
 

 
 

PO Box 14145 Salem, OR 97309-5065     Phone: (503) 378-2623   
Media Contacts: Ashley Massey Fax: (503) 378-4597 

 
  
For Immediate Release Date: Thursday, September 1, 2016 
 
Labor Day Weekend -Sun, Fun, and 
Safe Boating 
 

Labor Day Weekend is one of the top three boating weekends 

of the year on many Oregon lakes and rivers, attracting 

thousands to the alluring banks and warmest water of the 

season.  To keep things fun and safe, the Oregon State Marine 

Board suggests taking the time to plan your water getaway and 

take home the following pointers: 

 

 Don’t drink and boat. Boating is a great social activity, 

but the Marine Board encourages boaters and persons 

floating on the waterways, to leave the alcohol on shore.  

It’s safer for everyone. If arrested for Boating Under the Influence of Intoxicants (BUII), 

violators can be fined up to $6,250; can lose boating privileges for up to three years and 

even serve jail time. Consumption of intoxicants on many Oregon waterways is up, and so 

are accidents involving alcohol.  So far this year, 10 people have lost their lives in 

recreational boating incidents, and many of which involve drugs and alcohol. 

 Know your waterway.  “Be familiar with your surroundings and always watch where you 

are going,” says Ashley Massey, Public Information Officer for the Marine Board.  

“Stumps, deadheads and sand and gravel bars can appear out of nowhere with water depth 

changes. Start out slow and get your bearings.  Water levels around the state are very low 

which means sand and gravel bars may feel like they appear out of nowhere.”  

 

 

http://www.facebook.com/boatoregon
http://twitter.com/marineboard
http://www.youtube.com/user/MarineBoard
https://marineboard.wordpress.com/


 Know what rules apply. “There are all types of watercraft on the market; some are 

considered boats and others are pool toys.  Boats are designed differently, and by state law, 

have specific equipment requirements such as having enough properly fitted life jackets and 

a sound producing device, like a whistle.  Attach the whistle to your life jacket and you’re 

set.” Massey adds.  “If you plan to float the river, keep in mind that pool toys are designed 

for use in a swimming pool – have no directional control, and puncture easily in rivers.   

If you are planning a relaxing float, do so in a watercraft designed for the river; one which 

won’t easily puncture and comes properly equipped with a paddle so you can maneuver away 

from obstructions.”    

 Wear your life jacket.  Each boat (including kayaks, inflatable boats and canoes) must 

have a properly fitting life jacket for each person on board and at least one sound producing 

device, like a whistle.  Life jackets need to be in good shape and readily accessible – not 

under a hatch or in its packaging.  All youth younger than 13 must wear a life jacket when 

in a boat that’s underway.  U.S. Coast Guard statistics show that over half of all boating 

fatalities occur with small boats on calm waterways, in shallow water and sunny 

conditions.  Ninety percent of boating fatality victims this year were not wearing a life 

jacket, on par with Oregon’s average of 85-90% over the last 30 years.  

 Sit on the seat.  The growth of wake surfing is luring many people to ride on the swim 

platform, stern, sides and the bow of unenclosed boats.  The stern can be a dangerous place 

for exposure to carbon monoxide and a prop-strike safety hazard.  It is illegal to ride on the 

bow, decks, gunwales or transoms of a motor boat when the boat is underway.  Sitting on 

designated seat cushions is the safest place to be –especially when the boat is towing 

someone. 

 Slow down and keep a sharp lookout.  Know the boating regulations for your area of 

operation.  Always obey the “slow no-wake” buoys or signs. Boaters are responsible for 

their wake.  Remember to slow down within 200 feet of a dock, launch ramp, marina, 

moorage, floating home or boathouse, pier or swim float.  Be courteous with paddlers who 

are also sharing the waterway.  Wakes can easily swamp low-freeboard paddle craft. Don’t 

allow your wakes to generate negative attention from other boaters, property owners, and 

possibly, result in a citation. 

 Carry your boater education card.  All boaters operating boats over 10 hp need to have a 

boater education card. Youth 12-15 who operate a powerboat 0-10 hp alone must carry a 

boater education card.  When operating a powerboat greater than 10 hp, youth must be 

supervised by a card-holding adult age 16 or older.  When operating a personal watercraft, 

the supervising adult must be 18 or older. Educated boaters are much less likely to be 

involved in boating accidents because they know the “rules of the road.” 



 

 

 Carry your aquatic invasive species prevention permit.  For registered motorized craft, 

your boat registration and current decals act as proof of payment into the program.  For 

non-motorized watercraft 10 feet long and longer, such as canoes, kayaks, sailboats, 

paddleboards and inflatable rafts, the operator needs to physically carry a permit when out 

on the water.   

The cost is $7 for non-motorized craft and can be purchased through any ODFW field office 

or licensing agent. Permits are valid until December 31 of the year issued.  Tyvek tags 

(waterproof permits) are sold through the Marine Board’s online storefront and various Marine 

Board permit dealers.  Tyvek tags are $5 for the annual permit and $10 for a two-year permit.  

This program is self-funded and permit fees support aquatic invasive species detection, 

decontamination, signage, and education materials for boaters.   

Marine officers will be on the water to assist boaters and help keep the waterways safe.  The 

top violations so far this summer involve collisions, not having life jackets, failure to carry a 

boater education card and aquatic invasive species permit.  Other violations involve reckless 

operation and drugs and alcohol impairment.  “Boating is the best escape, and a long weekend 

before heading back to school and other responsibilities makes it even better,” Massey adds.  

“Just remember to prepare, and plan so you can have the best time out on the water, playing.” 

 For more information about equipment requirements, regulations and ideas on where to boat, 

visit www.boatoregon.com. 
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https://apps.oregon.gov/ecommerce/osmb/Index.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/OSMB/Clean/pages/aisppfaqspage.aspx#Where_to_Purchase_Out-of-State_and_Tyvek_Tag_Permits
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