Oregon State Board of Nursing

Online Renewal System Frequently Asked Questions

Why can't | log in? I've renewed previously but the system wants a password? What's my
password?

If this is the first time you've used the system since October 2018, you will need to register and
establish a password to use the system. Click the “New Users Register Here!” link from the login

page.

Is it safe to enter my Social Security Number?

You are in a secure connection the entire time you are using the Online Services for Oregon
State Board of Nursing. If you are using Internet Explorer, you will see a lock icon somewhere at
the top of the page. The certificate that is used to encrypt the connection also contains
information about the identity of the website owner or organization. You can click the lock to
view the identity of the website.

How do | change my name?

If your legal name has changed from the name currently on file with the OSBN, then you must
provide legal documentation of that name change. To change your name, please fill out this
online form (https://www.oregon.gov/osbn/Pages/change-contact.aspx) and upload the
necessary documentation. Legal documentation can be a copy of your marriage license,
divorce papers (the page(s) that directly changes your name) pertaining to your name change,
or other court orders or decrees.

How do | update my address?

You are able to access the “Change My Personal Information” section of your online file at any
time. Log into the Online Services application, then click on "Change My Personal Information"
link on the right-hand vertical menu.

Why am | being charged a $100 late fee?

ORS 678.101 states that your license must be renewed by 12:01am on your birthday in either an
odd or an even year (based on if you were born on an odd or even year). We must have your
application and fee in hand prior to that time. Even if you mailed it and the postmark was prior
to that time, we must have received it in the office by that time and date for your license to be
considered “renewed on time.” There is no grace period.

The $100 is not a late fee. It is a “in lieu of civil penalty” payment. Per state law, we can charge
an overdue licensee $50 per day for each day their license has expired, which could add up to
hundreds of dollars for some licensees. To make this financial burden easier, the Board has
approved a rule that states that if you renew within 60 days of expiration, you will pay the flat
$100 fee. If you renew after 60 days, you will be subject to the S50 per day calculation.

Please remember that as a license/certificate holder you are required to know the law and
know when your license expires. While the Board will send out reminder notices starting at 90
days prior to the expiration date of your license, not receiving a reminder notice is not a valid
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reason to be late on renewal. There is no appeals process for this $100 in lieu of civil penalty
payment. One day late or 60 days late, the payment is $100.

Why do you need my Social Security number?

To decrease the chance of fraud in obtaining licenses from individuals who live overseas and do
not intend to work in the US or Oregon, the Oregon State Board of Nursing requires Social
Security Numbers from all applicants (per Oregon Revised Statute 25.785).

All SSNs will be disclosed to the entities, and used for the purposes, listed in Oregon
Administrative Rule 851-001-0030 (2). Refusal to provide a SSN will result in denial of
licensure/certification. This denial will be reported to the National Practitioner Databank, as
authorized by 42USC Section 666(a) (13). Applicants who are currently working on a US Visa
(H1B, I-766 or other current federal government form authorizing them to work in the United
States), may submit copies of their passport and the Visa along with their application.
Applicants who are attending school on an F1 Visa must provide a copy of the I-94 and I-20
signed by the designated school authority.

Do | have to finish the application in one session? What if | get interrupted or need to get
additional information for my application?

Once you start your renewal, any information you enter will be saved and you can return to it at
any time. You will not need to “start over” later if you are interrupted during the process; you
can continue from where you left off.
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