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LC518 – A Legislative Concept to Get Excited 
About 
 

William A. Warner, Driver Education Program Manager 
ODOT Transportation Safety Division 

 
I want you all to meet Driver Education’s new friend, Legislative Concept number 518!  This concept 
is, in fact, quite remarkable, given its performance at such a young age.  Just a few short months 
ago, ODOT’s Transportation Safety Division began to discuss and develop a plan for moving 
Oregon forward in its requirements for mandatory driver education before teen licensure. 
 
Early in the discussion, we were planning on moving the concept forward into a placeholder; a 
position in the economy of the legislature that would allow it to begin a maturation process, a usual 
“first step” in trying to get the idea moving forward towards statute or rule.  The idea was presented 
to both the Oregon Transportation Safety Committee (OTSC) and Oregon Transportation 

Commission (OTC).  With the ODOT Director, the TSD Administrator, the OTSC and the OTC behind this idea, the legislative office began 
asking for input from us.  It was easy to get caught up in the excitement of researching statistics and looking at trends while we put together our 
problem statements and proposed different options for implementation.  For several days, the Driver Education team was literally “crazy-busy” 
while we came up with ideas to support the concept. 
 
What came next literally shocked all of us.  The concept of mandatory driver education before teen licensure fell into a track where everyone 
seemed to accept it as necessary for such a time as this.  We were told that a “placeholder” was no longer an option and we were to go forward 
with the concept, meet with the legislative counsel, and have it on the Governor’s desk a.s.a.p.   And that is exactly where our concept is right 
now! 
 
Here is LC518 in its most abbreviated form: 
 
If a person is a resident of Clackamas, Multnomah or Washington County (the Tri-county area of Greater Portland) the ability to 
complete 100 hours with a permit to obtain a license is removed.  The only way for licensure under age 18 in those three counties is to 
complete 50 hours of practice with a licensed driver AND completes an approved Driver Education course.  Outside of those three 
counties, nothing is changed. 
 
This provision is to allow a gradual implementation of mandatory driver education rather than a full “statewide” implementation, which would, at 
the current levels of growth in the Student Driver Training Fund, exhaust the fund in a matter of years.   We are being very careful not to have 
mandatory driver education at the cost of reimbursement to our valued providers! 
 

Story continued on page 2 
 

Ins ide  Th is  Issue… 

1 LC518 - A Legislative Concept to Get Excited About 

2  The DEAC Welcomes Ruth Ann Meize 

2  New Instructor Training Opportunities 

2  Compliance Corner 

3  Changes to SDES and Reimbursement Form 

4  Cool Links 

4 Upcoming Events Calendar 



Driver Education Program Newsletter 2

LC518 - continued 
 
We have lots of work to do as the both our current Governor and the incoming Governor have their say on our concept.  The biggest event we 
are planning is a “town hall” type meeting in the Portland area to which all providers will be invited.  This is to include all DMV licensed providers 
as well as the current “ODOT Approved” providers.  The potential for economic growth to all concerned cannot be ignored as we look at this 
important concept for the future of our teens. 
 
Check the website and expect a letter if you provide Driver Education in the Tri-County area for information about the gathering so that you may 
be as involved as possible, and help us take Oregon Driver Education to the next level!  
 

The Driver Education Advisory Committee Welcomes Ruth Ann Meize 

Ruth Ann Meize is the newest member of the Driver Education Advisory Committee (DEAC).  She 
has been a teacher at Lakeview High School, population 235, for the past five years. Ruth 
teaches English 9, Government, and Personal Finance (mostly!).  She has been teaching driver 
education at the high school for three years with about 25 students going though in those three 
years.  Ruth says she first became interested when the former driver education teacher was retiring 
and the school district needed someone to fill his shoes.  She volunteered for the job and has really 
enjoyed working with the students. Ruth says, “I wish more students would take the course and I 
say this because as I walk through the student parking lot I find myself doing a lot of praying!  
However, we are a small community where the students are very involved, so sometimes there are 
just not enough hours in the day to do everything”.  And finally two more details, Ruth has 
been married for 2 years and has a beautiful baby daughter, Maggie, who is 4 months old and 
rapidly becoming the entertainment factor in the Meize household.  

An Invitation to Develop an On-Line Instructor Training Course 
Do you have an idea for an instructor on-line training opportunity? We are aware of at least three providers who are developing on-line training 
courses, with the goal of obtaining ODOT-TSD approval for continuing education.  The first to offer this kind of training is Chemeketa Community 
College with their August 16th - 30th, 8-hour course.  
 
If you are interested in developing an on-line driver education course, be aware that, while approved by ODOT-TSD, all program and 
management decisions belong to you. Registration, response to registrant questions, and providing completion certificates will all be the 
responsibility of the continuing education provider. 
 
Reference Oregon Administrative Rule 737-015-0070(6)(a), for criteria.  
 

