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INSURANCE & BOND REQUIREMENTS 
 
 
Insurance 
 
Oregon regulates only the Liability Insurance requirements of carriers engaged in 
Intrastate operations.  Interstate carriers are subject to the federal regulations for 
Liability Insurance. 
 
For Intrastate carriers, Oregon statutes require combined single limit insurance 
coverage in the amount of $750,000. 
 
Proof of coverage (Form E) must be submitted by the carrier’s insurance 
company. The name on the Form E must match exactly the carrier’s name 
registered with ODOT. 
 
If the insurance is canceled, a new Form E must be filed showing continuous 
coverage to avoid suspension. 
 
Bonds and Deposits 
 
Oregon state law requires that carriers file a surety deposit with the Department 
of Transportation to ensure the payment of fees, taxes, charges, or penalties. 
The most common types of deposits are: 

• Cash 
• A bond in the form prescribed and furnished by the Department of 

Transportation  

Beginning in July 2013, the Department may require a cash deposit if a motor 
carrier operates on temporary passes. A portion of the total required deposit may 
be collected incrementally on each successive temporary pass purchased. The 
required deposit will be in the amount of $100 or twice the amount of weight-mile 
tax charged on the temporary pass rounded up to the next ten dollars, whichever 
is greater. A motor carrier may opt to provide a bond in lieu of serial incremental 
cash deposits.  

Interest will accrue on cash deposited with the agency to meet the bonding 
requirement. 
 
 
To obtain more information about bond requirements, including waivers and bond 
reductions, please contact the Bond Unit at (503) 378-4823. 


