Final Order on Default

State Mortuary and Cemetery Board
State of Oregon

In the Matter of the Intern Apprenticeship
Certificate Application of: Agency Case No.: 11-1038

TERRON VANDERGRIFT,
FINAL ORDER on DEFAULT
Applicant

On July 23, 2012, the Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board (Board) properly served a
Notice of Proposed Denial of Application and Opportunity for Hearing (Notice) on Terron
Vandergrift (Applicant) that it intended to deny his application for an Intern Apprenticeship
Certificate for violations ORS 692.180(a), (b), and (g) and ORS 670.280(3).

The Notice offered Applicant an opportunity for a hearing if requested within 60 days
from the date the Notice was mailed. The Notice was mailed certified to the home address
provided by the Applicant. The Notice was returned not deliverable and unable to forward. The
Notice was also mailed certified to Applicant’s employer, was signed as received on July 25,
2012. Applicant did not request a hearing within this 60-day period or otherwise. The Notice
designated the Board’s file on this matter as the record for purposes of default.

NOW THEREFORE, after considering the Board’s file relating to this matter, the Board
enters the following Final Order by Default:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Applicants for Intern Apprenticeship Certificate must apply on a form provided by the
Board and consent to a background investigation. OAR 830-011-0050(1).

2. Applicants are informed by means of written notice on the application, that any
misrepresentation or omission is cause for refusal to issue a certificate.

3. By application received on June 7, 2011, Applicant applied to the Board for an Intern
Apprenticeship Certificate.

4. The Application’s Background Information section, Question #3, asks Applicant, “Have you
ever been arrested, charged or cited for anything other than traffic violations? If “Yes,” you
must provide your detailed, complete and accurate written account(s) of the facts and
circumstances of each arrest or cite (include any dismissals). If possible, attach a copy of the
citation or report.” Applicant wrote “N0” on the Application.
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5. The Application’s Background Information section, Question #4, asks “Have you ever been
convicted of, or are you currently charged with, committing a crime, whether or not
adjudication was withheld? If you answer “Yes,” please attach to this application: a) a
signed, dated written statement explaining the circumstances of each incident; b) a copy of
the charging document; and c) a copy of the official document which demonstrates the
resolution of the charges or any final judgments. If not attached, the application may be
considered incomplete and returned.” Applicant wrote “No” on the Application.

6. Applicant failed to disclose an arrest and conviction. Specifically, on May 1, 2008,
Applicant, age 23, was arrested and charged with Driving Under the Influence of an
Intoxicant (a gross misdemeanor) by the Washington State Patrol in Spokane County,
Washington. On May 16, 2008, in Spokane County District Court (Case No. C00666217),
Applicant pled guilty to an amended charge of Negligent Driving in the First Degree (a
misdemeanor), and received a fine of $1,000.00 ($750.00 suspended), 90 days in jail
(suspended), and six months probation.

7. On June 8, 2011, the Board’s investigator interviewed Applicant about his Application.
Applicant made the following statements:

a. When the investigator told the Applicant he found an arrest and conviction in
Applicant’s criminal history, Applicant denied ever being arrested or charged
with a crime.

b. When the investigator mentioned the Washington misdemeanor, Applicant
responded, “Oh that.” Applicant then stated that he was issued a simple citation
and never formally arrested or taken into custody so he did not consider that an

arrest.
c. When the investigator asked if Applicant was handcuffed by the police,
Applicant stated “No.”

d. When the investigator asked if Applicant was driven to another location by a
police officer, Applicant stated “No.”

e. Applicant then stated he was merely stopped and issued a citation so he did not
consider it a formal arrest.

8. Washington State Police report for Case No. C0666217 documents the May 1, 2008
investigation and arrest of Applicant on DUI charges by a Washington State Patrol Trooper.
The Trooper reports that Applicant was physically arrested and transported in the Trooper’s
patrol vehicle to the Washington State Police office in Spokane, WA.

CONCLUSION OF LAW

9. Applicant misrepresented his criminal history and failed to answer truthfully and completely
on his Application as described above in Section 6 which is grounds for denial of the
Application under former OAR 830-050-0050(2) (2010), and ORS 692.180(1)(a) and (b),
which is grounds for license denial under OAR 830-011-0050.
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10. Applicant’s conduct as described above in Sections 6 and 7 has a demonstrable bearing
upon the standards of the funeral service internship apprenticeships and profession and is
cause for denial of the Application pursuant to former OAR 830-050-0050(2) (2010) and
former OAR 830-050-0050(9) (2010), ORS 692.180(1)(a) and (b), and ORS 670.280(3).

11. Violation of a provision of ORS chapter 692 or any rule adopted thereunder is grounds for
denial of an intern apprenticeship Application.

12. Denial of Applicant’s intern apprenticeship certificate Application is appropriate under the
circumstances

ORDER
1. Applicant’s Intern Apprenticeship Certificate Application is hereby denied.

2. This Final Order shall become effective when signed by the Executive Director of the Board.

DATED and ENTERED this_23" _ day of October, 2012.

____<s> Michelle Gaines
Michelle Gaines
Executive Director
Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board

Date of Service: October 23" | 2012

Appeal Rights: You are entitled to judicial review of this order in accordance with ORS
Chapter 183.482. You may request judicial review by filing a petition for review with the Court
of Appeals in Salem, Oregon within 60 days from the date of service of this order. If this order
was mailed to you, the date of service is the date of mailing, not the day you received it.
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