Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Snowmobiles

Overview

Two people riding seperate snowmobiles in the snow
This page provides information about snowmobiles.
 
Use the links below to go directly to any section: 
Definition & Operation
Definition
Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 801.490 defines a snowmobile as a self-propelled vehicle that: 
  • Is capable of traveling over snow or ice;
  • Uses, as its means of propulsion, an endless belt tread or cleats or any combination of tread and cleats or similar means of contact with the surface upon which it is operated;
  • Is steered wholly or in part by skis or sled-type runners; and
  • Is not registered in Oregon as a vehicle other than a snowmobile.
Snowmobile Operation in Oregon
Any snowmobile in Oregon must be titled and registered unless otherwise exempt.  Snowmobiles are not eligible for passenger registration and must be registered with a snowmobile decal, even if they are only operated on the owner’s land.  Exemptions are defined under ORS 821.090
 
Note: In using the link above, you may need to scroll down to find the correct ORS reference.

Title & Registration
If you are an Oregon resident, you must register your snowmobile.
 
To Apply Fees
  • $77 title fee if submitting an application for title (changing ownership information).
  • $10 for the two-year registration period for new and used snowmobiles. 
  • There is no additional fee for the snowmobile decal provided at initial registration.
Note: Snowmobiles are exempt from certain title and registration requirements such as DEQ, mandatory insurance, and odometer readings.
 
If you have any questions regarding what fees are applicable to your transaction, you may wish to contact DMV.

Snowmobile Trip Permits for Out-of-State Residents
Out-of-state residents whose home state does not require snowmobile registration may purchase a snowmobile permit to operate their unregistered snowmobile in Oregon. 
 
Snowmobile permits are valid for up to 60 days.
 
The fee for a snowmobile permit is $7, regardless of the number of days for which it is issued (1 - 60 days).
 
To apply, you must provide DMV with a request that includes:
  • Your name;
  • Your address;
  • The year, make, body style, and vehicle or product identification number of your snowmobile;
  • Your state of residence; 
  • Desired permit duration up to 60 days (may be issued in advance, but must be within 60 consecutive days); and
  • Payment (check made out to "Oregon DMV" or money order). 
You may submit your request in the form of a letter, with your permit fee payment, in person at a DMV office or by mail.
 
If you have questions or need more information, please contact DMV.

Snowmobile Decal Placement
A single 4 x 7 snowmobile decal is issued along with a single month and light equipment sticker that are placed on the decal.
 
 
 
The decal can be affixed anywhere on the left side of the snowmobile in a visible location, such as the front cowling or rear tunnel.
 


Related Information
Additional information that may be relevant includes: