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Oregon Indigent Disposition  
Reimbursement Application Form  
Mail or fax to: 
Indigent Disposition Fund Program Specialist 
Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board (OMCB) 
800 NE Oregon St, Suite 430 
Portland, OR 97232 Fax: 971.673.1501 
 
 

DECEDENT INFORMATION 
Decedent Last Name: 
 
 

 

Decedent First Name: 
 

Decedent Middle Name: 

Date of Death: 
  

Date Custody Taken of Remains: Date Report of Death Filed: 
 

Date of Disposition: 

If report of death filed more than 5 days after taking custody of remains, why? State ID Tag Number: 
 

How was Case Acquired? 
 ME Rotation    Police Call  
 Hospice           Walk In  
 Hospital           Other: 

 

The decedent’s next of kin: 
 Was found  Was not found.  
 

If the next of kin was found, were they: 
 Unresponsive. 
 Estranged from the decedent. 
 Unable to pay for disposition. 
 Unwilling to pay for disposition. 

Mode of Disposition: 
Cremation       Burial 
Dissolution 

Amount requested: Amount, if any, of other funds received for payment (Please explain source):  

 

REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS 
 Completed Oregon Indigent Case Worksheet   
 Applicable General Price List 
 Itemized invoice or SFGSS of total incurred expenses  
 Cemetery Info and plot location if burial  
 Supporting documentation for any funds received for payment 
 

CLAIMANT INFORMATION (Check will be made payable to funeral establishment): 
Name of Funeral Establishment: 
 
 

Tax ID #: 
 

Business Address: 
 
 

Funeral Establishment OMCB License #: 

City: 
 

State: Zip: 
 
 

Name of Contact Person for Questions on Claim: 

Phone: Fax: Email of Contact Person for Questions on Claim: 
 
 

 

CLAIMANT CERTIFICATION 
On behalf  of the above claimant, I certify that I have read, understand, and complied with the Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) and the Oregon Administrative Rules 
(OAR) that govern the Indigent Disposition Program and that claimant has performed all due diligence, documentation and actions required by law.  I certify and attest 
that all documentation submitted and costs contained on the accompanying itemized statement of expenses for which reimbursement is being requested are the 
services provided as set forth in ORS 97.170(1), (3) and (5) for the disposition of an unclaimed indigent person, as defined in ORS 97.170(1) and (5). I understand that 
an eligible reimbursement claim must include all expenses related to the case, and must include documentation of any reimbursement, in all or part, by any entity or 
person already made at time of filing, as required by OAR 830-040-0090(6). I further understand that if I receive payment from any other entity or person after a claim is 
filed, I must amend the claim, if not yet paid, as required by OAR 830-040-0090(6)(a).  If the claim has already been paid, I understand that I must submit a 
reimbursement form and accompanying payment to the Indigent Disposition Fund within 90 days of receiving any amount from any other entity or person, as required by 
OAR 830-040-0090(6)(b). Finally, I acknowledge and understand that a fraudulent submission of this form will result in penalties set forth in ORS 692.180. 

  

Signature of Authorized Representative Date Signed 

Note: The OMCB shall disburse funds to eligible claimants upon receipt and 
verification of a claim. Incomplete applications and applications received 
without required documentation will be returned to claimant for 
completion before making any reimbursement.  
      

 

OFFICE USE ONLY: 
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Decedent Last Name & State ID Tag Number 

Oregon Indigent Case Worksheet 
This form is to be submitted with the Oregon Indigent Disposition  
Reimbursement Application Form. 
 
 
 

 

Steps 1-5 must each be initiated within five days after taking custody of the body. ORS 97.170(3)(a)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

ORS 97.170(1)(a)-(c) defines an “indigent person” as a deceased person who does not have a death or final expense benefit or insurance policy 
that pays for disposition of the deceased person’s body or other means to pay for disposition of the deceased person’s body and: 
• Who does not have a relative or other person with the legal right to direct and the means to pay for disposition of the deceased person’s body; 
• Whose relative, or other person, with the legal right to direct the disposition of the deceased person’s body does not pay or arrange to pay for, 

or refuse to direct, the disposition of the deceased person’s body within 10 days of being notified of the death; or 
• For whom no person other than a person described above wishes to direct and pay for the disposition of the deceased person’s body. 

