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VEHICLE DEALERS

(Generally)
 822.005 Acting as vehicle dealer without 

(1) A person commits the 
offense of acting as a vehicle dealer without a 

 (a) Buys, sells, brokers, trades or exchanges 
vehicles either outright or by means of any con-
ditional sale, bailment, lease, security interest, 
consignment or otherwise;
 (b) Displays a new or used vehicle, trailer 
or semitrailer for sale; or
 (c) Acts as any type of agent for the owner 
of a vehicle to sell the vehicle or acts as any 
type of agent for a person interested in buying 

 (2) This section does not apply to persons 
or vehicles exempted from this section under 

 (3) The offense described in this section, 

 822.007 Injunction against person 
acting as vehicle dealer in violation of 
vehicle code or rule; court-imposed mon-
etary penalties. 
remedies provided by law, the Department of 
Transportation may petition the circuit court 
to enjoin a person from acting as a vehicle 
dealer in violation of the Oregon Vehicle Code 

 (2) A single act in violation of the provisions 
of the Oregon Vehicle Code or of any rules 
adopted by the department relating to vehicle 

the court may assess a penalty not to exceed 
$15,000 if the department proves by a prepon-
derance of the evidence that a person is acting 
as a vehicle dealer without possessing a vehicle 

reasonable costs and disbursements, attorney 

 822.009 Civil penalties for violations 
of statutes or rules. (1) The Department of 
Transportation may levy and collect a civil pen-
alty, in an amount not to exceed $1,000 for each 
violation, against any person who has a vehicle 

violated any provisions of the Oregon Vehicle 
Code or of any rules adopted by the department 
relating to the sale of vehicles, vehicle titling 

 (2) The department may levy and collect 
a civil penalty, in an amount not to exceed 
$5,000 for each vehicle improperly sold, bro-
kered, exchanged or offered or displayed for 

 (b) Any rules adopted by the department 
relating to the sale of vehicles and the person 

 822.010

 822.015 Exemptions from vehicle dealer 

addition to any exemptions from the vehicle 

 (a) Road rollers, farm tractors, farm trailers, 
trolleys, implements of husbandry, emergency 
vehicles, well-drilling machinery and boat or 
utility trailers with a gross weight of 1,800 

 (b) The owner of a vehicle as shown by the 
vehicle title issued by any jurisdiction if the 
person owned the vehicle primarily for per-

person has sold, traded, displayed or offered 
-

cles in one calendar year, the person shall have 
the burden of proving that the person owned 
the vehicles primarily for personal, family or 
household purposes or for other purposes that 
the Department of Transportation, by rule, 

 (c) A receiver, trustee, personal represen-

 (d) The lessor or security interest holder of 
a vehicle as shown by the vehicle title issued 

paragraph, a manufacturer who sells vehi-
cles the manufacturer has manufactured in 

any manufacturer from obtaining a vehicle 

paragraph does not exempt a manufacturer 

 (f) An insurance adjuster authorized to do 

paragraph, a person who sells or trades or 
offers to sell or trade a vehicle that has been 

This paragraph does not exempt a person who 
is in the business of selling, trading, display-
ing, rebuilding, renting or leasing vehicles 

 (h) A person who receives no money, goods 
or services, either directly or indirectly, for 
displaying a vehicle or acting as an agent in 

 (i) A person who collects, purchases, 
acquires, trades or disposes of vehicles and 
vehicle parts for the person’s own use in order 
to preserve, restore and maintain vehicles for 
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the person’s own use or for hobby or historical 

 (j) A manufactured structure dealer subject 

or a person exempt from licensing under 

or semitrailer accepted in trade as part of a 
-

factured structure dealership or exempt person 
may not directly sell more than three vehi-
cles per calendar year under authority of this 
paragraph, but by consignment with a dealer 

sell an unlimited number of vehicles acquired 

 (k) A lien claimant who sells vehicles in 

 (L) A lien claimant who, in a 12-month 
period, sells 12 or fewer vehicles that the lien 
claimant acquired through possessory liens if 
the vehicles are sold at the business location 

-
lowing may participate with other dealers in 
a display of vehicles, including but not limited 
to an auto show, if the display is an event that 
lasts for 10 days or less and is an event for 

 (a) A person who is licensed as a vehicle 
dealer in another jurisdiction; or
 (b) Any employee of a person who is licensed 

who is licensed as a vehicle dealer in another 
jurisdiction or an employee of a person who is 

participate in a vehicle auction if the vehicle 

 (a) Conducted by a vehicle dealer who holds 

 (4) The department shall adopt rules to 
carry out the provisions of this section, includ-
ing but not limited to specifying which dealers 
may take vehicles on consignment from other 

Department of Transportation shall issue a 

 (1) The person must complete the application 

 (2) The person must deliver to the depart-
ment a bond or letter of credit that meets the 

 (3) The person must deliver to the depart-

 (4) The person must pay the fee required 

 (5) The person must certify completion of 
-

a dealer subject to the education and test 

 Note

to 4 of this 2013 Act apply to applications for 
issuance or renewal of a vehicle dealer certif-
icate submitted on or after the effective date 

-
ately preceding the effective date of this 2013 
Act shall continue to be governed by ORS 

effect immediately before the effective date of 
this 2013 Act until the expiration of the vehicle 

-

were approved before the effective date of this 
2013 Act continue to be deemed approved until 

 822.025 Application contents. An appli-

by the Department of Transportation under 

the department and shall contain all of the 

 (1) The names and residence addresses of 

names and residence addresses of all members 

name of the corporation with the names of the 

and the name of the state under whose laws 

 (2) The name under which the business will 

 (3) The street address, including city and 
county in Oregon, where the business will be 

 (4) Whether or not used vehicles are 

that the applicant will act as a vehicle dealer 
and will conduct business at the location given 



(2015 Edition) Page 417

-
rized by the local governing body to do so, 
stating that the location of the business as 

-
plies with any land use ordinances or business 

The provisions of this subsection do not apply 

-

 (7) Any information required by the 
-

istration of vehicles and regulation of dealers 
or other relevant information required by the 

education and test requirements under ORS 

the courses that the applicant has completed 
and the tests that the applicant has passed in 

-

applicant stating that the applicant will main-
tain a recreational vehicle service facility at 
the street address provided by the applicant 

 Note
 822.027 Education requirements for 
vehicle dealers. 
subsections (2) and (3) of this section, the fol-
lowing education requirements apply to an 

 (a) An applicant for a vehicle dealer cer-

a minimum of eight hours of courses in any 

described in subsection (4) of this section and 
pass the tests required under paragraph (c) of 
this subsection within one year prior to sub-

four hours of courses in any approved continu-
ing education program described in subsection 
(4) of this section and pass the tests required 
under paragraph (c) of this subsection prior to 
submitting an application for the renewal cer-

in an approved continuing education program 
for which the applicant previously obtained 

 (c) For each course hour required under 
paragraphs (a) and (b) of this subsection, the 
provider shall administer a test and the appli-
cant must pass each test with a score of at least 
70 percent in order to receive credit for the 

-
ments in subsection (1)(a) of this section do 
not apply to an applicant for a vehicle dealer 

at the time of application, the applicant holds 

 (3) The continuing education requirements 
of subsection (1)(b) of this section do not apply 
to an applicant for renewal of a vehicle dealer 

 (a) A dealer having a franchise in this state 
for nationally advertised and recognized motor 
vehicles;
 (b) A dealer having a franchise in this state 
for new recreational vehicles;
 (c) A motor vehicle rental company having 
a national franchise under the ownership of 
a corporation that operates throughout the 
United States; or
 (d) A national auction company that holds 

programs and the tests required in subsec-
tion (1) of this section may be developed by any 
motor vehicle industry organization including, 

program shall be submitted to the advisory 

vote to approve or deny approval of each pro-

state and federal law in at least the following 

 (a) Motor vehicle advertising;
 (b) Odometer laws and regulations;
 (c) Vehicle licensing and registration;
 (d) Unlawful dealer activities;

 (f) Oregon and industry standard motor 
vehicle forms;
 (g) Truthful lending practices;

 (i) Service and warranty contracts; and
 (j) Land use regulations governing motor 

-
tion programs required in subsection (1) of this 
section may be provided by accredited educa-
tional institutions, private vocational schools, 
correspondence schools or trade associations if 
the education programs have been approved 
by the advisory committee established under 

under subsection (4) of this section expires two 
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 Note
 822.030 Bond or letter of credit require-
ments; rights of action. (1) A bond or letter 
of credit required to qualify for a vehicle dealer 

 (a) The bond shall have a corporate surety 

letter of credit shall be an irrevocable letter 
of credit issued by an insured institution, 

institution shall notify the Department of 
Transportation if the bond or letter of credit 

-
tution shall continue to be liable under the 
bond or letter of credit until the department 
receives the notice required by this paragraph, 

