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SECTION 1: ELIGIBILITY, ENROLLMENT AND DATES OF
COVERAGE

Eligible Employees

An eligible employee means an employee of a PEBB participating organization, and state
officials in an exempt, unclassified, classified, or management position, who are expected to
work at least 90 continual calendar days and work at least half time or in a position classified
as job share. The term active eligible employee can apply to a permanent employee
appointed to a benéefit eligible position or a temporary or impermanent worker who becomes
benefit eligible due to work expectations or becomes benefit eligible following an initial
measurement period.

Employers of eligible employees are:

» Oregon state government agencies
» Oregon’s seven public universities
* Local Governments
+ Semi-independent state agencies
Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs) determine application of eligibility for PEBB benefits.

The rules are available on the Secretary of State’s website, which are linked from PEBB’s webpage:
www.pebbinfo.com Refer to Chapter 101, Divisions 10, 15, 20, 30, 50, 60 and 70.

Employer Shared Responsibility in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care
Act (ACA)

This section applies to employees paid through the Oregon State Payroll System (OSPS). If
you are paid through another system (e.g., University, Lottery), contact your employer’s
benefits office for ACA shared responsibility policy and definitions.

The following ACA employer shared responsibility definitions apply to all OSPS employees.

+ Initial Measurement Period means the 12 consecutive month period starting with the first
day of the employee’s employment.

» Hours of Service means each hour for which an employee is paid or entitled to payment for
duties performed for the state. Hours of service also include each hour for which an
employee is paid or entitled to payment for a period of time during which no duties are
performed due to vacation, holiday, iliness, incapacity, being on call, or military duty Note
that three types of special unpaid leave also count as hours of service: OFLA/FMLA leave,
USERRA leave, and jury duty leave.

*  New Employee means an employee who has not been employed in state service for at least
one complete Standard Measurement Period.
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+ Ongoing Employee means an employee who has been employed in state service for a least
one complete Standard Measurement Period.

« Stability Period means the 12 consecutive month period after any Standard or Initial
Measurement Period and Administrative Period during which employees are entitled to keep
coverage, no matter what their hours of service are.

« Standard Measurement period for the OSPS employee means a 12 consecutive month
period starting November 1 and ending October 31.

» Variable Hour Employee means a New Employee if, based on the facts and circumstances
at the New Employee’s start date, the agency cannot determine whether the employee is
reasonably expected to be employed on average at least 30 hours of service per week
during the initial measurement period.

« An initial measurement period applies to all new employees to state employment,
regardless if their appointment is to a permanent position or temporary position. During the
initial measurement period and until meeting the requirements of a stability period, benefit
eligible employees must be in regular paid status a minimum of 80 hours each month to
earn benefits for the following month.

Note: PEBB’s employee benefits are in whole month increments.

Stability period:
« To reach a stability period an employee must have recorded 1,560 hours of service,
accrued during the initial or each standard measurement period.
» If an employee’s measurement period does not meet the hours-of-service requirement the
employee does not enter a stability period. A measurement period starts over.

An employee who terminates state employment during a current stability period, and returns to
work as either a permanent or temporary employee:

* Inless than 13 weeks remains in the current stability period.
+ After a break of service for 13 weeks or longer, is no longer in a stability period and an initial
measurement period from the new date of hire starts.

Eligible Full-time Permanent Position Employees (Includes Limited Duration
Employees)

The employer and employee each provide a share of the monthly premium amount for the core
benefits of medical (includes prescription drug) vision, dental, and basic life insurance
coverage for full-time employees. The employee share is determined by the employing agency
or collective bargaining agreements. Employees should check with their HR, payroll or benefits
office for the share of premium that is their responsibility. PEBB is not the source for this
information.

Current full-time permanent employees (as classified by the Human Resources system) who
are not in a current “stability period” must work or be in paid regular status at least half time
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during the preceding month to be eligible for benefits the next month. Half time means employed
and:

* Work or receive 80 paid regular hours per month; or

* 0.5 FTE for Oregon University employees; or

» 80 paid regular hours per month and in a documented 0.5 FTE position for the Oregon
Judicial Department; or

+ Fits the definition in an applicable collective bargaining agreement.

Employees in a current benefit eligible “stability period” are not required to work 80 hours
each month to remain benefit eligible the following month.

New permanent position full-time employees are not required to work at least half time in
the month they are hired to be eligible for benefits the next month, but they will need to meet
this requirement in following months.

Benefit Options for Full-time Employees

Core Benefits — Core benefits are:

» All available full-time medical plans, and dental plans according to where you live or work
(at least 50 percent of the time) and a vision plan. You must be enrolled in a choice of
medical plan (which includes Opt-Out) to enroll in dental or vision coverage.

« Basic employee life insurance coverage of $10,000.

Note: Employees choosing core benefits may also enroll in all available optional benefit

plans, for which they pay the premiums.
Opt-Out — Opting out is a choice of medical plans. Employees may opt out of PEBB
medical coverage if they have other employer group coverage (which does not include for
Oregon Health Plan/Medicaid, Student Health Insurance, and individual health insurance). All
employees who opt-out will receive a monthly taxable opt-out amount determined by the
Board. All employees who opt-out must pay a share of the premium for employee basic life
coverage. Employees who choose to opt-out of PEBB medical coverage may enroll in vision
and dental coverage. The employee cost of basic life premiums, and enrolled dental or vision
coverage is deducted pretax. Employees who opt-out may enroll in optional benefit plans, for
which they pay the full premium amount. Opt-Out money is not paid during a leave without
pay.
Decline — Employees may decline core benefits. If they decline core benefits, they choose not
to participate in the PEBB program. They will not receive a portion of the employer’s premium
share and they cannot enroll in any of the optional benefit plans.

Eligible Permanent Position Part-time Employees
(Includes Limited Duration and Job Share positions)

Permanent position part-time employees (as classified by the Human Resources system) who are
not in a current “stability period” must work or be in paid regular status at least half time during the

9|Page



State of Oregon
Public Employees’ Benefit Board Summary Plan Description

preceding month to be eligible for benefits the next month. Half time means the individual is
employed and:

* Works or receives 80 paid regular hours per month or is in a job share position; or
Is 0.5 FTE for unclassified Oregon University employees; or

» Works or receives 80 paid regular hours per month and is in a 0.5 FTE position for the
Oregon Judicial Department: or

Fits the definition in an applicable collective bargaining agreement.

NOTE: For job share positions only: Employees in a job share position need only work one
hour in the preceding month to be eligible for benefits the following month.

Employees in a current benefit eligible “stability period” are not required to work 80 hours
each month to remain benefit eligible the following month.

New permanent position part-time employees are not required to work at least half time in

the month they are hired to be eligible for benefits the next month, but they will need to meet

this requirement in following months.

The monthly employer share of premium for core benefits for most eligible part-time
employees is pro-rated based on hours worked in the month when compared with the month’s
available full-time hours less the employee’s premium share. Employees should check with

their payroll for premium share they are responsible to pay. PEBB is not a source for that
information.

For job-share employees, the amount is fixed by their share of the position.

Part-time employees must pay the difference between the employer share and the plan total
premium amount. They may choose to purchase either part-time or full-time medical and
dental plan coverage. Coverage is effective at the beginning of each month. Part-time
employees who choose a part-time plan will receive a premium subsidy, when available.

Benefit Options for Part-time Employees
Core Benefits - Core benefits are:
« All full time medical and dental plans available according to where you live or work (at least
50 percent of the time)
« All medical and dental plans labeled “part time” plans, according to where you live or work
(at least 50 percent of the time)
» Vision coverage

* You must be enrolled in a choice of medical plan (which includes Opt-Out) to enroll in
dental or vision coverage
« Basic employee life insurance coverage of $10,000
Note: Employees who enroll in core benefits may also enroll in all available optional
benefit plans, for which they pay the premiums
Opt-out — Opting out is a choice of medical plans. Employees may opt-out of PEBB
medical coverage if they have other coverage (which does not include for Oregon Health
Plan/Medicaid, Student Health Insurance, and individual health insurance). All employees
who opt-out will receive a monthly taxable opt-out amount determined by the Board and

10| Page



State of Oregon
Public Employees’ Benefit Board Summary Plan Description

prorated for part-time employees according to hours worked when compared with full-time
hours in the month. All employees who opt out must pay a share of the premium for
employee basic life coverage. Employees who choose to opt out of PEBB medical coverage
can enroll in vision and dental coverage. The employee cost of basic life premium, and
enrolled dental or vision coverage is deducted pretax. Employees who opt out may enroll in
optional benefit plans, for which they pay the full premium amount. Opt-out money is not paid
during a leave without pay.

Decline — Employees may decline core benefits. If they decline core benefits, they choose
not to participate in the PEBB program. They will not receive a portion of the employer’s
premium share and they cannot enroll in any of the optional benefit plans.

New Permanent Seasonal Employees
(Full-time, Part-time, Job Share)

Seasonal employees may receive PEBB benéefits if the employer expects them to work at least
90 consecutive days in full-time, half time, or job-share status.

See full-time employee and part-time employee descriptions regarding employer and employee
premium share.

Seasonal employees expected to work fewer than 90 days are not eligible for PEBB
benefits. If the agency extends the length of the seasonal position to 90 days or longer, the
employee is eligible for retroactive enroliment in benefits effective 30 days from the date of hire.

Benefit Options for Seasonal Employees

* Full-time seasonal employees: Full-time seasonal employees may enroll in any of the
benefit plans as stated under Eligible Permanent Full-time Employees, with the
exception that seasonal employees may not enroll in short term or long-term disability
insurance.

+ Part-time seasonal employees: Part-time seasonal employees may enroll in any of the
benefit plans as stated under Eligible Permanent Part-time Employees, with the
exception that seasonal employees may not enroll in short term or long-term disability
insurance.

Returning Permanent Seasonal Employees
Previously benefit-eligible employees returning to work:

Seasonal employees who had PEBB benefits before starting leave and who return to
work within 12 months will have most benefits reinstated the first of the month following their
return-to-work date. Reinstatement means to reactivate all previous enroliments in medical,
dental, and life insurance plans, if available, on a guaranteed basis when the employee is
returning from an approved leave or a termination of employment within 12 months of the
coverage end date. Employees have 30 days from the date of their return to change reinstated
benefits. Employees returning within 30 days without a break in coverage will have their
previous coverage reinstated but cannot make benefit plan changes.
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Plans that are exceptions to reinstatement are flexible spending accounts (FSAs), commuter
fringe benefit accounts and the long-term care plan. Returning seasonal employees must re-
enroll if they want these plans.

Returning reinstated seasonal benefit eligible employees do not need to work more than 80
hours in the return month to be eligible for benefits the following month. However, if they are
not in a current benefit eligible stability period, they must work at least half time each month
after that to qualify for benefits the following month.

Previously ineligible seasonal employee returning to work:

Seasonal employees returning to work who were previously not eligible for benefits will
be benefit eligible once they accrue 60 calendar days of employment between the
current year and the previous plan year. The 60 days do not need to be consecutive.
The employee has 30 days from the date of eligibility to enroll in PEBB benefits.

Temporary, Impermanent or Variable Hour Employees

With the passage of ACA, employees hired on a temporary, impermanent, or variable hour status
may become eligible for employee health benefits offered through the PEBB. Each employee’s
employment varies; for that reason, employees should contact their agency Human Resources
office for additional information regarding eligibility and enrollment for PEBB benefits.

When benefit eligible:

» Employees can enroll in any of the benefit plans as stated under Eligible Permanent Full-
time Employees, with the exception of short term or long-term disability insurance.

+ See the full-time employee descriptions regarding employer and employee premium share
contributions.

Eligibility when on extended leave

The type of leave employees takes — family medical leave, active duty military leave, job-related-
injury leave, etc. — and whether it is a paid or unpaid leave may affect eligibility and benefits.
Contact your agency payroll, human resources, or benefits office to discuss these issues prior to
taking the leave. This applies to all active benefit eligible employees.

Active Employees and Medicare Eligibility

An active employee, spouse, or domestic partner of an active employee, who gains Medicare
eligibility remains eligible for active employee PEBB medical plan coverage. PEBB medical
plans will generally continue to pay claims as primary, and Medicare will pay claims as
secondary coverage. Medicare provides a booklet entitled “Who Pays First.” Employee’s and
family members may find this publication helpful. The booklet can be found here:
http://www.medicare.gov

You may also find additional information regarding Medicare helpful on the Oregon Shiba site
at: http://healthcare.oregon.gov/shiba/Documents/or-medicare-guide.pdf
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Eligible Retirees

Active employees and eligible dependents enrolled in PEBB immediately prior to the active
enrollee’s retirement may continue in PEBB medical, dental and vision plans if they are not eligible
for Medicare (due to age or disability) and meet eligibility for retiree coverage.

Note: Employees who enroll in retiree PEBB benefits must self-pay the premiums to the retiree
program administrator; the state does not provide a benefit amount and does not administer
premium payments.

Medical, dental and vision options
As a PEBB retiree, you may choose from all available medical, dental and vision plans,
including plans labeled “Part time,” available in your service area. You may change medical,
dental or vision plans when you enroll as PEBB retiree. You and your eligible dependents (if
you and your dependents are not Medicare eligible) may choose medical only, dental only,
vision only or medical and dental coverage or medical and vision coverage; however, when
you choose only dental or vision coverage you cannot add medical coverage at a later time,
and vice versa.
Eligibility
To be eligible for PEBB retiree coverage, you must be:

 Eligible to receive a retirement benefit through a State of Oregon retirement system, and

» Enrolled in a PEBB medical (includes Opt-Out) dental plan or vision plan, and

* Non-Medicare eligible due to age or disability
You may also cover your:

* Non-Medicare eligible (due to age or disability) spouse or domestic partner and/or

dependent children who is covered on your plans at the time of retirement

If you are unable to enroll to cover yourself in a retiree plan because you are Medicare eligible
due to age or disability, but you meet all the other criteria, you may enroll your spouse,
domestic partner, and dependent children if they meet eligibility criteria.

How to enroll as a PEBB Retiree

Benefit Help Solutions (BHS) is PEBB’s third-party administrator for retiree plans. Complete and
submit to BHS the PEBB Eligible Retiree & Dependents enrollment form. This can be obtained by
contacting BHS and requesting the form.

When to enroll as a PEBB Retiree

PEBB coverage must be continuous. You must enroll for medical, dental and vision
benefits within 30 days of when your active PEBB coverage ends. Contact your
employing agency for the date your active PEBB coverage will end. The enroliment deadline is
30 days from that date. If you enroll and pay premiums during this 30-day window, coverage is
retroactive to the date your PEBB employee coverage ended.

Exceptions:

» If you have coverage under a spouse or partner’s active PEBB plan, you may enroll in the
PEBB retiree plan later if you lose the current coverage.
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» If you choose COBRA continuation coverage, you may transfer to the retiree group
anytime during or at the end of the COBRA period.

Changing Plans

You may make plan changes only during the Plan Change Period. The Board sets the Plan
Change Period for retirees; it generally coincides with Open Enrollment for active employees.

» The Plan Change Period allows you the opportunity to change plans. The Plan Change
Period does not allow you to add coverage you did not already have. For example, if
you chose not to enroll in medical coverage when you retired, you may not enroll in
medical coverage during subsequent Plan Change Periods.

« During the plan year, you may not change plan choices related to your
participation in the PEBB benefits program, unless you experience a qualified
midyear plan change event. You must request the plan change within 30 days of
the event.

Effective dates

PEBB retiree coverage must be effective immediately following the transition from PEBB employee
coverage or COBRA coverage.

Coverage Duration
Coverage continues as long as:

* You are not eligible for Medicare due to age or disability (except those with end-stage
renal disease).

» Coverage for eligible family members can continue even if you are not eligible
* You pay premiums timely
» PEBB continues to offer retiree coverage

Continuing life and long-term care insurance after retirement

The Standard Insurance Company guarantees your acceptance without submitting evidence of
insurability if you enroll in a conversion coverage or the PEBB retiree life insurance portability
coverage within 30 days from the date of your retirement. Please contact The Standard
Insurance Company (https://www.standard.com/mybenefits/pebb/ ) for more information about
this option.

If you have long term care insurance, you must convert the policy to an individual plan to
continue the coverage. Contact UNUM (http://unuminfo.com/pebb/enrollment.aspx ) for more
information about this option.

Continuation of other optional benefits

You cannot continue PEBB dependent life, spouse or domestic partner life, disability, or accidental
death and dismemberment insurance. This coverage ends upon your retirement.

Retirees Returning to Active Employee Status
Retirees returning to work in a permanent benefit-eligible position are eligible for PEBB benefits.
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A retiree returning within 12 months from the date of their loss of active employee PEBB
coverage, will have benefits reinstated and will not need to work half time in the month of return to
be eligible for benefits the following month.

* Arretiree returning to work who is not within a current stability period upon return, must
work at least half time each month after the month of return to qualify for benefits the
following month, a new initial measurement period starts from date of hire.

» Aretiree returning to work with less than a 13 week break in service and within their
current stability period remains in the stability period. Benefits are reinstated the first of
the month following the return-to-work month.

Reinstatement means to reactivate all previous medical, dental, vision, life and disability insurance
policies, if available, on a guaranteed basis. Employees will have 30 days from the date of return to
work to change reinstatement elections. Approved changes are effective the first of the month
following receipt of the forms by the agency. An employee returning to paid regular status within 30
days without a break in coverage will have their previous coverage reinstated and may not make
benefit plan changes.

Retirees who return beyond 12 months from their retirement date must enroll in any benefits as a
newly eligible employee. If enrolled in PEBB retiree coverage, they may suspend the retiree
coverage by notifying the third-party administrator, Benefit Help Solutions. When they are no
longer an active employee and remain eligible for the retiree plan, they may restart the retiree
coverage with BHS. This is necessary to maintain continuous PEBB coverage and eligibility.

NOTE: Special conditions apply to The Standard life insurance coverage if you converted or
ported coverage you had as an employee. Contact The Standard and your payroll office to
ensure your life insurance information is correct.

Retirees returning to work as a Temporary Employee should contact their agency Human
Resource Office or Payroll office for benefit eligibility information.

COBRA Participants

Former PEBB members may continue their coverage in PEBB healthcare plans through the
Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA).

COBRA gives employees along with their spouses, domestic partners, dependents, and
domestic partner’'s dependents a chance to continue coverage under an employer’s group
health plan. Participants must experience a “triggering event” for COBRA to apply. You must
self-pay the premiums for this benefit coverage; the state does not provide a benefit amount.

See Section 6 for more information regarding your COBRA rights and qualifying events.

BenefitHelp Solutions (BHS) administers the COBRA program for PEBB. For more information,
contact BHS at 888-387-5440 or visit their website at:
https://www.benefithelpsolutions.com/members/group-members/pebb

Other Self-pay Participants
The following individuals may participate in PEBB:
+ Blind Business Enterprise agents

15| Page


https://www.benefithelpsolutions.com/members/group-members/pebb

State of Oregon
Public Employees’ Benefit Board Summary Plan Description

» State-certified foster parents

» Oregon Liquor Control Commission agents

« Oregon State University and University of Oregon post doctorates and J1 Visa recipients
» Nurses who teach or work less than half-time for a PEBB participating organization

These self-pay participants may enroll only in the PEBB medical, dental, and vision plans that
are available to full-time state employees. The part-time plans are not an option. Blind Business
Enterprise agents may enroll in a medical plan only. If allowed to enroll in dental and vision, the
individual must have a medical plan enroliment. They may also enroll their spouse or domestic
partner and eligible dependents for coverage.

Self-pay participants do not receive a monthly benefit amount. Participants self-pay all
premium costs. BenefitHelp Solutions (BHS) administers the Self-pay Participant program.
To enroll, contact BHS at 888-387-5440;
https://www.benefithelpsolutions.com/members/group-members/pebb

Individuals Eligible for Coverage
Employees may enroll the following individuals for coverage:
» Spouse or domestic partner (an ex-spouse or former domestic partner is not eligible for
coverage)
+ Dependent children
« Domestic partner’s children

For full definitions of eligibility please access information at:
www.pebbinfo.com and click on Administrative Rules.

Spouse

A spouse means an individual who is legally married. A marriage or relationship recognized as
a legal marriage between two individuals in Oregon, or another state or foreign country, will be
recognized in Oregon even though such a relationship would not be a marriage if the same
facts had been relied upon to create the marriage in Oregon. Spouse does not include a
former spouse and a former spouse does not qualify as a dependent.

Dependent Children

Following is a summary of PEBB’s dependent child coverage eligibility. If you are in doubt if a
person in your family qualifies as a dependent child, contact your university, agency or PEBB.
An eligible dependent child must be an eligible employee’s, spouses, or domestic partner’s:

« Son, daughter, stepson, stepdaughter, or adopted child who has not reached age 26. The
exception is a child who meets all the requirements of a child with a disability as stated
under Disabled Dependent Children. Marital status, tax dependency, or residency does not
affect this eligibility; or

» A biological child of an eligible dependent child of an eligible employee, spouse, or domestic
partner (a Grandchild by Affidavit) and meets all the following criteria:
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1. The child’s parent will not be older than age 26, is unmarried and without a domestic
partner.

2. Both the child’s parent and the child live in the household of the eligible employee,
and both the child and grandchild are the eligible employee’s IRS dependent and
must claim both child and grandchild on their most recent years tax return.

The child’s parent has PEBB health coverage through the eligible employee.

4. An eligible employee may not add a grandchild age 18 or older to their PEBB
coverage unless they can provide court ordered documentation for responsibility of
the child beyond the age of 18.

NOTE: Once the eligible child is no longer eligible (i.e., turns age 26), then the grandchild

is no longer eligible to remain on coverage.

+ A Child by Affidavit (Child by Affidavit of Dependency) which includes but is not limited to a
foster child, grandchild, child placed for adoption, or court ordered placement of a child and
meets all the following criteria:

1. The child lives in the household of the eligible employee and is the eligible
employee’s IRS dependent.

2. The employee must provide court ordered documentation of guardianship and the
notarized Affidavit of Child Dependency upon enrollment. Coverage ends the last day
of the month in which the court ordered guardianship ends or age 18, whichever
comes first.

3. An eligible employee may not add a child by affidavit age 18 or older to PEBB
coverage unless they can provide court ordered documentation for responsibility of
the child beyond the age of 18.

In the event where a spouse or domestic partner passes away, the dependents (i.e., child of
domestic partner, stepchild, grandchild) may continue PEBB health plan coverage provided they
are currently enrolled, and eligibility is still being met. For biological, stepchildren or children of
domestic partners, coverage ends the last day of the month in which they turn 26. For Child by
Affidavit of Dependency, coverage ends the last day of the month in which the court ordered
guardianship ends, or age 18. For Grandchild by Affidavit, eligibly ends when the grandchild no
longer meets the definition of Grandchild by Affidavit.

w

When are Special Forms and Documentation Required for Children?

