Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Contacts Us

Rail Section

​Address ​Hours of Operation ​Contact
ODOT Rail Section
555 13th Street N.E., Suite 3
Salem, Oregon 97301-4179 ​
​8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
​Phone: 503-986-4321 
Fax: 503-986-3183
 
ODOT Rail Section Organizational Chart ​

 

ADDITIONAL SERVICES​ ​PHONE NUMBER
AMTRAK Cascades 800-USA-RAIL
Whistle Noise Reporting​ ​360-696-7536
​Railroad Retirement Board ​877-772-5772
 
Back to Top

Crossing Safety

Highway-Railroad Grade Crossings/Applications
 
The State, through the Department of Transportation’s Rail Section, has exclusive authority over all public crossings.  The Crossing Application form is available in Adobe Acrobat.
 

Name Phone Number Email
SHANKLE, Richard
Unit Manager
503-986-4273 Richard.A.Shankle@odot.state.or.us
BROWN, John
Signal Crossing Compliance
503-986-4097 John.Brown@odot.state.or.us
HUNTER, Zach
Crossing Compliance
503-986-6780 Zachary.Hunter@odot.state.or.us
MANN, Prescott
Crossing Compliance
503-986-4322 Prescott.E.Mann@odot.state.or.us
MARTIN, Carrie
Crossing Compliance
503-986-6801 Carrie.A.Martin@odot.state.or.us
MOHS, Kurt
Crossing Compliance
503-986-3132 Kurt.A.Mohs@odot.state.or.us
SMITH, David
Crossing Compliance
503-986-4095 David.R.Smith@odot.state.or.us
SOVEY, Al
Signal Crossing Compliance
503-986-4272 Alan.Sovey@odot.state.or.us
Back to Top

Operations and Planning

ODOT Rail Section is responsible for freight and passenger rail planning and operations, as well as for representing railroad customers on service issues.  
 
Name Phone Number Email
SNIDER, Stacy
Unit Manager
503-986-5190 Stacy.E.Snider@odot.state.or.us
DENHOF, Joe
Fiscal Coordinator
503-986-4169 Joseph.M.Denhof@odot.state.or.us
GOETTSCH, Roxy
Rail Administrative Support
503-986-4164 Roxanne.Goettsch@odot.state.or.us
GOODMAN, Cary
Rail Program Coordinator
503-986-4230 Cary.Goodman@odot.state.or.us
HOLMES, Kathy
Passenger Rail/ConnectOregon
503-986-5174 Kathy.C.Holmes@odot.state.or.us
JENKINS, Michael
Project Manager
503-986-4414 Michael.L.Jenkins@odot.state.or.us
LEEDHAM, Bryce
Rail & Public Transit Intern
503-986-4267 Bryce.Leedham@odot.state.or.us
MELBO, Bob
State Rail Planner
503-986-4137 Robert.I.Melbo@odot.state.or.us
SELLERS, Jennifer
PNWC Project Manager
503-480-5556 Jennifer.Sellers@odot.state.or.us
Back to Top

Rail Right of Way

ODOT Rail Section manages 150 miles of state-owned railroad right of way along the Astoria Line, which runs from NW Portland to just outside of Astoria, and the Oregon Electric Line, which runs south to Quinaby (North of Keizer). 

Name Phone Number Email
SNIDER, Stacy
Unit Manager
503-986-5190 Stacy.E.Snider@odot.state.or.us
GOODMAN, Cary
Rail Program Coordinator
503-986-4230 Cary.Goodman@odot.state.or.us
Back to Top

Rail Safety

Track Safety, Railroad Equipment Safety, Operating Practices and Hazardous Materials
 
ODOT acts as an agent for the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) by inspecting track, railroad equipment and cars, hazardous materials and operating practices. 

Name Phone Number Email
JOHNSON, John
Unit Manager
503-986-4094 John.R.Johnson@odot.state.or.us
BLAYLOCK, Tim
Track Compliance
503-986-4260 Timothy.Blaylock@odot.state.or.us
HOLM, Steve
Track Compliance
503-986-3258 Steven.L.Holm@odot.state.or.us
HUBBELL, Ray
Hazardous Materials Compliance
503-986-3486 Raymond.K.Hubbell@odot.state.or.us
KELLY, Alon
Operating Practices Specialist
503-986-6802 Henry.A.Kelly@odot.state.or.us>
KUENZI, Chris
Hazardous Materials Compliance​
503-986-3935 Chris.Kuenzi@odot.state.or.us​
MALM, Chris
Operating Practices Specialist
503-986-3547 Christopher.S.Malm@odot.state.or.us
MARSHALL, Austin
Track Compliance
​503-986-5165 Austin.Marshall@odot.state.or.us
RASTATTER, Greg
Rail Safety - MP&E Compliance
503-986-0290 Greg.Rastatter@odot.state.or.us
STANG, Greg
MP&E Compliance
503-986-4393 Gregory.L.Stang@odot.state.or.us
Back to Top

Railroad Employee Safety

Railroad Walkway and Clearance Standards
 
ODOT Rail Section regulates clearances between railroad tracks and structures to ensure the safety of railroad employees. We also inspect tracks, including industrial spurs and sidings for compliance with ODOT regulations.

Name Phone Number Email
SHANKLE, Richard
Unit Manager
503-986-4273 Richard.A.Shankle@odot.state.or.us
GILBERT, Chuck
Compliance Specialist
503-986-3101 Charles.Gilbert@odot.state.or.us
PFAHLER, Robyn
Compliance Specialist
503-986-4310 Robyn.A.Pfahler@odot.state.or.us
Back to Top

Transit Safety Oversight

ODOT has responsibility for state safety oversight of transit agencies with rail-fixed guideway systems. In 2001, the Oregon Legislature expanded the state safety oversight to all rail fixed guideway systems, including street cars and trolleys operated by other government bodies. 

Name Phone Number Email
JOHNSON, John
Unit Manager
503-986-4094 John.R.Johnson@odot.state.or.us
CYRUS, John
Rail Transit Compliance
503-986-5166 John.Cyrus@odot.state.or.us
FERGUSON, Gary
Rail Transit Compliance
503-986-3348 Gary.Fersuson@odot.state.or.us
HORST, Lynda
Rail Transit Compliance
503-986-4096 Lynda.Horst@odot.state.or.us
STOLLE, Bob
Rail Transit Compliance
503-986-3181 Bob.Stolle@odot.state.or.us
Back to Top