Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Public records requests
Public records rule
We will make public records available at cost, upon request, except those materials exempt from disclosure. The public records administrative rule, OAR 603-001-0125 through 0170, outlines our public records request process and allows us to recover costs incurred when responding to requests.
 
Requesting records
Requests should include contact information for the person making the request, including
  • name
  • address
  • e-mail address
  • telephone number
  • fax number
 
Requests should identify as specifically as possible the
  • type of record(s) requested
  • subject matter
  • approximate date(s)
  • names of businesses and/or people involved
  • the date by which the requestor hopes to obtain the records
 
Request copies of a public record in writing, by e-mail, fax, or post.
E-mail info@oda.state.or.us
Fax 503-986-4750
Post Oregon Department of Agriculture
Information Office
635 Capitol St NE
Salem, OR 97301-2532
 

 
Records exempt from disclosure
Certain types of public records are exempt by law from being released and usually involve confidential information. These exemptions are listed under ORS 192.500.
 
Fee structure
If a request for records can be fulfilled using less than 15 minutes of staff time, there will be no charge for the service.
 
Reimbursable staff time includes time spent locating records, reviewing records to delete exempt material, supervising the inspection of records, copying records, certifying records, and mailing records. Please note that we may charge for the cost of searching for records, regardless of whether or not we are able to locate the requested records.
 
If reimbursable staff time is estimated to be greater than 15 minutes, fees may be applied according to Oregon Administrative Rule 603-001-0145. Some common charges are as follows:
 
Staff time
$30.00 per hour, minimum $15.00
Copies $0.15 per page
Electronic records search $50.00 per hour
Express mailing Actual cost, minimum $9.00
Document certification $2.50 per certificate
Other: The request requires services for which no fees have been established (computer time, travel, shipping, etc.) Actual cost shall be determined or estimated.

 
What to expect
When we receive your written request, we will respond with an estimate of expected charges. Our response will contain an acknowledgment of the request, an initial indication about whether the records may be disclosed, an estimate of the cost of meeting the request, and the anticipated date when the information will be provided.
 
If you decide to continue with the request, we will prepare the requested records. We will then contact you in writing with a breakdown of the charges and the final cost. We will provide you with a bill that can be paid
  • in person (check, money order, cash, Visa, or MasterCard).
  • by way of the mail (check, money order, Visa or MasterCard).
  • by fax (Visa or MasterCard).
We will provide the requested documents after payment is received.
 
Exemption from fees
You may receive one free copy of a record, under certain conditions. Ordinarily there will be no charge for the following requests:
  1. When only one single copy of a public record is requested and the estimated staff time required is less than 15 minutes.
  2. When the material requested is being distributed as part of a news release or public notice.
  3. When the requested material has been distributed through mass mailing and is readily available.
  4. When the requester is a local, state, or federal public/governmental entity acting in a public function.
However, we may still charge for fulfilling the request
  • if the request creates a financial hardship for our office.
  • if the request interferes with our regular business
    • due to time and expense.
    • due to the volume of the records requested.
    • due to the need to segregate exempt from non-exempt materials.
 

 
Requesting a fee waiver
We have fee waiver provisions for people including members of the news media and non-profit organizations. We may choose to waive or reduce fees for a public records request if the fee reduction is in the public interest because making the record available benefits the public.
 
To request a fee waiver you must complete and submit the Public Record Fee Waiver and Reduction Request Form. This form will be provided by ODA when we send you the final cost notification. The completed waiver request form must describe your ability to disseminate information and must specifically identify the benefit to the public.
 
Send your completed Public Record Fee Waver and Reduction Request form to
E-mail info@oda.state.or.us
Fax 503-986-4750
Post Oregon Department of Agriculture
Information Office
635 Capitol St NE
Salem, OR 97301-2532
 
If you do not receive the Public Record Fee Waver and Reduction Request form, Please contact ODA at 503-986-4550.
Note: Even if the fee waiver is approved, we may still charge for fulfilling the request
  • if the request creates a financial hardship for our office.
  • if the request interferes with our regular business
    • due to time and expense.
    • due to the volume of records requested.
    • due to the need to segregate exempt from non-exempt materials.
    • due to the extent to which the request does not further the public interest or the particular needs of the requester.
 

 
More information
Oregon Department of Agriculture Administrative Rule, see 603-001-0125 through 0170
 
Oregon Revised Statute, Chapter 192 Records, Public Reports, and Meetings
 
If you have any questions regarding our public records request policy, please send an e-mail to info@oda.state.or.us or call us at 503-986-4550.

 
​​