
 

 

Title and Register Your Vehicle with an Out-of-State 
Title with a Lien 

 
 

 
If you are still making payments on your loan or you have a lease, the security interest holder probably has the title. 
DMV cannot title or register your vehicle in Oregon without the out-of-state title. If you are a returning Oregon 
resident and the vehicle was titled in Oregon when you lived here before you may not need to re-title your vehicle, 
check the Returning Residents section. 

 
How to Apply: 

Start this process as soon as possible. 
 

Title: 

 Print the application procedures (Form 735-6603) for your security interest holder; 
 Fill out an Application for Title and Registration (Form 735-226); 

 Include the odometer reading.  
 Help with the application. 

 Get a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection for $7; 
 This is usually done at a DMV office or at the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ).   
 An inspection from law enforcement or another state’s DMV office may be acceptable. 

 Calculate and prepare payment for all applicable title, registration, and plate fees;  
 If you choose to apply for registration at the same time as your title see the Registration section.  
 Make checks or money orders payable to “DMV.”   

 Contact your security interest holder and explain your situation and find out how and where they want you 
to send your application materials (they may have their own requirements and fees for this service); and 

 Provide the application procedures (Form 735-6603), your completed application, the VIN inspection form, 
registration requirements (if you need registration), any other supporting materials, and payment to DMV, to 
your security interest holder.  They will provide the title and submit the application materials to DMV on your 
behalf. 

 It’s a good idea to provide a stamped envelope, addressed to DMV, with your application materials 
to your security interest holder to speed up the process. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6603.pdf
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/226fill.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/odometer.aspx
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6603.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/vininspection.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/fees/vehicle.aspx
http://www.odot.state.or.us/forms/dmv/6603.pdf
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Registration: 

 Prove compliance with, or exemption from, the Low Emissions Vehicle (LEV) requirement, if applicable;  
 Provide a Certificate of Compliance for passing an emissions test at DEQ if you live in the Portland Metro 

Area or the Rogue Valley (Medford area) and are required to do so; and 
 Choose your plates. 

 For a specialty plate, write the name of that plate in the “Remarks” section of your application.  
 You may transfer valid Oregon plates to your vehicle.  

If you want to drive your vehicle in Oregon but the out-of-state plates are expired or the vehicle does not have 
plates you can get a trip permit from a DMV office. You are only allowed two 21-day trip permits. If you have sent 
the paperwork to your security interest holder and used the two trip permits, but have not received your plates, 
contact DMV for further instructions.  

 
By submitting an application for registration, you are certifying:  

 You currently have, and will maintain, motor vehicle insurance required by Oregon law for as long as you 
register the vehicle; and 

 Your home is in Oregon; or 
 You are eligible, or required, to register under Oregon law. 

 

Returning Residents: 

If you titled your vehicle in another state, you must get a new Oregon title and registration (plates).  Follow the How 
to Apply steps above. 
If you only registered your vehicle in another state you do not need to re-title your vehicle in Oregon.  If you still 
have the Oregon plates, you can use the plates and renew the registration if it is expired. If you do not have the 
Oregon plates, you can get replacement plates.  

http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/lev.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/DEQ/Vehicle-Inspection/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/plates.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/registration.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/vehicle/trippermit.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/contact_us.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/insurance.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/residency.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/vehicle/registration.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/Pages/vehicle/registration.aspx
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