
Return to: OSMB -Charter Desk    For questions, call, fax or email: 
  PO Box 14145           (503) 378-2633  Fax: (503) 378-4597 
  Salem OR 97309                   outfitter.guide@state.or.us 

CHARTER VESSEL LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

 
 

 

 

 
 
You may not advertise or solicit charter activities until the Charter Vessel License has been issued.  Please allow 10 
business days for processing.  Licenses will not be issued over-the-counter in our office. 
  
Applicant Requirements: 
 A completed application 
 Certificate of insurance 
 $5000 Surety Bond  
 US Coast Guard Certificate of Inspection 
 US Coast Guard Operator License for all operators in federally navigable waters  
 Annual non-refundable fee  (Oregon titled vessel $50; USCG documented vessel $100; Washington 

resident $925; California resident $347.50; Alaska resident $200; elsewhere $100)   
 Make checks payable to the Oregon State Marine Board (OSMB). 

 
Requirements are based on Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) Chapter 830.430 through 830.450 and Oregon 
Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 250, Division 15 (OAR 250-015-0001 through 250-015-0033) listed 
at www.boatoregon.com.  

Please Note: 
Liability Insurance 

Proof of liability insurance covering occurrences by the charter vessel owner/business and their employees which result 
in bodily injury or property damage must be current and on file at the Marine Board.  The Certificate of Insurance must 
cover not less than $500,000 combined single limit per occurrence general liability insurance.  The certificate must 
match the name and/or business name on the application, list the Marine Board as the certificate holder, list the 
descriptions of operations (activities) covered, and the vessel certificate of number or USCG official number.  

US Coast Guard Certificate of Inspection 
A copy of the current annual United States Coast Guard Certificate of Inspection (COI) is required for vessels carrying 7 
or more passengers in federally navigable waterways. Inland charter boats carrying 7 or more passengers on non-
federally navigable inland waters requires a “Certificate of Inspection” by a certified marine surveyor consistent with 
USCG standards for a passenger vessel. A current certificate must be on file at our office at all times. 

United States Coast Guard (USCG) Operators License 
A valid USCG Operators License must be carried by any operator of the vessel and be endorsed for the area of 
operation. A copy of the USCG Operators License must be submitted with the application.  A full list of navigable waters 
may be found at  http://www.uscg.mil/d13/docs/CG_Navigable_Waterways.pdf  

Surety Bond 
A Surety Bond or Letter of Credit issued by a financial institution in the amount of $5,000 naming the Oregon State 
Marine Board must be submitted for any charter vessel owner or operator who accepts deposits of more than $100 per 
person. A deposit is any advance payment.   

Equipment -See OAR’s 250-015-0010 through 250-015-0033 
The adopted Code of Federal Regulations provides technical detail and specifications for safety equipment on certain 
passenger carrying vessels. US Coast Guard inspected Charter Boats will carry equipment as defined on the USCG 
Certificate of Inspection. 
An inland Charter Boat operating on non-navigable waters carrying 7 or more passengers will carry equipment as 
defined in OAR 250 Division 015 including First Aid Kit, Bilge High Water Warning System (over 27’), Depth Finder, 
Power/Hand Operated Bilge Pump/Bailing Bucket, Anchor and Anchor Chain or Line, Magnetic Compass, Navigation 
Equipment, Life Jackets/Life Ring, Engine Room Ventilation Blower System/Backfire Flame Arrestor, Flares, Sound 
Producing Device, Radio, and Fire Extinguisher(s). 

 

http://www.uscg.mil/d13/docs/CG_Navigable_Waterways.pdf


CHARTER VESSEL LICENSE APPLICATION 

Business Information: Business Corporations and Assumed Business Names must be currently registered with Oregon SOS Business Registry. 

Corporation/Partnership/Other Business Name:  
(INC, LLC, LLP, etc.) 
Assumed Business Name(s): 
(ABN or dba) 

Mailing  
Address: 

City State 
 

ZIP 
 

Physical  
Address: 

City State ZIP 

Phone: 
 

E-mail: 

Alternate  
Phone: 

Webpage  
Address: 

Applicant Information: (Enter address info if different from above) 
Applicant Legal Name:  First: MI: Last: Suffix: 

Mailing  
Address: 

City State 
 

ZIP 
 

Physical  
Address: 

City State ZIP 

Phone: 
 

E-mail: 

Alternate  
Phone: 

Webpage  
Address: 

Date of Birth: 
(mm/dd/yyyy) 

