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Proposed Rule Amendments   
As recommended by Policy Subcommittee 

DRAFT #4 
 

Board Meeting January 29, 2013 

MORTUARY AND CEMETERY BOARD 

830-001-0000 Model Rules of Procedure and Notice of Proposed Rulemaking  

(1) The Attorney General's Uniform Model Rules of Procedure under the Administrative Procedures Act, which 
became effective January 1, 2008  January 1, 2012 are by this reference adopted as rules of administrative 
procedure of the Board and shall be controlling except as otherwise required by statute or rule.  

(2) Prior to the adoption, amendment or repeal of any rule, the Mortuary and Cemetery Board shall give notice of the 
intended action:  

(a) In the Secretary of State's Bulletin referred to in ORS 183.360 at least 15  21 days before the effective date of the 
intended action  rule;  

(b) By mailing, or if requested, emailing or mailing postcard notice, a copy of the notice to persons on the 
Mortuary and Cemetery Board's mailing list established pursuant to ORS 183.335(8) at least 28 days before the 
effective date of the rule;  

(c) By mailing, emailing, or furnishing a copy of the notice to the United Press International and Associated Press, 
Oregon Funeral Directors Association and the Cemetery Association of Oregon; and 

(d) By mailing, emailing, or furnishing a copy to To licensees, certificate holders of the Board, State Medical 

Examiner, the Center for Health Statistics of the State Health Division, District Attorneys within the state; the Oregon 
Funeral Directors Association and the Cemetery Association of Oregon. 

(e) By emailing a copy of the notice to the legislators specified in ORS 183.335(15) at least 49 days before the 
effective date of the intended action. 

[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General’s Model Rules of Procedure is available from the office of the 
Attorney General or Mortuary Board.]  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 183.341, 183.545, 692.160 & 692.320 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 183.335 & 183.360 
Hist.: FDB 15, f. & ef. 10-15-76; FDB 2-1979, f. & ef. 2-21-79; FDB 1-1980, f. & ef. 3-28-80; SMB 1-1984, f. & ef. 10-
22-84; MCB 1-1986, f. & ef. 10-21-86; MCB 1-1993, f. 4-14-93, cert. ef. 4-16-93; MCB 1-1997, f. 6-18-97, cert. ef. 7-
1-97; MCB 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-22-98; MCB 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-09  

830-020-0030 Reciprocal Licensure 

(1) An applicant for reciprocal licensure must apply to the Board on the most current form provided by the Board. The 
application must be accompanied by the following: 

(a) The reciprocal fee as prescribed by OAR 830-020-0040;  

(b) A certified copy of the applicant's birth certificate;  



 
OMCB Draft #4 - Proposed Rule Amendments with Changes after Public Comment was considered and 
AAG reviewed and PSC made Recommendations   January 29, 2013    Page 2 of 9 
 

(c) A certified copy of transcripts from a school accredited by an Association of Schools and Colleges demonstrating 
completion of an Associate’s degree or higher degree (for funeral service practitioner licensure) or proof of passing 
an accredited course of funeral service education (for embalmer licensure);  

(d) A certification from the state(s) the applicant is or was licensed in that includes: length of apprenticeship, if any, 
examination score, date licensed, status of license at the present time, and whether the applicant's license has ever 
been suspended or revoked or other disciplinary action taken;  

(e) Proof that the applicant is or was licensed and has practiced, respectively, as a funeral service practitioner or an 
embalmer in another state for three of the past five years immediately preceding the respective application date; and  

(2) An applicant for reciprocal funeral service practitioner license must pass the Board's funeral service practitioner 
examination as a means of providing satisfactory proof to the Board that the applicant has the requisite qualifications 
for licensing as a funeral service practitioner in this state. The examination must include questions related to:  

(a) Oregon and federal laws, rules and regulations relating to the care, preparation, disposition and transportation of 
human remains; and survivor death benefits. 

(b) survivor death benefits. Reciprocal applicants for funeral service practitioner license must receive a score of not 
less than 75 percent, based on the total number of questions, in order to pass the examination. Reciprocal applicants 
are eligible to take the examination at the regularly scheduled examination dates if their examination application is 
received at least 14 days prior to the examination date.  

