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Motor Carrier Transportation Division road-use tax 
auditors and safety investigators will tell you that one 
of the most frustrating parts of their job is working with 
motor carriers who have failed to keep good records.

Without an accounting of truck operations, auditors can’t verify 
road use tax reports and payments. In that case, they know they’ll 
have to make an assessment of the operations and it can lead to a 
finding of additional taxes or fees due, plus late payment, penalty, 
and interest charges.

Without proper safety records, 
investigators can’t tell if a company is using 
mechanically safe trucks and qualified 
drivers and is following all the rules. In the 
interest of public safety, they have to take 

a stern position, insist that the company change its ways, and take 
any necessary enforcement actions.

Here’s why a motor carrier should view good recordkeeping as 
a way to spare trouble and save money:
•	 Late payment charges amount to an additional 10percent  

of any road use taxes or fees due.
•	 Penalty charges vary. If the additional assessment exceeds by 

at least 5 percent but not more than 15 percent of the taxes 
or fees due, a 5 percent penalty is added. If the additional 
assessment exceeds by more than 15 percent of the taxes or 
fees due, a 20 percent penalty is added. If a road use tax report 
is not filed, a penalty of 25 percent of the taxes or fees due is 
added.

•	 Interest charges can then add up. Every additional assessment 
bears interest at the rate of 1 percent per month,  
or fraction of a month, until paid.

•	 Keeping inadequate safety records or failing to provide records 
can result in fines of varying amounts. Inadequate or missing 
records violations are subject to one count x $100 for each 
missing record. So, for example, a record required to be in 
a driver file that is missing is one count, whereas missing 
log book pages are one count for each day a log book was 
required and not completed. Failing to provide records when a 
safety investigator requests them is subject to 10 days x $100 
plus suspension of authority. 
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Oregon Weight-Mile Tax Recordkeeping

Road-use tax auditors 
are responsible for 
verifying weight-mile tax 
reports and payments 

for operations in Oregon. Each 
motor carrier account is reviewed 
every three years. Audit periods 
vary but usually encompass the 
previous three years of tax filings. 
But if there is no tax report filed 
for a reporting period, there is 
no statute of limitations. Auditors 
complete hundreds of weight-
mile tax audits each year and 
assess millions in unreported 
taxes and fees. It’s not always 
bad news, however, because 
audits also result in credits as 
any overpayment caused by an 
incorrect report is refunded to the 
carrier. For every account that is 
assigned to an audit, many more 
are screened and cleared by 
staff. Auditors screen over 30,000 
accounts each year to determine 
which warrant close scrutiny.

All motor carriers must maintain 
records of their operations for 
a period of three years and 
must produce these records for 
inspection upon request. ODOT 
must give the carrier a reasonable 
time and place to produce the 
requested records. Oregon law 
provides that ODOT shall be 
reimbursed by the motor carrier if 
its representatives travel outside 
the State of Oregon to examine 
operational records.

All carriers must maintain records containing the 
following information for each vehicle:

•	 Origin and destination points. 
•	 Oregon entry and exit points. 
•	 Actual Oregon miles for each trip. 
•	 Pickup and delivery points in Oregon for 

each trip. 
•	 Routes of travel for each trip. 
•	 Dates of each trip. 
•	 Daily beginning and ending odometer or other mileage 

recording device readings for each vehicle. 
•	 Load tickets and/or bills of lading for each shipment. 
•	 Identification of any exempt miles claimed, which shall 

include beginning and ending odometer or other mileage 
recording device readings for the exempt portion of each trip. 

•	 If repeated trips are made to and from the same locations, a 
one-time recording of odometer or other mileage recording 
device readings for the exempt portion of those trips may be 
applied to the total number of trips. 

•	 Carriers operating motor vehicles that are issued or required 
to obtain an annual variance permit under ORS 818.200(1)
(a) to (c) with a combined weight of more than 80,000 
pounds shall also provide for each reporting period the 
number of axles in the vehicle configuration, and a record of 
changes of operation. A change of operation occurs when 
the vehicle configuration remains the same but the actual 
weight of the vehicle and load changes from over 80,000 
pounds to 80,000 pounds or under. Empty movements are 
not changes in operation. 