 (b) The bond or letter of credit shall be exe-

paragraph, the bond or letter of credit shall 

be a dealer exclusively in motorcycles, mopeds, 

any combination of those vehicles, the bond or 

of this paragraph, if the applicant is seeking 

letter of credit shall be for $40,000 for each 

 (d) The bond or letter of credit described in 
this subsection shall be approved as to form 

 (e) The bond or letter of credit must be con-

shall conduct business as a vehicle dealer 
without fraud or fraudulent representation 
and without violating any provisions of the 
vehicle code relating to vehicle registration, 
vehicle permits, the transfer or alteration of 

 (g) The vehicle dealer shall purchase a 
bond or letter of credit under this subsection 
annually on or before each anniversary of the 

 (2) Any person shall have a right of action 
against a vehicle dealer, against the surety 
on the vehicle dealer’s bond and against the 
letter of credit in the person’s own name if the 
person suffers any loss or damage by reason 
of the vehicle dealer’s fraud, fraudulent rep-
resentations or violations of provisions of the 

 (a) Vehicle registration;

 (b) Vehicle permits;
 (c) The transfer or alteration of vehicles; or

 (3) Notwithstanding subsection (2) of this 
section, the maximum amount available under 
a bond described in subsection (1)(c)(B) of this 
section for the payment of claims by persons 
other than retail customers of the dealer is 

renewed or is voluntarily or involuntarily can-
celed, the sureties on the bond and the issuer 
of the letter of credit are relieved from liability 
that accrues after the department cancels the 

of insurance; exemptions. 
insurance required to qualify for a vehicle 

 (a) Be issued by an insurance carrier 
licensed to do business within this state;
 (b) Show that the dealer is insured by a 
policy that provides the minimum limits of 

 (c) Show that the dealer is insured by a 
policy that provides for payment of judgments 

 (d) Show that the dealer is insured by a 
policy covering all vehicles manufactured, 
owned, operated, used or maintained by or 
under the control of the dealer;
 (e) Show that the dealer is insured by a 
policy that also covers all other persons who, 
with the consent of the dealer, use or operate 
vehicles manufactured, owned or maintained 
by or under the control of the dealer;
 (f) Be dated as of the date of the motor vehi-
cle policy for which it is given;
 (g) Contain the policy number; and
 (h) Provide that the insurer shall give the 
Department of Transportation written notice 
of any cancellation of the policy and that the 
insurer shall continue to be liable under the 
policy until the department receives the notice 
required by this paragraph or until the cancel-

 (3) A dealer is exempt from the requirement 

form as may be required by the department, 
that the dealer will be dealing exclusively in 
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 (a) Antique vehicles issued permanent reg-

 (b) Farm trailers;
 (c) Farm tractors;

-

 822.035 Investigation of application; 
dealer number; rules; records inspec-

card; effect of revocation or suspension 
in another jurisdiction. The Department of 

 (1) Upon receipt of an application for a 

application and may make an individual inves-
tigation relative to statements contained in the 

that the proper fees have been paid for the 

a distinctive dealer number that allows the 

and shall forward to the dealer a vehicle dealer 

 (3) Has authority to determine whether or 

 (4) Has authority to make suitable rules for 

 (5) May make inspections of any vehicle 

and of any vehicles included in a vehicle deal-
er’s inventory or located on the vehicle dealer’s 

-
section may be conducted by the department at 
reasonable intervals, during normal business 
hours, and may not exceed a scope of inspection 
necessary for the department to determine the 

 (a) A vehicle dealer’s compliance with stat-
utes regulating vehicle dealers under the 
vehicle code;
 (b) A vehicle dealer’s compliance with those 
provisions of the vehicle code regulating the 
titling and registration of vehicles;
 (c) A vehicle dealer’s compliance with rules 
adopted by the department relating to the reg-
ulation of vehicle dealers and the registration 
and titling of vehicles; and

allow the exercise of the privileges granted 

 (7) May provide a vehicle dealer with iden-

the business or in the names of authorized 

-

another jurisdiction that has been revoked or 
is currently suspended unless the applicant 
possesses a current, valid vehicle dealer cer-

 (9) May not use the revocation or suspension 

to allow a vehicle dealer holding a current, 

-

 (10) May adopt any reasonable rules nec-
essary for the administration of the laws 
relating to the regulation of vehicle dealers, 

rules adopted under this subsection must be 
consistent with the statutory provisions of the 

not limited to, grounds and procedures for 
the revocation, denial or suspension of vehi-

 822.040 Privileges granted by certif-
icate; taxes; supplemental or corrected 

(1) 
The holder of a current, valid vehicle dealer 

exercise the following privileges under the 

 (a) A dealer is authorized, without violating 

over and along the highways of this state all 
vehicles displaying the dealer’s plates whether 
registered or not or whether or not a title is 

not authorize dealers to use or operate vehi-
cles under dealer plates unless the vehicles 
are actually owned or controlled by the dealer 
and in actual use by the dealer, members of 

operated under dealer plates may be used for 
the same purposes as are any other vehicles 
registered in this state that are registered by 

paragraph is subject to the limitations under 

 (b) A dealer is entitled to receive dealer 
plates or devices and replacement or additional 

dealer plates as may be desired may be 

for additional plates with the Department of 

shall require the payment of fees as provided 

 (c) The person is not subject to the prohi-

long as the holder’s vehicle dealer business is 
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conducted in a location approved under the 

 (d) The dealer shall be considered the owner 
of vehicles manufactured or dealt in by the 
dealer, before delivery and sale of the vehicles, 
and of all vehicles in the dealer’s possession 
and operated or driven by the dealer or the 

of paying the weight-mile tax imposed under 

 (A) Displays the dealer’s plates;

dealer and in actual use by the dealer, mem-

dealer or any person authorized by the dealer;
-

pose of test driving the vehicle; and

-
cate may open additional places of business 
under the same business name by obtaining a 

 (a) The department may not issue a sup-

the additional place of business opened will be 
operated under a different business name than 

business that a vehicle dealer operates under 
a separate business name must be operated 

must apply for and pay the fees for a regular 

this subsection is subject to the fee for supple-

may move a place of business or change a 
business name by obtaining a corrected cer-

-

 (a) The department shall prescribe the form 

 (b) A person applying for a corrected cer-

 (4) The department may establish by rule 
the requirements a holder of a vehicle dealer 

location other than the dealer’s place of busi-

established by the department by rule, all of 

 (a) The dealer must have a signed agree-
ment with the owner of the property or the 
person using the property where the vehicle 
is to be displayed stating that the vehicle is 
for an advertising promotion only and that the 
processing of any documents or other activities 
required to purchase a vehicle must be done 

 (b) The vehicle on display must be clearly 
marked with the dealer’s name and contact 
information and a notice that the vehicle is 
displayed only for the purpose of advertising 
and may be purchased only at the dealer’s place 

 (c) Displaying the vehicle must not violate 

 (d) The dealer or the dealer’s employees 
may not remain with the vehicle except for 
the purpose of moving the vehicle in or out of 

a three-year period and may be renewed as 

 (a) Pays the required fee for renewal under 

 (b) Delivers to the department a bond that 

insurance that meets the requirements under 

 (d) Provides the names of all partners or 

if the person is a dealer subject to the education 

-

the dealer maintains a recreational vehicle 

rules for the issuance and renewal of certif-

 Note
 822.042 Procedures for transfer of 
interest in vehicle by vehicle dealer. (1) 
A vehicle dealer transferring any interest in 

 (a) Within 25 calendar days of the transfer 

ownership document for the vehicle and any 
release thereon to the security interest holder 
next named, if any, otherwise to the lessor or, 
if none, to the purchaser;
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 (b) Within 30 calendar days of the transfer 
submit to the Department of Transportation, 
in a manner that complies with any applicable 
statutes and rules, an application for title on 
behalf of the person to whom the title is to be 
furnished or whose name is to appear on the 
title record;
 (c) Comply with rules adopted by the depart-
ment if title has not been or will not be issued 

 (d) Within 25 business days of the transfer 
provide a notice of delay to the security interest 
holder next named, if any, the lessor, if any, 

 (A) The reason for the delay;
 (B) The anticipated extent of the delay; and
 (C) A statement of the rights and remedies 
available to the purchaser if the delay becomes 

 (2) A vehicle dealer shall maintain records 
as determined by the department by rule to 
show whether the dealer has complied with 

 (3) A vehicle dealer that fails to comply with 
the provisions of subsection (1) of this section 
is subject to revocation, cancellation or sus-

 822.043 Dealer preparation and sub-
mission of documents. (1) As used in this 

 (2) A vehicle dealer may elect to prepare, 
submit, or prepare and submit documents nec-

a vehicle;
 (b) Register a vehicle or transfer registration 
of a vehicle;

 (d) Verify and clear a title;
 (e) Perfect, release or satisfy a lien or other 
security interest;
 (f) Comply with federal security require-
ments; or
 (g) Render any other services for the pur-
pose of complying with state and federal laws 