Step One  ORS 97.170(3)(a)(B) 
Obtain all contact information regarding any individual with the right to control disposition (persons listed in ORS 97.130) that is known to the 
medical examiner, health care facility or law enforcement when case is first acquired. These organizations are required to provide any known 
contact information to funeral establishments. 
 

Name of entity/facility:  __________________________________________________________________________________________________   
 

Person providing information ______________________________________Date/Time information obtained:  ____________________________ 
 

 If receiving remains from hospice/hospital, confirm if decedent has a personal account and/or any relevant paperwork for final disposition, or 
contact information for any Medicare/Medicaid case worker to determine if decedent had the personal means or known benefit coverage for 
disposition.  
Contact Information provided by facility: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 

Contact Log & Result: 
 
 
 
 
 

Step Two   ORS 97.170(3)(a)(C) 
Even if contact information was provided in step one, funeral establishments are still required to perform due diligence to locate and notify any 
other persons listed in ORS 97.130.  This can include searching on the internet or via other outreach in the local community.  
Information Found: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

Contact Log & Result: 
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Decedent Last Name & State ID Tag Number 

Oregon Indigent Case Worksheet 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Step Six ORS 97.170(3)(b) 
If no one claims the body within 10 days after the funeral establishment takes custody of the body, or if the persons notified acquiesce, or if the 
decedent is not eligible for any veteran benefits, the funeral establishment must offer the body to an institution on the list maintained by the OMCB 
for education or research purposes. 
 

Have the institutions on the most current list maintained by the OMCB been contacted to determine if the unclaimed body is desired for education or 
research purposes?    Yes          No      Date contacted: ____ /____ /____ 
 

Name of institution(s) contacted:___________________________________ _________________________________________________________ 
 

Name of staff member contacted at facility:____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Did any institution accept the unclaimed body?    Yes     No   
 

Step Three  ORS 97.170(3)(a)(F) 
Funeral establishments that take custody of the unclaimed body of a deceased person are required to determine if the Department of State Lands 
(DSL) is appointed as the personal representative of the decedent. 
 

Have any known heirs been identified, including unresponsive heirs or heirs unwilling to control disposition?  Yes       No  
 

If yes, search the unclaimed property list maintained by DSL to determine if the decedent has unclaimed property. www.oregon.gov/DSL/UP                                  
Date search run: ____ /____ /____      Were there any potential matches?  Yes       No 
If a match is found, the funeral establishment can contact the Claims Unit for Unclaimed Property at claims@dsl.state.or.us to file a claim to help 
cover the cost of disposition. Receiving funds from the decedent’s unclaimed property will not prohibit the Funeral Establishment from filing an 
indigent disposition reimbursement claim with OMCB. Attach any documentation related to the claim to this application. 
 

If no, please contact the Department of State Lands at 503-986-5247 to advise them that an individual has died with no known heirs.   
Date contacted: ____ /____ /____   Name of staff member contacted:___________________________________________________________ 
Did DSL find any heirs?  Yes       No  
 

Contact information for any heirs found through State Lands: Contact Log & Result: 
 
 
 
 
 

Step Four  ORS 97.170(3)(a)(E) 
Steps 1-3 focus on locating persons with the right to control disposition.  If none have been located and there is another party who is willing to make 
and pay for final disposition for decedent, they may do so. This could be a friend, or an organization such as a community or religious organization.  
If such a person or entity exists, list below. If no such person exists, please write “N/A.” 

 

Contact Information Provided: Contact Log & Result: 
 
 

Step Five  ORS 97.170(3)(a)(G) 
As part of due diligence, funeral establishments are required to contact the Department of Veteran Affairs for all indigent persons prior to 
completing disposition. This is required by law for ALL decedents, even if another person has provided you with veteran status.  If the decedent is 
eligible for benefits, documentation of any funds applied for or received from the VA will be required before claim can be approved. 
 

To contact the VA call 1-800-535-1117.       Date contacted:____ /____ /____   Person contacted:______________________________________ 
 

Was decedent a Veteran?    Yes     No        Listing of benefits available to decedent:_____________________________________________ 
 

If the decedent is a veteran and will be receiving benefits, completion of step six is not required. 
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