•	 Carriers operating motor vehicles in multiple configurations 
shall provide the number of miles operated in each motor 
vehicle configuration for each trip.

All registrants that pay registration fees via registration trip 
permits must retain a copy of each registration trip permit.

Records generated from on-board recording devices, vehicle 
tracking systems, or other electronic data recording systems 
may be used in lieu of, or in addition to, the records required 
in this rule provided that the electronic records meet all the 
requirements of sections (1) through (3) of OAR 740-055-
0120, and are provided in printed format upon request.

If operating under the International Registration Plan and 
International Fuel Tax Agreement, carriers must maintain all records 

pertaining to such operations as required by IRP and IFTA.

Oregon Department of Transportation  •  Motor Carrier Transportation Division
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International Registration Plan Recordkeeping

Motor carriers participating in the IPR are required to preserve the records upon which the 
apportioned registration application is based for a period of three years after the close of the 
registration year. 

There is a 20 percent assessment per jurisdiction if adequate records are not provided to the 
auditor. If adequate records are not provided in the next audit, there is a 50 percent assessment per 
jurisdiction. Any further audits conducted for which adequate records are not provided will result in a 
100 percent per jurisdiction assessment. Records need to be sufficient and appropriate to allow the 
auditor to verify the distance reported on the application in order to be evaluated as “Adequate”. 

The registrant must record all movement of apportioned vehicles including loaded, empty, deadhead 
and/or bobtail distance. The registrant must also record all distance traveled by apportioned vehicles 
under trip permits.

Records must contain the following elements: 
•	 Date of trip (starting and ending).
•	 Trip origin and destination.
•	 Route of travel.
•	 Beginning and ending reading from the odometer, hubometer or similar device for the trip.
•	 Total trip distance traveled.
•	 Distance traveled by jurisdiction.
•	 Unit number or vehicle identification number.

Records produced wholly or partly by a vehicle-tracking system, including a GPS must also 
include: 
•	 The original GPS or other location data.
•	 Date and time of each GPS or other system reading.
•	 Location of each GPS or other system reading.
•	 Calculated distance between each GPS or other system reading.

Records must also include summaries: 
A.	 A summary of the Fleet’s operations for each month, which includes both the full distance 
      traveled by each apportioned vehicle in the fleet during the calendar month, and the distance  
      traveled in the month by each apportioned vehicle in each jurisdiction; 
B.	 A summary of the Fleet’s operation for each quarter, which includes both the full distance 
      traveled by vehicles in the fleet during the quarter, and the distance traveled in each 
      jurisdiction by the vehicles in the fleet during the quarter; and 
C.	 A summary of the quarterly summaries. 

ODOT Motor Carrier Transportation Division road-use tax auditors check that Oregon-
based carriers participating in the IRP are in compliance with requirements related 
to their operations in other states and provinces. Audits may cover the current 
registration year plus three previous registration years.

Oregon Department of Transportation  •  Motor Carrier Transportation Division
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International Fuel Tax Agreement Recordkeeping

ODOT Motor Carrier Transportation Division road-use tax auditors check that Oregon-
based carriers participating in the IFTA are in compliance with requirements related to 
their operations in other states and provinces.  
Every motor carrier with an IFTA license is required to maintain records that 

substantiate what is reported on their IFTA Tax Returns. Carriers must keep operational records 
for four years from the due date of each return or the filing date, whichever is later. 

Distance records required:
•	 Date of trip (starting and 

ending).
•	 Trip origin and destination.
•	 Route of travel.
•	 Beginning and ending 

odometer or hubometer 
reading of the trip.

•	 Total trip miles.
•	 Intermediate trip stops.
•	 Miles by jurisdiction.
•	 Vehicle identification 

number or unit number.
•	 Vehicle fleet number.
•	 Licensee’s name. 

Fuel records required:
•	 Purchaser’s name.
•	 Seller’s name and address.
•	 Date of purchase.
•	 Fuel type.
•	 Price per gallon.
•	 Unit number.
•	 Number of gallons 

received.
•	 Separate totals must be 

compiled for each fuel type, 
and retail fuel purchased 
must be accounted for 
separately from bulk fuel 
purchases.

Bulk fuel records required, if applicable:
•	 Date of withdrawal.
•	 Number of gallons.
•	 Fuel type.
•	 Unit number.
•	 Purchase and inventory records to substantiate that tax was 

paid.
•	 Bulk fuel inventory reconciliations must be maintained, and 

records must distinguish fuel placed in qualified vehicles from 
other uses.

Oregon Department of Transportation  •  Motor Carrier Transportation Division

Effective January 1, 2017, a new inadequate records assessment will be imposed in accordance with 
IFTA for not maintaining or providing adequate records at the time of audit. If the base jurisdiction 
determines that the records produced by the licensee for audit do not, for the fleet as a whole, meet 
the criterion for the adequacy of records, or the licensee produces no records for audit, the base 
jurisdiction shall impose an additional assessment by either: adjusting the reported fleet MPG to 4.00; 
or reducing the reported MPG by twenty percent. 

Records must include monthly distance and fuel summaries. These summaries are to 
include the fleet’s operations reported on the corresponding quarterly tax return, and 

include the distance traveled by and the fuel placed into each vehicle in the fleet during 
the quarter, both in total and by jurisdiction. 

Distance records produced 
wholly or partly by a vehicle-
tracking system, including a 
GPS must also include: 
•	 Original GPS or other location 

for the vehicle.
•	 Location of each GPS or other 

system reading.
•	 Total distance traveled by the 

vehicle.
•	 Distance traveled in each 

jurisdiction. 
•	 Route of travel.
•	 Vehicle identification number 

or unit number.
•	 Date and time of each GPS 

or other system reading at 
intervals sufficient to validate 
the total distance traveled in 
each jurisdiction.

•	 Beginning and ending reading 
from the odometer, hubometer 
engine control module (ECM), 
or similar device.

•	 Calculated distance between 
each GPS or other system 
reading. 
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Fuel Purchase Records, Refunds

Oregon charges heavy trucks a 
weight-mile tax for road use, 
rather than a fuel tax. Motor 
carriers operating trucks with 

a combined weight over 26,000 pounds 
can buy fuel in Oregon without paying 
a fuel tax if they carry proof that they’re 
paying the weight-mile tax. They’ll need 
a valid temporary or permanent Oregon 
Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier, a 
valid Temporary Pass, or an Oregon 
Commercial or Oregon Apportioned 
license plate with a valid sticker. Without 
such credentials, the fuel provider must 
charge fuel taxes. (Some 
stations charge the fuel tax 
anyway because they can’t 
back it out of the purchase.)

When carriers paying 
weight-mile taxes also 
pay Oregon state fuel tax, they can 
request a refund of the Oregon state 
fuel tax when they file their weight-mile 
tax report with ODOT Motor Carrier 
Transportation Division. But a claim for 
credit cannot be processed unless it’s 
supported by proper documentation 
from the actual seller of the fuel. Claims 
cannot be based on receipts that lack 
the required information. They also 
cannot be based on invoices from 
processing/billing companies like 
Voyager and SC Fuels when fuel is 
purchased at retail stations because 
they are not the actual seller of the fuel. 
The processing/billing company invoices 
will be accepted, however, when the 
billing relates to a cardlock station. 
In that case, the processing/billing 
company is considered the “seller.” 
Those receipts and invoices still must 
confirm that Oregon state fuel tax was 
paid for fuel purchased for a weight-
mile-tax-paying vehicle.

Oregon Department of Transportation  •  Motor Carrier Transportation Division

Oregon Administrative Rule 740-055-0110
— Fuel Purchase Records and Refunds —

1.	 All motor carriers must obtain an invoice covering every purchase of 
motor vehicle fuel and preserve the same for a period of three years 
subject to inspection by the Department or its representatives at all 
reasonable times.

2.	 Such invoice must disclose: (a) Date and location of purchase; 
(b) From whom purchased; (c) Kind of fuel and number of gallons 
purchased; (d) Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier number or 
temporary pass number of the vehicle if fuel is delivered directly into 
such vehicle; and (e) Amount of fuel tax paid.

3.	 Motor carriers purchasing fuel in Oregon may claim a credit for 
Oregon state fuel tax paid at the pump. Carriers shall deduct the 
amount of fuel tax paid from the highway use tax due on the highway 
use tax report for the period in which the fuel was purchased. Motor 
carriers taking a deduction on the highway use tax report for fuel tax 
paid shall attach a copy of all fuel invoices for which credit is claimed. 
Carriers who purchase fuel in bulk shall attach to the highway use 
tax report for the period in which the fuel was dispensed into a motor 
vehicle copies of invoices from fuel suppliers indicating Oregon state 
fuel tax paid and fueling records showing fuel dispensed for each 
motor vehicle.

4.	 Motor carriers may submit a written request for refund of Oregon state 
fuel tax paid up to three years after purchase. A written request for 
refund may be granted for any Oregon fuel tax paid but not deducted 
from the highway use tax report for the period in which the fuel was 
purchased. Motor carriers requesting refund must attach copies of 
all invoices. No such refund will be issued until an audit has been 
performed. 

EXCEPTION TO 740-055-0110(2): Invoices may disclose the Oregon 
Commercial or Oregon Apportioned license plate number instead of the 
Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier number or Temporary Pass number.

Claims for fuel tax credits will be rejected if they are 
not supported by invoices from the actual seller of the fuel that contain 
the date and location of the purchase, the fuel supplier, the kind of fuel 
and gallons purchased, the Oregon weight-mile tax credential number 
assigned to the vehicle — Oregon Commercial or Apportioned license 
plate number, Oregon Weight Receipt and Tax Identifier number, or 
Temporary Pass number — and the amount of Oregon fuel tax paid.

As more motor carriers use unattended cardlock stations, it’s also 
important they know their fuel supplier is required to collect the Oregon 
fuel tax unless a carrier has a signed Exemption Certificate on file with 
the supplier. Each carrier must complete this two-page form to note the 
reason for purchasing ex-tax fuel and list the qualified vehicles. Once the 
Certificate is filed, the fuel supplier can issue an “ex-tax card” for each 
vehicle to use when filling up.

While the Exemption Certificate is a key foundational document, the 
fueling summary report is critical for justifying ex-tax fuel purchases. 
Oregon Administrative Rules in Division 170, governing fuel licenses 
and records, list the same requirements for documenting purchases on 
invoices from non-retail stations as the Division 740 rules governing 
invoices from retail stations. So if the fuel 
purchase invoice does not show a carrier’s 
Oregon plate or weight-mile tax credential, the 
carrier can’t claim a credit on its weight-mile tax 
report and ends up paying BOTH the fuels tax and 
weight-mile tax.

Questions? Contact ODOT’s Fuels Tax Group at 
503-378-8150 or 888-753-2525.
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Motor carriers with good 
recordkeeping can save time and 
trouble on the road during routine 
roadside inspections by having 
the following records ready to 
show an inspector:

•	 Driver’s license. 
•	 Medical examiner’s certificate 

(non-CDL drivers only).
•	 Medical waiver (Skills 

Performance Evaluation), if 
applicable. 

•	 Record of duty status 
(logbook), either paper or 
electronic. 

•	 Trip receipts 
•	 Shipping/delivery papers or 

manifest.
•	 Vehicle registration for each 

unit.
•	 Oregon Weight Receipt and 

Tax Identifier.
•	 Current annual inspections for 

each unit. 

Motor Carrier Safety Recordkeeping

Motor carriers must meet a number of different recordkeeping requirements for safety 
purposes. There is a need to keep records related to both vehicles and drivers at each 
trucking company’s office, all ready to be produced if requested by a state or federal 
safety investigator. 

 
If a carrier were to develop a bad score in one of the Behavior Analysis and Safety Improvement 
Categories of the CSA safety measurement system, it may prompt a visit by an investigator to 
check particular records and safety practices or conduct a complete safety compliance review. 
Carriers can save considerable time and trouble if they keep good records at the office.

Roadside Inspections

Driver Responsibility: A driver who receives an inspection 
report from an Oregon inspector must deliver the report to 
the motor carrier as soon as possible.

Certification of Repairs: The motor carrier is to examine the 
inspection report and ensure that any violations or defects 
noted on the report are corrected before next dispatch. The 
carrier must sign the report to certify that all violations have 
been corrected, and return the report to the indicated ad-
dress within 15 days after the inspection.

Record Retention: A copy of the report must be retained by 
the motor carrier for 12 months from the date of inspection.

Oregon Department of Transportation  •  Motor Carrier Transportation Division
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Vehicle-Related Safety Records

Maintenance Records
Motor carriers must maintain the 
following information for every 
vehicle they have controlled for 
30 days or more:

•	 Vehicle description: 
company number, make, 
serial number, year, and tire 
size.

•	 Routine inspections and 
maintenance: type and date.

•	 All repairs and maintenance: 
description and date.

•	 For buses: records of tests 
done on pushout windows, 
emergency doors, and 
emergency marking lights. 

Maintenance records must be 
retained for one year at the 
location where the vehicle is 
stored and for six months after 
the carrier sells the vehicle.

Periodic Inspections
Every commercial motor vehicle 
used in interstate commerce, 
including each unit in a 
combination, requires a periodic 
inspection every 12 months. 
The inspection must include all 
items described in the Minimum 
Periodic Inspection Standards 
(Part 393, Appendix G). Any 
defective parts or accessories 
discovered during the inspection 
shall be repaired promptly. The 
original or a copy of the periodic 

inspection report must be 
retained by the motor carrier for 
14 months from the report date. 
Documentation (report, sticker, 
or decal) of the most recent 
periodic inspection must be kept 
on or in the vehicle.

The periodic inspection may be 
performed by the motor carrier 
or an outside repair shop.

If the inspector performing 
the annual inspection is an 
employee of the motor carrier 
or the outside repair shop, the 
carrier must ensure that the 
inspector is qualified. To be 
qualified, the inspector must 
understand inspection criteria in 
Part 393, Appendix G, and have 
the mechanical knowledge and 
ability necessary to inspect and 
identify defective components. 
Inspectors must have gained 
experience or training by either 
completing a State, Federal, 
or Canadian training program 
in commercial vehicle safety 
inspections or having at least 
one year of equivalent training, 
experience, or both. 

Driver / Vehicle  
Inspection Reports

At the end of each driving day, 
the driver must inspect his/
her vehicle. The inspection 
must cover all items in the 
pre-trip inspection plus wheels 
and emergency equipment. If 
violations are found the driver 
must complete a Driver / Vehicle 
Inspection Report. The driver 
should list any safety-related 
defects, or those items likely 
to cause a breakdown. Each 

report needs the following three 
signatures:

•	 Driver – at the end of the 
driving day, certifying the 
defects found, or that no 
defects were discovered. 

•	 Carrier/mechanic – before 
the next trip, certifying that 
the defects were repaired.

•	 Driver – before the next 
trip, acknowledging that the 
carrier/mechanic signed for 
the repairs. 

The reports must be kept on 
file for at least three months, 
but need not be in the driver’s 
possession.
Note: Driver / vehicle inspection reports 
are not required for driveaway towaway 
operations, or for a motor carrier operating 
only one CMV or CMV combination (power 
unit with trailers).

Hazardous Materials
Some hazmat carriers are 
required to maintain records 
related to hazmat registration, 
shipping papers, training, 
incidents (spills), and security 
plans. Also, some hazmat cargo 
tank carriers are required to 
maintain records related to 
manufacturer’s certificates and 
testing. Contact the Oregon 
DOT safety specialists for more 
about these requirements.

Oregon Department of Transportation  •  Motor Carrier Transportation Division
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Brake Inspections
Each motor carrier must 
ensure that any employee 
responsible for brake inspection, 
maintenance, or repairs has 
the mechanical knowledge and 
ability necessary to perform 
those tasks.

Employees must have gained 
experience or training by one of 
the following:

•	 Completing a training 
program sponsored or 
approved by a State, Federal 
agency, Canadian Province, 
or labor union in brake 
servicing or inspection. 

•	 Completing at least one year 
of equivalent brake-related 
training, experience,  
or both.

•	 Passing the CDL air brake 
inspection test. 

Documentation of Qualifications 
Motor carriers must retain 
evidence of an inspector’s 
qualifications until one year after 
the inspector ceases to perform 
inspections for the carrier. 
However, no evidence is required 
for a brake inspector who passed 
the CDL air brake test.

Vehicle-Related Safety Records (continued)

Financial Responsibility
Federal regulations require that motor carriers must have proof 
of the minimum level of insurance at the company’s principal 
place of business. Proof consists of one of the following:

•	 Form MCS 90 (90B for passenger carriers) – Insurance 
endorsement issued by an insurer. 

•	 Form MCS-82 (82B for passenger carriers) – Surety bond 
issued by a surety. 

•	 Documents authorizing carrier to self-insure. 

Accident Register
Motor carriers must maintain an accident register for three 
years after the date of each accident. The accident register 
must contain at least the following information:

•	 Date and place of accident.
•	 Driver’s name.
•	 Number of injuries and 

fatalities.
•	 Hazardous materials 

(other than fuel) released, 
if any.

•	 Copies of all accident reports 
required by governmental 
entities or insurers. 

Oregon Department of Transportation  •  Motor Carrier Transportation Division
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Driver-Related Safety Records
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Driver Qualification File (CFR Part 391.51)
Every motor carrier must have a qualification file for each driver employed. The file must include:

•	 APPLICATION FOR EMPLOYMENT (CFR Part 391.21, Part 383.35) 
Besides basic driver information as outlined in 391.21, the employment application  
shall include detailed information of all license suspensions, and a 3-year history of  
moving violations, accidents, and employers (10-year employer history for CDL drivers).  
The driver-applicant must sign the application certifying its accuracy. 

•	 INQUIRY TO STATE AGENCIES (CFR Part 391.23) 
Within 30 days of hire, the motor carrier must obtain the driver’s driving record,  
both personal and employment-related, for the preceding three years.  
The inquiry must be made to all states where the driver was licensed. 

•	 ANNUAL REVIEW OF DRIVING RECORD (CFR Part 391.25) 
At least once every 12 months, the motor carrier must obtain and  
review the driver’s driving record, both personal and employment-related. 
 
Note: Convictions, accidents, and suspensions from a driver’s driving record may automatically be 
obtained through the Oregon DMV’s Automated Reporting System (ARS). For information, visit the DMV Web site at: 
www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/records/business.aspx#ars 

•	 ANNUAL DRIVER’S CERTIFICATION OF VIOLATIONS (CFR Part 391.27) 
At least once every 12 months, the motor carrier must require each driver to provide a list  
of all moving violations for the previous 12 months. Drivers who have provided information 
required by 383.31 need not repeat that information in this annual list of violations. 

•	 ROAD TEST (CFR Part 391.31, Part 391.33) 
The driver must successfully complete a road test and be issued a certificate, or provide  
the motor carrier with a copy of the driver’s CDL or previous certificate showing that the  
driver has already completed a road test. However, a copy of the CDL alone is not sufficient  
for any driver required to have a double/triple trailer or tank vehicle endorsement. 

•	 LCV DRIVER CERTIFICATE (CFR Part 380.401) 
The Longer Combination Vehicle driver must successfully complete LCV driver training  
and be issued a Driver-Training Certificate. For more information see LCV Training requirements. 

•	 ENTRY-LEVEL DRIVER CERTIFICATE (CFR Part 380.509, Part 380.511) 
The entry-level driver must successfully complete entry-level driver training and be issued  
a training certificate. For more information see Entry-Level Training requirements. 

•	 MEDICAL EXAMINATION (CFR Part 391.41 - 391.49) 
Every two years drivers must pass a physical exam conducted by a health care professional who 
is listed on the National Registry for Certified Medical Examiners. Proof of the physical exam must 
be kept in the Driver Qualification File. Proof must be a CDLIS printout from 
DMV or a copy of the medical exam certificate. Non-CDL drivers must carry 
the medical examiner’s certificate when they drive. If the driver holds a CDL 
the certificate is mailed to the DMV, and the driver is not required to carry the 
certificate for more than 15 days after the date of the physical. 

 



Driver Record of Duty Status

Every driver shall prepare a 
record of duty status (driver’s 
daily log) in his/her own 
handwriting for each 24-hour 
period, unless operating under 
an exemption.

The driver’s log must be kept 
current to the last change of 
duty status.

The driver must have the 
current day’s log plus the 
previous 7 consecutive days in 
his/her possession.

The driver must turn in the 
original log sheet to the motor 
carrier within 13 days. The logs 
must be kept on file for at least 
6 months. 

Retention periods will be greater 
if the logs are used for other 
purposes such as tax reporting.

Occasional Drivers

A first time or occasional driver 
must give the motor carrier 

a signed 
statement 
showing the 
total hours on 
duty during 
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Driver-Related Safety Records (continued)

Oregon Department of Transportation  •  Motor Carrier Transportation Division

•	 The driver returns to the 
work reporting location and 
is released from work at the 
end of each day. 

•	 The driver completes a time 
card for each day showing: 
The time the driver reports 
for duty, the time the driver 
is released from duty, the 
total hours on duty. 

Note: The start and stop times for 
each time card must show AM or 
PM, or be recorded in military time. 
Each time card must also include 
the driver’s name and date. The 
time cards must be kept on file for 
at least 6 months, but need not be 
in the driver’s possession.

Automatic On-Board 
Recording Devices

Alternatively, motor carriers 
may require a driver to use an 
automatic on-board recording 
device to record the hours of 
service. The driver must still 
have in his/her possession 
the duty status records in 

the last seven days, and the last 
time the driver went off duty.

Short-Haul - 100 Air-Mile 
Radius Drivers

A driver is exempt from 
completing the driver’s daily log 
if all of the following are true:

•	 The driver operates within 
100 air-miles of the normal 
work reporting location.

•	 The driver returns to the 
work reporting location and 
is released from work within 
12 hours.

 
•	 The driver completes a time 

card for each day showing: 
The time the driver reports 
for duty, the time the driver 
is released from duty, the 
total hours on duty. 

 Short-Haul -  
Non-CDL Vehicles

A driver is exempt from 
completing the driver’s 
daily log if all of the 
following are true:

•	 The driver 
operates a 
property-carrying 
CMV not requiring 
a CDL. 

•	 The driver 
operates within 
150 air-miles of 
the normal work 
reporting location. 
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Driver-Related Safety Records (continued)

Oregon Department of Transportation  •  Motor Carrier Transportation Division

paper logs for more than 
8 days within any 30-day 
period.

For more information on 
Electronic Logging Devices 
visit the FMCSA website at:
www.fmcsa.dot.gov/elds

The devices must be registered 
with FMCSA.  To determine 
if an ELD is registered with 
FMCSA, refer to www.fmcsa.
dot.gov/devices. 

There are three exceptions to 
the requirement to use an ELD:

•	 Drivers operating vehicles 
built before model year 
2000 as indicated by 
the power unit VIN may 
continue to use paper logs.

•	 Drivers involved in 
driveaway-towaway 
operations where the 
vehicle being driven is 
part of the shipment being 
delivered may continue to 
use paper logs.

•	 Drivers involved in short 
haul operations (as defined 
in FMCSR 395.1(e)) may 
use paper logs as long as 
they are not required to use 

automated or written form, for 
the previous 7 consecutive 
days. 

All hard copies of the duty 
status records must be signed 
by the driver. Each commercial 
motor vehicle must also have 
an information packet which 
contains: 
(1) An instruction sheet. 
(2) A supply of blank log book 
forms.

Electronic Logging Devices

Beginning December 18, 2017, 
all drivers required to keep a 
log book will be required to use 
an Electronic Logging Device, 
or they may continue to use an 
automatic on-board recording 
device if the automatic on-
board recording device was 
installed prior to December 18, 
2017.

ELDs must meet very specific 
requirements as spelled out in 
FMCSR Part 395, Subpart B. 



Oregon Department of Transportation  •  Motor Carrier Transportation Division

12

Driver Investigation History File
Every motor carrier must have an investigation file for each driver 
that includes the driver’s Safety Performance History. Within 30 
days of hire, the motor carrier must contact the previous employers 
within the past three years to obtain and verify the information 
listed below. Previous employers are required to release the 
information. A written record must be kept of all contact results. 
The file must be considered confidential and only be allowed 
limited access.

•	 DRIVER IDENTIFICATION / EMPLOYMENT VERIFICATION 
(CFR Part 391.23) 
The motor carrier must obtain general employment data about 
the driver, such as name, date of birth, starting and ending 
dates, and job responsibilities. 

•	 ACCIDENT HISTORY (CFR Part 391.23) 
The motor carrier must inquire about all accidents the driver 
was involved in, and obtain all accident information listed in 
CFR Part 390.15(b). 

•	 DRUG/ALCOHOL HISTORY (CFR Part 40.25, Part 391.23) 
The motor carrier must obtain information about whether the 
driver had any drug/alcohol violations and whether the driver 
completed a rehabilitation program. This information must only 
be obtained from employers where the applicant drove CDL-
required vehicles, and must only be made with the driver’s 
written authorization.

The motor carrier must also ask the applicant about all positive 
pre-employment tests or refusals for motor carriers within the last 
two years who did not hire the driver.

Note: Records of positive drug tests may also be obtained from the Oregon DMV, with 
the driver’s written permission. For information, visit the DMV Web site at:
www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/records/business.aspx 

 
Alcohol and Controlled 

Substance Testing
An employer shall maintain 
all records related to the 
controlled substances 
and alcohol program in a 
secure location with limited 
access, made available 
within two business days to 
any authorized government 
personnel. The records shall 
be kept on file based on the 
following retention periods:

•	 Five years: All records 
related to any violations of 
the controlled substances 
or alcohol standards 
described in Subpart B 
(examples: positive test 
results, SAP evaluations) 
and records related to 
the administration of the 
program. 

•	 Two years: Records 
related to the collection 
process. 

•	 One year: Negative and 
canceled test results. 

•	 Indefinite period: Training 
records. 

Driver-Related Safety Records (continued)

LCV Driver-Instructor Qualification File

A motor carrier must have a qualification file for each LCV driver-instructor it 
employs or uses. The file must include proof of the instructor’s qualifications; 
and a copy of the instructor’s CDL with the appropriate endorsement(s). 

Note: For further information on the LCV driver training requirements, see CFR Part 380.101 through 
380.401.
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Portland
Road-Use Tax – 971-673-1511

Safety – 971-673-5909 Eastern Oregon
Road-Use Tax – 
541-922-6268

Salem
Road-Use Tax – 503-378-6658

Safety – 503-378-6963

Springfield
Road-Use Tax – 541-736-2308

Safety – 541-736-2303

Umatilla
Safety – 541-922-2578

Bend
Safety –  

541-388-6171

Ashland
Safety –  

541-774-5997

Farewell Bend
Safety –  

541-869-2909

La Grande
Safety –  

541-963-1389

— Specialists available to help with questions —
Motor Carrier Road Use Tax and Safety Offices
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