Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Region 4 - Traffic Section
Overview
Striping of highway in Sherman County.The Region 4 Traffic Section is responsible for traffic engineering, operations, maintenance and safety in Central Oregon.  Our staff is responsible for things like:
  • the design of signs and signals,  
  • the development of plans to move traffic safely through work zones,
  • ensuring safe and efficient access to the state highway system,
  • maintenance and operation of traffic signals,
  • recommending changes to speed limits,
  • traffic and safety investigations,
  • pavement marking maintenance,
  • signs maintenance,
  • maintenance of electrical devices,
  • maintenance and operations of Intelligent Transportation Systems,
  • identification and development of safety and operations projects, and 
  • managing grants for traffic safety education and enforcement activities.
 
 
Staff
Region 4 - Traffic Section
63055 N. Highway 97, Bldg. K
Bend, OR 97701
Joel McCarroll, PS, PTOE
Region 4 Traffic Manager
541-388-6189
Joel.R.McCarroll@odot.state.or.us
Dave Hirsch, PE, PTOE 
Signal Operations Engineer
541-388-6472 
David.HIRSCH@odot.state.or.us 
 
Primary area of responsibility: Traffic signal timing and analysis
David Knitowski, PE
Region Access Mgmt. Engineer
541-388-6182
David.Knitowski@odot.state.or.us 
 
Primary area of responsibility: Development and refinement planning review.
Dan Serpico, PE
Sr. Traffic Analyst
541-388-6170
Daniel.S.Serpico@odot.state.or.us
 
Primary areas of responsibility: Access Management Project Coordinator for STIP Projects, Traffic Analysis, Safety Program Development, ITS Project Leader, speed zones
Debbie Miller
Traffic Safety Coordinator
541-388-6429
Debbie.A.Miller@odot.state.or.us 
 
Primary areas of responsibility: provides information, direct services and transportation safety grants to local agencies and communities in Region 4.
Jeff Lannigan
Traffic Designer
541-388-6440
Jeffrey.L.Lannigan@odot.state.or.us
 
Primary area of responsibility: Signal, sign, and illumination design
Mary Barron
Traffic Control Plans Designer/Traffic Analyst
541-388-6446
Mary.A.Barron@odot.state.or.us
 
Primary areas of responsibility: traffic control design, work zones, highway mobility
Brad Stevens
Electrical Supervisor
541-388-6077
Brad.T.Stevens@odot.state.or.us
 
Primary area of responsibility:  Traffic signal and illumination maintenance.
Rolon Williams
Sign/Pavement Marking Manager
541-388-6474
Rolon.S.Williams@odot.state.or.us
 
Primary area of responsibility:  Maintenance of signs and pavement markings.
Sinclair Kamanya
Associate Traffic Analyst
541-388-6038
Sinclair.Kamanya@odot.state.or.us
 
Primary area of responsibility: Signal, sign, and traffic control plans design.
Mark Barrett 
Associate Traffic Analyst
541-388-6120 
Mark.S.BARRETT@odot.state.or.us 
 
Primary area of responsibility: Traffic and safety analysis and ITS.
 
 
Resources and Links
Why a Traffic Signal? ODOT Traffic Manual
Traffic Signal Policy ODOT Traffic Volume Tables
Crosswalk Safety Transportation Safety
How are speeds set? HAWK Brochure 
What do flashing yellow lights mean? Access Management 
Roundabouts  Current Transportation Safety Newsletter