 (3) A vehicle dealer who prepares any doc-
uments described in subsection (2) of this 

 (a) May charge a purchaser of a vehicle a 
document processing fee for the preparation 

 (b) May not charge a purchaser of a vehicle a 
document processing fee for the submission of 
any document or the issuance of a registration 

 (c) May charge a purchaser of a vehicle a 
document processing fee for performing any 
of the services described in subsection (2) of 
this section in connection with preparing the 
documents described in subsection (2) of this 

 (4) A purchaser of a vehicle may negotiate 
the amount of the document processing fee 
with a vehicle dealer, but in no case shall the 
document processing fee charged by a vehicle 

 (a) $150, if the vehicle dealer uses an inte-
grator; or
 (b) $115, if the vehicle dealer does not use 

processing fee under subsection (4)(a) of this 
section, of the amount collected $25 shall be 

vehicle dealer uses an integrator and charges 
a document processing fee greater than that 
charged for not using an integrator, the dealer 
must inform the purchaser of the vehicle of 
the option of using an integrator to prepare 

whether or not to have the vehicle dealer use 

-
ument processing fee, the vehicle dealer shall 
prepare and submit all documents to complete 

 Note
Legislative Assembly but was not added to or 
made a part of the Oregon Vehicle Code or any 

See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for 

 822.045 Vehicle dealer offenses; penal-
ties. (1) A vehicle dealer improperly conducts 
a vehicle dealer business and is subject to 
the penalties under this section if the vehicle 

 (a) A vehicle dealer commits the offense 
of failure to obtain a supplemental vehicle 

any additional place of business using the same 
business name as a place of business approved 

 (b) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of 
failure to obtain a corrected vehicle dealer cer-

 (c) A vehicle dealer commits the offense 
of failure to maintain proper vehicle dealer 
records if the dealer does not keep records or 
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books with all of the following information 
concerning any used or secondhand vehicles 

 (A) A record of the purchase, sale or 
exchange or of the dealer’s receipt for purpose 

 (C) The name and address of the seller, 
the purchaser and the alleged owner or other 
person from whom the vehicle or camper was 
purchased or received or to whom it was sold 

 (D) For motor vehicles, the vehicle iden-

statement that a number has been obliterated, 

other primary ownership record or a bill of 
sale from the registered owner of the vehicle 
or camper from the time of delivery to the 
dealer until the dealer disposes of the vehicle 

ownership record is in a form other than a 
document, a dealer shall keep records in accor-
dance with rules adopted by the Department 
of Transportation for the purpose of complying 

 (d) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of 
failure to allow administrative inspection if 
the dealer refuses to allow the department to 

 (e) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of 
failure to allow police inspection if the dealer 

 (f) A vehicle dealer commits the offense 
of illegal use of dealer vehicle for hire if the 
dealer allows any vehicle operated under 
vehicle dealer registration to be loaned or 
rented with or without driver for hire or direct 

 (g) A vehicle dealer commits the offense 
of improper use of dealer plates or devices if 
the dealer or employee of the dealer causes or 
permits the display or use of any special vehi-
cle dealer registration plate or device on any 

 (h) A person commits the offense of improper 
display of dealer plates if the person operates 
over and along the highways of this state any 
unregistered vehicle owned or controlled by 
the dealer and any dealer plates issued are 
not displayed in the manner provided in ORS 

 (i) A vehicle dealer commits the offense 

the dealer fails to permanently exhibit the 

of this section, a vehicle dealer commits the 

 (A) Within 15 days of transfer of any inter-
est in a vehicle or camper to the dealer by a 

 (i) The interest of any person from whom 
the dealer purchased or obtained the vehicle 
or camper;
 (ii) The interest of any person from whom 
the person described in sub-subparagraph 
(i) of this subparagraph leased the vehicle or 
camper; and
 (iii) All security interests in the vehicle 
or camper entered into prior to the time of 

 (B) Within 15 days of receiving clear title to 
a vehicle or camper from another dealer, the 
purchasing dealer fails to satisfy the interest 
of the dealer from which the purchasing dealer 

subparagraph, a purchasing dealer receives a 

 (i) The purchasing dealer or the Department 
of Transportation takes physical possession of 

registered mail, return receipt requested, to 
the purchasing dealer from the dealer, stating 

be picked up at a place and time prearranged 

mailed to a business address of the purchas-

Service by mail under this sub-subparagraph 

of this section, a vehicle dealer commits the 

or application for title if, within 90 calendar 
days of transfer of any interest in a vehicle or 

primary ownership record for the vehicle or 
camper and any release thereon or, if title 
has been issued or is to be issued in a form 

documents required by rule of the department, 
to the security interest holder next named, if 
any, otherwise to the lessor or, if none, to the 
purchaser; or
 (B) Submit to the department in a manner 
that complies with any applicable statutes and 
rules, an application for title on behalf of the 
person to whom the title is to be furnished or 

 (L) A vehicle dealer commits the offense 
of failure to maintain bond or letter of credit 
coverage if the dealer permits a bond or letter 
of credit to lapse during the period that the 
bond or letter of credit is required under ORS 
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-
chase a bond or letter of credit required by ORS 

 (m) A person commits the offense of acting 
as a vehicle dealer while under revocation, 
cancellation or suspension if the person con-
ducts business as a vehicle dealer in this state 

revoked, canceled or suspended, regardless 
of whether the person is licensed as a vehicle 

does not apply if the person has other current, 

 (n) A vehicle dealer commits the offense of 
improper display of a vehicle for advertising 
purposes if the dealer displays a vehicle at a 
location other than the dealer’s place of busi-
ness for the purpose of advertising and the 
dealer does not comply with the provisions of 

 (2) A dealer is not considered to have com-
mitted the offense described in subsection (1)
(j)(A) of this section if the dealer fails to satisfy 
an interest in a vehicle or camper that arises 

 (3) A dealer is not considered to have com-
mitted the offense described in subsection (1)
(k) of this section if the dealer demonstrates 

 (a) The dealer has made a good faith effort 
to comply; and
 (b) The dealer’s inability to provide title 
is due to circumstances beyond the dealer’s 

 (4) The offenses described in this section are 

 (a) The offense described in this section, fail-
ure to obtain a supplemental vehicle dealer 

 (b) The offense described in this section, 
failure to obtain a corrected vehicle dealer 

 (c) The offense described in this section, fail-
ure to maintain proper vehicle dealer records, 

 (d) The offense described in this section, 
failure to allow administrative inspection, is 

 (e) The offense described in this section, 
failure to allow police inspection, is a Class A 

 (f) The offense described in this section, 
illegal use of dealer vehicle for hire, is a Class 

 (g) The offense described in this section, 
improper use of dealer plates or devices, is a 

 (h) The offense described in this section, 
improper display of dealer plates, is a Class B 

 (i) The offense described in this section, fail-

 (j) The offense described in this section, 
failure to provide clear title, is a Class A 

 (k) The offense described in this section, fail-

 (L) The offense described in this section, 
failure to maintain bond or letter of credit 

 (m) The offense described in this section, 
acting as a vehicle dealer while under revoca-
tion, cancellation or suspension, is a Class A 

 (n) The offense described in this section, 
improper display of a vehicle for advertising 

 822.046 Vehicle dealer’s duty to inform 
potential buyer if vehicle used for man-
ufacture of controlled substances. (1) As 

means a drug or its immediate precursor 

 (2) A vehicle dealer shall inform a potential 
buyer if the dealer has received written notice 
that the vehicle to be sold to the buyer was 
used in the unlawful manufacture of controlled 

-
sure shall be in writing and shall be made 

purchase of the vehicle prior to completion of 

a notice on the vehicle stating that the vehicle 
was used in the unlawful manufacture of con-

 Note
Legislative Assembly but was not added to or 
made a part of the Oregon Vehicle Code or any 

See Preface to Oregon Revised Statutes for 

 822.047 Brokerage services. (1) As used 

-
ments or negotiations conducted by a motor 
vehicle broker for the purpose of obtaining 
a motor vehicle for a buyer or lessee from a 
seller or lessor through a method that does not 

 (A) Accepting the motor vehicle on 
consignment;

-
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new motor vehicles with another motor vehicle 
dealer who has a franchise that is with the 
same franchisor as the motor vehicle broker; 
or
 (C) Receiving a referral fee from another 
motor vehicle dealer for referring a buyer or 
lessee when the motor vehicle broker did not 
participate in the arrangement or negotiation 

who holds a valid, current vehicle dealer cer-

receives a fee for acting on behalf of a buyer or 
lessee to arrange or negotiate the purchase or 
sale of a motor vehicle between a buyer and a 
seller, or the lease of a motor vehicle between 

 (2) At the time of entering into an agreement 
to provide brokerage services, a motor vehicle 
broker shall provide the buyer or lessee with 

services to be provided by the motor vehicle 
broker;
 (b) A description of the fees the motor vehicle 
broker will charge for the brokerage services 
and a description of any deposits that are 
required to be paid before the motor vehicle 
is delivered to the buyer or lessee;
 (c) A description of how the motor vehicle 
broker will charge and collect the fees and 
deposits described in paragraph (b) of this 
subsection; and
 (d) A statement of whether or not the motor 
vehicle broker is responsible for warranty ser-

required under subsection (2) of this section, 
a motor vehicle broker shall provide a state-
ment to the buyer or lessee if the motor vehicle 
broker adds a fee for brokerage services to the 
purchase price or capitalized cost of the motor 
vehicle and the fee was negotiated with the 

The statement required under this subsection 

brokerage services have been added to the pur-
chase price or capitalized cost;
 (b) State that the fees for brokerage services 
will be paid to the motor vehicle broker by the 
seller or lessor; and
 (c) Be clear and conspicuous in not less than 

 (a) Calculate any fee charged to the buyer or 
lessee as a percentage of the savings achieved 
by the motor vehicle broker for the buyer or 
lessee on the purchase or lease of the motor 
vehicle;
 (b) Collect from both the buyer and seller or 
both the lessee and lessor a fee for brokerage 
services that are for the same transaction;

 (c) Represent that the motor vehicle broker 
is providing a free service to the buyer or 
lessee, unless the motor vehicle broker has not 
received and will not receive any compensation 
from the transaction; or

be paid out of the proceeds of the purchase 
or lease, make any representation that could 
cause a buyer or lessee to believe that the motor 
vehicle broker will be compensated by the seller 

 (5) When representing a buyer or lessee, a 
motor vehicle broker shall act only as an agent 

 (a) Shall inform the buyer or lessee whether 
or not the broker is acting as a broker or dealer 
for the transaction; and
 (b) May not do any of the following if the 
motor vehicle broker entered into an agree-
ment to act as a broker on behalf of the buyer 
or lessee and later negotiated to sell or lease a 
motor vehicle from the broker’s dealer inven-

 (A) Act as an agent for or represent the buyer 
or lessee;
 (B) Charge the buyer or lessee a fee for bro-
kerage services;
 (C) Purchase or lease a motor vehicle on 
behalf of a buyer or lessee and then sell or lease 
that vehicle to the buyer or lessee as a motor 
vehicle dealer; or
 (D) Sell a motor vehicle to a buyer or lease 
a motor vehicle to a lessee, unless the motor 
vehicle broker provides the buyer or lessee with 
a clear and conspicuous written disclosure that 
is signed by the buyer or lessee and that states 

 (i) The motor vehicle broker is no longer 
acting as the agent for the buyer or lessee for 
the purposes of the sale or lease; and
 (ii) The motor vehicle broker is acting as a 
motor vehicle dealer with whom the buyer or 
lessee is free to negotiate the purchase price 

 822.050 Revocation, cancellation or sus-
(1) The Department of 

Transportation may revoke, suspend or place 
on probation a vehicle dealer if the department 
determines at any time for due cause that the 

 (a) Violated any grounds for revocation, 
suspension or probation adopted by the depart-

 (b) Failed to comply with the requirements 
of the vehicle code with reference to notices or 

 (c) Caused or suffered or is permitting the 
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 (d) Violated or caused or permitted to be 

that the dealer is exempt from the require-

 (f) Continued to fail to provide clear title 
or repeatedly failed to provide clear title in 

required by the department on an application 

 (2) The department shall cancel a vehicle 

notice that the bond described under ORS 

receives proof from the vehicle dealer that the 

day that the department receives notice that 
the bond is canceled and the day the vehicle 
dealer presents proof of another bond, the vehi-

 (3) The department shall cancel a vehicle 

-
ment receives proof from the vehicle dealer 

-

of insurance is canceled and the day the vehicle 

insurance, the vehicle dealer may not act as a 

 (4) The department shall cancel a vehicle 

notice that zoning approval for the business 

 (5) Upon revocation, cancellation or sus-

this section, the department shall recall and 

 822.055 Failure to return revoked, can-

(1) A person commits the offense of failure to 
return a revoked, canceled or suspended vehicle 

-
portation recalls and demands the person to 

items requested and does not return them to 

 (2) The offense described in this section, fail-
ure to return revoked, canceled or suspended 

-

 822.060 Illegal consignment practices; 
penalty; rules. (1) A person who holds a vehi-

of illegal consignment practices if the person 

 (a) Takes a vehicle on consignment from a 
person who does not hold a vehicle dealer cer-

dealer in another jurisdiction, and who does not 
have proof that the consignor is the registered 
owner, a security interest holder or lessor of 

 (b) Takes a vehicle on consignment from a 
security interest holder without the security 

action prior to consigning the vehicle and pro-
viding the dealer with proper documentary 

 (c) Takes a vehicle on consignment and 
does not have the terms of the consignment 
agreement in writing and provide a copy of the 

shall include a provision stating that if the 
terms of the agreement are not met, the con-

 (d) Sells a vehicle that the dealer has on 
consignment and does not pay the consignor 

 (e) Sells a vehicle that the dealer has on 
consignment and does not either provide the 

-
cle or with other primary ownership records in 
the form of documents or apply to the depart-
ment in the purchaser’s name for title to the 
vehicle within 30 days of the sale in a manner 

 (f) Does not allow the department or any 
duly authorized representative to inspect and 
audit any records of any separate accounts into 
which the dealer deposits any funds received 
or handled by the dealer or in the course of 
business as a dealer from consignment sale of 
vehicles at such times as the department may 

 (g) Takes any part of any money paid to the 
dealer in connection with any consignment 
transaction as part or all of the dealer’s com-
mission or fee until the transaction has been 

 (h) Does not make arrangement for the 
disposition of money from a consignment 
transaction with the seller at the time of estab-

 (i) Sells a vehicle that the dealer has taken 
-

___________________________________
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DISCLOSURE REGARDING 
CONSIGNMENT SALE

__________________(Name of Dealer) 

______(Year) ______(Make) ______(Model) 

-

___________________________________
 (2) The offense described in this section, 
illegal consignment practices, is a Class A 

 (3) The department shall adopt rules to carry 
out the provisions of this section, including but 
not limited to rules to specify which persons 
may take and sell vehicles on consignment and 
to regulate the taking and selling of vehicles 

 822.065 Violation of consigned vehi-
cle transfer; penalty. (1) A person commits 
the offense of violation of a consigned vehi-
cle transfer if the person consigns a vehicle 

-
mary ownership document for the vehicle to 
the dealer or purchaser upon sale of the vehicle 

of title or primary ownership record in the form 
of a document, fails to comply with rules of the 

 (2) The offense described in this section, 
violation of a consigned vehicle transfer, is a 

 822.070 Conducting illegal vehicle 
rebuilding business; penalty. (1) A person 
commits the offense of conducting an illegal 
vehicle rebuilding business if the person is not 

 (a) Buys, sells or deals in assembled, 
reconstructed or substantially altered motor 

-
structed or substantially altered vehicles from 

 (2) This section does not apply to the follow-

 (a) An insurance adjuster authorized to do 

 (b) Vehicles or persons exempt from the 

 (c) Motor vehicles that are not of a type 
required to be registered under the vehicle 

 (3) The offense described in this section, con-
ducting an illegal vehicle rebuilding business, 

 822.075

 822.080 Procedures for civil penalties 
imposed under ORS 822.009; disposition 
of moneys. (1) Civil penalties under ORS 

-

 (2) An application for a hearing on a civil 

 (a) Must be in writing;
 (b) Must be postmarked or received by the 
Department of Transportation within 20 days 
from the date of service of the notice provided 

 (c) Must state the name and address of the 
person requesting a hearing; and

 (3) Hearings on civil penalties imposed 

administrative law judge assigned from the 

 (4) The department may, at its option, assign 
any unpaid civil penalty to the Department of 

-
enue shall deduct reasonable expenses from 

 (5) All civil penalties received under ORS 

each month and credited to the Department 
of Transportation Operating Fund estab-

(Recreational Vehicle Dealers)
 822.082 “Recreational vehicle service 

(1) 
As used in this section, “recreational vehicle 

having the primary purpose of servicing and 

 (2) A business that sells a new recreational 
vehicle must prominently display at the sale 
site the name under which the business is 
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being conducted and the location of the recre-
ational vehicle service facility that is listed in 

 Note
law by the Legislative Assembly but were not 
added to or made a part of the Oregon Vehicle 
Code or any chapter or series therein by legis-

participation in show. (1) As used in this 

vehicles are temporarily displayed and offered 

used to display recreational vehicles for more 
than 10 days or that is a place of business listed 

 (2) A recreational vehicle dealer may not 
participate in a show conducted at a site that 
is more than 50 miles from the dealer’s place of 

-

includes a display by at least two recreational 
vehicle dealers and the dealer obtains a show 
license from the Department of Transportation 

 Note
 822.084 Show license; fee; rules. (1) A 

of Transportation at least 30 days prior to the 
commencement of the show for a show license 
for each recreational vehicle dealer participat-

for each dealer participating in the show the 
name under which the business is being con-
ducted and the street address, city and county 
of the dealer’s place of business, both as listed 

 (2) A person who receives a show license 
from the department shall pay the fee for a 

 (3) The department may adopt all rules nec-
essary and proper for the administration and 

 Note

SUBLEASING VEHICLES
 822.090 Unlawful subleasing of motor 
vehicle; penalty. (1) A person commits the 
offense of unlawful subleasing of a motor vehi-

 (a) The person transfers or assigns, purports 
to transfer or assign or knowingly assists in the 
transfer or assignment or purported transfer or 
assignment of any right or interest in the motor 
vehicle or under the lease contract or security 
agreement to a person who is not a party to 
the lease contract or security agreement;
 (b) The motor vehicle is subject to a lease 
contract or security agreement that prohibits 

the transfer or assignment of any right or inter-
est in the motor vehicle or any right under the 
lease contract or security agreement;
 (c) The person is not a party to the lease 
contract or security agreement;
 (d) The person does not obtain, prior to the 
transfer or assignment, written consent from 
the lessor or secured party as appropriate; and
 (e) The person receives compensation 
or other consideration for the transfer or 

 (2) The offense described in this section, 
unlawful subleasing of a motor vehicle, is a 

TRANSFER OF VEHICLES 
BY LIEN CLAIMANTS

 822.093 Sale of vehicles involving pos-
sessory liens; records; rules; penalty. (1) 

lien claimant who sells or offers for sale vehi-
cles being sold to foreclose possessory liens, 
or sells or offers for sale vehicles acquired 
through possessory liens, shall keep records 

sold or offered for sale were acquired by the 

Records kept in accordance with this subsec-
tion must be made available to the Department 

 (2) The department may adopt such rules 
as are necessary to carry out the provisions of 
this section, including but not limited to rules 

 (a) Specify the form in which the records 
must be kept, how the records must be main-
tained and the period for which they must be 

 (b) Specify how the records will be provided 

 (c) Specify how lien claimants will notify the 
department when vehicles are sold to foreclose 
possessory liens and when vehicles acquired 

 (3) Rules adopted under this section shall be 
developed in consultation with representatives 
of those lien claimants who may be affected by 
this section, including but not limited to towing 

 (4) The department may impose a civil pen-
alty, in an amount not to exceed $1,000 for each 
violation, against any person who violates this 
section or any rules adopted by the depart-

 822.094 Transfer by lien claimant. A 
sale, consignment or other transfer by a lien 
claimant does not constitute a sale for purposes 

or other transfer is to the holder of a current, 
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DISMANTLERS
 822.100 Conducting a motor vehicle dis-

penalties. (1) A person commits the offense 
of conducting a motor vehicle dismantling 

performs any actions of a dismantler and is 
not the holder of a valid, current dismantler 

 (2) The offense described in this section does 
not apply to persons or vehicles exempted from 

 (3) The offense described in this section, con-
ducting a motor vehicle dismantling business 

subsection (3) of this section, the Department 
of Transportation may impose a civil penalty of 
not more than $5,000 on a person who conducts 
a motor vehicle dismantling business without 

-
tion shall be imposed in the manner provided 

requirement. 

 (1) An insurance adjuster authorized to do 

 (2) Road rollers, farm tractors, trolleys or 

as provided in subsection (2) of this section, 
the Department of Transportation shall issue 

 (a) The person establishes that the area in 
which the business is located and the place of 
business to be approved under the dismantler 

-
tling business are zoned for industrial use or 

permits the type of business conducted by the 

 (b) The person pays the fee required under 

 (c) The person completes the application for 

 (d) The person delivers to the department 
any approvals by local governments required 

 (e) The person delivers to the department a 
bond or letter of credit that meets the require-

 (2) The department may refuse to issue a 

 (a) The person has previously had a disman-

 (b) The department determines that the 
application contains false or misleading 

 (3) The department may issue a duplicate 

 (a) Has complied with the requirements of 

-

 822.115 Application contents. An appli-

the Department of Transportation under ORS 

the department and shall contain all of the 

 (1) A full statement of the name of the person 

the names and places of residence of all its 

-
dences and the name of the state under whose 

 (4) A description of the dimensions and the 
location of the place or places at which the 

 (5) The applicant’s National Motor Vehi-

 822.120 Bond or letter of credit require-

and surety. (1) A bond or letter of credit 

 (a) With a corporate surety licensed to trans-
act business within this state, or as to a letter 
of credit, an irrevocable letter of credit issued 
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 (d) Approved as to form by the Attorney 
General;
 (e) Conditioned that the person issued the 

 (f) Conditioned that the bond or letter of 

 (2) Any person shall have a right of action 

and the surety on the holder’s bond or the dis-
mantler’s letter of credit issuer if the person 
suffers any loss or damage by reason of the cer-

-

(1) 
The holder of a current, valid dismantler cer-

to the prohibitions and penalties under ORS 

dismantling business is conducted in the loca-

may expand the dimensions or move a place 
of business approved under the dismantler 

-

 (a) The department shall grant a supple-

under this subsection if the applicant obtains 
local government permission for the supple-

 (b) Upon application for renewal of the sup-

waive the requirement that an applicant for 
renewal under this subsection obtain local 

the suitability of the applicant to establish, 
maintain or operate a motor vehicle disman-

 (c) A fee shall be charged for a supplemental 

a three-year period and may be renewed as 

-

 (a) Pays the required fee for renewal under 

 (b) Completes the application described in 

 (c) Obtains local government approval under 

requirement that an applicant for renewal 
obtain local government approval under ORS 

establish, maintain or operate a motor vehicle 

 (d) Maintains a current bond that meets the 

 (4) The department may provide the holder 

cards in the names of the owners of the busi-
ness or in the names of authorized employees 

 (5) The department may adopt suitable rules 
for the issuance and renewal of dismantler cer-

 822.130 Inspection of books, records, 
inventory and premises. (1) The Depart-
ment of Transportation may inspect the books, 
records and inventory of and the premises used 

-

 (a) Those laws regulating the issuance of 

 (b) Requirements for records under ORS 

 (d) Rules adopted by the department con-

 (2) Provisions for enforcing this section are 

 822.133 Requirements of dismantler 
operating motor vehicle dismantling 
business. 

vehicle, the frame or unibody of which is 

resembles any particular year, model or make 
of motor vehicle and is less than half of the 
motor vehicle’s original volume as measured 

-
semble, damage or substantially alter a motor 

 (A) With the intent of rendering the vehicle 
permanently inoperable;
 (B) To the extent that the cost of repairing 
the vehicle exceeds the actual cash value of the 
vehicle prior to the damage; or
 (C) To the extent that the sum of the cost of 
repairing the vehicle and the salvage value of 
the vehicle in its damaged condition exceeds 
the actual cash value of the vehicle in its 
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vehicle into a crushed motor vehicle and is 

 (A) That is destroyed, or is acquired with 
the intent to destroy, and that will never be 
operated as a motor vehicle; or
 (B) That has sustained damage to an extent 
that the vehicle may not lawfully be operated 

-

 (a) Must physically separate or visually label 
a wrecked vehicle in a manner that readily 

vehicle if the dismantler takes possession of 
the wrecked vehicle without immediately 
obtaining an ownership record or salvage title 

visually identify a wrecked vehicle pursuant 
to this subsection if the vehicle is subject to an 

-

 (b) May not remove parts from or destroy a 
motor vehicle prior to obtaining an ownership 

 (c) Must demolish the registration plates of 
a wrecked vehicle at the time the ownership 

 (d) Must notify the Department of Trans-
portation of any changes in the information 
provided to the department in the application 

 (e) Must furnish a written report to the 
department, in a form established by the 
department by rule, after a wrecked vehicle 

 (3)(a) A dismantler using a mobile motor 

 (A) Hold a current, valid dismantler certif-

 (B) Conspicuously display on the mobile 
motor vehicle crusher the name of the disman-
tler’s business as listed on the dismantler’s 
application submitted pursuant to ORS 

 (C) Comply with all of the applicable stat-
utes and rules regulating dismantlers at 
each location where the dismantler uses the 

is using a mobile motor vehicle crusher at a 
-

cate, the dismantler who holds the dismantler 
-

ble for complying with all statutes and rules 

vehicle crusher at a temporary location for 15 
consecutive business days or less, the disman-
tler is exempt from obtaining a supplemental 

 822.135 Improperly conducting motor 
vehicle dismantling business; penalty. (1) 
A person commits the offense of improperly 
conducting a motor vehicle dismantling busi-

 (a) Fails to permanently exhibit a dismantler 

of the person’s places of business or opens any 
additional places of business without obtaining 