An employee must complete and submit the correct PEBB enrollment forms, notarized affidavit,
and any required legal documents to provide coverage or the child’s coverage will not take effect
for the following children:

+ A foster child

» A child placed for adoption, an affidavit and court documents for the placement or

guardianship are required.

+ A ward of the court

* A child under legal guardianship or other court order

+ For some eligible grandchildren

« Disabled Children over the age of 26
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End of coverage: Coverage for a child ends the last day of the month in which the child turns
26. In some cases, such as for foster children or wards of the court, coverage may end the last
day of the month of legal responsibility or 18, whichever comes first.

Example: Jack’s foster child Joe is receiving PEBB coverage. Jack’s legal documentation
used at the time of Joe’s enrollment stated that Jack will no longer be responsible for Joe when
Joe turns 18. Joe’s birth date is November 11. If there is no change to the legal responsibility
or the documented responsibility end date, Joe’'s PEBB coverage will terminate November 30
the year he turns 18.

Disabled Dependent Children

There is no age limit for medical plan coverage for a dependent child who is incapable of self-
sustaining employment because of a developmental disability, mental iliness, or physical
disability. All the criteria in this section must be met for the child to remain eligible.

When an employee requests to enroll a disabled child over the age of 26 or establish the disability
for a dependent already covered under a PEBB medical plan:

* The employee must submit to PEBB an appeal and enroliment form to enroll a disabled
child age 26 or older. The employee must also provide evidence to PEBB that the child
has had continuous health plan coverage, group or individual, prior to attaining age 26
and the coverage remains in effect.

» The other medical coverage must continue until the employee’s PEBB medical plan
approves the child’s health status as disabled and other eligibility is met, and the PEBB
plan is effective.

+ The employee must complete the Affidavit of Disabled Dependent (MSC 5570) and return
it to PEBB. This form verifies that the child is the employee’s or spouse’s qualifying IRS
tax dependent and is claimed on the eligible employees’ most recent years tax
return, the child files their own tax return and demonstrates that their adjusted
gross income does not exceed 150% of the federal poverty level (FPL), or the
employee is the legal guardian of the disabled child. Note: Imputed taxes may apply,
per IRC provisions, when an employee enrolls and covers dependents on their PEBB
coverage that are not claimed on their federal taxes, and thus are not tax dependents.

» The child’s attending physician must submit to the employee’s health plan verification and
documentation of the child’s disability.

» The physician must verify to the health plan that:

1. The disability existed before the child attained age 26, and;

2. The child is incapable of self-sustaining employment because of a developmental
disability, mental iliness, or physical disability.

Note: The child must be unable to engage in substantial gainful activity because of a

medically determinable physical or mental impairment that can be expected to result in

death or that has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than

12 months.

» The health plan provides a medical review of the physician’s documentation and will notify
PEBB of the plan’s disability determination.

« If the child has not had continuous coverage, the child is not eligible for PEBB coverage.
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PEBB will notify the subscriber of the child’s medical determination and request verification for
eligibility, if both medical and eligibility are met, PEBB will notify the subscriber of the effective
date.

When a disabled child is receiving coverage beyond the age of 26, the employee’s health plan
may review the health status at any time to determine if the child continues to meet the criteria
for coverage. PEBB will require verification of eligibility with each recertification by the medical
plan.

If a disabled dependent child’s PEBB coverage terminates for any reason after the age of 26,
the child is ineligible for future enrollment as a dependent child under PEBB coverage. The
exception is termination of the child’s coverage due to the employee’s termination of
employment. If the employee is later rehired into a PEBB benéefit eligible position, the child may
be enrolled again if all PEBB criteria for disabled child are met.

Termination of Coverage When a Child Ages Out of PEBB Coverage

PEBB terminates all health plan coverage at midnight on the last day of the month in which a
child reaches age 26. PEBB will not terminate coverage for a dependent child age 26 or older
when the medical plan determines the child meets all the criteria for a disabled child and the
dependent meets PEBB eligibility.
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Domestic partners and their dependents

You may cover a domestic partner and dependents who meet certain requirements. Adding a
domestic partner who is not a tax dependent will increase your tax withholding, and
you will take home less pay.

PEBB provides benefits to domestic partners that are comparable to those offered to married
spouses, where legally possible. You may enroll your domestic partner in all benefit coverage
available to a spouse either within 30 days of a Qualified Status Change or during the open
enrollment period. A domestic partner’s children are also eligible for enroliment.

The member and the domestic partner are eligible if they have

» Registered a certificate of their domestic partnership under Oregon law; or

» Signed and submitted to the member’s agency a notarized Affidavit of Domestic Partnership
declaring that both meet all the following criteria:
o Are both at least 18 years of age;

o Are responsible for each other's welfare and are each other’s sole domestic partners;
o Are not married to anyone;
o Share a close intimate and committed relationship of mutual caring and are not related
by blood closer than would bar marriage in the State of Oregon;
Currently share the same regular permanent residence, and;
Are jointly financially responsible for basic living expenses defined as the cost of food,
shelter and any other expenses of maintaining a household. Financial information must
be provided if requested.

NOTE: An employee who has an Oregon registered certificate of domestic partnership must
submit only the appropriate PEBB update forms to the agency either within 30 days of meeting
the qualifications or during the open enrollment period to add coverage for a domestic partner.
An employee who establishes the partnership through an Affidavit of Domestic Partnership
must submit both the affidavit and appropriate forms to the agency either within 30 days of
meeting the qualifications or during the open enrollment period.

Affidavit of Domestic Partnership Process

Eligible employees must submit an enroliment or midyear change form along with the notarized
affidavit to enroll domestic partners and children within the allowable time for the enroliment type.
Agencies will not process a domestic partner or a partner’s children enroliment until the
enroliment documentation submission is complete. If requested, the member and domestic
partner must be able to provide at least three forms of verification of their joint responsibility, with
information dated to confirm eligibility at the time of enroliment.

Children of Domestic Partners
Children of eligible domestic partners may be covered by the member’s plans, whether or not
the enrollment includes the domestic partner.

* An employee who has an Oregon registered domestic partnership must submit only the
appropriate form to the agency to add coverage for a domestic partner’s children either
within 30 days of meeting the qualifications or during the open enroliment period.
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» If the employee does not have a registered certificate of domestic partnership, the
employee must submit the completed, notarized Affidavit of Domestic Partnership to the
agency with the paper enrollment or midyear change form.

Tax Considerations

Before enrolling a domestic partner or a partner’s children for coverage, employees should know
there may be important tax considerations. Payroll will add an imputed value to the eligible
employee’s taxable wages for the fair market value of the insurance premium for coverage of the
domestic partner and domestic partner’s children, unless the employee notifies payroll that the
domestic partner qualifies as a tax dependent under IRS rules. Following is information provided
by the Oregon Department of Justice Attorney General’s Office regarding this topic.

Domestic Partner and Domestic Partner’s Children as Dependents for Pre-tax
Health Benefit Purposes

Domestic Partners Eligible for Health Coverage

Group health coverage, including medical and dental benefits, is available for a domestic
partner (and a domestic partner’s children) of the State of Oregon’s eligible employees. Refer
to the applicable summary plan description (SPD) and enrollment materials for a definition of
domestic partner and the procedures you must follow to enroll your domestic partner and or
domestic partner children for coverage.

Tax Consequences of Domestic Partner Coverage

Under federal tax law, if your (non-spouse) domestic partner does not qualify as your tax
dependent for health coverage purposes, then the value of your domestic partner's coverage
will be included in your gross income, subject to federal income tax withholding and
employment taxes, and will be reported on your Form W-2. This includes any portion of the
premiums that your employer pays for your domestic partner’s health coverage. (The value of
coverage varies, depending on the medical and dental coverage options you elect.)

If your domestic partner qualifies as your tax dependent for health coverage purposes, then no
portion of the premiums paid by your employer will be included in your income or be subject to
federal withholding or employment taxes.

Note that if your domestic partner fails to qualify as your tax dependent for health coverage
purposes for any portion of the calendar year because of a change of abode, household, or
support during the year, the value of your domestic partner's coverage for the portion of the
year prior to the change will be included in your gross income and related income tax and
employment tax withholding will be charged to your pay as rapidly as possible. The catchup on
withholding will reduce your take-home pay and such reduction could be for some periods.
The catch up on withholding to your agency payroll must be completed before the end of the
current tax year.

Although coverage is also available for children of an eligible employee’s domestic partner
under your employer’s group health plan, a domestic partner’s child is unlikely to qualify as an
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employee’s tax dependent for health coverage purposes. Thus, the value of such coverage
generally must be included in your gross income.

Who is a Dependent Domestic Partner for Pre-Tax Health Coverage?
IRS Publication 501 contains information on how to determine a dependent.
Filing a Certification of Dependent Domestic Partner Status

If your domestic partner and/or domestic partner’s child qualifies as your tax dependent for
health coverage purposes, you can avoid having the value of your domestic partner’s health
coverage treated as taxable income. To avoid taxation, you must complete and return the
Certification of Dependent Domestic Partner Status, indicating that your domestic partner
qualifies as your federal tax dependent for health coverage purposes. Because the
determination of whether a person is a tax dependent for health coverage purposes turns on
facts solely within your knowledge, your employer cannot make this determination for you.
You should make this determination in consultation with your tax professional.

You will be asked to complete a Certification each year at open enrollment. For any
year in which your employer does not receive a Certification from you, your employer
will assume that your domestic partner does not qualify as your federal tax dependent
for health coverage purposes for that year.

Removing a Domestic Partner and Domestic Partner’s Children from Coverage On
dissolution of a domestic partnership, you must remove the domestic partner and partner’'s
children from coverage within 30 days of the date of dissolution. If you terminate a Domestic
Partnership by Affidavit, you must complete and submit a midyear change form to your
payroll/benefit office.

An employee’s failure to notify PEBB or their agency/university benefit office of a domestic
partner’s loss of eligibility may result in civil or criminal charges against the employee for fraud
or the intent to misrepresent the material facts of enrollment. PEBB may rescind coverage back
to the last day of the month in which eligibility was lost or retroactively to the effective date of
coverage if eligibility criteria were never met.

Dependent Eligibility Verification (DEV) Review

PEBB has implemented a Dependent Eligibility Verification (DEV) Review. The purpose of this
review is to ensure that only eligible dependents are receiving core benefit (medical, dental and
vision) coverage. As a Section 125 Cafeteria Plan, PEBB has a fiduciary responsibility to
manage health care costs and to ensure that health plans offered through PEBB cover only
those who meet the eligibility criteria.

All active employees, retirees and self-pay participants who have a dependent(s) enrolled in
the PEBB benefit management system will be required to complete and return the required
verification documents when they are selected for the review process. It is mandatory that
members verify and submit the acceptable documentation by the review deadline in order to
continue benefit coverage for their dependents. Dependents identified as ineligible will be
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terminated from all PEBB benefit plans effective the last day of the month in which the
determination was made and no later than the last day of the month in which the review is
completed.

COBRA continuation information will be mailed indicating the exact date coverage ends and
COBRA eligibility begins.

Enrollment Periods and Effective Dates

Notice on Irrevocability of Plan Elections PEBB provides an Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
Code 125 Cafeteria plan of benefits. This plan allows employees to receive health benefits pre-
tax. To maintain the Cafeteria plan status, PEBB follows Code 125 federal regulations, which
mandate that participant elections are irrevocable for the plan year. The federal regulations
provide only limited circumstances in which the elections may change (e.g., qualified midyear
plan change events or possible administrative correction).

Three types of events allow a participant to make plan elections during a plan year.
1. When an employee first meets the eligibility requirements.
2. At the annual open enroliment, this is when new elections can be substituted for old ones.
3. The occurrence of certain events identified by the IRS as permitting election changes.

In general, all elections must be prospective---that is, employees must make their benefit
elections before the cash that they could otherwise receive is available to them. However, some
retroactive enrollments such as special enroliment rights required under HIPAA for birth,
adoption, or placement for adoption apply. The chart on the following page explains effective
dates for benefit enrollments or changes.
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Current Employees

Enrollment Period

Core Benefits Effective

Optional Benefits Effective

Open Enrollment
(Generally held each
October)

First day of the new plan
year (January 1) following
either online enrollment or the
agency processing of all
required enrollment forms or
documentation during open
enroliment.

First day of the new plan year (January

1), or for enroliments requiring approval
of medical history first of the month in the
new plan year following plan approval
(e.g., increases to life insurance).

Qualified Midyear
Change Event, including
special enrollment events.
Subscribers have 30 days
from the date of the event
to submit forms.

The later of the first day of
the month following agency
receipt of update form or

the event date. Ineligible
individual coverage termination
dates are retroactive to the last
day of the month in which the
individual lost eligibility.

First day of the month following agency
receipt of midyear change form and plan
approval of medical history if medical
history is required. Termination —
retroactive to the last day of the month in
which eligibility was lost.

Long term care insurance only: First of the
month following agency receipt of the
enrollment form and the plan’s approval of
medical history (evidence of insurability).

Newly Hired Employees

Enrollment Period

Core Benefits Effective

Optional Benefits Effective

Within 30 days of hire.

After initial hire date: First day
of the month following online
enroliment or agency receipt
of all necessary enrollment
forms including any required
documentation

First of the month following online
enrollment (or agency receipt of
completed enrollment forms) and plan
approval of medical history if medical
history is required.

Newly Eligible Employees

Enrollment Period

Core Benefits Effective

Optional Benefits Effective

Within 30 days of date of
eligibility.

After initial Eligibility date: First
day of the month following
online enrollment or agency
receipt of all necessary
enroliment forms including any
required documentation.

First of the month following online
enrollment (or agency receipt of
enrollment form) and plan approval of
medical history if medical history is
required.
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Enrolling

It’s important for you to be confident in your annual plan choices when you enroll
because in most cases you will not be able to make changes after your benefits go into
effect for the benefit plan year.

To comply with federal regulations, PEBB must ensure that employee plan elections,
regardless of the type of enrollment (e.g., open enrollment, new hire), are irrevocable for the
plan year. (See Appendix A Midyear Plan Changes for limited exceptions to this rule.)

* Newly hired or newly eligible employees may enroll online or by submitting required
forms and any necessary documentation to their agency within 30 days of their eligibility
or hire date. Enroliment elections for Opt-Out, Dependent Child by Affidavit, Grandchild
by Affidavit, and Domestic Partner by Affidavit require submission of enroliment forms
and other legal documentation to the agency. Employees can enroll electronically for
these elections; however, the agency must receive all required forms within 5 business
days to complete the enroliment. Employees submitting printed enroliment forms and
documentation to the agency must ensure that the submissions are complete, or the
agency will not process the enroliment.

« Open Enroliment Period: The Board may require all eligible employees to actively
enroll for core benefits during Open Enrollment for the following plan year. This is
called a Mandatory or Required Open Enroliment. The Board also may require this
of COBRA, Retiree, or Self-pay subscribers. Employees who take no enroliment
action during a mandatory open enrollment period may default in some programs and
plans. An enroliment action means to enroll, add to, save current enroliment, or
change benefit plan enrollment elections or to enroll, add to, save current
enrollment, or change coverage for an individual.

o The agency must provide an opportunity for open enroliment elections to an
employee who becomes newly eligible or hired after the open enrollment period
but before the start of the new plan year. The employee must submit required
enrollment forms and documentation to the agency before the start of the new
plan year.

o During the open enroliment period, the eligible employee is accountable for
enrolling and providing coverage to only those individuals who will meet PEBB
eligibility criteria for coverage the first day in the new plan year. Certain
enroliment elections require the submission of documentation to the employing
agency before the enrollment will go into effect or the individual’s enrollment will
not go into effect.

o Employees should not use the open enroliment period to remove individuals who
have lost eligibility or will lose eligibility. Employees should remove individuals
from their coverage and benefit record by submitting a midyear change form to
their agency or to PEBB.

o During open enroliment employees may terminate coverage for an individual
electronically or by using a form if they know the individual will be ineligible for
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coverage the first day of the plan year or if the employee no longer wants to

provide coverage to the individual even though the individual will continue to meet
eligibility. The individual’s coverage will not end until the last day of the last
month of the current plan year.

Before the start of the new plan year the agency must provide an opportunity for
open enrollment elections to eligible employees away from work because of an
employer-approved leave status and the employee’s core benefits are continuing.
Examples include but are not limited to FMLA, CBIW, and Active Military Duty.
Some Self-pay participants (COBRA) must enroll by completing the enrollment
forms identified by enroliment group type on the PEBB forms site. All Self-pay
participants (including Retirees) send forms to BenefitHelp Solutions (BHS),

PEBB’s third-party administrator.

PEBB’s annual open enroliment requires all employees to review their current
benefits and answer questions for the upcoming plan year. Employees who fail to log
in during open enrollment are defaulted to specific enrollments because important
questions have gone unanswered. Specific questions are asked each year that must
be answered, or the default occurs. Examples of the questions requiring answering
range from double coverage in other PEBB or OEBB coverage, tobacco use,
spouse/domestic partner access to other employer coverage, and enrollment in the
Health Engagement Model (HEM). Employees who do not take action during open
enrollment are subject to the following actions, according to their coverage tier (i.e.
employee only, employee and spouse etc.):

Tobacco use default — employee, or employee and spouse or domestic partner.
Surcharge of $25/person/month will be applied.

Standard Insurance higher premium rate default for tobacco use during the past 12
months default (if enrolled in optional employee or spouse or partner life insurance)
will be applied.

Spouse or partner has other group coverage and waives the coverage default — if the
employee has a spouse or partner. Surcharge of $50 per month will be applied.

The above defaulted surcharges are correctable once a correction form is submitted
and processed by PEBB staff. The correction is effective prospectively. There is no
HEM correction opportunity for employees who do not complete open enroliment.

Failure to Enroll

Newly benefit eligible employees who do not enroll for benefits within the 30 days of becoming
eligible may not participate in the benefit program for that plan year. However, if you fail to
enroll you may appeal to PEBB. If PEBB approves the appeal, you may enroll only for core
benefit coverage for the plan year, this includes coverage for eligible family members. Oregon
Administrative Rules (OARs) on late enrollment can be found in Division 20. To find the rules,
go to www.pebbinfo.com and click on Administrative Rules.
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Correcting Enrollment Errors

Employees may make benefit enroliment errors when they provide information, make selections
on paper forms, or through the online benefit management system.

An employee’s failure to take an enrollment action during a period of required
enrollment action, such as Open Enrollment, is not considered an enrollment error. An
enroliment action means to enroll, add to, save current enroliment or change benefit
plan enrollment elections or to enroll, add to, save current enroliment, or change
coverage for an individual.

If you or your agency discovers an enrollment error within 30 days of the original effective date of
your enrollment as a newly eligible employee or for a midyear change, your agency may take
corrective action for a prospective date.

Certain Open Enrollment errors may be correctable. Your agency can correct these errors from
the close of Open Enrollment up to the designated correction period. Once a medical, dental or
vision plan becomes effective a correction to change to a different plan shall be prospective
only.

PEBB must review all employee requests for a midyear change when received beyond 30 days
from the original date of eligibility or the date that qualifies for a midyear plan change event.

Midyear Plan Changes

During the plan year, you may not revoke choices related to your participation in the PEBB benefits
program, plan selections, or related salary deductions unless you experience a qualified midyear
plan change event.

A qualified status change (QSC) is one type of midyear plan change event. This is an event
that changes your work or family circumstances. A QSC is the most common type of midyear
plan change event; however, several other change events are allowed.

The IRS requires that PEBB comply with federal regulations for midyear plan changes. Midyear
plan change events must meet the IRS “general consistency rule.” Under the general
consistency rule, an election change satisfies the consistency requirement for changes
in status “if the election change is on account of and corresponds with a change in
status that affects eligibility for coverage under an employer's plan.” Some qualified
midyear events do not apply to all the benefits offered under the plan.
To make a change based on a midyear plan change event your agency must receive all the
appropriate forms within 30 days of the date of the event. Midyear change form is available
online at www.pebbinfo.com and click on forms. PEBB must receive all midyear plan change
requests when they are submitted beyond 30 days from the event date.
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Qualifying Midyear Change Events

Midyear change events that affect eligibility for insurance benefits fall into three broad
categories. Each event is detailed in federal regulation and criteria for the event must
be met. See the appendix A chart on the recognized qualifying events under PEBB at:
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/PEBB/Benefits/SPD/AppendixA.pdf

The eligible employee is responsible for identifying enrollment errors and maintaining a valid
and accurate enroliment.
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Individuals No Longer Eligible for Coverage

An employee can experience a qualified midyear change event that will permit, or require, the
employee to request a termination of coverage for other individuals on their healthcare coverage.
The employee’s request for any coverage termination for an individual must be submitted within 30
days of the qualifying midyear event date to the employee’s agency on the appropriate forms.

NOTE: PEBB will not terminate a spouse’s or domestic partner’s coverage due to a separation.

(a) When an employee experiences a qualifying midyear change that permits the
employee to remove an eligible individual from coverage, agencies will terminate the
coverage retroactive to the last day of the month of the event date. Submission of the
forms beyond 30 days requires an appeal to PEBB and will result in termination of the
coverage retroactive to the last day of the month of the event date.

(b) Employees must request termination of coverage for an individual receiving PEBB coverage
under their enrollments when the individual becomes ineligible for the coverage.
Examples of individuals who no longer meet eligibility and require termination from
coverage include but are not limited to an ex- spouse, an ex- domestic partner, a child by
affidavit no longer eligible due to age limitation within the responsibility of a legal document,
and a disabled child who no longer meets criteria.

Agencies will terminate an ineligible individual’s coverage retroactive to the last day of the month of
the event date (i.e., divorce date). PEBB, not the agency, processes retroactive terminations.

A COBRA notice of eligibility is sent to all individuals terminated as ineligible when the agency is
notified within 60 days of the event date.

Late Requests for Terminations: PEBB must receive all employee requests for termination of
coverage of ineligible individuals beyond the allowable 30 days.

An employee’s failure to notify PEBB or their agency/university benefit office of a family
member’s or domestic partner’s loss of eligibility may result in civil or criminal charges
against the employee for fraud or the intent to misrepresent the material facts of enroliment.
PEBB may rescind coverage back to the last day of the month in which eligibility was lost
or retroactively to the effective date of coverage if eligibility criteria were never met.
Rescission of coverage can occur to an employee, or an individual for whom the employee
provides coverage.