(3) Applicants for reciprocal embalmer licensure must show evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has 
successfully passed the National Board Examination as administered by the Conference of Funeral Service 
Examining Boards or an equivalent examination written by the Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards. The 
examination must include two sections, funeral service arts and funeral service sciences, and the applicant must 
receive a cumulative average score of at least 75 percent on the sections with not less than 70 percent on either of 
these two sections.  

(4) A license must not be issued to a reciprocal applicant before a complete background check has been performed 
and Board approval has been received.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 692.160 & 692.320 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 692.140 
Hist.: MCB 1-1986, f. & ef. 10-21-86; MCB 1-1993, f. 4-14-93, cert. ef. 4-16-93; MCB 1-1997, f. 6-18-97, cert. ef. 7-1-
97; MCB 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-22-98; MCB 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-09; MCB 1-2011, f. 7-29-11, cert. ef. 8-1-11; 
MCB 1-2012, f. 3-27-12, cert. ef. 4-1-12  

830-020-0040 License, Certificate and Registration Fees 

(1) Initial application fees: 

(a) Funeral establishment, immediate disposition company, crematory, alternative disposition facility or a cemetery 
that performs more than ten interments annually — $150 (includes first principal) plus $50 for each additional 
principal;  

(b) Cemetery that performs ten or fewer interments annually — an initial fee of $100 and a fee not to exceed $50 for 
registration of all principals regardless of the total number of principals  

(c) Change of principal — $50 per licensed facility;  

(d) Apprentice funeral service practitioner or apprentice embalmer — $50;  

(e) Reciprocal funeral service practitioner or reciprocal embalmer — $160;  
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(f) Intern Apprentice — $25;  

(g) Preneed Salesperson — $150;  

(h) Certificate of Removal Registration — $30;  

(i) Funeral Service Practitioner — $80 per year;  

(j) Embalmer — $80 per year;  

(k) Death Care Consultant — $80 per year.  

(2) Renewal application fees:  

(a) Funeral establishment or immediate disposition company — $350 per year, payable biennially;  

(b) Crematory or Alternative Disposition Facility — $100 per year plus $2 per disposition performed during the two 
calendar years preceding the year in which the current license expires, payable biennially;  

(c) Cemetery — $4 per interment performed during the two calendar years preceding the year in which the current 
license expires up to a maximum of 150 interments or $600 per year, payable biennially; (Cemeteries with ten or 
fewer interments annually are not required to pay a renewal fee in accordance with ORS 692.275.) 

(d) Funeral service practitioner — $80 per year, payable biennially;  

(e) Embalmer — $80 per year, payable biennially;  

(f) Combination funeral service practitioner/embalmer — $160 per year, payable biennially;  

(g) Apprentice funeral service practitioner — $25 per year, payable annually;  

(h) Apprentice embalmer — $25 per year, payable annually;  

(i) Preneed salesperson — $25 per year, payable biennially;  

(j) Death care consultant — $80 per year, payable biennially.  

(3) Exam fees:  

(a) Funeral service practitioner exam — $100;  

(b) Embalmer exam (written or practical) — $130 to $400 (depending on the cost to the Board).  

(c) Death care consultant exam — $100.  

(4) License, certificate and registration reissue fees:  

(a) Transfer of apprenticeship, replacement license, name change or manager change — $25;  

(b) Licensed facility location change — $250.  

(5) Reinstatement of lapsed license, certificate or registration — $50 each.  
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(6) Funeral service practitioners, embalmers, and preneed salespersons must renew their licenses on even 
numbered years. Facilities must renew on odd numbered years.  

(7) Fees paid under this section are not refundable or transferable. Notwithstanding the above, a registrant for the 
funeral service practitioner examination may notify the Board in writing that he or she is withdrawing and request a 
fee refund at any time before the date of the examination. 