 (c) Fails to maintain records at the person’s 
established place of business that record and 

-
ferred, wrecked, dismantled, disassembled or 
substantially altered by the person;
 (B) The name and address of the person to 
and from whom the vehicle was transferred;

vehicle; and
 (D) A statement indicating any such num-
bers or marks that have been obliterated, 

surrender to the Department of Transporta-
tion, within 30 days after the date the person 

primary ownership document or ownership 

delivered to the person under the provisions 
-

-

 (e) Refuses, at any time, to allow a police 

inspect the books, records, inventory or prem-
ises of the person’s motor vehicle dismantling 

 (f) Fails to maintain, for the purposes of the 
person’s motor vehicle dismantling business, 
a building or an enclosure or other barrier at 
least six feet in height that is constructed, 
established or formed in compliance with rules 

 (g) Fails to keep the premises on the out-
side of the establishment clear and clean at 

 (h) Conducts any wrecking, dismantling or 
altering of vehicles outside the building, enclo-

 (i) Stores or displays any motor vehicles or 
major component parts or conducts the motor 
vehicle dismantling business outside of the 
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building, enclosure or barrier of the place of 

 ( j) Fails to immediately file with the 
department, upon transfer of a wrecked or 
dismantled motor vehicle, the form furnished 
by the department to report the date of trans-
fer, a description of the vehicle, the name and 
address of the purchaser and other informa-
tion respecting the vehicle required by the 

paragraph, fails to keep the business hidden 
or adequately screened by the terrain or other 
natural objects or by plantings, fences or other 
appropriate means so as not to be visible 
from the main traveled way of the highway 
in accordance with the rules of the Director 

 (A) Located in an area zoned for industrial 
use under authority of the laws of this state; 
or
 (B) A business established before June 30, 

opens any additional locations for the business 

 (m) Fails to allow the department to conduct 

 (n) Fails to deploy or remove any air bag 
containing sodium azide from a vehicle before 

 (o) Fails to ensure that an air bag contain-
ing sodium azide that has been removed from 
a vehicle is deployed within seven days of 
removal unless the air bag is properly stored 
by a motor vehicle dealer, automobile repair 

 (2) The offense described in this section, 
improperly conducting a motor vehicle dis-

 (a) Class A misdemeanor if the person vio-

 (b) Class D violation if the person violates 

 (c) Class C misdemeanor, notwithstanding 
paragraph (b) of this subsection, if the person 
violates subsection (1)(n) or (o) of this section 
and the person has two or more previous con-
victions for violating subsection (1)(n) or (o) of 

 822.137 Dismantler conduct resulting 
in civil penalty; rules. (1) As used in this 

engines, short blocks, frames, transmissions, 

transfer cases, cabs, doors, differentials, front 
or rear clips, quarter panels, truck beds or 

The Department of Transportation may by 
rule designate other motor vehicle parts not 

cores or parts of cores that require remanufac-
turing or that are limited in value to that of 

-
vided by law, the department may impose on 
a dismantler, in the manner provided by ORS 

 (a) Acquires a motor vehicle or major com-

 (b) Possesses, sells or otherwise disposes 
of a motor vehicle or any part of a motor vehi-
cle knowing that the vehicle or part has been 

 (c) Sells, buys, receives, conceals, possesses 
or disposes of a motor vehicle or any part of 
a motor vehicle having a missing, defaced, 
intentionally altered or covered vehicle iden-

 (d) Commits forgery in the second degree, 

registration or other document related to a 
motor vehicle that has been reassembled from 

place of business for three years from the date 
of acquisition of a motor vehicle that describe 

 (B) The state where the vehicle was last 
registered, if applicable;
 (C) The number of the last registration plate 
issued and the state of issuance, if applicable;
 (D) The year, make and model of the vehicle;

 (F) The date acquired;
 (G) The vehicle, stock or yard number 
assigned to the vehicle by the dismantler; and
 (H) Any other information required by the 

place of business for three years from the date 
of acquisition of a major component part that 

 (A) The physical characteristics of the part;
 (B) The stock or yard number assigned to 
the part by the dismantler;

motor vehicle from which the part came; and
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 (D) Any other information required by the 

 (h) Commits a dishonest act or omission 
during the sale of a motor vehicle or major 
component part that, as determined by the 

statements or dishonesty that directly relates 
to the business of the dismantler or suffers any 
civil judgment imposed for conduct involving 

 (j) Fails to comply with any provision of ORS 

 822.140 Local government approval 
requirements. (1) To meet the requirement 
for local government approval of a dismantler 

-

must comply with any regulations established 
by a city or county under this section and must 
obtain the approval of the governing body of 

 (a) City, if the business is or will be carried 
on within an incorporated city of less than 

 (b) County, if the business is or will be car-

 (2) A city or county governing body shall 

renewal when requested under this section if 

 (a) Approves the applicant as being suitable 
to establish, maintain or operate a motor vehi-
cle dismantling business;
 (b) Determines that the location or proposed 
location meets the requirements for location 

 (c) Determines that the location does not 

and
 (d) Approves the location and determines 
that the location complies with any regulations 

 (3) The governing body of a city or county 
may regulate the expansion of premises or the 
establishment of premises at a new location 

must comply with the regulations before the 
Department of Transportation may issue a sup-

regulations under this subsection, a governing 

 (a) Shall consider the extent of development 
of surrounding property as a residential area;
 (b) Shall consider the proximity of churches, 
schools, hospitals, public buildings or other 
places of public gathering;

of other motor vehicle dismantling businesses 
in the vicinity;
 (d) Shall consider the health, safety and 
general welfare of the public;

 (e) May establish zones in which motor vehi-
cle dismantling businesses are permissible and 
other zones where they are prohibited; and
 (f) May prescribe limitations on the dimen-
sions of the premises on which motor vehicle 

 (4) Regulations of a city governing body that 
are adopted under this section apply to motor 
vehicle dismantling businesses located outside 
of and within six miles of the boundaries of the 
city unless the county governing body in which 
the area is located has adopted regulations 
under this section that are applicable in the 

 822.145 Imposition of sanctions; rules. 

by law, the Department of Transportation 
may impose sanctions on any person holding 

-

or suspension, revocation or cancellation of the 

the department determines at any time for due 

failed to comply with any requirements for 

caused or suffered or is permitting the unlaw-

violated any regulation adopted under ORS 

failed to allow the department to conduct 

has unlawfully used or permitted unlawful use 

 (2) The department shall cancel or suspend 

 (a) Upon receipt of legal notice that the bond 

 (b) For failure to pay any penalty imposed 

 (3) Upon revocation, cancellation or suspen-

card under this section, the department shall 

that a person has engaged in or is engaging 

the department may issue an order directed at 
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 (5) The department shall adopt rules estab-
lishing sanctions authorized by subsection (1) 

 822.150 Failure to return revoked, 

(1) A person 
commits the offense of failure to return a 
revoked, canceled or suspended dismantler 

-
ment of Transportation recalls and demands 

 (2) The offense described in this section, fail-
ure to return a revoked, canceled or suspended 

TOWING BUSINESSES
 822.200 Operating illegal towing busi-
ness; exceptions; penalties. (1) A person 
commits the offense of operating an illegal 
towing business if the person does not hold a 

vehicles by any means for any direct or indirect 
compensation when the vehicle being towed 
or recovered is owned by a person other than 
the person performing the towing or recovery 

means, as part of any business operation of the 
person, vehicles that are wrecked, damaged, 

 (c) Purports in any way to be engaged in the 
business of performing activities described in 

 (2) This section does not apply to any of the 

 (a) Persons operating under and within the 

 (b) A person who provides assistance to 
another motorist, whether or not compensation 
is received, if the assistance is not provided as 
part of the business operation of the person 

 (c) A person engaging in any activity relat-
ing to a vehicle in which that person holds a 

 (d) An employee of a person issued a towing 

 (e) A person who holds a valid dismantler 
-

 (3) The offense described in this section, 
operating an illegal towing business, is a Class 

The Department of Transportation shall issue 

the person meets all of the following require-

 (1) The person must complete an application 
in a form and in the manner established by the 

 (2) The person must maintain insurance in 
amounts and providing coverage of the type 
required for motor carriers under ORS chapter 

 (a) Be issued by an insurance company 
licensed to do business in this state;
 (b) Show that the person is insured by a 
policy that provides the minimum amount and 
limits of coverage required under ORS chapter 
825;
 (c) Contain the policy number; and
 (d) Require the insurance company to give 
the department written notice of cancellation 
of the policy and to continue to be liable under 
the policy until the department receives the 
written notice or until the cancellation date 

 (4) The person must maintain insurance 
providing $50,000 coverage for cargo trans-

is not required to comply with this subsection 
if the applicant tows or recovers only vehicles 

 (5) The person must maintain vehicles used 
by the person for the purposes of towing or 
recovering services so that they meet minimum 
safety standards established by the depart-

-
pliance with this subsection or may require 
other evidence, as the department determines 

 (a) Be issued by an insurance company 
licensed to do business in this state;
 (b) Show that the person is insured by a 
policy that provides the minimum amount and 
limits of coverage required under ORS chapter 
825;
 (c) Contain the policy number; and
 (d) Require the insurance company to give 
the department written notice of cancellation 
of the policy and to continue to be liable under 
the policy until the department receives the 
written notice or until the cancellation date 
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 (7) The person must pay the fee required 

 822.210 Privileges granted by certif-
icate; duration; renewal; regulation of 
holder. (1) The holder of a current, valid 

 (a) The person and any employee of the 

not subject to the prohibitions and penalties 

 (b) The person is entitled to receive special 

following apply to indicia described in this 

 (i) For towing and recovering vehicles; and
 (ii) For towing unregistered vehicles over 

-
ing registration for the vehicles or trip permits 

 (B) The indicia shall be of the design pro-

payment of fees for issuance as provided under 

by payment of the fee for renewal of a towing 

 (3) The holder of a towing business cer-

 822.213 Transporting property for hire. 

property for hire other than as described in 

 (a) The tow vehicle is used primarily for 

 (b) The tow vehicle has a combined weight 

 (c) The holder of the towing business cer-

-
cate operates in accordance with the provisions 

 (2) A tow vehicle that is used to transport 
property for hire other than as described in 

 Note
part of the Oregon Vehicle Code by legislative 
action but was not added to ORS chapter 822 

 822.215 Grounds for denial, suspension, 
The 

Department of Transportation may deny or 

or refuse to renew any towing business certif-
icate issued upon proof that the applicant for 

 (1) Used fraud or deception in securing the 

 (2) Received in any manner or by any device 
any rebate or other additional fee for towing or 
recovery from a person who performs repairs 

This subsection does not prohibit the payment 
of the towing fee by a person who performs 
repairs on a vehicle if the fee is included in 
the charges by that person for repairs on the 

 (3) Used vehicles for the purposes of towing 
or recovering services that did not meet the 
minimum safety standards established by the 

 (4) Failed to display special towing business 
registration plates, stickers or indicia or iden-

 (5) Failed to maintain the amounts and 
types of insurance required to qualify for 

required under any provision of ORS chapter 

 822.217 Proportional registration for 
tow vehicles; rules. (1) Any person who 

-

-
ments, conditions and privileges as other 

vehicle proportional registration is subject to 
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-

the applicant must certify in a manner deter-
mined by the Department of Transportation by 

 (b) The applicant must hold a towing busi-

-
istration for a tow vehicle, the applicant shall 
certify to the department that the applicant 

 (d) The department shall issue appropriate 
-

shall be as determined by the department by 
rule and the fees for such devices are as pro-

registered tow vehicles is subject to cancella-

 (2) A vehicle that has been issued tow vehi-
cle proportional registration may be used only 

Violation of this subsection is punishable as 
-

device for proportionally registered tow 
vehicle. (1) The Department of Transporta-
tion shall have the authority to investigate and 
verify information provided in conjunction with 
application for proportional registration of a 

-

a proportionally registered tow vehicle if the 
department determines that the owner or 
lessee of the vehicle, or an employee of either, 

 (a) Operated the vehicle in violation of tow 
vehicle registration limits;

registration of a proportionally registered tow 
vehicle; or
 (c) Falsely completed an application under 

-
tion, the vehicle is not eligible for registration 

 822.220 Authorization to obstruct traf-

(1) The operator of a wrecker or tow vehicle 
may stop the wrecker or tow vehicle where it 

vehicle; and
 (b) Takes the precautionary measures 

 (2) A person commits the offense of failure 

with a tow vehicle or wrecker if the person is 
operating a wrecker or tow vehicle engaged 
in the salvaging of another vehicle and the 

 (a) Determine that the salvaging operation 
requires stopping the wrecker or tow vehicle 

 (b) Place warning signs or signals as pre-

 (c) Activate tow vehicle warning lights 

 (3) The offense described in this section, 
failure to take precautions when obstructing 

 822.225 Failure to remove injurious 
substance; penalty. (1) A person commits 
the offense of tow vehicle operator failure to 
remove injurious substance if the person is 
operating a tow vehicle that is removing a 
wrecked or damaged vehicle from a highway 
and the person fails to remove any glass or 
other injurious substance dropped upon the 

 (2) The offense described in this section, tow 
vehicle operator failure to remove injurious 

 822.230 City or county regulation of 
towing businesses. (1) Notwithstanding 

-
vided in subsection (2) of this section, a city or 
county may, by charter or ordinance, regulate 
towing businesses if the city or county charter 
or ordinance provisions pertain only to towing 

 (a) Regulate an aspect of a towing busi-

 (b) Regulate an aspect of the towing busi-

ordinance are more stringent than those of the 

 (2) This section does not authorize impo-
sition of any license fee or tax on a towing 

 (3) The governing body of a city or county 
may adopt ordinances that include, but are not 

 (a) That towing businesses accept methods 

 (b) That towing businesses post fees in a 
conspicuous place at the location of the towed 

 (c) That any posted signs that warn of the 
possibility of towing or that give information 
about recovery of a towed vehicle be promi-
nently displayed and show the fees charged 
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 (d) That towing businesses offer transpor-
tation at a reasonable cost from within the 
immediate vicinity of the place from which 

 (e) That towing businesses establish loca-
tions for towed vehicles in such a way that no 
vehicle will be towed a greater distance than 

 (f) That towed vehicles be stored in a public 
location that has at least one attendant on duty 

VEHICLE TRANSPORTERS
 822.300 Acting as vehicle transporter 

(1) A person commits the offense of acting as a 

person is not the holder of a vehicle transporter 

person drives or tows over the highways of this 

 (A) Required to be registered under the 
vehicle code;
 (B) Driven or towed on its own wheels;
 (C) Driven or towed from outside this state 
or from a manufacturer or vehicle dealer 
within this state; and
 (D) Driven or towed to a prospective pur-
chaser, manufacturer or dealer or the agent 
thereof either in this state or in any other state, 
territory or foreign country; or

 (2) The offense described in this section does 
not apply to persons or vehicles exempted from 

 (3) The offense described in this section, 
acting as a vehicle transporter without a cer-

 822.305 Exemptions from vehicle 

 (1) Vehicles lawfully operated with plates 
furnished to vehicle dealers under ORS 

 (2) Vehicles lawfully operated with registra-

 (3) Vehicles being towed by other vehicles 
lawfully operated with plates issued for towing 

 822.310 Privileges granted by cer-

suspension or revocation; regulation of 
holder. (1) The holder of a current, valid vehi-

section may exercise the following privileges 

 (a) The person is not subject to the prohibi-

transporting vehicles as provided under this 

 (b) The person is entitled to apply for and 

transporter plates or devices and may trans-
port vehicles as provided under this section 

The plates or devices shall require a fee for 

or device issued under this paragraph may be 

 (c) The person may drive or tow on its 
own wheels over the highways of this state 
any unregistered vehicle or manufactured 
structure from outside this state or from 
manufacturers or dealers within this state 
to a prospective purchaser, manufacturer or 
dealer in this or any other state, territory or 

the person to transport manufactured struc-
tures from the place of manufacture to the 
place of business of a manufactured structure 

-

a manufactured structure by the person must 
be under a trip permit issued by a county as 
agent for the Department of Consumer and 

 (2) The Department of Transportation shall 
provide for the issuance and renewal of vehicle 

persons regularly engaged in businesses that 

under this section are subject to all of the 

is valid for a one-year period and shall be 

 (b) The department shall not issue a certif-
icate to a person until the fee for issuance of 

 (4) The department may adopt necessary 
rules for the administration of the laws relating 
to the regulation of vehicle transporters, the 
issuance and renewal of vehicle transporter 

this subsection must be consistent with any 
rules regarding vehicle transporters that are 

include, but are not limited to, grounds and 
procedures for the revocation, denial or suspen-

placing vehicle transporters on probationary 

section is subject to regulation under ORS 
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 822.315 Improper use of vehicle trans-
porter plate; penalty. (1) A person commits 
the offense of improperly using a vehicle trans-
porter plate if the person is the holder of a 

without conspicuously displaying the plates on 

 (b) Uses a special vehicle transporter plate 
to transport a manufactured structure to 
a situs not permitted under the privileges 

 (c) Allows any person other than the trans-
porter or transporter’s employee to use the 
special vehicle transporter plates issued to 

 (2) The offense described in this section, 
improper use of vehicle transporter plates, is 

 822.320

 822.325 Failure to return revoked 
(1) A 

person commits the offense of failure to return 
a revoked or suspended vehicle transporter 

-
tion demands and requires the return of any 

and the person has those items demanded and 

 (2) The offense described in this section, 
failure to return a revoked or suspended 

