Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Road User Fee Task Force
As transportation funding from traditional sources declines, the state is investigating alternatives. To develop a new way to fund Oregon's roads and highways, the Oregon Legislature convened an independent body of state legislators, transportation commissioners, local government officials and citizens called the Road User Fee Task Force.
The task force examined the challenges and benefits of a mileage-based road user charge system and conducted two pilot projects to gather driver feedback on different options. With input from the task force, the 2013 Oregon Legislature approved the Road Usage Charge Program to be operational July 1, 2015.

History of the task force

In 2001, the Oregon Legislature created the Road User Fee Task Force to investigate options the state might have for oregonoutofmud.gifcreating a sustainable way to generate funds to support the transportation system. After in-depth research and exploration of options, the group spearheaded two pilot projects and continues regular meetings to keep Oregon leading the way on an issue of concern to other states, the federal government and other countries as well.

The focus now is on OReGO, a legislatively mandated program that creates a new way to fund road maintenance, preservation and improvements for all Oregonians. OReGO volunteers will pay their road usage charge by how many miles they drive, instead of the fuel tax.
  • The OReGO road usage charge is set at 1.5 cents per mile.
  • OReGO volunteers will get a credit on their bill to offset the fuel tax they pay at the pump.
  • Volunteers will have their choice of three private and secure mileage reporting options offered by OReGO’s private-sector partners.
  • OReGO volunteers’ personal information will be kept secure and private.
  • The first phase of OReGO is limited to 5,000 cars and light commercial vehicles.

Read more about OReGO.


Members and terms

The Road User Fee Task Force has –
  • Ten members appointed to four year terms by Governor, Senate President and House Speaker
  • Two members appointed to four year terms by Chair of Oregon Transportation Commission
Task Force members (as of Jan. 30, 2015):
Tammy Baney
OTC Commissioner
To be appointed
OTC Commissioner
Bob Andrews, Mayor of Newberg
City Mayor
Sid Leiken, Lane County Commissioner
County Commissioner
Mike Hayward, Wallowa County Commissioner
Vicki Berger, Salem
Craig Dirksen, Metro Council
Craig Campbell, AAA
Rep. Cliff Bentz
House Member (R)
Rep. John Lively
House Member (D)
Sen. Bill Hansell
Senator (R)
Sen. Chris Edwards
Senator (D)
Rep. Margaret Doherty
House Member (Ex-Officio - D)
Rep. John Davis
House Member (Ex-Officio - R)
Sen. Arnie Roblan
Senator (Ex-Officio - D)
Sen. Chuck Thomsen
Senator (Ex-Officio - R)


All meetings are open to the public. Accommodations will be provided and alternate formats of printed material are available upon request. Please call (503) 986-3193 prior to the meeting. Statewide relay: 7-1-1
February 5, 2015
Meeting materials
May 29, 2014
Meeting materials