Examples of fraud include, but are not limited to, a member’s failure to notify PEBB or their
agency/university benefit office of their divorce, termination of a domestic partnership, an individual
losing eligibility or an individual who never meet eligibility criteria for enrollment in PEBB plans.

The following actions will occur during a rescission of coverage action taken by PEBB:

» The agency may request premium refunds from PEBB or the Plan based on the current
contract.
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* An agency may determine that an employee must repay to the agency the state-funded
premiums paid for coverage during the ineligible period.

» As contractually agreed to, a plan may determine that an employee must repay insurance
claims paid by a plan for the ineligible individual during the ineligible period.

* An employee’s agency may take disciplinary action against the employee for the
employee’s failure to remove an ineligible individual from coverage.

» The employee may have imputed value added to taxable income for premiums not refunded
by the plans or repaid by the employee to the agency.

A benefit plan may remove from coverage or deny the claims of an eligible employee, a family

member, domestic partner, or domestic partner’s dependent child because of fraud, intentional

misrepresentation of a material fact as prohibited by the terms of the plan, eligibility violations,

or policy term violations. When a plan removes an employee from coverage for violations:

a) The employee may choose, as a midyear plan change, an alternative PEBB plan to
replace the terminated plan. If no alternative PEBB plan is available in the employee’s
service area, there is no coverage.

b) The plan may retain all premiums paid and has the right to recover from the employee
the benefits paid because of such wrongful activity that are in excess of the premiums.

c) The plan may deny future enrollments of the individual.

HIPAA Special Enroliment Rights

Biological newborns, and children by adoption or placed for adoption receive health plan
coverage retroactive to the event through the first 31 days. However, enrollment forms must be
submitted to the agency within 30 days of birth, adoption, or placement to continue the coverage.
When you submit forms within the 30-day period and up to 12 months from the date of birth of a
biological child, the agency will approve coverage continuously and retroactively to the birth date,
adopted, or placed for adoption date. Claims incurred during that time will be paid. A change in
plans to a different plan type is prospective.

If you previously declined enrollment for yourself or your dependents (including your spouse or
domestic partner) because of other health insurance or group health plan coverage, you may be
able to enroll yourself and your dependents in a PEBB plan if you or your dependents lose
eligibility for that other coverage (or if the employer stops contributing toward your or your
dependents’ other coverage). However, you must request enroliment within 30 days after your or
your dependents’ other coverage ends (or after the employer stops contributing toward the other
coverage). Your coverage will be effective from the first day of the month of the other coverage
loss. If the request is outside the 30 days from the loss of coverage, if approved the effective date
will be prospective only to the first day of the month following submission of forms.

Tag along rule applies. If you add a new dependent because of marriage, birth, adoption, or
placement for adoption, you may be able to enroll yourself and dependents that were eligible but
never enrolled previously. However, you must request enrollment within 30 days after the
marriage, birth, adoption, or placement for adoption. Individuals added within 30 days as tag along
will have a prospective date.
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To request special enrollment or obtain more information, contact PEBB at (503) 373-1102, or
email inquiries.pebb@odhsoha.oregon.gov

Appendix A (http://www.oregon.gov/oha/PEBB/Benefits/SPD/AppendixA.pdf) details QSCs
and consistent benefit changes that may be made.

Ending Participation in PEBB

Employees no longer participate in a PEBB plan when the PEBB plan ends or the employee
or a covered individual is no longer eligible to participate.

When an employee terminates employment and:
o The employee accrues less than 80 hours paid regular hours in the month that
employment terminates, coverage ends the last day of that month.
o The employee accrues 80 or more paid regular hours in the month that
employment terminates, coverage ends the last day of the month following the
employment termination month.

When an employee is within a stability period, in an approved leave without pay, and a
nonpayment of premium occurs with a letter of non-payment sent to the employee from the
agency, payroll will retroactively terminate coverage to the date specified in the letter.
Generally, this is the last day of the last period for which the required premium contribution
was paid.

When terminating employment, flexible spending accounts and commuter accounts
terminate on the last day of the last month that the employee is credited with paid regular
status hours.

Benefits for self-pay individuals and retirees terminate the last day of the last period for
which the required premium contribution is paid.

Optional plan coverage ends according to the optional plan’s policy or certificate directives.

Returning to Work Employees returning from a protected leave such as FMLA, CBIW,
Military or other protected leave should contact their agency for specific enrollment and
eligibility information.

Returning to Work

An eligible employee with a break in employment status returning to paid regular status within 30
days without a break in core benefit plan coverage will have all previous coverage reinstated and
cannot make benefit plan changes.

Note: Exceptions is for Flexible Spending Accounts (FSAs), Commuter Accounts and Long-Term
care coverage through UNUM. Check with your payroll or Human Resources office on enroliment
in these accounts.

31|Page


http://www.oregon.gov/oha/PEBB/Benefits/SPD/AppendixA.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/PEBB/Benefits/SPD/AppendixA.pdf

State of Oregon
Public Employees’ Benefit Board Summary Plan Description

Generally:

An active eligible employee who is returning from a leave without pay (LWOP), but who has
not been in a protected leave status such as FMLA, OFLA etc., and isn’t in a current benefit
eligible stability period must work at least half-time in the month of return to be eligible for
benefits in the following month. The exception is an eligible employee in job share positions.
An active eligible employee not in a current stability period returning from a reduction in
hours below eligibility criteria must work at least half-time in the month of return to be
eligible for benefits in the following month. The exception is an eligible employee in job
share positions.

A previous permanent, benefit eligible employee returning to a permanent benefit eligible
position in paid regular status within 12 months of a core benefit coverage termination date
following a layoff or termination of employment, is not required to work at least half time in
the month they return to be eligible for benefits the following month. The agency will
reinstate the previous plan enroliments, if available, effective the first of the month following
the employee’s return to work. The employee has 30 days to change reinstated benefit
elections. Reinstatement excludes Flexible Spending Accounts, Long-Term Care insurance,
and Commuter accounts.

Note: A stability period ends when there is a break in employment longer than 13 weeks.
The employee’s initial measurement period will start over.

Flexible Spending Accounts, Long-Term Care insurance, and Commuter accounts are
never reinstated. The employee has 30 days from the date of rehire, or return to work, to
change benefit elections. Long-Term Care insurance may be reinstated as a payroll
deduction if the employee continued the plan through portability. An exception occurs if the
individual continued participation in a healthcare FSA while on COBRA, prepaid or made
arrangements with the agency to pay the FSA prior to taking a FMLA leave. In this case,
PEBB will reinstate the FSA.

A previously benefit eligible employee returning to paid regular status in a benefit eligible
position after a termination of core benefits of 12 months or longer must enroll as a newly
eligible employee.

For Stability or Measurement Period Purposes: When any employee is employed

immediately prior to his or her break in service for a period of less than 13 weeks, the agency
may treat the employee as a new employee upon rehire for purposes of stability or
measurement period, as long as the period during which the employee did not accrue any
hours of service was at least four weeks long. For example, an employee who works for five
weeks and then has no hours of service for six weeks may be treated as a new employee.
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SECTION 2: MEDICAL BENEFITS

Medical Plan Options
Each of PEBB’s medical plans provides a member handbook (evidence of coverage in the case of
Kaiser Permanente) and a summary of benefits and coverage (SBC). They are incorporated in this
Summary Plan Description by reference and are available for download as printable documents on
the plans’ websites. Carefully review the plans’ member handbooks, SBCs and service areas to
see which one best fit you and your family’s healthcare needs.
Prescription Drug Coverage. All medical plans offered by PEBB include coverage for
prescription drugs.
Routine Vision Care. Employees and others who enroll in a medical plan offered by PEBB
may enroll in coverage for routine vision care. The exception is Kaiser Permanente full-time
medical plans, which include routine vision care. See the Kaiser Permanente Evidence of
Coverage for information on routine vision care in those plans. See VSP Routine Vision Care
for the summary of benefits in the other plans.

Healthcare Service Contractor

Healthcare Service Contractor (HCSC) plans offer a high level of service and benefits with low out-
of-pocket copayments. To get benefits, you must use the providers and facilities that are part of the
plan. You select a primary care provider within Kaiser Permanente who guides your care. If you
seek care elsewhere, the plan may not pay or may pay a reduced amount. PEBB sponsors the
Kaiser Permanente Traditional and Kaiser Permanente Deductible plans for those who live or
work (at least 50 percent of the time) in the Kaiser Permanente service area. See the plan’s
member handbook (evidence of coverage) for details on these plans and coverage. Contact Kaiser
Permanente Member Services for the ZIP codes in the service area.

Medical-home and PCP 360 Plans in the Coordinated Care Model

A medical home is a clinic staffed by health care professionals who work together as a team. Led
by your primary provider, this team coordinates all of your health care, including referrals to outside
providers or specialists when necessary. The team gives you connected health care by staying
informed about and actively participating in all aspects of your care. PEBB offers Providence
Choice as a medical-home model plan. In this plan, you need to establish your medical home
clinic and inform the plan of your selection of medical home to ensure you have access to the full
benefits of your plan, including claims paid at the medical home benefit level and not the out-of-
network level. You may select different medical homes for yourself and your dependents.

PEBB offers Moda Health Synergy as a coordinated care plan. In this plan, you need to establish
your PCP 360 and inform the plan of your selection to ensure you have access to in-network
benefits for primary care services. A PCP 360 is a primary care provider who has been certified by
the Oregon Patient-Centered Primary Care program. This means that a PCP 360 has to meet
certain quality standards and will be accountable for delivering high quality care that is centered on
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you. If you do not select a PCP 360, all primary care services will be paid at the out-of-network
benefit level. You may select the same or a different PCP 360 for each member of your family.
However, referrals from your PCP 360 are not required to see a specialist.

Preferred Provider Organization Plans

Preferred provider organization (PPO) plans offer services and benefits at two coverage levels —
from preferred providers and from non-preferred providers. PEBB offers the Providence
Statewide PPO plan in all parts of the state. You may use any doctors you wish. If you use doctors
who are preferred (in-network), you pay less. If you use providers who are not preferred (out of
network), you pay more. If you use providers who do not participate in the plan, the providers may
bill you for amounts greater than allowed in the plan. If you use a state-recognized patient centered
primary care home (PCPCH) that is in the Statewide Plan’s network, your coinsurance rate for
primary care services drops from 15% to 10%.

Links to the medical plans’ customer service contacts and member handbooks can be found on the
PEBB website at www.pebbinfo.com

Medical Plan Premium Rates
Medical plan rates are located on the PEBB website: www.pebbinfo.com

Medical Plan Comparisons
Medical plans comparisons are located on the PEBB website: www.pebbinfo.com

Health Improvement and Cost Containment Programs

The Board may institute health improvement and cost containment programs in the design of
health plans. The goal of these programs is to assist the employer and employees to improve
employee health and contain costs for health benefits.
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SECTION 3: DENTAL BENEFITS

Dental Plan Options

You are not required to enroll in a dental plan, but to enroll in a dental plan you must be enrolled in
a medical plan. You may enroll yourself, your spouse/domestic partner, and your dependents
individually or in any combination. Full-time plans are available to both full-time and part-time
employees. Part-time plans are available only to part-time employees. If you enroll in Medical
Opt-Out, you may enroll in a Dental plan.

Delta Dental plans

» Delta Dental, one of the largest dental networks in Oregon and nationwide, offers two plan
choices: PPO and Premier.

« All preventive services (i.e., cleanings and x-rays) do not apply to the annual benefit
maximum. You can use those additional dollar savings for basic and major services.

Willamette Dental Group plan

* Services are provided only by Willamette Dental Group providers and only in Willamette
Dental Group facilities.

Kaiser Permanente Plans

* You do not need to enroll in a Kaiser Permanente medical plan to enroll in a Kaiser
Permanente dental plan, and vice versa.

* You can enroll in a Kaiser Permanente dental plan if you live or work in the Kaiser
Permanente Service area at least 50% of the time.

» Services are provided by Kaiser Permanente dental group providers in Kaiser Permanente
dental offices.

Each of PEBB’s dental plans provides a member handbook (also called certificate or evidence of
coverage) and benefit summary. They are incorporated in this Summary Plan Description by
reference and are available for download as printable documents on each plan’s website. Carefully
review the plans’ member handbooks and service areas to see which one best fits you and your
family’s dental care needs. Links to the dental plans’ customer service contacts and member
handbooks are on the PEBB website: www.pebbinfo.com

Dental Plans Rates

Dental plan rates are located on the PEBB website: www.pebbinfo.com

Dental Plans Comparisons
Dental plan rates are located on the PEBB website: www.pebbinfo.com
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SECTION 4: VISION BENEFITS

The full-time Kaiser Permanente Traditional and Kaiser Permanente Deductible medical plans
include coverage of routine vision services. If you enroll in another medical plan, including a part-
time plan or Opt-Out, you may (but are not required to) enroll in vision coverage provided by VSP.
You may enroll yourself and any combination of your spouse or partner, and dependents.

You pay a share of premium if you enroll in the VSP Basic Plan. Your premium share is the same
percentage rate as your medical coverage percentage which includes Opt-Out.

VSP Plus plan has better coverage for frames, coatings, and progressive lenses. For this plan, you

pay the employee premium share for the Basic plan plus the difference in premium cost between
the Basic and Plus plans.

SECTION 5: OPTIONAL BENEFITS

PEBB offers eligible employees the opportunity to enroll in optional benefits. This section
summarizes the following plans.

» Optional Employee and Spouse or Domestic Partner Life Insurance (beyond the
employer-provided $10,000 basic employee insurance) for the employee, the employee’s
spouse or domestic partner

+ Dependent Life Insurance for the employee’s spouse or domestic partner, and eligible
children

» Short Term and Long-Term Disability Insurance for the employee only. (This option is
not available for seasonal or temporary/intermittent employees.)

+ Accidental Death and Dismemberment Insurance for the employee, or the employee and
eligible dependents

* Healthcare and Dependent Care Flexible Spending Accounts (FSAs)

* Long Term Care Insurance for the employee, spouse or domestic partner, dependents and
certain extended family members

+ Commuter Account Fringe Benefits for employee only

The employer provides no benefit amount toward the cost of optional benefits. Optional benefits
are voluntary choices you purchase on your own. Monthly premium payments or contributions for
these benefits are your responsibility. When optional benefits become effective, your payroll
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deducts the insurance premium or contribution from your pay. Your pay stub or statement shows
the monthly deductions.

Life Insurance

This subsection summarizes the group Optional Life Insurance plan available through PEBB. This
is a summary only. For full details, see the Certificate of Insurance. The controlling provisions of
the plan are in the group policy issued by Standard Insurance Company (The Standard). The
information presented in this summary and in the Certificate of Insurance in no way modifies that
group policy or the insurance coverage.

Eligibility for Coverage
To be eligible for Optional Life insurance, you must be one of the following:
* An active employee of the State of Oregon who is regularly scheduled to work and who
meets the terms of eligibility outlined in the PEBB Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs).
» A retiree of the State of Oregon who:

o Retired under the employer’s retirement plan during the month of December 2001
and whose insurance under the group policy as an active employee terminated on or
after January 1, 2002, or;

o Retired under the Employer’s retirement plan on or after January 1, 2002 and was
insured as an active employee under the group policy on the day before retirement.

The following dependents are eligible for coverage if they meet eligibility requirements of the PEBB
Oregon Administrative Rules (OARSs):

* Spouse

* Domestic partner

* Your PEBB eligible child or your spouse’s or domestic partner’'s PEBB eligible child

Life coverage can be continued for activated reservists, subject to continued payment of premium,
for the longest leave period allowed under the group policy (12 months).

Amounts of Life Insurance for Active Employees

Basic Life Insurance for Active Employees: $10,000. This coverage is part of core benefits for
which employees pay a share of premium.

Optional Life Insurance for Active Employees and their Spouse or Domestic Partner:
« Employee: Any multiple of $20,000, up to $600,000. You pay the entire premium. Newly
eligible employees have a guaranteed issue (medical history not required) of $20,000 up to
$100,000 if enrolled within 30 days of eligibility.
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« Spouse or domestic partner: Any multiple of $20,000, up to $400,000. You pay the entire
premium. Newly eligible spouse or domestic partners have a guaranteed issue (medical
history not required) of $20,000 if enrolled within 30 days of eligibility.

Note: If you are covered as both an employee and a spouse or domestic partner, the combined
maximum amount is limited to $600,000.

Dependent Life Insurance for Spouse or Domestic Partner and Eligible Children of Active
Employees: $5,000. You pay the entire premium. The rate is the same, regardless of the number
of eligible dependents.

Evidence of Insurability
Evidence of insurability is required when you apply for:
* Any amount of coverage requested more than 30 days after becoming eligible

« More than the guaranteed issue amount of $100,000 for Employee Optional Life coverage
when you are first eligible to apply.

« More than the guaranteed issue amount of $20,000 of Spouse or Domestic Partner Optional
Life coverage when you are first eligible to apply.

* An elective increase in coverage.

* Any amount during annual open enrollment, unless you are within your 30-day eligibility
period

A Medical History Statement (MHS) should be submitted to The Standard within 5 business days
of the request or December 31 if the amount is requested during open enrollment. A MHS can be
submitted online to The Standard.

Coverage during Retirement

If you are insured for life insurance under this program immediately prior to your retirement under
the State of Oregon’s retirement plan, you may elect to continue up to 50 percent of the total
amount of your Employee Basic and Optional Life insurance in effect on the day before your
retirement (in increments of $2,500 not to exceed $200,000). You must apply to the plan for
coverage within 30 days after your retirement and agree to pay the cost of coverage.

At age 65 and older, the amount available to you as a retiree decreases to a percentage of the
amount determined above, as follows:

Your Age Percentage
65 - 69 65%
70-74 50%
75 or older 35%

Your spouse or domestic partner and any children are not eligible for coverage during your
retirement.
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Note: If you return to work and become eligible for coverage as an active employee within 12
months, your previous active coverage may be reinstated at your choice. If you choose to do so
you must notify The Standard to cancel the retirement life insurance coverage. Please also note,
should you cancel your retirement coverage, you will not be offered another opportunity to re-
enroll.

Effective Date of Coverage

Basic Life Insurance for Employees: The day when your PEBB medical or dental coverage
becomes effective.
« Optional Life Insurance for Employee and Spouse or Domestic Partner:
+ For amounts that do not require evidence of insurability: The first day of the calendar
month following the date you enroll for the coverage.
* For amounts subject to evidence of insurability: The first day of the calendar month
following the date The Standard approves evidence of insurability.
« Amounts requested during open enrollment require evidence of insurability: January
1 of the new plan year or the first day of the calendar month following the date The
Standard approves the evidence of insurability in the new plan year.

Dependent Life Insurance for Spouses/Domestic Partners and PEBB eligible Children: The
first day of the calendar month following the date you enroll for the coverage.

Actively at Work Requirement

You must meet the Actively at Work Requirement for any coverage or increase in coverage to
become effective (including coverage for your spouse, domestic partner and children). If you are
incapable of Active Work because of Sickness, Injury or Pregnancy on the day before the
scheduled effective date of your insurance or an increase in your insurance, your insurance or
increase will not become effective until the day after you complete one full day of Active Work as
an eligible Member. Active Work and Actively at Work mean performing the material duties of your
own occupation at your Employer's usual place of business.

You will also meet the Active Work requirement if:

1. You were absent from Active Work because of a regularly scheduled day off, holiday, or
vacation day;

2. You were Actively At Work on your last scheduled work day before the date of your
absence; and 3. You were capable of Active Work.

Designating a Beneficiary

When you enroll for coverage, you should name a beneficiary or beneficiaries to receive death
benefits. You may do this online through the PEBB enrollment system. If you name more than one
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beneficiary, they will share equally unless you specify otherwise. You may change beneficiaries at
any time through the PEBB enroliment system without the consent of the beneficiary.

If you do not name a beneficiary or your named beneficiary dies before you, The Standard will pay
benefits in equal shares to the first surviving of the following: your spouse; your children; your
parents; your estate. You are the beneficiary of benefits paid on the death of your spouse or
domestic partner or child.

Additional Benefits

Travel Assistance: The Standard includes a travel assistance program that provides a full range of
24-hour medical, legal, and travel assistance services to you and your dependents when you travel
more than 100 miles from home or in a foreign country. For more information, download the
brochure.

Life Service Toolkit: To address important life matters, PEBB members and their beneficiaries
have access to The Standard’s Life Services Toolkit. As a participant, you will have access to
services such as estate planning assistance (including will preparation), financial planning, funeral
arrangements, and identity theft prevention. Beneficiaries can access services such as grief
support, legal assistance, support services, and other online resources.

Other Benefits: For information on Repatriation Benefit for Employees, Coverage during Total
Disability (waiver of premium) and Accelerated Benefit, please see the Certificate of Insurance.

Continuation of Insurance if Employment Ends (Portability)

If your employment ends you may be eligible to continue your Optional Life coverage. You must
apply to The Standard within 60 days following the date your employment ends.

You may continue any multiple of $20,000, up to the amount of your Optional Life Insurance in
effect on the date your employment ends. If you elect to continue your Optional Life, you also may
elect to continue any multiple of $20,000 of your spouse or domestic partner Optional Life
insurance coverage, up to the amount in effect on the date your employment ends. You may not
continue coverage under this provision if you are retiring or are totally disabled, or if you convert
your coverage to an individual policy.

Coverage continued under this provision will be subject to all terms of the group policy.
Note: If you die, your spouse or domestic partner may continue his or her Optional Life Insurance.

Right to Convert

If your coverage or a dependent’s coverage ends or is reduced, you may be eligible to convert the
terminated amounts to certain types of individual life insurance policies without providing evidence
of insurability. You must apply and pay premiums within 60 days after group coverage ends or is
reduced.

You may not convert coverage amounts for which you have received an accelerated benefit.
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Suicide Exclusion

The suicide exclusion applies to Optional Life insurance for yourself and your spouse or domestic
partner. If the death results from suicide or other intentionally self-inflicted injury while sane or
insane, The Standard will not pay amounts that have not been continuously in effect for at least
two years on the date of death.

When Coverage Ends
Your Basic and Optional Life coverage ends automatically on the earliest of the following:
+ The date the last period ends for which a premium was paid (except if premiums are waived
while you are totally disabled)
» The date you cease to meet the terms of eligibility outlined in PEBB Oregon Administrative
Rules (OARSs)
* The date you become a full-time member of the armed forces
* The date the group policy ends

Optional life insurance for your spouse or domestic partner and dependent life insurance ends
automatically on the earliest of the following:

« The date you cease to be insured

+ Five months after the date you die (no premiums are charged for this period of coverage)

« The date the last period ends for which a premium was paid for the coverage

« The last day of the month in which a dependent loses eligibility under PEBB Oregon
Administrative Rules (OARSs)

» For your spouse, the last day of the calendar month in which you are divorced

» For a domestic partner, the termination date of your domestic partner relationship

» For a child who is disabled, 90 days after you receive a request for proof of disability and
you do not provide this proof

Payment of Benefits

For amounts less than $10,000, The Standard issues a check to the beneficiary. The Standard
pays amounts of $10,000 or more to the beneficiary by depositing funds into Standard Secure
Access — a no fee, interest bearing draft account. The beneficiary receives a personalized
checkbook and has complete control of the account. Beneficiaries can write checks as needed or
for the full amount. The arrangement allows beneficiaries to earn interest on the benefit while they
consider financial decisions.

Claims

To make a claim, the claimant must submit to The Standard proof that a death or total disability
occurred and any other information The Standard may reasonably require in support of the claim.
For a claim for continued coverage during total disability (waiver of premium), The Standard may
have you examined by a specialist of The Standard’s choice at reasonable intervals. For death
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claims, The Standard may have an autopsy performed at The Standard’s expense, except where
prohibited by law.

The Standard will provide the claimant a written decision on the claim within a reasonable time
after The Standard receives the claim. If the claimant does not receive a decision from The
Standard within 90 days, the claimant can request a review as if the claim were denied.

If The Standard denies any part of the claim, The Standard will provide the claimant a written
notice of denial containing the reasons for the decision, reference to the parts of the group policy
supporting the decision, a description of any additional information needed to support the claim,
and information on the claimant’s right to a review of the decision.

If the claimant wants The Standard to conduct a review of the denial, the claimant:

. Must request the review in writing within 60 days after receiving notice of the denial (or
within 180 days with respect to a claim for continued coverage during total disability).

. May include written comments or other items to support the claim.

. May review any non-privileged information that relates to the request for review.

The Standard will review the claim promptly after receiving the request. The Standard will send the
claimant a notice of the final decision within 60 days after receiving the request for review, or within
120 days if special circumstances require an extension. The notice will include the reasons for the
decision and will refer to the relevant parts of the group policy that support the decision.

Monthly Premium Rates
Monthly premiums can be found on the PEBB website at: www.pebbinfo.com

Short Term Disability (STD) Insurance

This subsection summarizes the group Short Term Disability Insurance plan available through
PEBB. It is a summary only. For full details, see the Certificate of Insurance. The controlling
provisions of the plan are in the group policy issued by Standard Insurance Company (The
Standard). The information presented in this summary and in the Certificate of Insurance in no way
modifies that group policy or the insurance coverage.

Eligibility for Coverage
To be eligible for Optional Short-Term Disability (STD) Insurance, you must be an active employee

of the state of Oregon who is regularly scheduled to work and who meets the terms of eligibility in
PEBB Administrative Rules.

You are not eligible if you are: a seasonal or intermittent employee; an employee scheduled to
work fewer than 90 days; a temporary employee; a full-time member of the armed forces of any
country.

Effective Date of Coverage
Your STD Insurance becomes effective:
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» The first day of the calendar month following the date you enroll, if you enroll within 30 days
after becoming an eligible employee.
» January 1 of the following year if you enroll during the annual open enroliment period.
» The first day of the calendar month following the date you enroll, if you enroll within 30 days
following a qualified status change (as determined by your employer).
Note: You pay the entire monthly premium.

Actively at Work Requirement

You must meet the Actively at Work Requirement for any coverage or increase in coverage to
become effective. If you are incapable of Active Work because of Sickness, Injury or Pregnancy on
the day before the scheduled effective date of your insurance or an increase in your insurance,
your insurance or increase will not become effective until the day after you complete one full day of
Active Work as an eligible

Member. Active Work and Actively at Work mean performing the material duties of your own
occupation at your Employer's usual place of business.

You will also meet the Active Work requirement if:
1. You were absent from Active Work because of a regularly scheduled day off, holiday, or
vacation day;
2. You were Actively at Work on your last scheduled work day before the date of your
absence; and
3. You were capable of Active Work.

Benefit Amount

The Standard pays benefits at the end of each week in which you qualify. The weekly amount is 60
percent of the first $2,770 of your pre-disability earnings, reduced by deductible income. The
maximum weekly benefit, before reduction by deductible income, is $1,662. The weekly minimum
benefit, after reduction by deductible income, is $25.

Benefit Waiting Period

If The Standard approves your claim, it will pay benefits only after the benefit waiting period. The
benefit waiting period is a specified number of days for which you must remain continuously
disabled. This is seven days if the disability is caused by physical disease, pregnancy or mental
disorder. There is no benefit waiting period if the disability is caused by accidental injury.

However, if your disability begins while you are scheduled to be away from work under the terms of
your employment, your benefit waiting period is the longer of the date determined above and the
period ending on the day before you were scheduled to return to work.
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Maximum Benefit Period

Benefits may continue for any one period of disability up to the maximum benefit period of 13
weeks unless the pre-existing condition limitation applies. In that case, the maximum benefit period
is four weeks.

If you are eligible to receive benefits under any other disability plan, your STD benefits will end
when the other disability benefits become payable. This applies even if you become eligible for the
other benefits before the end of the STD maximum benefit period.

Definition of Disability

The Standard deems you disabled if, because of physical disease, injury, pregnancy or mental
disorder, you are unable to perform with reasonable continuity the material duties of your own
occupation. The Standard deems you partially disabled if you work for the state of Oregon but are
unable to earn more than 80 percent of your pre-disability earnings. You are no longer disabled
when your earnings from any occupation exceed 80 percent of your pre-disability earnings.

Return to Work Incentive

You may work for the State of Oregon during the benefit waiting period and while you are receiving
benefits. The Standard will reduce your weekly benefit amount to the extent your earnings exceed
100 percent of your pre-disability earnings when added to your gross benefit.

Reasonable Accommodation Benefit

If you return to work in any occupation for any employer (except self-employment) through the
employer’s workplace accommodation, The Standard will reimburse the employer for the incurred
expenses to an amount agreed upon in advance and in writing by The Standard and the employer.

Temporary Recovery
If you temporarily recover and then become disabled again from the same cause or causes after
benefits are payable, and the recovery period does not exceed 14 days, The Standard will

» Not impose a new benefit waiting period

* Resume paying benefits as if no break in coverage had occurred

» Use the same pre-disability earnings to determine your benefit

* Reduce the maximum benefit period by the previous period or periods of disability

Pre-disability Earnings
Pre-disability earnings are your weekly earnings from the state of Oregon in effect on the last full
day of active work. They include:

« Salary

« Grant assistance wages

» Stipends
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» Contributions you make through a salary reduction agreement with your employer to an IRC
Section 401(k), 403(b) or 457 deferred compensation arrangement, or an executive
nonqualified deferred compensation arrangement

* Amounts contributed to fringe benefits according to salary reduction agreements under an
IRC Section 125 plan

Pre-disability earnings exclude: bonuses; overtime pay; your employer’s contribution to a deferred
compensation arrangement or pension plan; state-paid benefit amounts in excess of your
premiums for medical insurance, dental insurance and the first $50,000 of group life insurance; or
any other extra compensation.

If you are paid hourly, pre-disability earnings are determined by multiplying your hourly pay rate by
the average number of hours you worked per week during the preceding 13 weeks (or during your
period of employment if less than 13 weeks), but not more than 40 hours.

Deductible Income

The Standard considers the following deductible income and deducts any amounts from your
benefit:

+ Work earnings, as described in Return To Work Incentive

» Benefits you are eligible to receive under any other short term disability plan that, when
added to your benefit under this plan, exceed 75 percent of your pre-disability earnings

* Amounts received by compromise, settlement, or other method as a result of a claim for the
above, whether disputed or undisputed

« Sick pay or other salary continuation (including donated leave) paid to you by your
Employer, but not including vacation pay

Exclusions and Limitations

You are not covered for a disability:
» Caused or contributed to by an intentionally self-inflicted injury, while sane or insane
« Arising out of or in the course of any employment for wage or profit

No benefits will be paid for any period you are:
» Not under the on-going care of a physician
 Eligible to receive workers’ compensation or similar benefits
+ Working for any employer other than the state of Oregon or are self-employed
+ Confined for any reason in a penal or correctional institution

Pre-existing Condition: The Standard limits your maximum benefit period to four weeks if your
disability is caused or contributed to by a pre-existing condition. A pre-existing condition is a
mental or physical condition for which, during the 90 days immediately preceding the date you
became insured, you consulted a physician or other licensed medical professional, received
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medical treatment or services, undergone diagnostic procedures, or took prescribed drugs or
medications. The Standard will not apply this limitation to a disability that begins after you have
been insured under the group policy for 12 months and have been actively at work for at least one
day after those 12 months.

When Benefits End
Benefits end on the earliest of:
+ The date you are no longer disabled
* The end of the maximum benefit period
* The date you die
+ The date you begin working for any employer other than the state of Oregon, or are self-
employed
» The date long term disability benefits become payable to you
« The date you fail to provide proof of continued disability and entitiement to benefits

When Coverage Ends
This coverage ends automatically on the earliest of the following dates:
* End of the period for which a premium was paid for your coverage
» The last day of the calendar month in which your employment terminates
* You cease to be eligible under PEBB Oregon Administrative Rules (OARS)
* You become a full-time member of the armed forces
* The group policy ends

Claims

To file a claim, please call The Standard at (800) 242-1888. You can find more information about
filing a claim, including what information you will need to provide, on the Frequently Asked
Questions document.

The Standard may:
* Investigate your claim at any time
+ Have you examined at reasonable intervals by specialists of their choice
« Deny or suspend benefits if you fail to attend an examination or cooperate with the
examiner

The Standard will send you a written decision on your claim within a reasonable time after
receiving your claim. If you do not receive the decision within 90 days, you can request a review as
if your claim were denied.

If The Standard denies any part of your claim, it will send you written notice of denial. The notice
will give the reasons for the decision and refer to the parts of the group policy supporting the
decision. It will describe any additional information needed to support your claim and information
concerning your right to a review of the decision.
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If you want The Standard to conduct a review of denial of all or part of your claim, you must
request the review in writing within 180 days after you receive notice of the denial. When you
request a review, you may include written comments or other items to support your claim. You also
may review any nonprivileged information that relates to your request for review. The Standard will
review your claim promptly after receiving your request. The Standard will send you a notice of the
final decision within 45 days after receiving your request, or within 90 days if special circumstances
require an extension. This notice will state the reasons for the decision and refer you to the
relevant parts of the group policy that support the decision.

Monthly Premium Rates
Monthly premiums can be found on the PEBB website at: www.pebbinfo.com

This insurance may replace a portion of your monthly income should you become disabled. You
must self-pay for this coverage; the state does not provide a benefit amount for this benefit.

Long Term Disability (LTD) Insurance

This subsection summarizes the group Long Term Disability Insurance plan available through
PEBB. It is a summary only. For full details, see the Certificate of Insurance. The controlling
provisions of the plan are in the group policy issued by The Standard Insurance Company (The
Standard). The information presented in this summary and in the Certificate of Insurance in no way
modifies that group policy or the insurance coverage.

Eligibility for Coverage
To be eligible for Optional Long Term Disability (LTD) Insurance, you must be an active employee
of the state of Oregon who is regularly scheduled to work and who meets the terms of eligibility in
PEBB Administrative Rules.

You are not eligible if you are: a seasonal or intermittent employee; an employee scheduled to
work fewer than 90 days; a temporary employee; a full-time member of the armed forces of any
country.

Effective Date of Coverage
Your LTD Insurance becomes effective:

« The first day of the calendar month following the date you enroll, if you enroll within 30 days
after becoming an eligible employee

» January 1 of the following year if you enroll during the annual open enroliment period

» The first day of the calendar month following the date you enroll, if you enroll within 30 days
following a qualified status change (as determined by your employer)

Note: You pay the entire monthly premium.

47 |Page


http://www.pebbinfo.com/
https://www.standard.com/eforms/16063_606717.pdf
https://www.standard.com/eforms/16063_606717.pdf

State of Oregon
Public Employees’ Benefit Board Summary Plan Description

Actively at Work Requirement

You must meet the Actively at Work Requirement for any coverage or increase in coverage to
become effective.

If you are incapable of Active Work because of Sickness, Injury or Pregnancy on the day before
the scheduled effective date of your insurance or an increase in your insurance, your insurance or
increase will not become effective until the day after you complete one full day of Active Work as
an eligible Member. Active Work and Actively at Work mean performing the material duties of your
own occupation at your Employer's usual place of business.

You will also meet the Active Work requirement if:
1. You were absent from Active Work because of a regularly scheduled day off, holiday, or
vacation day;
2. You were Actively at Work on your last scheduled work day before the date of your
absence; and
3. You were capable of Active Work.

Benefit Amount

The Standard pays benefits at the end of each month in which you qualify. When you apply for
coverage, you elect one of the following monthly benefits:

« An amount equal to 60 percent of the first $12,000 of your pre-disability earnings. The
monthly maximum benefit, before reduction by deductible income, is $7,200.

« An amount equal to 66 2/3 percent of the first $12,000 of your pre-disability earnings. The
monthly maximum benefit, before reduction by deductible income, is $8,000.

The monthly minimum benefit, after reduction by deductible income, is $50. Your monthly benefit
will be no less than $50 while you qualify.

If you are disabled for less than a full month, The Standard will pay you one-thirtieth (1/30) of the
benefit for each day of disability.

Note: If you initially elect the 60% benefit and later increase to the 66 2/3% benefit, The Standard
will apply a new pre-existing condition exclusion to the change. In this case, if you become
disabled and the increased benefit is not payable because of the new pre-existing condition
exclusion, The Standard will administer your claim as if you had not elected to change your benefit
percentage.
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Benefit Waiting Period

The benefit waiting period is the number of days for which you must remain continuously disabled
and during which benefits are not payable. When you apply for coverage, you elect a benefit
waiting period of either 90 or 180 days. If The Standard approves your claim, it will pay benefits
after the end of the benefit waiting period.

Note: If you initially elect a 180-day benefit waiting period and later reduce your benefit waiting
period to 90 days, The Standard will apply a new pre-existing condition exclusion. If you become
disabled and benefits are not payable because of the new pre-existing condition exclusion, The
Standard will administer your claim as if you had not elected to change your benefit waiting period.

Maximum Benefit Period

LTD benefits may continue during Disability up to the end of the maximum benefit period,
determined by your age when Disability begins. Please consult the Certificate of Insurance to
determine the maximum benefit period applicable to you.

Additional Benefits for Severely Disabled and Family Care Expenses
Please see the Certificate of Insurance for a description of the additional benefits available to you
under the Assisted Living Benefit and Family Care Expenses Adjustment provisions.

Definition of Disability

The Standard deems you disabled if, during the benefit waiting period and the next 24 months, you
are unable to perform with reasonable continuity the material duties of your own occupation as a
result of physical disease, injury, pregnancy or mental disorder.

Thereafter, The Standard deems you disabled if, as a result of physical disease, injury, pregnancy
or mental disorder, you are unable to perform with reasonable continuity the material duties of any
gainful occupation for which you are reasonably fitted by education, training and experience.

Return to Work Incentive

You may work for any employer while receiving LTD benefits, provided you meet the definition of
Disability described above. Earnings from work are used to reduce the amount of your LTD benefit,
as follows:

» During the first 12 months of working, your work earnings are used to reduce the LTD
benefit to the extent that they exceed 100% of your pre-disability earnings when added to
your gross LTD benefit.

» Thereafter, your LTD benefit is reduced by one-half of your work earnings.

Rehabilitation Plan

You may apply to participate in a Rehabilitation Plan by submitting a form or letter to The
Standard. If they approved your Rehabilitation Plan, The Standard may reimburse you for some or

49 |Page


https://www.standard.com/eforms/16063_606717.pdf
https://www.standard.com/eforms/16063_606717.pdf
https://www.standard.com/eforms/16063_606717.pdf
https://www.standard.com/eforms/16063_606717.pdf

State of Oregon
Public Employees’ Benefit Board Summary Plan Description

all of the following expenses you incur in connection with the plan, including training and education
expenses; family care expenses; job-related expenses; job search expenses.

Reasonable Accommodation Benefit

If you return to work in any occupation for any employer (not including self-employment) because
of a workplace accommodation made by the employer, The Standard will reimburse the employer
for the expenses incurred, up to an amount agreed upon in advance and in writing.

Temporary Recovery

If you temporarily recover and then become disabled again from the same cause or causes, you
will not be required to serve a new benefit waiting period, provided the period of recovery does not
exceed the following applicable periods:

» During the benefit waiting period: a total equal to 5 days for every 30 days of the benefit
waiting period
» During the maximum benefit period: 180 days for each period of recovery

Benefits will resume as if no break in coverage had occurred (the pre-disability earnings used to
determine your LTD benefit remain the same, and the maximum benefit period, own occupation
period and maximum period for benefits under the Mental Disorder limitation will be reduced by the
previous period or periods of Disability).

Pre-disability Earnings
Pre-disability earnings are your monthly earnings from the State of Oregon in effect on the last full
day of active work, and include:

» Salary

» Grant assistance wages ¢ Stipends

« Contributions you make through a salary reduction agreement with your employer to an IRC
Section 401(k), 403(b) or 457 deferred compensation arrangement, or an executive
nonqualified deferred compensation arrangement

* Amounts contributed to fringe benefits according to salary reduction agreements under an
IRC Section 125 plan

Pre-disability earnings exclude bonuses; overtime pay; your employer’s contribution to a deferred
compensation arrangement or pension plan; your state-paid benefit amounts in excess of your
premiums for medical insurance, dental insurance and the first $50,000 of group life insurance; or
any other extra compensation.

If you are paid hourly, pre-disability earnings are determined by multiplying your hourly pay rate by
the average number of hours you worked per month during the preceding three calendar months
(or during your period of employment if less than three months), but not more than 173 hours.
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Deductible Income
The following amounts will be considered deductible income, and used to reduce the amount of
your LTD benefit:
« Work earnings, as described in the Return To Work Incentive
» Sick pay or other salary continuation (including donated leave) paid to you by your
Employer, but not including vacation pay

» Amounts for which you are eligible under a workers’ compensation law or similar law

« Amounts you, your spouse, or your children under age 18 are eligible to receive because of
your disability or retirement under the Federal Social Security Act or any similar plan or act

* Amounts you are eligible to receive under any state disability income benefit law or similar
law

* Amounts you are eligible to receive because of your disability under any other group
insurance coverage

+ Disability or retirement benefits you are eligible to receive under your employer’s retirement
plan, including PERS, STRS and any plan arranged and maintained by a union or employee
association for the benefit of its members

If any of these plans has two or more payment options, the option which comes closest to providing
you a monthly income for life with no survivors’ benefit will be Deductible Income, even if you
choose a different option.

» For employees of the Oregon University System, benefits you are eligible to receive under
an employer-sponsored individual disability policy arranged for individuals in a common
group

» Amounts received by compromise, settlement or other method as a result of a claim for the
above, whether disputed or undisputed

Survivors Benefit
If you die while receiving LTD benefits, a lump sum benefit equal to 3 times your LTD benefit
(before reduction by deductible income) will be paid to the first of the following eligible survivors:
* Your spouse or domestic partner
» Your children under age 24 who meet the terms of eligibility outlined in the PEBB Oregon
Administrative Rules (OARS)

* Your spouse or Domestic Partner’s children under age 24 who meet the terms of eligibility
outlined in the PEBB Oregon Administrative Rules (OARSs)

» Any person providing care and support for any of the above

* A spouse is a person to whom you are legally married. A domestic partner is a person who
meets the eligibility requirements outlined in the PEBB Oregon Administrative Rules (OARS)

Exclusions and Limitations

You are not covered for a disability caused or contributed to by:
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» An intentionally self-inflicted injury, while sane or insane

» A Preexisting Condition. A Preexisting Condition is a mental or physical condition for which,
during the 90 days immediately preceding the date you became insured, you consulted a
physician, received medical treatment or services, or took prescribed drugs or medications.
This exclusion will not apply to a Disability which begins after you have been insured under
the group policy for 12 months and have been actively at work for at least one day after
those 12 months

Note: A new Preexisting Condition exclusion will apply to an increase in benefit percentage and/or
decrease in benefit waiting period.

No LTD benefits will be paid for any period:
* You are not under the on-going care of a physician
* You are confined for any reason in a penal or correctional institution

Mental Disorder Limitation: Payment of LTD benefits will be limited to 24 months for each period of
continuous Disability caused or contributed to by a mental disorder. However, if you are confined in
a hospital* at the end of the 24 months, this limitation will not apply while you are continuously
confined.

*Hospital includes only legally operated hospitals providing full-time medical care and treatment
under the direction of a full-time staff of licensed physicians. Hospital does not include rest homes,
nursing homes, and convalescent homes, homes for the aged or facilities primarily affording
custodial, educational, or rehabilitative care.

When LTD Benefits End

LTD benefits will end on the earliest of the following dates:
+ The date you are no longer disabled
» The end of the maximum benefit period
* The date you die

+ The date benefits become payable to you under any other group long term disability
insurance policy under which you become insured during a period of temporary recovery

» The date you fail to provide proof on continued Disability and entitlement to LTD benefits

When Coverage Ends
Your Long-Term Disability coverage ends automatically on the earliest of the following dates:
» The date the last period ends for which a premium was paid for your coverage

+ The date you cease to meet the terms of eligibility outlined in the PEBB Administrative
Rules

» The last day of the calendar month in which your employment terminates
» The date you become a full-time member of the armed forces
« The date the group policy terminates
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Claims

To file a claim, please call The Standard at (800) 242-1888. You can find more information about
filing a claim, including what information you will need to provide, on the Frequently Asked
Questions document.

The Standard may:
* Investigate your claim at any time
» Have you examined at reasonable intervals by specialists of their choice

» Deny or suspend benefits if you fail to attend an examination or cooperate with the
examiner

You will receive a written decision on your claim within a reasonable time after The Standard
receives your claim. If you do not receive their decision within 90 days, you can request a review
as if your claim had been denied.

If The Standard denies any part of your claim, you will receive a written notice of denial containing

the reasons for their decision, reference to the parts of the group policy supporting their decision, a
description of any additional information needed to support your claim, and information concerning
your right to a review of their decision.

If you want The Standard to conduct a review of denial of all or part of your claim, you must
request the review in writing within 180 days after you receive notice of the denial. When you
request a review, you may include written comments or other items to support your claim. You also
may review any nonprivileged information that relates to your request for review. The Standard will
review your claim promptly after receiving your request. The Standard will send you a notice of the
final decision within 45 days after receiving your request, or within 90 days if special circumstances
require an extension. This notice will state the reasons for the decision and refer you to the
relevant parts of the group policy that support the decision.

Monthly Premium Rates
Monthly premiums can be found on the PEBB website at: www.pebbinfo.com

This insurance may replace a portion of your monthly income should you become disabled. You
must self-pay for this coverage; the state does not provide a benefit amount for this benefit.

Accidental Death and Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance

This subsection summarizes the group Optional Accidental Death and Dismemberment (AD&D)
insurance plan available through PEBB. It is a summary only. For full details, see the Certificate of
Insurance. The controlling provisions of the plan are in the group policy issued by Standard
Insurance Company. The information presented in this summary and in the Certificate of Insurance
in no way modifies that group policy or the insurance coverage.
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Eligibility for Coverage

To be eligible for Optional Accidental Death and Dismemberment (AD&D) insurance, you must be
an active employee of the State of Oregon who is regularly scheduled to work and who meets the
terms of eligibility outlined in the PEBB Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs).

Dependents eligible for coverage are:
* Spouse: A person to whom you are legally married
* Domestic Partner: A domestic partner who meets the eligibility requirements outlined in the
PEBB Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs)

» Child: Your child or your spouse’s or domestic partner’s child who meets the eligibility
requirements outlined in the PEBB Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs)

Employees and dependents who are full-time members of the armed forces of any country are not
eligible for coverage.

Amounts of Optional AD&D Insurance

Optional AD&D Insurance for you:
You may apply for any multiple of $50,000 up to $500,000. Enroliment is either for employee only
or for employee & eligible dependents.

Optional AD&D Insurance for your Spouse or Domestic Partner and Children:
If you elect employee and dependent coverage, the AD&D insurance amounts for each of your
dependents is equal to a percentage of your AD&D insurance amount, determined as follows:
 If on the date your spouse or domestic partner dies or suffers a loss you do not have any
eligible children, your spouse’s or domestic partner's AD&D insurance amount is 50 percent
of your AD&D insurance amount
 If on the date your spouse or domestic partner dies or suffers a loss and you have both a
spouse or domestic partner and eligible children, your spouse or domestic partner's AD&D
insurance amount is 40 percent of your AD&D insurance amount
+ If your eligible child dies or suffers a loss, the child’s AD&D insurance amount is 15 percent
of your AD&D insurance amount

Covered Losses

With Optional AD&D insurance, benefits are payable in the event of an employee’s or insured
dependent’s death or covered loss resulting from an accident. The amount payable is a
percentage of the AD&D insurance amount in effect for the person who suffers the loss on the date
of the accident.

The loss must occur due to an accident (or accidental exposure to the natural elements),
independently of all other causes, and within 365 days after the accident.
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If you or your dependent disappears in an accident that could have caused loss of life and is not
located within one year despite reasonable search efforts, death will be presumed.

Additional Benefits
The AD&D coverage includes the following additional benefits when an AD&D insurance benefit is
payable:

» Seat Belt Benefit

* Higher Education Benefit

+ Career Adjustment Benefit

* Occupational Assault Benefit
* Public Transportation Benefit
* Line of Duty Benefit

Please see the AD&D Certificate of Insurance for more information about these benefits.

Effective Date of Coverage - Coverage for Employee and Dependents

Your AD&D Insurance becomes effective on the first day of the calendar month following the date
you enroll, provided you apply within 30 days after becoming an eligible employee. If you wish to
enroll for employee and dependent coverage, you must apply within 30 days after becoming an
eligible employee with eligible dependents.

If you do not enroll within 30 days after becoming eligible, you may enroll only during the annual
open enrollment period or within 30 days following a qualified status change, as determined by
your employer. The effective date of coverage for which you enroll during the annual open
enrollment period is the following January 1. The effective date of coverage for which you enroll
following a qualified status change is the first day of the calendar month following the date you
enroll.

You pay the entire cost of coverage. While employee and dependent coverage is in effect, each
new dependent becomes insured automatically.

Actively at Work Requirement

You must meet the Actively at Work Requirement for any coverage or increase in coverage to
become effective. If you are incapable of Active Work because of Sickness, Injury or Pregnancy on
the day before the scheduled effective date of your insurance or an increase in your insurance,
your insurance or increase will not become effective until the day after you complete one full day of
Active Work as an eligible Member. Active Work and Actively at Work mean performing the
material duties of your own occupation at your Employer’s usual place of business.
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You will also meet the Active Work requirement if:
1. You were absent from Active Work because of a regularly scheduled day off, holiday, or
vacation day;
2. You were Actively at Work on your last scheduled work day before the date of your
absence; and
3. You were capable of Active Work

Designating a Beneficiary

When you enroll for coverage, you should name a beneficiary or beneficiaries to receive death
benefits. You may do this online or by completing the appropriate form. Your designation must be
dated and delivered to your employer during your lifetime. If you name more than one beneficiary,
they will share equally unless you specify otherwise. You may change beneficiaries at any time
without the consent of the beneficiary.

If you don’t name a beneficiary or your named beneficiary dies before you, death benefits will be
paid in equal shares to the first surviving of the following: your spouse; your children; your
parents; your estate.

Benefits payable for losses other than loss of life are paid to the person suffering the loss. You are
the beneficiary of benefits paid due to the death of your spouse, domestic partner or child.

Payment of Benefits

For amounts less than $25,000, The Standard issues a check to the claimant. The Standard pays
amounts of $25,000 or more to the claimant by depositing funds into Standard Secure Access — a
no fee, interest bearing draft account. The claimant receives a personalized checkbook and has
complete control of the account. Claimants can write checks as needed or for the full amount. This
arrangement allows claimants to earn interest on the benefit while they consider financial
decisions.

Exclusions
AD&D insurance benefits are not payable for death or dismemberment caused or contributed to
by:
» War or act of war, declared or undeclared, whether civil or international, and any substantial
armed conflict between organized forces of a military nature
+ Suicide or other intentionally self-inflicted injury while sane or insane

+ Committing or attempting to commit an assault or felony, or actively participating in a violent
disorder or riot (except while performing official duties)

» Voluntary use or consumption of any poison, chemical compound or drug, unless used or
consumed according to the directions of a physician

« Sickness or pregnancy existing at the time of the accident
* Heart attack or stroke
* Medical or surgical treatment for any of the above

56 |Page



State of Oregon
Public Employees’ Benefit Board Summary Plan Description

» Travel or flight in or descent from any kind of aircraft, as a pilot or crew member, except in
employer owned, leased or operated aircraft while on state business

When Coverage Ends
AD&D insurance ends automatically on the earliest of the following:
» The date the last period ends for which a premium was paid for coverage
» The last day of the calendar month in which your employment terminates
+ The date you cease to meet the terms of eligibility outlined in the PEBB Oregon
Administrative Rules (OARS)
* The date you become a full-time member of the armed forces
+ The date the group policy terminates

ADA&D insurance for your spouse or domestic partner and children ends automatically on the
earliest of the following:

» The date the last period ends for which a premium was paid for the coverage

» The date your AD&D insurance ends

+ The last day of the month in which a dependent loses eligibility under the PEBB plans

» For a child who is disabled, 90 days after we mail you a request for proof of disability, if
proof is not given

Claims

A person wishing to make a claim must, at the claimant’s expense, submit to The Standard proof
that a death or other loss occurred, and any other information The Standard may reasonably
require in support of the claim. The Standard may have you or your dependents examined by a
specialist of The Standard’s choice at reasonable intervals. The Standard may have an autopsy
performed at The Standard’s expense, except where prohibited by law.

The claimant will receive a written decision on the claim within a reasonable time after The
Standard receives the claim. If the claimant does not receive a decision from The Standard within
90 days, the claimant can request a review as if the claim had been denied.

If The Standard denies any part of the claim, the claimant will receive a written notice of denial
containing the reasons for the decision, reference to the parts of the group policy supporting the
decision, a description of any additional information needed to support the claim, and information
concerning the claimant’s right to a review of the decision.

If the claimant would like The Standard to conduct a review of the denial, the claimant must
request the review in writing within 60 days after receiving notice of the denial. When requesting a
review, the claimant may send The Standard written comments or other items to support the claim.
The claimant also may review any non-privileged information that relates to the request for review.
The Standard will review the claim promptly after receiving the request. They will send the claimant
a notice of their final decision within 60 days after receiving the request for review, or within 120

57 |Page



State of Oregon
Public Employees’ Benefit Board Summary Plan Description

days if special circumstances require an extension. In the notice they will state the reasons for their
decision and refer to the relevant parts of the group policy that support their decision.

Monthly Premium Rates
Monthly premiums can be found on the PEBB website at: www.pebbinfo.com

Flexible Spending

PEBB offers healthcare and dependent care flexible spending accounts (FSAs) for eligible
employees.

FSAs

An FSA is a tax-free account that allows you to use pre-tax dollars to pay for eligible out-of-pocket
healthcare or dependent care expenses. You choose an annual amount to contribute to your
account, and your payroll deducts your salary contribution before calculating your taxes. Paying for
eligible expenses with these pre-tax dollars saves money.

Here are things you should know about these accounts.

» FSAs operate according to IRS regulations

* FSAs are subject to non-discrimination testing

» Enrollment in an FSA terminates at the end of each plan year. To have an FSA in the
following plan year, you must actively enroll before the start of the new plan year. Generally,
this enrollment occurs during the Open Enrollment period

» When you enroll, you enroll for the entire plan year. Your enrollment is irrevocable except
for limited situations so you should plan accordingly

* You may change your contribution amount midyear only within 30 days of a qualified
midyear change event

* You forfeit any funds that you don’t use and claim for valid expenses by the end of the grace
period (use it or lose it)

« There are no refunds of contributions without an eligible expense

« There are no transfer of monies from one account to another.

* Your payroll will deduct even portions of your annual election amount each month over the
course of the year. You can only have one contribution per month to your FSA account

» Expenses for a Domestic Partner cannot be reimbursed

» The Health Care and Dependent Care FSA period of coverage is the plan year (calendar
year 12 months). PEBB has a Grace Period plan which allows the previous plan year
contributions to be used through March 15 of the following plan year. Claims must be filed
by March 31 or the previous plan year funds will be forfeited

« If you terminate participation mid plan year you can claim reimbursement only for the time
period you were an active participant. Active participation in an FSA ends the last day of the
month in which the last contribution is deducted by payroll for that month
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a. If you are an Oregon State Payroll System employee and you terminate employment you
will not have a contribution taken from your final paycheck
b. If you are an employee of an Oregon University and you terminate employment and you
meet the 80-hour work termination rule you will have a contribution taken from your final
paycheck Reimbursement of eligible expenses may occur only for the period of
coverage (including the grace period) in which your participation was active, provided
the claim is filed by the claims deadline (March 31). The exception is a dependent care
FSA from which you request reimbursement of expenses: 1) incurred in the month
following the end of participation, 2) in the current plan year (not the grace period) and 3)
made within 90 days of the participation end date
* You cannot use your FSA funds as reimbursement for expenses you incur after you leave
employment with the state. The exception is a health care FSA, which you may be eligible
to continue by enrolling in COBRA
» The FSA administrator may require additional documentation for a submitted claim to be in
accordance with IRS regulations

PEBB contracts with ASIFlex to administer the FSA program under PEBB Oregon Administrative
Rules (OARs) and in keeping with IRS code.

Healthcare Flexible Spending Account (HCFSA)

A Healthcare Flexible Spending account is an allowable benefit of a Cafeteria Plan as defined in
Section 125 of the Internal Revenue Code. It permits eligible employees to contribute pre-tax to an
account for reimbursement of certain healthcare expenses. Deductions from your paycheck to the
plan are exempt from federal and state income tax and Social Security tax. These deductions
reduce your taxable income reported on your W-2 and on your income tax returns. Note that
reducing your taxable income may have the effect of reducing your total Social Security benefit
earnings.

You may elect to have up to an annual maximum of $3,050 for the calendar year deducted from
your pay during the year. The minimum monthly contribution amount is $20.00.

Claims Administrator

ASIFlex administers claims for PEBB’s healthcare flexible spending account program. The
customer service department is open from 5 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time, Monday through Friday,
and from 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. on Saturday. Contact: (800) 659-3035; TTY (866) 908-6043; fax (877-
879-9038); email asi@asiflex.com. Website http://asiflex.com/orpebb/

Mailing Address: Physical Address:
ASIFlex ASIFlex

PO Box 6044 201 W. Broadway #4C
Columbia, MO 65203 Columbia, MO 65203
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To Participate:

1. Estimate your family’s annual out-of-pocket medical expenses. You may include
expenses for your spouse, your tax dependents, and your adult child (ren) who have not
reached age 26. Include predictable expenses only. Divide your annual out-of-pocket
medical expense estimate by the number of months you expect to receive paychecks during
the Plan Year.

2. Enroll in the healthcare FSA. Enroll online during Open Enrollment or by submitting a
paper form to PEBB. If you become eligible to enroll midyear submit your forms to PEBB.

3. Receive healthcare services. You incur an expense when you receive the services or
supplies that create the expense. You can file a claim for healthcare services only after you
receive the services.

4. File claims. After you receive the healthcare services and know the amount of your
responsibility for the bill, submit a claim (with required substantiation) for those expenses to
ASIFlex, the plan administrator. See the ASIFlex web site for additional information about
eligible reimbursements.

5. Receive reimbursements. ASIFlex will review your claim. If ASIFlex approves the claim,
ASIFlex will reimburse you for the healthcare expenses within one to three business days of
receipt of the claim.

Qualifying Healthcare Expenses include only those expenses that are defined as medical
expenses in Internal Revenue Code §213 and are not reimbursed by any other insurance or
another plan. As stated in §213, qualifying Medical Care Expenses include amounts incurred for
the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease, and for treatments affecting
any part or function of the body. The expenses must be primarily to alleviate or prevent a physical
or mental defect or iliness. All insurance premiums, long-term care expenses, and cosmetic
expenses are not eligible for reimbursement.

Refer to IRS Publication 502 for further details on qualifying expenses. This publication is
accessible via ASIFlex’s Website. The purpose of Publication 502 is to assist people with income
tax filing. The publication does not address healthcare flexible spending account plans. However,
most of the items listed as deductible in Publication 502 can be claimed through your healthcare
FSA. You cannot deduct on your income tax return expenses reimbursed by the healthcare flexible
spending account plan. You cannot file for healthcare FSA expense reimbursements for expenses
you deduct on your income tax return or reimbursed by a third party (including other insurance
plans).

You can only claim expenses based on the date incurred or date of service (not “paid” as
stated in IRS Publication 502). Contact ASIFlex at: http://asiflex.com/orpebb/ (800) 659-3035 if
you have any questions regarding particular expenses.
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Debit Card

The FSA administrator, ASIFlex, offers a debit card for use in the healthcare flexible spending
account program. Use of this debit card may reduce the amount of paperwork required in
substantiating some claims. The card does not eliminate the need to substantiate all claims. There
is no cost to you for the card. You will receive two cards. Additional or replacement cards are $5
per set, billed to your account. See the ASIFlex website at http://asiflex.com/orpebb/

Coverage Continuation

COBRA. To the extent required by COBRA, participants may continue the Health Care FSA under
COBRA if there is a positive balance in the account. Contributions made under COBRA are post
tax. Continuation of coverage will not extend beyond the end of the current Plan year or Grace
Period. Continuation of coverage may terminate earlier if the premiums are not paid.

Payment for expenses incurred during any period of continuation will not be made until the
administrator receives the contributions for that period. An administrative charge of two percent is
assessed for each premium paid for continuation coverage.

FMLA Leave: Employees approved for a Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) may continue their
FSA during the leave if the employee and agency agree to one of the following options for
employee contribution.

Prepay — The employee is given the opportunity to prepay their share due during the leave period
before the leave beings. Submit a request for the prepay option to PEBB. The prepay option
cannot be the sole option offered to employees on approved protected leave.

Pay as you go — The employee pays the cost of coverage in installments during the leave.

Contributions are paid with after-tax dollars or with pre-tax dollars to the extent that the employee
receives compensation (e.g. unused sick or vacation days) during the leave.

Catch-up — The employer and employee agree in advance that the employer will advance payment
of the employee’s share of the contribution during the leave and the employee will repay the
advance amounts when the employee returns to work.
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QRD - Qualified Reservist Distribution

Conditions. You must meet the following conditions to elect a qualified reservist distribution (QRD)
from your healthcare flexible spending account (FSA):
* You have made contributions to your FSA that exceed plan-year reimbursements on the
date of your QRD request.

* You are ordered or called to active military duty for a period of at least 180 days or for an
indefinite period by reason of being a member of the Army National Guard of the United
States, the Army Reserve, the Navy Reserve, the Marine Corps Reserve, the Air National
Guard of the United States, the Air Force Reserve, the Coast Guard Reserve, or the
Reserve Corps of the Public Health Service.

* You have provided the Administrator with a copy of the order or call to active duty. An order
or call to active duty of less than 180 days’ duration must be supplemented by subsequent
calls or orders to reach a total of 180 or more days.

* You are ordered or called to active military duty on or after the beginning of the plan year
that began January 1, 2009.

* You submit to the Administrator a QRD election form during the period beginning on the
date of your order or call to active duty and ending on the last day of the Plan Year (or grace
period) during which the order or call occurred. For example, if you are called to active duty
on September 13, 2019, you must request the QRD between September 13, 2019, and
March 31, 2020 (for the 2019 plan year only).

Amount. If you meet these conditions, you will receive a QRD equal to your plan-year
contributions to your FSA as of the date of your request, minus any reimbursements you already
received as of that date. Example: You elected FSA benefits of $1,000 for the plan year. During
the first six months of the plan year, you make FSA contributions of $500 and receive
reimbursements of $200 for substantiated medical care expenses. If you request a QRD upon
being called to active duty for an indefinite period on June 30, you would receive a distribution of
$300.

Further Reimbursement and Account Status. \When you request a QRD, you forfeit the right to
receive reimbursements for medical care expenses incurred during the period that begins on the
date of your request and ends on the last day of the plan year. Your FSA terminates as of the date
you request a QRD.

Tax Treatment. Your QRD will be included in your gross income and will be reported as wages on
your Form W-2 for the year in which it is paid to you.

Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account (DCFSA)

A Dependent Care Flexible Spending Account (FSA) is an allowable benefit of a Cafeteria Plan as
defined in Section 125 of the Internal Revenue Code. It permits eligible employees to contribute
pre-tax to an account for reimbursement of certain dependent care expenses provided to a
qualifying individual by a qualified provider. A Dependent Care FSA is not used for Health Care
reimbursement.
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A qualifying individual is:
* Your dependent who is under the age of 13 who lives with you at least one half of the year
* Your spouse or an older dependent who is mentally or physically incapable of self-care who

resides with you for more than one half of the year and is a qualifying child or relative under
Section 152 of the IRS Code

A qualified provider can provide care in your home or outside your home. If the care is
provided outside your home by a facility that cares for more than five individuals, it must be
licensed by the state. The expenses may not be paid to your spouse, a child of yours who is under
the age of 19 at the end of the year in which the expenses are incurred, or to an individual for
whom you or your spouse is entitled to a personal tax exemption as a dependent.

Deductions from your paycheck to the plan are exempt from federal and state income tax and
Social Security tax. These deductions reduce your taxable income reported on your W-2 and on
your income tax returns. Note that reducing your taxable income may have the effect of reducing
your total Social Security benefit earnings.

You may contribute up to $5,000 per year to a dependent care flexible spending account if you are
married and filing jointly. The minimum monthly contribution is $20.00. If you and your spouse (not
Domestic Partner) both contribute to an account, your combined yearly contribution maximum
may not exceed $5,000.

You may contribute up to $2,500 per year if you to a dependent care flexible spending account if
you are single, or married filing separately. The minimum monthly contribution is $20.00.

A dependent care flexible spending account is an alternative to taking a tax credit allowed with
your tax filing each year. You may receive a tax break on your expenses, but you must choose
whether to use the tax credit or the dependent care flexible spending account. The IRS will not
allow you to receive two tax breaks on the same expenses.

Generally, employees with a higher income have a higher percentage tax break through the
dependent care flexible spending account. Contact your tax advisor if you have questions about
which is best for you.

Claims Administrator

ASIFlex is the claims administers for PEBB’s Dependent Care Flexible Spending account program.
The customer service department is open from 5 a.m. to 5 p.m. Pacific Time, Monday through
Friday, and from 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. on Saturday. Contact: (800) 659-3035; TTY (866) 908-6043; fax
(866) 381-9682; email asi@asiflex.com
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Mailing Address: Physical Address:
ASIFlex ASIFlex

PO Box 6044 201 W. Broadway #4C
Columbia, MO 65203 Columbia, MO 65203

To Participate:

1. Estimate your total dependent care expenses for the Plan Year. Include predictable
expenses only. Divide your yearly dependent care expenses estimate by the number of
months you expect to receive paychecks during the Plan Year.

2. Enroll in the dependent care flexible spending account. Enroll online during Open
Enrollment or by submitting a paper form to PEBB. If you become eligible to enroll midyear
submit the form to PEBB.

3. Receive Dependent care services. You incur expenses when you receive the services
that create the expense. You can file a claim for dependent care services only after you
receive the services.

4. File claims. After you have received the dependent care services, submit a claim for those
expenses (with required substantiation) to ASIFlex.

5. Receive reimbursements. ASIFlex will review your claim. If ASIFlex approves the claim, it
will reimburse you for the dependent care expenses within one to three business days of
receipt of the claim up to the amount you have on deposit in your account. If your claim
exceeds your available funds, ASIFlex will record the difference and will pay as funds
become available from payroll.

Commuter Accounts (Fringe Benefit)

Commuter Accounts are Fringe Benefit accounts to which employees can make a monthly
contribution through a pre-tax salary reduction. These accounts are regulated by the federal
Internal Revenue Code (IRC).

Commuter accounts allow employees to claim tax free reimbursement of certain employment-
related commuter expenses. Deductions from your paycheck to the account are exempt from
federal and state income tax, and Social Security tax. These deductions reduce your taxable
income reported on your W-2 and on your income tax returns. Note that reducing your taxable
income may have the effect of reducing your total Social Security benefit earnings.

The Commuter benefit includes two types of accounts: a Transportation account and a Parking
account. PEBB-enrolled employees may contribute to one or both accounts on a pretax basis to
pay for work-related commuting expenses. These accounts are administered by ASIFlex, a third
party administrator.

