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CHAPTER 811  DIVISION 10  
 

Reciprocity 

 811-010-0066 A person licensed to practice Chiropractic under the laws of another state or states for at least 

five years may apply for reciprocity with the Oregon Board of Chiropractic Examiners for a chiropractic license in 

Oregon. An application and $250 $100 fee shall be submitted and must be accompanied by all items required by 

ORS 684.040 (1) through (4)(2)(a)(b)(c)(d) and (e), and the following: 

 (1) The applicant will present a certified transcript from the Board of Chiropractic Examiners in the state(s) 

where licensed equivalent to the Oregon Clinical Proficiency Specifics Examination (Oral/Practical and X-ray) or 

andthe National Board of Chiropractic Examiners Part IV, including a state or national examination in 

physiotherapy. 

 (2) The Board may also require successful completion of a state or national written and/or oral examination 

listed in section (1) in which there is if no official transcript is available. 

 (3) The applicant will have furnished a certified statement from the Board of Chiropractic Examiners in the 

state(s) where licensed, that the applicant is not not guilty of unprofessional or unethical practices or the subject of 

any pending or past disciplinary actions in that state. 

 (4) Any applicant for reciprocity, licensed in another state prior to July 1, 1992, is not required to have 

passed the Part III examination given by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners. 

 (5) Upon qualification for licensure, the applicant will submit the $150 initial license fee. 
Statutory Auth.: ORS 684 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 684. 040; 684.060 

 

 

 

Board Members 

 811-010-0071 (1) Members of the State Board of Examiners during their terms as such shall maintain a 

position of strict neutrality. 

 (2) Board members shall receive a per diem of $155 200 a day for board meetings, conference attendance 

and presentations. 
Statutory Auth.: ORS 684 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 684.150 

 

 

 

Fitness Determinations for Licensure; State and Nationwide Criminal Background Checks 

 811-010-0084 (1) Purpose. The purpose of this rule is to provide for the reasonable screening of subject 

individuals in order to determine if they have a history of criminal behavior such that they are not fit to be granted a 

license or certificate, registration, permit in occupations, or professions covered by Oregon Laws 2005, chapter 

730. 

(2)  These rules are to be applied when evaluating the criminal history of a subject individual and conducting fitness 

determinations based upon such history. The fact that a subject individual is approved does not guarantee the 

granting of a license, certification, registration, or permit. 

(3) “Subject individual” means a person from whom the Board may require fingerprints for the purpose of enabling 

the Board of Chiropractic Examiners to request a state or nationwide criminal records check.  Under this chapter, 

subject individual means applicants for doctor of chiropractic license, chiropractic assistant certification and any 

licensee under investigation as ordered by the Board.  

(4) The Board may request that the Department of State Police conduct a Criminal History Check and a National 

Criminal History Check, using fingerprint identification, of subject individuals.   The Board may conduct criminal 

records checks on subject individuals and any licensee/certificate holder under investigation through the Law 

Enforcement Data System maintained by the Department of State Police in accordance with rules adopted, and 

procedures established, by the Department of State Police. Criminal history information obtained from the Law 

Enforcement Data System must be handled in accordance with applicable Oregon State Police requirements in 
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ORS chapter 181 and OAR chapter 257, division 15. 

(5) Additional Information Required. In order to conduct an Oregon and National Criminal History Check and 

fitness determination, the Board may require additional information from the subject individual as necessary, such 

as but not limited to, proof of identity; residential history; names used while living at each residence; or additional 

criminal, judicial, or other background information. 

(6) The Board shall determine whether an applicant is fit to be granted a license or certification, based on the 

criminal records background check, on any false statements made by the individual regarding the criminal history 

of the individual, on any refusal to submit or consent to a criminal records check including fingerprint 

identification, and any other pertinent information obtained as part of an investigation. If a subject individual is 

determined to be unfit, then the individual may not be granted a license or certification. The Board may make a 

fitness determination conditional upon applicant’s acceptance of probation, conditions, limitations, or other 

restrictions upon licensure. 

(7) Except as otherwise provided in section 6 in making the fitness determination the Board shall consider:  

(a) The nature of the crime; 

(b) The facts that support the conviction or pending indictment or that indicate the making of the false statement; 

(c) The relevancy, if any, of the crime or the false statement to the specific requirements of the subject individual's 

present or proposed position, services, employment, license, certification or registration; and 

(d) Intervening circumstances relevant to the responsibilities and circumstances of the position, services, 

employment, license, certification, registration or permit.  Intervening circumstances include but are not limited to: 

(A) The passage of time since the commission of the crime; 

(B) The age of the subject individual at the time of the crime; 

(C) The likelihood of a repetition of offenses or of the commission of another crime; 

(D) The subsequent commission of another relevant crime; 

(E) Whether the conviction was set aside and the legal effect of setting aside the conviction; and 

(F) A recommendation of an employer. 

(8) All background checks shall be requested to include available state and national data, unless obtaining one or 

the other is an acceptable alternative.  

(9) Criminal offender information is confidential.  Dissemination of information received under ORS 181A.195 is 

only to people with a demonstrated and legitimate need to know the information.   The information is part of the 

investigation of an applicant, licensee and certificate holder and as such is confidential pursuant to ORS 676.175(1).   

All original fingerprint cards will be destroyed per ORS 181A.195 

(10)  The Board will permit the subject individual for whom a fingerprint-based criminal records check was 

conducted to inspect the individual's own state and national criminal offender records and, if requested by the 

subject individual, provide the individual with a copy of the individual's own state and national criminal offender 

records. 

(11)  The Board may consider any felony or misdemeanor conviction involving moral turpitude. 

(12) If an applicant, licensee or certificate holder is determined not to be fit for a license and/or certificate, they are 

entitled to a contested case process pursuant to ORS 183.413-470.  Challenges to the accuracy or completeness of 

information provided by the Department of State Police, Federal Bureau of Investigation and agencies reporting 

information must be made through the Department of State Police, Federal Bureau of Investigation or reporting 

agency and not through the contested case process pursuant to ORS 183. 

(13) Request for Re-Evaluation Following Correction. If the subject individual successfully contests the accuracy 

or completeness of information provided by the Oregon State Police, the Federal Bureau of Investigation or other 

agency reporting information to the Board, the Board will conduct a new criminal history check and re-evaluate the 

criminal history upon submission of a new criminal history request form. 

(14)  If the subject individual discontinues the application or fails to cooperate with the criminal history check 

process then the application is considered incomplete. 
Statutory Auth.: ORS 684 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 684.100, ORS 183 

 

 


