Fmal Order by Default

State of Oregon Mortuary and Cemetery Board

In the Matter of the Denial of the - ‘
Preneed Salesperson Registration Case No:: 08-1018
Application of

Jaci Shipley, ‘ ;
Applicant Final Order

"~ On August 1, 2008 the Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board (Board) properly served a Notice of
Proposed Denial of Application (Notice) on Applicant that it intended to deny Jaci Shipley’s
Preneed Salesperson Registration Application for violations of ORS 692.180(1)(a), ORS
692.180(1)(g), ORS 692.180(1)(i), OAR 830-030-0090(2)(c)(D), OAR 830-030-0090(2)(d)(B)
and OAR 830-050-0050(2), (3) and (5). The Notice offered Jaci Shipley (Applicant) an
opportunity for a hearing if requested within 60 days from the date the Notice was mailed.
Applicant did not request a hearing within this 60-day period or otherwise. The Notice
designated the Board’s file on this matter as the record for purposes of default.

NOW THEREFORE after considering the Board’s file relatmg to this matter, the Board
enters the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Applicants for a preneed salesperson registration must apply on a form provided by the
Board and consent to a background check. ORS 97.931(1)(2) and (3)

2. Applicants are informed, by means of written notice on the application, that any
misrepresentation or omission is cause for refusal to issue a registration.

3. By application received on April 16, 2008, Applicant ia\pplied to the Board for a Preneed

Salesperson Registration.

4. Application question number two (2) of the Background Information Section asks if the
Applicant has ever received a reprimand, warning, violation, suspension, fine, cancellation
(or denial) by any city, county, or state licensing agency. If the answer is “yes” the Applicant
is required to provide a complete copy of all notice(s), order(s) or charging document(s), and
a detailed, complete and accurate written account of the facts and circumstances of each
event.-Applicant answered “no

5. On or about January 30, 1996, Applicant paid civil penalties. imposed by the Oregon
Board of Cosmetology, an Oregon Health Licensing Agency as follows:
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i. $200 civil penalty for “Operating Without Facility License;” and
ii. $200 civil penalty for “Expired Practitioner’s Certificate [#515722]

6. Applicant did not provide a complete copy of all notice(s), order(s) or charging
document(s), or a detailed, complete and accurate written account of the facts and
circumstances of the foregoing events. Applicant, therefore, misrepresented her licensing
history to the Board. ORS 692.180(1)(a)

7. Application question number three (3) of the Background Information Section asks if the
Applicant has been arrested, charged or cited for anything other than traffic violations. If the
answer is “yes” the Applicant is required to list all of the arrests, including dismissals, and
provide a detailed, complete and accurate written account of the facts and circumstances of
each arrest.

8. Applicant answered that she was arrested in 1996 for Driving Under the Influence of
Intoxicants in Jackson County, Oregon; and in 2007 for Assault 4™ Degree in Medford,
Oregon.

9. In 1987, Applicant was also arrested for Theft 2" Degree in Medford, Oregon, and in
1992 for two counts of Negotiating Bad Checks in Medford, Oregon.

10. Applicant did not provide an accurate, detailed and complete written account of the facts
and circumstances of the foregoing arrests for Theft 2™ Degree or Negotiating Bad Checks.
Applicant, therefore, misrepresented her criminal history to the Board. ORS 692.180(1)(a)

11. Application question number four (4) asks if the Applicant has ever been convicted of a
felony or misdemeanor crime. If the answer is “yes” the Applicant is required to list all of the
convictions and provide a detailed, complete and accurate written account of the facts and
circumstances of each crime which led to the conviction.

12. Applicant answered that she received diversion for the crime of Driving Under the
Influence of Intoxicants in 1996, and Applicant answered that that she pled guilty and
received probation and a deferred sentence thh conditions for the crime of Assault 4"
Degree in 2007 in Medford, Oregon.

