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OREGON BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING 
800 NE Oregon Street – Suite 1160A 

Portland, OR 97232-2162 
Phone: (971) 673-0215 / Fax: 971-673-0218 

Website: http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI  Email: OBMI.Info@state.or.us 

TEMPORARY INITIAL LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

Application Checklist: 
To avoid any delays in processing, please ensure that you have completed all fingerprint and application requirements at the time of submission. 

Fingerprint-Based Background Check 

“First Time Applicants” must include an additional $52.00 Fingerprint Background Check Fee.  The 
fingerprint fee is in addition to your License/Permit fee and it must be included along with your 
application fee.  Applicants must obtain their fingerprints from a “Fieldprint” facility.  Fieldprint 
instructions and contact information are on the next page of this application packet.  Follow their 
instructions closely.  Your application will not be completed until we receive the results of your 
fingerprint check from the Oregon State Police.  Fingerprint fees are non-refundable.   You will also 
be charged a fee to capture and process your fingerprints at the Fieldprint office.  If you have further 
questions concerning this process please call Fieldprint at 1-877-614-4364.   

License Application 

(Complete all the information asked for on the application.  Incomplete applications will be returned.) 

1- Passport Size Photograph of Yourself.

(Only professional like quality photos will be accepted.  No computer generated photos.) 

Application Processing Fee. 

*Temporary License Fees are $30.00 and the license is good for 6- Months.
*Permanent License Fees must be calculated from the main page of our website located at:
(http://www.oregon.gov/obmi/Pages/index.aspx) by using our Fee Calculator
(http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI/Pages/Fee-Calculator.aspx).
(Initial Payment must be a Personal Check, Money Order, or Cashier’s Check Only.  Sorry No Cash.
Make Payment Payable To: OBMI)

Photocopy of your National Registry Credential Card(s). (This only applies to Permanent License Applicants.)  

(If you are registered with more than one registry include photocopies of all of them.) 

Detailed Report(s) of All Past or Present Criminal History.  (Incomplete Applications Will Be Returned.) 

If you were ever Cited or Summoned to appear in Court you must provide all of the following 
documents. 

1.) Police Reports (For each separate incident.) 
2.) Court Documents (For each separate incident.) 
3.) A Letter of Explanation (In your own words write specifics about each separate incident.) 

Exactly what arrest information about past criminal history is the Board looking for?   
Read the last page on this application titled “Criminal Background Checks Frequently Asked Questions ”. 

Detailed Report(s) of Any Disciplinary Action Taken Against You By Another State. 

If you have had a license denied in any other state, or if you have had any Board action taken against 
you or your license, you must include a photocopy of that Agency/Board Order action with your 
application. 

Falsifying an application, supplying misleading information or withholding information may be grounds for denial or revocation of licensure.  Failure to 
disclose may result in a monetary fine including permanent disciplinary action on your record.  (OAR 337-030-0010 (3)(D)(g)). 

Before taking medical images, Oregon law mandates that all medical imaging technologists have an active license, or permit for Limited X-Ray (LXMO) 
issued by the Oregon Board of Medical Imaging.  Any failure to comply with Board statutes and rules may result in civil penalties and a permanent 
record of disciplinary action against a license or permit. 

http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI
mailto:OBMI.Info@state.or.us
http://www.oregon.gov/obmi/Pages/index.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI/Pages/Fee-Calculator.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI/docs/FAQ--Criminal-Background_Checks.pdf
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR USING FIELDPRINT 

To obtain electronic fingerprints for the Board of Medical Imaging for 
fingerprinting from a location within or outside the State of Oregon. 

 

To schedule a fingerprinting appointment, please follow these simple instructions listed below: 

 

1. Visit www.FieldprintOregon.com.  
 

2. Click on “Schedule an Appointment” button. 
 

3. Enter an email address under “New Users/Sign Up” and click the “Sign Up” 

button.  Follow the instructions for creating a Password and Security Question 

and then click “Sign Up and Continue.” 
 

4. Enter this Employer Code for the Board of Medical Imaging:  

FPORBdMedImagingLicDAS.   
 

5. Enter the contact and demographic information required by the FBI and 

schedule a fingerprint appointment at the location of your choosing. 
 

6. At the end of the process, print the Confirmation Page.  Take the Confirmation 

Page with you to your fingerprint appointment, along with two forms of 

identification. 
 

a. If you have any questions or problems, you may contact our customer 

service team at 1-877-614-4364 or customerservice@fieldprint.com.   

 
 

http://www.fieldprintoregon.com/
mailto:customerservice@fieldprint.com
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OREGON BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING 
    800 NE Oregon Street – Suite 1160A 
           Portland, OR 97232-2162 
            Phone: (971) 673-0215 / Fax: 971-673-0218 
                    Website: http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI 
                        Email: OBMI.Info@state.or.us 

STAPLE 
APPLICANT’S 

PHOTOGRAPH 
HERE 

 
 
 

A Photocopied Picture Will 
NOT Be Accepted. 