Compliance Corner   
By Mary DeFerrari 
 
It’s the time of year we gear up to write reimbursement checks! Last year, a few of you found your check delayed 
because of pending compliance issues. If it has been more than 30 days since your inspection, and you have 
not responded adequately to each item noted on your compliance report, you may find yourself in the same 
boat. 
 
Keep in mind that a mentor may have a simple solution to a problem you see as unsolvable. Contact Western 
Oregon University to schedule a free mentor visit.  
 

Keep in mind these tips when responding to deficiencies: 
 

 Respond, in writing, to each ACTION item noted on your report.  
 Tell us what you did to correct each deficiency.  
 Send us proof when it makes sense to do so. If your instructor did not have a current DMV driving record at the time of inspection, 

don’t simply tell us you ordered the driving record. Send us a copy of the driving record itself.  
 Assure us that things will be different from now on! For example, “We have adopted an instructor tracking form to assure the 

driving record will be ordered annually for each of our instructors”.    
 
If you are unsure how to respond to your deficiencies, contact me and we can review your compliance report together.  
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Changes to SDES Database and Reimbursement Request Form 
Driver Education Coordinators may have noticed recently that some of the fields have been added and changed within the Student Data Entry 
System (SDES) database.  The system now asks for each student’s home address zip code.  Also, the pass / fail fields have been changed to 
indicate the student has completed the entire course or that the student is in incomplete status (I or C).  A course start date is now required 
along with the course completion date.    
 
Another change coordinators will be seeing in the 2010-2011 school year is an expanded Reimbursement Request form.  The new form now 
has a second page financial schedule to more easily account for non-tuition income such as late fees and other miscellaneous income.  There is 
also room to include multiple tuition rates.  The form, including the new schedule, is fillable just like the previous version and the information in 
the Grand Total box will automatically populate Line 9 on the front page of the form.  These forms will be available soon on the TSD Driver 
Education Program webpage at:  http://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TS/de.shtml under the Driver Ed Reimbursement header.  
 

 
 
  

    

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 

 
C h e m e k e t a  C o m m u n i t y  C o l l e g e  O f f e r s  O n - L i n e   
C o n t i n u i n g  E d u c a t i o n  C o u r s e  f o r  I n s t r u c t o r s   

 
Do you need more continuing education hours? Chemeketa Community College is now offering an online course that will count 
toward 8 hours of continuing education for the ODOT instructor requirements. The topics that will be explored in the class are: 
"Improving Parent Involvement", "Decreasing Distractions", "Modules 1 & 2 enrichment activities", and "Modules 3 & 4 enrichment 
activities". The class begins August 16th and ends August 30th, price is $75.  To register by phone call Chemeketa directly at    
503-584-7541 if you have any questions.  Credit card payment information can be taken by phone. 
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Help us 
spread the 
word… 

 
Cool Links        
 

Have a question or would like to sign up for continuing education courses?  Check out the opportunities on Western 
Oregon University’s Division of Extended Programs webpage. 
http://www.wou.edu/provost/extprogram/trafficsafetyeducation.php 
 
OTSEA is an organization that supports the driver education objectives and strategies as outlined in the Oregon 
Administrative Rule.  http://www.otsea.org/ 

 
ADTSEA - The American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association is the professional association which represents traffic safety 
educators throughout the United States and abroad.  http://www.adtsea.org/adtsea/ 
 
NHTSA - The National Highway Transportation Safety Administration is the national organization which focuses on all aspects of roadway 
transportation safety.  http://www.nhtsa.org/ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

OTSEA Looking for “Teacher of Excellence” Nominations 
 
Do you know a teacher who is worthy of recognition?  Consider nominating someone for the Teacher of Excellence Award.  Look for the 
nomination form coming soon on the OTSEA website http://www.otsea.org/.  When filling out the form, please explain why he/she is deserving of 
the honor.  The winner will be announced at the upcoming Fall OTSEA Conference on October 2nd.  The nomination deadline is Friday, 
September 17th. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

      Do you know an instructor who does not use email? Please share a copy of this newsletter! And, share              
       conference notices when you receive them! 

 
        Do you have a question you would like to have answered?  We will begin a new Q & A column in the next  
           newsletter and are looking for questions from our colleagues.     
 
        Submit your questions or suggestions for things you would like to see in future issues of this         
             newsletter via e-mail to william.a.warner@odot.state.or.us or shari.c.davis@odot.state.or.us. 

C a l e n d a r  o f  U p c o m i n g  E v e n t s  a n d  O p p o r t u n i t i e s  
 

Chemeketa Community College On-Line Continuing Education Course    August 16 - 30, 2010 
OTSEA Fall Conference, Salem, OR    October 1-2, 2010 
Oregon Transportation Safety Conference, Salem, OR October 12-14, 2010 
National Teen Driver Safety Week    October 17–23, 2010 
 

Mark Your Calendars for the 2010 
 

 
Fall Conference 

 

Chemeketa Community College 
Winema Conference Center 

Salem, Oregon 
October 1-2, 2010 

 

*With Special Keynote Speaker/Comedian Leigh Anne Jasheway 


