Ore On Department of Agriculture
635 Capitol St NE

Kate Brown, Governor Salem, OR 97301-2532

To: 2016 Oregon Aerial Pesticide Applicator License Holders w

According to the Oregon Department of Agriculture’s records, you currently hold a valid
2016 Aerial Pesticide Applicator’s license in Oregon. Your license and certification period
for this license ends on December 31, 2016. The purpose of this letter to notify you of recent
significant changes in the law.
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On June 28, 2016, final administrative rules went into effect pertaining to pesticide
applications by aircraft. In 2017, there are additional requirements regarding obtaining and
maintaining an Aerial Pesticide Applicator’s license.

For aerial licensing, starting January 1, 2017, you must:
1. Take and pass Oregon’s “Aerial” exam;
* The “Aerial” exam is now available at all of our testing centers.
2. Provide a copy of your current FAA medical certificate;
* A copy of your current medical certificate will be required to be
submitted each license year at time of license renewal.
3. Complete at least 10 hours of aerial-specific training during your 5-year
recertification cycle.

You may take the Aerial exam this year (2016) but the 5-year certification cycle will not
begin until January 1, 2017. This will allow you to be eligible, and potentially fully licensed,
on January 1, 2017. There would be no break in your licensing.

The certification cycle for your existing Commercial, Public or Private Applicator’s license
will be aligned with the certification cycle of your Aerial Pesticide Applicator license. This
will allow you the full 5-year cycle to complete the other major requirement of the new law
- including completing at least 10 hours of aerial-specific training as part of your
recertification hours. The aerial-specific recertification hours for the license types are:
* Commercial/Public Applicators. The 10 aerial-specific credits hours are part of
the required 40 hours of recertification needed to maintain an applicator license.
* Private pesticide applicators. The 10 aerial-specific hours are in addition to the
required 16 credit hours needed to maintain a Private license.

If you are not able to complete the required 10 hours of aerial-specific training during your
recertification period, you will need to retake and pass the Aerial exam.

If you complete your 10 hours of aerial-specific training, but do not complete the remainder
of the required 40 hours during your recertification cycle, you will need to retest and pass

any exams that you need as part of your Commercial or Public applicator’s license.

Enclosed please find a copy of the Oregon statute and administrative rule relating to aerial
applications.

For additional information contact the Pesticides Program, Oregon Department of
Agriculture, at (503) 986-4635.
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To: New Pesticide Applicators wishing to apply pesticides by aircraft

Oregon state law requires that aerial pesticide applications cannot be made in Oregon
unless the aircraft pilot is licensed as an aerial pesticide applicator. To be eligible for an
aerial pesticide applicator’s license, the following requirements must be met:

1. The pesticide applicator must hold a valid Oregon Commercial, Public or Private
Pesticide Applicator’s license;

2. The applicator must hold a valid commercial FAA issued airman'’s certificate for the

type of aircraft being flown;

The applicator must show a valid FAA issued medical certificate;

4. The applicator must show proof of at least 50 hours of flight training experience for
the purpose of carrying out, or training to carry out, spraying or otherwise applying
pesticides by aircraft;

5. Beginning in the license year of 2017, the applicator must take and pass Oregon’s
“Aerial” examination.
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When an aerial applicator has completed the above requirements, the applicator will be
eligible to apply for an Aerial Pesticide Applicator’s license (APA). The application and fee
must be submitted with the required documentation listed above.

An Aerial Applicator’s license is an annual license. To renew the license, an aerial applicator
must provide a valid FAA-issued medical certificate, and also renew their Commercial or
Public applicators license or hold an active Oregon Private Pesticide Applicator’s license. To
reduce potential confusion, submit all paperwork and license renewals at the same time.

Starting January 1, 2017, a 5-year certification period begins when you pass the Aerial
exam. Note - You may take the Aerial exam this year (2016) but the 5-year certification
cycle will not begin until January 1, 2017.

Because the aerial applicator’s license is dependent on you having your commercial or
public pesticide applicator’s license, obtaining an aerial license will change the certification
period for your commercial or public pesticide applicator’s license, or Private Applicator’s
license. This will allow applicators to complete 10 hours of required aerial-specific
continuing education credits during the 5- year certification period without re-examination.
The aerial-specific recertification hours for the license types are:
* Commercial/Public Applicators. The 10 aerial-specific credit hours are part of the
required 40 hours of recertification needed to maintain an applicator license.
* Private pesticide applicators. The 10 aerial-specific hours are in addition to the
required 16 credit hours needed to maintain a Private license

Enclosed please find a copy of the Oregon statute and administrative rule relating to aerial
applications.

For additional information contact the Pesticides Program, Oregon Department of
Agriculture, at (503) 986-4635.
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