
 

 

Title and Register Your Tow/Recovery Vehicle and get 
a Tow Business Certificate 

  
 

Use these instructions to title and register your tow/recovery vehicle that has a combined weight of 26,000 pounds or less.  Combined 
weight is the empty weight of all vehicles in a combination plus the total weight of the load carried on that combination of vehicles. 

How to Apply: 

Title and Registration: 

 Fill out an Application for Title and Registration (Form 735-226); 
 Help with the application. 

 Provide the original ownership document; 
 Provide the original odometer disclosure, if required; 
 Provide original releases of interest from any previous owners; 

 This is usually provided on ownership document, an original bill of sale, or a Secure Odometer 
Disclosure/Reassignment. A Bill of Sale (Form 735-501) may be used. 

 Provide original lien releases from any previous security interest holders;  
 This is usually provided on the ownership document, as an original signed letter, or a Lien Release (Form 735-524).  

 Get a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection for $7, if required;  
 Fill out an Application for Tow or Recovery Vehicle Business Certificate (Form 735-387);  
 Provide a valid Certificate of Liability Insurance; 

 Coverage for $50,000 cargo, $750,000 liability per accident. 
 Calculate all applicable title, registration and plate fees; and 
 Submit your completed application, supporting materials, and payment to DMV. 

Tow Business Certificate with/without Registration: 
 Fill out an Application for Registration, Renewal, Replacement or Transfer of Plates and/or Stickers (Form 735-268); 
 Fill out an Application for Tow or Recovery Vehicle Business Certificate (Form 735-387);  
 Provide a valid Certificate of Liability Insurance; 

 Coverage for $50,000 cargo, $750,000 liability per accident. 
 Calculate fees: 

 $17 Tow Business Certificate fee;  
 Registration fee, if registering with DMV; 
 $24 plate fee, if the vehicle does not already have tow/recovery plates; and 

 Submit your completed application, insurance proof, and payment to DMV. 
 
By submitting an application for registration, you are certifying:  

 You currently have, and will maintain, motor vehicle insurance required by Oregon law for as long as you register the vehicle; 
and 

 Your home is in Oregon; or 
 You are eligible, or required, to register under Oregon law. 

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/226fill.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6603.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/odometer.aspx
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/501fill.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/524fill.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/vininspection.aspx
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/387fill.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/fees/vehicle.aspx
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/268fill.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/387fill.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/148.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/insurance.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/residency.aspx
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