tax as 
$2,400 and reduced their Oregon federal tax subtrac-
tion to that amount. The Jacksons received the IRS 
refund of $1,300. They won’t report the refund as an 
addition on their current year Oregon return because 
they didn’t receive a tax benefit for it.

Exception 2
If you file an amended return before the filing due 
date for that tax year, your amended return is treated 
as your original return for that year. In this case, the 
federal tax subtraction on your amended return is 
your corrected federal tax liability.
Example 3: Heather filed this year's federal and Ore-
gon returns in February. Her federal tax liability was 
$4,800, which she subtracted in full on her Oregon 
return. In March, she amended her federal return to 
claim additional deductions. She refigured her federal 
tax as $3,000. She also amended her Oregon return 
to claim the same additional deductions and reduce 
her federal tax subtraction by $1,800 (from $4,800 to 
$3,000). The $1,800 federal refund she receives won’t 
be reported as income on her Oregon return. Because 
Heather filed the amended Oregon return before the 
original due date, her amended return is treated as 
her original return this year.
Figuring the addition. You must report as an addition 
the amount of refund from which you received a tax 
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benefit. The tax benefit is the amount of federal tax you 
deducted in a prior year and received as a refund in 
a later year, if the amount you received reduced your 
Oregon taxable income in the prior year.
Use this worksheet to figure your tax benefit.
1.	 Fill in your original federal tax  

liability from the prior year  
(2018 limit $6,650, 2017 limit  
$6,550, 2016 limit $6,500). 	 1._________

2.	 Fill in your corrected federal tax  
liability from the prior year (2018  
limit $6,650, 2017 limit $6,550, 2016  
limit $6,500).	 2._ ________

3.	 Line 1 minus line 2. This is the tax  
benefit you received from your  
refund.	 3._ ________

Example 4: Jill’s 2017 federal tax liability was $7,000. 
Her subtraction was limited to $6,550, which she sub-
tracted on her Oregon return. Jill amended her 2017 
federal return and received a refund of $4,000 in 2019. 
The addition on Jill’s 2019 return will be $3,550, fig-
ured as follows:

1.	Federal tax subtracted on Jill’s 2017  
Oregon return (limit $6,550). $ 6,550

2. Less: Corrected federal tax ($7,000 – $4,000)
 (limit $6,550).  -3,000
3. Tax benefit received and  
 Jill’s Oregon addition. $ 3,550

Example 5: Ella’s 2017 original federal tax liability 
was $8,200. She amended her 2017 federal return and 
part-year Oregon return in January 2019. Ella doesn’t 
change the federal tax amount on her amended Ore-
gon return. She received a $1,000 federal refund in 
2019. Her 2017 corrected federal tax is $7,200. Ella fig-
ures her tax benefit as follows:
1. Original 2017 federal tax
 liability (limit $6,550). $ 6,550
2. Less: Corrected federal tax
 liability ($8,200 - $1,000) (limit $6,550). – 6,550
3. Tax benefit received and  
 Ella’s Oregon addition. $ -0-  
Ella didn’t receive a tax benefit from the federal 
refund, so she doesn’t have an addition to report on 
her 2019 Oregon return.
Nonresidents. A nonresident’s tax benefit from fed-
eral tax refunds is the difference between the tax 
actually subtracted on the prior year’s return and the 
tax that would have been subtracted had the federal 
return been correct. If the amounts on your federal 
return changed because you amended your fed-
eral return or because it was audited, your Oregon 

percentage may also change. Use the corrected per-
centage to figure the tax benefit.

Example 6: Brokston was a nonresident with Oregon-
source income in 2017. His original federal tax was 
$8,600. His Oregon percentage was 40 percent. In March 
2019, he amended his 2017 federal and Oregon returns. 
Brokston doesn’t change the federal tax amount on his 
amended Oregon return. He received a $4,500 federal 
refund in 2019. His revised Oregon percentage for 2017 
was 50 percent. He received a tax benefit of $570 from 
the refund. He figures his tax benefit as follows:

1. Original federal tax
 liability (limit $6,550) $ 6,550
 × original Oregon percentage. × 0.40
 $ 2,620
2. Less: Corrected federal tax ($8,600 - $4,500)
 (limit $6,550) $ 4,100
 × revised Oregon percentage. × 0.50

 – 2,050
3.	Tax benefit received and  
	 Brokston’s Oregon addition. $ 570

Full-year residents. Enter the tax benefit as an addi-
tion on Schedule OR-ASC, section 1, using addition 
code 109.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Use a minus 
sign to enter the tax benefit as a negative modifica-
tion on Schedule OR-ASC-NP, section 4, using modi-
fication code 601.

Federal subsidies for employer 
prescription drug plans  
(ORS 316.837)

[Addition code 123]

Employers who provide a prescription drug plan for 
their retired employees may receive a federal sub-
sidy if they meet the requirements in 42 U.S.C. Sec-
tion 1395w-132. This subsidy is excluded from federal 
taxable income under IRC Section 139A. Oregon law 
doesn’t allow this exclusion. If you’re an employer 
with a qualified plan for your retired employees and 
you received this subsidy, you’ll have an addition on 
your Oregon return. 

Full-year residents. Enter the full amount of the sub-
sidy on Schedule OR-ASC.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Enter the full 
amount of the subsidy in the federal column of Sched-
ule OR-ASC-NP. In the Oregon column, enter any 
amount received while an Oregon resident and the 
amount attributable to Oregon-source income while a 
nonresident.  
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Income taxes paid to another state 
by a pass-through entity 
(ORS 316.082)

[Addition code 148]
If you claim a credit for income taxes paid to another 
state by a pass-through entity (PTE) of which you're 
an owner, and the PTE is deducting the tax on its own 
return, you'll have an addition on your return for the 
amount of tax paid or deducted by the PTE. Note: See 
the instructions for fiduciary returns at the end of this 
section if a credit is claimed on Form OR-41.  

Example 1: Chad owns 5 percent of West Group, LLP, 
a limited partnership doing business in Utah. The 
LLP paid or withheld $10,000 of Utah income tax on 
Chad’s behalf in 2019 and deducted that amount on 
its own 2019 federal return. Chad filed his own Utah 
nonresident return for 2019. His Utah tax liability 
was $9,000. He received a $1,000 refund in 2020.

On his 2019 Oregon return, Chad calculates his 2019 
credit based on his $9,000 Utah tax liability. The income 
from the LLP that flowed through to Chad’s return was 
reduced by the amount of tax that the LLP paid and 
deducted. For this reason, Chad must add the lesser of 
the tax paid ($10,000) or deducted ($9,000) to his income. 
Chad adds $9,000 to his income on Schedule OR-ASC.

Example 2: Susan owns 50 percent of Painter, Inc., an 
Oregon S corporation. Painter, Inc. pays California 
income tax. It deducts the tax on its corporate return. It 
paid California $30,000 of 2019 tax for her in 2019, and 
$10,000 of 2019 tax in January 2020. The corporation paid 
$2,000 of tax for her with its 2019 tax return filed in 2020.

Susan elects to be included in the group nonresident 
return that Painter, Inc. files with California. She calcu-
lates her credit for 2019 using $42,000: $30,000 in pay-
ments made in 2019, and the $12,000 in 2019 tax paid in 
2020. She claims the credit on her 2019 return. Because 
Painter, Inc. is deducting the tax on its own return, Susan 
must add the lesser of the total tax paid or deducted to 
her income. This is true whether Susan’s share of the 
tax was paid when the composite return was filed or 
was paid or withheld by Painter, Inc. during the tax 
year. For 2019, she adds $30,000 to her Oregon income 
on Schedule OR-ASC. She'll add the remaining $12,000 
to her Oregon taxable income on her 2020 return.

Credit claimed on fiduciary return. If a credit is claimed 
on Form OR-41 for income taxes paid to another state, 
and the taxes on which the credit is based are deducted 
on federal Form 1041, line 11, the taxes must be restored 
to income on the Oregon return. Report the smaller of:

•	The other state’s 2019 tax liability, or
•	The other state’s 2019 tax claimed as a deduction on 

Form 1041, as an addition on Schedule OR-ASC-FID, 

section 1. For more information and examples, see 
the instructions for Schedule OR-A.

Individual development account 
(IDA) (ORS 316.848)

[Addition code 137 or 159] 
For more information about IDAs, see this topic 
under "Subtractions." 

Nonqualified withdrawal. Did you make a nonquali-
fied withdrawal from your IDA during the year? If 
so, you must report the amount as an addition on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. Use addition code 
137.

Rollover to retirement account. Did you roll funds 
from your IDA account over to a retirement account? 
Were you allowed to deduct the amount of IDA funds 
contributed to the retirement account as a deduc-
tion on your federal return? If so, the amount you 
deducted that was already subtracted as an IDA con-
tribution on an Oregon return must be added back. 
Report the amount deducted on your federal return 
as an addition on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. 
Use addition code 159.

Interest and dividends on  
government bonds of other states  
[ORS 316.680 (2)(b)]

[Addition code 158]
Full-year residents. Oregon taxes interest and divi-
dends on bonds and notes of another state or political 
subdivision of another state that you didn’t include 
on your federal return. This income is an addition 
using Schedule OR-ASC.

Did you report the interest or dividends of your 
minor child on your federal return? And, did your 
child receive interest or dividends from another state 
or political subdivision? If so, include this income as 
an addition using Schedule OR-ASC. See “Federal 
election on interest and dividends of a minor child.” 

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes all interest and 
dividends you earned on all bonds or notes when you 
were an Oregon resident. Oregon also taxes the inter-
est and dividends on bonds or notes of another state 
(or political subdivision of another state) earned from 
an Oregon business, partnership, or S corporation 
during the part of the year you were a nonresident.

Nonresidents. Oregon will only tax this income if it comes 
from an Oregon business, partnership, or S corporation.

Fiduciary returns. Report the addition on Form OR-41, 
Schedule 2, line 14. No addition code is needed.
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Related expenses
You may reduce your addition by the amount of 
investment expenses that:

•	Aren’t deducted elsewhere on your return, and
•	Could be deducted if the income were included on 

your federal return.

Other federally-exempt obligations
You will have an Oregon addition for interest or 
dividends on obligations of any authority, commis-
sion, instrumentality, or territorial possession of the 
United States. These are exempt from federal tax but 
not Oregon tax.

Oregon doesn’t tax interest or dividends on obliga-
tions that states can’t tax under federal law. Examples 
of such obligations are bonds issued by:

•	Territory of Guam.
•	Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.
•	Territory of Puerto Rico.
•	Territory of Samoa.
•	Territory of Virgin Islands.

Lump-sum distributions 
(ORS 316.737)

[Addition code 139]
Did you complete federal Form 4972 to figure the tax 
on your qualified lump-sum distribution using the 
20 percent capital gain election and/or the 10-year tax 
option? If so, part or all of your lump-sum distribution 
wasn't included in your federal AGI. The excluded 
portion of your distribution must be included as an 
addition to your Oregon income. See the examples 
below.

Election to use 20 percent capital gain on federal 
Form 4972. Did you average the ordinary portion of 
your lump-sum distribution on federal Form 4972? 
Did you choose the 20 percent capital gain election 
on Form 4972? If you chose either of these options 
you will add to Oregon income the total amount of 
taxable income shown on your federal Form 1099-R.

Example 1: Gary got a $20,000 lump-sum distribu-
tion from his employer. Of this, $12,000 was capital 
gain income, and $8,000 was ordinary income. Using 
federal Form 4972, he chose to use the 10-year averag-
ing method only on the $8,000 of ordinary income. 
He chose the 20 percent capital gain election on the 
$12,000 capital gain income. Gary will add all of his 
$20,000 lump-sum distribution to his Oregon income 
on Schedule OR-ASC.

Election to treat the entire distribution as ordinary 
income and average it. Did you average all of your 
lump-sum distribution (ordinary income and capital 
gain portions) on federal Form 4972? If so, you will 

have an addition for the entire lump-sum distribu-
tion to report on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

Example 2: John received a $40,000 lump-sum distribu-
tion from his employer; $30,000 was capital gain income 
and $10,000 was ordinary income. He chose to average 
the entire distribution of $40,000 as ordinary income on 
his federal Form 4972. John will add all of his $40,000 
lump-sum distribution to his Oregon income.

Election not to average any of your lump-sum dis-
tribution. Did you choose not to average any of your 
lump-sum distribution? If you included it in federal 
AGI, there is no addition on your Oregon return.

Nonresident capital losses and loss 
carryforwards (OAR 150-316-0006)

[Addition code 161]
Capital losses and losses carried forward from prior 
years may be claimed on an Oregon return only if:

•	The capital loss was incurred while you were an 
Oregon resident; or

•	If you were a nonresident when the capital loss 
was incurred, the loss was attributable to Oregon 
sources. 

If you have a capital loss or are carrying forward a 
loss from a prior year on this year’s return (or are 
using the loss to offset capital gain), and the loss 
doesn’t meet these requirements, you will have an 
addition on your Oregon return. 

Full-year residents. If the loss was incurred while 
you were a nonresident and it wasn’t attributable to 
Oregon sources, and you’re claiming the loss or using 
it to offset capital gain on your return, report the loss 
amount as an addition on Schedule OR-ASC.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. If the loss was 
incurred while you were a nonresident and it wasn’t 
attributable to Oregon sources, and you’re claiming 
the loss or using it to reduce Oregon capital gain on 
your return, report the loss amount to the extent that 
it reduces Oregon gain as an addition on Schedule 
OR-ASC-NP.

Example 1. Louise moved to Oregon and became a 
resident on June 1. Before she became a resident, Lou-
ise incurred a $50,000 capital loss from non-Oregon 
sources. After she became a resident, Louise recog-
nized a capital gain of $70,000. On her federal return, 
she’s offsetting the $70,000 gain with the $50,000 loss, 
for a net gain of $20,000. Because she wasn’t a resident 
when she incurred the loss, and the loss wasn’t from 
Oregon sources, Louise must report a $50,000 addi-
tion on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.

Example 2. Eric is a Missouri resident who recog-
nizes a $25,000 capital gain from Oregon sources. On 
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his federal return, Eric offsets the capital gain with 
$10,000 in capital losses from Missouri sources, for a 
net gain of $15,000. He reports the $15,000 capital gain 
in the Oregon column on his nonresident return. Eric 
must report the $10,000 loss as an addition on Sched-
ule OR-ASC-NP.

Oregon College and MFS 529 Savings 
Plan nonqualified withdrawal  
[ORS 316.680(2)(j)]

[Addition code 117]
Did you withdraw funds from an Oregon College 
or MFS 529 Savings Plan account for nonqualified 
purposes, where the funds were subtracted on a 
prior year’s Oregon return? Nonqualified purposes 
include using funds in the account to pay tuition at 
a K-12 school. If so, you must report an addition on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP for the amount you 
withdrew. IRC Section 529(e) defines qualified higher 
education expenses. If a portion of the withdrawal 
was used for qualified purposes, use any reasonable 

method to determine the amount of the addition. 
Keep a copy of this determination with your tax 
records. For more information about these plans see 
this topic under “Subtractions.”

Unused business credits   
[ORS 316.680(2)(f)]

[Addition code 122]
Did you claim a deduction on your federal return 
for unused business credits (UBC)? Oregon doesn’t 
allow this deduction. 

Full-year residents. You must report your federal 
UBC deduction as an Oregon addition. 

Part-year residents. You will have an Oregon addition 
for your federal UBC deduction related to any UBC 
earned while you were an Oregon resident. You also 
must include any federal UBC deduction related to 
Oregon credits earned while you were a nonresident.

Nonresidents. You will have an addition for your fed-
eral UBC deduction related to Oregon credits earned 
from Oregon sources.
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Subtractions
Generally, subtractions are items the federal govern-
ment taxes but Oregon doesn’t. Subtractions reduce 
your income taxed by Oregon.

Numeric codes are provided with the explanation 
for most subtractions. For part-year residents and 
nonresidents, some subtractions will be reported as 
modifications. This is required when an amount you 
are subtracting must be adjusted for Oregon tax pur-
poses. When this is the case, a modification code is 
provided with the explanation for that subtraction. 
Enter the numeric code and the dollar amount of each 
subtraction or modification on Schedule OR-ASC or 
Schedule OR-ASC-NP. The total dollar amount of 
subtractions and modifications is then reported on 
your return. 

If a numeric code isn’t provided for a subtraction or 
modification, the amount is reported directly on your 
return. 

ABLE Account deposit (ORS 316.699)
[Subtraction code 360]
You can subtract contributions you made to an Ore-
gon or contracting state’s Achieving a Better Life 
Experience (ABLE) account of up to $4,865 if you 
file a joint return ($2,435 for all others). These state-
sponsored accounts, established through the Oregon 
Savings Network, allow persons with disabilities to 
save money for disability-related expenses without 
affecting their eligibility for government or other 
benefits. ABLE accounts qualify for special tax status 
under IRC Section 529A. To qualify for the Oregon 
subtraction, contributions must be made before the 
designated beneficiary turns 21 years old.

Funds withdrawn to pay qualified expenses related 
to the beneficiary’s disability won’t be taxed. Quali-
fied withdrawals include expenses for education, 
housing, transportation, assistive technology, per-
sonal support services, employment training and 
support, and fees for legal and financial services, 
among others. Once you open an account and select 
an investment option, the Oregon Savings Network 
board and the private investment company manage 
your investment. 

Important change for 2019: You can only subtract 
your contribution if you made it before the end of the 
2019 tax year. Contributions made in tax years that 
begin on or after January 1, 2020 will qualify only 
for the tax credit that will be available on your 2020 
return. Next year’s edition of this publication will 
have more details on the new credit.

Note: The combined total of your ABLE account 
and Oregon College and MFS 529 Savings Plan 
subtractions can't be more than the annual amount 
shown above. 

Addition. You may need to add back funds with-
drawn for a nonqualified purpose on your Oregon 
return. See this topic under “Additions” for more 
information. 

Rollovers. If you have an ABLE account in a non-con-
tracting state and you roll it over into an Oregon or 
contracting state’s ABLE account, the rollover quali-
fies as a new contribution for purposes of the subtrac-
tion. However, you can’t subtract any amount rolled 
over from an IDA. 

Carryforward. If you made a contribution in a tax 
year that started before January 1, 2020 that was  
more than the maximum allowable subtraction for 
that year, you may carry forward the amount not 
subtracted over the next four years.

For more information about the ABLE Act, visit 
the ABLE National Resource Center ’s website at  
www.ablenrc.org.

American Indian (ORS 316.777)
[Subtraction code 300]

Are you an American Indian? If so, you might not 
have to pay Oregon income tax on your income. You 
may be able to subtract all or part of your income if 
all the following are true:

•	You are an enrolled member of a federally recog-
nized American Indian tribe, and

•	Your income is derived from sources within feder-
ally recognized Indian country in Oregon, and

•	You lived in federally recognized Indian country in 
Oregon at the time the income is earned.

“Indian country” is defined as any land within a 
current federal Indian reservation boundary and 
other lands held in trust by the United States govern-
ment for a tribe.

For enrolled members of federally recognized Ameri-
can Indian tribes who live in Indian country in Ore-
gon, income exempt from Oregon income tax includes:

•	Wages earned for work performed in Indian coun-
try in Oregon.

•	Income from business or real estate located in Indian 
country in Oregon.
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•	Retirement income if the contributions to the plan 
came from or were connected with services per-
formed in Indian country.

•	Unemployment insurance benefits if the benefits 
were received as a result of work performed in 
Indian country.

•	Interest, dividends, and capital gains from the sale 
of stocks and other intangibles, regardless of where 
the accounts are located.

•	Gambling winnings from Indian gaming centers 
(casinos).

•	Indian tribal disbursements from casino earnings.

You must live on and have income derived from 
sources within Indian country in Oregon and be an 
enrolled member of a federally recognized tribe to 
subtract the income listed above. You don’t have to 
live in and have income from the same Indian coun-
try. The areas where you live and derive income must 
both be Indian country to qualify for the subtraction.

To claim the subtraction, you must report your total 
income on both the federal and Oregon tax returns. 

You must file a completed copy of Schedule OR-EIS 
with your Oregon return. Go to our website to down-
load the schedule or call us. You must include the fol-
lowing information on the schedule:

•	The street address of the place you worked, and
•	The street address of the place you lived, and
•	The tribe you are enrolled with and your member-

ship number.

You must use the street address of your residence on 
the schedule so we can verify that you lived in Indian 
country when you earned your income. However, 
you may use your post office box address on your tax 
return.

If you meet all of the requirements for exemption from 
Oregon withholding, use Form OR-W-4 to declare that 
your income is exempt using the appropriate code. 
Give the form to your employer.

Income earned in Oregon but outside of Indian coun-
try will be taxed by Oregon. Also, any Oregon income 
earned by a member not living in Indian country will 
be taxed by Oregon. Each member of a household 
with income must meet these qualifications in order 
to claim the subtraction of their income.

If you are an enrolled member of a federally recog-
nized tribe and a member of the U.S. Armed Forces 
stationed in Oregon, you may be entitled to an addi-
tional subtraction. For more information, see “Mili-
tary personnel filing information.”

Artist’s charitable contribution 
(ORS 316.838)

[Subtraction code 301] [Modification code 600]
Oregon allows a subtraction to artists who contribute 
art objects they’ve created to a recognized charitable 
organization or governmental unit.

What qualifies as an “art object?”
The art object must be a painting, sculpture, photo-
graph, graphic or craft art, industrial design, costume 
or fashion design, tape or sound recording, or film 
that qualifies for a charitable contribution deduction 
under IRC Section 170.

The charitable organization isn’t required to use the 
art object for the same purpose or function that quali-
fies it for its federal tax exemption. You may deduct 
your charitable contribution even if the charitable 
organization sells the art object.

You must have an appraisal report showing the fair 
market value of the art object at the time of the con-
tribution. Submit the appraisal report with your tax 
return.

How to calculate the subtraction
The subtraction is equal to the difference between:

1.	 The amount that would have been allowed as an 
itemized deduction if you could deduct the fair 
market value of the art (subject to the federal con-
tribution limit)*, and

2.	 The actual allowable amount as an itemized deduc-
tion under federal tax law.

*Federal law limits charitable contributions. Contributions 
to some organizations are limited to 50 percent of your 
federal AGI. Contributions to others are limited to 30 per-
cent of your AGI. Use these limits when you figure your 
deduction.

Example: Ronda’s AGI is $10,000. She donated one of her 
paintings to an organization for display in a building. 
The painting has a basis (cost) of $300 and a FMV of 
$6,000. Here is how she computes her subtraction:
	 1.	 Amount allowed as a
		  charitable contribution
		  if computed using FMV. $	6,000
	 2.	 Amount allowed as a  

charitable contribution 
limited to 50% of AGI. $	5,000

	 3.	 Lesser of line 1 or line 2. $ 5,000
	 4.	 Amount allowed as a charitable  

contribution on Schedule OR-A  
(basis). ($300)

	 5.	 Ronda’s subtraction 
(line 3 minus 4).	 $ 4,700
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Part-year residents and nonresidents. Follow the 
same rules as a full-year resident. You don’t have to 
prorate this subtraction. Part-year residents: Enter 
your subtraction in section 4 of Schedule OR-ASC-NP 
using modification code 600. Nonresidents: Enter 
your subtraction amount on the “Charitable art dona-
tion“ line on Form OR-40-N.

Capital Construction Fund 
(ORS 316.048)

[Subtraction code 339]
If you subtracted your contributions to your qualify-
ing capital construction fund on your federal return, 
you may also subtract that amount on your Oregon 
return. See IRS Publication 595: Capital Construction 
Fund for Commercial Fishermen, for more information.

The subtraction for Oregon is the same as the amount 
you identified as “CCF” and subtracted on your fed-
eral return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Enter the full 
subtraction amount in the federal column of Sched-
ule OR-ASC-NP, section 3. The amount allowed in 
the Oregon column is the Oregon percentage of your 
fishing trade or business that qualifies you for a CCF 
account.

Example: Greg moved out of Oregon in May and con-
tinued his fishing business in California. His Oregon 
net fishing income is $10,000 and his California net 
fishing income is $30,000. He put $15,000 into his CCF 
account during the past year. On Schedule OR-ASC-
NP, Greg will enter $40,000 for his fishing income in 
the federal column and $10,000 in the Oregon column. 
Greg’s CCF subtraction in the federal column is the 
full $15,000. Since 25 percent of his eligible income 
was Oregon source, he is allowed a CCF subtraction 
of $3,750 ($15,000 x 25%) in the Oregon column.

Construction worker and logger 
commuting expenses  
(ORS 316.812, 316.824, 316.832)

[Subtraction code 303]
If you are a qualified construction worker or logger, you 
may deduct certain commuting expenses from your Ore-
gon taxable income. To claim these expenses, you must 
have worked at one or more construction projects or log-
ging operation sites more than 50 miles from your home.

A construction project is construction, alteration, 
repair, improvement, moving, or demolition of a struc-
ture. A logging operation is the commercial harvest-
ing of forest products. People in other occupations 

aren’t eligible for this subtraction. Management per-
sonnel aren’t eligible for this subtraction either. 

Qualifying workers. Loggers must be fallers or buck-
ers who maintain their own equipment and are paid 
on a per-unit-cut basis. Construction workers must 
be members of a recognized trade, craft, or union.

Qualifying expenses. You may claim only the actual 
cost of gas, oil, repairs, and maintenance for your 
vehicle for getting to and from work sites that are 
more than 50 miles from your home. You can’t use a 
standard mileage rate to figure expenses.

If you use your vehicle both for business and personal 
purposes, you must determine your portion of busi-
ness use. Keep a mileage log book during the year to 
track your business use and record all business trip 
miles. You should also record your starting and ending 
odometer reading for your vehicle each year. You may 
claim only the business portion of your repairs and 
maintenance as commuting expenses. You can’t claim 
depreciation. To claim the actual business expenses for 
your qualified commute miles, you will need to keep 
your vehicle records during the year. Keep receipts for 
all your fuel (such as gas, diesel), oil change, repair, and 
maintenance costs in your permanent tax records.

Example: Ewan is a construction worker. He uses his 
truck for both personal and business purposes. He 
worked on three construction jobs during the year. 
Two of the jobs were located more than 50 miles away 
from his home. Ewan kept a log book in his truck and 
recorded each trip to and from the construction sites. 
He also kept a record of all his truck expenses—his 
receipts for diesel fuel, oil changes, repairs, and main-
tenance for the year. These receipts totaled $4,215.

Ewan’s odometer readings were: 

Year end: December 31	 38,306
Year beginning: January 1	 26,327 
Total miles driven	 11,979

Ewan’s mileage log book showed that his mileage to and 
from qualified construction job sites totaled 4,716 miles.

He will use this formula to determine the business 
use of his truck and the amount of truck expenses 
which will qualify for this subtraction:

Qualified  
construction miles × actual expenses = Subtraction
Total miles driven

4,716
× $4,215 = $1,659

11,979

Ewan will claim a subtraction of $1,659 on Schedule OR-ASC.

Duration of project. If you are a construction worker, 
claim only your expenses for the first year of continu-
ous employment at any one construction site. If your 
employment continues beyond one year, the job site is 
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considered permanent. You may not subtract any addi-
tional commuting costs for going to and from that site 
after the first year at that worksite. If your employment 
at that job site is temporarily interrupted, don’t count 
the interruption when you figure the one-year limit.

If you are a logger, there is no limit on how long you 
can work at the same job site and still claim expenses.

How to claim the subtraction. Claim your commut-
ing expenses on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.  

Note for part-year residents and nonresidents. You 
can claim only expenses related to income that you 
included in the Oregon column of your Oregon return.

Conversions and exchanged 
property [ORS 314.290 (repealed), 
316.716]

[Subtraction code 306]

Oregon law used to require an addition for gain on the 
sale or exchange of certain property deferred on the fed-
eral return. This statute was repealed in 2001. If you were 
required to make this addition before 2001, you have 
already been taxed by Oregon for the gain on the sale or 
exchange of your property. If this gain is now included 
in your federal income, you may claim a subtraction for 
the amount of the gain previously taxed by Oregon. 

Domestic international sales 
corporation (DISC) dividend 
payments (ORS 316.749)

[Subtraction code 352]

Oregon allows a subtraction for the dividend pay-
ments you received from a DISC. 

You can claim the subtraction if all of the following are true:

•	The DISC dividend payments are included in your 
federal AGI, and

•	The DISC was formed by January 1, 2014, and
•	The DISC is subject to the 2.5% tax.

Federal income tax liability 
(ORS 316.680, 316.685, 316.695)

Part A: Federal tax liability subtraction 
[Form OR-40, line 10] [Form OR-40-N or OR-40-P, line 40] 

Part B: Federal tax paid in a prior year 
[Subtraction code 309] [Modification code 602] 

Part C: Foreign tax subtraction 
[Subtraction code 311] [Modification code 603] 

Current year’s federal tax liability. Oregon allows a sub-
traction for your current year’s federal income tax liability 
after credits. The subtraction for 2019 is limited to $6,800 
($3,400 if your filing status is married filing separately). 
It may be limited further based on your AGI; see Table 7.

The subtraction is based on the accrual method of 
accounting. This means you subtract the total amount 
of your federal tax liability after credits for the cur-
rent tax year (not less than zero) as shown on your 
original return, regardless of when you pay it.

The subtraction is limited to income tax. This includes 
alternative minimum tax, tax on an IRA, and recap-
ture taxes. You can’t include self-employment tax 
or Social Security (FICA) tax. You also can’t include 
penalties, interest, or any shared responsibility pay-
ment required by the federal Affordable Care Act.

Federal income tax credits, except for the EITC, reduce 
your federal tax subtraction. The credits for federal tax 
on special fuels, special oils, and a regulated investment 
company won’t reduce your federal tax subtraction.

You can deduct your federal income tax liability after 
credits, up to $6,800 ($3,400 if your filing status is 
married filing separately) based on your income and 
filing status. Don’t enter less than ‑0‑ or more than 
$6,800. Use the federal tax worksheet, in the next sec-
tion, to figure your federal income tax liability.

RDPs: Use amounts from your actual federal return(s), 
not your “as if” return.

Additional federal income tax paid or determined. If 
you paid additional federal tax because your federal 
return was amended or audited, you may be able to 
claim an additional subtraction or modification for it 
in the year the tax was paid or determined, which-
ever is later. Your additional prior year’s federal tax 
plus your current year’s federal tax can't be more 
than your current year federal tax subtraction limit.

This subtraction applies only to additional federal 
income tax paid because your return was amended or 
audited. It doesn’t include withholding tax, advance tax 
payments, interest, penalties, or paying the tax due on 
your original federal return. Use the federal Tax Work-
sheet, Part B, to figure your federal tax from a prior year.

If you're a resident, report the amount using subtrac-
tion code 309; if you're a part-year resident or nonresi-
dent, report the amount using modification code 602.

Amended returns. If your federal tax liability for 
a prior year is changed, see “Amended returns” to 
determine whether you should change the amount of 
the subtraction on your amended Oregon return.

Federal tax worksheet
Part A: Federal tax liability subtraction
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1.	 Enter your federal tax liability  
from Form 1040 or 1040-SR, line 14;  
Form 1040-NR, line 53; or Form  
1040-NR-EZ, line 15. 	 1._ _________

2.	 Enter your excess advance  
premium tax credit from Form  
1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 2, line 2;  
or Form 1040-NR, line 44. 	 2.__________

3.	 Line 1 minus line 2. (If less than  
-0-, enter -0-.) 	 3._ _________

4.	 Enter your additional tax on  
retirement plans from Form  
1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 2, line 6;  
or Form 1040-NR, line 57; your  
first-time homebuyer credit  
recapture; *any recapture taxes you  
included as “other taxes” on Form  
1040 or 1040-SR, Schedule 2, line 8,  
or Form 1040-NR, line 60; and the  
amount on Form 1040-NR, line 54. 	 4.__________

5.	 Add lines 3 and 4. 	 5._ _________

6.	 Enter your American Opportunity  
credit from Form 1040 or 1040-SR,  
line 18c. 	 6.__________

7.	 Enter your total premium tax  
credit from Form 8962, line 24. 	 7._ _________

8.	 Add lines 6 and 7. 	 8.__________

9.	 Line 5 minus line 8. (If less than  
-0-, enter -0-). 	 9._ _________

10.	Enter your maximum allowable  
tax liability subtraction from Table 7.  
Don’t enter less than -0- or  
more than $6,800 ($3,400 if your  
filing status is married filing  
separately). 	 10._ ________

11.	Enter the smaller of line 9 or line 10.  
This is your federal tax liability  
subtraction.	 11._ ________

*Did you file federal form 5405? If you are required to repay 
your 2008, 2009, or 2010 first-time homebuyer credit because 
you disposed of your home or stopped using it as your main 
home, you may subtract your federal tax recapture. Add the 
amount reported on your federal form 1040 or 1040-SR, 
Schedule 2, line 7b, or federal form 1040-NR, line 59b, to the 
amount included on line 4 of the worksheet above. Don’t add 
this amount if you are repaying your 2008 credit and still 
live in your qualifying home as your main residence.

Part B: Federal tax paid for a prior year
[Subtraction code 309] [Modification code 602]
1.	 Enter maximum amount from  

Table 7 (Part A, line 10).	 1._ _________

2.	 Enter federal tax liability  
subtraction (Part A, line 11).	 2.__________

3.	 Line 1 minus line 2. If the result is  
-0-, Stop—you can’t deduct your  
federal tax from a prior year. If  
greater than -0-, continue to line 4.	 3._ _________

4.	 Enter the amount of federal tax  
you paid in 2019 for a prior year.	 4.__________

5.	 Enter the smaller of line 3 or line  
4 here and on Schedule OR-ASC,  
section 2 (subtraction code 309) or  
Schedule OR-ASC-NP, section 4  
(modification code 602).	 5._ _________

Part C: Foreign tax subtraction
[Subtraction code 311] [Modification code 603]
If your total federal tax subtraction (Part A, line 11 
plus Part B, line 5) equals the maximum subtrac-
tion amount shown in Table 7 for your filing sta-
tus, Stop—you can’t subtract your foreign tax (ORS 
316.690). Otherwise, continue to Step 1.

1.	 Enter the maximum subtraction  
amount for your filing status from  
Table 7.	 1._ _________

2.	 Enter your total federal tax liability  
subtraction (Part A, line 11 plus  
Part B, line 5).	 2.__________

3.	 Line 1 minus line 2.	 3._ _________

4.	 Enter the amount paid in foreign  
tax, but not more than $3,000  
($1,500 if your filing status is  
married filing separately).	 4.__________

5.	 Enter the smaller of line 3 or  
line 4 here and on Schedule  
OR-ASC section 2 (subtraction  
code 311) or Schedule OR-ASC-NP  
section 4 (modification code 603).	 5._ _________
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Table 7. Federal tax liability subtraction AGI phase-out

If your filing  
status is:

and your federal AGI is:
then your  
maximum 
allowable 

tax liability 
subtraction 

is:at least—
but less 
than—

Single

-0- $125,000 $6,800

$125,000 $130,000 $5,450

$130,000 $135,000 $4,100

$135,000 $140,000 $2,700

$140,000 $145,000 $1,350

$145,000 or more -0-

Married filing 
separately

-0- $125,000 $3,400

$125,000 $130,000 $2,725

$130,000 $135,000 $2,050

$135,000 $140,000 $1,350

$140,000 $145,000 $675

$145,000 or more -0-

Married filing 
jointly
or
Head of 
household
or
Qualifying 
widow(er)

-0- $250,000 $6,800

$250,000 $260,000 $5,450

$260,000 $270,000 $4,100

$270,000 $280,000 $2,700

$280,000 $290,000 $1,350

$290,000 or more -0-

Federal pension income 
[ORS 316.680(1)(e)]

[Subtraction code 307]
You may be able to subtract some or all of your tax-
able federal pension included in federal income. This 
includes benefits paid to the retiree or the beneficiary. 
It doesn’t include disability payments if you haven’t 
attained the minimum retirement age. The subtrac-
tion amount is based on the number of months of 
federal service or points earned for retirement before 
and after October 1, 1991:

•	If all of your months of federal service occurred or 
points were earned before October 1, 1991, subtract 
100 percent of the taxable federal pension income 
you reported on your federal return.

•	If you have no months of service or points earned 
before October 1, 1991, you can’t subtract any fed-
eral pension.

•	If your service occurred or points were earned both 
before and after October 1, 1991, you will subtract 
a percentage of the taxable federal pension income 
you reported on your federal return.

To determine your percentage, divide your months 
of service or points earned before October 1, 1991, by 
your total months of service or points earned. Round 
your percentage to three places (example: 0.4576 = 
45.8%). Once you determine the percentage, it will 
remain the same from year to year.

Federal Thrift Savings Plan (TSP). Once a taxpayer 
is a retiree, withdrawals from federal TSP accounts 
are eligible for the subtraction based on dates of ser-
vice. Withdrawals prior to retirement aren’t eligible 
because the taxpayer must be a retiree at the time of 
withdrawal to be eligible for the subtraction. If the 
taxpayer moves money from a TSP to another type of 
account, the account loses its character and is no lon-
ger a federal pension. In this case, future withdraw-
als wouldn't be eligible for the subtraction.

Full-year residents. If you're eligible for the federal 
pension income subtraction, enter the amount on 
Schedule OR-ASC.

Part-year residents. If you received the federal pen-
sion income during the part of the year when you 
were a resident and you're eligible for the subtrac-
tion, enter the amount in both the federal and Oregon 
columns of Schedule OR-ASC-NP. Include your fed-
eral pension income received during the part of the 
year when you were a nonresident only if you were 
domiciled in Oregon during that time. If you were  
not domiciled in Oregon during the part of the year 
that you were a nonresident, exclude the income you 
received during that time from the Oregon column of 
your part-year return, and don't claim a subtraction 
for any portion of that income.

Nonresidents. Claim a subtraction for federal pen-
sion income only if you reported it on your Oregon 
return. Oregon doesn’t tax your retirement income 
unless you have kept Oregon as your domicile. For 
more information, see “Income.” 

Use this worksheet to determine your federal pension income subtraction amount:

1.	 Federal pension income included in federal AGI.	 1.	 $____________
2.	 a.	 Months of service or points earned from _______ (fill in 
		  federal service start date) to October 1, 1991.	 a.  ____  months*/points
	 b.	 Months of service or points earned from _______ (fill in 
		  federal service start date) to _______ (fill in federal 
		  service retirement date).	 b. ____ months**/points

	 Divide the number of months or points on line a by the total number of months or  
points on line b. This is your federal pension subtraction percentage. Round the  
decimal three places and enter it here. 	 2.	 ____________ 
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3.	 Multiply line 1 by the decimal on line 2. This is your federal pension subtraction.	 3.	 $____________

*	 Federal service start date: If your federal service start date was the 1st through the 
15th of a month, include the entire month when counting federal service.

	 If your federal service start date was the 16th through the end of a month, don’t 
include the first partial month of service. Start counting the months of federal service 
with the first full month.		

**	 Federal service retirement date: If your federal service retirement date was the 1st 
through the 15th of a month, don’t count this final partial month when counting the 
total months of federal service.

	 If your retirement date was the 16th through the end of the month, include the entire 
month when counting the total months of federal service.			 

Keep a copy of this worksheet with your permanent tax records. Use the same percentage from line 2 to 
determine your federal pension subtraction in future years. 

Example 1: Jared worked for the U.S. Department of Agriculture from May 1, 1977, until July 31, 2012. He 
worked a total of 423 months—173 months before October 1, 1991. In 2019, he received federal pension income 
of $65,000. He can subtract 40.9 percent (173 ÷ 423) or $26,585 (0.409 × $65,000) of his federal pension. Jared will 
continue to subtract 40.9 percent of his federal pension from Oregon income in future years.  

Example 2: Robin served in the U.S. Army Reserves from June 20, 1987 through May 18, 2012. As a retired mem-
ber of the reserves, Robin’s service is easier measured by the retirement points she earned. Her Chronological 
Statement of Retirement Points shows that she earned 1,917 retirement points before October 1, 1991, out of a 
total 3,510. Robin received $25,000 in pension benefits in 2019. This worksheet shows how she will determine 
her federal pension subtraction.

1.	 Federal pension income included in federal AGI.	 1.	 $	 25,000

2.	 a.	 Points earned before October 1, 1991.	 a. 1,917 points		

	 b.	 Total points earned.	 b. 3,510 points		

	 Divide the number of points on line a by the total number of points on line b.  
Round the decimal three places. This is Robin’s federal pension subtraction percentage.	 2.		  0.546

3.	 Multiply line 1 by the decimal on line 2. This is Robin’s federal pension subtraction.	 3.	 $	 13,650

Federal Tax Credits (ORS 316.716)
[Subtraction code 340] [Modification code 609] 

These credits are not related to individual health 
insurance premium credits allowed by the federal 
Affordable Care Act. 

To claim certain federal tax credits, such as the mort-
gage interest credit or the employer credit for paid 
family leave allowed by IRC Section 45S, you must 
reduce your business expenses or itemized deduc-
tions on your federal return by the amount of the 
credit you figured for the year. Oregon allows a 
subtraction for the amount reduced on your federal 
return. Subtract the entire reduction amount in the 
year you first claimed the federal credit, even if the 
federal credit is carried over. 

Part-year residents and nonresidents: Report the 
reduction amount as a subtraction if the item you 

reduced was reported on a federal form or sched-
ule other than Schedule A. If you were required to 
reduce an itemized deduction, report the reduction 
amount as a modification, not as a subtraction.

Education credits. If you weren’t able to claim the 
tuition and fees deduction on your federal return 
because you claimed an education credit, you may 
qualify to claim a subtraction on your Oregon return. 
See “Tuition and fees” for more information.

Mortgage interest credit. Were you required to 
reduce your mortgage interest deduction because 
you claimed the federal mortgage interest credit? See 
“Mortgage interest credit” for detailed information 
about this subtraction.

Health Coverage Tax Credit (HCTC). If you claimed  
this credit on your federal return, you might be 
allowed a subtraction on your Oregon return. This 
credit isn’t related to the premium credit allowed 
by the federal Affordable Care Act. Oregon allows 
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a subtraction or modification for the self-employed 
health insurance deduction or itemized deductions 
you couldn’t claim on your federal return because 
you claimed the HCTC.

Part-year residents and nonresidents doing business 
in Oregon. If your federal credit is related to a business 
operated entirely in Oregon, don’t prorate your sub-
traction. If the credit is related to a business not oper-
ated solely in Oregon, you must prorate your subtrac-
tion. Use this formula to determine the amount to sub-
tract in the Oregon column of Schedule OR-ASC-NP:

Sales in Oregon
× Expenses not allowed 

on your federal returnSales everywhere

Enter the expenses not allowed on your federal return 
in the federal column of the schedule.

Partnerships and S corporations. If your federal 
credit is from a partnership or S corporation, you may 
subtract a percentage of the expenses not deductible 
on your federal partnership or S corporation return. 
This amount will usually be the same as the percent-
age of total partnership or S corporation income you 
report on your return. Nonresidents or part-year resi-
dents must use the percentage explained in the previ-
ous paragraph to further prorate the expenses.

First-time home buyer savings 
account (FTHBSA) contributions and 
earnings (Or Laws 2018, ch 109, § 4)

[Subtraction code 361]
Oregon now offers a subtraction for amounts you 
deposited during the tax year into a designated FTH-
BSA, along with any earnings on your deposits.

Who may claim the subtraction? 
Any Oregon resident who hasn’t purchased or owned 
a single-family home, either individually or jointly, in 
the three years prior to the date of their planned pur-
chase of a new home in Oregon may qualify for this 
subtraction. 

What are the requirements? 
A FTHBSA can be opened any time between January 
1, 2019 and December 31, 2026. Money deposited in 
the account must be used to pay qualifying costs of 
buying a single-family home within 10 years of ini-
tially opening the account.  

What costs will qualify?
You must use your FTHBSA funds to pay costs asso-
ciated with buying a home, such as: 

•	Down payment.

•	Title insurance and other closing costs. 
•	Realtor commissions. 
•	Appraisal and inspection fees. 
•	Loan origination fees.

What’s the tax benefit of my FTHBSA? 
Up to $5,000 in deposits and earnings for the year may 
be subtracted by an individual filer each year—up to 
$10,000 each year if you’re filing a joint return—for 
up to ten years. The maximum subtraction amount 
is limited by your federal AGI as shown in Table 8. 
Note: Deposits or earnings that exceed the subtrac-
tion limit for the year can’t be carried forward to a 
later year. Only those amounts that were deposited 
or earned during the tax year may be subtracted from 
that year’s Oregon taxable income.

Table 8. FTHBSA subtraction limits

If your filing  
status is:

and your federal AGI is:
then your  
maximum 
allowable 
FTHBSA 

subtraction 
is:at least—

but less 
than—

Married filing 
jointly

-0- $149,000 $10,000

$149,000 $158,000 $8,000

$158,000 $167,000 $6,000

$167,000 $176,000 $4,000

$176,000 $187,000 $2,000

$187,000 or more -0-

All others

-0- $104,000 $5,000

$104,000 $111,000 $4,000

$111,000 $117,000 $3,000

$117,000 $123,000 $2,000

$123,000 $131,000 $1,000

$131,000 or more -0-

Penalty and add back for nonqualified withdrawal. If 
the funds in your FTHBSA are withdrawn within 10 
years of opening the account, but aren’t used to pur-
chase a home, a 5 percent penalty may be imposed 
on the amount withdrawn. See this topic in “Inter-
est and penalties.” You will also be required to add 
back any withdrawn amounts you previously sub-
tracted. Details about this add back requirement will 
be included in later editions of this publication. Note: 
You may transfer funds from your FTHBSA and 
deposit them into another FTHBSA at the same or a 
different financial institution; to avoid the penalty, 
the transfer (or the home purchase) must be com-
pleted within 60 calendar days of the withdrawal. 

For more information about the FTHBSA program, 
contact a participating Oregon financial institution. 
For help locating a participating institution, visit the 
Oregon Association of Realtors’ website at www.ore-
gonrealtors.org.
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Foreign income tax (ORS 316.690)
[Subtraction code 311] [Modification code 603]
You can subtract taxes paid to a foreign country if on 
your federal return:

•	You claimed a credit for taxes you paid to a foreign 
country; or

•	You didn’t claim a credit for tax you paid to a for-
eign country and you didn’t claim foreign taxes as 
an itemized deduction.

Your foreign tax subtraction plus the subtraction for 
your current federal tax liability plus any additional 
federal tax paid for a prior year can’t be more than 
the 2019 maximum federal tax liability subtraction 
amount for your filing status shown in Table 7, above.

The foreign tax portion of your federal tax subtrac-
tion can’t be more than $3,000 ($1,500 if your filing 
status is married filing separately).

Itemized deduction. If you claimed foreign income 
taxes as an itemized deduction on your federal return, 
you may claim them in full on Schedule OR-A. The 
amount you may deduct on your Schedule OR-A isn’t 
subject to the same limit as the subtraction. See the 
instructions for Schedule OR-A for more information. 
If you claim the foreign taxes as an itemized deduc-
tion, you may not also claim them as a subtraction.

Use part C of the “Federal tax worksheet” to figure 
your foreign tax subtraction.

Income on a composite return  
(OAR 150-314-0515)

[Form OR-40-N/OR-40-P only: Subtraction code 341]
If you are an electing owner of a pass-through entity 
(PTE), you may need to file a personal income tax 
return in addition to the Oregon composite return, 
Form OR-OC, that is filed on your behalf by the 
PTE. This is necessary when you have other Oregon-
source income to report.

Follow the instructions for filing Form OR-40-N if 
you have income not already reported on a Form 
OR-OC. Enter all PTE income (including income 
reported on the Form OR-OC) in the federal column, 
line 17F, and all Oregon-source PTE income (includ-
ing Oregon-source income reported on Form OR-OC) 
in the Oregon column, line 17S, of your Form OR-
40-N. Because the income reported on Form OR-OC 
has already been taxed, subtract that income in both 
the federal and Oregon columns on Schedule OR-
ASC-NP, section 3. 

Note: Don’t claim the tax paid on your behalf by 
the PTE as a payment on your Form OR-40-N. That 

payment was already used to pay the tax on the 
income reported on Form OR-OC.

For more information, see Publication OR-OC.

Individual development account 
(IDA) (ORS 316.848)

[Subtraction code 314]
An IDA is a matched savings account that builds the 
financial management skills of qualifying Orego-
nians while they save toward a defined goal. An IDA 
allows an individual in a lower-income household 
to accumulate assets tax-free. As the account holder, 
you make deposits to your own account. Your depos-
its are matched with private donations. Withdrawals 
made for a qualified purpose are tax free.

Qualified purposes include:

•	Paying higher education expenses or medical 
expenses; or

•	Purchasing a primary residence; or
•	Saving for retirement; or
•	Starting your own business.

Oregon allows a subtraction on your tax return for depos-
its you make to your IDA through the Neighborhood 
Partnership Fund. Your subtraction includes the inter-
est earned on your IDA funds if the interest is included 
in your federal taxable income. Subtract the amount of 
the deposits made during the year, plus taxable interest 
earned, on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

For more information about establishing an IDA, 
contact The Neighborhood Partnership Fund at (503) 
226-3001 or visit their website at: 
www.neighborhoodpartnerships.org.

Interest and dividends on U.S. bonds 
and notes [ORS 316.680(1)(a)]

[Subtraction code 315]
Did you include any interest or dividends from U.S. 
bonds and notes in your federal income? If so, you 
may subtract this income on your Oregon return. 
Common examples of U.S. government interest 
include savings bond and Treasury bill interest.

You may also subtract U.S. government interest 
(called state exempt-interest dividends) from regu-
lated investment companies and asset pools man-
aged by a fiduciary. These include, but aren’t limited 
to, banks, savings associations, or credit unions. To 
qualify, the regulated investment company or asset 
pool must invest in U.S. government securities. These 
securities must be tax-exempt for Oregon. The sub-
traction is limited to your share of the amount of 
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interest actually earned from qualifying U.S. govern-
ment securities. 
You can’t subtract amounts when the U.S. govern-
ment only guarantees the security. If you receive dis-
tributions from a retirement plan, you may not sub-
tract pension income received from funds invested in 
U.S. government securities.
Part-year residents and nonresidents. You may claim 
the subtraction only for interest and dividends you 
included as income taxable by Oregon.
Any gain recognized for federal tax purposes on the 
sale of U.S. bonds and notes is also taxable by Oregon.
Following is a detailed list of bonds and notes that 
may or may not qualify for this subtraction. For a list 
of obligations that are exempt from both state and 
federal taxation, see “Interest and dividends on gov-
ernment bonds of other states“ in “Additions.“

Qualifies	 Bond/note

Yes	 Banks for Cooperatives District of 
Columbia.

Yes	 Commodity Credit Corporation.
No*	 Export-Import Bank.
No	 Farmers Home Administration.
Yes	 Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.
Yes	 Federal Farm Credit Bank.
Yes	 Federal Financing Bank.
No	 Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corpora-

tion (Freddie Mac).
Yes	 Federal Home Loan Bank.
Yes	 Federal Intermediate Credit Bank.
Yes	 Federal Land Bank and Federal Land 

Bank Association.
No	 Federal National Mortgage Association 

(Fannie Mae).
Yes	 Federal Savings and Loan Insurance 

Corporation.
No	 Federal tax refunds.
Yes	 Financing Corporation (FICO).
Yes	 General Insurance Fund.
No*	 Government National Mortgage Asso-

ciation (Ginnie Mae).
Yes	 Government Services Administration 

(GSA Public Building Trust Participation 
Certificate).

No	 International Bank for Reconstruction 
and Development.

Yes	 Production Credit Association (PCA).
Yes	 Resolution Funding Corporation (REFCO).
No	 Repurchase agreements (Repos).
Yes	 Series EE, HH, and I Bonds.
No*	 Small Business Administration.

Yes	 Student Loan Marketing Association 
(Sallie Mae).

Yes	 Tennessee Valley Authority.
Yes	 Treasury bills and notes—interest.
No	 Treasury bills and notes—gain on sale.
No	 U.S. Merchant Marine bonds.
Yes	 U.S. Postal Service bonds.
No*	 Washington (D.C.) Metropolitan Transit 

Authority.
Yes	 Zero coupon obligations of the U.S. (for 

example, “CATs,” “STRIPS,” “TIGRs,” etc.).
*If the creditor has defaulted and the U.S. government/
Export-Import Bank is paying the interest, it’s nontaxable.

Related expenses
You must reduce your subtraction for expenses con-
nected with U.S. bonds and notes if the expenses are 
included in your Oregon itemized deductions on 
Schedule OR-A. These expenses include interest paid 
on money borrowed to buy the bonds and notes and 
costs incurred in the production of income from the 
bonds and notes.   

Land donations to educational 
institutions carryforward 
(ORS 316.852)

[Subtraction code 316]
This provision expired December 31, 2007. However, 
if you had a qualifying donation or sale prior to that 
date, you may still have contribution amounts to 
carryforward.

The subtraction allowed in any tax year is limited to 
a specific percentage of your contribution base. Your 
contribution base is federal AGI computed without 
any NOL carryback.

If you donated land to a qualified entity, your Ore-
gon subtraction can’t be more than 50 percent of your 
contribution base.

If you sold land to a qualified entity for less than its 
fair market value, the Oregon subtraction can’t be 
more than 25 percent of the contribution base.

Carryforward. You can carry forward for a maxi-
mum of 15 years any contribution you don’t subtract 
because it’s more than the specified percentage of the 
contribution base. Any contributions not subtracted 
by 2022 will be lost.

Example. In tax year 2007, Marykate sold land with a 
fair market value of $500,000 to a local school district 
for $200,000 cash. Her contribution base that year was 
$100,000. Marykate’s subtraction for her contribution 
of $300,000 ($500,000 – $200,000) was limited to 25 
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percent of her contribution base, or $25,000 ($100,000 
x 0.25).  Marykate can carry forward the remaining 
$275,000 ($300,000 – $25,000) to the next tax year until 
she has subtracted all of it or tax year 2022, whichever 
is first. Her subtraction will be limited by her contri-
bution base each year.

Legislative Assembly salary and 
expenses (ORS 171.072)

[Subtraction code 335]
Oregon law exempts legislators' compensation for the 
performance of official duties (legislative salary and 
expense allowance) from Oregon income tax. This 
subtraction is available only to members of the Oregon 
Legislative Assembly who served during the tax year.

Local government bond interest	  
(ORS 286A.140)

[Subtraction code 317]
You can subtract interest or dividends on obligations of 
counties, cities, districts, ports, or other public or munic-
ipal corporations or political subdivisions of Oregon to 
the extent included for federal income tax purposes.

Related expenses
You must reduce your subtraction if you’re including  
interest you paid on debt incurred to carry the obliga-
tions or securities or other expenses incurred in the 
production of income from these obligations in your 
Oregon itemized deductions on Schedule OR-A. 

Lottery winnings (ORS 461.560)
[Subtraction code 322]
Oregon won’t tax your winnings from an Oregon 
Lottery ticket or play that results in winnings of $600 
or less. Individual Oregon Lottery winnings of more 
than $600 per ticket or play are taxed by Oregon and 
aren’t eligible for the subtraction.

“Oregon Lottery” means all games offered by the 
Oregon State Lottery commission and purchased 
in Oregon, including games jointly administered by 
Oregon and other states (such as Powerball). Oregon 
Lottery doesn’t include gambling winnings from 
other sources, such as tribal gaming centers. If you’re 
a Native American, see the “American Indian” sub-
traction for more information.

Winnings of more than $600 from a single ticket or 
play are fully taxable and may be reported by the 
Oregon State Lottery on Form W-2G. Lottery win-
nings that are more than $1,500 must have 8 percent 

withheld for Oregon taxes. If state income tax wasn't 
withheld from your gambling winnings consider 
making estimated tax payments or increasing your 
withholding from your wages. To increase your Ore-
gon wage withholding, complete Form OR-W-4. Give 
the form to your employer.

Example 1: Margaret purchased two Oregon Lot-
tery tickets and won $1,000 on one ticket and $500 
on the other. She also won $300 from a lottery ticket 
she bought in Idaho, and $150 on a slot machine at 
an Oregon casino. Margaret included all $1,950 in 
winnings on her federal return. Margaret can sub-
tract $500 of her Oregon Lottery ticket winnings on 
Schedule OR-ASC.

Nonresidents: Oregon Lottery winnings are taxable 
to nonresidents. Oregon Lottery winnings included 
in federal taxable income are eligible for the subtrac-
tion when winnings per ticket or play are $600 or less.

Exception for pre-1998 tickets: You may subtract all 
Oregon Lottery winnings included in your federal 
income from tickets purchased prior to January 1, 
1998. Did you assign your lottery winnings to a pri-
vate company and receive a lump-sum settlement? 
If so, your settlement isn’t taxable by Oregon if your 
winning ticket was purchased before January 1, 1998. 
Winnings from tickets purchased on or after January 
1, 1998 are fully taxable.

Gambling loss deduction. If you’re deducting gam-
bling losses related to your tax-exempt lottery win-
nings on Schedule OR-A, you must add back the 
amount that exceeds the winnings that are taxed by 
Oregon. See this topic under “Itemized deduction 
add backs” in “Other items” for more information.

Example 2. Satish won $100 from playing video poker 
and $400 from Oregon lottery tickets. He included all 
$500 in gambling winnings on his federal return, and 
he’s deducting $300 in gambling losses on Schedule 
OR-A. Satish is subtracting the $400 in lottery win-
nings on his Oregon return because they’re exempt 
from Oregon tax. Because only $100 of his gambling 
winnings are taxed by Oregon, Satish must add back 
$200 ($300 - $100) of the gambling losses he’s deduct-
ing on Schedule OR-A.

Manufactured dwelling park  
capital gain exclusion  
(Notes following ORS 316.792)

[Subtraction code 338]
Amounts received from the sale of a manufactured 
dwelling park to certain organizations are exempt 
from Oregon income tax.
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If you included this gain in income on your federal 
return, you may claim a subtraction for the gain 
amount on your Oregon return. Enter the amount on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

To qualify, the park must have been sold to a ten-
ants’ association nonprofit organization, community 
development corporation, or a housing authority.

Manufactured dwelling park 
payments (ORS 316.795)

[Subtraction code 344]
Payments received from your former landlord because 
your manufactured dwelling park was closed are 
exempt from state taxation. These payments must be 
included in your federal income in order to be sub-
tracted on your Oregon return. If you didn't include 
them in federal income, don't subtract them.

Marijuana business expenses  
[ORS 316.680(1)(i)]

[Subtraction code 359]
Did you operate a business as a medical marijuana 
dispensary or as a producer, processor, wholesaler, or 
retailer of medical or recreational marijuana with a 
license issued by the Oregon Health Authority or the 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) under 
ORS Chapter 475B? If so, you may subtract certain busi-
ness expenses on your Oregon return that you can’t 
deduct on your federal return due to IRC Section 280E.

IRC Section 280E keeps you from deducting busi-
ness expenses on your federal return, other than 
the cost of goods sold, if your business involves the 
cultivation, manufacture, distribution or sale of cer-
tain controlled substances. Oregon law, however, 
allows a subtraction for the same ordinary and nec-
essary expenses you incur for your business that are 
allowed for other types of businesses operating in 
this state. If the expense would have been allowed for 
federal purposes, but your business falls within the 
Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C. Sections 801 et 
seq.), you are allowed a subtraction on your Oregon 
return. 

See the instructions for the appropriate federal sched-
ule for determining the net income from your business 
to be reported on your federal return. The schedule 
showing income after allowable federal deductions is 
submitted with your federal return. Complete a sec-
ond Oregon-only schedule to determine the expense 
amount you can subtract on your Oregon return. 
Report this amount on Schedule OR-ASC, section 2 

or Schedule OR-ASC-NP, section 3. Keep the Oregon-
only schedule with your tax records. 

Example 1: Erin has a business licensed by the OLCC 
to sell marijuana in Oregon. Her store sold medi-
cal and recreational marijuana products. Her gross 
sales for the year totaled $750,000. After deducting 
$350,000 in cost of goods sold, her gross profit was 
$400,000, which she reported as business income on 
her federal Schedule C. 

Along with paying the cost of the goods she sold, Erin 
had ordinary and necessary retail business expenses. 
She completed a second Schedule C for Oregon only 
and determined that her expenses, other than cost of 
goods sold, totaled $150,000. She claimed this amount 
as a subtraction on Schedule OR-ASC. 

Example 2: Matt grows marijuana in his garage 
and sells it to his coworkers and friends. This year, 
he made $50,000 from these sales. He spent $15,000 
on costs of goods sold during the year, and another 
$10,000 in other ordinary and necessary business 
expenses. Matt doesn’t have a license to produce or 
sell marijuana in Oregon, but he must file federal and 
Oregon tax returns to report his income. On his fed-
eral return, he must report $50,000 in gross income 
and can deduct $15,000 for the cost of the goods he 
sold. He can’t deduct his other business expenses on 
his federal return. Matt also can’t take an Oregon sub-
traction for those other business expenses because he 
doesn’t have a license issued by the Oregon Health 
Authority or OLCC. 

Mortgage interest credit  
(ORS 316.716)

[Subtraction code 320] [Modification code 607]

If all of the following are true for you, you may have 
a subtraction for mortgage interest on your Oregon 
return:

•	You’re claiming a mortgage interest credit on your 
federal return,

•	You’re claiming your mortgage interest as an item-
ized deduction on federal Schedule A,

•	You reduced your mortgage interest deduction by 
the federal mortgage interest credit, and

•	You’re claiming the same reduced amount of mort-
gage interest on Schedule OR-A.

Claim a subtraction for the amount of mortgage 
interest credit allowed on your federal return. Take 
the subtraction in the year of the payment even if the 
federal credit is carried forward.

Example 1: Shawn and Phillip pay $5,000 in mortgage
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interest this year. They are entitled to a 50 percent 
credit, limited to $2,000, on their federal return. They 
claim the credit and reduce their itemized deduc-
tion for mortgage interest to $3,000. They include the 
same $3,000 deduction on Schedule OR-A, and claim 
a $2,000 subtraction on Schedule OR-ASC.

Example 2: Use the same facts as Example 1, except that 
Shawn and Phillip’s federal tax liability is $1,500. They 
claim $1,500 as a credit on their federal return, claim a 
deduction of $3,000 in mortgage interest on Schedule 
A, and have a $500 credit to carry over to next year. 
They include the $3,000 deduction on Schedule OR-A 
and subtract $2,000 on Schedule ORASC. They don’t 
have a carryforward amount for Oregon.

Oregon College and MFS 529 
Savings Plan deposits (ORS 316.699)

[Subtraction code 324]
You can subtract contributions you made to an Ore-
gon College or MFS 529 Savings Plan account during 
tax year 2019 of up to $4,865 if you file a joint return 
($2,435 for all others). These state-sponsored plans 
qualify for special tax status as qualified tuition pro-
grams (IRC Section 529).

Account holders can save money for college for any 
designated beneficiary. Once you open an account 
and select an investment option, the Oregon Savings 
Network board and a private investment company 
manage your investment. If funds from an Oregon 
College or MFS 529 Savings Plan account you own, 
including earnings, are used to pay K-12 tuition, 
you will have an addition for the nonqualified 
withdrawal if those funds were subtracted on an 
Oregon return.

Important change for 2019: You can only subtract 
your contribution if you made it before the end of the 
2019 tax year. Contributions made in tax years that 
begin on or after January 1, 2020 will qualify only 
for the tax credit that will be available on your 2020 
return. Next year’s edition of this publication will 
have more details on the new credit.

Note: If you’re also contributing to an ABLE account, 
the combined total of your ABLE account and Oregon 
College and MFS 529 Savings Plan subtractions can’t 
be more than the annual amount shown above. 

Rollovers. If you have a 529 college savings plan in 
another state and you roll it into an Oregon College or 
MFS 529 Savings Plan account, the rollover qualifies 
as a new contribution for purposes of the subtraction. 
However, you can’t subtract any amount rolled over 
from an IDA, or any amounts previously allowed as 
an Oregon subtraction. 

Carryforward. If you made a contribution in a tax 
year that started before January 1, 2020 that was more 
than the maximum allowable subtraction for that 
year, you may carry forward the amount not sub-
tracted over the next four years.  

Example: Korey and Keri contributed $15,000 in 2019 to 
an Oregon College Savings Plan account for their son. 
They may subtract a maximum of $4,865 on their 2019 
return. They can carry forward the remaining $10,135 
balance of their contribution for up to four years.

Qualified expenses. Funds withdrawn to pay quali-
fied expenses won’t be taxed. Qualified withdrawals 
include expenses for tuition, fees, books, supplies, 
equipment, and room and board at an eligible edu-
cational institution anywhere in the U.S. and certain 
foreign countries. A list of eligible institutions can be 
found on the U.S. Department of Education’s website 
at www.fafsa.ed.gov.

Nonqualified expenses. You may need to add back 
funds withdrawn for a nonqualified purpose to the 
Oregon return as an addition to your taxable income 
if the funds were subtracted on a prior year’s return. 
A nonqualified purpose includes using the funds 
and earnings to pay K-12 tuition. See “Oregon Col-
lege and MFS 529 Savings Plans nonqualified with-
drawal“ under “Additions.”

For more information about these plans, go to www.
oregoncollegesavings.com or call 1-866-772-8464.

Oregon income tax refund	  
(ORS 316.695)

[Form OR-40-P/Form OR-40-N only: Subtraction code 325]
Oregon allows a subtraction for Oregon state income 
tax refunds included in federal income. Oregon doesn’t 
allow a subtraction for an income tax refund from any 
other state. Full-year filers: This subtraction is claimed 
on Form OR-40. Part-year and nonresident filers: Claim 
this subtraction on Schedule OR-ASC-NP, section 3.

Oregon Investment Advantage	  
(ORS 316.778)

[Subtraction code 342]
Oregon has an income tax exemption program for 
business development in Oregon. The program is 
available to both new and expanding businesses. 

Who is eligible for the exemption?
The exemption is a 10-year waiver of all income and 
excise taxes relating to qualifying business operations. 
Business Oregon (the Oregon Business Development 
Department, or OBDD) administers this program. 
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To qualify, a company must create at least 
five new full-time, year-round jobs that meet 
minimum pay requirements. Facility operations 
must be the first of their kind in Oregon for the 
company and must not compete with existing area 
businesses. Areas that qualify for development can 
change from year to year. Local unemployment 
rates and per capita income as of the date of 
application for preliminary certification determine 
eligibility. For a list of qualifying counties, go to  
www.oregon4biz.com.

How is a facility certified?

There are two application forms necessary for this 
program. A preliminary certification is completed 
before hiring or any construction work is done. An 
annual certification is then completed for each of the 
10 years that the income tax exemption is claimed. 
To find out more about this program or download 
an application form, contact Business Oregon at  
www.oregon4biz.com.

How is the subtraction computed?
The exempt income is determined by multiplying the 
taxpayer’s federal taxable income by the ratio of their 
federal AGI derived from the business over their total 
federal AGI. 

The resulting amount is then multiplied by the ratio 
of the business’ income derived from the business’ 
sales at the certified facility over its sales from all 
business activities. 

Nonresident and part-year resident taxpayers deter-
mine exempt income by multiplying only Oregon-
sourced federal taxable income in the first step of the 
computation above.

See our administrative rule for additional informa-
tion on determining income derived from qualifying 
activities (OAR 150-316-0600).

Previously taxed employee 
retirement plans (ORS 316.159)

[Subtraction code 327]

Oregon allows residents to subtract payments from 
an IRA, Keogh plan, SEP plan, and certain govern-
ment plans if another state has already taxed contri-
butions or a portion of the contributions to the plan. 

The payments must be included in federal AGI. All of 
the following conditions must be met for the contri-
butions to qualify:

•	Contributions were made while a nonresident of 
Oregon.

•	No previous state income tax deduction, exclusion, 
or exemption was allowed or allowable at the time 
contributions were made.

•	No previous state income tax deduction, exclusion, 
credit, subtraction, or other tax benefit has been 
allowed for the contributions.

•	Contributions have been taxed by another state.

The subtraction continues until all qualifying contri-
butions are recovered.

A statement from the payer showing your total con-
tributions and the start date of your benefits will 
help you figure your subtraction. Keep this statement 
with your tax records.

Example 1: Judith lived in California. From 1980 to 
1996 she contributed to an IRA. In 1980 and 1981 she 
contributed $1,500 each year. From 1982 through 1996 
she contributed $2,000 each year.

Both federal and California allowed a maximum 
deduction of $1,500 for 1980 and 1981. For 1982 
through 1986, federal allowed a maximum of $2,000, 
and California allowed a maximum of $1,500. Both 
federal and California allowed a maximum of $2,000 
for 1987 through 1996.

Judith contributed $2,500 ($500 × 5 years) from 1982 
through 1986 that she was not allowed to deduct on 
her California returns.

Judith retired and moved to Oregon in November of 
last year. She receives payments of $1,000 a month 
from the California IRA. These payments are subject 
to Oregon tax because she is now an Oregon resident. 
However, Oregon will allow Judith to subtract the con-
tributions that California has already taxed ($2,500).

Judith received two payments of $1,000 last year for 
a total of $2,000. She can subtract the entire $2,000 on 
last year’s Oregon return. This year, she’ll be able to 
subtract the balance of $500 ($2,500 - 2,000) as long 
as she receives at least that much from her California 
IRA. From that point on, no subtraction on the Ore-
gon return for recovery of contributions is allowed.

Example 2: Use the same facts as in Example 1, except 
Judith lived and worked in Washington before mov-
ing to Oregon. When she made contributions, she was 
allowed a federal deduction each year. However, she 
didn’t get a state tax deduction, because Washington 
doesn’t have an income tax. After retiring and mov-
ing to Oregon, Judith receives the same payments as 
above. She doesn’t qualify for the Oregon subtraction 
because her contributions weren't taxed by another 
state.
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Previously taxed IRA conversions 
[ORS 316.680(1)(f)]

[Subtraction code 348]
Oregon allows a subtraction for converting a tra-
ditional IRA to a Roth IRA, if the IRA is taxed by 
another state. You must include the payments in fed-
eral taxable income to claim the subtraction.

Example: Susan lived in New York in March of last 
year, when she converted her $100,000 traditional IRA 
to a Roth IRA. In September, she moved to Oregon. 
New York state will tax her IRA when she becomes a 
nonresident. Susan can subtract the amount included 
in federal income when she files her Oregon tax 
return.

Public Safety Memorial Fund  
Awards [ORS 316.680(1)(g)]

[Subtraction code 329]
Amounts awarded to you by the Public Safety Memo-
rial Fund Board may be subtracted from Oregon 
income. The award must be included in federal tax-
able income to claim the subtraction.

Public Safety Memorial Fund Awards are for public 
safety officers with certain job-related permanent total 
disabilities. These awards are also available to family 
members of a public safety officer who is killed in the 
line of duty or while interceding in a crime.

Railroad Retirement Board  
benefits (ORS 316.054)

[Subtraction code 330]
The Railroad Retirement Act of 1974 prohibits states 
from taxing certain railroad benefits. This act per-
tains to all benefits issued by the Railroad Retire-
ment Board (RRB). Oregon allows a subtraction for 
Tier 1 RRB benefits (the same as for Social Security 
benefits). The subtraction has been extended by 
administrative rule to the other supplemental RRB 
benefits including Tier 2, windfall, vested dual, sup-
plemental annuities, unemployment, and sickness 
(OAR 150-316-0065).

Tier 1 benefits. Tier 1 benefits are reported like Social 
Security on your federal return. Subtract these ben-
efits with Social Security on the Oregon return.

Tier 2, windfall, vested dual, supplemental annui-
ties, unemployment and sickness paid by the RRB. 
These benefits are reported as wages or on the private 
pension line of your federal return. Subtract these 

benefits on Schedule OR-ASC, section 2 or Schedule 
OR-ASC-NP, section 3.

Other benefits. A retired railroad employee may 
receive other retirement benefits from their employer. 
Benefits paid by private railroad employers are pri-
vate pensions taxed the same on both the federal and 
Oregon returns. There is no Oregon subtraction for 
retirement benefits paid by private railroad employers.

Only benefits paid by the RRB qualify for the subtrac-
tion. RRB benefits are reported on a 1099 form, except 
for sickness benefits, which are reported on Form 
W-2. All 1099s, other than 1099-G for RRB unem-
ployment benefits, are labeled Form RRB-1099-R. 
More information on RRB benefits is available on the 
board’s website at www.rrb.gov.

Scholarship awards used for 
housing expenses (ORS 316.846)

[Subtraction code 333]
You can subtract scholarships used for housing 
expenses from Oregon income. You must include the 
scholarship in federal taxable income for the year to 
claim the subtraction. 

You can claim the subtraction if the scholarship was 
awarded to you or your dependent. You can subtract 
only the amount used for housing expenses for the 
scholarship recipient. The recipient must attend an 
accredited community college, college, university, or 
other institution of higher education.

You must reduce your subtraction if you’re claim-
ing the same housing expenses as a deduction on 
your return. Your subtraction can’t be more than the 
amount of scholarship income included in federal 
taxable income. There is no carryforward allowed.

Social Security benefits  
(ORS 316.054)

Oregon doesn’t tax Social Security benefits. Any Social 
Security benefits included in your federal AGI are sub-
tracted on your Oregon return.

Special Oregon medical 
(ORS 316.693)

[Subtraction code 351]
You may qualify for the special Oregon medical sub-
traction if: 

•	You or your spouse turned 65 by the end of the tax 
year;
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•	Your federal AGI doesn’t exceed $200,000 ($100,000 
if your filing status is single or married filing sepa-
rately); and

•	You or your spouse have qualifying medical or 
dental expenses.

Medical or dental expenses qualify if they can be 
included in itemized deductions. See IRS Publication 
502 to see which expenses qualify. 

You can’t subtract expenses:

•	For anyone under age 65;
•	For dependents, regardless of their age; or
•	That are deducted elsewhere on your return.

Table 9. Special Oregon medical subtraction—
maximum amount

If your filing  
status is:

And your federal adjusted 
gross income from Form 
OR-40, line 7 or Form 
OR-40-N or OR-40-P, line 
29F is:

Then your 
maximum 
allowable 

medical 
subtraction 

per qualifying 
taxpayer is: at least—

but less 
than—

Married 
filing Jointly; 
or Head of 
household; 
or Qualifying 
widow(er)

-0- $50,000 $1,800 
$50,000 $100,000 $1,400 

$100,000 $200,001 $1,000 

$200,001 or more -0-

Single or 
Married filing 
separately

-0- $25,000 $1,800 

$25,000 $50,000 $1,400 

$50,000 $100,001 $1,000 

$100,001 or more -0-

The maximum amount you can subtract for each 
qualifying person is shown in Table 9. Use the table 
and the Special Oregon medical subtraction work-
sheet to determine the amount of your subtraction. 

Shared expenses. Did you have medical and/or 
dental expenses for more than one person? If so, 
you must determine which expenses belong to each 
qualifying taxpayer. Start by totaling all expenses 
for each qualifying taxpayer. If you have expenses 
that are for more than one person, such as premiums 
for a shared insurance policy, split the expenses by 
the most reasonable method. A reasonable method 
for splitting the shared costs of an insurance policy 
includes splitting the total cost of the policy by the 
number of individuals covered. For example, divide 
the premiums for an insurance policy covering two 
adults by two. If the number of children covered on 
an insurance policy doesn’t affect the price of the pol-
icy, it’s reasonable to count all children on the policy 
as one individual. For example, the cost of insurance 

premiums for a policy covering two adults and four 
children can be divided by three. 

Example 1: Chloe and Sam were ages 67 and 62 at the 
end of the tax year. They filed a joint return with one 
dependent (Sam’s mother), federal AGI of $55,000, 
and itemized deductions for Oregon. During 2019 
they paid $5,700 in medical expenses. Of that, they 
paid $1,300 for Chloe’s expenses and $1,100 for Sam’s 
expenses. They also paid $1,300 for Sam’s mother 
and $2,000 in premiums for a joint insurance policy 
for Chloe and Sam. Only Chloe’s expenses of $2,300 
($1,300 + $1,000 for half of the insurance premiums) 
qualify for the special Oregon medical subtraction 
because Sam doesn’t meet the age requirement and 
Sam’s mother is a dependent. 

Example 2: Peter turned 65 during 2019. He’s self-
employed and itemizes his deductions for Oregon. Peter 
claimed $3,200 in medical expenses on Schedule OR-A. 
He also deducted 100 percent of his self-employed 
health insurance premiums, totaling $2,500, on his fed-
eral return. Only the $3,200 in medical expenses Peter 
claimed on Schedule OR-A will be used to calculate 
his special Oregon medical subtraction because they 
haven’t been fully deducted. The worksheet will help 
him calculate the amount of his subtraction. 

Special Oregon medical subtraction 
worksheet instructions
Line 1: Medical and dental expenses for each tax-
payer—Enter each person’s qualifying medical and 
dental expenses that you’re claiming as itemized 
deductions on Schedule OR-A. Enter your expenses 
in column (A) and your spouse’s expenses in column 
(B). If you’re not including medical expenses in your 
Oregon itemized deductions or you’re claiming the 
standard deduction on your Oregon return, skip 
lines 2–4, enter the amount from line 1 on line 5, and 
go to line 6.

Line 2: Total medical and dental expenses—Enter the 
total medical and dental expenses you’re claiming as 
an itemized deduction (Schedule OR-A, line 1), even 
if they are for a spouse or dependent whose expenses 
don’t qualify. 

Line 3: Line 1 divided by line 2. Round to three deci-
mal places. For example, 0.7308 is rounded to 0.731. 

Line 4: Enter the lesser of the amount you entered on 
line 2, above, or the amount on line 3 of your Sched-
ule OR-A. 

Line 5: Multiply line 3 times line 4 and round to whole 
dollars. (For example: $101.49 is rounded to $101.)

Line 6: Enter the maximum allowable medical sub-
traction for your filing status and federal AGI from 
Table 9. Don’t enter more than $1,800 in each column. 
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Line 7: Enter the smaller of line 5 or line 6.

Line 8: Combine the amounts from line 7, columns (A) 
and (B). This is your special Oregon medical subtraction.

Full-year residents. Enter the amount from line 8 on 
Schedule OR-ASC, section 2. 

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Enter the full 
amount from line 8 in both the federal and Oregon 
columns of Schedule OR-ASC-NP, section 3. 

Special Oregon medical subtraction worksheet:

	 Column	 Column
	 (A)	 (B)
	 You	 Spouse
1.	 Medical and dental  

expenses for each  
qualifying taxpayer.	 1.	$		  $	

2.	 Total medical and  
dental expenses claimed  
(Schedule OR-A, line 1).	2.	$		  $	

3.	 Line 1 divided by line 2.  
Round to three decimal  
places.	 3.				    

4.	 Enter the smaller of  
line 2, above, or  
Schedule OR-A, line 3.	 4.	$		  $	

5.	 Line 3 times line 4.  
Round to the  
nearest dollar.	 5.	$		  $	

6.	 Maximum allowable  
medical subtraction  
from Table 9.	 6.	$		  $	

7.	 Enter the smaller of  
line 5 or line 6.	 7.	$		  $	

8.	 Combine the amounts  
from line 7, columns (A)  
and (B). This is your  
special Oregon medical  
subtraction.	 8.	$	

Example 3: Leah and Tyler are ages 67 and 61 at the 
end of the tax year. They file a joint return with fed-
eral AGI of $45,000 and itemize their deductions for 
Oregon. During the year, they paid $4,700 in medi-
cal and dental expenses claimed on Schedule OR-A, 
line 1. Of that, $1,600 are Leah’s expenses, $2,000 are 
Tyler’s expenses, and $1,100 are premiums for a medi-
cal insurance policy covering both of them. Only 
Leah’s expenses qualify for the special Oregon medi-
cal subtraction because only she met the age require-
ment. Leah’s expenses are $1,600 plus $550 for her 

share of the premiums for a total of $2,150. Leah and 
Tyler will use the special Oregon medical subtraction 
worksheet to calculate their subtraction as follows:

	 Column	 Column
	 (A)	 (B)
	 Leah	 Tyler
1.	 Medical and dental  

expenses for each  
qualifying taxpayer.	 1.	$	 2,150	 $	

2.	 Total medical and  
dental expenses claimed  
(Schedule OR-A, line 1).	2.	$	 4,700	 $	

3.	 Line 1 divided by line 2.  
Round to three decimal  
places.	 3.		 0.457		   

4.	 Enter the smaller of  
line 2, above, or  
Schedule OR-A, line 3.	 4.	$	 3,375	 $	

5.	 Line 3 times line 4.  
Round to the  
nearest dollar.	 5.	$	 1,542	 $	

6.	 Maximum allowable  
medical subtraction  
from Table 9.	 6.	$	 1,800	 $	

7.	 Enter the smaller of line  
5 or line 6.	 7.	$	 1,542	 $	

8.	 Combine the amounts  
from line 7, columns (A)  
and (B). This is your  
special Oregon medical  
subtraction.	 8.	$	 1,542

  
Leah and Tyler will claim $1,542 on Schedule OR-ASC.

Example 4: Kenneth and Sophia were both age 66 
at the end of the tax year. They file a joint return 
with federal AGI of $78,000. Kenneth and Sophia 
had $12,300 in unreimbursed medical and dental 
expenses during the year. They are self-employed 
and claimed $3,400 for self-employed health insur-
ance premiums on their federal return. They claimed 
the remaining $8,900 on line 1 of Schedule OR-A. 
Of this amount, $1,200 was for Kenneth’s expenses 
and $7,700 was for Sophia’s expenses. Kenneth and 
Sophia can claim $2,190 as a special Oregon medical 
subtraction calculated as follows:
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	 Column	 Column
	 (A)	 (B)
	 Kenneth	 Sophia
1.	 Medical and dental  

expenses for each  
qualifying taxpayer.	 1.	$	 1,200	 $	 7,700

2.	 Total medical and  
dental expenses claimed  
(Schedule OR-A, line 1).	2.	$	 8,900	 $	 8,900

3.	 Line 1 divided by line 2.  
Round to three decimal  
places.	 3.		 0.135		  0.865 

4.	 Enter the smaller of  
line 2, above, or  
Schedule OR-A, line 3.	 4.	$	 5,850	 $	 5,850

5.	 Line 3 times line 4.  
Round to the  
nearest dollar.	 5.	$	 790	 $	 5,060

6.	 Maximum allowable  
medical subtraction  
from Table 9.	 6.	$	 1,400	 $	 1,400

7.	 Enter the smaller of line  
5 or line 6.	 7.	$	 790	 $	 1,400

8.	 Combine the amounts from  
line 7, columns (A) and  
(B). This is your special  
Oregon medical  
subtraction.	 8.	$	 2,190

Because Kenneth and Sophia were able to deduct the 
entire amount of their self-employed health insurance 
premiums on their federal return, they don’t include 
that amount in the calculation for their special Ore-
gon medical subtraction. Their subtraction is limited 
to the lesser of the amount allowed from the table 
for each individual, or their own medical expenses 
that haven’t been previously deducted. Kenneth 
and Sophia’s subtraction is $2,190 ($790 of Kenneth’s 
expenses that haven’t been previously deducted, and 
$1,400, the maximum amount allowed Sophia).

Example 5: Margaret is age 67 at the end of the tax year. 
She’s single and has a federal AGI of $27,000. During 
the year, Margaret paid $1,200 in qualifying medical 
expenses for herself, and $1,600 in medical expenses 
for her dependent 9-year-old granddaughter. Margaret 
doesn’t itemize her deductions because her standard 
deduction is greater than her itemized deductions for 
Oregon. Margaret uses the worksheet to calculate her 
special Oregon medical subtraction as follows:

	 Column	 Column
	 (A)	 (B)
	 Margaret	 Spouse
1.	 Medical and dental  

expenses for each  
qualifying taxpayer.	 1.	$	 1,200	 $	

2.	 Total medical and  
dental expenses claimed  
(Schedule OR-A, line 1).	2.	$		  $	

3.	 Line 1 divided by line 2.  
Round to three  
decimal places.	 3.	  		    	

4.	 Enter the smaller of line  
2 above, or  Schedule  
OR-A, line 3.	 4.	$		  $	

5.	 Line 3 times line 4.  
Round to the nearest  
dollar.	 5.	$	 1,200	 $	

6.	 Maximum allowable  
medical subtraction  
from Table 9.	 6.	$	 1,400	 $	

7.	 Enter the smaller of  
line 5 or line 6.	 7.	$	 1,200	 $	

8.	 Combine the amounts from  
line 7, columns (A) and  
(B). This is your special  
Oregon medical  
subtraction.	 8.	$	 1,200

The medical expenses paid by Margaret for her 
9-year-old granddaughter don’t qualify for the sub-
traction because she is a dependent. 

Example 6: Same as Example 5, except that Margaret 
isn’t an Oregon resident. She enters $1,200 in both the 
federal column and in the Oregon column of Sched-
ule OR-ASC-NP, section 3.

Taxable benefits for former RDPs 
(ORS 106.310, OAR 150-316-0009)

[Subtraction code 347]
If you and your RDP were legally married or dis-
solved your partnership during the year, you may be 
allowed an Oregon subtraction for: 

•	The imputed value of certain fringe benefits pro-
vided by your employer for your RDP for the part 
of the year you were still registered domestic 
partners. 

•	The transfer of funds from your former domestic 
partner upon a dissolution decree. 
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The fringe benefits typically include, but aren’t lim-
ited to, health insurance and tuition payments. You 
must have included the imputed valued of the ben-
efits in your federal income to claim the Oregon sub-
traction. The imputed value will be included in the 
total compensation (Box 1) shown on your Form W-2.

The transfer of funds typically include, but aren’t 
limited to, retirement funds. You must have included 
these amounts in your federal income to claim the 
Oregon subtraction.

Example: Ruth and Jan entered into an RDP on Febru-
ary 1, 2012. They were then legally married on June 
16, 2019. Ruth and Jan must file their 2019 tax return 
as married filing jointly for both federal and Oregon 
purposes. They won’t file an “as-if” federal return. 
Instead, they will attach their actual federal return to 
their Oregon return. Ruth’s employer provides health 
insurance benefits for Jan, and the imputed value of 
those benefits were included in Box 1 of Ruth’s W-2 for 
the portion of the year that Ruth and Jan weren't mar-
ried (January 1st through June 15th). Ruth may claim 
a subtraction for the value of the imputed benefits 
included in federal income, as reported on her W-2.

Tuition and fees [ORS 316.716(3)]
[Subtraction code 308]

You may qualify to claim either of the following on 
your federal return:

•	A deduction of up to $4,000 for qualified tuition 
and fees paid; or

•	The American Opportunity credit or the Lifetime 
Learning credit.

If you claim a federal credit, you must reduce the 
deduction related to that student’s expenses to $-0-. 

Deduction. If you qualify for and claim the federal 
deduction of up to $4,000 for qualified tuition and 
fees, don’t claim a subtraction on your Oregon return. 
Your federal deduction flows through to your Oregon 
return via your federal adjusted gross income. If you’re 
filing a nonresident or part-year return, see this topic 
under “Adjustments.”

Credit. Some, but not all, of the expenses that qual-
ify for a federal credit may also qualify for the fed-
eral deduction. If you claimed a credit for education 
expenses, and those expenses would have qualified 
for the federal deduction, you may be able to claim 
an Oregon subtraction for the amount you could have 
claimed as a deduction. However, you can’t claim the 
subtraction if:

•	Your filing status is married filing separately;

•	You can be claimed as a dependent by another per-
son on their return, even if that person doesn’t claim 
you; or

•	Your federal modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) 
exceeds the limitations for the federal tuition and 
fees deduction as stated on federal Form 8917.

Example 1: Tom paid $6,000 in tuition and fees for his 
son Adam’s higher education this year. Tom elected 
to claim the American Opportunity credit of $1,500 
on his federal return. Tom would have been allowed 
$4,000 as a deduction on his federal return if he hadn’t 
elected to claim the American Opportunity credit. On 
his Oregon return, Tom claims a subtraction of $4,000 
for qualified tuition and fees.

Example 2: This year Dawn paid $2,200 college tuition 
for her daughter Camille and $2,400 college tuition for 
her daughter Delaney. On her federal return, Dawn 
deducted the maximum $4,000 tuition and fees. Because 
Dawn claimed the deduction on her federal return, she 
can’t claim the subtraction on her Oregon return.

Example 3: Mr. and Mrs. Wren paid a total of $6,000 in 
qualified tuition expenses this year. They paid $2,000 of 
college tuition for each of their sons, Nelson, Jose, and 
Chester. On the Wrens’ federal return, they claimed a 
$2,000 deduction for Nelson’s tuition, a $1,500 Ameri-
can Opportunity credit for Jose’s tuition, and a $1,500 
American Opportunity credit for Chester’s tuition. On 
their Oregon return, the maximum subtraction allow-
able is $4,000, but they must reduce their allowable 
subtraction by any amount they already deducted on 
the federal return. The $2,000 deduction for Nelson’s 
tuition flows through to their Oregon return. They 
may subtract the remaining $2,000 on their Oregon 
return, for a combined deduction of $4,000.

Education credit recapture. If you are required to 
recapture a federal education credit on a later federal 
return, you may need to amend your Oregon return to 
reduce the subtraction you claimed in a prior year. See 
“Amended returns“ for more information.

U.S. government interest in IRA 
or Keogh distributions (ORS 316.681)

[Subtraction code 331]
Interest and dividends on U.S. bonds and notes are 
exempt from state tax. See “Interest and dividends 
on U.S. bonds and notes.” Answer these questions 
to see if you have a subtraction on your Oregon 
return for exempt income related to your retirement 
distributions:

1.	 Did you have any distributions from a self-employed 
retirement plan or an IRA?
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2.	 Was any part of your self-employed retirement plan 
or your IRA invested in U.S. bonds and notes?

3.	 Did you include your self-employed retirement 
plan or IRA distribution in your 2019 federal AGI?

If you answered “yes” to all the questions above, 
you may take a subtraction on Schedule OR-ASC or 
OR-ASC-NP for the retirement plan exempt earn-
ings included in your distribution.

Use a worksheet like the one shown in the example 
here or in OAR 150-316-0525 to calculate your subtrac-
tion. Keep the worksheet with your records; we may 
ask for it later.

Example: Donna retired last year and began tak-
ing distributions of $10,000 each year from her IRA. 
The IRA is invested in U.S. government securities so 
Donna uses the following information to calculate 
her subtraction for years 1 and 2:

	  Year 1	 Year 2

Current year earnings $4,000	 $5,000

Current year distribution $10,000	 $10,000

Account balance at 12/31 $100,000	 $95,000

Total exempt earnings on  
account at 12/31 $ 40,000	 $45,000

Worksheet  Year 1	 Year 2

1.	 Total account balance  
at year end.	  $100,000		  $95,000

2.	 Current year  
distribution.	 + 10,000	 +	 10,000

3.	 Line 1 plus line 2.	  $110,000		 $105,000

4.	 Total exempt earnings  
on account at year end.	  $ 40,000		 $45,000

5.	 Total exempt part of  
distributions from all  
prior years.	 – -0-	 –	 $3,636

6.	 Line 4 minus line 5,  
but not less than zero.	  $40,000	 	$41,364

7.	 Line 6 divided by line 3.  
Oregon exempt ratio.	  0.3636		  0.3939

8.	 Line 2 multiplied by  
line 7. Oregon exempt  
portion of current year’s  
distribution.	  $3,636		  $3,939
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Other items
Net operating losses (NOLs)  
for Oregon (ORS 316.028)

[Addition code 116] [Subtraction code 321]
An Oregon NOL is figured the same as in  
IRC Section 172(c). You may have an Oregon NOL 
without having a federal NOL, or vice versa. Your 
Oregon NOL is computed under the federal method 
and definitions using Oregon sources without Ore-
gon modifications, additions, and subtractions. The 
only Oregon modification necessary is to subtract 
prohibited amounts.

Oregon doesn’t allow an NOL from a non-Oregon 
source that occurred while you were a nonresident.

Prohibited amounts
Amounts Oregon is prohibited from directly or indi-
rectly taxing include interest earned from Treasury 
bonds, Treasury notes, and other obligations of the 
United States.

Federal depreciation disconnect
If you had an NOL in 2009 or 2010 and also claimed 
depreciation or expensing not allowed by Oregon, 
your future year subtractions are reduced by the 
amount already included in the NOL. See “Deprecia-
tion and Amortization” for additional information.

Computation of the NOL
Full-year residents. Generally, the computation of the 
Oregon NOL for a resident is the same as the federal 
NOL, except for the prohibited amount modification. 
(See Prohibited amounts above.)

The computation of the Oregon NOL begins with fed-
eral AGI. Reduce AGI by federal exemptions, federal 
deductions, and the prohibited amount modifica-
tion to arrive at the modified Oregon taxable income 
(OTI). Then adjust the modified OTI as required by 
IRC Section 172(d).

Required adjustments are:

1.	 Oregon NOL deduction (NOLD) from prior years 
included in Oregon income after adjustments.

2.	 Net Oregon capital loss deduction.

3.	 Federal personal exemption amount (this will be 
-0- through tax year 2025).

4.	 Excess of nonbusiness deductions over nonbusi-
ness income included in modified Oregon taxable 
income.

Example 1: Maria and Jaime filed joint federal and 
Oregon tax returns for 2019. On their federal return, 
they reported wages of $56,000, a business loss of 
$80,000, a gain on the sale of stock of $500, and inter-
est income of $900 from a bank. They reported total 
itemized deductions of $28,000, which were all non-
business and included $4,000 in Oregon withholding.

On their Oregon return, Maria and Jaime reported  
an addition of $500 of municipal bond interest from 
California that was exempt from federal income tax. 
Their Oregon NOL is computed as follows:

Federal tax return

	 Wages	 $	 56,000
	 Interest income		  900
	 Schedule C loss		 (80,000)
	 Schedule D stock gain		  500
	 Federal AGI	 ($	22,600)

	 Personal exemptions		  -0-
	 Schedule A deductions		 (28,000)

	 Federal taxable income	 ($	50,600)

Computation of Oregon NOL

	 Federal AGI	 ($	22,600	)
	 Personal exemptions		  -0-
	 Schedule A deductions		 (28,000)
	 Modified Oregon taxable income	 ($	50,600	)

	 Adjustments:
	 Personal exemptions				   -0-
	 Nonbusiness deductions	 28,000
	 Nonbusiness income	 (1,400	)

	 Nonbusiness deductions in  
	 excess of nonbusiness income 		  26,600
	 Oregon NOL	 ($	24,000	)

Note: The $500 in California municipal bond interest 
and the $4,000 in Oregon withholding aren't used in 
this calculation. 

Compute the Oregon NOL based on federal NOL 
methods and definitions. Use Oregon sources with-
out Oregon adjustments (modifications, additions, 
and subtractions), except for prohibited amounts.

Example 2: Use the same facts as in Example 1, except 
the $900 interest is from U.S. government securities (a 
prohibited amount). The Oregon NOL for Maria and 
Jaime is computed as follows:

Federal tax return

	 Wages			  $	56,000
	 Interest from U.S. government securities		  900
	 Schedule C loss			  (	80,000	)
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	 Schedule D stock gain		 		  500

	 Federal AGI			  ($	22,600	)
	 Personal exemptions				   -0-
	 Schedule A deductions			  (28,000)

	 Federal taxable income			  ($	50,600	)

Computation of Oregon NOL

	 Federal AGI			  ($	22,600	)
	 U.S. government interest				   (900	)
	 Personal exemptions				   -0-		
	 Schedule A deductions				  (28,000)
	 Modified Oregon taxable income			  ($	51,500	)

	 Adjustments:

	 Personal exemptions				   -0-
	 Nonbusiness deductions	 28,000
	 Nonbusiness income	  (1,400	)

	 Excess nonbusiness deductions				  26,600

	 Oregon NOL	 ($	24,900	)

Note: U.S. government interest, a prohibited amount, 
isn’t used to compute an Oregon NOL.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You’re allowed 
an Oregon NOL if it’s generated from Oregon sources. 
Computing an Oregon NOL begins with “income 
after adjustments” from the Oregon column. Reduce 
this amount by federal exemptions and deductions 
(attributable to Oregon sources) to arrive at the modi-
fied OTI. Then adjust the modified OTI as required 
by IRC Section 172(d). The required adjustments are 
the same as those listed for full-year residents.

You aren’t allowed an NOL or carryover on an Ore-
gon return if the loss was incurred while you were 
a nonresident and wasn't attributable to Oregon 
sources. If your Oregon NOL is less than your federal 
NOL, report the difference as an addition using code 
116 on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

Oregon NOL carryforward or carryback. Oregon fol-
lows the IRS carryforward and carryback laws in IRC 
Section 172. Generally, if you carry an NOL back for 
federal purposes, you must also carry the Oregon 
NOL back for Oregon purposes. If you elect to carry 
the federal NOL forward, you must also carry the 
Oregon NOL forward. 

Exception: If you weren’t required to file an Oregon 
return, carry the Oregon NOL to the year the loss 
may be first applied. The total number of years an 
NOL may be carried back or forward is the same for 
Oregon and federal.

Example 1: Joe has a farming NOL for federal and 
Oregon purposes for 2019. Joe carried his federal 
farming NOL back to his 2017 federal return. Because 
he carried back his farming loss for federal purposes, 
he must carry his farming loss back for Oregon pur-
poses. If he wasn't required to file a 2017 Oregon tax 
return, he may carry his Oregon farming NOL back 
to 2018 or forward to a tax year after 2019.

Example 2: Assume the same facts as in Example 
1, except that Joe wasn't required to file an Oregon 
tax return for 2017 or 2018. Joe can carry his Oregon 
farming NOL forward, even if it was carried back for 
federal purposes.

Example 3: Bud and Jody incurred losses from farming in 2018. They compute a farming NOL of $12,000 and 
choose to carry the loss forward for federal purposes, which means they must also carry it forward for Oregon 
purposes. In 2019, before the loss is applied, Bud and Jody have federal AGI of $35,000, and reported additions 
of $8,000 and $3,000 in subtractions. They’re claiming the standard deduction on their federal return and will 
claim $10,000 in Oregon itemized deductions on Schedule OR-A that aren’t affected by AGI limits. Bud and 
Jody will apply the NOL and compute the amount available for carryforward to 2020, if any, as follows:

Allowable NOLD:     ($ 12,000)
Federal AGI on the Oregon return $ 35,000
Add: Capital loss deductions or 0
 Capital gain deduction 0

Federal AGI for Oregon as revised $ 35,000
Less: Prohibited amounts 0
 Standard or itemized deductions recomputed for revised federal AGI (24,000)

Modified Oregon taxable income   $11,000
NOL available for carryforward to the  next year    $1,000
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Bud and Jody’s allowable NOL for Oregon is absorbed by their modified Oregon taxable income. Bud and Jody 
will carry $1,000 forward to 2020 for both federal and Oregon purposes. They have no Oregon addition or sub-
traction because their NOLD will flow through from their federal return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Use the federal method without modifications, except prohibited 
amounts aren’t considered. Also, the NOLD, carryback, and carryover are based only on amounts attributable 
to Oregon sources.

Example 4: While residents of California, Robin and Valerie incurred losses from an Oregon partnership creat-
ing an $85,000 Oregon-only NOL. Before the loss year, neither Robin nor Valerie needed to file Oregon returns. 
The next year, Robin and Valerie move to Oregon and file a part-year Oregon return. They report federal income 
after adjustments of $385,000, Oregon income after adjustments of $235,000, and federal itemized deductions 
of $72,000 that aren’t subject to AGI limits. Robin and Valerie calculate their Oregon taxable income as follows:

   Federal  Oregon

Income after adjustments  $  385,000  $ 235,000
NOLD  (85,000 ) (85,000 )

Modified income after adjustments  $  300,000  $ 150,000
Additions per Oregon return  7,000  7,000
Subtractions per Oregon return  (2,000 ) (2,000 )

Modified income after subtractions  $  305,000  $ 155,000
Oregon percentage: 155,000 ÷ 305,000 = 50.8%
Less: Standard or itemized deductions recomputed for revised federal AGI  (72,000 )
 Federal tax subtraction  -0 -*
Oregon taxable income as revised  $  233,000

*The federal tax subtraction is $0 when federal AGI is $290,000 or more for joint filers.

Example 5: Leslie and Jill live in Vancouver, Washington. Leslie operates a business in Oregon. Leslie and Jill 
filed a nonresident Oregon return for 2017 reporting an Oregon-only NOL of $6,000. Leslie and Jill elected 
to carry the NOL forward to 2019 (as they had no federal or Oregon tax liability in 2018). In 2019, Leslie and 
Jill report Oregon income after adjustments of $1,600, federal income after adjustments of $32,000, and their 
Oregon percentage is 5 percent ($1,600 ÷ $32,000). Their income after adjustments for both federal and Oregon 
includes a $2,000 capital loss on the sale of some Oregon property. They are claiming the federal standard 
deduction, and have Oregon itemized deductions of $13,200. Leslie and Jill calculate their NOLD and the car-
ryforward to the next year as follows:

NOL     ($6,000)
Oregon income after adjustments $1,600
Add: Oregon capital loss deduction 2,000
 Oregon capital gain deduction -0-
Modified Oregon income as revised   $3,600
Less: Prohibited amounts  (-0- )
 Oregon percentage of standard or itemized   
  deductions recomputed for revised federal AGI (0.05 x $13,200)  (660 )
Modified Oregon taxable income (limit for NOLD)     2,940
Carryforward of NOL available for next year    ($3,060 )

NOL as a subtraction. Generally, your NOL carryback and carryforward amounts will be reflected in your fed-
eral AGI. However, if you have an NOL carryback or an NOL carryforward for Oregon only, the loss won’t be 
reflected in your federal AGI. If your NOL isn’t reflected in federal AGI, report your carryback or carryforward 
on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

Example 6: Same facts as Example 5. For federal purposes, Leslie and Jill's NOL will be entirely absorbed in 
2019. The $3,060 that is available to be carried forward to their 2020 return won't be reflected in their 2020 
federal AGI. They'll compute the NOLD amount for 2020 as they did for 2019, and report the amount as a 
subtraction using code 321 on Schedule OR-ASC-NP.
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Depreciation and amortization 
(ORS 316.707, 316.716, 316.739)

[Addition code 152] [Subtraction code 354]
Your Oregon depreciation deduction is generally the 
same as for federal purposes. It won’t be the same in 
the following cases:

•	You transferred property into Oregon’s taxing 
jurisdiction.

•	The asset was placed in service in tax years begin-
ning on or after January 1, 1985, and you took a cor-
responding tax credit on your federal return that 
isn’t available on the Oregon return.

•	Assets were placed in service between 1981 and 
1985 (Accelerated Cost Recovery System [ACRS] 
assets), and you didn’t make the adjustment align-
ing Oregon basis with federal basis for them. If you 
made the adjustment on your 1996 tax return, there 
won’t be a depreciation difference.

•	The asset was placed in service during tax years 
2009 or 2010 and you claimed bonus depreciation 
or additional expensing under IRC Sections 168(k) 
or 179. For tax years 2009 and 2010, Oregon gen-
erally allowed the same expensing of qualifying 
assets under IRC Sections 168(k) and 179 as allowed 
under 2008 federal law. Because of this disconnect 
an addition is required, leaving a higher adjusted 
basis for Oregon to be depreciated over the life of 
the asset. Most taxpayers with an addition for this 
disconnect in 2009 or 2010 will have future year 
subtractions over the remaining life of the asset

NOL and federal depreciation disconnect. Your Ore-
gon NOL is the same as your federal NOL. Therefore 
if you had an NOL in 2009 or 2010 and also claimed 
depreciation or expenses not allowed by Oregon, 
your future year subtractions are reduced by the 
amount already included in the NOL.

Example 1: Paula expensed $144,000 in assets under 
IRC Section 179 in 2010. Because Oregon only allowed 
expenses of $134,000, she had a $10,000 addition on 
her 2010 Oregon return. Due to deductions and losses 
related to her business, Paula had a $15,000 NOL for 
2010. Normally, she would have an Oregon basis of 
$10,000 and could claim Oregon subtractions over the 
life of those assets. Because Paula’s federal NOL is the 
same for Oregon purposes, she has already received 
the benefit in the NOL deduction. When Paula carries 
the NOL forward or back she isn’t allowed any future 
year subtractions due to depreciation differences.

Example 2: Same as Example 1 except that Paula’s 
NOL was only $7,000. Paula still had an addition of 
$10,000 on her 2010 Oregon return. Paula would have 
been allowed to claim $10,000 in subtractions over 
the life of the assets bought in 2010 if she didn’t have 

an NOL. Because Paula had an NOL, the amount 
claimed in subtractions over the life of the assets 
bought in 2010 is reduced to $3,000 ($10,000 expens-
ing difference minus $7,000 already allowed as an 
NOL deduction). She will use a reasonable method to 
assign the $3,000 in Oregon adjusted basis to one or 
more of the assets purchased in 2010 to calculate her 
future years’ differences in depreciation.

Oregon Depreciation Schedule. Use Schedule OR-
DEPR to determine if your Oregon depreciation is the 
same as, or different from, your federal depreciation.

Oregon depreciation 
on all property –

Federal  
depreciation on 

the same property
=

Oregon 
difference in 
depreciation

Oregon subtraction. If your Oregon depreciation 
is more than your federal depreciation on the same 
property, you’ll have a subtraction (subtraction code 
354) for the difference.

Oregon addition. If your Oregon depreciation is less 
than your federal depreciation on the same property, 
you’ll have an addition (addition code 152) for the 
difference.

Go to our website to download Schedule OR-DEPR, 
or contact us to order it.

Partnership and S corporation 
modifications for Oregon and  
Business tax credits from PTE 
(ORS 314.712-314.752)

[Addition code 119] [Subtraction code 323]
If you received a Schedule K-1 from a PTE (partner-
ship, S corporation, or LLC filing as either), then you 
may have Oregon additions, subtractions, or credits 
that flow through to your Oregon return. Your modi-
fication or credit is based on the total for the business 
multiplied by your ownership percentage, which 
should have been calculated by the business.

If there is a specific code for the Oregon addition or 
subtraction, use that code. Otherwise, use the above 
codes to identify the Oregon addition or subtraction.

Part-year residents: Use the nonresident information 
for the part of the year you were a nonresident and 
the full amounts for the time you were a resident.

Nonresidents: If your business operates both in and 
out of Oregon, it has an apportionment percent-
age from Schedule OR-AP. This percentage should 
be provided to you with your Schedule K-1, since it 
shows you how much of the income from your busi-
ness is Oregon source. The business should have 
already multiplied your share of Oregon additions 
and subtractions by the apportionment percentage. 
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Oregon credits that flow through may be required 
to be multiplied by your Oregon percentage on your 
Form OR-40-N. See the instructions for each credit 
for requirements.

Qualified business income reduced 
tax rate (ORS 316.043)

If you have qualifying business income from a sole 
proprietorship, a partnership, or an S corporation, 
you may elect to calculate your Oregon income tax 
using a reduced tax rate for that income. The reduced 
tax rate can be applied to qualifying business income 
up to $5 million. 

The qualified business income reduced tax rate is 
an irrevocable election for each tax year that must 
be made on the original return. You can’t amend 
to revoke or make the election after your original 
return is filed unless you file an amended return on 
or before the original due date of July 15, 2020, or if 
filing on extension, before the extension due date of 
October 15, 2020. The election is made by submitting 
the Schedule OR-PTE appropriate for your residency 
status and checking the PTE box on your Oregon 
income tax return. No additions, subtractions, or 
deductions other than depreciation are allowed in 
the calculation of the tax on qualifying income. The 
schedule is available for download from our website, 
or contact us to order it.

You can find answers to common questions on our 
website. Visit www.oregon.gov/dor and click on 
“FAQ” and search “reduced tax rate”.

Qualifications 
To be eligible for the reduced tax rate:

•	You must have qualifying income from a sole pro-
prietorship or PTE; 

•	You must have materially participated in the busi-
ness; and

•	The sole proprietor or PTE must have employed at 
least one qualifying employee in Oregon.

Qualified business income. Qualified business income 
is income other than from passive activities as that 
term is defined in IRC Section 469. Income from trusts, 
estates, qualified joint ventures, and disregarded enti-
ties doesn’t qualify. Qualified business income passed 
through to a higher-tier entity from a lower-tier entity 
will qualify for the reduced tax rate if the lower-tier 
entity meets the employee requirement. 

Example 1: Bryant and Marcus are each the sole share-
holders of an S corporation. The S corporations are 
each 50 percent owners in a partnership. Bryant and 
Marcus both materially participate in the partner-
ship, and the partnership employs several full-time 

employees who perform their work in Oregon all year 
long. Bryant and Marcus receive a distributive share 
of nonpassive income from the partnership that passes 
through their respective S corporations. Each also 
receives a salary for work performed for the partner-
ship. The distributive share of nonpassive income they 
receive from the partnership qualifies for the reduced 
tax rate because the partnership meets the employee 
requirement. However, the salary each received from 
the partnership doesn’t qualify for the reduced rate. 

Material participation. A taxpayer materially partici-
pates in an activity if the taxpayer works on a regular, 
continuous, and substantial basis in operations of the 
business. Under certain circumstances, related enti-
ties may be grouped into a single activity in order 
to meet this requirement. Refer to IRC Section 469 
and the related IRS regulations for more detailed 
information. 

Employee requirement. The business must have 
at least one employee who performed work for the 
entity in Oregon for at least 1,200 hours during the 
tax year. The employee must work at least 30 hours in 
a week for that week’s hours to count. The employee 
can’t be an owner, a member, a limited partner, or the 
sole proprietor, but hours worked by an employee 
who is a spouse or other family member (who isn’t an 
owner, member, limited partner, or sole proprietor) 
can be used to meet the hour requirement. 

Example 2: Alpha Partnership’s employee, Ralph, worked 
a total of 1,496 hours during the year in Oregon. Ralph 
worked 32 hours per week for 31 weeks and 24 hours per 
week for 19 weeks. Alpha can only count the hours for 
the 31 weeks that Ralph worked at least 30 hours. Alpha’s 
qualifying hours total 992 (32 hours x 31 weeks). This is 
less than the 1,200 hours required, so Alpha’s nonpassive 
income doesn’t qualify for the reduced tax rate. 

Example 3: Six employees worked in Oregon for Beta 
Corp (an S corporation) during the year for a total of 
1,760 hours. One employee, Betty, worked 32 hours 
a week for 30 weeks, for a total of 960 hours (32 x 
30). The other five employees each worked 20 hours 
per week for 40 weeks in a job-share position. Only 
Betty’s hours can be counted as qualifying hours. 
Beta Corp’s nonpassive income doesn’t qualify for 
the reduced tax rate because Betty’s total hours don’t 
meet the 1,200 hour requirement. 

Example 4: Charlie, a sole proprietor, had three 
employees working at his Oregon business during 
the year. Together these employees worked a total 
of 2,240 hours. One employee worked 32 hours a 
week for 20 weeks and the other two employees each 
worked 40 hours per week during the same 20 weeks. 
The hours for each employee qualify because each 
employee worked at least 30 hours a week. Charlie's 
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business meets the employee requirement for the 
reduced tax rate.

Temporary or “leased” employees. If a PTE or sole pro-
prietor contracts with a professional employer organi-
zation to employ temporary or “leased” employees, 
the PTE or sole proprietor can use the hours worked in 
Oregon by those employees to qualify for the reduced 
tax rate if weekly hour requirements are met. 

Amended returns

Amending to elect or revoke. You can’t amend to 
revoke or make the election after your 2019 return is 
filed unless you file an amended return on or before the 
original due date of July 15, 2020; or if filing on exten-
sion, before the extension due date of October 15, 2020. 

Example 5: Liam filed his original return on March 
1, 2020 and didn’t elect the qualified business income 
reduced tax rate. He files an amended return on 
April 12, 2020 to make the election to use the reduced 
tax rate. Liam will be allowed the qualified business 
income reduced tax rate because the amended return 
was filed before the original due date. 

Example 6: Maggie filed her original return with a 
timely-filed extension on August 12, 2020 and elected 
the qualified business income reduced tax rate. She 
files an amended return on October 2, 2020 to revoke 
the election. Maggie will be allowed to revoke the 
qualified business income reduced tax rate because 
the amended return was filed before the extended 
due date. 

Amended Schedule OR-PTE. You must amend Schedule 
OR-PTE if you elected to use the reduced tax rate and: 

•	An IRS or other state audit resulted in a change that 
affects your Oregon return;

•	You amended your federal or other state return and 
the changes you made affect your Oregon return;

•	You have an NOL; or
•	You need to correct income or deductions you orig-

inally reported. 

If you amend Schedule OR-PTE after the due date for 
the return (July 15, 2020, or October 15, 2020, if fil-
ing on extension), you must report the tax using the 
reduced rate on the amended tax worksheet even if 
the amount of tax using the ordinary tax rate is less. 
This is because the election to use the reduced tax 
rate is irrevocable and can’t be changed by filing an 
amended return after the due date for the return.

See the instructions for Schedule OR-PTE-FY, Sched-
ule OR-PTE-NR, or Schedule OR-PTE-PY for tax rate 
charts and additional information.

Basis of business assets transferred  
into Oregon (ORS 316.707)

[Addition code 150] [Subtraction code 358]
There are several ways that nonresidents can bring 
assets into Oregon’s taxing jurisdiction. For example:

•	You become an Oregon resident and transfer busi-
ness assets into Oregon.

•	You become an Oregon resident and leave the assets 
in the other state.

•	You open a business in Oregon and transfer busi-
ness assets into Oregon.

Did you transfer business assets into Oregon? If so, 
the basis for Oregon depreciation will be either the 
federal unadjusted basis or fair market value at the 
time of transfer, whichever is smaller.

The federal unadjusted basis is the original cost 
before adjustments. Adjustments include reductions 
for investment tax credits, depletion, amortization, 
depreciation, or amounts expensed under IRC Sec-
tion 179. The fair market value and useful life are fig-
ured when you bring the asset into Oregon. 

Reduce the federal unadjusted basis or the fair mar-
ket value of the asset by any Oregon depreciation 
previously allowed.

Example: Bob was a California resident. He has 
owned a business in Yreka, California since 1989. Bob 
bought an office building in Yreka for $800,000. He 
placed it in service March 1, 1989. For federal pur-
poses, the building is 31½-year real property and is 
being depreciated using the applicable percentages. 
On January 1, 2017, Bob bought a truck for $45,000. For 
federal purposes, the truck is five-year property and 
is being depreciated using the applicable percentages.

On January 1, 2019, Bob moved to Ashland, but he con-
tinues to operate his business in Yreka. At that time, 
the building had a fair market value of $1,473,000, and 
the truck’s fair market value was $27,000. Because Bob 
is an Oregon resident, he must determine his Oregon 
basis to depreciate his assets for Oregon. The Oregon 
adjusted basis is computed as follows:

Building

Smaller of:

 Cost of building 
  (federal unadjusted basis) $ 800,000
 Less: Depreciation previously allowed
  for Oregon tax purposes – -0-
 Net basis $ 800,000
  or
 Fair market value as of January 1, 2019 $ 1,473,000
 Less: Depreciation previously allowed
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  for Oregon tax purposes – -0-
 Oregon fair market value $ 1,473,000

Bob will depreciate the building for Oregon using the 
$800,000 federal unadjusted basis and Modified Accel-
erated Cost Recovery System (MACRS) depreciation 
for its original federal applicable recovery period.

Truck

Smaller of:

 Cost of truck (federal unadjusted basis) $ 45,000
 Less: Depreciation previously allowed
  for Oregon tax purposes – -0-
 Net basis $ 45,000
  or
 Fair market value as of January 1, 2019 $ 27,000
 Less: Depreciation previously allowed
  for Oregon tax purposes – -0-
 Oregon fair market value $ 27,000

Bob will depreciate the truck for Oregon using the 
$27,000 Oregon fair market value and MACRS depreci-
ation for its original applicable federal recovery period.

Sale of assets (ORS 316.716)
[Addition code 154] [Subtraction code 355]
Gain or loss on property you began depreciating 
after 1980 and before 1985. During the tax year, 
did you sell property you began depreciating after 
December 31, 1980, and before January 1, 1985? If you 
did and didn’t make the one-time adjustment on your 
1996 Oregon return, your gain or loss for Oregon may 
differ from your gain or loss for federal purposes. 
If you sold this property during the year, you must 
make an adjustment on your return to reconcile your 
Oregon basis to your federal basis. 

To figure your gain or loss for Oregon, use the depre-
ciation you claimed on your Oregon return in prior 
years. Subtract the total amount of gain or loss for Ore-
gon property you began depreciating after 1980 and 
before 1985 from your gain or loss for federal purposes 
for the same property. The difference is an Oregon 
addition or subtraction. Keep a worksheet with your 
tax records to show how you figured the difference.

Addition or subtraction
If Oregon depreciation is less than your federal 
depreciation, you will have an Oregon subtraction. If 
Oregon depreciation is more than your federal depre-
ciation, you will have an Oregon addition. 

Partnerships and S corporations
Partnerships report differences between federal and 
Oregon depreciation on the Oregon partnership 

return. S corporations report the differences on 
Schedule SM of the Oregon S corporation return. The 
differences must also be shown on the partner’s or 
shareholder’s Schedule K-1 or equivalent.

The differences will be added to or subtracted from 
income on the individual partner’s or shareholder’s 
Oregon income tax return.

Gain on the sale of an Oregon  
residence (ORS 316.048)

[Addition code 152] [Subtraction code 354]
Generally, Oregon will tax the gain from the sale of 
your residence only when the federal government 
taxes it. Oregon won’t tax any gain excluded on your 
federal return. This is true even if you reinvest in a 
home outside Oregon.

The Oregon basis of your home is generally the 
same as your federal basis. If your gain is taxed by 
the federal government, Oregon will tax the same 
amount of gain.

Exception: If you were renting out a house and then 
converted it to your personal residence, the Oregon 
basis may not be the same as the federal basis due to 
depreciation differences.

Note: If you are also taxed by another state or country on 
some or all of the gain, see “Mutually-taxed gain on the 
sale of residential property“ under “Standard credits.“

Fiduciary adjustment (ORS 316.697)
[Addition code 133] [Subtraction code 310]
The same modifications that apply to an individual 
return also apply to an Oregon estate or trust return. 
Combined, this is called the fiduciary adjustment. If 
you’re a beneficiary of an estate or trust, you must 
report your share of the fiduciary adjustment. This 
should be shown on the Schedule K-1 which you 
receive from the estate or trust. Report it on Sched-
ule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP as an addition using code 
133 or as a subtraction using code 310. 

Example: Frank reported $5,000 of trust income from 
R&C Farewell Trust on federal Schedule E. Of this, 
$2,500 was from interest on U.S. obligations, which 
isn’t taxable by Oregon. He also received interest 
income of $1,000 from the trust that wasn't included 
in his federal income. This interest was from Cali-
fornia bonds and is taxable by Oregon. Frank should 
claim a $1,500 subtraction, the net of both fiduciary 
adjustment items, using subtraction code 310. 

Part-year residents. Oregon taxes the fiduciary 
adjustment if it relates to Oregon income or if you 
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were an Oregon resident on the last day of the trust’s 
taxable year.

Nonresidents. Oregon taxes the fiduciary adjustment 
if it relates to Oregon income.

Market-based sourcing 
(ORS 314.665)

Oregon has changed from sourcing business income 
from the place where the cost of performance is 
incurred to the place where the taxpayer's market 
is located. This change affects nonresidents who do 
business in Oregon who are required to apportion 
their business income among two or more states.

Example: Andrew, a tax professional and Washington 
state resident, advertises his services in Oregon, Idaho, 
and Washington and has clients in all three states. He 
provides services for his clients out of his Washing-
ton office. He earned $400,000 from his Oregon clients, 
$350,000 from his Idaho clients, and $250,000 from his 
Washington clients. Although his work is performed 
in Washington state, Andrew would report 40 percent 
of his sales ($400,000) as Oregon income because 40 
percent of his market is in Oregon.     

Passive activity losses	 (PALs) 
(ORS 314.300)

[Addition code 155] [Subtraction code 356]
Generally, a passive activity is any:

•	Rental activity including equipment and real estate, 
regardless of your level of participation; or

•	Business in which you don’t materially participate 
on a regular, continuous, and substantial basis.

Oregon generally adopted the federal passive loss 
rules in the federal Tax Reform Act of 1986 and the 
Revenue Reconciliation Act of 1993. There are some 
differences in passive losses for Oregon.

How to compute and report passive losses 
for Oregon
1.	 Modify the federal passive loss by the applicable 

additions and subtractions listed under “Oregon 
modifications to federal passive activity losses.“

2.	 Apply the federal passive loss limitations to the 
Oregon passive loss you computed in step 1 above. 
This will determine how much is deductible for 
Oregon. To apply the income limitations, use fed-
eral AGI before modifying for Oregon additions or 
subtractions.

3.	 Figure the difference between the passive loss 
reported on your federal return and the deductible 

Oregon loss you figured above. You will claim an 
addition or subtraction on your Oregon return.

4.	 Keep a schedule with your tax records showing 
your computations for steps 1, 2, and 3 above.

5.	 Also keep a schedule (when applicable) showing 
the allocation of Oregon modifications between 
the Oregon passive loss activities and other busi-
ness activities.

Example: Depreciation modification. Elijah has deter-
mined that his depreciation for Oregon is more than 
his federal depreciation by $1,000. Ordinarily, he would 
report a $1,000 subtraction on his Oregon return for the 
difference in depreciation.

Of the $1,000 difference in depreciation, $600 is allo-
cable to passive activities and $400 is allocable to other 
business activities. His Oregon passive activity loss is 
his federal passive activity loss increased by the $600 
difference in depreciation. He reports the remaining 
$400 difference in depreciation allocable to other busi-
ness activities as a subtraction on his Oregon return.

Passive activity credits. You can offset in full the tax 
credits related to a passive activity against your Ore-
gon tax liability for the taxable year.

Active participants in rental real estate activities. The 
$25,000 offset for rental real estate activities provided 
in IRC Section 469(i) applies to deductions allowed 
under federal and Oregon law. Don’t reduce the off-
set by deduction equivalents defined in IRC 469 Sec-
tion (j)(5). The phaseout amounts ($100,000/$150,000) 
are based on federal AGI regardless of whether you 
are a full-year resident, part-year resident, or nonresi-
dent of Oregon.

Part-year residents. Compute your passive activity 
losses from activities carried on while an Oregon 
resident. Add those connected with Oregon sources 
while a nonresident. Modify the result by applicable 
additions and subtractions listed here.

Nonresidents. Compute your passive activity losses 
from activities connected with Oregon sources. Modify 
the loss by the applicable additions and subtractions 
listed here. The loss must be connected with Oregon 
sources even if you later become an Oregon resident.

Oregon modifications to federal passive 
activity losses
Listed here are some of the modifications you must 
make for Oregon:

1.	 Additions:
•	Interest or dividends on obligations of another state.
•	Depletion in excess of the adjusted basis of property.
•	Gain on voluntary or involuntary conversions or 

exchanges of Oregon property reinvested outside 
Oregon when no election is made to defer it.
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2.	 Subtractions:
•	Gain or loss on the sale of public utility stock where 

dividends were reinvested.
•	Interest or dividends on obligations of the U.S. 

government.
•	Wages you didn’t deduct from federal taxable income 

because you claimed the federal work opportunity 
credit.

•	Interest or dividends on obligations of Oregon 
political subdivisions.

3.	 Additions or subtractions:
•	Differences in depreciation.
•	Differences in gain or loss from basis differences in 

the sale of an asset.
Note: Items used to modify the federal passive activ-
ity loss must occur in the ordinary course of a trade or 
business. See OAR 150-314-0110 for more information.

Oregon percentage (ORS 316.117)
Part-year residents and nonresidents must compute 
an Oregon percentage. This determines allowable 
deductions, modifications, Oregon tax , and some tax 
credits.

In most cases, you’ll divide your income after sub-
tractions from the Oregon column by your income 
after subtractions from the federal column. Carry the 
decimal to three places and enter the figure on the 
Oregon percentage line. Don’t fill in more than 100 
percent or less than -0-. 

Negative income. If the federal column is negative and 
the Oregon column is positive, your Oregon percentage 
is 100 percent. If the federal column is positive or nega-
tive and the Oregon column is negative, your Oregon 
percentage is -0- percent. If both columns are negative, 
treat both columns as if they were positive and then:

•	If the Oregon number is smaller than the federal 
number, your Oregon percentage is 100 percent.

•	If the federal number is smaller than the Oregon 
number, divide the federal number by the Oregon 
number. 

See Table 10 for examples.

Example: Lisa reported $30,000 of income after sub-
tractions in the federal column. She reported $10,000 
of income after subtractions in the Oregon column. 
Here’s how she figured her Oregon percentage:

$10,000 ÷ $30,000 = 0.333 or 33.3%

Table 10. Oregon percentage
 

Federal 
column

Oregon 
column

Oregon  
percentage

($20,000) $42,000 100.0%

$50,000 ($22,000) 0.0%

($25,000) ($15,000) 100.0%

($12,000) ($15,000) 80.0%

Deductions and modifications	  
(ORS 316.695)

You may claim either Oregon itemized deduc-
tions or Oregon’s standard deduction, whichever is 
larger, but not both.

Oregon itemized deductions
Oregon Schedule OR-A. Oregon has its own form for 
reporting itemized deductions. If you're itemizing 
your deductions for Oregon, include Schedule OR-A 
with your Oregon return whether or not you're item-
izing deductions on your federal return.  You still use 
federal definitions and AGI to figure any itemized 
deduction limitations. For more information, see the 
instructions for Schedule OR-A.

Itemized deduction add backs
Certain items that you may be including on Sched-
ule OR-A must be modified for Oregon purposes. If 
you’re claiming a deduction that must be modified 
for Oregon, you may need to add back some (or all) of 
the amount you deducted. 

•	Full-year residents: Enter the amount you’re add-
ing back with the indicated addition code on Sched-
ule OR-ASC, section 1.

•	Part-year residents and nonresidents: Use the 
indicated modification code and enter the dollar 
amount with a minus sign to report the add back 
as a “negative modification” on Schedule OR-ASC-
NP, section 4.

Return items with related itemized deductions. Are 
you claiming any of the following on your Oregon 
return?

•	Tax credit based on charitable contributions.
•	Claim of right income repayment credit.
•	WFHDC credit based on medical expenses.
•	Subtraction for exempt lottery winnings.
•	Income in respect of a decedent.

These items all have related itemized deductions. If 
you’re claiming any of these items, you may need 
to add back some (or all) of your related itemized 
deduction. Each of these items is explained in more 
detail below.

•	Tax credits based on charitable contributions. 
Except as noted below, if you’re claiming an Ore-
gon tax credit based on charitable donations you’ve 
made during the tax year, you must add back the 
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entire amount, if any, that you’re deducting as a 
charitable contribution on Schedule OR-A. Use the 
indicated addition or modification code to report 
the amount you’re adding back.

—	 College Opportunity Grant Fund: Use addition 
code 165 or modification code 652.

—	 Oregon IDA Initiative Fund: Use addition code 
138 or modification code 648.

—	 Oregon Production Investment Fund: Use addi-
tion code 144 or modification code 644.

—	 University Venture Development Fund: Use 
addition code 146 or modification code 646.

