Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Oregon Airport Functional Categories
 Category   Significant Function   Designation Criteria
1. Commercial Service Airports Accommodate scheduled major/ national or regional/commuter commercial air carrier
  • Scheduled commercial service.
2. Business or High Activity General Aviation Airports Accommodate corporate aviation activity, including business jets, helicoptors, and other general aviation activities.
  • 30,000 or more annual operations, of which a minimum of 500 are business related aircraft. Business use heliports.
3. Regional General Aviation Airports Accommodate a wide range of general aviation users for large service areas in outlying parts of Oregon. many also accommodate seasonal regional fire response activities with large aircraft.
  • Generally less than 30,000 operations.
  • Geographically significant location with multiple communities in the service area. Nearest Category 1 or 2 airport is more than 90 minutes average travel time by road.
4. Community General Aviation Airports Accommodate general aviation users and local business activities.
  • 2,500 or more annual operations or more than ten based aircraft.
5. Low Activity General Aviation Airports Accommodate limited general aviation use in smaller communities and remote areas or Oregon. Provide emergency and recreational use function.
  • Less than 2,500 annual operations and ten or fewer based aircraft.
Changes in airport categorization will be based on measured changes against the designation criteria. Airports may request review by Department of Aviation of their categorization at any time. To move between categories, the airport must meet designation criteria using a three-year average. The inventory itself will be updated approximately every five years and a system-wide review of categories will be conducted.
Click here for a current listing of Oregon public use airports by category.