ORS 837.040 requires every Oregon resident who owns an aircraft that is based or flown in Oregon, or any non-resident who owns an aircraft based or flown in Oregon, or any owner of an aircraft used for commercial operations in Oregon must register that aircraft with Oregon Department of Aviation within 60 days of being subject to registration. Fees from aircraft registration help the Department of Aviation provide airport improvements and maintenance at public use airports across Oregon, as well as provide aviation system planning and other activities to strengthen the state-wide aviation system.
You have 60 days to register when you buy a new aircraft, bring an aircraft into Oregon, or return to service an aircraft previously incapable of flight.
ORS 837.045 provides that if an aircraft registration deadline is missed, the aircraft owner will be assessed a penalty fee. The fee may be prorated. Call the Registration Program Specialist at Oregon Department of Aviation to receive assistance calculating the exact amount of the fee that you owe.
AIRCRAFT CLASSIFICATION AND FEE SCHEDULE (Effective January 1, 2016)
|Single engine fixed wing, piston
|Single engine fixed wing, turboprop
|Multiengine fixed wing, piston
|Multiengine fixed wing, turboprop
|Turbojet fixed wing
|Helicopter piston engine
|Helicopter turbine engine
|Lighter than air, home built, sailplane, gyrocopter or Ultralight aircraft
|Ex-military multiengine or turbojet/ex-air carrier
|*UAS - public entity under 55 lbs.
|*UAS - public entity 55 lbs. or greater
Registering Public Use UAS/Drones
ORS 837.360 requires all public bodies operating UAS/Drones in the airspace over Oregon to register with the Oregon Department of Aviation. An Educational Institution operating a UAS/Drone in the airspace over Oregon must register as a user but does not need to register each individual UAS/Drone.
You do not have to register your private use drone with the Oregon Department of Aviation. Check with the FAA for federal registration requirements.
To Register Your Public Use UAS/Drone please submit the Oregon Registration Form (below) with payment.
Public Use UAS/Drone Reporting Requirements
ORS 837.360 requires public bodies that register one or more UAS/Drone to provide an annual report to the Oregon Department of Aviation. This annual report should:
- Summarize the frequency of use of the unmanned aircraft systems by the public body during the preceding calendar year;
- Summarize the purposes for which the unmanned aircraft systems have been used by the public body during the preceding calendar year; and
- Indicate how the public can access the policies and procedures established under ORS 837.362.
Please submit your annual report to the following email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
Aircraft/Drone Registration Form
Request for Duplicate Aircraft Certificate
* Drone Registration only required for Public Bodies - State Registration not required for Private Use Drones
TEMPORARY AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION EXEMPTION APPLICATION:
If aircraft is incapable of flight, aircraft owner may be able to receive a temporary exemption from registration fees. To qualify for an exemption the aircraft must be in need of major repairs to make it safe to fly. Examples; (major engine overhaul, wing spar replacement, landing gear damage, etc.) repairs such as annual maintenance, repairing broken or worn items such as tires, windows, or awaiting annual inspections cannot be approved for an exemption. The aircraft exemption will be valid for one calendar year and must be renewed annually until the aircraft becomes flyable, and at that time the aircraft owner must contact The Dept. of Aviation immediately to resume the registration process.
If you have questions about registration requirements, you may contact us by telephone at 503-378-4880 or by e-mail at email@example.com.
Aircraft Exemption Form