Residents of other states operating vehicles in Oregon must be at least 16 years of age and have a valid out-of-state driver license, or be at least 15 years of age and have a valid out-of-state instruction permit.
Out-of-state instruction permit holders must abide by the same driving restrictions
as a person with an Oregon instruction permit.
While driving in Oregon, your vehicle must have valid license plates, title and registration, or an acceptable trip permit from your resident state
, and be sufficiently insured
Your auto insurance should be valid while you are visiting in Oregon, as long as your premium is paid. You need to have proof of insurance with you when operating a motor vehicle. If you do not have proof and are stopped by law enforcement, they can cite you. If you are cited, you must prove to the court that you had sufficient insurance on the day the officer issued the citation or you will be subject to Oregon's Financial Responsibility Law