Titling & Registering a Reconstructed Vehicle
This page provides information about titling and registering reconstructed vehicles.
Use the links below to go directly to any section:
Important: Before applying, please determine if you legally qualify for Oregon vehicle registration.
A title branded (labeled) with "reconstructed" may be issued to an Oregon-titled vehicle that:
- Has a body that resembles and primarily is a particular year model or make of vehicle;
- Is not a vehicle rebuilt by a manufacturer;
- Is not built in a factory where the year model and make are assigned at the factory; and
- Is not a replica.
Or it may be issued to an Oregon-titled vehicle that:
- Is a motor truck that has been rebuilt using a component kit, if the manufacturer of the kit assigns a vehicle identification number (VIN), and provides a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) for the kit.
Information on related vehicles may be found on our damaged vehicles page
|How to Apply|
To apply for a title, you must:
- Fill out an Application for Title and Registration (Form 735-226):
- Provide your Oregon title or Oregon salvage title;
- Provide release(s) of interest from previous owners, using the:
- Pass an emissions test at DEQ if you live in the Portland Area or the Rogue Valley (Medford);
- Provide bills of sale for major parts in reconstruction (see the Assembled, Reconstructed or Replica Vehicle Certification (Form 735-6511) for definition);
- Provide proof of insurance if applying for registration and at least one current owner is staying on the title;
- Get a VIN inspection at a regular or full-service DMV office:
- You must pay a $7 fee for the service;
- Choose license plates (click here for choices):
- If you choose a specialty plate, write the name of that plate in the “Remarks” section of your application,
- You may transfer Oregon plates you own to your vehicle:
- The plates must be a type that DMV still issues, or have a specialty background,
- The plates must be in good condition and readable, and
- The plates can only be transferred to the same type of vehicle,
- When you transfer plates:
- The expiration date of the registration will remain the same,
- Expired plates cannot be transferred, unless registration fees are paid at the time of plate transfer,
- You must pay a plate transfer fee of $6;
- Figure and pay all applicable fees:
- Submit your completed application, supporting documents and payment to DMV.
Note: By submitting an application for registration, you are certifying that you have the insurance required by Oregon law and that you will comply with Oregon's motor vehicle insurance requirements as long as the vehicle is registered in your name.
|How to Submit Your Application|
Take the vehicle, your completed application, supporting documents and payment to a regular or full-service DMV office
Make checks or money orders payable to "Oregon DMV." To get a vehicle identification number inspection, you must go to a full service or regular DMV office.
Note: All DMV offices accept cash or checks and will be able to accept debit and credit cards for payment by the end of 2016. Certain DMV offices are already able to take debit and credit card payments.
|How Long Will It Take|
If everything is in order, plates and stickers will be issued immediately at the DMV office.
Titles are generally mailed to applicants about three to five weeks after DMV receives the necessary paperwork. Delays may occur during peak processing months.
Additional information that may be relevant includes: