SLOW DOWN FOR
SAFETY

Oregon’s traffic laws affect us all — pedestrians®
and drivers alike.

When people are out walking, they are required
to obey crossing signals and markings, but they're
also unprotected and vulnerable. As a driver, you
can prevent a life-changing crash by slowing
down, continually scanning your environment
and being prepared to stop and ready to yield —
no matter who has the right of way.

By being in the habit of looking out for people
walking, you can help assure all Oregonians
get home safe.

3 ORS 814.010, 814.020, 814.040
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SAFETY TiPS:

Never drive distracted. Keep your eyes off your
phone, and be on the lookout for walkers who

may be distracted. They could step into the street
unexpectedly.

Do not pass a vehicle stopped at a crosswalk.
It's illegal, and a sign people may be crossing.

On a multi-lane road, try to stop 30 feet before
the crosswalk. It improves visibility for other drivers
and people walking.

When stopping at an intersection, always
avoid blocking the crosswalk. It forces pedestrians
into dangerous situations.

Be alert for children who may dart into the street.

Be extra aware — especially for children — when
exiting driveways and backing out of parking spaces.

Watch out around restaurants and bars for people
with slowed reaction times or impaired judgement.

Be cautious in low light conditions.

Transportation Safety — ODOT

Share the Road. The Way fo Go.

What you need to know about

OREGON
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LAWS

ﬂc@w'm’dc;ude

5/22/2018 10:55:33 AM



Oregon’s crosswalk laws are designed to give
pedestrians time and space to get safely across
the street. They help us all get where we're
going safely.

CROSSWALK LAWS

- In Oregon’, every intersection
is a crosswalk — whether it's
T 7 marked or not

A .
w‘ « Crosswalks may also exist between

intersections (mid-block), but
only when marked with painted
white lines.

- By law? a pedestrian is in a crosswalk when any part of
the pedestrian moves into the roadway, at a crosswalk,
with the intent to proceed.

- Thatincludes not only the pedestrian’s body, but
also a wheelchair, cane, crutch, bicycle or any other
extension of the person.

- Adriver may be cited and fined more than $250 for
failing to stop for a pedestrian.

1 ORS 801.220
2 ORS Chapter 811
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PEDESTRIANS ARE
VULNERABLE. HELP
KEEP THEM SAFE.

STOP AND
REMAIN STOPPED

At any crosswalk — marked or unmarked — until people

walking have cleared your lane, plus the lane next to you. » On average, a pedestrian is

killed in a traffic crash every two hours,

When turning at a traffic signal, until people crossing and one is injured every seven minutes

have cleared the lane you are turning into and at least six feet . '
of the next lane. « The majority of motor vehicle crashes
: ; involving people walking are caused

In school zones, as directed by crossing quards. by drivers failing to yield to them,
For people who are blind (using a white cane or a

guide dog), until they are completely across the roadway. 7 bR el pend st LS

vehicles are hit in crosswalks.
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When turning at a traffic signal: stop and remain
stopped until pedestrians have cleared the lane you're
turning into, and plus at least 6 feet of the next lane.
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