13. In 1987, Applicant was also convicted for Theft 2™ Degree in Medford, Oregon; and in
1992, Applicant pleaded guilty and was convicted of two counts of Negotiating Bad Checks
in Medford, Oregon. The conviction for Negotiating Bad Checks was later dlsmrssed after
Applicant made restitution payments.

14. Appllcant did not provide an accurate detailed and complete written account of the facts

and circumstances for the foregoing convictions of Theft 2 Degree and two counts of

Negotiating Bad Checks. Applicant, therefore misrepresented her crrmmal history to the
Board. ORS 692.180(1)(a)

15. The foregoing misrepresentations by Applicant of the facts and circumstances of her
disciplinary licensing history, arrests and convictions are cause for refusal to grant a
registration under ORS 692.180(1)(a), ORS 692.180(1)(g), OAR 830-030-0090(2)(c)(D),
OAR 830-030-0090(2)(d)(B), and OAR 830-050-0050(2).
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16. In addition, the conduct resulting in disciplinary actions against Applicant is conduct that
bears a demonstrable relationship to the death care industry practices or operations; and
the crimes that Applicant committed involve facts and circumstances that have a
demonstrable bearing upon the standards of the profession, and bears a demonstrable
relationship to preneed and funeral service practice. ORS 692.180(1)(g), OAR 830-050-
0050(3), OAR 830-050-0050(5) and ORS 692.180(1)(i).

ULTIMATE FINDINGS

1. By failing to disclose and give accurate, detailed and complete account of the facts and
circumstances of the disciplinary actions against her cosmetology licenses, and her arrests
and convictions of “Theft 2™ Degree” and “Negotiating Bad Checks” in her application,
Applicant failed to answer truthfully and accurately inquiries regarding matters within the
Board's jurisdiction, made false and misleading statements to the Board, and
misrepresented her licensing and criminal history to the Board.

2. The foregoing disciplinary actions against Applicant for operating without a facility license
and practicing with an expired license is conduct that bears a demonstrable relationship to
the death care industry practices or operations which is grounds for refusal to grant an
applicant's certificate or registration.

3. The crimes that Applicant committed, Theft 2™ Degree and Assault 4" Degree involve facts
and circumstances that have a demonstrable bearing upon the standards of the profession,
and bear a demonstrable relationship to preneed and funeral service practice.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. In applying to the Board for licensure, Applicant misrepresented her licensing and criminal
history by making false and misieading statements. A false or misleading statement on a license
application is grounds for license denial pursuant to OAR 830-050-0050(2), OAR 830-030-
0090(2)(d)(B) and ORS 692.180(1)(g); and misrepresentation on an application to the Board is
cause for refusal to grant a license pursuant to OAR 830-030-0090(2)(c)D) and ORS
692.180(1)(a) and (g).

2. Applicant’'s conduct of operating a facility without a license and practicing with an expired
license bears a demonstrable relationship to the death care industry practices or operations
which is grounds for refusal to grant Applicant's certificate or registration pursuant to OAR 830-
050-0050(5) and ORS 692.180(1)(g).

3. The crimes that Applicant committed, Theft 2™ Degree and Assault 4™ Degree involve facts
and circumstances that have a demonstrable bearing upon the standards of the profession, and
bear a demonstrable relationship to preneed and funeral service practice. The foregoing is
grounds for refusal to grant a license under ORS 692.180(1)(g), OAR 830-050-0050(3), and
ORS 692.180(1)(i).
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ORDER

1. Applicant’s Preneed Salesperson Registration Application is hereby denied.
2. This Final Order shall become effective when signed by the Executive Director of the
Board:

DATED and ENTERED this 13th day of October, 2008.

<s> Michelle Gaines
Michelle Gaines, Executive Director
Oregon Mortuary & Cemetery Board

Date of Service: October 13, 2008

Appeal Rights: You are entitled to judicial review of this order in accordance with ORS
Chapter 183.482. You may request judicial review by filing a petition with the Court of Appeals
in Salem, Oregon within 60 days from the date of this order.
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