(8) Notwithstanding the above, a registrant for the funeral service practitioner examination may notify the 
Board in writing that he or she is withdrawing the application for the examination and request a refund of the 
examination fee at any time before the date of the examination. Examination fee refunds will be refunded to 
the person that paid the examination fee to the board; fees paid by credit card will be refunded to the credit 
card holder, fees paid by money order or cashier’s check will be refunded to the applicant.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 692.160, 692.320 & 97.931  
Stats. Implemented: ORS 692.160 & 97.931  
Hist.: SMB 1-1984, f. & ef. 10-22-84; MCB 1-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 7-3-85; MCB 2-1985(Temp), f. & ef. 11-5-85; MCB 
1-1986, f. & ef. 10-21-86; Renumbered from 830-010-0110; MCB 2-1989(Temp), f. 10-2-89, cert. ef. 11-1-89; MCB 3-
1989, f. 12-4-89, cert. ef. 12-1-89; MCB 1-1992, f. & cert. ef. 2-11-92; MCB 1-1993, f. 4-14-93, cert. ef. 4-16-93; MCB 
3-1993, f. 10-28-93, cert. ef. 11-1-93; MCB 1-1994, f. 6-28-94, cert. ef. 8-1-94; MCB 1-1997, f. 6-18-97, cert. ef. 7-1-
97; MCB 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-22-98; MCB 1-2001(Temp), f. 12-12-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02 thru 6-29-02; MCB 1-2002, f. 
5-30-02, cert. ef. 6-30-02; MCB 1-2004, f. 9-30-04, cert. ef. 11-1-04; MCB 1-2010(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 4-1-10 thru 9-
27-10; MCB 2-2010, f. 9-23-10, cert. ef. 9-24-10; MCB 1-2011, f. 7-29-11, cert. ef. 8-1-11; MCB 1-2012, f. 3-27-12, 
cert. ef. 4-1-12  

DIVISION 30 

DUTIES OF FUNERAL SERVICE PRACTITIONER 
CREMATORY AUTHORITY --  CEMETERY AUTHORITY  

830-030-0000 In General 

(1) No licensee, operator of a licensed facility, or their agent may interfere with another licensee, operator of a 
licensed facility, or their agent who has been legally called to take care of human remains, or perform services 
relating to the disposition of human remains. The choice of licensed facility or licensed person must be left entirely to 
the individual with the legal right to control final disposition 

(2) Alternative Disposition Facility Authorities must comply with the requirements in this division (Division 30) for the 
handling and tracking of human remains prior to, during, and after cremation as if the Alternative Disposition Facility 
Authority is a Crematory Authority, the alternative disposition remains are cremated remains and the dissolution 
chamber is a cremation chamber.  

(3) Alternative Disposition Facility Authorities using alkaline hydrolysis for dissolution must comply with the following 
requirements:  

(a) The Alternative Disposition Facility Authority must only employ a purpose-built vessel as a dissolution chamber.  

(b) Dissolution systems which operate above atmospheric pressure must only employ an American Society of 
Mechanical Engineers’ (ASME) certified pressure vessel as a dissolution chamber.  

(c) The dissolution system must use parameters of heat, time and solution circulation sufficient to achieve complete 
dissolution of all tissue remains.  

(d) The Alternative Disposition Facility Authority must ensure that the discharge liquid that is a byproduct of the 
dissolution process meets the facility’s sewage collection and treatment facility requirements regarding acceptable 
temperature and pH level.  
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(4) It is the responsibility of the funeral service practitioner or person acting as a funeral service practitioner as that 
term is defined in ORS Chapter 432.005(11) to ensure that an identifying metal disc with a number assigned by the 
State Registrar's Office imprinted on the disc is attached to the casket or other receptacle containing human remains, 
or is attached to the remains if there is no receptacle.  

(a) When human remains are to be cremated the identifying metal disc must be secured to the head end of the 
receptacle, or to the remains if no receptacle is used, at all times until the remains are placed in the cremation 
chamber.  

(b) When human remains are going to be buried or entombed, the identifying metal disc must be attached to the head 
end of the casket or receptacle, or to the remains if no receptacle is used.  

(c) The number on the identifying metal disc must be written or typed on the certificate of death and final disposition 
permit by the responsible funeral service practitioner or person acting as a funeral service practitioner as that term is 
defined in ORS Chapter 432.005(11).  

(5) It is the responsibility of the Crematory Authority to see that the identifying metal disc accompanies human 
remains through the cremation process.  

(6) It is the responsibility of the Cemetery Authority or Crematory Authority to see that the identifying metal disc is 
properly secured to each receptacle containing human remains, or, when no receptacle is used, to the remains, when 
remains are delivered to the facility and that the number on the identifying metal disc is the number recorded on the 
final disposition permit. The Cemetery Authority or Crematory Authority must sign the final disposition permit verifying 
this fact prior to accepting the remains. The Cemetery Authority or Crematory Authority may not accept remains 
without the proper identifying metal disc unless death occurred in a state other than Oregon.  

(7) If, when the human remains are delivered to the crematory, cemetery or alternative disposition facility, no metal 
disc is attached to the receptacle or remains as required, or the disc number does not match the permit number as 
required, the funeral service practitioner or person acting as a funeral service practitioner as that term is defined in 
ORS Chapter 432.005(11) must retain responsibility for the proper care and storage of the remains until the correct 
disc is obtained and ensure it is affixed to the receptacle or remains. If the discrepancy cannot be resolved prior to 
any scheduled service, the funeral service practitioner or person acting as a funeral service practitioner as that term 
is defined in ORS Chapter 432.005(11), must take responsibility for notifying the person with the legal right to control 
final disposition that the disposition is postponed. 

(8) If human remains or partial human remains, other than processed cremated remains, are discovered in a 
presumed unoccupied grave or crypt when opening the grave or crypt for purposes of an interment, the 
following is the responsibility of the cemetery authority: 

(a) The cemetery authority must report the discovery to the Board on a form that has been approved by the 
Board. 

(b) The cemetery authority must exercise diligence under the circumstances to identify the human remains. 

(c) If positive identification of the remains is made, and if disinterment is not authorized pursuant to ORS 
97.220 or ORS 146.045, the human remains must not be further disturbed, the interment space must be 
immediately closed and the cemetery authority must update the cemetery records for that grave or crypt to 
include all relevant information known to the cemetery authority regarding the human remains, as outlined in 
OAR 830-040-0000 and ORS 97.720. 

(d) If the human remains cannot be identified, and if disinterment is not authorized pursuant to ORS 97.220 or 
ORS 146.045, the human remains must not be further disturbed, the interment space must be immediately 
closed, and the cemetery records must reflect that the interment space is occupied by unidentified remains, 
the date of discovery, and indicate that the space is not available for further interments. 

(e) If the human remains are positively identified as remains that were originally interred in a grave adjacent 
to the opened grave but entered the opened grave during excavation or due to the operation of natural forces 
underground, the cemetery authority must make a reasonable effort to return all soil, human remains, and 
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funerary objects to the interment space from which the material originated.  The cemetery authority, if 
feasible, may then proceed with opening the unoccupied grave for interment.   

(9) If processed cremated remains are discovered in a presumed unoccupied grave, crypt or niche when 
opening the grave, crypt or niche the following is the responsibility of the cemetery authority: 

(a) The cemetery authority must report the discovery to the Board on a form that has been approved by the 

Board. 

(b) If the cremated remains are identified, the cemetery authority must use reasonable diligence under the 
circumstances to determine if such cremated remains were placed with the permission of the cemetery 
authority. If no such permission was given, the cemetery authority must attempt to deliver the cremated 
remains to a person within the first applicable listed class in ORS 97.130(2). 

(c) If the cremated remains cannot be identified or if the cemetery authority is unable to deliver the cremated 
remains to a person within a listed class under ORS 97.130(2), the cemetery authority must hold the 
cremated remains indefinitely and at a minimum, place the cremated remains in a common grave, crypt or 
niche, and record the specific location of the remains therein. 

(d) The cemetery authority must retain a permanent record of the known circumstances of the cremated 
remains including at a minimum:  The original location where the cremated remains were discovered, the 
steps taken to identify and deliver the cremated remains, and the ultimate re-disposition of the cremated 
remains. 

(8) (10) When a licensee arranges for the scattering of cremated remains, the licensee must include in their the 
licensee’s permanent records the final location of the cremated remains and make the identifying metal disc a part 

of the licensee's permanent record. 

(9) (11) It is the responsibility of the funeral establishment or immediate disposition company licensee handling the 

disposition of human remains to pay the death certificate filing fee as required in ORS 432.312(1). This fee must be 
paid within 30 days after the billing and, in no case longer than 90 days after the billing. Failure to pay death 
certificate filing fees is cause for disciplinary action by the Board.  

(10) (12) It is the responsibility of each licensed facility to assign a manager for each facility and to notify the Board in 

writing within 30 days of the assignment. In the case of funeral establishments and immediate disposition companies, 
the manager must be an Oregon licensed funeral service practitioner.  

(11) (13) Upon providing written notification to the Board, a funeral service practitioner may be permitted to manage 

two funeral establishments or two immediate disposition companies, or one of each. A funeral service practitioner 
may be authorized by the Board to manage more than two funeral establishments or immediate disposition 
companies, or a combination of same, upon providing a written request to the Board that describes the basis for the 
request. The Board may approve the request after consideration of relevant facts or circumstances including, but not 
limited to, information that the Board may request from the funeral service practitioner.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 692.160 & 692.320 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 692.180 & 692.405 
Hist.: FDB 13, f. 9-9-74, ef. 3-1-75; SMB 1-1984, f. & ef. 10-22-84; MCB 1-1986, f. & ef. 10-21-86; Renumbered from 
830-010-0150; MCB 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-6-89; MCB 1-1993, f. 4-14-93, cert. ef. 4-16-93; MCB 1-1997, f. 6-18-97, 
cert. ef. 7-1-97; MCB 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-22-98; MCB 1-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-1-09; MCB 1-2012, f. 3-27-12, cert. ef. 
4-1-12  

830-030-0070  Transportation and Care of Persons Who Have Died of or With Communicable Diseases  

(1) Except for transportation of remains from place of death to a licensed facility or other holding facility, 
transportation of persons who have died of or with communicable diseases specified by the Oregon State Health 
Division Health Authority shall be permitted only under the following conditions: the human remains shall be 
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thoroughly embalmed with approved disinfectant solution; all orifices shall be closed with absorbent cotton; and the 
body shall be washed.  

(2) Communicable diseases which apply to this section are as follows:  

(a) Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome;  

(b) Diphtheria;  

(c) Hemorrhagic fevers (e.g., Ebola);  

(d) Hepatitis B;  

(e) Hepatitis C;  

(f) Hepatitis, delta;  

(g) Human immunodeficiency virus;  

(h) Plague;  

(i) Rabies;  

(j) Tularemia; and  

(k) Tuberculosis.  

(3) If religious custom or the conditions of the remains prohibit embalming, a human remains shall be received for 
transportation by a common carrier if the human remains are placed in a sealed impervious container enclosed in a 
strong transportation case or in a sound container designed for that that purpose enclosed in a sealed impervious 
transportation case.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 692.160 & 692.320 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 692.025 
Hist.: MCB 1-1986, f. & ef. 10-21-86; MCB 1-1993, f. 4-14-93, cert. ef. 4-16-93; MCB 1-1997, f. 6-18-97, cert. ef. 7-1-
97; MCB 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-22-98; MCB 1-2011, f. 7-29-11, cert. ef. 8-1-11  

830-030-0100 Misleading Business Practices 

The following practices are prohibited and are considered misrepresentation in the conduct of doing business: 

(1) Any sales presentation or practice that conceals or misstates a material fact is considered a misrepresentation in 
the conduct of doing business.  

(2) Any guarantee or representation that the prospective purchase would realize a profit by reselling at a later date.  

(3) Any use of interment space used for the interment of human remains including cremated remains, other than 
those of the owner of that space or interment rights thereto, or placement of other materials belonging to a person 
other than the owner, without the prior written authorization by the owner of such space or interment rights. If the 
person authorizing such interment or placement of materials represents that he or she has authority to direct the 
interment or placement, a licensee is not in violation of this rule if, after due diligence, the licensee reasonably 
believes such person may direct the interment or placement of materials.  
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(4) Any failure to comply with the terms of the sales contracts or state or local law requirements, with respect to 
irrevocable permanent care, and failure to comply with any other applicable laws and regulations relating to 
cemeteries.  