Here are things you should know about these accounts:
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« Commuter accounts operate according to IRS regulations

* Enrollment in a commuter account does not require annual enroliment during open
enrollment

* When you enroll, your enroliment will not terminate or change until you submit the request
for the change or termination of enroliment

* You may change your contribution amount at any time and does not require a qualified
midyear change

+ Changes are effective the first of the month following receipt of the midyear change form

« There are no refunds of contributions without an eligible expense

* There are no transfer of monies from one account to another

* You have 180 day window to use contributions before you forfeit remaining money in the
account

* Your payroll will deduct even portions of your annual election amount each month

+ Expenses for the year must be submitted before March 31 of the following plan year in order
to be eligible for reimbursement

+ Employees who terminate participation can claim reimbursement only for the time period
they were active participants:

a. Employee terminates employment — the employee has access to the account balance
only by submitting reimbursement requests for qualified claims that occurred before the
employment termination. The account forfeits 180 days after the employment termination
date

b. Employee ceases to contribute or cancels the account but remains an employee — the
account forfeits if no activity (contribution or claims), for 180 days. Reimbursement
request for qualified claims that occur after the monthly contribution ceases or
cancellation of the account are valid and will be paid

c. An Oregon State Payroll employee terminating employment will not have final
contribution taken from their final paycheck

d. An employee of an Oregon University terminating employment who meets the 80 hour
work termination rule will have a contribution taken from their final paycheck

PEBB contracts with ASIFlex to administer the Commuter Fringe Benefits program under PEBB
Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs) and in keeping with IRS code.

Eligibility and Accounts

All active employees enrolled in PEBB benefits are eligible for these accounts. The accounts are
employee-only accounts. Two types of accounts are available: Transportation and Parking. You
may enroll in one or both.

Transportation Account
This is a pretax account to pay for work-related commuting expenses for bus, ferry, rail, monorail,
streetcar, train, subway or vanpooling expenses. (If you purchase vouchers through payroll,
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DO NOT enroll in this account. Your agency deducts the fees for vouchers pre-tax each
month from your paycheck.)

The maximum monthly contribution amount to the Transportation Account is $300.
The account reimburses for the following qualified expenses:

+ Transit Pass Expenses. These are expenses incurred for a pass, token, fare card,
voucher, or similar item for transportation using Mass Transit Facilities. These include
public or commercial facilities. Commercial facilities are those provided by any person in
the business of transporting persons for compensation or hire if such transportation is
provided in a vehicle with a seating capacity of at least six adults (excluding the driver).

« Commuter Highway Vehicle (Vanpool) expenses. The transportation must be in
connection with travel between your residence and place of employment. A commuter
highway vehicle is any highway vehicle with a seating capacity of at least six adults (not
including the drive). At least 80% of the mileage must be for purposes of transporting
employees in connection with travel between the employees’ residences and the
employees’ places of employment. The number of employees transported for such
purposes must be, on average, at least half of the adult seating capacity of the vehicle.

Parking Account
(If you park in a state parking lot, DO NOT enroll in this account for your monthly state
parking lot fee. Your agency deducts state lot fees pre-tax each month from your paycheck.)
This is a pretax account to pay for certain parking expenses incurred to work. The expenses are
those for parking at the following:

» At or near the business premise of your employer

* Alocation from which to commute to work by mass transit facilities or commuter highway

vehicle (carpool)

The maximum monthly contribution amount to the Parking Account is $300. State parking lot fees
are deducted pretax from the employee’s monthly pay. The Commuter Parking account is not used
to pay the monthly state-parking fee.

Monthly Contribution Limits

The minimum monthly contribution is $20 for each account. The monthly maximum limits are set
each year by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and are subject to change, the Board reviews
and approves changes to the contribution amounts. The current maximum monthly contribution
amount is $300.

To estimate what you should contribute each month, review your expenses for commuting to and
from work in the previous year. Make note of what you spend on a regular monthly basis. You can
make changes to an existing account at any time during the year.
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Account Changes

You can enroll, change, or cancel your Commuter accounts at any time. You must submit a
Commuter account form to your agency changes are effective the first of the month following
receipt of the form.

Reimbursement

To be reimbursed for commuter expenses incurred or paid, submit a completed claim form along
with appropriate supporting documentation. See the ASIFlex website for forms and instructions:
http://asiflex.com/orpebb/.

IMPORTANT: All current year claims for reimbursement must be submitted by March 31 of
the following plan year, submission after that date will result in a claim denial. However,
unlike the FSA account Commuter funds do not forfeit and remain in your account and can be
used during the current year if your eligibility and the account eligibility continues. Always review
and adjust your monthly contribution amount if needed in order to avoid a loss.

* You can submit claims for reimbursement to ASIFlex via toll-free fax or mail.

» You cannot be reimbursed for more than the cash balance in your account.

* You may make changes and adjust future contributions to avoid having an excess balance.

» Expenses must be “incurred or paid” before being reimbursed. Reimbursement cannot be
made before the date an expense has been incurred or paid.

« Excess account balances will be carried over to the following month/year

* You can be reimbursed only for the monthly amount in effect during the timeframe you are
requesting reimbursement for.

ASIFlex Card (debit card): You can order an ASIFlex Card (debit card) for use with
Transportation accounts. In some cases, transportation expenses may require documentation;
ASIFlex will notify you when this is required. If you do not provide the documentation timely, the
card will be temporarily inactivated.
» If you are currently using an ASIFlex card in your health care FSA, ASIFlex will add the
transportation account to your existing benefit debit card. If you don’t have a health care
FSA, or do not have a health FSA card, you can order a transportation account card by
completing and submitting an order form. There is no cost to you for the card. You will
receive two cards. Additional or replacement cards are $5 per set, billed to your account.

End of plan year

Commuter accounts are a month-to-month benefit; there is no plan year. Commuter Accounts will
not terminate as long as they are “active” and do not require re-enrollment each year. You may
terminate your account by submitting a form to your agency or university benefits or payroll office.

67 |Page


http://asiflex.com/orpebb/
http://asiflex.com/orpebb/

State of Oregon
Public Employees’ Benefit Board Summary Plan Description

If six months lapse without making a contribution or submitting a reimbursement claim, any funds
in your account will be forfeited.

Terminating Employment

» If you terminate employment you have access to your Commuter funds for a limited time
(six months) for reimbursement of valid claims incurred while you were an active employee.

* The Internal Revenue Code (IRC) does not permit any funds remaining in your account to
be refunded. If you terminate employment your account cannot be refunded to you, unless
you file a claim for expenses incurred before you terminated employment.

IMPORTANT: You forfeit your account funds if six months lapse without a contribution
being made or a reimbursement claim processed.

Long Term Care Insurance
All Long Term Care insurance information can be found on UNUM'’s website at:
http.//Junuminfo.com/pebb/index.aspx

Plan Highlights/Schedule of Benefits

Your Long Term Care (LTC) insurance plan is described below.

Elimination Period: Your plan’s Elimination Period of 90 consecutive days is the amount of time
you must wait before benefits become payable. This time period must be satisfied only once during
the life of your plan.

Newly Hired Employees — Will have 60 days from date of hire to sign up for Guarantee Issue
coverage. Coverage is effective the first of the month following the date your Benefit Election Form
is received by PEBB. Guarantee Issue — As an Employee you are eligible for benefit amounts on
a guarantee Issue basis of up to and including $4,000 and a facility Benefit Duration of 3 or 6
years. Completion of the Benefit Election Form is required for enroliment. This does not require
completion of the Long Term Care Insurance Application (medical questionnaire) if you are
applying during your initial eligibility period.

Medical Underwriting Effective Date: The effective date for those applicants passing medical
underwriting is the first of the month following the approval into the plan.

Medical Underwriting means that you must answer all questions on a medical questionnaire. In
some cases, an interview may also be necessary.
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Delayed Effective Date — If you are absent from work because you are injured, sick, temporarily
laid off or on a leave of absence, your coverage will not begin on your otherwise expected effective
date.

Medical Underwriting for Employees and Family: (Completion of the Benefit Election Form is
required for enroliment) As an Employee you are eligible for benefit amounts on a Guarantee
Issue basis of up to and including $4,000 and a Facility Benefit Duration of 3 or 6 years. This does
not require completion of the Long-Term Care Insurance Application (medical questionnaire) if you
apply during your initial eligibility period. The Long-Term Care Insurance Application (medical
questionnaire) is required if enrolling after your initial eligibility period or if you choose to buy
$5,000, $6,000 or the Unlimited Duration coverage.

Spouses, Domestic Partners, Retirees and all Family Members must complete the Long-Term
Care Insurance Application (medical questionnaire) and must be approved for coverage in order to
enroll in the Long-Term Care plan. All Medical Questionnaires must accompany a signed
Authorization to request Medical Information Form #6720-03 located in the enrollment kit.

Lifetime Maximum: The Lifetime Maximum is the maximum benefit dollar amount UNUM will pay
over the life of your coverage. This dollar amount is based on the Facility Benefit Amount and
Benefit Duration. Example: If you choose $3,000 Facility Monthly Benefit Amount & 3 Year
Duration, your Lifetime Maximum is calculated as follows, $3,000 per Month X 12 Months X 3
Years = $108,000 Lifetime Maximum.

Insurance Age: Insurance Age is used to determine the cost of your coverage. Insurance Age is
your age on the plan effective date if you enroll for coverage prior to the plan effective date. If you
enroll for coverage on or after the plan effective date, insurance age is your age on the date you
sign the enrollment form.

Caution: [f you must complete an Application for Long Term Care Insurance which includes
evidence of insurability, the issuance of a long-term care insurance certificate will be
based on your response to the questions in your application. A copy of your
Application for Long Term Care Insurance was retained by you when you applied. If
your answers are incorrect or untrue, UNUM may have the right to deny benefits or
rescind your coverage. The best time to clear up any questions is now, before a claim
arises. If, for any reason, any of your answers are incorrect, contact UNUM at this
address: UNUM Life Insurance Company of America, 2211 Congress Street, Portland,
Maine 04122.

Notice to buyer: This plan may not cover all of the costs associated with long term care which you
may incur during the period of coverage. You are advised to review carefully all coverage
limitations.
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1. Outline of Coverage

This outline of coverage provides a brief description of the important features of the plan. You
should compare this outline of coverage to outlines of coverage for other plans available to you.

This is not an insurance contract, but only a summary of coverage. Only the Policy contains
governing contractual provisions. This means that the Policy sets forth in detail the rights and
obligations of both you and UNUM. Therefore, if you purchase this coverage, or any other
coverage, it is important that you read your certificate carefully.

2. This Policy is intended to be a qualified Long-Term Care insurance contract
under Section 7702B(b) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

3. Terms under which the certificate may be returned and premium refunded

* You have a right to examine the certificate for a period of 30 days. If, after examining the
certificate, you are not satisfied for any reason, you may withdraw your enroliment in the
plan by returning your certificate within 30 days of its delivery to you. The certificate,
together with a written request for withdrawal for an employee, an employee’s spouse, or
domestic partner must be sent to the employee’s payroll/benefit office. All other
applicants should send the certificate and written request to UNUM. Upon receipt, your
insurance will be deemed void from its effective date and any premium contribution(s)
paid will be returned.

* Premiums for additional, increased or terminated insurance may cause a pro-rata
adjustment on the next premium due date.

4. This is not Medicare supplement coverage

If you are eligible for Medicare, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare
available from UNUM. You may obtain a copy of the Guide by calling 1-800-227-4165. UNUM Life
Insurance Company of America is not representing Medicare, the federal government or any state
government.

5. Long term care coverage

Plans of this category are designed to provide coverage for one or more necessary or medically
necessary diagnostic, preventative, therapeutic, rehabilitative, maintenance or personal care
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services, provided in a setting other than an acute care unit of a hospital, such as in a nursing
home, in the community, or in the home.

This plan provides coverage in the form of a fixed dollar indemnity monthly benefit if you become
Disabled.

Coverage is subject to policy limitations, benefit maximums and elimination periods.
6. Benefits provided by the policy

You are eligible for a monthly benefit after:

* You become Disabled;

* You are receiving services in a Long-Term Care Facility or Assisted Living Facility/Adult
Foster Home; or Professional Home Care Services if your plan includes a Professional
Home Care Services benefit; or Total Home Care if your plan includes a Total Home
Care benefit;

* You have satisfied your Elimination Period, and;

* A Physician has certified that you are unable to perform, without Substantial Assistance
from another individual, two or more ADLs for a period of at least 90 days, or that you
require Substantial Supervision by another individual to protect you and others from
threats to health or safety due to Severe Cognitive Impairment. You will be required to
submit a Physician certification every 12 months.

A monthly benefit will become payable once all of these requirements are met.

The treatment and services you receive for your Disability must be provided pursuant to a
written plan of care developed by a Licensed Health Care Practitioner.

If you have an existing loss of ADLs or Severe Cognitive Impairment on your effective date of
coverage, that loss or impairment will only be eligible for coverage if you recover from that
loss or impairment. We must receive acceptable proof of your ADL or cognitive recovery, such
as a physician’s statement or an assessment.

The amount of your monthly benefit will be based on the coverage options you chose, and the
place of residence used for long term care. If your coverage includes Professional Home Care
Services, the benefit payment will be based on the number of days you receive these
services.

Adult Day Care means:
A community-based program offering health, social and related support services to impaired
adults. Adult Day Care can be provided by a Home Health Care Provider or an Adult Day
Care Facility.
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Adult Day Care Facility means a facility that operates under applicable state licensing laws
and any other laws that apply, or meets the following tests:
+ operates a minimum of 5 days a week;

* remains open for at least 6 hours a day;

» is not an overnight facility;

* maintains a written record of care on each patient;

* includes a plan of care and record of services provided;

» has a staff that includes a full-time director and at least one registered nurse who are
there during operating hours for at least 4 hours a day;

* has established procedures for obtaining appropriate aid in the event of a medical
emergency, and;

« provides a range of physical and social support services to adults.

Assisted Living Facility means:

* Aninstitution that is licensed by the appropriate licensing agency (if licensing is required)
to primarily engage in providing ongoing care and services to a minimum of 6 residents
in one location and operates under state licensing laws and any other laws that apply.

* Any other institution that meets all of the following tests:

o Provides 24 hour a day care, custodial services and personal care assistance to
support needs resulting from a disability;

o has an employee on duty at all times who is awake, trained and ready to provide
care;
Provides 3 meals a day, including special dietary requirements;
operates under applicable state licensing laws and any other laws that apply;

has formal arrangements for the services of a doctor or nurse to furnish medical care
in the event of an emergency;

o is authorized to administer medication to patients on the order of a doctor; and is not,
other than incidentally, a home for the mentally retarded, the mentally ill, the blind or
the deaf, a hotel or a home for alcoholics or drug abusers, or;

o a similar facility approved by UNUM.

For these purposes, an institution that meets the requirements is a Residential Care Facility or
Assisted Living Facility.

Adult Foster Home means:

» a family home or facility that is licensed by the appropriate licensing agency and is
primarily engaged in providing (1) room and board to 5 or fewer adults who are not
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related to the provider by blood or marriage; and (2) services that assist the resident in

daily activities, such as bathing, dressing, eating, medication management or money

management, or;

any other resident home that meets all of the following tests:

o has formal arrangements for the services of a doctor or nurse to furnish medical care
in the event of an emergency;

o provides 24 hour a day care, custodial services and personal care assistance to
support needs resulting from a disability;

o has an employee on duty at all times who is awake, trained and ready to provide

care;

provides 3 meals a day, including special dietary requirements;

operates under applicable state licensing law and any other laws that apply;

is authorized to administer medication to patients on the order of a doctor;

and is not, other than incidentally, a home for the mentally retarded, the mentally ill,

the blind or the deaf, a hotel or a home for alcoholics or drug abusers, or;

o a similar institution approved by UNUM.

O O O O

Disability and Disabled means you are unable to perform, without Substantial Assistance from
another individual, at least two Activities of Daily Living or you require Substantial Supervision by
another individual to protect you from threats to health and safety due to Severe Cognitive
Impairment.

Activities of Daily Living (ADL) are: Bathing, Dressing, Toileting, Transferring, Continence and

Eating.

The Elimination Period is the number of consecutive days during which you must continue to be
eligible for a monthly benefit before a benefit becomes payable.

Lifetime Maximum is the maximum that UNUM will pay you for all long-term care benefits. You
have your own Lifetime Maximum.

1. Limitations and exclusions

UNUM will not make long term care payments to you for:

a Disability caused by war (whether declared or not) or any act of war;
a Disability caused by attempted suicide (while sane or insane) or self-destruction;

a Disability caused by a commission of a crime for which you have been convicted under
state or federal law or attempting to commit a crime under state or federal law;
Disabilities or confinements during which you are outside the United States, its territories
or possessions for longer than 30 days;

a Disability caused by alcoholism or alcohol abuse;

a Disability caused by voluntary use of any controlled substance unless the controlled
substance is prescribed for you by a Physician. (“Controlled substance” is defined in
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Title 1l of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of 1970 and all
amendments);

« a period in which you are confined in a hospital other than if you are confined in a
nursing facility that is a distinctly separate part of a hospital (this exclusion does not
apply to those periods covered under the Bed Reservation Benefit), or;

+ a Disability caused by psychological or psychiatric or mental conditions, regardless of
cause, which include:

depression,

generalized anxiety disorders,

personality disorders,

schizophrenia,

manic depressive disorders, or,

adjustment disorders and other conditions that are usually treated by a mental

health provider or other qualified provider using psychotherapy, psychotropic

drugs or similar methods of treatment.

O O O O O O

However, UNUM will make payments to you for conditions that are not psychological, psychiatric
or mental in nature, including Alzheimer’s disease or similar forms of irreversible dementia.

Pre-existing Conditions Exclusion

If you do not have to complete an Application for Long Term Care Insurance, which
includes evidence of insurability, a pre-existing conditions exclusion may apply to you.

Pre-Existing Condition means any condition that exists for which you received medical treatment,
consultation, care or services, including diagnostic measures for the condition, or took drugs or
medicines that were prescribed for the condition, during the six-month period right before your
coverage began.

UNUM will not make any payments to you for a Disability that is caused by, contributed to by, or
results from a pre-existing condition, and begins during the first six months after your coverage
begins.

This plan may not cover all the expenses associated with your long-term care needs.

2. Relationship of cost of care and benefits

Because the costs of long-term care services will likely increase over time, you should
consider whether and how the benefits of this plan may be adjusted.

» Cost. The premium rate paid for your coverage over the duration of your initial coverage
or for any increases is based on your insurance age.
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« Election to increase coverage. You can apply at any time to increase coverage by
filling out a new Benefit Election Form and a Long-Term Care/Evidence of Insurability
Application.

3. Terms under which the group coverage through the plan may be
continued in force or discontinued

Renewability. The policy is guaranteed renewable. This means you have the right, subject
to the terms of the policy, to continue this coverage as long as you pay your premiums on
time. UNUM cannot change any of the terms of the policy on its own except that, in the
future, it may increase the premium you pay

When coverage will end. Your coverage will end on the earliest of these dates:

+ the date the Policy ends,

+ the date you are no longer an Active Employee with the Policyholder,

» the date you no longer work for the Policyholder,

« the end of the period for which premiums were last paid to UNUM for your coverage,
» the date your total benefit payments equal your Lifetime Maximum Amount, or,

+ the date you die.

If you are absent from work at the Policyholder for any reason, you will continue to be covered for
group coverage if the Policyholder continues to pay premiums to UNUM.

Converted coverage. If your group long term care coverage ends, for reasons other than your
choice to have premium payments stopped for your coverage, you may elect converted coverage.
This means that the same coverage you had under this plan can continue on a direct billed basis.
If you are already direct billed, your coverage will automatically transfer to converted coverage.
Election for converted coverage must be made within 60 days of the date the group coverage
would otherwise end. Any premium that applies must be paid directly to UNUM by you for any
converted coverage to be continued.

Premium waiver. When benefits become payable, there will be no more cost for your coverage as
long as you continue to be eligible for a monthly benefit. If your plan includes Professional Home
Care Services and you do not receive these services for a period of 30 consecutive days, premium
payments will again become due. Premiums are not waived while you are receiving a payment for
Respite Care.

Right to Change Premiums. The rate will not increase because you grow older or because of your
use of the benefits. However, the rate schedule may change in the future depending on the overall
use of the benefits of all covered persons or changes in the benefit levels, plan design or other risk
factors.

Any such change will be made on a class basis according to UNUM’s underwriting risk studies
under this type of insurance.
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Premium
Premiums are based on the plan design selected and the insurance age of each enrolled
person. UNUM may change the premium rates when the terms of the policy are changed.

Additional features

* Medical underwriting may be required
+ Eligibility and Participation

You are eligible for the plan if you are an Active or Retired employee of the Policyholder,
spouses, domestic partners and your family members.

For a definition of and additional information for:

Professional Home Care Services,

Respite Care, Severe Cognitive Impairment, Substantial Assistance, Substantial
Supervision, Alzheimer’s disease and other organic brain disorders see the certificate at
www.pebbinfo.com under plan documents or http://unuminfo.com/pebb/index.aspx.

Questions and rate information: 1-800-227-4165;
http://unuminfo.com/pebb/index.aspx
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SECTION 6: PLAN ADMINISTRATION

Administrator Responsibilities
The plan administrator administers the plan in accordance with its terms for the exclusive benefit of
participants and their covered spouses, domestic partners and eligible dependents.

The plan administrator has authority to interpret or construe ambiguous, unclear or implied terms in
the plan, make any findings of fact or law needed in the administration of the plan, determine
eligibility of employees and employee’ eligible dependents to participate in the plan and to receive
benefits, and control and manage the operation and administration of the plan. This includes the
authority to do the following:

» Establish the method of accounting and to maintain accounts under the plan;

» Prescribe any forms to administer the plan;

+ Make and enforce rules (Oregon Administrative Rule Chapter 101) and regulations needed
to implement and administer the plan;

» Appoint individuals to assist in the administration of the plan;

* Furnish administrative reports to the participating employer;

» Provide information required by law to employees, governmental agencies, or other persons
entitled to benefits under the plan;

* Receive, review, and keep on file reports of benefits;

* Receive information from the participating employer and from participants for the efficient
administration of the plan;

» Require participants to complete and file needed applications, forms, pertinent information
and documents, including receipts, and the participant’s current mailing address;

+ Take needed actions to satisfy IRS Code requirements;

» Review claims or claims denials under the plan;

« Sign checks or other instruments incidental to the operation of the plan;

+ Make needed amendments to the plan to carry out the intent of the employer legal
requirements, and;

+ Terminate the plan unless it is required to continue under either an applicable memorandum
of understanding, resolution of PEBB, or both.

Any decision the plan administrator makes in the exercise of its authority is conclusive and binding.