Driver’s                                       State  
License#:                                    Issued:                    

USCG License  
Document No: 

Liability Insurance Information: (A copy of the certificate must be faxed, mailed or emailed) 

Insurance Agent & Company:                                                                    Policy Number:                                       Expiration Date: 
                                                                                                                                                                                   (mm/dd/yyyy) 
Activity Covered: 

Insurance Provider                                                                                                                                                     Insurance Provider  
Address/City/State/Zip                                                                                                                                                Phone: 

Surety Bond: 
Do you accept deposits of more than $100?:    No     Yes     (If yes, provide a copy of the Surety Bond)         

Service(s) Provided:         Fishing     Sightseeing       Other (list) __________________________________________________________ 

Area of Operation: Mark all that apply. This is for informational use only and is not a restriction. 

 
 Coos-Coquille 
 Deschutes 
 John Day 
 Klamath 
 La Grande 
 Mid-Coast 
 Mid-Columbia 
 Mid-Willamette 
 North Coast 
 NWWD – Coast Range 
 NWWD – Cascade Unit 
 Pacific Ocean 
 South Coast 
 Southeast 
 Umatilla 
 Umpqua 
 Upper Rogue 
 Upper Willamette 
 Wallowa 

 
 



Employee Information: List all operators and deckhands. Oregon Revised Statute 830.460(2)(d) requires charter operations to provide 
the OSMB the names of all employees, agents and other persons who physically assist passengers of the charter boat with angling, 
sightseeing or other recreational activities.  Operator(s) must carry a USCG Operators License valid for the area of operation and a copy of the 
certificate must be faxed, mailed or emailed to the Marine Board. (Attach an additional copy of this page if necessary.) 
Full Legal Name: 
 

Date of Birth: 
 

Address: 
 

USCGL Doc# if operator: 
 

Full Legal Name: 
 

Date of Birth: 
 

Address: 
 

USCGL Doc# if operator: 

Full Legal Name: 
 

Date of Birth: 
 

Address: 
 

USCGL Doc# if operator: 
 

Full Legal Name: 
 

Date of Birth: 
 

Address: 
 

USCGL Doc# if operator: 
 

Full Legal Name: 
 

Date of Birth: 
 

Address: 
 

USCGL Doc# if operator: 
 

Vessel Information: 
Vessel Name: 
 

Vessel Length: Hull Material: State Registration No or USCG No:  

Number of Passengers  
(excluding crew):                       

Hailing Port: 
 

Distance from Port:  Less than 20 miles from port 
 More than 20 miles from port 
 Inland Lakes or Rivers 

Owner/Operator/Employee Disclosure: 
Yes No In the last 24 months has the operator, owner or deckhand of the charter boat been issued a citation 

or been convicted of: 

  
Any criminal offense or violation of ORS 477, fire prevention laws and/or ORS 496, 497, 498, 501, 506, 508, 509, 
511, 530 or 704 or a rule adopted pursuant to this chapter or ORS chapter 477, 496, 497, 498, 501, 506, 508, 
509, 511, 530 or 704, or for a violation of a law or rule regulating the safety and welfare of the public? 

  Any criminal offense or violations of ORS 830, boating laws? 

  Had a US Coast Guard operator license revoked, suspended or denied? 

  Been denied the right to apply for a charter license, permit or certificate by another state or by an agency of the 
United States? 

  Have had a charter license, permit or certificate suspended, revoked, or cancelled by another state or by an 
agency of the United States? 

If any items are marked “Yes”, explain, below, including the date(s), law enforcement agency or court, and outcome or 
scheduled court date. Use an additional page if necessary and include copies of any applicable documentation. 
 
 
 

I, the undersigned, do hereby make application for license to operate a charter vessel in Oregon.  I certify that all information provided 
on this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, and further, that I will maintain in full force and effect, the required 
insurance when engaged in carrying passengers for hire.  If I accept deposits in excess of $100 per person, I will maintain a $5,000 
bond. I certify that the vessel complies with all applicable provisions of Oregon Revised Statutes 830.430 through 830.460 and Oregon 
Administrative Rules, Division 15 as applicable. 

 
APPLICANT NAME: (Printed)_________________________________________________________________________ 

APPLICANT SIGNATURE: ____________________________________________________DATE:  ________________ 

--OSMB use only-- 
Insurance exp: Surety Bond:    Y        N Fees rcvd: $  #  
USCG License exp: Business Name Reg:    Y     N Decal Number issued: 
Certificate of Inspection exp: Date Issued: Initials: 
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