Exception—Child Care Fund. You must add back 
any amount of the credit portion of your Child Care 
Fund donation that you’re deducting as a charitable 
contribution. You don’t have to add back the por-
tion for which you didn’t receive a tax credit. Use 
addition code 142 or modification code 642.

Fiduciary returns. Follow the above instructions 
for reporting an add back if the credit is claimed 
on Form OR-41 and the charitable contribution on 
which the credit is based is included in the amount 
deducted on federal Form 1041, line 13. Use the 
appropriate addition code to report the add back 
on Schedule OR-ASC-FID, section 1.

For more information about these tax credits, see 
“Credits.” 

•	Claim of right income repayment credit. If you’re 
claiming the Oregon claim of right income repay-
ment credit and including the repayment as an 
itemized deduction on Schedule OR-A, you must 
add back the itemized deduction amount [ORS 
316.680(1)(i)]. Use addition code 103 or modification 
code 649. See the instructions for Worksheet OR-
CRC and this topic in “Additions” if you’re claim-
ing the Oregon credit and deducting the repayment 
elsewhere on your return.

Fiduciary returns. Use code 103 to add back the 
repayment as an addition on Schedule OR-ASC-
FID, section 1, if the Oregon credit is claimed on 
Form OR-41 and the repayment is deducted on fed-
eral Form 1041.

•	WFHDC credit based on medical expenses. Some 
medical expenses that qualify to be included in 
itemized deductions may also qualify for purposes 
of claiming the WFHDC credit. If your credit is 
based on medical expenses that you’re also includ-
ing in itemized deductions, you must add back 
some (or all) of the amount you’re deducting. Your 
credit is based on medical expenses if your total 
other (non-medical) care expenses are less than 
your expense limit (Schedule OR-WFHDC, line 27). 
Follow the steps in the WFHDC Medical Expense 

Worksheet in the Appendix to figure the amount 
to add back. 

•	Gambling losses related to tax-exempt lottery 
winnings. You’ll have an add back if you’re deduct-
ing gambling losses and claiming a subtraction for 
Oregon lottery winnings that aren’t taxed by Ore-
gon. For more information, see “Lottery winnings” 
in “Subtractions.” Use addition code 134 or modifi-
cation code 604.

•	Federal estate tax on income in respect of a decedent 
(IRD). Federal estate tax on IRD may be deducted on 
Schedule OR-A. Oregon doesn’t allow the deduc-
tion if the estate tax is on income that isn’t taxed by 
Oregon [ORS 316.680(2)(c)]. If you’re deducting federal 
estate tax on IRD that isn’t taxed by Oregon, use this 
formula to figure your addition amount: 

IRD not taxable 
by Oregon

×
Federal estate tax 
deducted on the 

federal return
= Oregon 

additionIRD included in  
federal taxable income

Use addition code 157 or modification code 605.

Fiduciary returns. Federal estate tax on IRD is 
allowed as a deduction on federal Form 1041 when 
the tax on that income will be paid by the recipient. 
An addition is required if the deducted tax is on 
income not taxed by Oregon. See the instructions 
for Form OR-41, Schedule 2, line 16.

Disqualified charitable contributions (ORS 128.760, 
128.763). The Oregon Department of Justice (DOJ) 
issues disqualification orders to charitable organi-
zations that fail to spend at least 30 percent of their 
annual functional expenses for program services. For 
more information, visit the DOJ website, www.doj.
state.or.us. You must add back any contributions to a 
disqualified charity that you’re deducting on Sched-
ule OR-A. Use addition code 160 or modification code 
650.

Other Oregon modifications
Part-year residents and nonresidents. Most income 
items that are modified for Oregon are reported as 
additions or subtractions. However, a few items must 
be reported by part-year residents and nonresidents 
as modifications on Schedule OR-ASC-NP. These are:   

•	Artist’s charitable contribution subtraction (part-
year filers only).

•	Federal income tax refund addition (negative 
modification).

•	Subtraction for federal tax from a prior year. 
•	Foreign tax subtraction.

See these items under “Additions” or “Subtractions” 
and the instructions for Schedules OR-ASC and OR-
ASC-NP for more information.
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Oregon standard deduction
Use the standard deduction only if it’s larger than 
your Oregon itemized deductions. If your filing 
status is married filing separately and your spouse 
itemizes, your standard deduction is -0-.

Generally, your standard deduction is based on your 
filing status:

Single……………………………………………… $2,270

Married filing jointly… ………………………… $4,545

Married filing separately

		  If spouse claims standard deduction… …… $2,270

		  If spouse claims itemized deductions… ………… -0-

Head of household… …………………………… $3,655
Qualifying widow(er)… ………………………… $4,545

Standard deduction—Nonresident aliens. The stan-
dard deduction for nonresident aliens is -0-.

Standard deduction—Short-period return. Individu-
als filing a short-period return may not claim a stan-
dard deduction.

Standard deduction—Age 65 or older, blind. If you 
or your spouse turned 65 on or before January 1, 2020, 
or if you or your spouse are blind, you’re entitled to 
an additional deduction amount.

If you checked one or more of the boxes on line 17 of 
your Oregon Form OR-40 or line 38 of your Oregon 
Form OR-40-N or OR-40-P, multiply the number of 
boxes checked by:

•	$1,000 if married or qualifying widow(er).
•	$1,200 if single or head of household.

Add this amount to the standard deduction amount 
for your filing status from above. 

Example 1: Matt and Sandy are married and file a 
joint return. Matt is 67 years old, and Sandy, age 62, 
is blind. They check boxes 17a and 17d on their Form 
OR-40. Their total standard deduction is $6,545. They 
figure their standard deduction as follows:

	 $4,545	 Standard deduction for their filing 
		  status MFJ

	 $2,000 	2 x $1,000

	 $6,545	 Total standard deduction

Standard deduction—Single or married filing jointly 
dependents. If you (or you and your spouse, if fil-
ing jointly) can be claimed as a dependent on another 
person’s return, use the following worksheets to fig-
ure your standard deduction. Use these worksheets 
even if the other person doesn’t claim you (or your 
spouse, if filing jointly).

Earned income includes salaries, wages, tips, profes-
sional fees, or other amounts received as pay for work 
you actually perform, and any part of a scholarship 
or fellowship grant that you must include in your 
gross income.

Standard deduction worksheet for single dependents

	 1.	 Enter your earned income.	 1.	 

	 2.	 Additional $350.	 2.	$	 350

	 3.	 Add lines 1 and 2.	 3.	 

	 4.	 Minimum standard deduction.	 4.	$	 1,100

	 5.	 Enter the larger of line 3 or 4.	 5.	 

	 6.	 Basic standard deduction for single.	 6.	$	 2,270

	 7.	 Enter the smaller of line 5 or 6.	 7.	 

	 8.	 If age 65 by 1/1/2020, enter $1,200;  
if not, enter -0-. 	 8.	 

	 9.	 If blind, enter $1,200; if not, enter -0-.	 9.	 

	10.	 Add lines 7, 8, and 9. This is your  
standard deduction. 	 10.	

Example 2: Homer is single, age 17, not blind, and 
claimed as a dependent by his father. He had $1,135 
of earned income. Homer’s standard deduction is 
$1,485, figured as follows:

	 1.	 Enter your earned income.	 1.	$	 1,135

	 2.	 Additional $350.	 2.	$	 350

	 3.	 Add lines 1 and 2.	 3.	$	 1,485 

	 4.	 Minimum standard deduction,  
set amount.	 4.	$	 1,100

	 5.	 Enter the larger of line 3 or 4.	 5.	$	 1,485

	 6.	 Basic standard deduction for single.	 6.	$	 2,270 

	 7.	 Enter the smaller of line 5 or 6.	 7.	$	 1,485

	 8.	 If age 65 by 1/1/2020, enter $1,200;  
if not, enter -0-. 	 8.		 -0-

	 9.	 If blind, enter $1,200; if not, enter -0-.	 9.		 -0-

	10.	 Add lines 7, 8, and 9. This is your  
standard deduction.	 10.	$	 1,485

Standard deduction worksheet for married filing 
jointly (MFJ) dependents
	 1.	 Enter your earned income.	 1.	 

	 2.	 Additional $350.	 2.	$	 350

	 3.	 Add lines 1 and 2.	 3.	 

	 4.	 Minimum standard deduction.	 4.	$	 1,100

	 5.	 Enter the larger of line 3 or 4.	 5.	 

	 6.	 Standard deduction for MFJ.	 6.	$	 4,545
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	 7.	 Enter the smaller of line 5 or 6.	 7.	 

	 8.	 If age 65 by 1/1/2020, enter $1,000;  
if not, enter -0-. 	 8.	 

	 9.	 If blind, enter $1,000; if not, enter -0-.	 9.	 

	10.	 Add lines 7, 8, and 9. This is your  
standard deduction.	 10.	

Example 3: Jack and Kris are married and are both 
full-time college students. Jack is 20 and Kris is 21. 
Neither is blind. They live in Jack’s parents’ home 
and are both claimed as dependents by Jack’s par-
ents. Jack and Kris work part-time at the university. 
Together they had $7,620 of wage income. Jack and 
Kris will file a joint tax return. They calculate their 
standard deduction as follows:

	 1.	 Enter your earned income.	 1.	$	 7,620

	 2.	 Additional $350.	 2.	$	 350

	 3.	 Add lines 1 and 2.	 3.	$	 7,970

	 4.	 Minimum standard deduction.	 4.	$	 1,100

	 5.	 Enter the larger of line 3 or 4.	 5.	$	 7,970

	 6.	 Basic standard deduction for MFJ.	 6.	$	 4,545

	 7.	 Enter the smaller of line 5 or 6.	 7.	$	 4,545

	 8.	 If age 65 by 1/1/2020, enter $1,000;  
if not, enter -0-. 	 8.		 -0-

	 9.	 If blind, enter 1,000; if not, enter -0-.	 9.		 -0-

	10.	 Add lines 7, 8, and 9. This is your  
standard deduction.	 10.	$	 4,545

Interest on certain installment sales 
(ORS 314.302)

Do you have installment sales for which you had to 
pay interest on the deferred tax liability for federal 
purposes? If so, you must also pay interest for Ore-
gon. The amount due is computed the same way as 
for federal. The interest rate for 2019 and 2020 is 6 per-
cent per year, or 0.5 percent (0.005) per month.

Part-year residents. For the part of the year you were a 
nonresident, include only those installment obligations 
that were from dispositions of property in this state.

For the part of the year you were a resident, consider 
all installment obligations.

Nonresidents. Include only those installment obliga-
tions from dispositions of Oregon property.

Farm liquidation long-term capital  
gain tax rate (ORS 316.045)

If you sold or exchanged capital assets used in farming 
activities during the tax year, you may be able to apply 
a reduced tax rate to your net long-term capital gain.

Farming activities include:

•	Raising, harvesting, and selling crops.
•	Feeding, breeding, managing, or selling: livestock, 

poultry, fur-bearing animals, or honeybees or the 
product thereof.

•	Dairying and selling of dairy products.
•	Stabling or training horses, including providing rid-

ing lessons, training clinics, and schooling shows.
•	Propagating, cultivating, maintaining, or harvest-

ing: aquatic species, birds, and other animal species.
•	Growing and harvesting cultured Christmas trees 

or certain hardwood timber.
•	On-site construction and maintenance of equip-

ment and facilities used in farming activities.
•	Preparing, storing, or disposing of products or by-

products raised for human or animal use on land 
employed in farming activities.

Farming activities don’t include growing and har-
vesting trees of a marketable species, other than 
growing and harvesting cultured Christmas trees or 
certain hardwood timber.

General rules. The sale or exchange must end all of 
your ownership interests in a farming business or in 
property that is used in a farming business. You may 
not claim the special tax rate on a sale or exchange to 
a relative, as that term is defined by IRC Section 267. 
A farm dwelling or farm homesite isn’t considered to 
be property used in the trade or business of farm-
ing. If you have a net loss from all the assets you sold 
or exchanged during the year, you don't qualify for 
the reduced rate on the sale or exchange of your farm 
assets.

Partnerships or S corporations. The sale of owner-
ship interests in a farming corporation, partnership, 
or other entity qualifies for the special tax rate. The 
taxpayer must have had at least a 10 percent owner-
ship interest in the entity before the sale or exchange.

Computing the tax. Use Worksheet OR-FCG to fig-
ure your tax using the reduced rate. Download the 
worksheet from our website or contact us to order it. 
Check the box labeled “Worksheet OR-FCG” on your 
Oregon tax return. Don't include the worksheet with 
your return; keep it with your tax records.
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Farm income averaging  
(ORS 314.297)

You can figure your Oregon income tax by averaging 
this year's farm income using your farm income from 
the previous three (base) years. This may result in less 
tax if this year's farm income is higher than your tax-
able income for one or more of the three prior years.

A farming business is the trade or business of cul-
tivating land or raising or harvesting any agricul-
tural or horticultural commodity. Your elected farm 
income is the amount of your taxable income from 
farming that you elect to include in the calculation. 
You don’t have to include all of your taxable income 
from farming. It may be to your advantage to include 
less than the full amount. 

Forms. Use our farm income averaging forms, 
worksheets, and instructions to figure your Oregon 
income tax. Schedule OR-FIA-40 or Publication OR-
FIA-NP, which includes the forms for part-year or 
nonresident filers, can be downloaded from our web-
site or ordered by contacting us. 

Be sure to mark the box on your return to indicate 
that you figured your tax using farm income averag-
ing. Don't include the form, worksheets, or schedules 
with your return; keep them with your tax records.

Federal law disconnect
[Addition code 131]
Use this addition code to report items that were 
excluded or deducted from your federal taxable 
income and should be added back for Oregon pur-
poses, where those items don’t already have an 
assigned addition code. Contact us if you have ques-
tions about a situation involving a disconnect from 
federal taxable income that isn’t described elsewhere 
in this publication.
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Credits
Types of credits

There are three types of Oregon tax credits: standard, 
carryforward, and refundable. In addition, some of 
these credits require certification from another state 
agency. Certain credits must be prorated on part-year 
and nonresident returns.

Standard credits. These credits aren’t refundable. 
They can’t exceed your tax liability for the current 
tax year. Unused credit in excess of your tax liability 
can’t be carried forward to a later tax year. 

Carryforward credits. These credits aren’t refundable. 
They can’t exceed your tax liability for the current tax 
year, but you may carry forward the unused amount 
to a later tax year. Refer to the instructions for the 
credit you are claiming for specific details.

Refundable credits. Refundable credits may exceed 
your tax liability for the year. The amount of the 
credit that exceeds your tax liability will be refunded 
to you. 

Certified credits. For certain credits, you must qualify, 
apply, and be certified before you can claim them on 
your return. Other agencies, not the Department of 
Revenue, are responsible for certifying these credits. 
Contact information can be found in the instructions 
for each certified credit in this section.

Full-year residents. All credits you qualify for are 
allowed on Form OR-40.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You must pro-
rate certain Oregon credits by multiplying your total 
credit by your Oregon percentage from Form OR-
40-N or OR-40-P to figure the amount you can claim 
on your Oregon return. You must prorate the follow-
ing credits:

•	Agriculture workforce housing.
•	Biomass production/collection carryforward.
•	Bovine manure production/collection.
•	Child and dependent care carryforward.
•	Claim of right income repayment.
•	Crop donation.
•	Earned income.

•	Electronic commerce zone investment.
•	Employer scholarship.
•	Fish screening devices.
•	Oregon Cultural Trust.
•	Oregon Veterans’ Home physicians.
•	Personal exemption.
•	Reservation enterprise zone.
•	Residential energy.
•	Rural emergency medical technicians.
•	Rural medical practitioners.
•	Rural technology workforce development.
•	University Venture Development Fund 

contributions.
•	Working family household and dependent care.

S corporation shareholders. Certain carryforward 
credits earned by S corporations pass through to 
shareholders, who then claim these credits on their 
personal income tax returns. Each of these credits 
may only be claimed on an Oregon personal income 
tax return by shareholders of an S corporation that 
qualifies for the credit or, if the credit is transferable, 
is a qualified transferee of the credit from another 
corporation that earned the credit. Except as noted, 
each credit is limited to the shareholder’s income tax 
liability for the year, although the carryforward pro-
visions may vary. For more information about credits 
available to S corporations, visit our website.

Claiming credits. The exemption credit, political con-
tribution credit (full-year filers), earned income credit, 
and the surplus refund “kicker” credit  are claimed 
on specific lines on the return. All other credits are 
reported on Schedule OR-ASC or Schedule OR-ASC-
NP. The schedule contains sections that are specific 
for each of the three types of credits. Enter the credit 
code and the amount you are claiming in the appli-
cable section. The total dollar amount of the credits 
entered in each section is reported on your return. 

See the explanation for the specific credit on the 
following pages to find its code number and more 
detailed instructions. A list of all credits and their 
code numbers is included in the Appendix. If you 
claim any credits on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-
NP, include the schedule when you file your return. 

Credits
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Standard credits
Exemption credit (ORS 316.085)

This year’s maximum credit is $206 for each quali-
fying personal exemption. The exemption amount is 
indexed for inflation.

A personal exemption credit isn’t allowed if your fed-
eral AGI on line 7 of Form OR-40, or line 29F of Form 
OR-40-N or Form OR-40-P exceeds:

•	$200,000 for married filing jointly, head of house-
hold, or qualifying widow(er) filers; or

•	$100,000 if your filing status is single or married 
filing separately.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
personal exemption credit by your Oregon percentage.

Personal exemption
The term “personal exemption” refers to an individ-
ual who qualifies for a personal exemption deduction 
on the federal return under IRC Section 151. Through 
tax year 2025, the amount of the federal deduction 
is $0; however, the qualifications for the deduction 
under IRC Sections 151 and 152 haven’t changed, and 
neither have the qualifications for claiming the Ore-
gon personal exemption credit.

An individual who qualifies for a personal exemption 
deduction under IRC Sections 151 and 152 includes:

•	The taxpayer (including both the primary and sec-
ondary taxpayers who file a joint return);

•	The taxpayer’s spouse, if the taxpayer is filing a 
separate return and the spouse has no gross income 
and doesn’t qualify for an exemption deduction on 
another taxpayer’s return; and

•	The taxpayer’s qualifying child or qualifying relative.

Qualifying child. A qualifying child is an individual 
who is the taxpayer’s: 

•	Child or the child’s descendant, or
•	Brother, sister, stepbrother, or stepsister; or their 

descendant.

The term “child” includes a son, daughter, stepson, or 
stepdaughter; and includes legally-adopted children 
and foster children who have been placed with the 
taxpayer by an authorized placement agency or by 
court order.

At the end of the calendar year, the child must be:

•	Under the age of 19; or
•	A student under the age of 24; or
•	Permanently and totally disabled, regardless of age. 

A “student” is an individual who attended an edu-
cational organization on a full-time basis during 
each of five calendar months during the tax year. The 
educational organization must have a regular faculty 
and curriculum, with a regularly-enrolled student 
body who attend where the organization’s educa-
tional activities normally take place.

An individual who is a “permanently and totally 
disabled” child is one who is unable to engage in 
any “substantial gainful activity,” as that term is 
defined under federal law, due to a physical or mental 
impairment that is medically determinable and can 
be expected to result in death, or which has lasted, 
or can be expected to last, for at least 12 continuous 
months.

Qualifying relative. A qualifying relative is an indi-
vidual for whom the taxpayer pays over one-half of 
the individual’s support for the year, and who is the 
taxpayer’s: 

•	Child, brother, sister, stepbrother, or stepsister, or 
their descendant, who isn’t also a qualifying child 
of the taxpayer; 

•	Father or mother, or their ancestor;
•	Stepfather, stepmother, father-in-law, or 

mother-in-law;
•	Brother-in-law or sister-in-law;
•	Uncle or aunt;
•	Nephew or niece; or
•	An individual who isn’t listed above but is a mem-

ber of the taxpayer’s household and has the same 
principal place of abode as the taxpayer.

The qualifying relative can’t have gross income for 
2019 that exceeds $4,200, and can’t be claimed on 
another taxpayer’s return. They must also be a U.S. 
citizen or national, or a resident of the U.S., Mexico, 
or Canada.

Special rule for custodial parents. If a qualifying 
child receives over one-half of their support from 
parents who are divorced, legally separated, or living 
apart for the last six months of the year, and the child 
is in the custody of one or both parents for more than 
half of the year, the personal exemption credit for the 
child may be claimed by the noncustodial parent if 
the custodial parent (the parent who has custody for 
the greater part of the year) makes a written state-
ment releasing the exemption to the noncustodial 
parent for the tax year. The custodial parent’s written 
statement should be kept with the taxpayer’s records; 
we may ask for it later. 

For additional information about requirements for 
the personal exemption deduction, including details 
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about certain exceptions and support limitations, see 
IRS Publication 501, Exemptions, Standard Deduction, 
and Filing Information.

You and your spouse
You are allowed one personal exemption credit for 
yourself and one for your spouse if you are filing a 
joint return. If someone else can claim you as a depen-
dent, you can’t claim an exemption for yourself. If 
someone else can claim your spouse as a dependent, 
you can’t claim their exemption. This is true even if 
the other person doesn’t claim you (or your spouse) 
as a dependent.

If your spouse qualifies as your dependent and you 
are filing using the status married filing separately, 
include your spouse on the dependents list, not on 
the spouse line.

Severely disabled (ORS 316.752 , 316.758)
Did you have a severe disability at the end of the 
tax year? If so, you can claim an additional personal 
exemption credit if your federal AGI doesn’t exceed 
$100,000. You may qualify for the severely disabled 
exemption even if someone else can claim you as a 
dependent. You’re considered to have a severe dis-
ability if any of the following apply:

•	You permanently lost the use of one or both feet or 
legs; or

•	You permanently lost the use of both hands; or
•	You’re permanently blind; or
•	You have a permanent condition or an impairment 

of indefinite duration that limits your ability to:

	— Earn a living, or
	— Maintain a household, or
	— Transport yourself.

Deafness or hearing impairment alone don’t qualify 
as a severe disability for purposes of this additional 
exemption credit.

This is true regardless of any special equipment you 
may use in your home or workplace.

You don’t qualify for this exemption if:

•	You have a temporary disability from an injury or 
illness and are expected to recover; or

•	Your condition keeps you from doing your former 
work but not from doing other kinds of work with-
out special equipment; or

•	Your federal AGI is more than $100,000, regardless 
of your filing status.

If you have a permanent severe disability, your physi-
cian must write a letter describing it. Keep the letter 
with your permanent health records.

If you qualify, check the “Severely disabled” exemp-
tion box on your return. If your spouse qualifies, they 
may also claim this additional exemption credit. 

All dependents
You are allowed one personal exemption credit for:

•	Each qualifying child you're able to claim as a depen-
dent, and

•	Each of your other qualifying relatives.

On your Oregon return, you must include the fol-
lowing information for all dependents: first and last 
name, relationship to you, Social Security number, 
and date of birth.

Child with a disability (ORS 316.099)
You may be entitled to an additional exemption credit 
for your dependent child who has a qualifying dis-
ability. To qualify, all of the following must be true.

Your federal AGI must not be more than $100,000, 
regardless of your filing status, and your child:

•	Qualified as your dependent for the year, and
•	Was eligible for early intervention or special edu-

cation services, as defined by the Department of 
Education, and

•	Was considered to have a disability as of Decem-
ber 31, 2019, under the federal Individuals with Dis-
abilities Education Act, and

•	Was age 21 or younger at the end of the tax year.

Eligible disabilities and their Oregon Department of 
Education code numbers include:

	— Autism spectrum disorder (82).
	— Communication disorder (50).
	— Deafblindness (43).
	— Developmental delay (98).
	— Emotional disturbance (60).
	— Hearing impairment (20).
	— Intellectual disability (10).
	— Orthopedic impairment (70).
	— Other health impairment (80).
	— Specific learning disability (90).
	— Traumatic brain injury (74).
	— Visual impairment (40).

Each year, you must be able to provide an eligibility 
statement that confirms one of the disabilities listed 
above from the child’s Individualized Education Pro-
gram (IEP) or Individualized Family Service Plan 
(IFSP). Keep the eligibility statement with your per-
manent health records. If your dependent qualifies, 
mark the “Child with qualifying disability” box by 
your dependent’s name on your return. 

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any credit not used this year 
is lost.
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Income taxes paid to another state 
(ORS 316.082, 316.131)

[Credit code 802]
If you pay tax to Oregon and another state on the 
same income, you have “mutually-taxed income.”

In certain circumstances, you may be able to claim 
a credit on your Oregon return for income taxes 
paid to another state. Only take a credit for tax paid 
to another state if Oregon taxed the income and the 
other state also had a right to tax the same income. For 
instance, if you live in Oregon, other states can’t tax 
your pension income. Only the state you live in can 
tax your pension income. If you pay tax to another 
state on your pension income, you can’t take a credit 
for that tax. You can’t take a credit for paying tax 
you don’t owe. 

This credit is only for state income tax. You can’t 
claim the credit for any city tax, county tax, school 
tax, sales tax, alternative minimum tax (AMT), prop-
erty tax, or other state taxes that aren’t based on 
income. For example, the Idaho Permanent Building 
Fund Tax and the Washington Business and Occu-
pation (B & O) Tax don’t qualify because they aren’t 
based on income.

When can this credit be claimed?
You can claim this credit only if you pay the other 
state’s tax before or at the same time that you file your 
Oregon return. If you pay tax to another state for a 
prior tax year, you must amend your Oregon return 
for that year to claim the credit.

If Oregon and another state tax you on the same 
income, but in different tax years, Oregon will allow 
a credit for the year the tax is paid to Oregon (OAR 
150-316-0090). Visit our website for more information.

If you sell your home and pay tax to Oregon and 
another state or country on the gain from that sale, you 
can claim either the credit for taxes paid to another 
state or the credit for mutually-taxed gain on the sale 
of residential property. You can't claim both credits. 
See “Mutually-taxed gain on the sale of residential 
property“ for more information about this credit.

Definitions
Modified AGI
•	Full-year residents. Your modified AGI is your fed-

eral AGI modified by certain Oregon additions and 
subtractions.

•	Part-year residents and nonresidents. Your modi-
fied AGI is the part of your federal AGI that is tax-
able to Oregon, modified by certain Oregon addi-
tions and subtractions.

Formula I
Modified AGI taxed by both states 

Modified AGI x

Your Oregon tax 
after all other 

credits

Formula II
Modified AGI taxed by both states 

Total income on the other  
state’s return

x
Other state’s tax 

after all other 
credits

Oregon additions. These are generally items of income 
that are taxed by Oregon but not by the federal gov-
ernment. See “Additions” for more information.

Oregon subtractions. These are generally items of 
income that are taxed by the federal government but 
not by Oregon. For example, U.S. bond interest is an 
Oregon subtraction because it’s income reported on 
your federal return that isn’t taxed by Oregon. Note: 
Don’t subtract the federal tax you paid, because it 
isn’t an income item. See “Subtractions” for more 
information.

Who may claim this credit?
Full-year residents. You may claim the credit on 
your Oregon return only if you pay tax on the same 
income to both Oregon and a state other than Ari-
zona, California, Indiana, or Virginia. If you are a 
full-year Oregon resident with income that is taxed 
by Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia, you 
must claim the credit on the nonresident return that 
you file with that state; don’t claim the credit on your 
Oregon return. See “Note for full-year residents” 
and “Exception for Oregon resident partners and S 
corporation shareholders.” 

Example 1. Roy is a full-year Oregon resident. He has 
wages from a job in Idaho and income from rental 
property he owns in California. His Idaho wages and 
California rental income are taxed by Oregon as well 
as those states. Roy may claim a credit on his Oregon 
return for taxes paid to Idaho. He must claim a credit 
on his California nonresident return for taxes paid to 
Oregon. 

Note for full-year residents. If one of the listed states 
doesn’t allow the credit on your nonresident return, 
you may amend your Oregon return to claim the 
credit for taxes paid to that state. You must provide 
proof of the following:

1.	 You paid tax to Arizona, California, Indiana, or 
Virginia on income that was also taxed by Oregon;

2.	 You paid that state’s tax at or before the time you 
filed your Oregon return; and

3.	 You properly claimed the credit for taxes paid to 
Oregon on the nonresident return you filed with 
that state; and

4.	 That state didn’t allow your credit.
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Part-year residents. Your credit is based on your 
mutually-taxed income during the part of the year 
that you were a nonresident and your mutually-
taxed income during the part of the year that you 
were a resident.

•	You may claim the credit on your Oregon return 
for the part of the year you were a nonresident of 
Oregon only if you pay taxes on the same income 
that is taxed by both Oregon and one or more of the 
following states: Arizona, California, Indiana, or 
Virginia. If the income was taxed by Oregon and a 
state other than those listed, you must claim a credit 
for taxes paid to Oregon on the return you file with 
the other state. See “Note for nonresidents.”

•	You may claim the credit on your Oregon return for 
the part of the year you were a resident of Oregon if 
you pay Oregon tax on income that was also taxed 
by a state other than Arizona, California, Indiana, 
or Virginia (or you meet the “Exception for Oregon 
resident partners and S corporation shareholders”). 
See “Note for full-year residents“ above.

Example 2: Charlotte operates a business in Oregon. 
She moved from Oregon to Virginia in May, but con-
tinues to have income from her Oregon business 
after she moves. She also has income during the year 
from rental properties she owns in Oregon, Virginia, 
and Georgia. She files a part-year Oregon return, a 
part-year Virginia return, and a nonresident Geor-
gia return. She will claim a credit for taxes paid to 
another state on each kind of income as follows:

•	Oregon business income. Charlotte will pay tax to 
Oregon for the part of the year she was a resident, 
and to both Oregon and Virginia for the part of the 
year she was a nonresident. She may claim a credit 
on her Oregon return for taxes paid to Virginia for 
the part of the year that she was a nonresident of 
Oregon.

•	Georgia rental income. Charlotte will pay tax to 
both Oregon and Georgia on this income only dur-
ing the part of the year that she was a resident of 
Oregon. Once she moves to Virginia and is no lon-
ger an Oregon resident, Oregon doesn’t have the 
right to tax this income. She may claim a credit on 
her Oregon return for tax paid to Georgia only for 
the part of the year that she was an Oregon resi-
dent. (She will claim a credit on her Virginia return 
for tax paid to Georgia for the part of the year that 
she was a Virginia resident.)

•	Virginia rental income. Charlotte will pay tax to 
both Oregon and Virginia for the part of the year 
that she was a resident of Oregon, and only to Vir-
ginia after she moves. She can’t claim a credit on 
her Oregon return for taxes paid to Virginia on this 
income when she was an Oregon resident. Instead, 
she must claim a credit for taxes paid to Oregon on 

her Virginia return for the part of the year that she 
was a nonresident of Virginia.

Nonresidents. You may claim a credit on your Oregon 
return if you pay taxes on the same income to both 
Oregon and one or more of the following states—
Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia. If you pay 
Oregon tax on income that is also taxed by a state 
other than those listed, you must claim the credit for 
taxes you paid to Oregon on the return you file with 
the other state. See “Note for nonresidents.“

Example 3: Elisa, a calendar-year taxpayer, is a resi-
dent of Indiana who receives income from an upscale 
boutique she owns in Oregon. Elisa may claim a 
credit for taxes paid to Indiana on the income from 
the boutique on her Oregon nonresident return.

Example 4: On January 1, Elisa moves away from 
Indiana and becomes a resident of Hawaii. She 
still receives income from the boutique in Oregon. 
Because Hawaii isn’t one of the states listed above, 
Elisa must claim a credit for taxes paid to Oregon on 
the return she files with Hawaii.

Note for nonresidents. If a state (other than those 
listed above) doesn’t allow your credit, you may 
amend your Oregon nonresident return to claim the 
credit for taxes paid to that state. You must provide 
proof of the following:

1.	 You paid tax to a state (other than Arizona, Cali-
fornia, Indiana, or Virginia) on income that was 
also taxed by Oregon; and

2.	 You paid the other state’s tax at or before the time 
you filed your Oregon return; and

3.	 You properly claimed the credit for taxes paid to 
Oregon on the other state’s return; and

4.	 The other state didn’t allow your credit.

How do I calculate the credit amount?
Calculate the credit for each state separately. The pro-
cedure for calculating the credit depends on whether 
you are a full-year resident, a part-year resident, or a 
nonresident of Oregon.