Delegation of Authority

The plan administrator has the discretion to delegate others to act on behalf of the plan
administrator including the authority to make any benefits determination, or to sign checks or other
instruments incidental to the operation of the plan.

Information Required for Plan Administration
Participants and other persons entitled to benefits must furnish the administrator with information
for the purpose of administering the plan.
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Reliance

The administrator is entitled to rely on information furnished by a participant, participating
employers, and any applicable provider or contract administrator.

Facility of Payment
When a person entitled to any benefits under the plan is legally disabled or unable to manage his
financial affairs, the administrator may:

« Direct payment of benefits to the person’s legal representative or immediate relative, or;

« Direct the application of the benefits for the benefit of the person as the administrator
considers advisable. Any payment made will be a full and complete discharge of any liability
for such payment under the plan.

Payment

Payment of any claim for benefits will be made to the participant unless he or she has previously
authorized payment to a person rendering services, treatment, or supplies. If the participant dies
before all benefits have been paid to the participant, the remaining benefits, if any, will be paid to
the participant’s estate or to any person or corporation that has been approved by the
administrator to be entitled to payment. Such payment will fully discharge the plan’s obligations
with respect to that claim for benefits. If a participant is a minor, or not competent to give a valid
receipt for payment of any benefit due to him under the plan and if no request for payment has
been received from a duly appointed guardian or other legally appointed representative of that
person, payment may be made directly to the individual or institution that has assumed the custody
or the principal support of that person.

Subrogation

If any payment for benefits under the plan is paid, the plan will, to the extent of such payment, be
subrogated to all the rights of recovery of the participant arising out of any claim or cause of action
that may occur because of the negligence or willful misconduct of a third party. Each participant or
his legal guardian agrees to reimburse the plan for amounts paid for such claims, out of any
monies recovered from the third party, including but not limited to, any third-parties and the
participant’s own insurance company as the result of judgment, settlement or otherwise. In
addition, each participant agrees to assist a Provider, the Contract administrator, or the plan
administrator in enforcing these rights.

Right of Recovery

Whenever payments for a claim for benefits have been made in excess of the maximum limit for
that claim under the plan, the plan will have the right to recover such amounts to the extent of the
excess from whoever received the excess payment or the participant.

Government-provided Benefits

The plan does not provide benefits in lieu of, and does not affect any requirement for coverage by,
any benefits provided under any federal, state or local government including, without limitation, any
workers’ compensation insurance or benefit.
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Effect of Mistake

In the event of a mistake related to eligibility, participation, account allocations or payments, the
administrator will make proper adjustments. Adjustment may include withholding amounts due to
the plan or the employer from compensation paid by the employer.

Insurance Contracts

PEBB has the right to enter into a contract with one or more insurance companies for the purposes
of providing any benefits under the plan to replace any such insurance companies or contracts.

Miscellaneous

Filing of Information

The administrator may require participants to provide pertinent information, including proof of
dependency or eligibility, before providing benefits through the plan.

Each participant must file the participant’s contact address and any change of contact address
with the administrator. The administrator will use the participant’s last contact address.

Mistake of Fact
The administrator will correct any mistake of fact or misstatement of fact when it becomes known
and when equitable and practical.

Employee Authorization of Payroll Deductions

The administrator may distribute and collect information or conduct transactions by means of
electronic media, including electronic mail systems, Internet, or voice response system. By using
electronic media, an employee consents to deductions from compensation in accordance with
elections made through the systems and recording of telephone calls on the voice response
system.

No Guarantee of Tax Consequences

Neither the plan administrator, the employer, nor any participating employer makes any warranty
or other representation as to whether any payment received under the plan will be treated as
excludable from the employee’s gross income for federal, state, or local income tax purposes. It is
the obligation of each Employee to determine whether each payment under the plan is excludable
from the Employee’s gross income for such purposes.

Quality of Health Services

The selection by the employer of the coverage that may be financed through the plan does not
constitute any warranty, express or implied, as to the quality, sufficiency, or appropriateness of the
services that may be provided by any health, dental, or vision care service provider, nor does the
employer or any participating employer assume or accept any responsibility with respect to the
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denial by any prospective provider of access to, or financial support for, any service, whether or
not such denial is appropriate under the circumstances.

Governing Law

The plan will be construed and enforced in accordance with the internal laws of the State of
Oregon.

Conflicting Provisions of Component Plan

In the event of a direct conflict between the provisions of a component plan or the Summary Plan
Description and the provisions of the plan, the provisions of the plan will prevail. Where terms and
provisions specifically applicable to an individual component plan are not addressed in the plan
document, such terms and provisions as set forth in the component plan document will govern.

Qualified Medical Child Support Order (QMCSO)
The plan administrator will comply with the terms of a QMCSO.

Benefit Fraud or Abuse

Rights of the Medical Plans

Your medical plan has the right to investigate fraudulent or abusive use of your plan benefits. Your
plan will notify you of an investigation. If the plan identifies what may be fraud or abuse by a
member, it may cancel the member’s coverage. If the plan identifies what may be fraud or abuse
by one of your dependents, the carrier may remove the individual from coverage.

You will receive notification prior to cancellation or removal from coverage. You have the right to
appeal the plan’s action through the plan’s appeal process. In some cases, removal from a plan
may be a qualified midyear plan change, contact your payroll or benefits office for more
information.

Rights of PEBB
When you enroll in any PEBB benefits, you declare that you:

» Are eligible for the coverage requested on the enrollment form or in your online benefit
record, as are the individuals you list for coverage

» Understand the benefit elections you make are in effect for as long as you continue to meet
PEBB's eligibility requirements or until you elect to change them subject to the provisions of
PEBB’s plan

» Have read the benefit materials and understand the limitations and qualifications of the
PEBB benefits program

» Authorize premium payments to be deducted from your pay
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A person who knowingly makes a false statement in connection with an application for any benefit
may be subject to imprisonment and fines. Additionally, knowingly making a false statement may
subject a person to termination of enrollment, denial of future enroliment, or civil damages.

An employee’s failure to notify PEBB or their agency/university benefit office of a family
member’s or domestic partner’s loss of eligibility may result in civil or criminal charges
against the employee for fraud or the intent to misrepresent the material facts of enroliment.

PEBB may rescind coverage back to the last day of the month in which eligibility was lost
or retroactively to the effective date of coverage if eligibility criteria was never met.
Rescission of coverage can occur to an employee, or an individual for whom the employee
provides coverage.

Appeals

See Administrative Rules for PEBB appeal rights at www.pebbinfo.com - Oregon Administrative
Rules.

Benefit Plan Appeal Procedure

You must appeal benefit plan decisions directly to the plan. Follow the appeal rights and
procedures in the plan’s member handbook (sometimes called certificate, or evidence, of
coverage). If you ask PEBB to review the plan’s determination, PEBB will verify only that the plan’s
determination was within the scope of the current plan contract or request that the plan provide you
more explanation of its determination. If it appears that the plan’s determination is outside the
scope of the contract, PEBB will ask the plan to review your appeal again.

Public Employees' Benefit Board Appeal

Eligible employees may submit appeal requests to PEBB concerning PEBB policy, eligibility, or
plan enroliments. PEBB staff, the Appeals Subcommittee, and the Board use relevant state and
federal regulations, policy, PEBB’s documented Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 125 Cafeteria plan,
and Oregon Administrative Rules to provide appeal decisions.

PEBB does not accept appeals related to contracted plans or plan administrators, such as but not
limited to medical, dental, life, disability, COBRA, and long-term care, services, decisions, or
claims.

If PEBB rescinds plan coverage due to an individual’s ineligibility for coverage, the ineligible
individual may appeal the rescission decision to PEBB using this rule. Until the appeal process for
the rescission is exhausted, the individual’s premium and claim payments will continue as if the
rescission had not occurred. Upon final appeal determination, if the rescission is upheld the
employee will be responsible to pay all claims and premium payments paid by the plan or PEBB
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during the period of ineligibility. Eligible employees, or individuals notified of coverage rescission,
have four levels of PEBB appeal.

Level One: An eligible employee who believes he or she received an incorrect or unfair decision
from PEBB, an employing agency, or retiree plan administrator, or an individual notified of a
rescission may appeal the decision to PEBB within 30 days of that decision.

» The employee or individual must submit the appeal to PEBB using the correct forms and
provide any supporting documentation for appeal.

+ A PEBB Benefit Analyst will review the appeal documents and may request additional
information from the employee, individual or the employer. PEBB must receive information
requested from the employee or individual within 10 business days or the appeal is closed.

» The analyst will complete review of the appeal within 30 days of the date PEBB receives all
the necessary appeal documentation or notify the employee or individual if a decision will
require longer than 30 days. When complete, the analyst will provide a written explanation
and determination to the employee.

Level Two: An eligible employee or an individual notified of rescission who is dissatisfied with a
Level One appeal determination may within 30 days of the determination letter request a Level
Two review from the PEBB Benefit Manager.

« The employee or individual must submit the request to the Benefit Manager in writing and
provide any new supporting documentation that would support the request. The manager
may request additional information from the employee or the employer. Requested
information from the employee or individual must be received with 10 business days or the
appeal is closed.

+ The Benefit Manager will review the request and determine whether to provide a
determination to the employee or move the request directly to Level Three. The Benefit
Manager may request that the Administrator or the Administrator’s designee assist in the
appeal review and determination.

*  When the Benefit Manager completes a review, the employee or rescission individual will
receive a written explanation and determination within 30 days of PEBB receiving all the
necessary appeal documentation. When the Benefit Manager sends the appeal to Level
Three without providing a determination, the employee will receive notice.

Level Three: An eligible employee or a plan rescission individual receiving both a first and second
level denial may request that the Board’s Appeals Subcommittee review the appeal. The
Subcommittee may review appeals submitted directly by the Benefit Manager.

* An employee or individual requesting a Level Three review must submit the request in
writing to the Benefit Manager within 30 days of the Level Two determination letter date.

» The Subcommittee appeal determination requires a maijority vote of the members. If an
agreement cannot be reached, the appeal may be referred to the full Board. Decisions by
the full Board require a majority vote. The Appeals Subcommittee may render a decision to
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the employee or individual and also refer the issue to the full Board for a benefit policy
review.

» The Appeals Subcommittee may recommend a review and determination of the appeal by
the Board without providing a decision to the employee or individual. The employee or
individual will receive notice of the recommendation.

*  When the Subcommittee completes a review, or in the case of a full Board review, the
employee or individual will receive a written explanation and determination within 30 days
after the next regularly scheduled meeting.

SECTION 7 — REQUIRED NOTICES

Important Notice from PEBB about your Prescription Drug Coverage and
Medicare

Please read this notice carefully and keep it where you can find it. This notice has
information about your current prescription drug coverage with the Public Employees’
Benefit Board (PEBB) and about your options under Medicare’s prescription drug coverage.
This information can help you decide whether or not you want to join a Medicare drug plan. If you
are considering joining, you should compare your current coverage, including which drugs are
covered at what cost, with the coverage and costs of the plans offering Medicare prescription drug
coverage in your area. Information about where you can get help to make decisions about your
prescription drug coverage is at the end of this notice. There are two important things you need to
know about your current coverage and Medicare’s prescription drug coverage:

1. Medicare prescription drug coverage became available in 2006 to everyone with
Medicare. You can get this coverage if you join a Medicare Prescription Drug Plan or
join a Medicare Advantage Plan (like an HMO or PPO) that offers prescription drug
coverage. All Medicare drug plans provide at least a standard level of coverage set by
Medicare. Some plans may also offer more coverage for a higher monthly premium.

2. PEBB has determined that the prescription drug coverage offered by PEBB is, on
average for all plan participants, expected to pay out as much as standard Medicare
prescription drug coverage pays and IS therefore considered Creditable Coverage.
Because your existing coverage is Creditable Coverage, you can keep this coverage and
not pay a higher premium (a penalty) if you later decide to join a Medicare drug plan.

When Can you Join a Medicare Drug Plan? You can join a Medicare drug plan when you first
become eligible for Medicare and each year from October 15 through December 7. However, if you
lose your current creditable prescription drug coverage, through no fault of your own, you will also
be eligible for a two (2) month Special Enroliment Period (SEP) to join a Medicare drug plan.

What Happens to your Current Coverage if you Decide to Join a Medicare Drug Plan?
Your current PEBB group coverage pays for other health care expenses, in addition to
prescription drugs. If you decide to join a Medicare drug plan, your current PEBB group
coverage will not be affected. However, if you decide to join a Medicare drug plan and drop
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your current PEBB group coverage, be aware that you and your dependents will lose health
care and prescription drug coverage through PEBB and may not be able to get this coverage
back prior to open enrollment or a change-in-status event.

When Will you Pay a Higher Premium (Penalty) to Join a Medicare Drug Plan? You should
also know that if you drop or lose your current coverage with PEBB and don’t join a Medicare
drug plan within 63 continuous days after your current coverage ends, you may pay a higher
premium (a penalty) to join a Medicare drug plan later. If you go 63 continuous days or longer
without creditable prescription drug coverage, your monthly premium may go up by at least 1%
of the Medicare base beneficiary premium per month for every month that you did not have that
coverage. For example, if you go 19 months without creditable coverage, your premium may
consistently be at least 19% higher than the Medicare base beneficiary premium. You may have
to pay this higher premium (a penalty) as long as you have Medicare prescription drug coverage.
In addition, you may have to wait until the following October to join. For More Information about
this Notice or your Current Prescription Drug Coverage: Contact the person listed below for
further information. NOTE: This notice is reviewed and updated every year. You can review this
notice each year. You will receive an updated notice if this coverage through PEBB changes.
You also may request a copy of this notice at any time.

For More Information about your Options under Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage: More
detailed information about Medicare plans that offer prescription drug coverage is in the “Medicare
& You” handbook. You'll get a copy of the handbook in the mail every year from Medicare. You
may also be contacted directly by Medicare drug plans. For more information about Medicare
prescription drug coverage:

* Visit: www.Medicare.gov

« Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program (see the inside back cover of your
copy of the “Medicare & You” handbook for the telephone number) for personalized help.
« Call 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227). TTY users should call 7-877-486-2048.

If you have limited income and resources, extra help paying for Medicare prescription drug
coverage is available. For information about this extra help, visit Social Security on the web at:
www.socialsecurity.gov , or call them at 1-800-772-1213 (TTY 1-800-325-0778).

Remember: Keep this Creditable Coverage notice. If you decide to join one of the Medicare
drug plans, you may be required to provide a copy of this notice when you join to show whether
or not you have maintained creditable coverage and, therefore, whether or not you are required
to pay a higher premium (a penalty). Date: December 27, 2023 for the 2024 PEBB plan year.

Name of Entity/Sender: PEBB, Benefits Manager, 500 Summer St. NE, E89, Salem OR 97301;
503-373-1102.

84 |Page


http://www.medicare.gov/
http://www.medicare.gov/
http://www.medicare.gov/
http://www.medicare.gov/
http://www.medicare.gov/
http://www.socialsecurity.gov/
http://www.socialsecurity.gov/

State of Oregon
Public Employees’ Benefit Board Summary Plan Description

Notice of Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act

If you are an PEBB medical plan member, we would like to take this opportunity to remind you that
your plan, as required by the Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act of 1998, provides benefits for
mastectomy-related services. This includes all stages of reconstruction and surgery to achieve
symmetry between the breasts, prostheses and complications resulting from a mastectomy,
including lymphedema. This coverage is provided in consultation with your attending physician and
will be subject to the same terms and conditions, including the annual deductible, coinsurance
and/or copayment provisions otherwise applicable under your plan. Your benefit handbook or
insurance policy contains more information about these mastectomy-related benefits. If you have
any questions about coverage for mastectomies and post-operative reconstructive surgery, please
contact your insurance carrier’s customer service or your Plan Administrator at 503-373-1102 for
more information.
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Special Enroliment Rights

Under the special enrollment provisions of HIPAA, you will be eligible, in certain situations, to enroll
in a PEBB medical plan during the year, even if you previously declined coverage. This right
extends to you and all eligible family members.

You will be eligible to enroll yourself (and eligible dependents) if, during the year, you or your
dependents have lost coverage under another plan because:

- Coverage ended due to termination of employment, divorce, death, or a reduction in hours
that affected benefits eligibility;

- Employer contributions to the plan stopped;

« The plan was terminated;
COBRA coverage ended, or;

« The lifetime maximum for medical benefits was exceeded under the existing medical
coverage option.

If you gain a new dependent during the year due to marriage, birth, adoption or placement for
adoption, you may enroll that dependent, as well as yourself and any other eligible dependents, in
the plan — again, even if you previously declined medical coverage. Coverage will be retroactive
to the date of the birth or adoption for children enrolled during the year under these provisions.
Changes in plan enroliments and tag along individuals are prospective, the first of the month
following date of birth or adoption.

You will also be eligible to enroll yourself and any eligible dependents if either of two events
OCCuUrs:
(1) You or your dependent loses Medicaid or Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP)
coverage because of a loss of eligibility.

(2) You or your dependent qualifies for state assistance in paying employer group medical plan
premiums.

Regardless of other enroliment deadlines, you will have 60 days from the date of the
Medicaid/CHIP event to request enroliment in the employer medical plan.

Please note that special enrollment rights allow you to either enroll in current medical coverage or
enroll in any medical plan benefit option for which you and your dependents are eligible.
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Premium Assistance Under Medicaid and Children’s Health

Insurance Program (CHIP)

If you or your children are eligible for Medicaid or CHIP and you’re eligible for health coverage from
your employer, your state may have a premium assistance program that can help pay for
coverage, using funds from their Medicaid or CHIP programs. If you or your children aren’t eligible
for Medicaid or CHIP, you won'’t be eligible for these premium assistance programs, but you may
be able to buy individual insurance coverage through the Health Insurance Marketplace. For more
information, visit www.healthcare.gov.

If you or your dependents are already enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP and you live in a State other
than Oregon, contact your State Medicaid or CHIP office to find out if premium assistance is
available.

If you or your dependents are NOT currently enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP, and you think you or
any of your dependents might be eligible for either of these programs, contact your State Medicaid
or CHIP office or dial 1-877- KIDS NOW or www.insurekidsnow.gov to find out how to apply. If you
qualify, ask your state if it has a program that might help you pay the premiums for an employer-
sponsored plan.

If you or your dependents are eligible for premium assistance under Medicaid or CHIP, as well as
eligible under your employer plan, your employer must allow you to enroll in your employer plan if
you aren’t already enrolled. This is called a “special enrollment” opportunity, and you must request
coverage within 60 days of being determined eligible for premium assistance. If you have
questions about enrolling in your employer plan, contact the Department of Labor at
www.askebsa.dol.gov or call 1-866-444-EBSA (3272).

To see if any other states have added a premium assistance program since October 15, 2021, or
for more information on special enrollment rights, contact either: U.S. Department of Labor,
Employee Benefits Security Administration www.dol.gov/ebsa or U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services www.cms.hhs.gov
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CONTINUATION COVERAGE RIGHTS UNDER COBRA

Introduction

Thank you for your recent enroliment in the group health plan under the Public Employee’s Benefit
Board (PEBB). The Plan has four group health components— Medical, Dental, Vision, and Health
FSA—and you may be enrolled in one or more of these components. This notice has important
information about your right to continue your health care coverage, which is a temporary extension
of group health coverage under the Plan under certain circumstances when coverage would
otherwise end. There may also be other health coverage options that may be available to you,
including coverage through the Health Insurance Marketplace at www.HealthCare.gov or 1-800-
318-2596. You can coverage through the Health Insurance Marketplace that costs less than
COBRA continuation coverage. Please read the information carefully before making a decision.
This notice generally explains COBRA coverage, when it may become available to you and
your family, and what you need to do to protect your right to get it. COBRA (and the
description of COBRA coverage contained in this notice) applies only to the group health plan
benefits offered under PEBB (the Medical, Dental, Vision and Health FSA components) and not to
any other benefits offered under the PEBB Plans.

The right to COBRA coverage was created by a federal law, the Consolidated Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act of 1985 (COBRA). COBRA coverage can become available to you, your spouse,
and dependent children when coverage under the Plan would otherwise end. This notice does not
fully describe COBRA coverage or other rights under the Plan. For more information about your
rights and obligations under the Plan and under federal law, you should review the PEBB
Summary Plan Description at www.pebbinfo.com contact PEBB at 503-373-1102 the plan
administrator. The Plan provides no greater COBRA rights than what COBRA requires—nothing in
this notice is intended to expand your rights beyond COBRA's requirements.

You May Have Other Options Available to You When You Lose Group Health Coverage

For example, you may be eligible to buy an individual plan through the Health Insurance
Marketplace. By enrolling in coverage through the Marketplace, you may qualify for lower costs on
your monthly premiums and lower out-of-pocket costs. Additionally, you may qualify for a 30-day
special enrollment period for another group health plan for which you are eligible (such as a
spouse’s plan), even if that plan generally doesn’t accept late enrollees.

What Is COBRA Coverage?

COBRA coverage is a continuation of Plan coverage when it would otherwise end because of a life
event. This is also called a “qualifying event.” Specific qualifying events are listed later in this
notice. After a qualifying event occurs and any required notice of that event is properly provided,
COBRA coverage must be offered to each person losing Plan coverage who is a “qualified
beneficiary.” You, your spouse, and your dependent children could become qualified beneficiaries
and would be entitled to elect COBRA if coverage under the Plan is lost because of the qualifying
event. (Certain newborns, newly adopted children, and alternate recipients under QMCSOs may
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also be qualified beneficiaries. This is discussed in more detail in separate paragraphs below.)
Under the Plan, qualified beneficiaries who elect COBRA must pay for COBRA coverage.

Who Is Entitled to Elect COBRA?

If you're an employee, you'll be entitled to elect COBRA if you lose your group health coverage
under the Plan because of the following qualifying events:

Your hours of employment are reduced; or
«  Your employment ends for any reason other than your gross misconduct.
If you're the spouse of an employee, you'll be entitled to elect COBRA if you lose your group health
coverage under the Plan because of the following qualifying events:

« Your spouse dies;

Your spouse's hours of employment are reduced;

« Your spouse's employment ends for any reason other than his or her gross misconduct; or
You become divorced from your spouse. Also, if your spouse (the employee) reduces or
eliminates your group health coverage in anticipation of a divorce and a divorce later
occurs, then the divorce may be considered a qualifying event for you even though your
coverage was reduced or eliminated before the divorce.

A person enrolled as the employee's dependent child will be entitled to elect COBRA if he or she
loses group health coverage under the Plan because of the following qualifying events:

« The parent-employee dies;
The parent-employee's hours of employment are reduced;

- The parent-employee's employment ends for any reason other than his or her gross
misconduct; or

- The child stops being eligible for coverage under the Plan as a “dependent child.”