 

 

 

TEMPORARY INITIAL MEDICAL IMAGING LICENSE  
(Temporary License Are Only Valid for Six (6) Months – Temporary License Are For Students or Recent Graduates.) 

Cost: $30.00 License Fee + $52.00 Fingerprint Fee = $82.00  (Enclose This Amount) 
 

Mark the appropriate box with an “X” next to the temporary license modality you are applying for. 

  

        Nuclear Medicine Technologist (0830)   Registered Radiologist Assistant (0810) 
  

         Radiation Therapist (0818)    MRI Technologist (0826) 
 

         Radiographer (0809)                    Sonographer (0822) 
  

          Radiology Practioner Assistant (0810) 
 

Incomplete information, including necessary documents and funds will delay your license.   Allow 5- Working Days for processing provided you do not have criminal history. 
Mail your completed application to the name and address listed above. 

Part 1: About You.          

Last Name:   First Name:   Middle Name:    

Other Last / Maiden  
Names You’ve Used:   

Ethnic 
Background:  Gender:    

Date of Birth:  Weight:  Height:  Eye Color:  Hair Color:  

Social Security No. (Mandatory)     Driver’s License No.   State Issued In:   

 

Part 2: Contact Information.          

Mailing Address (or P.O. Box):          

City:  State:   Zip-Code     

Cell Phone No.   Home Phone No.        

Home 
Email Address:   

 Work 
 Email Address:        

(Protected From Release Unless Legally Compelled)          

Part 3: Education  

Name of College or Program:       Instructor’s Name:   

Address of College/School:    City  State:  Zip-Code:  

College/School Phone No:   Specify Diploma or Certificate:   Graduation Date:    

 

Part 4: Education Verification. 
(For applicants enrolled in an Oregon school who have not yet graduated, your school director must complete Part 4.  For all applicants who have graduated from an Oregon school or 
who are completing classes at an out-of-state school, please provide a copy of your school transcript or certificate of graduation.  

The student,   , is in good standing and is in the process of meeting educational requirements 
 

for graduation, and is competent to work under proper supervision.    
      

  Signature of School Program Director  
 

    Date Application Was Received 

For Office Use Only: LEDS Verified OBMI License No.   

Deposit No.  Expiration Date:   

 
 

http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI
mailto:OBMI.Info@state.or.us
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Part 5: Oregon Employer (Or Prospective). 

Oregon Employer (or Prospective):  
         

Employer’s Address:        

City:  Zip Code:  Phone No.  
Applicant’s 
Start Date:  

 

Part 6: Signature of Supervising Physician or Oregon Licensed Technologist.  

I hereby certify that,  ,  will be under my supervision while practicing the aforementioned medical   

Imaging modality at the facility listed in Part 5 of this application.    

        

                    Supervisor’s Signature               Supervisor’s Printed Name      Supervisor’s Title  Date 
 

 
Part 7:  Personal Background History   (See “Criminal Background Checks – Frequently Asked Questions.”) 

 
The Oregon Board of Medical Imaging requires a complete criminal history check for every applicant applying for a medical imaging license 
at the time of initial application; and at each renewal thereafter.  All medical imaging applicants in Oregon are required to report any and all 
prior arrests, pending arrest warrants, guilty pleas, nolo contendere (no contest) pleas, deferred adjudications, pre-trial diversion, 
convictions, and any matter where probation or community service was and/or is involved.  The only exception to this criminal reporting 
requirement is for routine traffic tickets that do not involve an arrest. 
 
Criminal history is not necessarily a disqualification from licensure.  Failure to fully disclose all prior criminal history may result in a monetary 
fine and a permanent disciplinary record.  All disciplinary records are reported to any and all registry’s that you are credentialed with.  If your 
answer to Question No. 1 is “Yes”, you must provide the following documents, and they must be submitted with your initial application or 
renewal. 

 

 Mail the Board A Copy of Your Arrest Report for each arrest. 

 Mail the Board A Copy of Your Court Document for each arrest. 

 Mail the Board A Copy of Your Personal Letter of Explanation for each arrest. 
 
 

 1.) Have you ever been Arrested (Detained) and/or Convicted for any Crime 
(except Minor Traffic Violations)?  (See “Criminal Background Checks Frequently Asked 

Questions.”) 

 YES    NO 

 

 

 2.)  Do you have any pending disciplinary investigations, or have you ever had 
any other professional license subject to disciplinary action in Oregon, or 
another state, or by any licensing agency? 

 YES   NO 

 
 

Part 8:  Agreement 
     

In consideration of my receiving a permanent license from the Oregon Board of Medical Imaging, I do hereby agree to abide by Oregon laws and 
administration rules pertain to the practice of Medical Imaging.  (ORS 688.405 to 688.605; ORS 688.915 to 688:990; OAR Chapter 337.) 
 
