Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

  • Welcome to the Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board
    State rotating images
    The Physical Therapist Licensing Board was created in 1971 to regulate the practice of physical therapy in Oregon. The Board's purpose is public protection and to establish professional standards of practice which assure that physical therapists and physical therapist assistants are properly educated, hold valid/current licenses, practice within their scope of practice and continue to receive ongoing training throughout their careers. Physical therapy practice is governed by state statutes and rules, which define the scope of practice. The Board issues licenses, promulgates rules, monitors continuing education, investigates complaints, issues civil penalties for violations and may revoke, suspend or impose probation on a licensee or limit his/her practice. The Board is comprised of eight volunteer members: five physical therapists, one physical therapist assistant, and two public members. Each member is appointed by the Governor and may serve a four-year term. A Board member may be reappointed to subsequent terms. The Board is self-supporting and activities are financed solely from licensure and related fees.
STATUTES & RULES/LICENSE VERIFICATION IMPORTANT INFORMATION
 
 
On-Line PT / PTA License Lookup
This site does constitute a "primary issuing source" for purposes of license verification. Unless otherwise noted on an individual document, the Board grants permission to copy and distribute documents and information verbatim for non-commercial use.

 

Maintaining Contact Information 

Any change in your mailing address, phone number, e-mail address or place of employment must be reported to the Board within 30 days.  To change your contact information please mail, fax or e-mail the form below to the Board. 

 Address Change Form

 

 Written Verification of Oregon PT or PTA License

To request a Written Verification of your Oregon PT / PTA license you must complete and submit the form below along wiith the required fee to the Oregon PT Board.

Written Verification Form 

 

January 1, 2016 - Administrative Rule Change

Division 5

Board Fees and Refunds

848*005*0020 2 Year renewal fee - Summary

PT - Two year renewal fee $170.00

PTA - Two year renewal fee $110.00

Division 10 

848*010*0033  Renewal Of License Required - Summary

All PT's and PTA's licenses expire on March 31 of each even numbered year regardless of when the license was issued. A license is considered lapsed if a completed renewal application is postmarked after March 31 of an even numbered year. A person whose license has lapsed must stop practicing as a PT or PTA and shall not practice until the license is renewed.  The renewal period shall be Jan 1st - March 31 of even numbered years. The Board will provide renewal notification during the month of January. All PT's and PTA's must complete the Continuing Competency requirements before they may renew.

September 1, 2015 - Administrative Rule Change

Divison 40

848*040*0180 Standards for Telehealth Services - See Oregon Administrative Rules

 
Holiday Closure Schedule
  
Jan 2, 2017      New Years Day (observed)
Jan 16, 2017    Martin Luther King Jr's Day
Feb 20, 2017    Presidents' Day
May 29, 2017   Memorial Day
Jul 4, 2017       Independence Day
Sep 4, 2017     Labor Day
Nov 10, 2017   Veterans Day (observed)
Nov 23, 2017   Thanksgiving Day
Nov 24, 2017   State Holiday Thanksgiving
Dec 26, 2016   Christmas (observed)
 
 
  
 
Renewal of Lapsed License
 
If your license is lapsed less than one year you will need to submit to the Board certificates of completion for your continuing competency requirement, and a Lapsed License Renewal form.  Please contact the Board for more information and the required form.
 
To renew a  license lapsed more than one year there are three basic requirements. You will need  to complete the Continuing Competency requirement, which is based on how long your license is lapsed. OAR 848-010-0035,  all back licensing fees and a one time late fee must be paid, and you must take and pass the Oregon Jurisprudence exam. To renew a license lapsed more than one year you will need to contact the Oregon PT Board
 
Courses in CPR will be limited to one hour of continuing competence credit regardless of the length of the course.
 
 
Coming Soon  new Oregon Jurisprudence Assessment Module 
 The Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board is excited to announce the launch of the Oregon Jurisprudence Assessment Module (OR JAM) effective Dec, 1, 2016.  Applicants for physical therapist and physical therapist assitant licensure in Oregon will need to complete the OR JAM as a requirement for initial licensure.  The OR JAM replaces the Board's former jurisprudence examination.  Beginning Dec 1, 2016 click on the following link to learn more about the OR JAM and register.
 
 
Pain Management Module
 
If your are a PT applicant you will be required to complete the Pain Management module and send a completed copy of the certificate with your application.
As a PT or PTA you may take the Pain Managemetn Module and count if for one hour of Continuing Competency.  There is no fee to take the Pain Management module.