
 

Limited Vision Condition Program: 
Using a Bioptic Telescopic Lens 

State law provides an opportunity for persons with a limited vision condition who use 
a bioptic telescopic lens to be eligible for restricted driving privileges in Oregon.  

Who is 
eligible?  

A person otherwise eligible for Oregon driving privileges whose 
vision meets the following criteria: 

• Has visual acuity in the better eye with best lens correction 
that is no better than 20/80 and no worse than 20/200; 

• Has no ocular diagnosis or prognosis that may result in 
deterioration of the person’s corrected vision below a 20/200 
level of visual acuity; 

• Has a visual field of at least 120 degrees horizontally  
and 80 degrees vertically; and 

• Would be aided by using a bioptic telescopic lens  
when operating a motor vehicle. 

What driving 
privileges is 
the person 
eligible for?  

A Class C license (or instruction permit) with the following 
restrictions: 

• Driving during daylight hours only; 

• Driving only when using a bioptic telescopic lens. 
 
The daylight restriction will be removed when the person 
completes the following steps: 
 

1) Is examined by a vision specialist who indicates on a 
report submitted to DMV that the person’s vision 
does not prohibit the ability to safely operate a 
motor vehicle at night. 

 
2) Provides a certificate from a rehabilitation training 

specialist stating the person has successfully 
completed nighttime training and can safely operate 
a vehicle at night. 

 

What are the 
steps to be 
licensed under 
this program?  

• Be examined by a vision specialist who reports to DMV that the 
person’s vision meets the program’s criteria to be licensed. 

• Be fitted by a licensed vision specialist with a bioptic 
telescopic lens mounted on the carrier lens. 

• Enroll in a rehabilitation training program offered by a 
specialist certified by DMV to train persons with a low vision 
condition in the use of bioptic telescopic lens while driving. 



• Pass DMV’s written knowledge test. 

• Be issued by DMV a special limited vision condition learner’s 
permit to be used during driver training. 

• Submit to DMV a certificate issued by a rehabilitation training 
specialist certifying that the person has successfully completed 
a rehabilitation training program. 

• Pass a DMV-provided drive test (call (503) 945-5523 to 
schedule). 

What DMV fees 
are applicable? 

• Class C Knowledge Test - $5.00 

• Special limited condition learner’s permit - $13.00 

• Class C Instruction Permit - $23.50 (if applicable) 

• Class C Drive Test - $9.00 

• Class C License - $60.00 (if applicable) 

What are other 
requirements 
of this 
program? 

• The special limited condition learner’s permit can only be used 
to drive with a certified training specialist as part of the 
rehabilitation training program. 

• Every two years, the person must provide a new certification 
from a licensed vision specialist.  

• In addition to the requirements under this program, a driver 
under 18 years of age must meet all the requirements of a 
provisional license:  

1) Have an instruction permit (this differs from a special 
limited condition learner’s permit) for a minimum of six 
months; and 

2) Complete a Driver’s Education Course (not the specialized 
training required by this program) and have 50 hours of 
supervised driving; or 

Have 100 hours of supervised driving prior to being issued 
a provisional license. 

 
For More Information 

Call Driver Safety at (503) 945-5083 

Driver Safety  
DMV Headquarters 

1905 Lana Avenue NE 
Salem, Oregon 97314 

www.oregondmv.com 
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