Development drives up
firefighting costs

The cost of fighting wildfires has been
climbing for decades. Some of the
increase comes from rising equipment
and labor rates. Another major factor

is expanding development. Whenever a
wildfire threatens improvements, the cost
of fighting it goes up sharply.

In the absence of structures and other
improvements, the Department of
Forestry is able to employ tactics that
minimize the acres burned and hold
down costs. Bulldozers, for example, can
build fire line more quickly and at less
expense than hand crews. But the use

of heavy equipment is inappropriate in
urban areas, and so fire managers must
resort to additional personnel and fire
engines, and, in many situations, aircraft.

We think of wildfire as a

powerful force of Nature. While
this is true, many wildfires that

threaten the urban fringe, or
“wildland-urban interface,”

start from human activity such
as backyard debris burns that

spread to the forest.

For more information

Contact the nearest
Oregon Department of Forestry office

VISIT
www.oregon.gov/odf/offices.shtmli
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When a fire burns in the forest,
chances are it poses a threat to
homes as well as trees. Traditional
wildland fire suppression techniques
are compromised in the presence of
improvements, and this drives up
the cost of firefighting. To help cover
the added expense, Oregon places

a surcharge on improved lots in the
state’s forest protection districts.

Homeowners benefit from the
protection provided to forestland.

In the course of fighting wildfires

to minimize damage to the forest
resource, the Oregon Department
of Forestry also works to keep the
fires from encroaching on developed
areas within the forest.




Frequently asked questions

Q: Are forest landowners and improved lot owners

A:

within forestland assessed differently for wildfire
protection?

No. Forest landowners pay a per-acre assessment
for wildfire protection on their lands. The rate
varies according to the region of the state and the
type of land. The minimum assessment is $18.75.
Because their lots are typically small in size, many
improved lot owners are required to pay the
minimum assessment. Owners of improved lots
(land with structures or other improvements, such
as landscaping and fencing) also pay a surcharge
of $47.50. This is chiefly because an improved lot
is more difficult to protect from wildfire, since
traditional wildland firefighting techniques are
compromised in these settings.
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Owners of improved

lots pay a surcharge

in addition to the
forestland assessment.
This helps offset the
higher cost of protecting
structures within the
forest.
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Has there always been a surcharge on improved
lots?

No. It was imposed in 1989 by the
Oregon Legislature. Fighting forest
fires had become increasingly
expensive, in part because population
expansion into forested areas was
causing an increase in wildfires.

How do you determine whether a lot
is “improved”?

The criteria for an improved lot

vary from county to county and are
established by the county assessor. But
generally, the presence of structures is
key to the determination.

I own several improved lots. Can I get a financial
break on the assessment?

Possibly. In some cases a landowner who owns
multiple lots can combine certain contiguous lots
for the purpose of fire patrol assessments, even if
there are structures present. Where there is one
single-family dwelling, the combined lot may

not exceed 20 acres. Contact your local Oregon
Department of Forestry office for specific analysis
of your situation to determine the options available
to you.

I am paying the improved lot surcharge. Does
that mean my house and other buildings are
protected from fire?

No. The Oregon Department of Forestry does not
fight structure fires. ODF firefighters work to keep
wildfires from spreading to structures, and also to
keep structure fires from spreading to the forest.
But protecting houses and other structures is the
job of municipal and rural fire departments.

Where does the surcharge money go?

The $47.50 surcharge goes to the Oregon Forest
Land Protection Fund (OFLPF). This forest
landowner-financed emergency fund pays the
extra costs of fighting major wildfires, such as air
tankers and contract fire crews.

Q: Where does the surcharge assessment show up?
A: On your annual property tax statement.

Protecting houses, barns
and other outbuildings
from wildfire presents a
big challenge - one that
requires close coordination
between structural and
wildland fire agencies.
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Q: Does the assessment switch on
and off?

A: Yes. When the OFLPF reaches a
$22.5 million ceiling, the surcharge
to improved lot owners drops to 50
percent ($23.75). When the OFLPF
reaches a $30 million ceiling, the
surcharge and assessments by statute
may not be collected. When major
wildfires draw down the fund’s
balance below $22.5 million, the
surcharge is activated again.

Where can I obtain more information?
Contact the nearest Oregon Department of Forestry

What are my options for appeal?
You are being assessed the $47.50 surcharge because

your lot lies within a forest protection district
boundary, and because it is listed as an improved lot
on the assessment rolls of your county. If you feel that
you have been inaccurately assessed the surcharge,
you can contact your county assessor or your Oregon
Department of Forestry office.

Fire Assessment and Surcharge Rates

Harvest tax

62.5¢ / 1,000 board feet

Minimum lot assessment (that

portion for the OFLPF) $3.75/ lot
Improved lot surcharge $47.50 / lot
Eastside timberland 7.5¢ / acre
Class 3 agricultural land (grazing) 7.5¢ / acre
Westside timberland 5¢ / acre




