Mission:
“Serving Oregon’s recreational boating
public through
education, enforcement, access and
environmental stewardship

a safe and enjoyable experience.”
{Established by the State Legislature in 1959}

Structure: Five Board members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.

Members Home Term Expires
Valarie Early Brookings 6/30/16
Cliff Jett (Chair) Rufus 6/30/17
Brian Carroll (Vice-Chair) Albany 6/30/17
Jen Tonneson Portland 6/30/19
Jas Adams Portland 6/30/19

The Board is staffed by Director Scott Brewen, and an agency consisting of 38 budgeted employees. The agency
has an office in Salem and no satellite offices.

Budget Expenditures 2015-2017 Biennium
Law Enforcement $13.5 million 40%
Registration/Education $ 7.1 million 21%
Facilities $ 11.1 million 33%
Aquatic Invasive Species $ 1.9 million 6%

Projected Agency Budget $33.6 million

Revenues: The Marine Board is funded entirely by user fees, federal grants and fuel tax dollars. The Marine Board
does not receive state or federal general fund dollars. The Agency has not raised titling and registration fees since
2003. Projected revenues for 2015-2017 Biennium include the following:

State Sources Federal Sources

Boat registrations, titles, fees $15.6 million U.S.C.G. $4.2 million
Motorboat fuel tax $8.00 million CVA & BIG Grants $3.3 million
Miscellaneous $ .4 million Total Federal $7.5 million
Aguatic Inv.Species $1.60 million

Total State $25.6 million Total Revenues $33 million

(Excludes 5.3 million in beginning balance)

Boat Reqistration Facts

All motorboats and sailboats greater than 12 feet that are in use (in the water) must be currently registered. Registration is issued
on a two-year calendar basis, with all decals expiring Dec. 31 of the year indicated. There is no retroactive payment for years the
boat was not registered and no late fee for registration.

Registration is $4.50 per foot based on center length of vessel, bow to stern, rounded up to the nearest foot. There is
also a $5 surcharge for the aquatic invasive species fee. For example, the registration fee for a 17'6" boat is:
18'x $4.50 = $81 + $5 AIS = $86

Registration Fees Floating Home and Boathouses

Oregon Title —transfer, new boats or out-of-state $50 |[Initial or replacement Certificate of Title and $100
Identifying Plate

|Lost Title replacement without change of ownership |625 ||Late Title Transfer Penalty 525 |

[Lost Title replacement with change of ownership |650 |[Replacement Identification Plate 550 |

[Duplicate Certificate of Number (registration card) or dealer  |[$15 |Replacement Title 550 |

[Late Title transfer fee (OR boat titles only) 25 || [

Agency Sections

Director’s Office -Administration:




Registration Section:

Develop / modify Oregon Administrative Rules to boating related to safety, enforcement, access and
recreational environment.

Marine Board operating budget and fiscal administration.

Reporting to the Marine Board and the Governor’s Office.

Provide information via social media, agency website, print publications, partnerships, and public awareness
campaigns.

Works with local governments to produce safety and information signage at launch sites and videos for the
agency'’'s YouTube channel (www.youtube.com/marineboard).

OREGON

e Issue biennial certificates of number and titles for approximately 165,000 boats. ST RS BT

e Register 955 outfitters and guides. D

e License 261 licensed ocean charter boats. c

e Register 2,500 floating homes, houseboats and boat houses. :

e Train and work with approximately 80 bonded agents where boaters can register their 3
boats and receive temporary permits.

Boating Safety Section:

Law Enforcement Program:

Contracts with Oregon State Police and 32 counties for services such as; on-water patrol,
marine enforcement, investigations, placement of waterway markers, boating safety
education, etc.

Provide marine related training for deputies, troopers and their managers.

Provide boats and associated equipment in support of county service providers.

Service providers conduct safety inspections, enforce boating under the influence law,
assist boaters, instruct safety programs in schools, and investigate accidents.

Education/Information Program: S N\ Junior
e Provides low cost, high quality classroom and Internet education programs for boaters. “@5 Boater
e Certifies volunteer instructors and provide approved course materials. Program
e Provides the boating public with free publications (brochures, posters, counter cards). CO%
e Provides materials and training for school education programs.
o Participate in statewide boat shows to promote boating opportunities, promote agency programs including:
mandatory education, clean boater, clean marina, and aquatic invasive species.
Environmental Section:
e Aguatic invasive species prevention permit program 1
e Abandoned/Derelict Vessel program MAR Iu;
e Certifies marinas with the “Clean Marina Designation for facilities who adopt best management practices
e Offers voluntary enrollment into the Clean Boater program —with tips, tools and supplies for boaters so they

can become stewards of the environment and examples for all boaters to follow.
Provide permits for approved flotation (foam encapsulation) for docks and other floating structures.

Visit www.boatoregon.com to learn more about YOUR boating agency...

Facilities Section: ?JF
§p%

Provide grants for boat ramps, docks, short term tie-ups, parking, restrooms, pumpouts

and dump stations, and maintenance. a
Provide grant assistance to cities, counties, park districts, ports, state & federal agencies
and public marinas. d}b

Provide engineering assistance and design services for boating facilities.
Provide technical assistance for facility planning.
Provide standard designs and specifications.

www.facebook.com/boatoregon
www.twitter.com/marineboard



http://www.youtube.com/marineboard
http://www.boatoregon.com/
http://www.facebook.com/boatoregon
http://www.twitter.com/marineboard

