

## **Department of Transportation**

Driver and Motor Vehicle Services -DMV 1905 Lana Ave NE Salem OR 97314 www.OregonDMV.com

March 24, 2020

Under the Governor's "Stay Home, Save Lives" Executive Order, Oregon DMV is implementing changes to its in-person services beginning Wednesday, March 25. Only six offices will be open for DMV business. This will be by appointment only, for commercial driver knowledge tests and commercial driver license issuance. Most DMV services remain available through OregonDMV.com and through the mail.

As the dealer industry struggles to work through the challenges related to COVID-19 closures and restrictions, DMV is offering the following information and guidance to industry members:

- o The Department of Transportation had partnered with Oregon law enforcement agencies to exercise discretion in their enforcement efforts. The Oregon State Police, Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police, and Oregon State Sheriffs' Association have all agreed to support a grace period for enforcing expired credentials. Transactions falling within this request include the following that could expire during the COVID-19 emergency:
  - Driver license and identification cards
  - Passenger vehicle registrations
  - Commercial vehicle registrations
  - Trip permits and temporary registrations
  - Disabled parking permits
- DEQ Testing
  - DEQ Clean Air Stations are currently closed. However, some DEQToo businesses may still be providing testing. Visit DEQToo.org for more information.

## DEQ INFORMATION / CLOSURE UPDATES

- Oregon.gov/DEQ
- Portland (503) 229-5066
- Outside Portland (877) 476-0583

Based upon this information, dealers who sell vehicles during this time are advised of the following:

If you sell a vehicle and collect DMV fees for title and registration –

- o <u>If DEQ is not required</u> issue a 90 day temporary registration permit and submit the completed transaction to DMV. If the temporary registration permit expires, the expired permit will fall under the law enforcement "grace period" mentioned above.
- o <u>If DEQ is required</u> issue the appropriate 10 or 21 day trip permit. If the trip permit expires, the expired permit will fall under the law enforcement "grace period" mentioned above.

- If there is a Security Interest Holder Submit all required documents and fees to DMV, excluding the DEQ certificate. Once the dealer obtains the DEQ certificate, and submits it to DMV, the registration period for the purchaser will begin and plates will be issued.
- o DMV will consider transactions delayed by DEO closures as "Circumstances Beyond the Dealer's Control", and will require dealers to provide a written delay letter to purchasers and lien holders, and also maintain delay records. Refer to Chapter R in the Title and Registration Handbook: https://www.oregon.gov/odot/DMV/docs/Chapter\_R.pdf

DMV Field Offices will not be accepting transactions during this time. You can still submit your transactions through the mail to DMV HQ, and Vitu members will be still be able to utilize their services.

The DMV Business Licensing office also will close to in-person visits beginning Wednesday, March 25th. Temporary and Trip Permit books can be ordered, and certificate renewal applications will be accepted through the mail. Limited staff will be working and can be reached at 503-945-5052 for assistance.

Please refer to Executive order 2020-12 to determine whether your business is required to close, as DMV staff are not able to make that determination for you:

https://govsite-assets.s3.amazonaws.com/jkAULYKcSh6DoDF8wBM0\_EO%2020-12.pdf

Please understand that the current situation is extremely fluid, and changes are made rapidly with little notice. Updated information is available on ODOT's COVID-19 response at: https://www.oregon.gov/odot/Pages/incident.aspx

Sincerely,

Larry Purdy

Chief of Investigations

Larry Purdy

**DMV** Business Regulation