What is HB 2592?HB 2592
is a transportation bill that includes several program updates, along with technical corrections to HB 2017
(the Keep Oregon Moving bill of 2017).
HB 2592 incorporated a bill concept that came directly from MCTD (SB 56) which proposed to eliminate the weight receipt and its $8 fee. With the passage of HB 2592, the weight receipt is eliminated and carriers will now enroll in the Weight-Mile Tax Program. There is no longer a requirement for drivers to carry a tax credential.
Why did we eliminate the weight receipt?
Eliminating the weight receipt will save the trucking industry millions of dollars every year in fees and administrative expenses. The paper receipt is no longer necessary for the department to enforce Oregon’s tax laws.
What vehicles are subject to Oregon’s Weight-Mile Tax Program?
Commercial motor vehicles operating over 26,000 pounds are required to pay weight-mile tax. This requirement has not changed.
How do I enroll my vehicles in the Weight-Mile Tax Program?
Oregon-based motor carriers renewing their Oregon vehicle registration will be issued registration cab cards and stickers for the next calendar year and their weight-mile tax enrollment is rolled over for the next calendar year.
Out-of-state motor carriers with an established Oregon Motor Carrier Account will enroll their vehicle(s) by mail, phone or via Oregon Trucking Online
(TOL). Carriers that enroll vehicles will receive a weekly list as confirmation for these additions. A vehicle is enrolled until the motor carrier cancels the vehicle’s enrollment.
What if my company does not have an established motor carrier account in Oregon?
Until your company establishes an Oregon Motor Carrier account, prior to operation, you must obtain a temporary pass. You may only operate on temporary passes for a limited time, per OAR 740-35-0015
. Once you reach the limit of temporary passes, you will be required to bond and establish an account.
How do I cancel a vehicle from the Weight-Mile Tax Program?
To cancel a vehicle’s enrollment from the Weight-Mile Tax Program, call Motor Carrier Transportation Division (MCTD), or log onto Oregon Trucking Online
What if I do not have a permanent base plate?
Vehicles operating in Oregon without a permanent plate will receive the new Temporary Enrollment Document (TED). This document replaces the Temporary Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier (TOWRATI).
This temporary credential is only valid until the vehicle receives their permanent plate, and at that time, the motor carrier is required to call MCTD or log on to Oregon Trucking Online
to amend their enrollment information. It expires on December 31 of each calendar year, if the vehicle is not plated and enrolled prior to then.
How do I pay my weight-mile tax in Oregon?
Motor Carriers with vehicles enrolled in Oregon’s Weight-Mile Tax Program are required to file Weight-Mile Tax Reports and pay their weight-mile tax (monthly or quarterly).
All enrolled vehicles are subject to weight-mile tax, and motor carriers are responsible for reporting and paying those weight-mile taxes until a vehicle is canceled.
Is there still a $440 presumptive fine for not having a weight receipt?
Drivers may still be subject to citation and/or fines when entering or operating vehicles in Oregon prior to enrolling or obtaining proper authority to operate or when operating the vehicle while the motor carrier’s account is suspended or the vehicle registration is suspended.
How will fuel sellers know that I am enrolled in the Weight-Mile Tax Program?
Motor carriers with registered vehicles over 26,000 pounds must enroll in the Weight-Mile Tax Program to avoid paying a fuel tax at the pump.
Nothing changes for drivers at the pump.
Fuel sellers will be able to identify registered vehicles based on their appropriate cab card and/or by checking the public access database to find and verify vehicles enrolled in the Weight-Mile Tax Program authorized to operate in Oregon.
Are there new record-keeping requirements for weight-mile taxes?
No. These requirements have not changed. See the weight-mile tax recordkeeping requirements on the MCTD Recordkeeping web page
Can’t find an answer anywhere on this page?