Full-year residents
Remember, you may claim the credit on your Oregon 
return only if you pay tax to Oregon and a state other 
than Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia on the 
same income.

The credit for a full-year resident is the smallest of:

•	Your Oregon tax after all other credits; or
•	The tax you actually paid to the other state; or
•	The amount calculated with Formula I.

Note: Full-year residents don't use Formula II.
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Example 5: Manar's AGI is $44,000. This includes 
$10,000 of rental income taxed by both Oregon and 
Idaho and $5,000 of U.S. bond interest. She received 
$1,000 in interest from municipal bonds from another 
state. She has a federal tax liability of $3,000. Her 
Idaho income tax is $300. Her net Oregon tax is $2,000 
(before her credit for income taxes paid to another 
state). Here’s how she calculates her credit:

Federal AGI  $ 44,000

Modifications
	 Add municipal bond interest + 1,000

 $ 45,000

	 Less U.S. bond interest – (5,000	)

	 Modified AGI $ 40,000

Note: The federal tax subtraction isn’t used in this 
computation.

Formula I: ($10,000 ÷ $40,000) × $2,000 = $500.

Manar’s credit is $300, the smallest of:

•	Her Oregon tax after all other credits ($2,000); or
•	The tax actually paid to Idaho ($300); or
•	The amount from Formula I ($500).

Part-year residents
Your credit is based on your mutually-taxed income, 
and the tax on that income, during the part of the 
year that you were a nonresident and your mutually-
taxed income, and the tax on that income, during the 
part of the year that you were a resident.

Your credit for the part of the year that you were a 
nonresident is the smallest of:

•	Your Oregon tax on mutually-taxed income from 
the nonresident period after all other credits; or

•	The tax you actually paid to Arizona, California, 
Indiana, or Virginia on that same income; or

•	The amount figured using Formula I; or
•	The amount figured using Formula II.

For the part of the year that you were a resident, your 
credit is the smallest of:

•	Your Oregon tax on mutually-taxed income while 
you were a resident after all other credits; or

•	The tax on that same income you actually paid to 
a state other than Arizona, California, Indiana, or 
Virginia; or

•	The amount calculated with Formula I.

Important—Don't use Formula II to calculate the 
credit for the part of the year that you were a resident.

Example 6: Ezra moved from Idaho to Oregon on 
September 1. He sold Oregon property on June 10, 
and sold Idaho property on October 18. He worked 

in Idaho all year. His Idaho income tax after credits is 
$2,000; of this amount, $700 is on income he received 
when he was an Oregon resident. His Oregon income 
tax liability after other credits is $400; of this amount, 
$150 is on income received during the part of the year 
when he wasn't an Oregon resident. His income on 
his Oregon and Idaho returns is:

Oregon income

Sale of Oregon property June 10	 $ 13,500 
Wages September 1 to December 31	  9,000

Interest September 1 to December 31	  500
Sale of Idaho property October 18:
	 Idaho capital gain reported	 + 6,000*

Total AGI taxable to Oregon	 $ 29,000

Idaho income

Sale of Oregon property June 10	  $ 13,500 
Wages January 1 to December 31	  27,000

Interest January 1 to August 31	  1,000

Sale of Idaho property October 18:
	 Idaho capital gain reported.	 6,000
	 Less Idaho capital gain exclusion* 	 ($3,600)
	 Net capital gain taxed by Idaho	 2,400

Total AGI taxable to Idaho	 $ 43,900

*If the other state has any income exclusion that applies to 
the mutually-taxed income, you must adjust the mutually-
taxed income by the exclusion amount.

In this example, Ezra’s federal capital gain is $19,500. 
Idaho allows Ezra to exclude 60 percent, or $3,600, 
of his $6,000 capital gain from the sale of the Idaho 
property. Ezra’s mutually-taxed income is $24,900 
[($6,000 – $3,600) + 13,500 + 9,000].

Nonresident period. Ezra had $13,500 in mutually-
taxed income while he was a nonresident. However, 
because Idaho isn’t one of the four listed states, Ezra 
must claim his credit for the tax paid to Oregon while 
he was an Idaho resident on his Idaho part-year return.

Residency period. Ezra had $11,400 in mutually-
taxed income when he was an Oregon resident: the 
$9,000 in wages earned from working in Idaho, and 
the $2,400 portion of the capital gain taxed by Idaho. 
His total income while he was a resident was $16,000: 
the $9,000 in wages, $1,000 in interest, and $6,000 cap-
ital gain from the Idaho property.

Here’s how Ezra figures his Oregon credit for income 
taxes paid to Idaho on income received while he was 
an Oregon resident:

Formula I: ($11,400 ÷ $16,000) × $250 = $178

His credit for the resident part of the year is $178, the 
smallest of:
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•	His Oregon tax after all other credits ($250);
•	The tax actually paid to Idaho ($700); or
•	The amount from Formula I ($178).

Nonresidents
Remember, you may claim a credit on your Oregon 
return only if you pay taxes on the same income 
to both Oregon and one or more of the following 
states—Arizona, California, Indiana, or Virginia. 

The credit for a nonresident is the smallest of:

•	Your Oregon tax after all other credits; or
•	The tax you actually paid to Arizona, California, 

Indiana, or Virginia; or
•	The amount figured using Formula I; or
•	The amount figured using Formula II.

Example 7: Mary is a full-year resident of California. 
She lived in Oregon for 10 years prior to retiring to 
California. While living in Oregon, she acquired and 
maintained rental property there. She now receives 
installment payments from the sale of the property 
and pays tax to California on the gain and inter-
est. Her California income tax after credits is $100. 
Because she is an Oregon nonresident, only the gain 
is taxed on her Oregon nonresident return. Her Ore-
gon tax after credits is $350. Her income is as follows:

Oregon income
Capital gain on installment sale
	 of real property	 $ 10,000
Total AGI taxable to Oregon	 $ 10,000

California income

Capital gain on installment sale 
 of real property	 $ 10,000

Interest on installment sale  5,000
Other interest  8,000
Business loss (20,000)

Total AGI taxable to California $3,000

Her income taxed by both states is $10,000.

•	Formula I: ($10,000 ÷ $10,000) × $350 ($350).
•	Formula II: ($10,000 ÷ $3,000) × $100 ($333).

Her Oregon credit is $100, the smallest of:

•	Her Oregon tax after all other credits ($350); or
•	The tax actually paid to California ($100); or
•	The amount from Formula I ($350); or
•	The amount from Formula II ($333).

Where do I report the credit?
A credit for taxes paid to another state is reported 
on Schedule OR-ASC, section 3 or Schedule OR-ASC-
NP, section 5. Use credit code 802. Enter the dollar 
amount of the credit and the two-letter postal abbre-
viation for the other state. If you are claiming a credit 

for taxes paid to more than one state, list each state 
separately. Include Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP 
when you file your Oregon return, and keep the fol-
lowing with your tax records:

1.	 A complete copy of the other state’s income tax 
return; and

2.	 Proof of payment of the tax, such as:

	— A copy of the check written to pay the tax at the 
time the other state’s return is filed;

	— Copies of W-2 statements verifying withhold-
ing paid to the other state;

	— A copy of a cashier’s check or other negotiable 
instrument;

	— A copy of a canceled check showing payment of 
tax or estimated tax payments; or

	— A receipt of tax payment.

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
Oregon tax liability for the year.

Itemized deduction

You can’t take a credit and a deduction for the same 
item on your return. If you're claiming a credit for 
taxes paid to another state on your Oregon return, 
you must omit the tax on which the credit is based 
from your Oregon itemized deductions. See the 
instructions for Schedule OR-A. 

Fiduciary returns. See the note under “Income taxes 
paid to another state by a pass-through entity” in 
“Additions” if the tax on which the credit is based is 
deducted on federal Form 1041.

Exception for Oregon resident 
partners and S corporation 
shareholders
[Credit code 815]

Owners of companies taxed in Oregon as partner-
ships or S corporations may be able to claim a credit 
on their resident Oregon return for their proportion-
ate share of income taxes paid to another state by the 
entity. The tax must be an income tax, not a mini-
mum tax. For example, Washington state's B & O tax 
doesn't qualify for this credit.

Claim the credit on your resident return, if:

•	You elected to be included in the entity’s group/
composite filing for the other state and the entity 
paid your tax liability; or

•	The entity was taxed directly by the other state. 
You’re considered to have paid a pro rata share of 
the income tax imposed on the entity by the other 
state.
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For an Oregon resident partner or S corporation 
shareholder, the allowable credit is the smallest of 
the following:

•	Oregon tax on the individual’s return; or 
•	The individual’s pro rata share of the other state’s 

tax; or
•	The individual’s pro rata share of the mutually-

taxed income from an S corporation or partnership 
return:

	— Divided by the individual’s modified Oregon 
income, and

	— Multiplied by the Oregon tax liability from the 
individual return.

Example 1: Oliver is a full-year Oregon resident with 
modified Oregon income of $30,400 and Oregon tax 
(after all other credits) of $1,538. Oliver is a 10 per-
cent shareholder of My Corp., an electing S corpora-
tion in California. California has a corporate tax of 
1.5 percent of income, with a minimum corporate tax 
of $800. For this tax year, My Corp. earned $10,000 in 
ordinary business income, so Oliver’s share is $1,000. 
The corporation must pay California $800 of tax, and 
only $150 is attributable to income ($10,000 × 1.5%). 
Oliver’s share of this tax is $15. The $650 balance paid 
by My Corp is a minimum tax and doesn’t qualify for 
this credit. 

Oliver’s Oregon credit for income taxes paid to 
another state is $15, the smallest of:

•	Oregon tax after all other credit: $1,538,
•	Pro rata share of California’s tax: $15,
•	($1,000 ÷ $30,400) × $1,538 = $51.

Oliver claims the credit on Schedule OR-ASC using 
credit code 815.

Example 2: Monte, an Oregon resident, receives part-
nership income from Virginia sources and joins in a 
multiple nonresident filing with that state. If Virginia 
doesn’t allow a credit for taxes paid to Oregon on 
the multiple nonresident tax return, then Monte can 
claim a credit on his Oregon resident return.
Example 3: Kate, an Oregon resident, receives income 
from a partnership doing business in Hawaii. She 
reports AGI of $21,000, including gain on the sale 
of partnership property in Hawaii of $5,000. For 
Oregon tax purposes, the gain is reduced by a basis 
adjustment of $1,000. Kate’s modified AGI is $20,000 
($21,000 of AGI minus the $1,000 basis adjustment). 
The mutually-taxed income is $4,000 ($5,000 gain 
minus the $1,000 basis adjustment). Her Oregon tax 
after all other credits is $1,100. Her pro rata share of 
Hawaii tax is $360. 
Kate’s Oregon credit for income taxes paid to Hawaii 
is $220, the smallest of:
•	Oregon tax after all other credits: $1,100.

•	Pro rata share of Hawaii’s tax: $360.
•	Formula I: ($4,000 ÷ $20,000) x $1,100 = $220.

Note: Because Kate is an Oregon resident, she doesn’t 
use Formula II.

Addition. If the PTE paid income tax to another state 
for itself or on your behalf and is deducting the tax 
on its own return, you’ll need to add the tax payment 
on your return. See “Income taxes paid to another 
state by a pass-through entity” in “Additions.”

Mutually-taxed gain on the sale of 
residential property (ORS 316.109)

[Credit code 806]
If you sell your personal residence, your Oregon 
taxable gain will be the same as your federal tax-
able gain. Generally, any gain you excluded on your 
federal return will also be excluded on your Oregon 
return.

Exception: If you were renting out a house and then 
converted it to your personal residence, the Oregon 
basis may be different from the federal basis due to 
depreciation differences.

You may qualify for this credit only if the gain on 
the sale of your residential property is taxed by both 
Oregon and another state or country. You may claim 
either this credit or the credit for income taxes paid 
to another state, but not both. You aren’t eligible to 
claim this credit if you qualify for a credit for taxes 
paid to another state on the other state’s tax return.

How much is the credit?
The credit is the smaller of:

•  
Mutually-taxed gain

×
Other state’s/coun-

try’s tax after all  
other credits

Total income on the return of 
the other state/country

or

•	Eight percent of the gain taxed by the other state/
country.

Mutually-taxed gain. Your mutually-taxed gain is the 
total gain from the sale of your personal residence, 
reduced by any deductions or exclusions allowed by 
either the other state/country or Oregon.

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
Oregon tax liability for the year. Any credit not used 
this year is lost.

Itemized deduction
If you claim this credit, you must omit the tax on 
which the credit is based from your Oregon itemized 
deductions. See the instructions for Schedule OR-A.
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Oregon Cultural Trust contributions 
(ORS 315.675)

[Credit code 807]

Did you make a donation to an Oregon nonprofit 
cultural organization during the tax year? If so, 
you can make a matching donation to the Trust for 
Cultural Development Account and get an Oregon 
tax credit.

How much is the credit?

You may get a credit of up to 100 percent of the 
amount of the matching contribution, to a maximum 
credit of $500 per taxpayer ($1,000 on jointly filed 
returns). For spouses who file separate returns, each 
may claim a share that would have been allowed on 
a joint return in proportion to the contribution each 
spouse made.

Be sure to keep receipts from both organizations with 
your tax records.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply the 
allowable credit by your Oregon percentage. 

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any credit not used this 
year is lost.

For more information, contact the Oregon Cul-
tural Trust at (503) 986-0088 or visit their website at  
www.culturaltrust.org.

Oregon Veterans’ Home physicians  
(ORS 315.624)

[Credit code 808]

Physicians who provide medical care to residents of 
an Oregon Veterans’ Home (OVH) may be eligible for 
a credit of up to $5,000 per year.

Who can claim the credit?

Any resident or nonresident individual physician may 
qualify for the credit. The physician must be licensed 
to practice in Oregon (ORS chapter 677). They must 
provide care to a minimum of at least eight residents 
at an OVH. S corporation shareholders and partner-
ship members may only claim a credit based on the 
care they provided. The full amount of the credit 
shall be allowed to each taxpayer who qualifies in an 
individual capacity.

How much is the credit?

The credit is equal to the lesser of:

•	$1,000 for every eight residents for whom the physi-
cian provides care at an OVH; or

•	$5,000.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Your credit is 
the amount allowed to a full-year resident, multiplied 
by your Oregon percentage.

Certification required
You must obtain a letter from the OVH where you 
provided care. The letter must state that you missed 
no more than 5 percent of your scheduled visits dur-
ing the tax year. Keep the letter with your tax records; 
we may request it at a later date.

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any credit not used this year 
is lost.

Political contributions 
(ORS 316.102)

[Credit code 809—Schedule OR-ASC-NP only]
Oregon law allows a tax credit for political contribu-
tions. You may not claim this credit if your federal 
AGI exceeds $200,000 on a jointly filed return, or 
$100,000 on all other returns.

To qualify, you must have contributed money in 
the tax year you claim the credit. You must reduce 
the amount of your contribution by the fair market 
value (FMV) of any items or services you receive in 
exchange for your contribution. Contributions of 
goods or services don’t qualify. Keep receipts from 
the candidate or organization with your tax records.  
You can use copies of canceled checks as your receipt.

How much is the credit?
Your credit is equal to your contribution, limited to 
$100 on a joint return or $50 on a single or separate 
return. The $3 check-off on the Oregon tax return 
doesn’t qualify for this credit.

Partners or S corporation shareholders can claim a 
credit for their share of political contributions made 
by the partnership or S corporation. The contribu-
tion must meet all statutory requirements. The $50 
and $100 limits apply individually to each partner’s 
or shareholder’s return.

Which contributions qualify?
Candidates and their principal campaign committees. 
You can claim a credit for a contribution to a candidate 
for federal, state, or local elective office, or to the candi-
date’s principal campaign committee. To qualify, at least 
one of the following must occur in Oregon in the same 
calendar year in which you made your contribution:
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•	The candidate’s name must be listed on a primary, 
general, or special election ballot,

•	A prospective petition of nomination must be filed 
by or for the candidate,

•	A declaration of candidacy must be filed by or for 
the candidate, 

•	A certificate of nomination must be filed by or for 
the candidate,

•	A designation of a principal campaign committee 
must be filed with the Oregon Secretary of State’s 
Office. Note: The designation must be made in each 
year that a contribution is made in order to qualify 
under this provision.

Political action committees. You can claim a credit for 
contributions to political action committees (PACs). 
The PAC must have certified the name of its politi-
cal treasurer with the appropriate filing officer, usu-
ally the Secretary of State for statewide or regional 
elections, your county clerk for county elections, or 
your city recorder for city elections. PACs registered 
with the Federal Elections Commission may not be 
required to register in Oregon.

Political parties. Political parties can be national, 
state, or local committees of major political parties. 
Oregon also allows a tax credit for contributions 
made to minor political parties that qualify under 
state law. Contact the Oregon Secretary of State’s 
Office in Salem at (503) 986-1518 to see if a particular 
party qualifies.

Newsletter fund–credit not allowed. Oregon doesn’t 
allow a credit for contributions made to a newsletter fund.

Example 1: Holly contributes $275 for a fund-raising 
dinner for a presidential candidate. The FMV of the 
dinner was $35. Holly’s political contribution is $240, 
because she must reduce her $275 contribution by the 
$35 FMV of the dinner she received. Being single, 
Holly’s political contribution credit is limited to $50.

Example 2: Burt donated a desk, chair, and a four-drawer 
file cabinet to his favorite PAC headquarters. The FMV 
of the furniture is $410. Burt has a written receipt from 
the PAC. He can’t claim a political contribution credit 
because he didn’t contribute money to the PAC. His con-
tribution of office furniture doesn’t qualify for the credit.

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your tax 
liability for the year. Any credit not used this year is lost.

Reservation enterprise zone 
(ORS 315.506)

[Credit code 810]
Businesses in an Oregon reservation enterprise zone 
that pay tax to tribal governments can claim a credit 
against their Oregon income tax.

The credit is equal to either:

•	The tribal property tax on a business facility that is 
paid or incurred during the tax year; or

•	Any tribal tax paid or incurred during the tax year 
the business first begins to operate in the reserva-
tion enterprise zone.

The credit is allowed only if the tax is imposed uni-
formly in the territory.

Contact the Oregon Economic and Community 
Development Department for the location of reserva-
tion enterprise zones at: www.oregon4biz.com.

Who can claim the credit?
The credit is available to individuals, partnerships, 
and corporations. Any business activity qualifies, 
except property leasing. The business must have 
begun in 2002 or later. To compute your credit, fill 
out Form OR-REZT. Download the worksheet from 
our website or call us to order it. Keep the completed 
form with your tax records.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply the 
credit allowed a full-year resident by your Oregon 
percentage.

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any credit not used this 
year is lost.

Retirement income (ORS 316.157)
[Credit code 811]

Who can claim the credit?
If you were age 62 or older at the end of the year, and 
receive taxable retirement income, you may qualify 
for this credit. Retirement income includes payments 
in Oregon taxable income from:

•	State or local government public pensions.
•	Employee pensions.
•	Individual retirement plans.
•	Employee annuity plans.
•	Deferred compensation plans including defined 

benefits, profit sharing, and 401(k)s.
•	Federal pensions (includes military) not subtracted 

from Oregon taxable income.

How do you qualify for the credit?
•	Your household income is less than $22,500 ($45,000 

if married filing jointly); and
•	Your Social Security and/or Tier 1 Railroad Retire-

ment Board (RRB) benefits are less than $7,500 
($15,000 if married filing jointly), and

•	Your household income plus your Social Security 
and Tier 1 RRB benefits is less than $22,500 ($45,000 
if married filing jointly).
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What’s included in household income?
Household income generally includes all income 
(both taxable and nontaxable) each spouse received 
during the year. Household income includes gross 
income reduced by adjustments as reported in your 
federal AGI.

You also need to include items not in your federal 
AGI. These items include but aren’t limited to:

•	Veteran’s and military benefits.
•	Gifts and grants (total amount minus $500).
•	Disability pay.
•	Nontaxable dividends (other than “return of capital”).
•	Inheritance.
•	Insurance proceeds.
•	Nontaxable interest.
•	Lottery winnings.
•	RRB benefits (Tier 2 only).
•	Scholarships.
•	IRA conversions included in AGI.

See the household income checklist in the Appendix 
for more help. Don’t include:

•	Social Security and Tier 1 RRB benefits.
•	Your state tax refund.
•	Pension income excluded from federal AGI that is a 

return of your contributions.
•	Pensions that are rolled over into an IRA that aren’t 

included in AGI.

To determine household income, you must separate 
income (or loss) from businesses, farms, rentals or roy-
alties, and dispositions of tangible or intangible prop-
erty. Combine all income from similar sources for net 
income or loss. Any net loss from the source is limited 
to $1,000. NOL carrybacks or carryforwards aren’t 
allowed. Capital loss carryforwards aren’t allowed.

If the combined total of your depreciation, depletion, 
and amortization deductions is more than $5,000, 
you must add the excess back into household income.
You must also increase your household income by 
the Oregon income tax modification for depletion in 
excess of basis.

How much is the credit?
Use this worksheet to calculate your credit:

	 1.	 Enter the retirement income of the eligible 
individual(s) included on Form OR-40, line 7; or 
Form OR-40-N or OR-40-P Oregon column, lines 
15 S and 16S. (Don’t include Social  
Security/RRB benefits).	 1.	

	 2.	 Enter any federal pension income  
subtracted from Oregon income.  
See “Federal pension income.“	 2.	

	 3.	 Net Oregon taxable pension. Line 1  
minus line 2.	 3.	

	 4.	 Enter $7,500 ($15,000 if married  
filing jointly).	 4.	

	 5.	 Enter both spouses’ total Social  
Security and Tier 1 RRB benefits.	 5.	

	 6.	 Line 4 minus line 5, but not less  
than -0-.	 6.	

	 7.	 Enter your household income.  
See the next section to determine  
household income.	 7.	

	 8.	 Household income base. Enter  
$15,000 ($30,000 if married filing  
a joint return).	 8.	

	 9.	 Line 7 minus line 8, but not less  
than -0-.	 9.	

	10.	 Line 6 minus line 9, but not less  
than -0-.	 10.	

	11.	 Enter the smaller of line 3 or line 10.	11.	

	12.	 Multiply line 11 by 9% (0.09).  
This is your credit.	 12.		

Example 1: Jack owns a farm and has a $4,000 loss. He 
is also in a partnership whose main activity is farming. 
Jack has income from the partnership of $1,500. His net 
farm loss is $2,500. He may claim only $1,000 of this loss 
to compute his household income. Any net loss Jack has 
from other sources is also limited to $1,000 each. If Jack 
is claiming more than a $1,000 loss on any line, he must 
include a worksheet showing his computations.

Example 2: Callie has a business with gross income of 
$32,000 for the year. She has an $11,000 depreciation 
deduction. Other business expenses are $24,500. She 
reports a business loss for federal purposes of $3,500. 
She recomputed her business income for household 
income purposes. The allowable depreciation deduc-
tion is limited to $5,000. She reports $2,500 business 
income, computed as follows: 

$32,000 – ($5,000 + $24,500) = $2,500.

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
tax liability for the year. Any credit not used this year 
is lost.
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Rural emergency medical service 
providers (ORS 315.622)

[Credit code 812]
A tax credit is available for emergency medical ser-
vice providers in qualifying rural areas of Oregon. 
The credit is based solely on determination of eligi-
bility by the Office of Rural Health.

Who can claim the credit?
Emergency medical service providers who provide vol-
unteer services in a qualifying rural area may be eligible 
to claim this tax credit. However, the volunteer services 
must comprise at least 20 percent of the total services 
provided by the individual in the tax year. A qualifying 
rural area is an area in Oregon that is located at least 25 
miles from any city with a population of 30,000 or more.

How much is the credit?
The credit is the lesser of $250 or your tax liability for the year. 

Certification required
You must apply to the Office of Rural Health each year 
for confirmation of eligibility. Forms are available on 
their website at www.ohsu.edu/oregonruralhealth. 

Contact Rural Health in Portland at (503) 494-4450 if 
you have questions or need assistance. Keep a copy of 
the confirmation letter with your tax records for each 
year you claim the credit.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. If you meet 
the eligibility requirements, you may receive a credit. 
Multiply the credit by your Oregon percentage.

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
Oregon tax liability for the year. Any credit not used 
this year is lost. 

Rural health practitioners 
(ORS 315.613)

[Credit code 813]
A tax credit is available for health practitioners in certain 
rural areas of Oregon. The credit is based on eligibility 
requirements determined by the Office of Rural Health.

Who can claim the credit?
Physicians, dentists, podiatrists, optometrists, physi-
cian assistants, certified registered nurse anesthetists, 
and nurse practitioners can qualify for the credit.

You qualify for the credit if during the tax year you:

•	Engage in a rural practice for at least 20 hours per 
week, averaged over the month.

•	Remain willing to serve patients with Medicare 
coverage and medical assistance.

•	Have adjusted gross income (AGI) of $300,000 or 
less (unless you meet an exception). The AGI limi-
tation doesn’t apply to a physician who does one of 
the following:

	— Practices as a general surgeon. 
	— Specializes in obstetrics.
	— Specializes in family or general practice and 
provides obstetrical services.

The percentage of your patients who have Medicare 
coverage or receive medical assistance must bear the 
same or greater proportion to the ratio of such persons 
in need of care in the county served by your practice.   
This ratio is determined by the Office of Rural Health 
and may not exceed 20 percent Medicare patients or 
15 percent medical assistance patients.

S corporations and partnerships don’t qualify for 
the credit. However, shareholders and partners can 
take the credit on their individual Oregon income tax 
returns if they meet the eligibility requirements.

Certification required

You must apply to the Office of Rural Health each 
year for confirmation of eligibility. Visit their website 
at www.ohsu.edu/oregonruralhealth for more infor-
mation. Contact Rural Health in Portland at (503) 
494-4450 to request an application. Keep a copy of 
the confirmation letter with your tax records for each 
year you claim the credit.

How much is the credit?

The credit is based on the distance from your prac-
tice or hospital where you have a membership and a 
major population center in a metropolitan statistical 
area. The credit is the lesser of the amount shown in 
Table 11 and certified by the Office of Rural Health, 
or your tax liability for the year. You can claim the 
credit as long as you have a qualifying practice.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. If you meet the 
eligibility requirements, you may receive a credit. 
Multiply the credit by your Oregon percentage.

No carryforward. The credit can’t be more than your 
Oregon tax liability for the year. Any credit not used 
this year is lost.

Table 11. Rural health practitioner credit

Distance between practice/hospital 
and major population center, in miles

Credit amount

At least 10, but less than 20 $3,000
At least 20, but less than 50 $4,000
50 or more $5,000
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Carryforward credits
These credits aren’t refundable. They can’t exceed 
your tax liability for the current tax year, but you may 
carry forward the unused amount to a later tax year. 
For each credit you claim, you’ll report on Schedule 
OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP:

•	Any unused amount of the credit that was avail-
able to use (“awarded”) in a prior year and carried 
forward to this year; 

•	Any amount awarded for the first time this year; 
and

•	The amount you’re using this year.  

Report any amounts carried forward from a prior 
year or awarded for the first time in 2019 even if 
you’re not using the credit this year. Use credits that 
expire soonest first. Note: You can’t claim an amount 
carried forward from a prior year unless you filed a 
return and claimed the credit for that year, even if 
none of the credit was used. Refer to the instructions 
for the credit you are claiming for specific details. 

Agriculture workforce housing 
(ORS 315.164)

[Credit code 835]

Who can claim the credit?

You may be eligible for a credit if you construct or 
rehabilitate agriculture workforce housing for sea-
sonal or year-round agricultural workers and their 
immediate families in Oregon. The housing must be 
occupied at some time during the year by an agricul-
tural worker to qualify for the credit. Housing can’t 
be used for any purpose except housing for agri-
cultural workers. Your family members aren’t con-
sidered agricultural workers under this credit. The 
credit is available for projects that physically began 
on or after January 1, 1990. The project must be com-
pleted before you can claim the credit.

S corporations and partnerships. Individual share-
holders must claim the tax credit based on their 
percentage of S corporation ownership interest. Indi-
vidual partners must claim the tax credit based on 
their distributive share of partnership income. Your 
percentage should be listed on your Oregon K-1.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. The credit is 
available to nonresidents and part-year residents who 
build or restore agriculture workforce housing located 
in Oregon. You must multiply the allowable credit by 
the Oregon percentage on Form OR-40-N or OR-40-P.

How much is the credit?
The total credit is 50 percent of the eligible costs actu-
ally paid or incurred to complete the agriculture 
workforce housing project. The credit may be taken 
in any of the ten consecutive tax years beginning 
with the tax year the agriculture workforce hous-
ing project is completed. The amount of the credit 
allowed in any one tax year is 20 percent of the total 
credit. The amount of credit you can use in any one 
tax year, however, can’t exceed the lesser of:

•	Twenty percent of the total credit; or
•	Your tax liability for the year.

Construction and rehabilitation costs include those for 
financing, construction, excavation, installation, and 
permits. Construction costs also include acquisition of 
new or used prefabricated or manufactured housing. 
However, rehabilitation costs don’t include the costs 
of acquiring a building or an interest in a building. In 
either type of project, construction or rehabilitation, 
acquisition costs of land and existing improvements 
on that land used for the project aren’t eligible costs.

Depreciation and basis. Depreciation and amortiza-
tion expenses associated with the agriculture work-
force housing project aren’t decreased by the amount 
of the tax credit. Your adjusted basis in the housing 
project isn’t decreased by the tax credit.

Certification required
Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS) 
must inspect the agriculture workforce housing proj-
ect prior to occupancy. For an application, call OHCS 
in Salem at (503) 986-2000 or visit their website at 
www.ohcs.oregon.gov.

If your project qualifies, you’ll get a tax credit approval 
letter. Keep the letter with your tax records.

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to nine years after the year 
it was first allowed (awarded). If you don’t use the 
carryforward within nine years, it’s lost.

Example 1: Ann completes an agricultural workforce 
housing project in tax year 1 with eligible costs of 
$1,500,000. She receives a tax credit approval letter 
certifying a credit of $750,000 ($1,500,000 x 0.50). Ann 
may choose to claim her credit in any of the 10 con-
secutive tax years beginning with tax year 1.

Chart A shows Ann’s tax liabilities for the next 12 years. 
Because Ann’s tax liability is relatively small for tax 
years 1 and 2, she chooses to claim her credit in tax year 
3. Ann is allowed $150,000 (0.20 x 750,000) of her credit 
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in any given tax year. She reports the allowed amount 
in the “Amount awarded this year” column on Sched-
ule OR-ASC. Chart A shows the allowed amounts she 
will report as “awarded” each year on Schedule OR-
ASC, and the credit remaining after each year.

Chart A: Ann’s allowed and remaining credits per year

Year Tax liability
Amount 

awarded this 
year

Remaining 
credit

1 $500 $0 $750,000 
2 $1,000 $0 $750,000 
3 $90,000 $150,000 $600,000 
4 $127,000 $150,000 $450,000 
5 $170,000 $150,000 $300,000 
6 $50,000 $0 $300,000 
7 $95,000 $150,000 $150,000 
8 $40,000 $0 $150,000 
9 $32,000 $0 $150,000 
10 $60,000 $150,000 $0 
11 $0 $0 $0 
12 $250,000 $0 $0 

Chart B shows Ann’s tax liability and amount allowed 
each year from Chart A. It also shows the amount she 
uses each year and any unused amount carried forward 
as they’d be entered on Schedule OR-ASC. The amount 
she can use each year is limited to her tax liability for 
the year or $150,000, whichever is less. For example, in 
Year 3, Ann uses $90,000 of the $150,000 awarded for the 
year; for Year 4, she reports $60,000 ($150,000 – $90,000) 
as the amount carried forward from a prior year. 

Chart B: Ann’s prior year, awarded, and used credit 
amounts

Year Tax 
liability

Amount 
from prior 

year

Amount 
awarded 
this year

Amount 
used this 

year

1 $500 N/A $0 $0 

2 $1,000 N/A $0 $0 

3 $90,000 N/A $150,000 $90,000 

4 $127,000 $60,000 $150,000 $127,000 

5 $170,000 $83,000 $150,000 $150,000 

6 $50,000 $83,000 $0 $50,000 

7 $95,000 $33,000 $150,000 $95,000 

8 $40,000 $88,000 $0 $40,000 

9 $32,000 $48,000 $0 $32,000 

10 $60,000 $16,000 $150,000 $60,000 

11 $0 $106,000 $0 $0 

12 $250,000 $106,000 $0 $106,000 

Example 2: Use the same facts as Example 1, except 
that Ann decides to transfer her credit in tax year 6, 
when Chart A shows she has $300,000 available to 
transfer. Chart B shows that Ann would still have 
$33,000 carried forward from the credit allowed in 
tax year 5. She may use this amount until it’s gone 
or until the carryforward expires in tax year 14 (the 
ninth year after tax year 5), whichever happens first.

Alternative qualified research 
activities carryforward (ORS 317.154)

[Credit code 837]
This credit is only available to shareholders of an S 
corporation that qualified for the credit, and should 
be listed on the shareholder’s Oregon K-1. This credit, 
which expired in 2017, was allowed to corporations 
that incurred qualified research expenses. Any 
unused credit could be carried forward for up to five 
years after the year it was first awarded. Enter your 
carryforward amount in the “Amount from prior 
year” column and -0- in the “Amount awarded this 
year” column on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
five years after it was first awarded, it’s lost.

Biomass production/collection 
carryforward (ORS 315.141, 
315.144)

[Credit code 838]
This certified credit expired on December 31, 2017. 
Any unused credit could be carried forward for up 
to four years after the year it was first awarded. Enter 
your carryforward amount in the “Amount from prior 
year” column and -0- in the “Amount awarded this 
year” column on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
four years after it was first awarded, it’s lost. 

Bovine manure production/
collection (ORS 315.176, 315.179)

[Credit code 869]

Who qualifies?
If you are a producer or collector of bovine (cattle) 
manure that is used in Oregon as biofuel or to pro-
duce biofuel, you can claim a credit up to the amount 
of your tax liability.
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Certification required
This credit is certified by the Oregon Department of 
Agriculture. You can find out more information, read 
administrative rules, and download an application 
form from their website, www.oregon.gov/oda. 

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to four years after the year 
it was first awarded. If you don’t use the carryfor-
ward within four years, it’s lost. 

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You must pro-
rate your credit by your Oregon percentage.

Credit transfers. You may transfer your credit to 
another taxpayer. You and the transferee must jointly 
file a notice of tax credit transfer with us. Go to our 
website to download Form  OR‑TFR for information 
and instructions for completing the transfer notice.

Business energy carryforward 
(ORS 315.354, 315.357)

[Credit code 839]
The tax year ending December 31, 2012 was the last 
year this credit was certified. Any unused credit 
could be carried forward for up to eight years after 
the year it was first awarded. Enter your carryfor-
ward amount in the “Amount from prior year” col-
umn and -0- in the “Amount awarded this year” col-
umn on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
eight years after it was first awarded, it’s lost.

Child and dependent care 
carryforward (ORS 316.078)

[Credit code 840]
The last year to qualify for this credit was 2015. Any 
unused credit could be carried forward for up to five 
years after the year it was first awarded. Enter your 
carryforward amount in the “Amount from prior 
year” column and -0- in the “Amount awarded this 
year” column on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. 

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
five years after it was first awarded, it’s lost.

Child Care Fund contributions 
(ORS 315.213)

[Credit code 841]

Contributions to the Child Care Fund qualify for a 
credit on your Oregon income tax return. Your dona-
tion will help address child-care affordability, pro-
vider compensation, and quality assurance issues in 
Oregon. For details on the program, go to the Oregon 
Office of Child Care website, www.oregon.gov/occ.

Certification required
The Office of Child Care will compute your allow-
able tax credit and give you a certificate. The credit 
can’t be more than 50 percent of the amount contrib-
uted. Keep this certificate with your permanent tax 
records.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You can claim 
the credit allowed a full-year resident. 

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to four years after the year 
it was first awarded. If you don’t use the carryfor-
ward within four years, it’s lost.

Oregon itemized deduction
If you're claiming your donation to the Child Care 
Fund as an Oregon itemized deduction, you must 
add back any portion of the certified credit amount 
that you’re deducting. See “Itemized deduction add 
backs” in “Other items.” 

College Opportunity Grant (auction)
(Or Laws 2018, ch 108, § 2)

[Credit code 871]
You may be able to claim a tax credit if you partici-
pated in the College Opportunity Grant tax credit 
auction conducted by the Department of Revenue, 
in cooperation with the Higher Education Coor-
dinating Commission (HECC). Proceeds from the 
auction go to Oregon’s Opportunity Grant Fund. 
Total credits certified by the HECC each fiscal year 
are limited to $14 million. Visit the HECC website,  
www.oregon.gov/highered, for information about 
the Opportunity Grant Fund, and our website for 
information about upcoming auctions, and auction 
rules and procedures. 

Certification required
If you received a tax credit through the auction, your 
credit amount is shown on the certificate issued by 
the HECC. Keep this certificate with your tax records.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You can claim 
the full amount of the credit you received in the auc-
tion, limited by your tax liability for the year.

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
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be carried forward for up to three years after the auc-
tion year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
three years, it’s lost. This credit can’t be transferred 
or sold. 

Oregon itemized deduction
If you’re claiming this credit, you must add back 
the amount of your contributions, if any, that you’re 
including in your Oregon itemized deductions. See 
“Itemized deduction add backs” in “Other items.” 

Crop donation (ORS 315.156)
[Credit code 843]
Oregon allows a tax credit for crops donated to a 
gleaning cooperative, food bank, or other charitable 
organization that distributes food without charge. 
The organization receiving the donation must have 
a principal or ongoing purpose of distribution of 
food to children, homeless, unemployed, elderly, or 
low-income individuals. The organization must be 
located in Oregon and exempt from federal income 
taxes under the IRC.

To qualify for this credit, you must:

•	Be in the business of growing a crop to be sold for 
cash; and

•	Donate the crop to a tax-exempt organization located 
in Oregon; and

•	Complete Form OR-CROP, which must be signed 
by the organization receiving the donation. 

The crop must be fit for human consumption. The 
food must meet all quality and labeling standards 
imposed by federal, state, or local laws, even though 
the food may not be readily marketable due to appear-
ance, age, freshness, grade, size, surplus, or other 
condition. Eligible crops include, but aren’t limited to, 
bedding plants that produce food, orchard stock that 
produces food, and livestock that may be processed 
into food for human consumption.

How much is the credit?
The credit is 15 percent of the value of the quantity of 
the crop donated, computed at the wholesale market 
price at the time of donation. The wholesale market 
price is determined by either:

•	The amount paid to the grower by the last cash 
buyer of the particular crop, or

•	In the event there is no previous cash buyer, a price 
based on the market price of the nearest regional 
wholesale buyer or a regional u-pick market price.

Example: 	 5,000 pounds of potatoes at $ 0.10/lb.
		  5,000 x 0.10 = $500 (market value)
		  15% (0.15) x $500 = $75 (credit allowed)

Certification required

Keep the completed Form OR-CROP with your tax 
records to verify your donation. The organization 
where you donate the crop may have this form avail-
able, or you may download it from our website. Also, 
if there was a previous cash buyer, you must keep 
a copy of an invoice or other statement identifying 
the price received for crops of comparable grade or 
quality.

Part-year or nonresident. You must prorate this credit 
by multiplying the amount by your Oregon percentage.

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to three years after the year 
it was first awarded. If you don’t use the carryfor-
ward within three years, it’s lost.

Electronic commerce zone investment 
carryforward (ORS 315.507)

[Credit code 845]

This credit, which expired in 2017, was available to 
individuals and businesses that engage in electronic 
commerce in an Oregon enterprise zone or city desig-
nated for electronic commerce. Any unused amount 
could be carried forward for up to five years after the 
year it was first awarded. Enter your carryforward 
amount in the “Amount from prior year” column and 
-0- in the “Amount awarded this year” column on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
five years after it was first awarded, it’s lost.

Employer-provided dependent  
care assistance carryforward  
(ORS 315.204)

[Credit code 846 ]

This credit expired at the end of the 2015 tax year. 
Any unused credit could be carried forward for up to 
four years after the year it was first awarded. This is 
the last year that a carryforward may be used. Enter 
your carryforward amount in the “Amount from prior 
year” column and -0- in the “Amount awarded this 
year” column on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. 

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liabil-
ity for the year. If any amount carried forward from 
2015 isn’t used this year, it’s lost. 
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Employer scholarship (ORS 315.237)

[Credit code 847 ]

A tax credit is allowed to Oregon employers who 
have scholarship programs for their employees and 
their employees’ dependents. 

How much is the credit?

The credit is the smaller of:

•	Fifty percent of the amount of qualified scholar-
ship funds actually paid to or on behalf of qualified 
scholarship recipients during the tax year; or

•	$50,000.

Certification required

The credit must be certified by the Oregon Student 
Assistance Commission. Keep the certificate with 
your tax records.

For an application and more information, contact the 
commission in Eugene at (541) 687-7400 or toll-free 
from an Oregon prefix at (800) 452-8807, ext. 7400, or 
go to their website at www.oregonstudentaid.gov.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
credit by your Oregon percentage.

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to five years after the year it 
was first awarded. If you don’t use the carryforward 
within five years, it’s lost.

Energy conservation projects  
(ORS 315.331)

[Credit code 849]

This tax credit for energy conservation projects cer-
tified by the Oregon Department of Energy is no 
longer available. No new credits were certified for 
tax years that began after December 31, 2017. Any 
unused credit may be carried forward for up to five 
years after the year it was first awarded. 

If you have a credit that is claimed over multiple 
years, enter only the amount for tax year 2019 in the 
“Amount awarded this year” column on Schedule 
OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP; otherwise, enter -0- in that 
column, and enter any amount carried forward in the 
“Amount from prior year” column.

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
five years after it was first awarded, it’s lost.

Fish screening devices 
(ORS 315.138)

[Credit code 850]
A tax credit is available to taxpayers who pay to 
install fish screening devices required by the Oregon 
Department of Fish and Wildlife (ODFW).

Who can claim the credit?
The credit is available to individuals, partners, sole 
proprietorships, and S corporation shareholders. Share-
holders and partners can claim the credit based on their 
pro rata share of the certified costs.

How much is the credit?
Full-year residents. The credit is equal to the smaller of:

•	Fifty percent of the net costs of installing the device, 
or 

•	$5,000.

You can still claim any depreciation or amortization 
otherwise allowed. Don’t reduce your basis in the 
property by the credit amount.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply the credit 
allowed a full-year resident by your Oregon percentage.

Certification required
ODFW will send you a preliminary certificate within 
90 days of the receipt of plans, specifications, and 
other information it requests from you. After you 
complete the project, ODFW will send you a final cer-
tificate that includes the verified costs of the instal-
lation. Contact ODFW in Salem at (503) 947-6000 or 
toll-free from an Oregon prefix at (800) 720-6339, or 
go to www.dfw.state.or.us.

Keep the final ODFW certificate with your tax records. 
Also keep a statement showing the computation of 
the allowed credit, if this isn’t on the certificate.

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to five years after the year it 
was first awarded. If you don’t use the carryforward 
within five years, it’s lost.

Lender’s credit: affordable housing 
(ORS 317.097)

[Credit code 854]
This credit is only available to shareholders of an 
S corporation that qualifies for the credit, which 
should be listed on the shareholder’s Oregon K-1. 
This transferable certified credit is available to lend-
ing institutions making qualifying loans to finance 
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certified housing projects for low-income house-
holds. Annual certification by Oregon Housing and 
Community Services is required. 

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You may claim 
the full amount of the credit, limited by your tax lia-
bility for the year. 

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to five years after the year it 
was first awarded. If you don’t use the carryforward 
within five years, it’s lost. 

Lender’s credit: energy conservation 
carryforward (ORS 317.112)

[Credit code 848]

This credit is only available to shareholders of an S 
corporation that qualified for the credit. This credit, 
which expired in 2011, was allowed to commercial 
lending institutions that made loans to owners of 
oil- or wood-heated residential property, to finance 
energy conservation measures. Any unused credit 
could be carried forward for up to 15 years after the 
year it was first awarded. Enter your carryforward 
amount in the “Amount from prior year” column and 
-0- in the “Amount awarded this year” column on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
15 years after it was first awarded, it’s lost.

Long-term enterprise zone facilities 
carryforward (ORS 317.124)

[Credit code 853]

This credit is only available to shareholders of an S 
corporation that qualifies for the credit, which should 
be listed on the shareholder’s Oregon K-1. This cer-
tified credit was available to corporations that con-
structed and operated facilities in a qualified rural 
enterprise zone, where the facility was eligible for 
long-term exemption from property tax. Any unused 
credit could be carried forward for up to five years 
after the year it was first awarded. Enter your car-
ryforward amount in the “Amount from prior year” 
column and -0- in the “Amount awarded this year” 
column on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
five years after it was first awarded, it’s lost.

Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation 
(ORS 315.271)

 [Credit code 852]
IDAs are matched savings accounts that build the 
financial management skills of qualifying Orego-
nians with lower incomes while they save toward a 
defined goal. Oregon allows a tax credit for donations 
made to the Oregon IDA Initiative Fund during the 
tax year. The total amount of credits allowed to all 
taxpayers in any tax year may not exceed $7.5 million.

How much is the credit?
The credit amount is the percentage determined by the 
fiduciary agency, but may be no more than 90 percent of 
the donation made. The maximum credit amount allowed 
for any taxpayer in any tax year, including amounts car-
ried forward from an earlier tax year, is $500,000.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Your credit is 
the same as that allowed for a full-year resident. 

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. You may carry forward 
any unused credit for three years after the year when 
you made the donation. If you don’t use the carryfor-
ward within three years, it’s lost.

For information on how to make a donation to the 
Oregon IDA Initiative Fund, contact The Neighbor-
hood Partnership Fund at (503) 226-3001 or visit their 
website at www.neighborhoodpartnerships.org.

Oregon itemized deduction
If you’re claiming this credit, you must add back the 
amount of your donation, if any, that you’re including 
in your Oregon itemized deductions. See “Itemized 
deduction add backs” in “Other items.” 

Oregon Low-Income Community 
Jobs Initiative/New Markets 
(ORS 315.533)

[Credit code 855]
The New Markets tax credit was available for a quali-
fied equity investment made before July 1, 2016 in a 
qualified community development entity. For more 
information on qualifying investments and entities, 
visit www.oregon4biz.com, or contact the Oregon 
Business Development Department at (503) 986-0123.

How much is the credit?
The credit is equal to 39 percent of the purchase 
price of the qualified equity investment. It must be 
taken over seven years, beginning with the year of 
investment.
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The allowable tax credit for each of the seven years is:

•	Zero percent in the first and second years.
•	Seven percent of the purchase price in the third year.
•	Eight percent of the purchase price in each of the 

fourth through seventh years.

Certification required

You must have obtained certification from the Ore-
gon Business Development Department indicating 
the amount of your tax credit. Keep your certificate 
with your tax records.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
credit by your Oregon percentage.

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to five years after the year it 
was first awarded. If you don’t use the carryforward 
within five years, it’s lost. This credit can’t be trans-
ferred or sold.

Oregon Production Investment 
Fund (auction) (ORS 315.514)

[Credit code 856]

You may be able to claim a tax credit if you partici-
pated in the Oregon Production Investment Fund 
tax credit auction we conducted, in cooperation with 
the Oregon Film and Video Office. Proceeds from 
the auction go to the Oregon Production Investment 
Fund. Total credits certified by the Oregon Film and 
Video Office are limited to $14 million for each fiscal 
year. Visit the Oregon Film and Video Office website, 
www.oregonfilm.org, for information about the Ore-
gon Production Investment fund, and our website for 
information about upcoming auctions, and auction 
rules and procedures.

Certification required

If you received a tax credit through the auction, your 
credit amount is shown on your certificate issued by 
the Oregon Film and Video Office. Keep the certifi-
cate with your tax records.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. You can claim 
the full amount of the credit you received in the auc-
tion, limited by your tax liability for the year. 

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to three years after the auc-
tion year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
three years, it’s lost. This credit can’t be transferred 
or sold.

Oregon itemized deduction
If you’re claiming this credit, you must add back 
the amount of your contribution, if any, that you’re 
including in your Oregon itemized deductions. See 
“Itemized deduction add backs” in “Other items.” 

Pollution control facilities 
carryforward (ORS 315.304)

[Credit code 857]
This credit was certified by the Oregon Department 
of Environmental Quality (DEQ). The last year to 
apply for certification of a pollution control facility 
was 2008. The total amount of the certified credit 
was divided over the remaining useful life of the 
facility, up to a maximum of ten years. Any unused 
credit could be carried forward for up to three years 
after the year it was first awarded. Enter your car-
ryforward amount in the “Amount from prior year” 
column and -0- in the “Amount awarded this year” 
column on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
three years after it was first awarded, it’s lost.

Qualified research activities 
carryforward (ORS 317.152)

[Credit code 858]
This credit is only available to shareholders of an S 
corporation that qualified for the credit. This credit, 
which expired in 2018, was allowed to corporations 
that increased their qualified research expenses 
and basic research payments (IRC Section 41). Any 
unused credit could be carried forward for up to five 
years after the year it was first awarded. Enter your 
carryforward amount in the “Amount from prior 
year” column and -0- in the “Amount awarded this 
year” column on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
five years after it was first awarded, it’s lost.  

Renewable energy development 
contribution (auction) carryforward 
(ORS 315.326)

[Credit code 859]
The last year for this tax credit auction was 2017. 
Any unused credit could be carried forward for up 
to three years after the auction year. Enter your car-
ryforward amount in the “Amount from prior year” 
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column and -0- in the “Amount awarded this year” 
column on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP.

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
three years after the auction year, it’s lost. 

Renewable energy resource 
equipment manufacturing facility 
carryforward (ORS 315.341)

[Credit code 860]

This tax credit was certified by the Business Devel-
opment Department or Department of Energy. The 
deadline for filing an application for final certifica-
tion of a facility was December 31, 2013. The credit 
was claimed over a period of years. Any unused 
credit could be carried forward for up to eight years 
after the year it was first awarded. Enter your car-
ryforward amount in the “Amount from prior year” 
column and -0- in the “Amount awarded this year” 
column on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. 

The amount used can’t be more than your tax liability 
for the year. If you don’t use the carryforward within 
eight years after it was first awarded, it’s lost.

Residential energy (ORS 316.116)
[Credit code 861]

This certified credit expired on December 31, 2017. 
The credit was based on an estimate of annual energy 
savings for a variety of devices. The maximum credit 
allowed for devices certified before September 1, 2015 
was $1,500 per year, limited to your tax liability. The 
maximum credit allowed for devices certified on or 
after September 1, 2015 is $1,500 per device per year 
or your tax liability, whichever is less. For more infor-
mation about this credit, see an earlier edition of this 
publication. 

If you have a credit that is claimed over multiple 
years, enter only the amount for tax year 2019 in 
the “Amount awarded this year” column on Sched-
ule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP; otherwise, enter -0- in 
that column and any amount carried forward in the 
“Amount from prior year” column. Keep your cer-
tification, a copy of your application, proof of pay-
ment, and any supporting documentation with your 
tax records. Don’t include these items with your tax 
return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply the 
credit allowed a full-year resident by your Oregon 
percentage.

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to five years after the year it 
was first awarded. If you don’t use the carryforward 
within five years, it’s lost.

Rural technology workforce 
development (ORS 315.523)

[Credit code 868]
A tax credit is allowed to Oregon employers located 
in certain areas of the state who establish and imple-
ment an employee training program in collaboration 
with a local community college. The employer must 
be located in a county with these characteristics:

•	Population between 60,000 and 80,000;
•	Located outside the urban growth boundary of 

the Portland metro area or a city with population 
greater than 30,000;

•	Unemployment rate at least 1.5 percentage points 
greater than the statewide rate;

•	Has an agreement with an institute of higher edu-
cation to coordinate efforts to promote business 
enterprise throughout the county;

•	Is the site of a U.S. military base that employs at 
least 750 civilian and armed forces personnel; and

•	Has sufficient internet service to conduct electronic 
commerce.

How much is the credit? 
The credit is 12 percent of the costs to establish and 
implement the employee training program. Records 
sufficient to prove these costs must be kept for at least 
five years.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
credit by your Oregon percentage.

Carryforward. The amount used can't be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to three years after the year 
it was first allowed (awarded). If you don’t use the 
carryforward within three years, it’s lost. This credit 
can’t be transferred or sold. 

Transportation projects  
(ORS 315.336)

[Credit code 863]
All transportation project credits certified by the 
Department of Energy have expired. Any unused 
credit could be carried forward for up to five years 
after the year it was first awarded. 

If you have an alternative fuel vehicle project credit 
that is claimed over multiple years, enter only the 
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amount for tax year 2019 in the “Amount awarded 
this year” column on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-
NP; otherwise, enter -0- in that column and any 
amount carried forward in the “Amount from prior 
year” column.

For more information about these credits, see earlier 
editions of this publication. 

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to five years after the year it 
was first awarded. If you don’t use the carryforward 
within five years, it’s lost.

University Venture Development 
Fund contributions (ORS 315.521)

[Credit code 864]

A tax credit is available for contributions to Oregon 
University Venture Development Funds.

Who can claim the credit?

Any taxpayer who makes a qualifying charitable 
contribution to an Oregon University Venture Devel-
opment Fund is eligible for the credit. S corporations 

and partnerships may claim a credit for their 
contributions.

How much is the credit?
The credit is 60 percent of the amount contributed, as 
stated on the tax credit certificate. The amount of the 
credit allowed to be taken on your Oregon tax return 
may not be more than your tax liability for the year.

Certification required
The university that established the fund will issue a 
tax credit certificate to you. Keep this certificate with 
your tax records.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply the 
allowable credit by your Oregon percentage.

Carryforward. The amount used can’t be more than 
your tax liability for the year. Any unused credit may 
be carried forward for up to three years after the year 
it was first awarded. If you don’t use the carryfor-
ward within three years, it’s lost.

Oregon itemized deduction
If you're claiming this credit, you must add back 
the amount of your contribution, if any, that you’re 
including in  your Oregon itemized deductions. See 
“Itemized deduction add backs” in “Other items.”
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Refundable credits
Refundable credits may exceed your tax liability for 
the year. The amount of the credit that exceeds your 
tax liability is treated like an overpayment of tax and 
may be refunded to you.

Claim of right income repayment 
(ORS 315.068)

[Credit code 890]
Did you repay more than $3,000 of income taxed by 
Oregon in a prior year and claim a federal claim of 
right income repayment deduction or credit under 
IRC Section 1341(a)? If so, you may claim an Oregon 
credit based on the Oregon tax you paid in that earlier 
year on the income that you later repaid. Repayments 
of $3,000 or less don’t qualify for an Oregon credit.

See the instructions for Worksheet OR-CRC to calcu-
late your Oregon credit. Worksheet OR-CRC is avail-
able from our website or contact us to order it. Claim 
the credit on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. 

Note: If you’re claiming the federal deduction on 
Schedule A instead of the federal credit, see “Item-
ized deduction add backs” in “Other items.” If you’re 
claiming the federal deduction on a form or schedule 
other than Schedule A, see this topic in “Additions.” 

Earned income credit (EIC)  
(ORS 315.266)

You’re allowed an Oregon EIC only if you qualify for 
the EITC on your federal return. 

Your Oregon EIC is 11 percent of your federal EITC if 
you have a qualifying dependent who was younger 
than 3 years old at the end of the tax year; otherwise, 
your credit is 8 percent of your federal EITC. This 
credit is claimed on your return.

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
Oregon EIC by your Oregon percentage.

Manufactured home park closure 
(Temporary provisions following  
ORS 316.116)

[Credit code 891]
Did you move out of a manufactured home park 
because the park was closing? If so, you may be eli-
gible for a credit. To qualify, you must meet all of the 
following requirements:

•	Owned your manufactured home; and

•	Rented space in a manufactured home park that 
closed during the tax year; and

•	Occupied your manufactured home as your princi-
pal residence; and

•	Received notice from the landlord that the park 
was closing, and

•	Moved out of the manufactured home park (along 
with all members of your household) because of 
the park closure notice.

If you qualify, you can claim a $5,000 refundable 
credit on your tax return for the year that your house-
hold moved out of the park. To claim this credit, 
follow the instructions for Schedule OR-MPC and 
enter the credit amount on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-
ASC‑NP. You can download Schedule OR-MPC from 
our website or contact us to order it. Include Schedule 
OR‑MPC with your tax return.

Note: If you qualify for this credit, you may have 
received a payment from your landlord of $5,000, 
$7,000, or $9,000 depending on the size of your manu-
factured home. These payments can be subtracted on 
your Oregon return if they are included in taxable 
income on your federal return. See this topic under 
“Subtractions” for more information.

Working family household and 
dependent care (WFHDC) 
(ORS 315.264)

[Credit code 895]
This refundable credit is available to low- to moder-
ate-income working families who paid for dependent 
care during the year for one or more qualifying indi-
viduals. For more information, see the instructions 
for Schedule OR‑WFHDC. 

What are the income limitations for this 
credit?
Your federal AGI or your Oregon AGI, whichever is 
greater, must be at or below the allowable limit for 
your household size to be eligible for this credit.  

Household size AGI limit

2 $50,730

3 $63,990

4 $77,250

5 $90,510

6 $103,770

7 $117,030

8 or more $130,290

Credits–Refundable



150-101-431 (Rev. 04-01-22) 114

How much is the credit?
The credit amount is based on your income, care 
expenses paid, household size, and the age of your 
youngest qualifying individual. 

Part-year residents and nonresidents. Multiply your 
credit by your Oregon percentage.

Oregon itemized deduction for medical 
expenses 
Certain medical expenses that can be included in 
your Oregon itemized deductions are also quali-
fied expenses for this credit. If you claim medical 
expenses on Schedule OR-WFHDC, you may have 
to add back some or all of those expenses if you’re 
including them in your Oregon itemized deductions. 
See “Itemized deduction add backs” in “Other items.”

How do I claim the credit?
Download Schedule OR-WFHDC from our website 
or contact us to order a copy. You’ll also need a copy 
of your federal Form 2441, Child and Dependent Care 
Expenses. Figure your federal and Oregon AGI and 
complete Form 2441 before you calculate your credit. 

Review the instructions for Schedule OR-WFHDC 
carefully to see if you qualify for the credit. Make 
sure all the information you provide on Schedule OR-
WFHDC is complete and correct. We may ask you to 
verify the information you provide. If your informa-
tion is incorrect or incomplete, your credit might be 
delayed or denied.

Claim the credit on Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. 
Be sure to include this schedule and Schedule OR-
WFHDC when you file your Oregon return. 

Penalty: You may be charged a penalty if you know-
ingly claim or knowingly assist someone in claiming 
this credit falsely. The penalty is up to 25 percent of 
the amount claimed, and is in addition to the adjust-
ment or denial of the credit.

Oregon surplus credit (ORS 291.349)
The Oregon surplus credit, known as the “kicker,” is 
a way for state government to return some of your 
taxes to you when revenues are more than predicted. 
Every two years, the Oregon Department of Admin-
istrative Services (DAS) determines whether there is 
a surplus and the amount to be returned to taxpay-
ers as a kicker. If there’s a surplus, the kicker may be 
claimed on the return as a refundable tax credit or 
donated to the State School Fund. If there’s no sur-
plus, no kicker is available.

DAS has determined that there is a surplus for the 
most recent two-year period. For tax year 2019, the 
kicker is 17.171 percent of your 2018 personal income 
tax liability. For more information, see the instruc-
tions for your 2019 Oregon return. 
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Interest on underpayment of estimated tax
Do I owe underpayment interest?

If you were required to make estimated payments but 
paid less than the required amounts due by each pay-
ment date, you have an underpayment of estimated 
tax. Oregon charges interest on underpayment of the 
estimated tax due. If your 2019 tax after all credits 
and withholding is $1,000 or more, you must com-
plete Oregon Form OR-10 and submit it with your 
return. The form and instructions for calculating 
underpayment interest can be found in Publication 
OR-10. Download the publication from our website or 
contact us to order it.

Figure your required annual 
payment

Required annual payment

To calculate your underpayment interest, you must 
determine your required annual tax payment. Your 
required annual payment is the total amount of all 
tax payments, including estimated tax and withhold-
ing, you must make in order to avoid paying under-
payment interest. Your required annual payment is 
the lesser of:

•	Ninety percent of the net tax shown on your 2019 
tax return; or

•	One hundred percent of the tax shown on your 2018 
Oregon return (commonly called Safe Harbor).

Annual estimated tax payment
Your annual estimated tax payment is your required 
annual payment minus your withholding.

Required installment payment
Your annual estimated tax payment may be paid all 
at once or you may pay it in up to four installments. 
If you make the payment in installments, determine 
the required installment amount using one of these 
two methods: 

•	Regular installment: Divide your annual esti-
mated payment by the number of installment 
periods.

•	Annualized installment: Your installment is based 
on your actual income for the installment period. 
This method may benefit part-year residents and 
taxpayers whose income isn’t received evenly 
throughout the year. Use Worksheet OR-10-AI to 
figure your annualized income and installments.

See Publication OR-10 for details and instructions for 
calculating your required installment amount.

2019 required installment due dates
If you made one annual estimated payment, the due 
date was April 15, 2019. If you paid in installments 
and you’re a calendar-year filer, your 2019 install-
ment payments were due on: 

April 15, 2019
June 17, 2019
September 16, 2019
January 15, 2020

Underpayment interest calculation
Underpayment interest is calculated on estimated tax 
that is due but isn’t paid by the installment due date. 
For 2019 and 2020, the interest rate is 6 percent per 
year. Interest is calculated daily, based on a 365-day 
year. 

Follow the instructions for Form OR-10 to calculate 
your underpayment interest and report the total 
amount on your return. Include Form OR-10 when 
you file your return.

Exceptions to paying interest on an  
underpayment of estimated tax

If you qualify for one of the following exceptions, 
you don’t have to pay interest on an underpayment of 
estimated tax. See Publication OR-10 for more details, 
examples, and instructions for claiming an excep-
tion on both Form OR-10 and your return. You must 
include Form OR-10 and any required form or state-
ment when you file your return.

Exception 1—Farmers and commercial fishermen. If 
at least two-thirds (66.7 percent)* of your 2018 or 2019 
gross income is from farming, oyster farming, or fish-
ing, you won’t have to pay underpayment interest.

*Only reported income from specific federal forms 
and schedules are considered in this calculation. The 
form or schedule must be included when you file 
your return.

Exception 2—Prior year. You don’t need to pay inter-
est on an underpayment of estimated tax if all of the 
following were true for you:

•	You had no Oregon tax liability* for 2018, or you 
weren't required to file an Oregon return; and

•	Your 2018 tax year was a full 12-month period; and
•	You were a full-year Oregon resident for 2018. 

*Your Oregon tax liability is your liability after tax credits, 
but before withholding and estimated tax payments.
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Exception 3—You retired at age 62 or older or 
became disabled in 2018 or 2019, and you had a rea-
sonable cause for the underpayment. Include a state-
ment explaining the cause.

Exception 4—Underpayment was due to casualty, 
disaster, or other unusual circumstances, and it 
would be unfair to impose underpayment interest. 
Include a statement with your return explaining the 
unusual circumstance. An unusual circumstance 
isn’t the same as reasonable cause.

Exception 5—First-year S corporation shareholders 
who are nonresidents or were part-year residents. 
No interest is due on underpayment of S corporation 
income as a shareholder if:

•	The income is for the first year that S corporation 
status is elected; and

•	You’re a nonresident for 2019; or
•	You were a part-year resident for 2018.
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Estimated tax
Should I make estimated tax payments?

