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An overview of Oregon’s recreational marijuana taxes 

• The state tax rate is 17 percent. 
• Municipalities can enact an additional tax of up to 3 percent with the approval of 

voters. 
• Only retailers licensed by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) can 

sell recreational marijuana. 
o Estimates indicate approximately 350 licensed retailers in 2015–17 and 

approximately 550 licensed retailers in 2017–19. 
• Our rules require monthly payments. Payments are due on the last day of each 

month for retail sales from the previous month. For example, the tax for 
January’s sales is due by February 28. 

• Payments are accepted by check, money order, cashier’s check, bank account 
transfer, credit or debit card, or cash. Cash payments are by appointment only at 
the Revenue building in Salem only.  

• Taxpayers can keep 2 percent of the state tax to cover their administrative costs. 
• Returns are due on the last day of the month following the quarter’s end 

(January 31, April 30, July 31, October 31).  

• Returns are only accepted electronically through Revenue Online at 
www.oregon.gov/dor.  

Revenue disbursement   

Per  House  Bill  2041  (2015),  we’ll  use  marijuana  tax  revenue  to  cover  our  costs  for  
administering  the  marijuana  tax.  After  that,  money  will  be  distributed  as  follows:  

• Common  School  Fund:  40  percent.  
• Mental  Health,  Alcoholism,  and  Drug  Services  Account  (ORS  430.380):  20  

percent.  
• State  Police:  15  percent.  
• Cities,  for  local  law  enforcement:  10  percent.  
• Counties,  for  local  law  enforcement:  10  percent.  
• Oregon  Health  Authority,  for  alcohol  and  drug  abuse  prevention,  early  

intervention,  and  treatment  services:  5  percent.  

Disbursements  will  be  determined  by  the  number  of  licenses  issued  by  OLCC  in  a  given  
area.  Areas  that  prohibit  recreational  marijuana  facilities  won’t  receive  any  marijuana  
tax  revenue.  



Information on local taxes 

In November 2016, voters in some municipalities approved local marijuana taxes of 3 
percent. Many of those municipalities decided to have us collect those taxes on their 
behalf. A list of those municipalities is available on our website.   

Starting in with February’s payment for taxes collected in January: Businesses located 
in municipalities where we’re responsible for the collection of the tax will include both 
state and local taxes in their monthly payment. Businesses located in a municipality 
that’s collecting its own taxes should contact the municipality to find out how to file 
and pay their local taxes. They’re still required to make monthly payments and 
quarterly filings to the Department of Revenue for their state taxes, regardless of how 
the local tax is being administered.  

For  more  information  on  marijuana  taxes,  visit  www.oregon.gov/dor/marijuana.    
  

 


