Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Answerland Advisory Committee
The Answerland Advisory Committee (AAC) is a committee of the LSTA Advisory Council (LAC), which advises the State Library Board. It is made up of 6 - 10 voting members, drawn from all areas of the state and representing the public, school, academic, and special libraries that use or provide service for Answerland.
The primary responsibility of the Answerland Advisory Committee is to advise the LAC and State Library regarding the development, implementation, promotion and evaluation of Answerland. The ultimate vision is to create, maintain and continually improve a high-quality online reference program that succeeds in serving the needs of all residents of Oregon.
More information about Answerland, including its history and partner libraries, can be found on its website: answerland.org.

Committee Members

Voting Members

  • Pete Barrell
    Cottage Grove Public Library
    Term: July 1 2016 – June 30 2019
  • Katherine Donaldson
    University of Oregon Libraries
    Term: July 1 2018 – June 30 2020
  • Erin Finot
    Eugene Public Library
    Term: July 1 2016 – June 30 2019
  • Valerie Florez
    Answerland volunteer
    Term: July 1 2017 – June 30 2019
  • Beth Anne Huffine
    Salem Keizer School District
    Term: July 1 2018 – June 30 2020
  • Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen
    Oregon Institute of Technology Libraries
    Term: Nov 1 2017 - June 30 2019
  • Johanna Meetz
    Pacific University Libraries
    Term: 2 years (July 1 2016 – June 30 2018)
  • Joanna Milner
    Multnomah County Library
    Term: July 1 2016 – June 30 2019
  • Charla Oppenlander (chair)
    Klamath County Library Service District
    Term: July 1 2017 – June 30 2019
  • Shelby Paulson
    Bend-La Pine Schools
    Term: July 1 2018 – June 30 2020

Non-Voting Members

  • Mark Peterson
    Mt. Hood Community College Library
    LSTA Council Representative (Term ends December 31 2019)

State Library Staff (non-voting)

  • Caren Agata
    Interim State Librarian
  • Tamara Ottum
    Answerland coordinator
  • Susan Westin
    Program Manager, Library Support and Development Services

Meetings and Minutes

Next meeting: July 30, 2018 at OIT Klamath Falls Library​ - Agenda


In 2015, Answerland transitioned from Multnomah County Library to the State Library. In the process, the previous Answerland Advisory Board became the current Answerland Advisory Committee. Here are minutes from the previous board, 2012 - 2015:



As a committee of LSTA Advisory Council, Answerland Advisory Committee bylaws are part of those for LSTA Advisory Council (Article VI, Section 2).


Annual Reports