Oregon law requires some taxpayers to pay esti-
mated tax. Oregon’s estimated tax system is similar 
to the federal system, but when you figure estimated 
tax for Oregon:

•	Use Oregon income tax laws and tax rates.
•	Don’t include Social Security tax (FICA), self-employ-

ment tax, or household employment tax.

In most cases, you must make estimated tax payments 
if your 2020 tax after all credits and withholding will 
be $1,000 or more when you file your return. 

Pay estimated tax for tax year 2020 if:

You expect your 2020 tax after all credits and with-
holding will be $1,000 or more when you file your 
return and you estimate that your total withheld tax 
will be less than:

•	 One hundred percent of the tax shown on your 2019 
income tax return that covered all 12 months of the year; or

•	Ninety percent of the tax to be shown on your 2020 
income tax return; or

•	Ninety percent of the tax on your 2020 annualized 
income.

Even if you expect that your 2020 tax after all cred-
its and withholding will be less than $1,000, you may 
still make estimated tax payments.

For instructions and examples, download Publication 
OR-ESTIMATE from our website or contact us to order it.

Note: Estimated tax payments aren’t a substitute for 
withholding Oregon income tax from wage income. 
If you need to increase the amount of Oregon tax 
withheld from your wages or other income, give an 
updated Form OR-W-4 to your employer or other 
payer. You can download Form OR-W-4 from our 
website or contact us to order it.

Exceptions

Farmers and commercial fishermen 
Farmers and fishermen aren’t required to pay esti-
mated tax if at least two-thirds of their 2019 gross 
income or two-thirds of their 2020 estimated gross 
income from all sources is from farming or fishing. 
This includes oyster farming. See “Interest on under-
payment of estimated tax.”

Fiduciaries
You don’t need to pay estimated tax on behalf of an 
estate or trust.

Special situations

Nonresidents and part-year residents
Nonresidents figure Oregon estimated tax only on 
income that is:

•	Subject to Oregon tax; or
•	From conducting a trade or business within Oregon; or
•	Single ticket Oregon lottery winnings greater than $600.

S corporation, limited liability company 
(LLC), or partnership income
If you’re a shareholder in an S corporation, a mem-
ber of an LLC, or in a partnership with income from 
Oregon sources, you may need to make estimated 
tax payments. Undistributed income should be com-
puted on a per share, per day basis and reported as 
earned evenly through the year.

Part-year residents. For the part of the year you were 
a nonresident, you are subject to Oregon tax on your 
share of the Oregon income reported by the S corpo-
ration, LLC, or partnership. Partners must also report 
guaranteed payments. For the part of the year you were 
a resident, you’re subject to Oregon tax on your share of 
all the S corporation, LLC, or partnership income.

Nonresidents. You’re subject to Oregon tax on your share 
of the Oregon income reported by the S corporation, LLC, 
or partnership. You’re also subject to Oregon tax on any 
guaranteed payments from the partnership. The pay-
ments are apportioned using the partnership’s percentage.

Retirees
If you’re retired or will soon retire, you may need 
to make estimated tax payments if you’re unable to 
have Oregon income tax withheld from your retire-
ment income. Contact the payer of the income to 
see if withholding is possible. If so, complete Form 
OR-W-4 and give it to the payer.

Retirees who are Oregon residents but not living in 
Oregon may be subject to tax on their Oregon-source 
pensions. This law applies to retirees who still have 
Oregon as their domicile but file as nonresidents. See 
“Retirement income” under “Income.”

Nonresident aliens
Estimated tax filing requirements are the same for 
both U.S. citizens and nonresident aliens. Nonresi-
dent aliens can be either Oregon residents or nonresi-
dents. If you, or your spouse, are a nonresident alien, 
you must make separate estimated tax payments. 
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Household income 
checklist
Use this list to decide if an item must be included in total 
household income.

Alimony and separate maintenance	 Yes

Annuities and pensions (reduced  
by cost recovery)	 Yes

Business income (reduced by expenses)  
(losses limited to $1,000)	 Yes

Cafeteria plan benefits		  No

Capital loss carryover		  No

Capital losses (in year determined)  
(losses limited to $1,000)	 Yes

Child support	 Yes

Child support included in  
public assistance	 Yes

Clergy’s rental or housing allowance,  
in excess of expenses claimed to 
determine federal AGI	 Yes

Compensation for services performed
Back pay	 Yes
Bonuses	 Yes
Clergy fees	 Yes
Commissions	 Yes
Director fees	 Yes
Fees in general (trustee, executor,  
jury duty)	 Yes
Lodging for convenience of employer		  No
Meals for convenience of employer		  No
Salaries	 Yes
Severance pay	 Yes
Tips and gratuities	 Yes
Wages	 Yes

Deferred compensation
Contributions made		  No
Payments received	 Yes

Depletion in excess of basis	 Yes

Depreciation, depletion, and  
amortization in excess of $5,000	 Yes

Disability income (entire amount)	 Yes

Dividends, taxable and nontaxable	
Credit union savings account  
“dividends” (interest)	 Yes
Insurance policy “dividends”  
(return of premium)		  No
Return of capital dividends		  No
Stock dividends	 Yes
Tax-exempt dividends	 Yes

Earned income credit, advanced		  No

Estate and trust income (also see “Inheritance”) 
(losses limited to $1,000)	 Yes

Farm income (reduced by expenses)  
(losses limited to $1,000)	 Yes
Agricultural program payments	 Yes
Patronage dividends	 Yes
Proceeds from sale of crops and 
livestock	 Yes
Rents	 Yes
Sale of services	 Yes

Fellowships	 Yes

Foreign income excluded from  
federal AGI	 Yes

Foster child care (reduced by  
expenses)		  No

Funeral expenses received		  No

Gains on sales (receipts less cost)	 Yes
Excluded gain for Oregon on  
sale of residence		  No

Gambling winnings (without  
reduction for losses)	 Yes

Gifts and grants (totaling more  
than $500 in value)	
Cash	 Yes
Gifts from nonspouse  
in the same household	 Yes
Gifts from spouse in the  
same household		  No
Gifts other than cash (report at  
fair market value)	 Yes
Payment of indebtedness by  
another person	 Yes

Grants and payments by foreign  
governments not included in  
federal AGI	 Yes

Grants by federal government for  
rehabilitation of home		  No

Gratuities and tips	 Yes

Hobby income	 Yes

Honoraria	 Yes

IRA
Conventional IRA
Payments received	 Yes
Payments contributed		  No
Rollovers or conversions not included 
	 in AGI 		  No
	 Rollovers or conversion 
		  included in AGI	 Yes
Roth IRA
Payments received		  No
Payments contributed	 Yes
Rollovers or conversions not included
	 in AGI		  No
Rollovers or conversion
	 included in AGI	 Yes

Inheritance	 Yes
From spouse who resided in the  
same household		  No
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Insurance proceeds
Accident and health	 Yes
Disability payments	 Yes
Employee death benefits	 Yes
Life insurance	 Yes
Personal injury damages  
(less attorney fees)	 Yes
Property damage if included in  
federal income	 Yes
Reimbursement of medical expense		  No
Sick pay (employer sickness  
and injury pay)	 Yes
Strike benefits	 Yes
Unemployment insurance benefits	 Yes
Workers’ compensation	 Yes

Interest, taxable and nontaxable	
Contracts	 Yes
Municipal bonds and other securities	 Yes
Savings accounts	 Yes
Tax-exempt interest	 Yes
U.S. Savings Bonds	 Yes

Losses on sales (to extent used in  
determining AGI) (losses  
limited to $1,000)	 Yes

From sales of real or personal  
property (nonbusiness)		  No

Lottery winnings	 Yes

Lump-sum distribution (less  
cost recovery)	 Yes

Military and veteran’s benefits (taxable and 
nontaxable)
Combat pay	 Yes
Disability pensions	 Yes
Educational benefits (GI Bill)	 Yes
Family allowances	 Yes
Pensions	 Yes

NOL carryback and carryover		  No
Partnership income (reduced by  

expenses) (losses limited to $1,000)	 Yes
Parsonage (rental value) or housing  

allowance in excess of expenses  
used in determining federal AGI	 Yes

Pensions and annuities (taxable  
and nontaxable) (reduced by cost  
recovered in the current year)	 Yes

Prizes and awards	 Yes

Public assistance benefits	
Aid to blind and disabled	 Yes
Child care payments	 Yes
Child support included in  
public assistance	 Yes
Direct payments to nursing home		  No
Fuel assistance		  No
In-home services approved by the  
Department of Human Services		  No
Medical mileage reimbursements	 Yes
Medical payments to doctors		  No

Oregon Supplemental Income  
Program (OSIP)	 Yes
Payments for medical care, drugs, 
medical supplies, and services for  
which no direct payment is received		  No
Reimbursements of expenses paid or  
incurred by participants in work  
or training programs		  No
Special Shelter Allowance		  No
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program (SNAP) benefits		  No
Surplus food		  No
Temporary assistance for  
needy families (TANF)	 Yes	
Women, Infants, and Children  
program (WIC)		  No

Railroad Retirement Board benefits	 Yes

Refunds
Earned income credit		  No
Federal tax		  No
Property tax		  No
Oregon income tax		  No
Other states’ income tax (if included  
in federal AGI)	 Yes
Prior-year rental assistance payment		  No

Reimbursements in excess  
of expenses	 Yes

Rental allowances paid to ministers  
not included in federal AGI	 Yes

Rental and royalty income (reduced  
by expenses) (losses limited 
to $1,000)	 Yes

Residence sales (see “Gains on sales”)	 Yes
Retirement benefits (see “Pensions” 
and “Social Security”)
Scholarships (excess more than $500)	 Yes
Sick pay	 Yes
Social Security (taxable and  

nontaxable)	
Children’s benefits paid to parent	 Yes
Children’s benefits paid to your child		  No
Disability pension	 Yes
Medicare payments of medical  
expenses		  No
Medicare premiums deducted from  
Social Security	 Yes
Old-age benefits	 Yes
Social Security Disability  
Insurance (SSDI)	 Yes
Supplemental Security Income (SSI)	 Yes
Survivor benefits	 Yes

Stipends (excess more than $500)	 Yes
Strike benefits	 Yes
Support from parents who don’t  

live in your household	 Yes
Trust income	 Yes
Unemployment insurance benefits	 Yes

Wages	 Yes

Household income checklist
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WFHDC medical expense worksheet
1.	 Enter your expense limit (Schedule OR-WFHDC, line 27).	 1.	 $___________________

2.	 Enter the total expenses you paid for care [Schedule OR-WFHDC, line 15(c)]	 2.	 $___________________

3.	 Enter the expenses from step 2 that are also included in your medical expenses 
	 on Schedule OR-A, line 1.	 3.	 $___________________

4.	 Step 2 minus step 3. These are your non-medical WFHDC care expenses.	 4.	 $___________________

Compare step 4 to step 1. If step 4 is more than step 1, your non-medical expenses 
are more than your expense limit and you don’t have an add back. If step 4 is less 
than step 1, continue to step 5. 

5.	 Step 1 minus step 4. 	 5.	 $___________________

6.	 Enter your medical and dental expenses from Schedule OR-A, line 1.	 6.	 $___________________

7.	 Enter your medical expense deduction from Schedule OR-A, line 4.	 7.	 $___________________

8.	 Step 7 divided by step 6. Round to three decimal places.	 8.	 ____________________

9.	 Step 8 times step 3. This is the portion of your WFHDC medical care expenses 
	 that you included in itemized deductions.	 9.	 $___________________

10.	 Enter the smaller of step 5 or step 9. This is the portion of the medical care 
	 expenses you deducted and on which you based your credit.	 10.	 $___________________

11.	 Enter your Oregon itemized deductions from Schedule OR-A, line 23.	 11.	 $___________________

12.	 Enter the Oregon standard deduction for your filing status plus any 
	 additional standard deduction you could claim if you didn’t itemize 
	 deductions (see “Other items”).	 12.	 $___________________

13.	 Step 11 minus step 12. This is the difference between your itemized 
	 deductions and standard deduction.	 13.	 $___________________

14.	 Enter the smaller of step 10 or step 13. This is the amount you must add back. 
	 Use addition code 163 on Schedule OR-ASC, section 1, or enter this amount 
	 with a minus sign and use modification code 651 on Schedule OR-ASC-NP, 
	 section 4.	 14.	 $___________________

WFHDC medical expense worksheet
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Numeric codes are required when you are claiming or reporting an adjustment, addition, subtraction, modification, or credit on 
Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP. If you have multiple items that use the same code, other than a credit for income taxes paid to 
another state, add them together and enter the total as a single item. Include Schedule OR-ASC or OR-ASC-NP when you file your 
return. (Note: For page numbers, see the item’s listing in the Publication OR-17 Index.) 

Adjustments—Schedule OR-ASC-NP, Section 1 only. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code
Certain business expenses of reservists, performing artists, and fee-basis government 
offi  cials–Form 1040, Schedule 1, Line 24 X X 002

Health savings account deduction—Form 1040, Schedule 1, Line 25       X X 003
Penalty on early withdrawal of savings—Form 1040, Schedule 1, Line 30     X X 004
Write-in adjustments on Form 1040, Schedule 1, Line 36, or Form 1040NR, Line 34           X X 005

Additions—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 1 or  OR-ASC-NP, Section 2. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code
Claim of right income repayments              X X X 103
Disposition of inherited Oregon farmland or forestland   X X X 106
Federal election on interest and dividends of a minor child X X X 107
Federal income tax refunds             X 109

Net operating loss—non-Oregon source X X X 116

Oregon College & MFS 529 Savings Plan nonqualifi ed withdrawal X X X 117
Oregon deferral of reinvested capital gain   X X X 118
Partnership and S corporation modifi cations for Oregon X X X 119
Business credit—unused              X X X 122
Federal subsidies for employer prescription drug plans X X X 123
Federal law disconnect X X X 131
Accumulation distribution from certain domestic trusts X X X 132
Fiduciary adjustment from Oregon estates and trusts X X X 133
Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction        X 134
Individual development account nonqualifi ed withdrawal        X X X 137
Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation credit add back        X 138
Lump-sum distribution from a qualifi ed retirement plan      X X X 139
Passive foreign investment company income       X X X 140
Child Care Fund contributions        X 142
Oregon Production Investment Fund contributions        X 144
University Venture Development Fund contributions      X 146
Income taxes paid to another state by a pass-through entity X X X 148
Basis of business assets transferred to Oregon   X X X 150
Depletion in excess of property basis    X X X 151
Depreciation diff erence for Oregon X X X 152
Federal depreciation disconnect X X X 153
Gain or loss on sale of depreciable property with diff erent basis for Oregon X X X 154
Passive activity losses X X X 155

Publication OR-CODES

Numeric Codes for Oregon 
Adjustments, Additions, Subtractions, Modifications, and Credits 

Effective for tax year 2019

Congress extended several tax provisions by passing Public Law 116-94.
As a result, this publication was updated to include subtraction code 308 on December 31, 2019.

Numeric codes



150-101-431 (Rev. 04-01-22) 123
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Additions—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 1 or  OR-ASC-NP, Section 2.
(Continued from page 1)

OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code

Suspended losses X X X 156
Federal estate tax on income in respect of a decedent X 157
Interest on state and local government bonds outside of Oregon X X X 158
Federal subtraction for retirement savings rollover from individual development account X X X 159
Charitable donations not allowed for Oregon X 160
Nonresident capital loss carryovers X X X 161
WFHDC medical expenses X 163
ABLE account nonqualifi ed withdrawal X X X 164
College Opportunity Grant contributions X 165

Subtractions—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 2 or OR-ASC-NP, Section 3. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code
American Indian X X X 300
Artist's charitable contribution X 301
Construction worker and logger commuting expenses X X X 303
Federal gain previously taxed by Oregon X X X 306
Federal pension income X X X 307
Tuition and fees X X X 308
Federal income tax from a prior year X 309
Fiduciary adjustments from Oregon estates and trusts X X X 310
Foreign tax X 311
Individual development account contributions X X X 314
Interest and dividends on U.S.  bonds and notes X X X 315
Land donation to educational institutions X X X 316
Interest from state and local government bonds X X X 317
Military active duty pay X X X 319
Mortgage interest credit X 320
Net operating loss for Oregon X X X 321
Oregon lottery winnings X X X 322
Partnership and S corporation modifi cations for Oregon X X X 323
Oregon College & MFS 529 Savings Plan deposit X X X 324
Oregon income tax refund X X 325
Previously taxed employee retirement plans X X X 327
Public Safety Memorial Fund award X X X 329
Railroad Retirement Board benefi ts: tier 2, windfall/vested dual, supplemental, and 
railroad unemployment benefi ts X X X 330

U.S. government interest in IRA or Keogh distributions X X X 331
Scholarship awards used for housing expenses X X X 333
Legislative Assembly salary and expenses X X X 335
Film production labor rebate—Greenlight Oregon Labor Rebate Fund X X X 336
Mobile home park capital gain X X X 338
Capital Construction Fund (CCF) contributions X X X 339
Federal business and health coverage credits X X X 340
Income on a composite return X X 341
Oregon Investment Advantage X X X 342
Mobile home tenant payment X X X 344

Numeric codes
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Subtractions—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 2 or OR-ASC-NP, Section 3.
(Continued from page 2)

OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code

Taxable benefi ts for former RDPs X X X 347
Previously taxed IRA conversions X X X 348
Special Oregon medical X X X 351
DISC dividend payments X X X 352
Depreciation diff erence for Oregon X X X 354
Gain or loss on sale of depreciable property with diff erent basis for Oregon X X X 355
Passive activity losses X X X 356
Suspended losses X X X 357
Basis of business assets transferred to Oregon X X X 358
Marijuana business expenses not allowed on the federal return X X X 359
ABLE account deposit X X X 360
First-time home buyer savings account contributions and earnings X X X 361

Modifi cations—Schedule OR-ASC-NP, Section 4 only. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code
Artist’s charitable contribution X 600
Federal income tax refunds + X X 601
Federal tax from a prior year X X 602
Foreign tax  X X 603
Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction + X X 604
Federal estate tax on income in respect of a decedent + X X 605
Federal mortgage interest credit X X 607
Federal business and health coverage credits X X 609
Child Care Fund contributions + X X 642
Oregon Production Investment Fund contributions + X X 644
University Venture Development Fund contributions + X X 646
Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation credit add back + X X 648
Claim of right income repayment + X X 649
Charitable donations not allowed for Oregon + X X 650
WFHDC medical expenses + X X 651
College Opportunity Grant contributions +  X X 652
+ Must be entered as a negative number.

Standard credits—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 3 or OR-ASC-NP, Section 5. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code
Income taxes paid to another state X X X 802
Mutually-taxed gain on the sale of residential property X X X 806
Oregon Cultural Trust contributions  X PR PR 807
Oregon Veterans' Home physicians X PR PR 808
Political contributions X X 809
Reservation enterprise zone X PR PR 810
Retirement income X X X 811
Rural emergency medical technicians X PR PR 812
Rural health practitioners X PR PR 813
Pass-through income taxes paid to another state X X X 815

Numeric codes
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Carryforward credits—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 4 or OR-ASC-NP, Section 6. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code

Agriculture workforce housing X PR PR 835
Biomass production/collection carryforward X PR PR 838
Business energy carryforward X X X 839
Child and dependent care carryforward X PR PR 840
Child Care Fund contributions X X X 841
Crop donation X PR PR 843
Electronic commerce zone investment X PR PR 845
Employer-provided dependent care assistance carryforward              X X PR 846
Employer scholarship                 X PR PR 847
Energy conservation projects        X X X 849
Fish screening devices              X PR PR 850
Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation    X X X 852
Oregon Low Income Community Jobs Initiative/New Markets        X X X 855
Oregon Production Investment Fund contributions         X X X 856
Pollution control facilities carryforward   X X X 857
Renewable Energy Development Fund contributions carryforward         X X X 859
Renewable energy resource equipment manufacturing facility carryforward X X X 860
Residential energy              X PR PR 861
Transportation projects        X X X 863
University Venture Development Fund contributions X PR PR 864
Reforestation of underproductive forestlands X X X 867
Rural technology workforce development X PR PR 868
Bovine manure production/collection X PR PR 869
College Opportunity Grant contributions X X X 871

Carryforward credits available only to S corporation shareholders.
 Agriculture workforce housing loans (S corporation)              X X X 836
 Alternative qualifi ed research activities carryforward (S corporation)                 X X X 837
 Lender’s credit: aff ordable housing (S corporation) X X X 854
 Lender’s credit: energy conservation carryforward (S corporation) X X X 848
 Long-term enterprise zone facilities carryforward (S corporation)       X X X 853
 Qualifi ed research activities carryforward (S corporation)          X X X 858

Refundable credits—Schedule OR-ASC, Section 5 or OR-ASC-NP, Section 7. OR-40 OR-40-N OR-40-P Code
Claim of right              X PR PR 890
Mobile home park closure    X X X 891
Working family household and dependent care (WFHDC)       X PR PR 895
PR indicates a credit that must be prorated.

Numeric codes
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A
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Depletion............................................................................... 53
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Federal income tax refunds................................................ 54
Federal subsidies for employer prescription drug plans.... 55
Fiduciary adjustment........................................................... 85
Gain on the sale of an Oregon residence.......................... 85
Gambling losses claimed as an itemized deduction....... 56
Income taxes paid to another state.................................... 56
Individual Development Account

Nonqualified withdrawal.................................................56
Rollover to retirement account........................................56

In general............................................................................... 52
Interest and dividends on government bonds of  

other states................................................................... 56
Lump-sum distributions..................................................... 57
Nonqualified withdrawal

ABLE account.................................................................... 52 
Individual Development Account.................................. 56
Oregon 529 College Savings Network........................... 58

Nonresident capital losses.................................................. 57
Partnership and S corporation modifications for Oregon.... 82
Passive activity losses.......................................................... 86
Sale of assets......................................................................... 85
Unused business credits...................................................... 58
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deduction..................................................................... 58
Addresses............................................................................... 131
Adjustments to income

Alimony paid........................................................................ 48
Educator expenses............................................................... 49
Fee-basis government officials, business expenses of.... 48
Health Savings Account deduction................................... 49
In general............................................................................... 48
IRA or self-employed SEP and SIMPLE contributions..... 49
Moving expenses.................................................................. 50 
Performing artists, business expenses of.......................... 48
Reservists, business expenses of........................................ 48
Self-employed health insurance......................................... 50
Self-employment tax............................................................ 50
Student loan interest............................................................ 50
Tuition and fees deduction................................................. 51

Write-in adjustments on federal Form 1040, Line 22...... 51
Agriculture workforce housing—credit.......................... 104
Air carrier employees............................................................ 41
Alimony

Paid, deduction—adjustment............................................. 48
Received, income................................................................. 42

Alternative qualified research activities–credit............. 105
Amended returns................................................................... 29
American Indian—subtraction............................................ 59
Amtrak Act.............................................................................. 43
Appeals

Appealing a deficiency based on federal audit  
reports or audit reports of other states.................... 37

Conference............................................................................ 37
Doubtful liability.................................................................. 38
Interest............................................................................. 37, 38
Notice of Assessment.......................................................... 36
Notice of Deficiency............................................................. 36
Oregon Tax Court................................................................. 38
Paying your taxes during the appeal................................ 38
Penalty or interest................................................................ 37
Revenue Online........................................................ 36, 37, 38
Written objection.................................................................. 37

Appendix............................................................................... 118
Artist’s charitable contribution—subtraction................... 60
“As if” federal returns........................................................... 17
Audit	 ....................................................................................... 35

B
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Biomass production/collection—credit............................ 105 
Bona fide residence test........................................................ 14
Bond interest............................................................... 56, 67, 69
Bovine manure production/collection—credit............... 105 
Business energy—credit..................................................... 106
Business income or loss........................................................ 42
Business tax credits from pass-through entity................. 82

C
Capital Construction Fund—subtraction.......................... 61
Capital gain................................................................. 42, 57, 90
Capital loss carryover difference—addition..................... 52
Child Care Fund contributions

Credit................................................................................... 106
Itemized deduction add back............................................. 88

Claim of right income repayments
Addition................................................................................ 52
Credit................................................................................... 113
Itemized deduction add back............................................. 88

College Opportunity Grant contributions
  Credit................................................................................. 106
  Itemized deduction add back........................................... 88

Commercial fishermen
Estimated tax...................................................................... 117
Underpayment interest..................................................... 115

Community property income........................................ 18, 41
Commuting expenses, construction worker/logger—

subtraction.................................................................. 61
Composite return, filing....................................................... 16

Income on, subtraction........................................................ 67
Conversions and exchanged property—subtraction....... 62
Credits, carryforward

Agriculture workforce housing....................................... 104
Alternative qualified research activities......................... 105
Biomass production/collection........................................ 105

Index



150-101-431 (Rev. 04-01-22) 127

Bovine manure production/collection........................... 105 
Business energy.................................................................. 106
Child and dependent care................................................ 106
Child Care Fund contribution.......................................... 106
College Opportunity Grant contribution....................... 106 
Crop donation..................................................................... 107
Electronic commerce zone investment............................ 107
Employer-provided dependent care assistance............. 107
Employer scholarship........................................................ 108
Energy conservation project............................................. 108
Fish screening devices....................................................... 108
Lender’s credit: affordable housing................................ 108
Lender’s credit: energy conservation.............................. 109
Long-term enterprise zone facilities................................ 109
New Markets...................................................................... 109
Oregon IDA Initiative Fund donation............................ 109
Oregon Low-Income Community Jobs Initiative.......... 109
Oregon Production Investment Fund............................. 110
Pollution control facilities................................................. 110
Qualified research activities............................................. 110
Renewable energy development contribution............... 110
Renewable energy resource equipment  

manufacturing facility...............................................111
Residential energy...............................................................111
Rural technology workforce development......................111
Transportation projects.......................................................111
University venture development fund contributions.... 112

Credits, refundable
Claim of right income repayment.................................... 113
Earned income.................................................................... 113
Manufactured home park closure................................... 113
Working Family Household and Dependent Care  

(WFHDC)................................................................... 113
Oregon surplus (kicker).................................................... 114

Credits, standard
Exemption............................................................................. 93
Income taxes paid to another state.................................... 95
Mutually-taxed gain on the sale of residential property.... 99
Oregon Cultural Trust contributions............................... 100
Oregon Veterans’ Home Physicians................................ 100
Political contributions....................................................... 100
Reservation enterprise zone............................................. 101
Retirement income............................................................. 101
Rural emergency medical service providers.................. 103
Rural health practitioners................................................. 103

Credit types............................................................................. 92
Crop donation—credit......................................................... 107

D
Dam workers, nonresident................................................... 42
Deceased person’s return........................................................ 8
Deductions and modifications............................................ 87

Itemized deductions............................................................ 87
Standard deduction............................................................. 89

Age 65 or older, blind....................................................... 89
Single or married filing jointly dependents.................. 89

Dependent
Filing threshold...................................................................... 9
Standard deduction............................................................. 89

Depletion—addition.............................................................. 53
Depreciation and amortization............................................ 82
Direct deposit of refund....................................................... 25
DISC dividend payments—subtraction............................ 62
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Disqualified charitable contributions............................... 87 
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In general............................................................................... 43
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Other state government obligations—addition............... 56
U.S. government obligations—subtraction...................... 67 

Domicile................................................................................... 13

E
Earned income—credit........................................................ 113
Educator expenses—adjustment......................................... 49
Electronic commerce zone investment—credit.............. 107
Electronic filing for Oregon................................................. 11
Employee retirement plans, previously taxed—

subtraction.................................................................. 72
Employer scholarship—credit........................................... 108
Energy conservation project—credit................................ 108
Estimated tax......................................................................... 117
Exempt income

Air carrier employees, nonresident................................... 41
American Indian.................................................................. 59 
Amtrak Act............................................................................ 43
Federal pension for service before 10/1/91..................... 64 
Hydroelectric dam workers, nonresident........................ 42
Interest and dividends on U.S. bonds and notes............. 67 
Interstate transportation wages, nonresident.................. 43
Legislator compensation..................................................... 69
Local government bond interest........................................ 69
Manufactured dwelling park capital gain........................ 69
Manufactured dwelling park closure payments............. 70
Military pay, nonresident.................................................... 22
Military spouse’s wages, nonresident............................... 23
Oregon Investment Advantage.......................................... 71
Oregon lottery winnings..................................................... 69
Public Safety Memorial Fund awards............................... 73 
Railroad Retirement Board benefits.................................. 46
Scholarship awards used for housing expenses.............. 73 
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Important mailing addresses
If you are responding to a specific notice or letter, use the address and contact information listed on that correspondence. 
Send all returns and forms to the address listed on it or its instructions. See our website for additional mailing addresses.

Physical address:
Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555

Forms and publications requests:
Forms
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999
Salem OR 97309-0990

Federal ITIN information:
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14999
Salem OR 97309-0990

Tax Information Authorization and Power 
of Attorney for Representation form:
Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555
Fax: (503) 945-8735

Return after tax has been assessed:
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14600
Salem OR 97309-5049

Donations to State School Fund:
Oregon Department of Education
Attention: OFA Cashier
255 Capitol Street NE
Salem OR 97310-1206

Injured spouse refund requests:
Attention: Accounts Resolution Team
Oregon Department of Revenue
955 Center Street NE
Salem OR 97301-2555

Written objections, conference requests, 
and requests for interest or penalty adjustments:
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14725
Salem OR 97309-5018

Appeals to the Oregon tax court:
Oregon Tax Court
Magistrate Division
1163 State Street
Salem OR 97301-2563

Appeals of interest on underpayment of tax:
UND Team
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14725
Salem OR 97309-5018



Miscellaneous Oregon income tax information for tax years 2016–2019
(Refer to prior year tax booklets before filing delinquent or amended returns)

Tax year 2016 2017 2018 2019

Return due date
(Calendar year filer)

4/18/17 4/17/18 4/15/19 7/15/20

Standard deduction
Single (can be 
claimed on another’s 
return)

$1,050* $1,050* $1,050* $1,100*

Single $2,155 $2,175 $2,215 $2,270
Married filing 
jointly or qualifying 
widow(er)

$4,315 $4,350 $4,435 $4,545 

Married filing 
separately

$2,155† $2,175† $2,215† $2,270†

Head of household $3,475 $3,500 $3,570 $3,655

Federal tax 
subtraction 
maximum

$6,500–$0‡ $6,550–$0‡ $6,650–$0‡ $6,800–$0‡

Exemption credit $195–$0x% $197 or $0x% $201 or $0x% $206 or $0x%

Oregon College and MFS 529 Savings Plans and ABLE account contribution maximum
Joint return $4,620 $4,660 $4,750 $4,865 

All others $2,310 $2,330 $2,375 $2,435

Marginal tax rates
Single 
Married
filing 
separately

5% First $3,350 First $3,400 First $3,450 First $3,550
7% $3,351–$8,450 $3,401–$8,500 $3,451–$8,700 $3,351–$8,900
9% $8,451–$125,000 $8,501–$125,000 $8,701–$125,000 $8,901–$125,000
9.9% Over $125,000 Over $125,000 Over $125,000 Over $125,000

Married 
filing jointly 
Head of 
household
Qualifying
widow(er)

5% First $6,700 First $6,800 First $6,900 First $7,100
7% $6,701–$16,900 $6,801–$17,000 $6,901–$17,400 $7,101–$17,800
9% $16,901–$250,000 $17,001–$250,000 $17,401–$250,000 $17,801–$250,000
9.9% Over $250,000 Over $250,000 Over $250,000 Over $250,000

*	 Greater of amount shown or earned income plus $350, but not more than the standard deduction for a single filer.
†	 If your spouse itemizes deductions, your standard deduction is $0.
‡	 If federal AGI is $125,000 or greater, the federal tax subtraction is limited. Use the federal tax subtraction worksheet.
x	 If federal AGI is more than $100,000 ($200,000 for a joint return), the exemption credit amount is $0.
%	 The additional exemption credit for a disabled child or severely disabled taxpayer or spouse is $0 if AGI is over $100,000, 

regardless of filing status.
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