When Is COBRA Coverage Available?

The Plan will offer COBRA continuation coverage to qualified beneficiaries only after the Plan has
been notified that a qualifying event has occurred. The PEBB participating organization must notify
the Plan Administrator of the following qualifying events:

« The end of employment or reduction of hours of employment
+ Death of the employee;
- The employee is retiring;
The employee’s becoming entitled to Medicare benefits (under Part A, Part B, or both and
the employee is terming employer coverage.

You Must Give Notice of Some Qualifying Events

For all other qualifying events (divorce of the employee and spouse or a dependent child's losing
eligibility for coverage as a dependent child), a COBRA election will be available to you only if you
notify your payroll/HR benefit office within 30 days of the event. You must submit a midyear
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change form available at www.pebbinfo.com under the link to forms. If the form is not received
within 30 days of the event you and your qualified dependents may lose the right to elect COBRA.

Electing COBRA

Each qualified beneficiary will have an independent right to elect COBRA. Covered employees and
spouses (if the spouse is a qualified beneficiary) may elect COBRA on behalf of all the qualified
beneficiaries, and parents may elect COBRA on behalf of their children. Any qualified beneficiary
for whom COBRA is not elected within the 60-day election period specified may lose their right to
elect COBRA.

How Long Does COBRA Coverage Last?

COBRA coverage is a temporary continuation of coverage that generally lasts for 18 months due to
employment termination or reduction of hours of work. Certain qualifying events, or a second
qualifying event during the initial period of coverage, may permit a beneficiary to receive up to a
maximum of 36 months of coverage under the Plan's Medical, Dental and Vision components.
These “36-month” qualifying events include the death of the employee, the covered employee's
divorce or a dependent child's losing eligibility as a dependent child.

When the qualifying event is the end of employment or reduction of the employee's hours of
employment, and the employee became entitled to Medicare benefits less than 18 months before
the qualifying event, COBRA coverage under the Plan's Medical, Dental and Vision components
for qualified beneficiaries (other than the employee) who lose coverage as a result of the qualifying
event can last until up to 36 months after the date of Medicare entitlement. For example, if a
covered employee becomes entitled to Medicare 8 months before the date on which his
employment terminates, COBRA coverage for his spouse and children who lost coverage as a
result of his termination can last up to 36 months after the date of Medicare entitlement, which is
equal to 28 months after the date of the qualifying event (36 months minus 8 months). This
COBRA coverage period is available only if the covered employee becomes entitled to Medicare
within 18 months before the termination or reduction of hours.

Otherwise, when the qualifying event is the end of employment or reduction of the employee's
hours of employment, COBRA coverage under the Plan's Medical, Dental and Vision components
generally can last for only up to a total of 18 months.

COBRA coverage under the Health FSA component can last only until the end of the year in which
the qualifying event occurred—see the paragraph below entitled “Health FSA Component.”

The COBRA coverage periods described above are maximum coverage periods. COBRA
coverage can end before the end of the maximum coverage periods described in this notice for
several reasons. Please check with the Third Party Administrator BenefitHelp Solutions (BHS) at
800-556-3137 or 503-765-3581.
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There are also ways (described in the following paragraphs) in which the period of COBRA
coverage resulting from a termination of employment or reduction of hours can be extended. (The
period of COBRA coverage under the Health FSA cannot be extended under any circumstances.)

Disability extension of COBRA coverage

If a qualified beneficiary is determined by Social Security to be disabled and you notify the Plan
Administrator in a timely fashion, all the qualified beneficiaries in your family may be entitled to get
up to an additional 11 months of COBRA coverage, for a maximum of 29 months. This extension is
available only for qualified beneficiaries who are receiving COBRA coverage because of a
qualifying event that was the covered employee's termination of employment or reduction of hours.
The disability must have started at some time before the 61st day after the covered employee's
termination of employment or reduction of hours and must last at least until the end of the period of
COBRA coverage that would be available without the disability extension (generally 18 months, as
described above).

The disability extension is available only if you notify BenefitHelp Solutions in writing of the Social
Security Administration's determination of disability within 60 days after the latest of:

- the date of the Social Security Administration's disability determination;

- the date of the covered employee's termination of employment or reduction of hours; and

- the date on which the qualified beneficiary loses (or would lose) coverage under the terms
of the Plan, as a result of the covered employee's termination of employment or reduction of
hours.

You must also provide this notice within 18 months after the covered employee's termination of
employment or reduction of hours, in order to be entitled to a disability extension. In providing this
notice, you must follow the procedures specified in the box at the end of this notice entitled “Notice
Procedures.” If these procedures are not followed or if the notice is not provided to BHS during the
60-day notice period and within 18 months after the covered employee's termination of
employment or reduction of hours, THEN THERE WILL BE NO DISABILITY EXTENSION OF
COBRA COVERAGE.

Second qualifying event extension of COBRA coverage

If your family experiences another qualifying event while receiving COBRA coverage because of
the covered employee's termination of employment or reduction of hours (including COBRA
coverage during a disability extension period as described above), the spouse and dependent
children receiving COBRA coverage can get up to 18 additional months of COBRA coverage, for a
maximum of 36 months, if the Plan is properly notified about the second qualifying event. This
extension may be available to the spouse and any dependent children getting COBRA coverage if
the employee or former employee dies or gets divorced or if the dependent child stops being
eligible under the Plan as a dependent child.
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This extension is only available if the second qualifying event would have caused the spouse or
dependent child to lose coverage under the Plan had the first qualifying event not occurred. (This
extension is not available under the Plan when a covered employee becomes entitled to Medicare
after his or her termination of employment or reduction of hours.)

This extension due to a second qualifying event is available only if you notify BHS in writing of the
second qualifying event within 60 days after the date of the second qualifying event. In providing
this notice you must follow the procedures specified in the box at the end of this notice entitled
“‘Notice Procedures.” If these procedures are not

followed or if the notice is not provided to BHS during the 60-day notice period, THEN

THERE WILL BE NO EXTENSION OF COBRA COVERAGE DUE TO A SECOND QUALIFYING
EVENT.

Health FSA Component

COBRA coverage under the Health FSA will be offered only to qualified beneficiaries losing
coverage who have underspent accounts. A qualified beneficiary has an underspent account if the
annual limit elected by the covered employee, reduced by the reimbursable claims submitted up to
the time of the qualifying event, is equal to or more than the amount of the premiums for Health
FSA COBRA coverage that will be charged for the remainder of the plan year. The use-or-lose rule
will continue to apply, so any unused amounts will be forfeited at the end of the plan year, and
COBRA coverage will terminate at the end of the plan year. Unless otherwise elected, all qualified
beneficiaries who were covered under the Health FSA will be covered together for Health FSA
COBRA coverage. However, each qualified beneficiary could alternatively elect separate COBRA
coverage to cover that beneficiary only, with a separate Health FSA annual limit and a separate
premium. If you are interested in this alternative, contact BHS for more information.

More Information About Individuals Who May Be Qualified Beneficiaries
Children born to or placed for adoption with the covered employee during COBRA coverage period

A child born to, adopted by, or placed for adoption with a covered employee during a period of
COBRA coverage, is considered to be a qualified beneficiary provided that, if the covered
employee is a qualified beneficiary, the covered employee has elected COBRA coverage for
himself or herself. The child's COBRA coverage begins when the child is enrolled in the Plan,
whether through special enrollment or open enrollment, and it lasts for as long as COBRA
coverage lasts for other family members of the employee. To be enrolled in the Plan, the child
must satisfy the otherwise applicable Plan eligibility requirements.

Alternate recipients under QMCSOs

A child of the covered employee who is receiving benefits under the Plan pursuant to a qualified
medical child support order (QMCSO) received by the Plan Administrator during the covered
employee's period of employment is entitled to the same rights to elect COBRA as an eligible
dependent child of the covered employee.
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Are There Other Coverage Options Besides COBRA Coverage?

Yes. In lieu of enrolling in COBRA coverage, there may be other coverage options for you and your
family through the Health Insurance Marketplace, Medicaid, or other group health plan coverage
options (such as a spouse’s plan) through what is called a “special enrollment period.” Some of
these options may cost less than COBRA coverage. You can learn more about many of these
options at www.HealthCare.gov or by calling 1-800-318-2596. You can also visit
www.OregonHealthCare.gov or call 1-855-268-3767 to find a local insurance agent to help you find
the right plan for you or your family.

If You Have Questions

Questions concerning your plan, or your COBRA rights should be addressed to the contact or
contacts identified below. For more information about your rights under the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act (ERISA), including COBRA, the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act,
and other laws affecting group health plans, contact the nearest Regional or District Office of the
U.S. Department of Labor's Employee Benefits Security Administration (EBSA) in your area or visit
www.dol.gov/ebsa. (Addresses and phone numbers of Regional and District EBSA Offices are
available through EBSA's website.) For more information about the Marketplace, visit
www.HealthCare.gov.

Keep Your Plan Informed of Address Changes

To protect your family's rights, let your payroll/HR benefit office or the Plan
Administrator know about any changes in the addresses of family members. You should also keep
a copy, for your records, of any notices you send.

Plan Contact Information

PEBB Administrator

500 Summer St. NE, E89
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: 503-373-1102
Fax: 503-373-1654

Please Note: Although BenefitHelp Solutions (BHS), Inc. has contracted with PEBB to provide

various COBRA administrative services; BenefitHelp Solutions, Inc. is not the Plan Administrator.
The Plan Administrator, PEBB, is the sponsor of the Plan.
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Notice Procedures

Warning: If your notice is late or if you do not follow these notice procedures, you and
all related qualified beneficiaries may lose the right to any extension of COBRA coverage.

Notices Must Be Written: Any notice that you provide must be in writing and may be mailed or
faxed. Oral notice, including notice by telephone, is not acceptable.

When to Send Notices: If mailed, your notice must be postmarked no later than the last day of
the applicable notice period. If faxed, your notice must be received no later than the last day of the
applicable notice period. (The applicable notice periods are described in the paragraphs above

tE 11

entitled “How long will COBRA coverage last”, “Disability”, and “Second Qualifying Event”.)
Where to Send Notices:

BenefitHelp Solutions, Inc.

P.O. Box 40548, Portland, Oregon 97240-0548

Phone: 800-556-3137 or 503-765-3581

Fax: 503-765-3453

Web: https://www.benefithelpsolutions.com/members/group-members/pebb

Information Required for All Notices: Any notice you provide must include: (1) the name of the
Plan, PEBB; (2) the name and address of the employee who is (or was) covered under the Plan;
(3) the name(s) and address(es) of all qualified beneficiary(ies) who lost coverage as a result of the
qualifying event; (4) the qualifying event and the date it happened; and (5) the certification,
signature, name, address, and telephone number of the person providing the notice.

Additional Information Required for Notice of Disability: Any notice of disability that you
provide must include: (1) the name and address of the disabled qualified beneficiary; (2) the date
that the qualified beneficiary became disabled; (3) the names and addresses of all qualified
beneficiaries who are still receiving COBRA coverage; (4) the date that the Social Security
Administration made its determination; (5) a copy of the Social Security Administration’s
determination; and (6) a statement whether the Social Security Administration has subsequently
determined that the disabled qualified beneficiary is no longer disabled.

Additional Information Required for Notice of Second Qualifying Event: Any notice of a
second qualifying event that you provide must include: (1) the names and addresses of all qualified
beneficiaries who are still receiving COBRA coverage; (2) the second qualifying event and the date
that it happened; and (3) if the second qualifying event is a divorce or legal separation, a copy of
the decree of divorce or legal separation.

Who May Provide Notices: The covered employee or former employee who is or was covered
under the Plan, a qualified beneficiary who lost coverage due to the qualifying event described in
the notice, or a representative acting on behalf of either may provide notices. A notice provided by
any of these individuals will satisfy any responsibility to provide notice on behalf of all qualified
beneficiaries who lost coverage due to the qualifying event described in the notice.
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Notice of Privacy Practices

This notice describes how medical information about you may be used and disclosed by PEBB and
how you can get access to this information.

The Public Employees’ Benefit Board (PEBB) and the PEBB sponsored benefit plans respect the
privacy of personal information about all eligible employees and retirees (PEBB members),
including eligible family members (together, PEBB Participants), and will maintain confidentiality in
a responsible and professional manner.

PEBB sponsors various benefit plans for the benefit of PEBB Members. Some of these benefit
plans fall under the definition of “Health Plans” under the Health Insurance Portability and
Accountability Act (HIPAA) Privacy Regulations. The regulations address the privacy requirements
related to the use of protected health information when PEBB is acting as a Plan Sponsor in
relation to a Health Plan. PEBB is providing PEBB Members with this notice explaining how it
uses, discloses and protects your medical or health information as a Plan Sponsor.

A separate Notice of Privacy Practices will be provided to you by your Health Plans. For purposes
of this notice, your Protected Health Information (“PHI”) is information that identifies PEBB
Participants and relates to a past, present or future physical or mental health condition; the
provision of health care to you; or the past, present, or future payment for health care furnished to
the PEBB Participant. PEBB is required by law to maintain the privacy of PHI and to provide PEBB
Members with this notice of its legal duties and privacy practices with respect to PHI.

This notice does not apply to PEBB in its capacity of administering benefits that are not for
health care benefits, such as life insurance, short term or long-term disability insurance, long
term care insurance, or accidental death & dismemberment insurance.

How information is collected and protected:

As the Plan Sponsor, PEBB must collect a certain amount of PHI to provide customer service, offer
new benefits, plans, products or services, administer its plans, and to fulfill legal and regulatory
requirements.

PEBB also collects information provided when the PEBB Member enrolls or makes changes to
benefits.

Examples include:

« PHI on enroliment forms and related forms, such as name, address, date of birth, gender,
marital status.

« PHI about your relationship to benefit plans, including plans selected and enrollment and
disenroliment information, and appeals about eligibility and contract coverage issues.

+ Information from employer about eligibility dates.

« PHI from visits to PEBB’s Websites, such as that provided through online forms, and online
information-collecting devices known as “cookies.” Cookies enable the site to remember
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who visits so navigating the site is easier. They also permit you to access your secured
information and conduct secured transactions. PEBB does not record personal or sensitive
information in cookies.

This information is stored in the electronic benefit system called PEBB.benefits. Your information is
provided to the Health Plans you select for benefit coverage. The Health Plans collect and use this
information to administer benefits and to pay claims for services PEBB Participants receive. PEBB
ensures the security of your information through physical, technical and procedural safeguards.
PEBB restricts the access to and use of confidential information by employees and has established
internal policies and procedures to protect member confidential information from unauthorized
disclosure.

How information is used or shared by PEBB:

As the Plan Sponsor, PEBB transmits enrollment information to the Health Plans selected by the
PEBB Member. Information is transmitted electronically through the PEBB.benefits system. Health
Plans may disclose to PEBB information on whether an individual is participating in the plan or is
enrolled or has been disenrolled from the plan.

In accordance with the HIPAA privacy regulations, PEBB provides for adequate separation
between the Plan Sponsor and the Health Plans with regard to the use and disclosure of PHI. For
that purpose, access to PHI for use as a Plan Sponsor is limited to the following employees or
classes of employees of PEBB or designated individuals:

» Director of Operations or designees,

« Internal Auditors, including representatives of the Oregon Secretary of State when
performing Health Plan audits, or,

+ The Department of Justice.

Access to PHI by the employees designated above is limited to the administrative functions that
the employees perform for PEBB with regard to the member’s plan.

Plan administration functions that may involve PHI being provided to PEBB include the appeals
under PEBB rules, where the individual asks PEBB to review a denial of insurance coverage or a
PEBB Member asks PEBB to decide if the Health Plan acted in accordance with PEBB’s contract.
Otherwise, PEBB is not involved in individual or member appeals.

PEBB will not use or disclose PHI for employment-related actions and decisions or in connection
with any other benefit administered by PEBB.

The Health Plans may disclose summary health information to PEBB, if PEBB requests summary

information for the purpose of (a) obtaining, terminating, or amending the agreements for providing
coverage; or (b) modifying, terminating or amending the agreements. PEBB does not have access
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to your PHI held by a Health Plan. If you contact PEBB and provide PHI to PEBB, PEBB will refer
that information to the Plan.

Your authorization is required for uses and disclosures of PHI other than those allowed or required
by law. If you provide authorization for the use and disclosure of your information and later change
your mind, you may revoke the authorization.

Review and access to information:

PEBB Participants have the right to access PHI held by PEBB, receive a list of disclosures PEBB
has made of PHI, request restriction on use or disclosure of PHI, or correction of incorrect
information. You may submit a complaint if you believe PEBB has improperly used or disclosed
your PHI or if you have concerns regarding PEBB’s privacy policies.

« PEBB Members may access, inspect and obtain a copy of their records through the
electronic benefit system, PEBB.benefits.

+ PEBB Participants may ask to review any information you believe may be on file at PEBB by
submitting a written request with your signature to the PEBB Benefit Manager. PEBB will
respond to the request within 30 days. PEBB will either schedule an appointment for review
of records on-site in the PEBB office or will provide a photocopy of the requested record.
PEBB may ask for reimbursement of copies made at your request.

« PEBB Participants may ask that PEBB restrict the use and disclosure of your individual
information in the course of PEBB activities on your behalf; and to amend incorrect
information held by PEBB.

« PEBB Members may correct information in their PEBB file by accessing their record in the
electronic benefit management system, PEBB.Benefits during Open Enroliment, by
submitting a Qualified Status Change (QSC) to your agency or to PEBB, or by filing an
appeal. Any other request to correct information or to request a restriction should be made
in writing to the PEBB Benefit Manager. PEBB will consider the request, although PEBB is
not required to agree to the request.

* You may request an accounting of disclosures of your personal information in writing to the
PEBB Benefit Manager. PEBB will provide a list of disclosures within 30 days of receipt of
your request; however, the list does not have to include PHI disclosures made to individuals
about their own PHI or prior to the HIPAA compliance date.

« PEBB Participants have a right to receive a paper copy of this notice upon request at any
time. Log on to http://oregon.gov/das/pebb/privacy.shtml to access this notice.

Notice about Requests for Social Security Numbers:

The Affordable Care Act (ACA) requires providers of employer-sponsored health plans to provide
Social Security numbers (SSNs) of individuals covered in the plan to the IRS for tax-reporting
purposes.

PEBB self-insures two of its medical plans — Providence Statewide and Providence Choice; PEBB
is considered the health plan provider for these plans. When an employee enrolls in either of these
plans, we have access to the employee’s SSN through the employer. When the member covers
dependents (including spouse/partner) in either of these plans, we must ask the employee for the
dependents’ Social Security numbers (SSN).
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Our fully insured plans through Kaiser Permanente, and Moda Health request this information from
employees enrolled in their plans.

There is no penalty for the employee, PEBB or the plan if the employee does not provide the
information. The IRS uses the SSNs to crosscheck that members had employer-sponsored health
care coverage during the plan year and didn’t get a health care tax subsidy.

If you have any questions about this notice, contact the PEBB Benefit Manager:

PEBB Benefit Manager
500 Summer St NE, E89
Salem, Oregon 97301
Phone: 503.373.1102

If you believe PEBB has inappropriately disclosed your confidential information, you
may file a written complaint with the PEBB Administrator.

PEBB Administrator

500 Summer ST NE, E89
Salem, Oregon 97301
Phone: 503.373.1102

You may appeal to the full Board if the issue is not resolved at the Administrator level.

You have the right to file a complaint regarding how PEBB uses confidential information
with the Privacy Officer of the State of Oregon, Department of Administrative Services
(DAS):

DAS Privacy Officer
155 Cottage St. NE
Salem 97301-3972
Phone: 503.945.7296

You may also file a written complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human
Services; Office of Civil Rights if you believe PEBB has violated your rights. PEBB will not
take any action against you for filing a complaint.

Changes to Our Notice:

This notice is effective on January 1, 2020. PEBB is required to abide by the terms of this notice
until it is changed. We reserve the right to change the terms of this notice and to make the new
notice effective for all PHI we maintain. Once revised, we will notify you that a change has been
made to this notice, and post the updated notice on our website at www.pebbinfo.com.
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New Health Insurance Marketplace Coverage Options and Your
Health Coverage

General information:

When key parts of the health care law took effect in 2014, they created a new way to buy health
insurance through the Health Insurance Marketplace. To assist you as you evaluate options for
you and your family, this notice provides some basic information about the new Marketplace and
employment-based health coverage offered by your employer.

What is the health insurance marketplace?

The Marketplace is designed to help you find health insurance that meets your needs and fits your
budget. The Marketplace offers "one-stop shopping" to find and compare private health insurance
options. You may also be eligible for a new kind of tax credit that lowers your monthly premium
right away.

Can | save money on my health insurance premiums in the marketplace?

You may qualify to save money and lower your monthly premium, but only if your employer does
not offer coverage, or offers coverage that doesn't meet certain standards. The savings on your
premium that you're eligible for depends on your household income.

Does employer health coverage affect eligibility for premium savings through the
marketplace?

Yes. If you have an offer of health coverage from your employer that meets certain standards, you
will not be eligible for a tax credit through the Marketplace and may wish to enroll in your
employer's health plan. However, you may be eligible for a tax credit that lowers your monthly
premium, or a reduction in certain cost-sharing if your employer does not offer coverage to you at
all or does not offer coverage that meets certain standards. If the cost of a plan from your employer
that would cover you (and not any other members of your family) is more than 9.5% for 2018 and
9.86% for 2019 of your household income for the year, or if the coverage your employer provides
does not meet the "minimum value" standard set by the Affordable Care Act, you may be eligible
for a tax credit.’

Note: If you purchase a health plan through the Marketplace instead of accepting health coverage
offered by your employer, then you may lose the employer contribution (if any) to the employer-
offered coverage. Also, this employer contribution - as well as your employee contribution to
employer-offered coverage - is often excluded from income for Federal and State income tax
purposes. Your payments for coverage through the Marketplace are made on an after-tax basis.

How can | get more information?

For more information about your coverage offered by your employer, please check your summary
plan description or contact your agency human resources or benefits office.
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The Marketplace can help you evaluate your coverage options, including your eligibility for
coverage through the Marketplace and its cost. Please visit http://HealthCare.gov for more
information, including an online application for health insurance coverage and contact information
for a Health Insurance Marketplace in your area.

" An employer-sponsored health plan meets the "minimum value standard” if the plan's share of the total
allowed benefit costs covered by the plan is no less than 60 percent of such costs. Employer sponsored
health plans through PEBB meet the minimum value standard.
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