 822.400

 822.405

 822.410

 822.415

 822.420

DRIVER TRAINING

(Commercial Driver Training Schools)
 822.500 Operating commercial driver 

penalty. (1) A person commits the offense of 
operating a commercial driver training school 

holder of a valid, current driver training 

enterprise that engages, for a consideration, in 
educating and training persons, either practi-
cally or theoretically, or both, in the driving of 

 (2) The offense described in this section does 

 (a) A business or nonprofit enterprise 
engaged in educating and training persons 
for a profession;
 (b) An accredited secondary school, college 
or university; or
 (c) A person that provides limited education 
or training for a specialized purpose, as deter-
mined by the Department of Transportation by 

 (3) The offense described in this section, 
operating a commercial driver training school 

 822.505 Commercial driver train-
ing school bond; requirements; actions 
against school or surety. (1) A bond required 

 (a) The bond shall have a corporate surety 

 (b) The bond shall be executed to the State 

 (d) The bond shall be approved as to form 

 (e) The bond must be conditioned that the 
-

ness as a commercial driver training school 
without fraudulent representation and without 
violation of any rules adopted by the Depart-

 (2) Any person shall have a right of action 
against a commercial driver training school 
and against the surety on the bond of the 
school in the person’s own name if the person 
suffers any loss or damage by reason of the 
school’s fraudulent representations or violation 
of rules adopted by the department under ORS 

or is revoked or canceled, the sureties on the 
bond shall be relieved from liability accruing 
subsequent to cancellation or revocation by the 

 822.510 Proof of insurance; require-
ments; exception. 
subsection (3) of this section, an applicant or 
holder of a commercial driver training school 
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-
ance with the Department of Transportation 

 (a) The insurance must be issued to the 

 (b) The insurance must be issued by an 
insurance company authorized to do business 

 (c) The insurance must show that the 
insured has procured and has in effect a motor 
vehicle liability policy that provides at least 

 (A) $100,000 because of bodily injury to or 
death of one person in any one accident;
 (B) Subject to the limit for one person, 
$300,000 because of bodily injury to or death 
of two or more persons in any one accident; and
 (C) $50,000 because of injury to or destruc-
tion of the property of others in any one 

 (d) The policy shall designate by explicit 
description or by appropriate reference all 
motor vehicles with respect to which coverage 

 (e) The policy shall insure any and all per-
sons using any motor vehicle owned or operated 
by the school with the consent of the school 
against loss from the liabilities imposed by 
law for damages arising out of the operation, 

 (3) An applicant or holder of a commercial 

to submit proof of insurance required under 

-

-
sion or revocation; duration; fee; bond; 
proof of insurance; rules. (1) A person who 
holds a valid, current commercial driver train-

is not subject to the prohibitions or penalties 

 (2) The Department of Transportation 
shall adopt rules to provide for the issuance 

-

department under this section shall provide 

this section including requirements concern-
ing manner and form of application, location, 
place of business, facilities, records, equip-
ment, courses and standards of instruction, 
instructors, previous records of the school and 

fees and charges, character of school operators 
and instructors, vehicle equipment and condi-
tion and inspection during reasonable business 

 (b) Any other matters the department may 

 (a) May refuse to issue or renew or may sus-

this section in any case where the department 

has violated or failed to comply with any rules 
adopted under this section or any provision of 

-

 (4) Commercial driver training school cer-

 (b) The department shall not issue a certif-
icate to a person until the fee for issuance of 

 (c) The department shall not renew a certif-

-

 (e) The department shall not issue or renew 
-

cate holder maintains a bond that meets the 

 (f) The department shall not issue or renew 

holder maintains proof of insurance that meets 

 822.520 Failure to return revoked, sus-
pended or canceled commercial driver 

(1) A 
person commits the offense of failure to return 
a revoked, suspended or canceled commercial 

-
ment of Transportation revokes, suspends or 
cancels a commercial driver training school 

 (2) The offense described in this section, fail-
ure to return a revoked, suspended or canceled 

(Driver Training Instructor)
 822.525 Acting as driver training 

-
tions; rules; penalty. (1) A person commits 
the offense of acting as a driver training 

is not the holder of a valid, current driver 

-
sation, teaches, conducts classes or gives 
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demonstrations to or supervises practice of per-
sons in the driving of motor vehicles whether 
acting on the person’s own behalf or acting as 
an operator of or on behalf of any business or 

-
cating and training persons, either practically 
or theoretically, or both, in the driving of motor 

 (2) The offense described in this section does 
not apply to a person acting as an operator of 

 (a) A business or nonprofit enterprise 
engaged in educating and training persons 
for a profession;
 (b) An accredited secondary school, college 
or university; or
 (c) A person that provides limited education 
or training for a specialized purpose, as deter-
mined by the Department of Transportation by 

 (3) The offense described in this section, 
acting as a driver training instructor without 

-
sion or revocation; duration; fee; rules. 
(1) A person who holds a valid, current driver 

this section is not subject to the prohibitions 

 (2) The Department of Transportation 
shall adopt rules to provide for the issuance 

under this section shall provide for all of the 

 (a) Requirements for driver training 

concerning manner and form of application, 
moral character, physical condition, knowl-

safety principles and practices, driving record, 
driving ability and previous personal and 

 (b) Any other matters the department may 

 (3) The department may refuse to issue or 

issued under this section in any case where the 
-

icate holder has violated or failed to comply 

 (b) The department shall not issue a certif-
icate to a person until the fee for issuance of 

 (c) The department shall not renew a certif-

-

 822.535 Failure to return revoked 
(1) 

A person commits the offense of failure to 
return a revoked or suspended driver train-

Transportation revokes or suspends a driver 

 (2) The offense described in this section, fail-
ure to return a revoked or suspended driver 

GENERAL PROHIBITIONS
 822.600 Failure of garage to report 
accident or bullet contact; penalty. (1) 
A person commits the offense of failure of a 
garage to report an accident or bullet contact if 
the person is in charge of any garage or repair 
shop to which is brought any motor vehicle that 
shows evidence of having been involved in a 
serious accident or struck by any bullet and 
the person does not report to the nearest police 

such motor vehicle is received giving the reg-
istration number and the name and address of 

 (2) An additional report need not be made 
under this section when the owner of the vehi-
cle is also the owner of the garage or repair 
shop and the person has made a report under 

-

 (3) The offense described in this section, 
failure of garage to report accident or bullet 

 822.605 False swearing relating to 
regulation of vehicle related businesses; 
penalty. (1) A person commits the offense of 
false swearing relating to regulation of vehi-
cle related businesses if the person knowingly 

-
ing to the regulation of vehicle dealers, vehicle 
dismantlers, towing businesses, vehicle trans-

vehicle dealers, commercial driver training 
schools or driver training instructors under 

 (2) The offense described in this section, 
false swearing relating to regulation of vehicle 
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FEES
(1) Fee for 

-
cate covering a single place of business issued 

each additional place of business to be covered 

name; and
 (c) $40, for each duplicate dismantler cer-

 (a) $800, for renewal of a dismantler certif-
icate covering a single place of business; and
 (b) $800, for renewal of each supplemental 

under this section on or before the date the fee 
is due, there shall be added as a late payment 

 (4) Fee for original issuance of vehicle dealer 

place of business;
 (b) $350, for each additional place of busi-

operated under the same name; and
 (c) $30, for each corrected vehicle dealer 

-

 (a) $1,100, for renewal of a vehicle dealer 

and
 (b) $350, for each additional place of busi-

required under this section on or before the 
date the fee is due, there shall be added as a 

 (7) Fee for show license issued under ORS 

 (8) Fee for issuance of towing business certif-

 (9) Fee for renewal of towing business certif-

 (10) Fee for issuance of vehicle transporter 

 (11) Fee for renewal of vehicle transporter 

 (12) Fee for issuance of driver training 

 (13) Fee for renewal of driver training 

 (14) Fee for issuance of commercial driver 

 (15) Fee for renewal of commercial driver 

 (17) Fee for renewal of vehicle appraiser 

 822.705 Fee for issuance or renewal 

holding or applying for a current vehicle dealer 
-

ment of Transportation upon application for 

from the fee are continuously appropriated to 
the department for the purpose of carrying out 

issuance and renewal of a vehicle dealer cer-

CIVIL PENALTIES
 822.990 Civil penalties for violations of 
ORS 822.500 and 822.525. (1) The Depart-
ment of Transportation may levy and collect a 
civil penalty in the amount of $1,000 for each 
violation against any person who violates ORS 

 (2) Civil penalties under this section shall 
be imposed in the manner provided in ORS 

 822.992 Civil penalties for violations 
related to dismantlers. (1) The Department 
of Transportation may levy a civil penalty on, 
and collect the civil penalty from, any person 

-

$1,000 for each violation if the person hold-

 (2) The department shall impose civil penal-
ties under this section in the manner provided 

 Note
part of the Oregon Vehicle Code by legislative 
action but was not added to ORS chapter 822 

_______________


