Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

 
 
  • Driver Education Reduces Crashes and Saves Lives
    Motor vehicle crashes are the no.1 cause of death for 15- to 20-year-olds.  Teens who take formal driver training in Oregon have much lower crash rates.  Yet, only about one third of eligible Oregonians sign up for driving classes, saying they don't have the time, money, or easy access to them.  Teens who took an ODOT-approved driver education course have had fewer crashes, traffic convictions and suspensions.
  • DMV Drive Test Waivers
    Approved providers issue a course completion card that waives the Class C drive test at DMV for eligible students who are under 18 when they complete the course. The completion card is valid for a test waiver at DMV for two years after issuance. Please check with the driver education provider to see if you are eligible for a completion card that waives the DMV test.
  • Driver Education Division 15 OARs
    Effective March 1, 2014
    The Oregon Administrative Rules for Division 15 (Driver Education) have been modified to accommodate the new law that was signed into effect in May 2013. The rules affect every provider, instructor, school and potential student in the driver education community. Read the OAR text
  • Continuing Education Course #2 - Experiencing Ten Habits for Zero Crashes

    This course is for licensed or certified driver education classroom teachers and in-car driving instructors who would like to provide teens with crash-reduction EXPERIENCES.  The number one reason cited for teen crashes is "lack of experience".  You will learn how to provide teens with over 600 experiences scientificially structured to cultivate safe habits.

    The Cost for this “3 CEU Credit” course is $150.00 and enrollment is open from March 21 to April 27, 2015.  The course runs from April 27 to July 30, 2015. View the Course Flyer

  • AAA Foundation / TIRF report on the 7 year study of Oregon’s Driver Education Program


    “This just in!  The AAA Foundation / TIRF report on the 7 year study of Oregon’s driver education program has been released.  Highlights?  How about that Driver educated teens have 4.3% fewer crashes and 39% fewer convictions than Oregon teens who don’t take driver education!!”