Skip to main content

Public Records Requests

About Public Records

We want to be able to provide you the best service possible. Please read through the information below before submitting the request form at the bottom of the page.

NOTE: We are currently working remotely. Please submit all requests electronically.

DO NOT mail or fax a request; no one is in the office to receive it.

FILL OUT THE FORM
Please be as specific as possible in describing the records you seek by including information such as highway and milepost or exit number, city or county or well-known landmark, dates or timeframe, contract or RFP number, etc.

Best Method: Scroll down to the bottom of this page, fill out the web form and submit electronically.

Alternatively, you may use one of our PDF forms.
Public Records Request PDF form
Public Records Request with media fee waiver PDF form

TO REQUEST DMV RECORDS: Driver or vehicle records must be requested directly from DMV. Use this link: DMV Records Request 

Problem? If you have any technical difficulties, send an email message to ODOT Public Records Inbox to arrange for an alternate method of submission.​

Labor
There is no charge for the first 30 minutes of staff time. Beginning with the 31st minute, charges are assessed for staff time that includes researching, locating, compiling, editing or otherwise processing information and records.

Fees for staff time:

  • $25.00 per hour for clerical level staff;
  • $40 per hour for managerial level staff;
  • $75 per hour for professional level staff;

DOJ or other applicable legal fees are charged at the actual hourly rate set by statute ORS 192.440(4)(b).

​Photocopies
Current price list for DAS State Printing and Distribution.

CD or other media storage device
Actual cost according to statewide price agreement with provider of office supplies. Due to the threat of computer viruses, the department does not permit requestors to provide their own disks or other media storage devices.

Electronic transmission
There is no charge to send you documents by email or another electronic transfer method.

Delivery
The actual cost for delivery of records such as postage or courier fees.

Certification
$5.00 for each true copy certification. (Each document, not each page.)​

​​

​The Oregon Department of Transportation will evaluate requests for fee waiver or reduction using guidance provided in DAS statewide policy 107-001-030​. Requests must meet a "public interest" test in order to receive a fee waiver or reduction.

The list includes, but is not limited to:

  • Home address;
  • Date of birth;
  • Telephone number;
  • Social Security number;
  • Driver license, identification badge or card;
  • Certain signatures;
  • Trade secrets;
  • Test questions;
  • Personnel discipline action;
  • Records that would identify security measures;
  • Information relating to the appraisal of real estate prior to its acquisition;
  • Records concerning the location of archaeological sites or objects;
  • Records related to litigation against the Department;
  • Communications within ODOT or between ODOT and another public body of an advisory nature that are preliminary to any final agency determination of policy or action;
  • Records containing information from motor carriers for the purpose of collecting any tax or conducting an audit.
​For additional information see ORS 192.501 to 192.505​.

    What is a public record?
    Public record is defined in Oregon law as any writing that contains information relating to the conduct of the public’s business, ...prepared, owned, used or retained by a public body regardless of physical form or characteristics. ORS 192.410(4)(a)

    “Writing” means handwriting, typewriting, printing, photographing and every means of recording, including letters, words, pictures, sounds, or symbols, or combination thereof, and all papers, maps, files, facsimiles or electronic recordings. ORS 192.410(6)

    How long does it take to receive records?
    The Oregon Department of Transportation's standard is 10 business days to communicate with you and either supply the requested records, give you an estimate of the time and cost to produce the records, or let you know ODOT cannot fill the request and the reason. The time required to produce all responsive records may be longer than 10 days.

    What if ODOT doesn't have records in the form or format I request?
    Public records law pertains to existing records and does not require the agency to generate a record to respond to a request. Depending on what you're asking for, if the agency can't convert the records to your preferred format, you will receive them in the form in which the agency stores them.

    What is FOIA and how does it relate to my records request?
    FOIA is the Freedom of Information Act, which is federal law. Although requesters frequently mention FOIA in their requests, that law only applies to federal agencies, not state agencies.

    Oregon state agencies release records under Oregon law found in ORS 192.410 through 192.505.​​

     
     

    Contact Us

    Lauri Kunze, PRR Team Lead
    Fatima Madriz, Data & Follow Up
    ODOTPRR@odot.state.or.us
    355 Capitol Street NE, MS 51
    Salem OR 97301

    Use this address for DMV requests:
    DMVRecordServices@odot.state.or.us

    Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

    ×