(5) Any advertising or other presentation or indication that a licensee is in any way connected with the federal 
government, any other government agency, or any veterans' or other organization. If a veterans' organization or 
government agency is referred to in any advertisement, sales program or presentation the licensee must include a 
disclaimer in bold type to the effect that "This facility is not financed or connected in any manner with any government 
agency or veteran's or other organization”.  

(6) Any use of advertisements, printed materials, forms, or any other materials that resemble or suggest official 
government documents or publications.  

(7) In addition to the provisions of ORS 97.943(8), which provides the purchaser may cancel a revocable 

prearrangement contract at any time prior to death and receive a full refund including earnings, a licensees 

must, in their a preneed sales contracts, include a reasonable period of not less than five business days during which 

the purchasers may cancel their funeral or cemetery contracts for undelivered goods and services and for delivered 

goods that are unused or and undamaged, or and during which the purchaser may cancel any contract for 

interment rights. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 692.320 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 692.025 & 692.180 
Hist.: MCB 1-1986, f. & ef. 10-21-86; MCB 1-1993, f. 4-14-93, cert. ef. 4-16-93; MCB 1-1997, f. 6-18-97, cert. ef. 7-1-
97; MCB 1-2011, f. 7-29-11, cert. ef. 8-1-11; MCB 1-2012, f. 3-27-12, cert. ef. 4-1-12  

DIVISION 40  

FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENTS, IMMEDIATE DISPOSITION COMPANIES, 
CREMATORIUMS, CEMETERIES AND OPERATORS OF SAME  

830-040-0005  

Contract Requirements  

(1) It is the responsibility of each licensed facility entering into contracts, either at need, prearrangement or 
preconstruction, for death care goods and services to have printed (in a minimum 10-point print) at the bottom of 
each contract "This facility is licensed and regulated by the Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board" followed 
immediately by the current area code and phone number of the Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board.  

(2) Each licensed facility must ensure that all contracts (at need, prearrangement or preconstruction) for death care 
goods and services have the registered business name and physical location of the facility printed, in a minimum 
10-point font, on the front of the contract.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 692.320 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 692.320 
Hist.: MCB 1-1997, f. 6-18-97, cert. ef. 7-1-97; MCB 1-1998, f. & cert. ef. 6-22-98; MCB 1-2011, f. 7-29-11, cert. ef. 8-
1-11 

830-040-0050  

Advertising 

(1) Any licensed facility advertising through any media (including but not limited to telephone books, newspapers, 
direct mail, bill boards, etc.) must include the licensed facility’s registered name and physical address as it appears 
on the Board’s records. 
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(2) No person, firm or corporation may advertise, promote, or market at need or preneed funeral arrangements 
without first having received a license from the Board.  

(3) No cemetery or cremation facility, or person, firm or corporation may advertise, promote, or market at need or 
preneed cemetery or cremation plans without first having received a certificate of authority to operate that cemetery 
or crematorium.  

(4) No person, firm or corporation may advertise, promote, or market at need or preneed immediate disposition or 
alternative disposition arrangements without having first registered with the Board.  

(5) Any advertisement or marketing materials which intentionally conceals or misstates a material fact is considered 
misrepresentation 

(6) Whenever a funeral establishment states a price for  “funeral good” or “funeral service”, as these terms 
are defined in the Federal Trade Commission Funeral Rule, 16 CFR 453.1, on the facility’s website, the facility 
must include a hyperlink to the facility’s complete General Price List for funeral goods and services in effect 
at that time. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 692.160 & 692.320 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 692.160 
Hist.: FDB 1-1978, f. & ef. 6-30-78; SMB 1-1984, f. & ef. 10-22-84; MCB 1-1986, f. & ef. 10-21-86; Renumbered from 
830-010-0220; MCB 1-1989, f. & cert. ef. 2-6-89; MCB 1-1993, f. 4-14-93, cert. ef. 4-16-93; MCB 1-2010(Temp), f. & 
cert. ef. 4-1-10 thru 9-27-10; MCB 2-2010, f. 9-23-10, cert. ef. 9-24-10; MCB 1-2011, f. 7-29-11, cert. ef. 8-1-11; MCB 
1-2012, f. 3-27-12, cert. ef. 4-1-12  


