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W-4 Information for Employers

What form do my employees use to claim 
allowances for Oregon?

Oregon doesn’t have its own withholding allowance 
form. Use IRS Form W-4.

What do I do if my employee doesn’t file a W-4?

You should use “single, -0-“ allowances if you receive 
no other information from the employee.

Does the Department of Revenue require that 
copies of W-4s be sent to them?

Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 150-316.182 
requires employers to send a copy of Form W-4 to 
the us within 20 days of receiving it if the employee 
claims: 

•	More than 10 allowances for federal or state 
purposes;

• Exemption from withholding, and you expect the 
employee’s income to be more than $200 per week 
for both federal and state purposes; or

•	Exemption from withholding for state purposes 
but not federal purposes.

If a hardcopy of the W-4(s) is unavailable, provide a 
report listing the following:

•	Employee name.
•	Social Security number (SSN).
•	Employee’s current address.
•	Status and number of allowances or exempt.
•	Date W-4 was signed or processed.
•	Federal employer identification number (FEIN).

These copies or reports should be sent to:

W-4 Project Manager
Oregon Department of Revenue
PO Box 14560
Salem OR 97309

What conditions must be met for an 
employee to be allowed to claim exempt?

An employee is allowed to claim exempt if they 
didn’t owe any (net) Oregon tax last year and had a 
right to a refund of all state income tax withheld and 
they don’t expect to owe any (net) Oregon tax this 

year and expect to have a right to a refund of all state 
income tax withheld. [Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
3401, 3402; OAR 150-316.177(A)]

Is there any time that an employer wouldn’t 
honor a W-4 as filed?

No. You should honor the W-4 the employee filed 
unless you receive a Determination Letter from the us 
or the IRS.

What is a Determination Letter and who 
receives a copy?

A Determination Letter is a document stating that we 
have changed the employee’s status and/or allow-
ances and instructs the employer to withhold state 
tax based upon the change. Both the employee and 
the employer receive a Determination Letter.

When you receive a Determination Letter from us, 
change the employee’s status and/or allowances for 
state withholding purposes only. This determination 
stays in effect indefinitely. The employee may sub-
mit a new W-4 to us for review if their tax situation 
changes. Continue to withhold based on the Determi-
nation Letter unless you receive a new Determination 
Letter.

Can an employee have a different 
withholding amount for state than they do 
for federal?

Yes. The employee should indicate on the W-4 the 
desired number of state allowances and mark on the 
bottom of the form: “For Oregon Only.” Line G on 
the W-4 form is a federal credit only. Don’t include 
any state exemptions on this line.

What authority does the Department of 
Revenue have to request personal income, 
dependent and/or tax deduction information 
from an employee? Does this apply to an 
employee claiming 10 or fewer than 10 
withholding allowances?

Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 314.425 authorizes the 
department to request any books, papers, accounts, 
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or other information necessary to carry out any law 
imposing tax on or measured by net income. ORS 
316.167 requires withholding of tax from employ-
ees’ wages by employers in payment of employees’ 
taxes, determined by net income.

OAR 150-316.182 provides that the employer shall 
send the department copies of employees’ W-4 
Forms claiming “Exempt” or “Excessive” (over 10). 
It also provides that the department may make a 
written request of an employee for verification of the 
statements in the certificate. However, the depart-
ment may require verification of any status and/or 
number of allowances claimed at its discretion.

Have questions? Need help?

General tax information..............www.oregon.gov/dor		
Salem......................................................... (503) 378-4988 
Toll-free from an Oregon prefix........... 1 (800) 356-4222 

Asistencia en español:
Salem......................................................... (503) 378-4988
Gratis de prefijo de Oregon................ 1 (800) 356-4222

TTY (hearing or speech impaired; machine only):
Salem......................................................... (503) 945-8617
Toll-free from an Oregon prefix......... 1 (800) 886-7204 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA): Call one of the 
help numbers for information in alternative formats.


