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BEFORE THE PLUMBING BOARD OF THE STATE OF OREGON

IN THE MATTER OF: NOTICE OF PROPOSED ASSESSMENT

OF A CIVIL PENALTY AND FINAL

MARK A. SCALGIONE, AN INDIVIDUAL ORDER ON DEFAULT

RESPONDENT CASE NO. 2013-0151

N e N N e S S N e S

Under ORS 455.895(1)(a) and OAR 918-001-0036, the Oregon Plumbing Board
(Board) proposes to take disciplinary action against you in the form of civil penalties
totaling $3,000, because you violated Building Codes Division statutes or rules as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT and CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

(1) During all relevant times you were a licensed journeyman plumber, Oregon
license #9511JP.

(2) On or about August 7, 2013, you advertised on the World Wide Web
(craigslist.com) to perform plumbing work, without an Oregon Plumbing Contractor’s
license, in violation of ORS 447.040(1).

(3) On or about August 22, 2013, you again advertised on the World Wide Web
(craigslist.com) to perform plumbing work, without an Oregon Plumbing Contractor’s
license, in violation of ORS 447.040(1).

WHAT THE LAW SAYS

(1) Under ORS 447.040(1), a person may not work as a plumbing contractor, or
advertise or purport to be a plumbing contractor, and a member or employee of a firm,
partnership or corporation may not engage in the layout or superintending of plumbing
installations, without having obtained the plumbing contractor license required under ORS
447.010 §° 447 .156 as provided by State Plumbing Board rules adopted under ORS
455.117.

! OAR 918-030-0010(8) states that for purposes of ORS 447.040, 479.620, 480.630 and any other license regulated by ORS chapter
455, "engaging in the business" means to advertise or solicit, contract or agree to perform, or to perform, work for which a license or
permit is required under Oregon law, including but not limited to a single instance.
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ORDER

Under ORS 455.895(1)(a) and OAR 918-001-0036, the Board assesses the
following sanction:

(1) a $3,000 civil penalty for violating ORS 447.040(1)

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO HEARING

You are entitled to a hearing as provided by the Administrative Procedures Act, Oregon
Revised Statutes, Chapter 183. If you request a hearing, the request must be in writing
and postmarked no later than 20 days from the service date. If this Notice was served to
you in person, the service date is the date you received this Notice. If this Notice was
served through the mail, the service date is the day the Notice was mailed, not the day you
received it.

If a request for hearing is not received with a postmark dated within 20 days, you right to a
hearing is considered waived unless the failure to request a hearing was beyond your
reasonable control. Mail hearing requests to Building Codes Division, Enforcement
Section, P.O. Box 14470, Salem, Oregon, 97309.

You have the right to be represented by legal counsel. ORS 183.457 provides that a
corporation may be represented by an authorized representative at the hearing. If you
request a hearing, you will be notified of the time and place of the hearing and be given
information on procedures, right of representation and other rights of parties relating to the
hearing before it begins.

NOTICE TO ACTIVE DUTY SERVICE MEMBERS

Active duty service members have a right to stay proceedings under the Federal Service
Members Civil Relief Act. Contact the Oregon State Bar at (800) 452-8260 or the Oregon
Military Department at (800) 452-7500 for more information. If you need help finding legal
assistance, visit http://legalassistance.law.af.mil/content/locator.php.

NOTICE OF FINAL ORDER

If you do not timely request a hearing, withdraw a hearing request, notify the Boards or the
administrative law judge that you will not appear, or fail to appear at a scheduled hearing,
the Boards will issue a Final Order by Default. If the Boards issue a Final Order by Default,
it designates the file, including any materials submitted by you that relate to this matter, as
the record for purpose of proving a prima facie case.
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You are entitled to judicial review of any final order issued in the matter of this Notice of a
Proposed Civil Penalty. Judicial review may be obtained by filing a petition for review with
the Oregon Court of Appeals within 60 days after the Final Order is served. See ORS
183.482. If the Order was served in person, the service date is the date you received the
Order. If the Order was served through the mail, the service date is the day the Order was
mailed, not the day it was received by you. If you do not file a petition for judicial review
within 60 days, you will lose the right to appeal. The informational phone number for the
Oregon Court of Appeals is (503) 986-5555.
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Dated this |~ day of .;‘f-sz;ef Aempe v, 2013

) -
AAadioe  Dosmumbivg ey
Chairman o f
Plumbing Board

State of Oregon
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