
Chapter 811 

Division 10 

 

Application and Examination of Applicants 

811-010-0085 (1) Applicants shall be examined according to ORS 684.050 or 684.052. 

 (2) The Board shall issue provide a Candidate’s Guide, which contains all necessary 

examination information. The Guide shall be mailed to each applicant, along with other 

examination information for a fee of $10. 

 (3) Fee and application deadlines are as follows: 

 (a) Application and $150 fee for chiropractic exams must be postmarked no later than 30 

days prior to the first exam day. 

 (b) Request for retake of any section of the exam must be submitted in writing with a $100 

reexamination fee postmarked no later than 30 days prior to the first exam day. 

 (c) Supporting documentation must be postmarked no later than 30 days prior to the first 

exam day. 

 (d) Deadlines may be waived by the Board for good cause. 

 (e) A complete set of fingerprints obtained from any state or local law enforcement agency, 

or from any other agency approved by the Board. Applicants shall use forms prescribed by the 

Board.  

 (f) Applicant must pay to the Board the current actual cost of conducting the state and 

federal background check  

 (g) Criminal background check fee results of $47.25 must be postmarked no later than 30 

days prior to the first exam daysubmitted prior to the 30 day deadline. 

 (4) Documents to be submitted prior to approval to take the Oregon Specifics 

Examinations: 

 (a) A completed, official application including a recent photograph and fingerprints; 

 (b) Evidence of the applicant's good moral character on the letterhead stationary of a 

Chiropractic physician;  

 (c) A signed affidavit attesting to successful completion of at least two years of liberal 

arts and sciences study in an accredited college. Original transcripts must be provided if 

requested by the Board; and 

 (d) A transcript certified by the registrar, from an approved chiropractic college, 

including transcripts of coursework as required by OAR 811-020-0006 (minimum Educational 

Requirements for physiotherapy and minor surgery/ proctology).  A transcript of grades is 

necessary from each chiropractic college attended. 

 (e) An official transcript of passing grades from the National Board of Chiropractic 

Examiners on Part I, II and III and physiotherapy. 

 (5) Documents and fee to be submitted prior to licensure include: 

 (a) $100 initial license fee. 

 (b) A diploma or other evidence of graduation certified by the registrar from an approved 

Chiropractic college. 

 (c) An official transcript of passing grades from the National Board of Chiropractic 

Examiners Part IV.  

 (6) All applicants must take and pass the Oregon Specifics Examination consisting of 

written examination in ethics and jurisprudence, obstetrics and gynecology, minor surgery and 

proctology.  Applicants who have previously taken and passed obstetrics and gynecology, and/or 



minor surgery and proctology within the last five years from the date of application as received 

by the Board are not required to retake these tests, however all applicants must take and pass 

ethics and jurisprudence. 

 (7) Oregon Specifics Examination Grades: 

 (a) The Board shall determine the passing scores. Each section of the examination shall be 

graded separately using the Angoff Method, a criterion referenced model. Passing scores fluctuate 

between sections and between examinations. All examinations are designed to test minimal 

competency to protect the public health and safety. 

 (b) Examination grades will be released within 30 days of the examination date.  

 (8) Regrades: any request for regrade must be submitted in writing to the Board no later than 

45 days after the date of the examination. A regrade involves a manual tally of points earned for the 

specific examination requested. 

 (9) An applicant failing to achieve a passing grade, as determined by the Board for each 

examination section, may make application to the Board for a re-examination in the failed sections . 

 (10) An applicant must take at least one of the failed section(s) within 13 months following 

the date when the applicant took the entire examination. If the applicant fails to re-test on at least 

one failed section within 13 months of the last examination, the file shall become inactive and the 

applicant must re-apply and take the entire examination.  

 (11) An applicant attempting to give aid or accepting aid from another while examinations 

are in progress shall fail the examination and will not be allowed to take the examination for a 

period of five (5) years. 

 (12) Refunds:  

 (a) The application fee is non-refundable; and 

 (b)The retake fee can be refunded until 10 days prior to the test date. 

 (c) The background check fee is non-refundable. 

 (13) The Board may reject applications for good cause, including evidence of unprofessional 

behavior. 

 (14) Effective June 1, 2001 applicants who have completed all requirements for licensure, 

including passage of all required examinations, must submit the initial license fee to obtain license 

within one year from the date they completed all the requirements.  An applicant’s initial license 

will be valid for a minimum of 180 days.  However, if the applicant’s next birth date is within the 

180 days, the initial license will be valid for an additional 12 months beyond the applicant’s birth 

date. 
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