
Oregon Administrative Rule 715-045-0007 

License Fees 

(1)(a) Before issuing a career school license under ORS 345.010 to 345.470450, the Superintendent 

Executive Director shall collect a nonrefundable, annual license fees based on the license fee schedule in 

ORS 345.080. 

(b) For purposes of ORS 345.080, “tuition income” means “gross tuition income,” as that term is defined 

at OAR 581-045-0001 and 715-045-0007. 

(2) Applications for a new license must be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee, The initial 

license fee will be based on the fourth step of the license fee schedule in ORS 345.080. Thereafter, the 

renewal license fee will be computed on the basis of the previous fiscal or calendar year's total gross 

tuition income. 

(3) Total gross tuition income includes all direct tuition charges including any laboratory fee. Total gross 

tuition income does not include tuition refunds or registration fees and costs for books, supplies, tools 

and equipment purchased by students. 

(4) The renewal license fee for out-of-state schools as defined in OAR 581-045-0006(11) shall be 

computed on total gross tuition income received from students recruited and enrolled from Oregon. 

(5) All license fees are nonrefundable. 

(3) The commission shall collect a nonrefundable fee of $12 to conduct a search of a closed career 

school’s transcripts and, if any are found, provide four copies of a former student’s transcript. If more 

than four copies are requested, the requestor shall pay a nonrefundable fee of $2 for each additional 

copy. 

(4) Teacher registration applications shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee of $75. 

(5) Requests to verify a teacher’s registration, training, or experience shall be accompanied by a 

nonrefundable verification fee of $25. 

(6) Applications for teacher trainee registrations must be accompanied by a nonrefundable registration 

fee of $7. 

(7) Requests to determine whether an out-of-state applicant for a cosmetology license is qualified to 

take a test of the Board of Cosmetology shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable review fee of $25. 

(8) The commission shall collect a nonrefundable fee of $100 for processing: 

(a) Career school license renewal applications submitted after the applicable due date established in 

OAR 715-045-0062. This fee shall be in addition to any civil penalties that may be assessed for renewal 

applications that are not submitted in compliance with the requirements of OAR 715-045-0062 and any 

other applicable rules. 

Comment [BM1]: ORS 345.470 was repealed in 
1995 by section 72, chapter 343, Oregon Laws 1995. 



(b) Payments to the Tuition Protection Fund established under ORS 345.110 after the due dates 

established in OAR 715-045-0029. This fee shall be in addition to any civil penalties that may be assessed 

for payments to the Fund that are not submitted in compliance with the requirements of OAR 715-045-

0029 and any other applicable rules. 

(9) The commission shall collect the annual, nonrefundable cosmetology school inspection fee of $100 

established in ORS 345.450 from schools teaching hair design, barbering, esthetics, or nail technology. 

This inspection fee shall be transferred to the Health Licensing Office. 

(10)(a) The commission shall assess a nonrefundable fee of $200 for investigations of career schools 

when the commission determines that a career school has violated any provision of ORS 345.010 to 

345.450, or any rule adopted pursuant to ORS 345.010 to 345.450. 

(b) If the commission must engage an individual or business, such as a forensic accountant or an 

attorney, for assistance in conducting an investigation, then the commission shall assess a 

nonrefundable fee in an amount equal to the investigative costs incurred by the commission; however, 

the amount of the fee may not exceed $5,000. 

 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 345.080, 345.110, & 345.450  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 345.080, 345.110, 345.325, 345.430 & 345.450  
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