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BEGINNING IN 2017, MUST HAVE (CT) CREDENTIAL TO DO COMPUTED TOMOGRAPHY
The Oregon Board of Medical Imaging (OBMI) approved a permanent rule that will require technologists to
have earned a computed tomography (CT) subspecialty credential, to perform diagnostic computed tomography
on or after January 1, 2017. After that date, the new rule will require a CT credential for all radiographers,
radiation therapists and nuclear medicine technologists who practice diagnostic CT, including cone beam CT.
Technologists without a CT credential will be eligible to practice diagnostic CT only after obtaining a temporary
CT license, which will be available for up to 12 months and which will require them to practice under
supervision. The temporary license will enable CT candidates to complete supervised clinical prerequisites
necessary to sit for a CT credentialing examination. This new subspecialty credential requirement will only
apply to diagnostic CT and will not apply to:
o Radiographers or radiation therapists operating the CT attenuation correction portion of the hybrid
imager; or
o Licensed nuclear medicine technologists operating PET and attenuation correction portion of the hybrid
imager.

Board Proposes New Rule to Allow Waiver of CT Requirement — Comment Until January 5
In a separate rulemaking, the OBMI is proposing to give the Board the option to waive the CT subspecialty
requirement, on a case-by-case basis, for CT-experienced technologists in state-designated rural hospitals
who are not able to obtain the CT registry credential but who are able to pass a CT registry examination
under state sponsorship. You can find details on the proposed waiver rule, and how you can submit an
official comment, on the OBMI’s home page at www.oregon.gov/obmi. By law, the OBMI is not permitted
to consider comments submitted after January 5, 2015.

FINGERPRINT CHECK REQUIRED FOR ALL INITIAL LICENSE/PERMIT APPLICATIONS

In keeping with its mission to protect the public health and safety, the Oregon Board of Medical Imaging is
implementing a new process to require initial license and permit applicants — not renewals—to undergo a
comprehensive national fingerprint criminal background check, beginning January 1, 2015. This will require
first-time applicants to pay OBMI a one-time $52 fingerprint fee, as part of their initial application. (In addition,
initial license applicants will need to pay a separate fee at the location where they have their prints taken.)
Detailed instructions will be included on initial license forms.

With several hundred new applicants every year, including a substantial number of out-of-state residents
seeking Oregon licensure, the Board believes it can better meet its mission to protect the public by instituting a
more comprehensive criminal background verification process for initial applicants. (Licensees who are
fingerprinted for a temporary initial license or permit will not need to be fingerprinted again if they apply for a
permanent initial license or permit during or immediately after the temporary licensure is in force.)

Similar to what the Oregon State Board of Nursing charges, the one-time $52 fingerprint fee will be
divided three ways, with $28 going to pay the Oregon State Police, $16.50 going to the FBI and $7.50 staying
with the OBMI for administrative expenses related to handling the background check. Renewal applicants will
continue to be checked through the state police, with no added fee and no fingerprint requirement.
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GOVERNOR ENDORSES OBMI LEGISLATION TO RESTRUCTURE BOARD MEMBERSHIP
Governor Kitzhaber has approved the OBMI’s proposed 2015 legislation to restructure the Board membership to
include at least one physician and to expand the number of Board slots available to licensees or public members.
Board membership would also be available to limited x-ray permit holders. These changes would be
accomplished without altering the overall size of the Board (12 voting members), by reducing the mandated
number of physician members from four to one, and allowing three (currently vacant) slots reserved for
physicians to be filled by either physicians, imaging licensees, limited permit holders, or public members. The
Board proposed the legislative concept primarily due to the difficulty in finding physicians able to serve on the
Board. Next stop is the Oregon State Legislature for consideration during the 2015 session in Salem.

ARRT FEE FOR LIMITED EXAM INCREASES TO $125 ON JANUARY 1, 2015

The OBMI has been informed by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists that the ARRT will
increase their fee to sit for the examination for both the Limited Scope of Practice in Radiography and Bone
Densitometry Equipment Operator. Effective January 1, 2015, the ARRT fee for these exams will increase from
$100 to $125. All ARRT exam applications received in the office after January 1% will need to reflect the higher
fee level. (The OBMI portion of the fee will remain unchanged -- $20 for each examination category for which
the student is tested, added to the ARRT exam fee.)

NOTICES AND UPDATES...

APPLY TO SERVE ON THE BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING!

Currently there are several vacancies that need to be filled and we are always on the lookout for responsible and
committed individuals to serve on the Board. Under state law, the OBMI voting membership includes 12
members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. If you are interested, please check out the
Governor’s executive appointments website at http://www.oregon.gov/gov/Pages/boards.aspx and submit your
application. Please call Ed Conlow, OBMI Executive Director, at 971-673-0216, if you have any questions or
want to know more about what is involved with Board membership.

ON RENEWAL FORM, YOU MUST REPORT ANY ARREST OR CRIMINAL ACTION, EVEN IF DISMISSED

Current OBMI policy requires that, on an initial license/permit application, applicants must report any prior
arrests or criminal history. Renewal applicants must report any arrests or criminal action since their last
renewal. These reporting requirements apply even if the arrest resulted in a diversion program or if the charges
were dropped or dismissed. If you believe that you do not have to report a criminal action because the action
was expunged, you are encouraged to first confirm that fact with the court. Note that completing a diversion
agreement is not the same as expungement. For every initial application and every renewal, the Board conducts
a criminal records search. Failure to comply with this reporting requirement may result in an appearance
before the Board. The maximum penalty for failure to comply with this reporting requirement is $500, a
disciplinary action which is permanently recorded.

CONTACT US: Main number is 971-673-0215 or email to OBMI.Info@state.or.us. 2015 Board
Our mailing address is: Meeting Dates:
Oregon Board of Medical Imaging
800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 1160A Jan_. 16, 2015
Portland, OR 97232 April 17, 2015
’ July 24, 2015
Oct. 23, 2015

QUESTIONS/COMMENTS/FEEDBACK:

Ed Conlow, Executive Director, 971-673-0216; ed.conlow@state.or.us.
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