I AM AWARE THAT IF ANY CHANGES OCCUR IN MY EMPLOYMENT AND/OR HOME ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER, THE BOARD MUST BE 
NOTIFIED.  I UNDERSTAND THAT AN ONLINE UPDATED INFORMATION FORM IS AVAILABLE ONLINE AT THE FOLLOWING WEBSITE ADDRESS:  
http://www.oregon.gov/obmi 
 
By signing this application below I certify that the information appearing on this application is accurate and true to the best of my knowledge.  I am also aware 
that the Board will conduct a criminal history background records check through the Oregon State Police, Law Enforcement Data System (LEDS) and if 
necessary, a fingerprint card may be required for a nationwide records check. 

 
 
____________________________________________________ _____________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant:      Date: 
 

 

 
 

ALL APPLICATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 
Allow 5- Working Days for Processing Once All Required Documents Are Received. 

 

Mail Complete Application and Fee To: 
OBMI – 800 NE Oregon Street, Suite 1160A – Portland, OR 97232 

 

Make Check(s) Payable to: OBMI. 
 

If you need help filling out this application or have questions – please call us at: 971-673-0215 
Or email us at: OBMI.Info@state.or.us with your questions. 

http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI/docs/FAQ--Criminal-Background_Checks.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI/docs/FAQ--Criminal-Background_Checks.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI/docs/FAQ--Criminal-Background_Checks.pdf
mailto:http://www.oregon.gov/OBMI/docs/Updated_Information_Form.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/obmi
mailto:OBMI.Info@state.or.us
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OREGON BOARD OF MEDICAL IMAGING 

 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
 
 
WHY DO WE REQUIRE CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS? 
The Board reviews criminal history as part of the application process, including police records, court records, and an applicant’s 
letter of explanation for each incident.  Because OBMI issues licenses for people to work in a highly-specialized profession that 
deals with patients who may be in a vulnerable position, the Board needs to know if applicants have engaged in certain kinds of 
conduct, as listed in ORS 688.525. 
 
WILL PAST CRIMINAL ACTION DISQUALIFY MY APPLICATION? 
Prior criminal history does not automatically disqualify an applicant from licensure.  The Board evaluates each application on an 
individual basis.   
 

WHAT DO I NEED TO REPORT?    
You must report all prior arrests and criminal court actions that have not been 
previously reported to the Board, along with a letter of explanation for each incident.  
Here are some examples:   

 
 

REPORT IT? 

 Arrested by the police while a juvenile……………………………… Yes 

 Arrested and/or convicted long ago…several decades ago…………. Yes 

 Drunk driving arrest, but received diversion from the court………… Yes 

 Arrested for a domestic disturbance for which no complaint was ever 
filed…………………………………………………………………... 

 
Yes 

 I completed all probation requirements and the case was dropped or 
dismissed…………………………………………………………… 

 
Yes 

 Arrested and/or convicted but the incident has not shown up on any prior 
background checks……………………………………………. 

 
Yes 

 The charges were later dropped or dismissed……………………….. Yes 

 I received a citation for a simple misdemeanor, but was not detained by police 
……………………………………………………………. 

 
Yes 

 The police later admitted that they arrested me by mistake…………. Yes 

 Stopped for a speeding violation or other minor traffic violation …... No 

 
 
WHAT IF MY ATTORNEY TOLD ME THAT MY RECORD WAS “EXPUNGED”? 
Some applicants confuse dismissal with expungement, but they are not the same.  The only action that can fully erase a criminal 
arrest and conviction in Oregon is an expungement.  There is a statutory process for having a record expunged.  You do not need 
to report and arrest/conviction that has been expunged; but if it has not been expunged, you must report it with your application. 
 
HOW DOES OBMI COMPLETE THE CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK? 
For first-time license and permit applicants, the OBMI submits your fingerprints to the FBI and the Oregon State Police, to 
complete a comprehensive background check that will uncover most any prior arrest or court action from any state, no matter how 
minor or how long ago it occurred, including arrests in which the charges were later dropped.  For renewal applicants, the OBMI 
completes a criminal background check through the Oregon State Police. 
 
WHAT IF I AM UNABLE TO OBTAIN ARREST RECORDS AND COURT RECORDS? 
We require copies of any available police reports and court documents for each incident in which you were involved, if there was 
an arrest and/or court action.  If you are having a difficult time obtaining records from a police department or courthouse, please 
call our office at 971-673-0215 and let us know.  Even if you cannot obtain records, you must report the arrest and/or conviction on 
your application, along with a letter explaining what happened.   
 
WHAT IF I REPORTED THE ARREST/CONVICTION ON A PREVIOUS APPLICATION? 
If you have already reported an incident on your initial application or renewal application, you do not need to report that information 
to us again.   
 
WHAT HAPPENS IF I FAIL TO REPORT AN ARREST OR COURT ACTION?   
Any failure to fully disclose criminal history will be reviewed by the Board and may be subject to a civil penalty and permanent 
disciplinary action against your license.   
 
IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS: 
Do not hesitate to call the OBMI office a 971-673-0215.  Or you may Email Us at: OBMI.Info@state.or.us 
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