Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Region 5 Right of Way & Survey Section
About the Right of Way & Survey Section
Fall
 
Our Mission in the Right of Way Section is timely, well managed and effective acquisition of real property and improvements necessary for the construction and maintenance of Oregon's Transportation System.  We also work to maximize the return on the Highway Trust Fund's real property investment through efficient management and sale of surplus property.
 
Core Values of the Right of Way Section:
We are dedicated:
 
  • to providing timely, effective acquisition of properties needed for construction, improvement or maintenance of transportation infrastructure and public facilities,
  • to comply with the fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution and Section 18 of Article 1 of the Oregon Constitution when acquiring real property,
  • to ensuring professional, equitable and fair treatment of individuals and businesses that are required to sell land or to move because of acquisition of their property,
  • to quality work, excellent customer service, and responsible fiscal management,
  • to open communication, honesty and professional relationships with owners, employees, the public, user groups, the legislature, local governments, contractors, consultants, and other program.
 
The La Grande Right of Way Section provides expertise in real estate matters and provides consultation and advisory assistance on teams and committees as needed in Region 5.  In cooperation with the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), the Right of Way Section Implements Public Law 91-646, the Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acquisition Policies Act of 1970, as amended, the Oregon Department of Transportation Right of Way Manual and various state and federal administrative policies and laws.
 
Foremost responsibilities of the Region 5 Right of Way Section:
 
Acquisition of property, contracting for and producing appraisals, relocation of displaced persons and businesses, and management of real property acquired for public transportation projects.
  • Right of Way Project management including but not limited to;
    • participation in advisory and oversight roles for local government agencies utilizing federal funds to develop and construct projects,
    • contracting for other services related to property acquisitions and management,
    • advisory roles to the community, staff and consultants,
    • estimating project specific right of way costs,
    • maintaining accurate budgets,
    • managing right of way project timelines,
    • providing support for other Region 5 duties, and
    • support of Right of Way programs administered out of Salem.
 
Some of the program administered out of the Salem Right of Way Section:
 
  • Property Management (properties for sale)
  • Outdoor Advertising Sign Program
  • Railroad Acquisition/Relocation
  • Appraisal Review
  • Title and Escrow Services
  • Alternate Dispute Resolution
  • Condemnation Case Management
  • Access Research
  • Jurisdictional Transfers
 
Region 5 Survey Section:
 
Overview
 
The Region 5 Survey Section is part of Region 5 Project Development and is responsible for consultant survey contracts; engineering design, right of way and miscellaneous property surveys; and right of way mapping and descriptions in the region.
 
Duties include coordinating and scheduling available survey crews to support Technical Center and Construction offices as necessary, providing advice and technical assistance on survey issues to Region 5, creating the maps and descriptions needed for project right of way acquisition and ensuring that all legally required surveys are completed. 
    
 
STAFF
 
Region 5 Right of Way & Survey Section
3012 Island Avenue
La Grande, OR 97850
(541) 963-3177
 
Hours: 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Stephanie Anderson
Right of Way & Survey Manager
(541) 963-1373
Stephanie.Anderson@odot.state.or.us 
Leslie Hasse
Right of Way Agent
(541) 963-1576
Leslie.A.Hasse@odot.state.or.us 
 
Jim Godfrey
Right of Way Agent
(541) 963-1348
James.K.Godrey@odot.state.or.us 
Curt Stockhoff
Surveyor
(541) 963-1907
Curtis.B.Stockhoff@odot.state.or.us 

Rusty Mink
Surveyor
(541) 963-1909
Rusty.L.Mink@odot.state.or.us

Brent Reynolds
District 12 Surveyor
(541) 276-0469
Brent.J.Reynolds@odot.state.or.us 

Tony Bashaw
Surveyor
(541) 276-0469
Tony.L.Bashaw@odot.state.or.us 
Mark Stewart
District 14 Surveyor
(541) 823-4041
Mark.A.Stewart@odot.state.or.us 
 
Cody Wheeler
Surveyor
(541) 823-4040
Cody.Wheeler@odot.state.or.us 

Ed Hensley
Description Writer
(541) 963-1378 
Edward.L.Hensley@odot.state.or.us 

Bob Butler
Description Writer
(541) 963-1908
Robert.E.Butler@odot.state.or.us 

Cheri Peterson
Region Utilities Specialist
(541) 963-1358
CheriA. Peterson@odot.state.or.us 

Jim Richards
Region Team Survey Leader
(541) 963-366
Jim.Richards@odot.state.or.us