Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Driver Education Parent-Teen Resource Page

DMV Drive Test Waiver Information

Approved providers issue a course completion card that waives the Class C drive test at DMV for eligible students who are under 18 when they complete the course. The completion card is valid for a test waiver at DMV for two years after issuance. Please check with the driver education provider to see if you are eligible for a completion card that waives the DMV test.
Back to Top

Find an ODOT-Approved Provider

List of ODOT Approved Driver Education Providers


WhyDriveWithEd is an effort to help the parent identify what driver education is and how it has changed, especially within the last 15 years. The information provided in an internet slideshow confronts stereotypes and incorrect assumptions about how novice drivers should learn to drive.
When you see the ODOT-Approved Why Drive With Ed.com seal, you can be confident the driver education provider displaying this seal has met all the stringent criteria to teach driver education courses in the State of Oregon. ODOT-Approved providers deliver courses that are standardized and evaluated by the Oregon Department of Transportation. If your teen completes one of these courses, they may go to the DMV with their driver education certificate of completion and proof of 50 hours of practice time to take their driving test. Teens who do not complete an ODOT-Approved course must show proof of 100 hours of practice time before they can take their drive test.
The goal of the Oregon Driver Education Program is to provide quality training that will result in more confident and safer young drivers. This, in turn, results in fewer crashes and fewer serious injuries and fatalities.
Back to Top

Low Income Subsidy Information

Low/No Income Subsidy Program

Does your school district qualify for Community Eligibility? –
Download the form to submit for the $75.00 additional subsidy

More information about Community Eligibility Provision (CEP)
Back to Top

Oregon DMV Teen Licensing

Oregon DMV has a teen licensing page with a wealth of information about getting a permit/license,  Oregon driving laws, forms and more.  Oregon DMV Teen Licensing 


Back to Top

Forms and Publications

Driver Education Program Forms and Publications

Back to Top