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US EPA’s PROPOSED Certification of Pesticide Applicator Rule (40 CFR 171)
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In August, the U.S. EPA released a proposal to revise the pesticide applicator certification and training rule, which has remained unchanged since 1974. EPA’s
pesticide applicator certification and training rule focuses on those who use federally Restricted Use Pesticides (RUPs), but for Oregon it impacts all licensed
applicators (private applicators, commercial applicators and public applicators, consultants with research and demonstration category, apprentices and trainees)
as well as dealer recordkeeping. The proposed changes impact Oregon pesticide applicators in a variety of ways, for example new exam categories for private
applicators, requiring identification at recertification meetings, and a total revamping of ODA’s recertification requirements including the number and types of
recertification credits (laws/safety and exam category) and the recertification cycle term. Some of EPA’s proposed changes are already requirements in Oregon.
This document highlights only some of EPA’s proposed changes; the ones that would have the greatest impact on Oregon licensed (certified) applicators.

EPA’s pesticide applicator certification and training rule aims to reduce the likelihood of harm from the misapplication of toxic, federally restricted use
pesticides (RUPs) and ensure a consistent level of protection among states. EPA is accepting comments on their proposal through January 22, 2016. Comments
on the proposed changes can be made at www.regulations.gov in docket number EPA-HQ-OPP-2011-0183. Consider providing comments, particularly addressing the specific

guestions asked by EPA in the docket. A simple one--liner is not helpful. EPA needs to understand the reasons for your suggestions, comments, and concerns. EPA
will review the comments and submit a final rule to USDA and the Office of Management and Budget for final review. The decision to go to final is anticipated for
2016. EPA’s comparison chartand the EPA’s pesticide-worker-safety have additional detailed information.

Private Applicators (PAL)

Proposed Rules Current Oregon Rules Impacts for PALs
* Add a Soil Fumigation exam * Soil Fumigation exam category is not required * Soil Fumigant exam category will be mandatory for any
category for soil fumigants for private applicators, only the EPA approved licensed private applicator doing soil fumigations.
training is required for Oregon PALs.
* AddNon-Soil Fumigation exam * None. * Private applicators using any fumigant (e.g., aluminum
category for private applicators phosphine, sulfur dioxide, methyl bromide) would need to

take and pass non-soil fumigation exam category.
* Add Aerial exam category * Oregon has new legislation requiring aerial * No new impacts for Oregon aerial applicators.
licensing beginning in 2016.

*  Minimum 18 years old for PAL * ORBureauof Labor & Industries has 16 year * Low impact. If restricted use pesticide (RUP) must be 18
certification or under the direct age restriction for employees handling years old to be licensed. Some farm exceptions.
supervision when using RUPs hazardous chemicals. Must be 18 to be a

private applicator.




Private Applicators (PAL)

Proposed Rules

* Mandatory 3 year certification cycle

* Obtain 6 core Continuing
Education Units (CEU is 50
minutes training)
and
3 CEUs per EACH exam category
during the 3--year recertification
cycle

* Obtain at least %5 of CEUs in last 18
months of licensing cycle

* Present ID for recertification
training sessions

Current Oregon Rules

* ODA’scertification period is a 5-year cycle.

* Private applicators require 16 credits in 5-
year cycle with no more than 8 credits per
year.

* Private applicators can attend any training
with any approved content for CEUs
(recertification credits).

* Private applicators are required to complete 4
hours of Core CEUs during the recertification
cycle in order to renew.

ODA has maximum credits of 8 per year.

* ODA requires verification by signature.

Impacts for PALs

* Expensive changes to ODA database.
* Requireslengthyimplementation timeline to converta5-year
cycle to 3--years.

* Very expensive changes to ODA database and could
require hiring ssverdadditional full--time employee(FTEs).

* QObtain 6 CEUs in core (laws/safety) topics in 3 years, and

* Obtain 3 CEUs per EACH exam category in 3 years.

* ODA is required to assign recertification course topics as
“Core” or “category specific” training. Applicators will need to
monitor they are getting what they need.

* Half-yeartrackingofcreditsisnotpractical.

* Very time consuming for course sponsors, ODA and
applicators.
* Could discourage attendance by people without ID

Commercial Applicators (CPA), Public Applicators (PPA), Consultant with Research and Demonstration Category (PC), and Apprentice (APL)

Proposed Rules

* Add a Soil Fumigation exam category

* Add a Non-Soil Fumigation exam
category

* Add Aerial exam category

Current Oregon Rules

* ODA hasaSoil Fumigation exam category

* Any person using a restricted use pesticide

requires certification per category.

* Oregon has new legislation requiring aerial
licensing beginning in 2016.

Impacts for CPA, PPA, PC, and APL

* Already have to take this exam.

* Already have to take category specific exams that would
require use of these products.

* No new impacts for Oregon aerial applicators.




Commercial Applicators (CPA), Public Applicators (PPA), Consultant with Research and Demonstration Category (PC), and Apprentice (APL)

Proposed Rules

Mandatory 3 year certification cycle

Obtain

6 core Continuing Education Units
(CEU is 50 min training)

and

6 CEUs per EACH exam category
during the 3-year recertification
cycle

Obtain at least % of CEUs in last 18
months of licensing cycle

Present ID for recertification
training sessions

Current Oregon Rules

* ODAruleisab5-yearcycle.

* 40 credits required and a maximum of 15
credits per year; however, with no
requirements for “core” (laws and safety)
or “category” (exam categories) for CPA,
PPA or PC.

8 credits required yearly with 4 credits
required in “core” topics for APL.

* ODA does not review and assign category
specific credits.

* ODA has maximum credits of 15 per year.

ODA requires verification by signature, except
for online distance learning.

Impacts for CPA, PPA, PC, and APL

* Expensive changes to ODA database.

* Requireslengthyimplementationtimeline to convert 5-year
cycles to 3-years.

* Very expensive changes to ODA database and will require
hiringseveral additional full-time employees.

* Obtain 6 CEUs in core topics in 3 years, and

* Obtain 6 CEUs per EACH exam category in 3 years.

o If someone had 3 exam categories they need 6 core + 18
category CEUs for 24 credits per 3 years.

o If someone had 5 exam categories they need 6 core + 30
category CEUs for 36 credits per 3 years.

* ODA is required to assign recertification course topics as
“Core” or “category specific” training. Applicators will need to
monitor they are getting what they need.

* Course sponsors will face significant demands to provide
training in both core and category; additional FTEs will be
needed.

* Challengeto provide category credits in small-sector exam
categories, such as seed treatment and marine fouling.

* Half-yeartrackingof creditsis not practical.

* Very time consuming for course sponsors, ODA and
applicators.
* Could discourage attendance by people without ID

Dealers (PD)

Proposed Rules

RUP dealers must record
applicator’s certification number,
issuing authority, certification
expiration date, and categories of
certification — these are in addition
to other items.

Current Oregon Rules

* Dealers must record certified applicator’s
pesticide license number in addition to other
Iltems.

Impacts for Dealers

* Minimal additional burden —few additions to Oregon’s
current requirements.
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