Oregon Veterinary Medical Examining Board

CERTIFIED VETERINARY TECHNICIAN APPLICATION

Applicants must have completed an AVMA-accredited veterinary technology program or meet the criteria listed in NOTE below. All applicants must have passed the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE).

How to Apply for Certification:

1) Complete and notarize the application form. Attach proof of required Continuing Education that is current at the time of application. Have an official school transcript sent to the address below, or include a sealed transcript with your application. Graduates of AVMA-accredited schools need not complete section 6 on the application form.

NOTE: If you did not graduate from an AVMA-accredited school, complete sections 1-6 on the application form. You are eligible for licensure if you:

- A) Have been actively licensed in good standing as a CVT, RVT or AHT in another state or states for a period of at least four years and:
- B) Have been employed as a licensed or registered veterinary or animal health technician or instructor of veterinary technology for a minimum of four years; and
- C) Pass the examinations referred to in OAR 87-030-0020 (VTNE and JPE/RDT), and
- D) Provide <u>notarized</u> confirmation of clinical competency as a veterinary technician or instructor from at least one veterinarian or school official (dean or program head) who supervised you pursuant to B of this section. Confirmation must be provided in section 6 of the application form, and must match the information provided pursuant to E below; and
- E) Provide W2 federal tax forms or other Board-approved proof of employment as a licensed veterinary technician or instructor; and
- F) Provide proof of CE as required in OAR 875-010-0090 that is current at the time of application.
- **2)** If you took the VTNE elsewhere, have your score transferred to Oregon. Contact the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) at www.aavsb.org to arrange score transfer.
- 3) Arrange for license verification letters to be sent to Oregon from states where you are or ever have been licensed as a veterinary technician. Contact AAVSB or each state boad individually.
- 4) All applicants must complete the Juris Prudence Exam/Regional Disease Test (JPE/RDT). This exam will be sent to you after your application has been approved. It is a multiple choice exam, and a link to the Veterinary Practice Act is provided for reference.

Fees are NOT REFUNDABLE

Make sure you meet all eligibility criteria before submitting this application with \$35 check or MO to:

Oregon Veterinary Board 800 NE Oregon St., Ste. 407 Portland, OR 97232

Contact the Board if you have any questions. 971-673-0224 or ovmeb.info@state.or.us



CERTIFIED VETERINARY TECHNICIAN APPLICATION

4	`
4	۵,

DEMOGRAPHIC INFORMATION

Certification—\$35 (0259)

Name:	Social Security	#:		
Mailing Address (street, city, state, zip):				
Phone:				
Email:	Birthdate:			
School, degree & year of graduation:				
Date and place you took the VTNE:				
Note: You must have your VTNE score transferred by		ou took the VTNE in Oregon.		
2 BACKGROUND (You must answer each of the following questions.)				
Are you or have you ever been certified as a vete No	·	,		
→ If you answered "yes" to either of the abov license verification and status directly to the		n to send a letter of		
Type of License State	License #	Date Issued		
Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor?				



Continuing Education (Not applicable to new graduates.)

CVT licensure in Oregon requires reporting 15 hours of CE every two years. Attach proof of completed CE with this application. The Board may waive the CE requirement for good cause. For more information, including a list of approved CE, go to our website, www.oregon.gov/ovmeb, click on 'Veterinary Practice Act,' then click on 'Oregon Administrative Rules' and see 875-010-0090, Continuing Education Requirements.

5 AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT			
I,	Attach Photo To Fit In This		
Signature of applicant	Space		
NOTARY PUBLIC:			
In the State of, County of			
Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of	, 20		
Signed			
Commission expires	(NOTARY SEAL HERE)		
(6) AFFIDAVIT OF VETERINARIAN or SCHOOL OFF	FICIAL		
For applicants who did not graduate from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technology	program.		
I,, a veterinarian in the s	tate of,		
license number, OR a Dean or Program Head at			
in the state of, depose and say that the above named applicant worked under my supervision for			
three of the last five years, and demonstrated competency as a veterinary technician or veterinary technology			
instructor.			
Signature of veterinarian or school official			
NOTARY PUBLIC:			
In the State of, County of			
Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of	, 20		
Signed			
Commission expires	(NOTARY SEAL HERE)		