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“Buckle Everyone, Every Time, Every Trip” 
 
In 2013, Oregon saved 175 lives because they were buckled up.* 
 
That’s why law enforcement is joining a statewide campaign to emphasize safety.  
To remind drivers and passengers about the 
life-saving power of properly used safety belts 
and child safety seats, law enforcement 
agencies from around the state will be out in 
force from May 18 – 31, including at night, 
when people often skip the potentially life-
saving practice.  
 
One-fourth of those killed in 2013 were not wearing seatbelts. 
Of the 216 vehicle occupants killed in Oregon motor vehicle crashes during 2013, 54 
were unrestrained. For 24 others who died, we don’t know whether or not they were 
restrained. It’s tragic to think of the potential lives that could be saved by taking a few 
extra seconds to buckle up. 
 
Nighttime sees more unbelted fatalities. 
Of the 104 vehicle occupants that died at night in 2013, more than half were 
unrestrained or improperly restrained.  

 
New this year: equipped van 
will help train technicians 
After more than a year in the 
making, our new child passenger 
safety training van is on the road – 
and making it safer for young 
passengers. Federal funds 
administered by ODOT’s 
Transportation Safety Division 
(TSD) helped purchase and update 
a van to promote child passenger 

safety and train certified technicians in how to install safety seats – and how to teach 
others to do so as well, such as parents, grandparents and caregivers. Through a TSD 
grant, the van resides with Legacy Emanuel’s Randall Children’s Hospital, where it is 
managed by Child Passenger Safety Coordinator Tammy Franks, TFranks@LHS.ORG 
or (503) 413-4665. 
 
Remember: It’s not time ‘til they’re 4’9 
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Oregon law requires the following: 
• Child passengers weighing less than forty pounds must be restrained in a child 

seat.  
• Children under one year or weighing less than twenty pounds must be restrained 

in a rear-facing child seat. 
• A child over forty pounds must be restrained in either a child seat or a booster 

seat appropriate for the child’s size until he/she reaches age eight or 4/9” tall 
AND the adult belt system fits properly. 

 
Key Facts for Oregon 
 

• Oregon leads the nation with highest reported seatbelt use: 98.18%. 
Still, NHTSA estimates six lives could have been saved here in 2013 
if everyone buckled up.* 
 

• OSP, sheriffs and local police will be working day and night to 
increase proper safety belt and child car seat use during a statewide 
traffic enforcement “blitz” from May 18 through May 31, 2015. 

 
• Child car seats reduce the likelihood of infants under 1 year old being 

killed in a crash by 71 percent and the fatal risk for toddlers aged 1 to 
4 by 54 percent, and 58 and 59 percent for infants and toddlers in 
SUVS, pickups and vans. 
 

• Safety belts reduce the chance of fatal injury by 45 to 65 percent. 
 
*Estimate, according to a report issued April 29, 2015 by the National Highway Transportation Safety 
Association. 
 
Contact Information 
Carla Levinski, ODOT Occupant Protection 
Program Manager 
(503) 986-4199 
Carla.l.levinski@odot.state.or.us 
 
View our 3-minute video at: 
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/PublishingImages/safetyb
elts/swf/index.html 
 
To see a calendar of child safety seat clinics, visit www.oregonimpact.org. 
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